WooCommerce Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
113 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 40)

Rick Fitzgerald | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 03, 2020

WooCommerce and WordPress - a winner's combo

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The fact that WooCommerce is a WordPress plugin, but it looks like built into WordPress is one of its advantageous points, because it follows the modularity of the platform, updating, upgrading and customizing it, it's a cinch. While OSCommerce is a solid and very secure platform it's a pain when it comes to add plugins, as you have to edit files by yourself, and then integrate them, the same goes for Zen Cart, as it is an ecommerce solution that departed from OSCommerce and improved the original old interface, and has a large community supporting it. As far as Shopping Cart Elite is a hosted solution that's very hard to master, and it's unstable.
Read Rick Fitzgerald's full review
Jim Nelson | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2020

Makes e-commerce easy for WordPress

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I maintained our online store using hardcoded Paypal shopping cart buttons for years. I have also used the MarketPress e-commerce plugin for WordPress, and currently, maintain one client store using the eStore plugin for WordPress. WooCommerce is far superior to any of these solutions. Any updates to our Paypal storefront required programming skills, and the checkout experience directed customers to Paypal to complete their purchase. The other two WordPress plugins lack the features and ease of use that WooCommerce offers.
Read Jim Nelson's full review
Ayo Bamgbose, Assoc CIPD, MSc | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2020

The Cost Effective eCommerce Plugin for the Tech Savvy Startup

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

In the past, I have used Easy Digital Downloads as I was only selling digital resources, but as I started to branch out and grow my business I wanted to add physical products such as planners, cups and t-shirts. I found I had to add another plugin to manage my new product ranges.
I didn't like having to add another eCommerce management system and that's when I began to look for something that could manage everything under one roof such as WooCommerce.
Read Ayo Bamgbose, Assoc CIPD, MSc's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 22, 2020

Great WordPress eCommerce Solution

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

WooCommerce integrates directly with our existing WordPress site and gives me full control over the shopping process. Shopify doesn't offer the same flexibility. Also, WooCommerce is free to use a basic version, and we implemented it when we weren't ready to invest in a paid solution.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2020

There's a reason it powers more online stores than any competitor!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We actually use both, because the ClickFunnels platform has some marketing aspects that WooCommerce does not, but obviously the ecommerce and order handling aspects of WooCommerce far surpass ClickFunnels, which provides only barebones features on those areas.
Read this authenticated review
Ray Flores | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2020

Without WooCommerce there, no eCommerce happens

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Since WooCommerce has merged with WordPress, the integration has become even more seamless than ever before. The fact that the database space has been reduced because of the integration, has lightened the load on servers. The additional overhaul of variations has also taken a lesser tax on servers as well. Knowing that the other options are not as extendable as WooCommerce, the customization of the others becomes too cumbersome and time-consuming to get your products/services to market with quickness and ease.
Read Ray Flores's full review
Seth Paine | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 23, 2019

WooCommerce, powerful, flexible, and very customizable.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

WooCommerce is cheaper than the other solutions I evaluated. It is a more complicated platform but because of that it is much more flexible. In the end it was an easy choice to go with WooCommerce because we already were using WordPress for our website and it made sense to incorporate WooCommerce into our current web infrastructure.
Read Seth Paine's full review
Dan Hanna | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2019

A better E Commerce Solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

It measures up really well against Shopify due to having no monthly fee associated with the product. It is slightly more challenging to get set up, but the difference is not much at all. Setting up to sell Services seems much easier with WooCommerce. However, it may be a little more challenging to use if you have a huge selection of products.
Read Dan Hanna's full review
Igor Neumann | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2019

The king of Wordpress-based e-commerce

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We chose WooCommerce over Shopify mainly for pricing, you can start using WooCommerce for free in just a few steps while Shopify will always have a subscription attached to it. That said, you will probably have to buy some plugins to add functionalities missing from the stock WooCommerce installation, but most of them are a 1-time payment.
Read Igor Neumann's full review
Franklin Wells | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 26, 2019

Simply the best e-commerce CMS that I have used.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I love WooCommerce, the ease of use, installation and configuration place this far above the competition. The performance is exceptional. I really recommend it to all the people who want to make a virtual store. Its competitors are good, but they do not offer the simplicity of use and have fewer templates to choose from.
Read Franklin Wells's full review
Brian Halstrom | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2018

Looking at WooCommerce? What Are You Waiting For?!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Without a doubt, WooCommerce is an awesome platform for many reasons. The flexibility and ease of use are something that other free platforms just don't have. We chose WooCommerce because of the many customization options, payment type integration, follow up emails, and ability to launch multiple storefronts in a matter of hours. We'll continue to use WooCommerce as the eCommerce solution for many of our upcoming projects.
Read Brian Halstrom's full review
Joseph Condon | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2018

Most affordable way to open your own online shop - little experience required

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

WooCommerce stacks up very nicely. While there is a learning curve involved, it more than makes up for the challenge when it comes to cost. You won't find yourself spending money each month to keep your site live or pay for your ecommerce platform like you do with others. Once you have WooCommerce installed (for free) you technically do not need to pay anything unless you plan on scaling up and adding new functionality. We now use WooCommerce for all of our ecommerce sites and we have saved a lot of money over competitors.
Read Joseph Condon's full review
Joshua Burcham | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 07, 2018

WooCommerce Hits the Sweet Spot

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

WooCommerce sits in a nice sweet spot between hosted e-commerce solutions where you have to give up some control in exchange for easy-of-use (like Shopify, Squarespace) and larger more enterprise solutions that are endlessly customizable but too complex for most merchatns needs (like Magento). I love WooCommerce because I love WordPress. There is a very large community of developers that support the core products and thousands of plugins that can extend the functionality. So if WooCommerce doesn't do exactly what you had hoped, there is a good chance you can find a free or inexpensive plug-in to make it happen.
Read Joshua Burcham's full review
Arron Davis | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 01, 2018

My Experience with WooCommerce

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

WooCommerce is very good for blogging type sites, but when it comes to an ecommerce website Shopify met our needs and was a whole lot easier to use. The themes were great and customizable on the Shopify platform. Although WooCommerce is great for the price it also requires you to structure the site out unlike Shopify, where it is laid out in the theme. It was just a better experience we had.
Read Arron Davis's full review
Megan Bailey | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 01, 2018

WooCommerce can work for most shops and offers more features without the price tag

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have used Easy Digital Downloads. While this platform is specifically geared towards digital only shops, it only integrates with Paypal on their free version. I personally don't like Paypal as a payment gateway, and opted for an option that would be more flexible. The product page layout was more to my liking with EDD but WooCommerce simply has more features available for free.
Read Megan Bailey's full review
Shehan Marasinghe | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 01, 2018

Best E-Commerce Platform for SMEs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

WooCommerce is an open source platform; therefore people like it more than other e-commerce platforms. WooCommerce has a wider audience and a community that develops plugins to enhance the store features and solve problems. WooCommerce integrates almost every payment gateway and supports them without any additional charging for the service. The large number of available free plugins for WooCommerce makes it more valuable.
Read Shehan Marasinghe's full review
Abraham García | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2019

Create a virtual store in less time than in other ecommerce CMS

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

WooCommerce stands out from its competitors for being very simple. I have used PrestaShop and I can say that WooCommerce is easier to use and install, the themes that can be installed are much more professional and compatible with all mobile devices. It has really been very satisfying to use this platform and implement it on many websites that we develop in our company.
Read Abraham García's full review
Matt Railey | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2019

Easy and low overhead eCommerce solution for small to medium sized businesses

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I haven't used Shopify's WP integration, but I have built a Shopify site through their own platform. I found the CMS of WP to be more straight forward and intuitive, but it may be because I have a lot of WP experience. Shopify's CMS is certainly not a WP clone...
In terms of the shop management, Shopify is certainly just as easy to use as WooCommerce, but WP's inherent flexibility makes creating and branding your shop much easier with the combo of Woo and WP than just using Shopify by itself.
Read Matt Railey's full review
Jen Garfinkel-Canseco | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 31, 2018

WooCommerce as an e-commerce platform should be everyone's first choice!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

WooCommerce is just simply quicker to get an e-commerce website built and up and running than either OpenCart or X-Cart....overall administration is easier for website owners as well. WooCommerce allows much better customization as a self-hosted option to BigCommerce. I personally find WooCommerce the best choice with the most options, easiest setup, user-friendly administration and quickest turnaround as a website designer/developer.
Read Jen Garfinkel-Canseco's full review
Stefan Trbojevic | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 23, 2018

My WooCommerce Experience

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Sadly I haven't tried any other alternatives to the WooCommerce, simply because I did extensive research and I've listened to the people's opinion. There is no alternative that is possibly even close the WooCommerce level. Not to mention that WooCommerce has a 50% price drop for all their customers that need to renew their plans.
Read Stefan Trbojevic's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Product catalog & listings (51)
8.8
Product management (52)
8.6
Bulk product upload (40)
7.5
Branding (43)
8.6
Mobile storefront (46)
8.5
Product variations (49)
8.7
Website integration (52)
9.3
Visual customization (50)
7.4
CMS (38)
9.0
Abandoned cart recovery (30)
8.5
Checkout user experience (50)
8.2
eCommerce security (47)
9.1
Promotions & discounts (50)
8.8
Personalized recommendations (44)
7.6
SEO (46)
7.8
Multi-site management (24)
8.3
Order processing (49)
8.8
Inventory management (47)
8.0
Shipping (45)
7.9
Custom functionality (45)
8.1

About WooCommerce

WooCommerce is an eCommerce plugin for WordPress, developed by WooThemes (recently acquired by Automattic). Like WordPress, it is designed to be an extendable, adaptable, open-sourced platform. WooCommerce allows merchants to sell physical products, downloadables, or services. The free core includes: Storefront, a free WordPress theme designed for eCommerce, 5 pre-installed payment gateways (including PayPal and Direct Bank Transfer), coupons, shipping and cart calculators, product listing management and customer account registration, among other features. Many many extensions are available, such as WooCommerce Bookings, for e-merchants selling appointments, services, or rentals.

According to WooThemes (per Builtwith.com), WooCommerce has > 9,524,908 downloads and powers > 30% of online stores.
Categories:  eCommerce

WooCommerce Integrations

Sendinblue, Matomo Analytics (formerly Piwik)

WooCommerce Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No