Workday Adaptive Planning Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
239 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 127)

Jennifer Bradshaw | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2020

Adaptive Insights

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have either used Excel or budgeting tools within the accounting software packages. Excel can be tricky and error-prone due to formulas, but they are customizable, and you can adjust things on the fly. Accounting software budgeting tools are usually minimal and are not user-friendly when working with department heads. They are not visually appealing, and that can turn off end users.
Read Jennifer Bradshaw's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 31, 2020

Adaptive Insights is fantastic!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I've primarily used Oracle Hyperion Enterprise Performance Management in the past and Adaptive Insights stacks up favorably against them. Hyperion is not nearly as intuitive, frequently requires a consultant or programmer to do anything outside of customized reporting, and is much more cost-effective both with the implementation but also the ongoing expense.
Read this authenticated review
Limin Kinsey, CPA, CFE | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 14, 2019

Adaptive Insights - Definitely a Winner ... Easy to Use, Efficiency Gained, and Errors Reduced

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

After researching several CPM products, Adaptive and Prophix actually both met our needs quite well. The Adaptive Sales & Design Team went above and beyond in the early stages of exploring whether Adaptive could meet some of our very specific needs. Adaptive's customer service during the exploration phase was noticeably present. We chose Adaptive and a vendor in our local area to implement. Budget Maestro seemed to require more IT resources than what we desired to invest. Vena Solutions was a bit pricey from our perspective and Xlerant didn't quite have what we were looking for in a budgeting tool.
Read Limin Kinsey, CPA, CFE's full review
Brandon Gappa | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 30, 2019

Reshaping The Financial Planning Landscape

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We looked at essentially three different products. Essbase (Current), Adaptive Insights, and Anaplan. We knew that Essbase wasn't the right solution for our business with historical experience, it was too difficult to forecast at the detailed business unit, department, and account-level accurately.

We ultimately chose Adaptive over Anaplan because of its UI is much simpler for new users. Anaplan seemed like it had the ability to be more flexible, but at the cost of User Experience. It had a larger learning curve and was more technical from a planning standpoint. We did not want to feel self-reliant on consultants constantly. With Adaptive we didn't have that fear. We could pick it up easier and starting using its pre-built structure right away. I think we made the right choice, I was the only analyst on the team at the time of integration and I was able as a new user to be completely independent on the day to day tasks. We only needed help from our Consultant partners for larger projects, and even then I was able to reverse engineers a lot of it to fit our other needs.
Read Brandon Gappa's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2019

The Real-Time data system for all organizations!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The speed and the lack of lag time with Adaptive Insights is amazing. The ease of building and maintaining reports, dashboards, etc. has been wonderful. SAP Business ByDesign has a lot of lag, not user friendly, bulky and no ability to build/modify reports, and many other problems. Adaptive Insights is worlds apart from SAP Business ByDesign.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 10, 2019

A good tool for the experienced user.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I wasn't fully involved in the decision to purchase Adaptive Insights, but there was consideration of using the NetSuite financial planning module instead of going with Adaptive. The largest benefits of using Adaptive Insights were the additional modeling features and the ability to bring in data from any system with relative ease.
Read this authenticated review
Brad MacDonald | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 28, 2019

Outsanding Solution!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Adaptive is much more flexible and powerful for our needs. It provides a wealth of reporting tools and capabilities that Cognos simply didn't or couldn't provide. The ability to have a team of one completely implement and manage the solution for a company is not unreasonable (as I'm currently doing this). Based on my previous experience, that would probably not be the case with other solutions.
Read Brad MacDonald's full review
Timothy Bradshaw | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 29, 2019

Great software, great pros, and not significant cons

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Adaptive Insights is better than their competitors because they have better "best practices" implemented, the product has a great interface, it has structure so your model doesn't get too messy, and it works well. It also has great scenario planning, Excel reporting functions, and allows for multiple users to be in the system.
Read Timothy Bradshaw's full review
Ben Balch | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 19, 2019

Adaptive Insights -- a great solution for planning

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

When we were evaluating the software solutions we wanted:
1) A product that would efficiently consolidate our annual budget.
2) Something that would be easily adopted by the entire company.
3) Had built-in audit trails.
4) Had robust reporting capabilities.
5) Had the ability to easily create different scenarios.

Adaptive Insights addressed all of our needs
Read Ben Balch's full review
Alex Humble | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 18, 2019

Adapt to the Future: How Adaptive can Save you Time and Money

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I am not as well informed on the competition to Adaptive; however, many financial experts that I have talked to within the industry rave about the software. A few team members of mine recently left to work for different companies and have complained to us that the software at their new positions is miles behind Adaptive. The ease of the use and capability Adaptive possesses really distinguishes it from the competition.
Read Alex Humble's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 20, 2019

Adaptive Insights Drives Finance Team Efficiency!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Adaptive Insights is well-positioned against the new tier of SaaS players as well as the larger, legacy, on-premise financial planning solutions such as Hyperion and IBM Cognos TM1. Its got an approachable user interface and relatively easy to use models and forecast capabilities. The product continues to get better, especially after Workday acquired the company. Overall, I would say the user interface is more approachable than Host Analytics while the modeling aspect is more intuitive than Anaplan.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 10, 2019

Best of breed application that is relatively easy to get up and going + maintain

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Adaptive stood out because it seemed on the easier end to implement and has a wide customer base (so it is easier to hire people who have used the system before). The total cost of ownership was competitive and scales with the number of seats.
Read this authenticated review
Mark McConkie | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 09, 2018

Adaptive Rocks at Workfront!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I like how easy Essbase is to pull reports - but I think that OfficeConnect fills that gap. When looking at Hyperion vs Adaptive, I think that Adaptive's input is much easier to navigate. I like Adaptive much more. Because input is so much easier, it helps me be in the system more frequently and rely on it more heavily.
Read Mark McConkie's full review
Brian Kyslinger | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2018

Adaptive Insights

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Adaptive provided the best solution for the price given how we wanted to deploy the solution. For our size business they appear to the be best in class solution.

Host Analytics appeared to provide the same functionality, but was for a more distributed budgeting and forecasting environment than we use now or for the foreseeable future.

Hyperion was far to expensive to for us to prove out an ROI.
Read Brian Kyslinger's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (1)
9
Customizable dashboards (1)
10
Report Formatting Templates (1)
9
Drill-down analysis (1)
9
Formatting capabilities (1)
7
Integration with R or other statistical packages (1)
8
Report sharing and collaboration (1)
8
Publish to PDF (1)
8
Report Versioning (1)
8
Report Delivery Scheduling (1)
8
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (1)
7
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (1)
8
Predictive Analytics (1)
8
Multi-User Support (named login) (1)
9
Role-Based Security Model (1)
9
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (1)
9
Responsive Design for Web Access (1)
8
Dedicated iOS Application (1)
8
Dedicated Android Application (1)
8
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (1)
10
Long-term financial planning (130)
7.8
Financial budgeting (140)
8.9
Forecasting (135)
9.0
Scenario modeling (130)
7.1
Management reporting (139)
9.0
Financial data consolidation (82)
8.7
Journal entries and reports (48)
6.4
Multi-currency management (58)
7.5
Intercompany Eliminations (42)
7.9
Minority Ownership (20)
8.0
Local and consolidated reporting (71)
8.6
Detailed Audit Trails (89)
8.6
Financial Statement Reporting (115)
8.7
Management Reporting (127)
8.6
Excel-based Reporting (126)
7.4
Automated board and financial reporting (110)
7.4
XBRL support for regulatory filing (17)
7.6
Personalized dashboards (86)
7.5
Color-coded scorecards (68)
6.4
KPIs (81)
7.3
Cost and profitability analysis (88)
8.3
Key Performance Indicator setting (71)
7.9
Benchmarking with external data (49)
4.5
Flat file integration (91)
8.3
Excel data integration (115)
8.3
Direct links to 3rd-party data sources (85)
8.2

About Workday Adaptive Planning

Workday Adaptive Planning aims to power a new generation of business planning, and drive business agility in a fast-moving world. The Workday Adaptive Planning Business Planning Cloud offers modeling capabilities for organizations of any size, and helps users to collaborate, gain insights, and make smarter decisions faster.

The vendor states that more than 3,800 organizations across 50-plus countries use Workday Adaptive Planning, and boasting its ease of use, they state that Workday Adaptive Planning ranks #1 in customer satisfaction in independent industry surveys from leading market analysts such as Gartner, Forrester, and BPM Partners.

According to the vendor, Adaptive Planning helps mid-size & enterprise organizations’ leaders better manage their business:
  • Adaptive Planning enables organizations to break free from static planning, to active planning
  • Active planning is collaborative, comprehensive, and continuous
  • Active planning requires a solution that’s easy, powerful, and fast
Capabilities include:
  • Automated Budgeting and Forecasting to increase productivity
  • Self-Service Financial Reporting allowing users to create, share and personalize reports
  • Integration with Salesforce.com, NetSuite, Intacct, & MS Dynamics

Workday Adaptive Planning Features

Budgeting, Planning, and Forecasting Features
Has featureLong-term financial planning
Has featureFinancial budgeting
Has featureForecasting
Has featureScenario modeling
Has featureManagement reporting
Consolidation and Close Features
Has featureFinancial data consolidation
Has featureJournal entries and reports
Has featureMulti-currency management
Has featureIntercompany Eliminations
Has featureMinority Ownership
Has featureLocal and consolidated reporting
Has featureDetailed Audit Trails
Financial Reporting and Compliance Features
Has featureFinancial Statement Reporting
Has featureManagement Reporting
Has featureExcel-based Reporting
Has featureAutomated board and financial reporting
Has featureXBRL support for regulatory filing
Analytics Features
Has featurePersonalized dashboards
Has featureColor-coded scorecards
Has featureKPIs
Has featureCost and profitability analysis
Has featureKey Performance Indicator setting
Has featureBenchmarking with external data
Integration Features
Has featureFlat file integration
Has featureExcel data integration
Has featureDirect links to 3rd-party data sources
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Does not have featureCustomizable dashboards
Does not have featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Does not have featureDrill-down analysis
Does not have featureFormatting capabilities
Does not have featurePredictive modeling
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Does not have featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Does not have featurePublish to Web
Does not have featurePublish to PDF
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Does not have featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Does not have featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Does not have featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Does not have featurePredictive Analytics
Does not have featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Does not have featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Does not have featureRole-Based Security Model
Does not have featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Does not have featureReport-Level Access Control
Does not have featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Does not have featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Does not have featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Does not have featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile

Workday Adaptive Planning Screenshots

Workday Adaptive Planning Video

Don’t settle for static plans. Get active planning with Adaptive Insights – your source for business budgeting software that is easy, powerful, and fast.

Workday Adaptive Planning Integrations

Workday Adaptive Planning Competitors

Vena Solutions, Longview, Prophix, IBM Cognos, Anaplan, CCH Tagetik, Tidemark, Planful (formerly Host Analytics), BusinessObjects SRC (Discontinued), Oracle Hyperion, SAP

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Workday Adaptive Planning Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
60%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
40%

Workday Adaptive Planning Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Workday Adaptive Planning Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Ireland, Australia, New Zealand, and many more!
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, French, Japanese, Portuguese (Brazilian), Russian, Polish, Dutch