WordPress Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
2436 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (76-93 of 93)

John Heimkes IV | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2014

WordPress from 10,000 ft.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
WordPress is a great CMS for websites of all sizes. It's fully extendable, easy to use, and a lot of fun to develop with. I've been using WordPress for 5 years now, and after dabbling with Drupal and Joomla way back when, I'll never go back. The template hierarchy, template level functions make it fun, whereas the tens of thousands of plugins and themes out there make WordPress development a huge win for clients with a budget. I recommend it to anyone.
  • Template system is easy to understand
  • Largest open source community in the world
  • Tens of thousands of plugins make it easy to extend
  • Premium themes are not developer friendly
  • Not all plugins are supported forever
  • Sometimes WordPress core can be confusing
It's well suited for anyone who needs a website, really, with the most basic of setups or some really cool looking content. Not all sites are suited for it, like huge internal member portals or recreating a social network, but overall it works for just about everything. I guarantee it.
Read John Heimkes IV's full review
Jansait Qoughondoqa | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 17, 2014

The best platform for blogging and more

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used WordPress as a blogging platform since 2005 and recently we adopted WordPress for our company's blog.
  • Easy to connect with with other social networks
  • It has a wide range of themes, even for the free version
  • Very easy to manage and explore
  • Works very well with different languages
  • The iOS App of WordPress needs some enhancements and with the updates I receive for the App I think WordPress team is working on it.
It's a great choice for beginners and professionals. I don't see where it can't be used.
Read Jansait Qoughondoqa's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 20, 2017

WordPress works for most smaller clients

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use WordPress for a lot of our smaller clients' websites. [It's] usually companies with website spends of less than 10k. It fits the smaller companies well, as it is easy for them to use once we build out their site and allows us to do most of the builds without any real heavy lifting in regard to coding.
  • WordPress is free, first of all. Of course, if you are building out a custom site, you may need to purchase a Bootstrap template or build your own in-house, but otherwise, the CMS is open source.
  • WordPress makes it easy for our client to do basic updates or post to a blog or news feed. Not all take advantage of this, of course, but WordPress provides a simple dashboard that is easily navigated with very little training on our part.
  • The breadth of plugins has grown immensely over the past few years. For anything you need to be able to do with WordPress, you can usually find a plugin to solve your problem.
  • The text editor leaves a little to be desired but is easy to work around once you know its limitations.
  • SEO is a bit tricky with WordPress. Some of the plugins that are available don't seem to help you a lot with SEO, and may actually hurt, in my opinion.
WordPress can be used by anyone to build a basic website. The marketplace for custom templates is absolutely massive. You should be able to find a template to suit your needs for any site. If you are looking for a bunch of custom functionality, such as customer portals, you may be better off with a .NET build out. But if you're on a budget, and don't have super high standards, WordPress can suit that sort of need as well.
Read this authenticated review
Vince Ginsburg | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2013

Easy to setup, easy to use, fun all around

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Quick and easy way to set up a website, especially one oriented around a blog.
  • Easy to set up an eCommerce store.
  • Low learning curve.
  • Does not always provide the advanced access and customization needed for bigger business needs.
  • Can be overly-simplified for advanced programming users.
A simple but still versatile and robust content management system that gets websites up and running in minutes. Maintenance is a breeze and the learning curve is fairly minimal.
Read Vince Ginsburg's full review
Shelley Stutchman | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 10, 2013

WordPress takes the stress out of blogging

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • It integrates well with our web-site.
  • It is simple to use.
  • You can get feedback on your blog by the number of likes.
  • Sometimes it is hard to get a photograph to post.
  • Once in a while during the editing process your work will just disappear.
  • When you don't use it for a while you have to go through the learning curve again because of constant changes.
You can use the translation factor if wanting to send something in a different language. In the global world we live in, this is a very nice feature and will become more and more important as we deal with people from all over the world. WordPress stays on top of the needs of the users.
Read Shelley Stutchman's full review
Donald Edwards | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 24, 2013

WordPress - CRM without the headache

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • WordPress is normally thought of as a blogging platform, but through the use of plugins and sophisticated themes, such as Headway, it can be used as an excellent content management platform as well.
  • Many content links are stored as fully qualified URLs. As a result, re-naming and re-structuring a WordPress site is extremely difficult and requires direct data manipulation in the database.
Take the time to write down your requirements. WordPress has so many features and plug-ins, you'll be overwhelmed if you don't have a clear idea of what you want.
Read Donald Edwards's full review
Melissa Porter | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 21, 2013

Wordpress - Blogging and SEO

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • WordPress is a great blogging platform.
  • Allows you to produce search engine friendly blog content. It builds easily-searchable content and there are multiple plug-ins to enhance SEO.
  • Easy to get up and running quickly. There are many pre-built templates which are a very fast way of getting up and running with minimal effort. Many of our affiliates use these templates to get started.
  • It could use more layout templates that are free. The better ones tend to have a cost associated with them.
Read Melissa Porter's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2016

Why 1 Out of 5 Websites Are Built With WordPress

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
WordPress is our organization's preferred content management system for building websites for our clients. We've found WordPress to be the best solution for the challenge of finding a content management system that is affordable, has the features and functionality clients want, and is easy to use. Our whole organization uses WordPress on a daily or weekly basis.
  • WordPress pages and posts can be created with a WYSIWYG (what you see is what you get) editor similar to editors people are likely to have in used in word processing and email software.
  • WordPress has a large community of software developers who write software plugins to give the core WordPress software additional functionality.
  • WordPress websites can be built and edited from any computer in the world with a web browser and internet connection. No special software is required on these computers.
  • WordPress is limited with regards to storing media files. All photos, videos and documents must be stored in the same "Media Library" folder. It would be nice if WordPress allowed people to create a least one level of sub folders.
  • WordPress' "visual" and "text" editors do not always produce the same results on a page or post. Sometimes to get text to appear the way you want, you need to use the "text" editor which is less intuitive to most people.
WordPress is a great tool for people wishing to build a blog and/or website without having to learn HTML and CSS coding.

WordPress is less appropriate for people who don't have the interest or time to perform the bi-monthly WordPress security software updates.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2015

WordPress--easy to use!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use WordPress as the content management system for our website. All content runs through WordPress. Several editors, freelance writers, virtual assistants, staff writers and interns use WordPress to build and publish content.
  • WordPress is very easy to use for beginners to CMS. It does not require advanced knowledge of html.
  • The interface is intuitive/easy to navigate.
  • It has been easy for us to add widgets and customize WordPress as we build out our site.
  • It's easy to add new users and manage users.
  • You need an email address that has not been used before to create a new user, but it should be possible to create an account for the purposes of syndicating content. So for example, if I want to syndicate a story from Martha Stewart Living, I should be able to create an account so the byline appears as "Martha Stewart Living" without having to have her email address.
  • Would be great if you could accurately see how many people viewed a story in WordPress. It should be possible to link it to your Google Analytics.
  • Would be cool if there was a way to connect with other similar publishers in your space via WordPress. Like if the dashboard featured similar stories to your content.
I can't think of a situation where a publisher wouldn't want to use WordPress. It seems like it would be good for both small, medium and large publishers.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2015

WordPress - great CMS and easy to use!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use WordPress for my blog and to provide content for my audience. WordPress has been known for “blogging” but now it’s evolved into so much more than that and many websites are being powered by WordPress. It's user-friendly, provides endless options and allows users to have complete control of their domain – whether they choose a WordPress theme or customize it to fit their needs.
  • Easy-to-use
  • Cost-effective
  • Fast
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 19, 2014

WordPress and the basic understanding from an advertiser, not a developer!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My previous company built all of their websites using WordPress. We decided to utilize WordPress due to its popularity and ease of use, whether or not the client signed on for other advertising or they just wanted a site. As WordPress is so popular, there are many extentions and plugins that can be integrated along with many themes and the ability to customize whatever you want. I would highly recommend this for most purposes for a website unless you're building a huge eCommerce website then I'd advise looking for a different CRM.
  • Themes, many pre-built themes available and the ability to build and use your own.
  • The back-end, simple to use and with a 10 min lesson you could be making your own pages with minimal knowledge.
  • Widgets and add-on's, easy to add your own widgets and test them out, lot's of info online to research i.e. SEO Yoast, you can easily add this to the back-end and it will help you make your site SEO friendly.
  • I am not a web developer or designer, I have used this for advertising purposes, adding pages and removing content. The only issue I have found is how the backend works on Chrome vs. Mozilla. Mozilla was better with the ability to add an image to a page and resize using the dotted box around the image, Chrome you couldn't do that with.
Informative websites or basic websites are the best uses for WordPress. I found that if you have the desire to create a huge online store, it would be best to use something like Magento, something that is built for that specific purpose. 90% of the time, I would recommend looking at using WordPress.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2015

A review of Wordpress from the average guy!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Department. Mostly for a blog, but with the amount of plugins, the blog had turned into more!
  • Ease of installation, as long as your hosting site has "easy install" and most of them do.
  • Amount of PlugIns, a solution for almost every need.
  • Ability to give the user access to update their own website!
  • URL structure. Categories for "pages"
  • Permalinks, not for the faint of heart!
  • Turning it from a blog into a website is still a challenge!
As a full blown website, it's a challenge unless you are really advanced in plugin research.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2014

WordPress User

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses WordPress on most every website we build. WordPress helps us put the control of a website into the hands of our customer. Our customers can upload images, create blogs, and much more. Our whole organization stands behind WordPress.
  • Creates Blogs
  • Easily allows image uploads
  • SEO is simple
  • More PHP instructions
  • More Template Instructions
  • More instructions in general
If a website owner has no need to update their site, I would not recommend WordPress generally. I would recommend a Static Site
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 24, 2014

Wordpress is my swiss army knife in web design

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
WordPress was implemented as a website Content Management System (cms). It was used mostly in the Marketing department, with some implementations considered across the whole organisation. Wordpress provided the organisation with a reliable, flexible and appropriately scalable solution to their web needs for fundraising support sites. It was fast to implement, not cost prohibitive and most importantly easy for end users to use. It is also very flexible which meant that it can evolve with the organisation needs.
  • Wordpress is open source and has a large development community behind it. As a mature system, there are many ways to customise or expand on the system through the use of templates, plugins and development.
  • Wordpress has an easy to use content editor which meets the requirement of providing users with something they can use without needed specialist technical knowledge. Coupled with some customised development it can become a very simple system for people across all levels of an organisation to use.
  • Flexibility is one of the biggest strengths of Wordpress. Through themes, plugins and php based development, it can be purposed to suit almost any use case.
  • Wordpress will struggle to meet needs beyond a certain scale of content purposes. It does not have complex user role management which means it is not suitable for large intranet sites for example. This is not a failing of Wordpress, so much as a desire for it to be more scalable as it is nice to use.
  • One of the flip sides of ultra flexibility and open source is a lack of compliance standards in plugins etc. One must make good decisions about plugins to avoid security issues.
  • Wordpress needs to be updated frequently as do plugins, which means that resource is required to stay on top of the security of the site built with it.
Wordpress is brilliant when used with appropriate scale. It is not a system that will cope with managing a large database of users with many different roles and functions. Wordpress is a brilliant way to rapidly build an easy to maintain site up to a certain size, trying to use Wordpress for a very large website with sophisticated role based access requirements would be difficult. It is not well suited for complex Intranet for example, however can work in conjunction with other systems. In my experience Wordpress is brilliant for delivering smaller websites with no complex role based access requirements.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 21, 2014

Casual, but long-time user

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used to support secondary blogs that are non-mission critical.
  • Manage posts
  • Too many updates. I had to reinstall new systems on my personal site. This wasn't easy because I'm not an expert at compiling code and running software on the third-party hosting site I work with.
It is good for setting up quickly.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 07, 2013

Leading open source CMS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
  • Scalable.
  • Flexible.
  • Easy to implement.
  • Easy to maintain.
  • Customizable.
  • As in any open source CMS, it require some eucation (fortunately largely available online).
I'll first recommend to go to the .org version - I'm not a big fan of Wordpress.com since you can't access the code. Then I'll check if a CMS is the best option for the project. If a CMS is a solution Wordpress would be the way to go.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
  • The flexibility of WordPress exceeds that of other content management systems because it's easy enough for a business owner or marketer to change without the steep learning curve or programming skills required by Drupal and Joomla.
  • At the same time, it can be as turnkey as a Wix, SquareSpace, or Tumblr... granted: if you know what you're doing and HOW to make it a turnkey solution for a business..
  • And with those considerations, it still remains software and not a hosted website solution. Meaning you own everything and can iterate the CMS and your site to do/be whatever you might need it to be; without the limitations of a hosted CMS.
  • With so many capabilities, it's easy to cross the chasm from turnkey to overwhelming.
  • If you're familiar with the old PC vs. Mac debate (or more recent Android vs. iPhone), WordPress is the PC/Android version of a CMS. Meaning, it's capable of anything and most widely used as a result. But that comes with it the scrutiny of the community, bugs as a result of so many different priorities and projects affiliated with the platform, and security gaps as plugins or themes fail to keep pace with development of the CMS.
  • In-person training
  • Self-taught
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 11, 2013

WordPress for Your Corporate Website? Think Twice.

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • WordPress is the defacto standard for building small websites of say 20-30 pages.
  • Easily integrate all or most of the functionality you need - using plugins.
  • Speed up performance with caching through a separate module.
  • Integrates with various content-delivery networks.
  • For larger sites - say over 20 pages - a WordPress install can and will quickly get out of control.
  • High learning curve for WordPress development. The WordPress system selects which template to render a page based on a complex decision tree that is internal to the product. To be an effective developer, you need to know PHP, MySQL, Javascript, and be willing to spend much time in the WordPress codex mastering the specifics of the product.
  • Integration with third-party products depends on plugins which may suddenly stop working. Each individual plugin comes with its own CSS style sheet and styling the plugins to look like a seamless part of your brand takes a very long time.
  • Caching is not built into the product but occurs through a third-party plugin. You have to toggle caching on and off to see what is really going on with your site.
  • Performance can be an issue - particularly if you are running a large site and/or simply need/want to deliver a lot of assets on smart phones and tablets. There is no content-delivery network built into WordPress and integrating with a third-party CDN takes technical skill.
  • WordPress does not come out of the box with a granular permission system suitable for business. This makes setting up groups of users with differential access to various parts of your corporate or enterprise website relatively difficult.
  • Security is always a concern with a WordPress site.
Don't get me wrong, WordPress is a great solution for bloggers and other folks who need a very simple website. But if you are a company on a growth trajectory, plan on spending a lot of time customizing WordPress to turn it into a CMS and styling each plugin you rely upon. The amount of time spent here can and will be daunting.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (56)
8.8
API (42)
8.6
Internationalization / multi-language (36)
8.5
WYSIWYG editor (52)
8.6
Code quality / cleanliness (55)
8.2
Admin section (59)
8.3
Page templates (57)
8.6
Library of website themes (57)
9.0
Mobile optimization / responsive design (56)
8.9
Publishing workflow (54)
9.0
Form generator (50)
8.3
Content taxonomy (51)
8.8
SEO support (54)
8.4
Bulk management (42)
8.0
Availability / breadth of extensions (55)
9.3
Community / comment management (54)
8.9

About WordPress

Wordpress is an open-source publishing platform popular with bloggers and a content management system. The appearance of a Wordpress site and many of its functions are managed through themes, and further customizable through altering code, though altering code is not required; templates and plugins to expand its capabilities are plentiful. Wordpress features integrated link management, and a search-engine friendly permalink structure. WordPress now allows multiple blogs to exist within one installation. Websites may host their own blogging communities, controlling and moderating content from a single dashboard.

Wordpress is popular due to its simplicity and modifiability. Furthermore implementing Wordpress costs only time. Two paid versions exist. The $99 premium plan allows a user an ad free custom domain with 13GB of space and advanced customization. The $299 Business plan allows unlimited space and supports eCommerce as well.

Categories:  Blogging,  Content Management

WordPress Integrations

WordPress Competitors

WordPress Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No