Workday Adaptive Planning Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
240 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 170)

Jennifer Bradshaw | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2020

Adaptive Insights

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I like Adaptive Insights, a workday company as a budgeting and forecasting tool. I think, for the most part, the front-end interface is relatively user-friendly and easy to understand. Reporting seems to take some "advanced" user experience and seems complicated to use as an average day-to-day user. I find that if we need reports created or modified, we end up having to rely on our Adaptive expert.
Read Jennifer Bradshaw's full review
Limin Kinsey, CPA, CFE | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 14, 2019

Adaptive Insights - Definitely a Winner ... Easy to Use, Efficiency Gained, and Errors Reduced

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Adaptive Insights is well-suited for accommodating different areas within the organization that have different cost drivers and/or have different allocation needs. The capability to design planning sheets using the lookup values offers flexibility that was difficult to produce with confidence in our other planning tool. Using dimensions and attributes within our organization's design, allows the ability to dissect data in different ways and report in more flexible formats to meet user needs. In addition, the OfficeConnect plug-in with Adaptive offers expanded Board reporting capabilities where Adaptive Reporting may come up short. The Discovery Dashboard provides quick visuals for C-Suite on demand.
Read Limin Kinsey, CPA, CFE's full review
Chris Snelling, CFA | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2019

A Great Budgeting Software for those on a Budget

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Overall, I would rate Adaptive Insights as a 9. The reason it isn't higher is because I believe there is still some room to improve on the interface and usability of their product. If you are looking for a strong budgeting, planning and reporting capability but don't have a large budget, Adaptive is a great bang for the buck. I would give it a 10 in this category.
Read Chris Snelling, CFA's full review
Brandon Gappa | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 30, 2019

Reshaping The Financial Planning Landscape

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I will never work for an FP&A Organization again if they do not have Adaptive Insights. It's that great of a product. Previously an FP&A Analyst had to be graded based on how quickly they could operate Microsoft Office, and how well they understood how their business works through manual processes. Now with so much of time being taken care of by Adaptive we can really shine and build better relationships with the business and dig deeper into Business questions.

This results in way more value being added to our Partners. Gone are the days of breaking links and passing around multiple templates for input from the business, they know have live information right after it becomes available.

Traning fresh analysts in Adaptive is a much simpler process than going through old excel templates that constantly were changing for business needs. Not to mention if you make a change and want to compare to historical reporting you would need to go and update a file that nobody has touched in months/years.

Read Brandon Gappa's full review
Josh Cooper | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 14, 2019

Adaptive Insights improves planning and analysis process

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Adaptive Insights is a great planning tool. If an organization has multiple business units, the Adaptive Insights software will eliminate hours of work by eliminating the need to roll up spreadsheets. This will allow FP&A teams to focus more on analysis and adding value to their organization.
Read Josh Cooper's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2019

The Real-Time data system for all organizations!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I believe that Adaptive Insights is appropriate for any size organization and industry. This has made an ease of reporting for us in our Accounting and Finance department. Other departments may not be well suited for this, but I do see the application can be used by an HR team. That would be beneficial for keeping up with benefits, costs, training, new/terminated employees, etc., and making the budgeting and forecasting simpler on the finance and accounting side.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 31, 2020

Adaptive Insights is fantastic!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I've been most impressed with the ability to customize structures and hierarchies, centrally plan drivers and formulas, make user edits, track progress, and distribute results. I'm a big fan of the built-in customized reporting both in the cloud-based tool and in Excel and PowerPoint. Security can be a little cumbersome especially when there are sensitive personnel data involved.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 21, 2020

Adaptive Insights is a timesaver

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Adaptive Insights revolutionized our financial reporting and board meeting preparation. Whereas before it might take us 7-10 days to prepare for a board meeting, now it takes less than a day. Now we spend more time analyzing and preparing data for decision makers as opposed to logistical time spent loading data into spreadsheets.

The only difficulty we have had with Adaptive is when we wanted to model something with cohorts as opposed to a monthly calendar. That is, Month 1, Month 2, Month 3 as opposed to Jan 2020, Feb 2020, etc. We were able to come up with a solution that has worked for quite a while now, but it took a lot of trial and error.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 30, 2019

Solid and intuitive planning solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I believe Adaptive Insights is a great solution to make your overall budgeting and planning process more structured, efficient, and less error-prone. The sheets are clean and easy to get started. Version control is a big advantage compared to regular excel files. The workflow planning allows you to assign specific tasks to different users to keep track of your overall budgeting cycles. What we have not implemented yet are more sophisticated predictive models like regression models and/or Monte Carlo simulations. We are still trying to figure out what the possibilities withing Adaptive are.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2019

Adaptive Insights increases efficiency and is easy to use

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Whether you have a large or small company, simple or complex organizational structure, Adaptive is well suited for any organization in any industry. It is great for budgeting, planning, multiple-scenario planning, reporting and forecasting.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 19, 2019

Adaptive Insights - Great for Budgeting and Planning

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Adaptive Insights is extremely customizable, so I think it would be a great tool for companies of almost all sizes and in various industries. It's helped streamline our budgeting and forecasting processes tremendously and is the single source of truth for our company. Reporting is also less manual and tedious for the entire finance team.

As it is almost a blank slate when you receive access to your instance, I highly recommend getting a consultant to help with your implementation or to have someone at your company who is adept with systems and has a background in finance.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 10, 2019

A good tool for the experienced user.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Adaptive Insights is a useful tool once it is completely implemented and you have users in the system that know how it works. There is definitely a learning curve, but once that is hurdled, you can find many benefits to the system. A major user case for Adaptive Insights is when you need users/managers to see the up-to-date financials without giving them access to the financial system.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

Early user of Adaptive Insights

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Adaptive Insights is definitely appropriate when generating any sort of financial reporting. Perhaps you have to generate a report about clients expenditures over the last two years, then Adaptive would be suited for that. You can set the categories specifically and narrow data down significantly. Adaptive would not be as appropriate for smaller-scale tasks, but can still be used for it. The user just won't get as much from it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

Adaptive Insights: Effective and Efficient

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Adaptive Insights is well suited for departments or organizations that want to be able to see their budgeting and forecasting details in more finite detail. The various sheets that can be built to suit your needs is a definite plus, as it allows you to create the sheets with as much or as little details included as you would like. This customization is really nice and allows us to mimic sheets as our users had previously seen in excel, but without the excel hassles.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 26, 2019

Adaptive Insights, Admin Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Region-specific flexibility with global consolidation is probably the main benefit. We have customized our Adaptive instance to be able to work for all regions, but still have instantaneous global reporting with accurate currency mapping.

It is less great for very specific vendor mapping and transactional level detail. It can be done, but quite inefficient. There are other providers that specialize in this. It is difficult for us to truly track variances to the most granular level of detail and usually default to other systems.
Read this authenticated review
Timothy Bradshaw | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 29, 2019

Great software, great pros, and not significant cons

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is well suited for assembling budgets all in one place. It can also be used well to have all the department heads or budget owners in your company login and input what they need to. That helps roll everything up so we can see how the budget it coming in. It also allows for good reporting.
Read Timothy Bradshaw's full review
Ben Balch | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 19, 2019

Adaptive Insights -- a great solution for planning

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Adaptive Insights is very good for:
- Annual Planning.
- Forecasting.
- Scenario Planning.

The user interface is essentially a spreadsheet in the cloud, so there is not much of a learning curve to get business users started. While it feels like a spreadsheet, it's much more powerful, as it provides a real-time consolidated roll-up and built-in audit trail.
Read Ben Balch's full review
Alex Humble | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 18, 2019

Adapt to the Future: How Adaptive can Save you Time and Money

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I think Adaptive is well suited in a lot of different scenarios. As a SaaS company, Adaptive has served us extremely well. Granted, it is a lot easier to keep our instance clean when we only have one product being sold. However, I have been to user groups and listened to companies in a wide array of industries and their finance leaders are very satisfied with Adaptive. It doesn't matter if you have a very complex organization or a simple structure, Adaptive can save you a lot of time!
Read Alex Humble's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 18, 2019

Adaptive Insight's provides quick and easy data for all our needs.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I had a large file made from Excel which required multiple formula's of data just to get a certain KPI structure. Adaptive Office Connect helped to get this same data into Excel quickly without a large amount of formulas. This helped cut down a report that took anywhere from 8 to 12 hours to update, to a simple half hour refresh.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (1)
9
Customizable dashboards (1)
10
Report Formatting Templates (1)
9
Drill-down analysis (1)
9
Formatting capabilities (1)
7
Integration with R or other statistical packages (1)
8
Report sharing and collaboration (1)
8
Publish to PDF (1)
8
Report Versioning (1)
8
Report Delivery Scheduling (1)
8
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (1)
7
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (1)
8
Predictive Analytics (1)
8
Multi-User Support (named login) (1)
9
Role-Based Security Model (1)
9
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (1)
9
Responsive Design for Web Access (1)
8
Dedicated iOS Application (1)
8
Dedicated Android Application (1)
8
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (1)
10
Long-term financial planning (130)
7.8
Financial budgeting (140)
8.9
Forecasting (135)
9.0
Scenario modeling (130)
7.1
Management reporting (139)
9.0
Financial data consolidation (82)
8.8
Journal entries and reports (48)
6.4
Multi-currency management (58)
7.6
Intercompany Eliminations (42)
7.9
Minority Ownership (20)
8.0
Local and consolidated reporting (71)
8.6
Detailed Audit Trails (89)
8.6
Financial Statement Reporting (115)
8.7
Management Reporting (127)
8.6
Excel-based Reporting (126)
7.4
Automated board and financial reporting (110)
7.4
XBRL support for regulatory filing (17)
7.7
Personalized dashboards (86)
7.5
Color-coded scorecards (68)
6.4
KPIs (81)
7.3
Cost and profitability analysis (88)
8.3
Key Performance Indicator setting (71)
7.9
Benchmarking with external data (49)
4.2
Flat file integration (91)
8.3
Excel data integration (115)
8.4
Direct links to 3rd-party data sources (85)
8.2

About Workday Adaptive Planning

Workday Adaptive Planning aims to power a new generation of business planning, and drive business agility in a fast-moving world. The Workday Adaptive Planning Business Planning Cloud offers modeling capabilities for organizations of any size, and helps users to collaborate, gain insights, and make smarter decisions faster.

The vendor states that more than 3,800 organizations across 50-plus countries use Workday Adaptive Planning, and boasting its ease of use, they state that Workday Adaptive Planning ranks #1 in customer satisfaction in independent industry surveys from leading market analysts such as Gartner, Forrester, and BPM Partners.

According to the vendor, Adaptive Planning helps mid-size & enterprise organizations’ leaders better manage their business:
  • Adaptive Planning enables organizations to break free from static planning, to active planning
  • Active planning is collaborative, comprehensive, and continuous
  • Active planning requires a solution that’s easy, powerful, and fast
Capabilities include:
  • Automated Budgeting and Forecasting to increase productivity
  • Self-Service Financial Reporting allowing users to create, share and personalize reports
  • Integration with Salesforce.com, NetSuite, Intacct, & MS Dynamics

Workday Adaptive Planning Features

Budgeting, Planning, and Forecasting Features
Has featureLong-term financial planning
Has featureFinancial budgeting
Has featureForecasting
Has featureScenario modeling
Has featureManagement reporting
Consolidation and Close Features
Has featureFinancial data consolidation
Has featureJournal entries and reports
Has featureMulti-currency management
Has featureIntercompany Eliminations
Has featureMinority Ownership
Has featureLocal and consolidated reporting
Has featureDetailed Audit Trails
Financial Reporting and Compliance Features
Has featureFinancial Statement Reporting
Has featureManagement Reporting
Has featureExcel-based Reporting
Has featureAutomated board and financial reporting
Has featureXBRL support for regulatory filing
Analytics Features
Has featurePersonalized dashboards
Has featureColor-coded scorecards
Has featureKPIs
Has featureCost and profitability analysis
Has featureKey Performance Indicator setting
Has featureBenchmarking with external data
Integration Features
Has featureFlat file integration
Has featureExcel data integration
Has featureDirect links to 3rd-party data sources
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Does not have featureCustomizable dashboards
Does not have featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Does not have featureDrill-down analysis
Does not have featureFormatting capabilities
Does not have featurePredictive modeling
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Does not have featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Does not have featurePublish to Web
Does not have featurePublish to PDF
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Does not have featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Does not have featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Does not have featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Does not have featurePredictive Analytics
Does not have featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Does not have featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Does not have featureRole-Based Security Model
Does not have featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Does not have featureReport-Level Access Control
Does not have featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Does not have featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Does not have featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Does not have featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile

Workday Adaptive Planning Screenshots

Workday Adaptive Planning Video

Don’t settle for static plans. Get active planning with Adaptive Insights – your source for business budgeting software that is easy, powerful, and fast.

Workday Adaptive Planning Integrations

Workday Adaptive Planning Competitors

Vena Solutions, Longview, Prophix, IBM Cognos, Anaplan, CCH Tagetik, Tidemark, Planful (formerly Host Analytics), BusinessObjects SRC (Discontinued), Oracle Hyperion, SAP

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Workday Adaptive Planning Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
60%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
40%

Workday Adaptive Planning Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Workday Adaptive Planning Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Ireland, Australia, New Zealand, and many more!
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, French, Japanese, Portuguese (Brazilian), Russian, Polish, Dutch