Workday HCM

Workday HCM

Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.2 out of 100
Top Rated
Workday Human Capital Management

Overview

Recent Reviews

Workday for HRMS

7 out of 10
December 08, 2021
Workday is our organization's Human Resources application. We perform all the HR activities such as Personal Information view and update, …
Continue reading

Workday works for me

8 out of 10
September 21, 2021
Workday [Human Capital Management] is being used across the entire organization for employees to manage a plethora of internal information …
Continue reading

Best in class system for HCM

10 out of 10
August 31, 2021
I currently use Workday for several reasons in my current organization. On a personal level, it is where my personal employment …
Continue reading

Workday: A Data Powerhouse

8 out of 10
August 30, 2021
We use Workday Human Capital Management across our global organization. It addresses a number of problems including data management, …
Continue reading

Workday HCM Review

6 out of 10
April 24, 2021
Workday Human Capital Management is being used by the entire organization across all departments. It serves as the core HR system for our …
Continue reading

HCM for the Modern Age

8 out of 10
April 23, 2021
Workday HCM is currently being utilized to streamline and automate current manual processes as well as provide an ability to track our …
Continue reading

Amazing all-in-one software

8 out of 10
April 18, 2021
Workday HCM is used across the entire organization and has also been used at one of my previous jobs with another company. This software …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2022
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2021
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2020

Popular Features

View all 48 features

Update personal information (76)

8.8
88%

Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (73)

8.6
86%

Employment history (74)

8.5
85%

Job profiles and administration (76)

8.2
82%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Workday HCM, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Workday HCM?

Workday Human Capital Management is built as a cloud-based system with global consistency in user experience. Workday HCM is part of a broader system with other Workday products.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

72 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

N/A
Unavailable

What is ADP Workforce Now?

ADP Workforce Now is a cloud-based HR platform for mid-sized businesses. It features customizable modules of various HR services that businesses can tailor to their specific needs, as well as regulatory monitoring and alerts to help businesses remain compliant.

What is Oracle Cloud HCM?

Oracle Cloud HCM combines various human resources operations, such as Core HR functions, talent management, and workforce management, within one platform. The Cloud program provides global scaling and prioritizes mobile accessibility and integration.

Features Scorecard

Human Resource Management

8.3
83%

Payroll Management

8.6
86%

Leave and Attendance Management

8.7
87%

Employee Self Service

8.2
82%

Asset Management

8.5
85%

HR Reporting

7.8
78%

Onboarding

8.5
85%

Performance and Goals

7.7
77%

Performance Management

8.3
83%

Succession Planning

8.1
81%

Recruiting / ATS

8.4
84%

Product Details

What is Workday HCM?

Workday Human Capital Management is built as a single system with a single source of data, single security model, and single user experience. Workday offers organizations a cloud-based system that evolves to meet changing business needs today and into the future. The user-friendly, global system also ensures that customers are always on the latest version with up-to-date capabilities, whether they’re using Workday on a browser or mobile device. Workday HCM is part of a single system with other Workday products including Workday Financial Management, Workday Payroll (for the U.S., Canada, France, and the UK), Workday Recruiting, Workday Learning, Workday Planning, and more.

Key product areas:
  • Human Resource Management
  • Organization Management
  • Business Process Management
  • Reporting and Analytics
  • Employee and Manager Self-Service
  • Absence Management
  • Benefits Administration
  • ACA Management
  • Compensation Management
  • Performance and Goal Management
  • Talent Management
  • Survey Framework
  • Contingent Labor Management

Workday HCM Features

Human Resource Management Features

  • Supported: Employee demographic data
  • Supported: Employment history
  • Supported: Job profiles and administration
  • Supported: Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
  • Supported: Benefits information
  • Supported: Organizational charting
  • Supported: Organization and location management
  • Supported: Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)

Payroll Management Features

  • Supported: Pay calculation
  • Supported: Support for external payroll vendors
  • Supported: Off-cycle/On-Demand payment
  • Supported: Payroll history for each employee
  • Supported: Benefit plan administration
  • Supported: Direct deposit files
  • Supported: Payroll tracking and auditing
  • Supported: Salary revision and increment management
  • Supported: Reimbursement management
  • Supported: Statutory form management

Leave and Attendance Management Features

  • Supported: Approval workflow
  • Supported: Email notifications
  • Supported: Balance details
  • Supported: Travel absence management
  • Supported: Annual carry-forward and encashment

Employee Self Service Features

  • Supported: Employee login
  • Supported: View and generate pay and benefit information
  • Supported: Update personal information
  • Supported: Request time off
  • Supported: View job history
  • Supported: View company policy documentation
  • Supported: View company news and information
  • Supported: Employee recognition

Asset Management Features

  • Supported: Tracking of all physical assets

HR Reporting Features

  • Supported: Report builder
  • Supported: Pre-built reports
  • Supported: Ability to combine HR data with external data

Integration with other HR capabilities Features

  • Supported: Additional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by same vendor
  • Supported: Additional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by different vendor

Performance Management Features

  • Supported: Performance plans
  • Supported: Performance improvement plans
  • Supported: Review status tracking
  • Supported: Review reminders
  • Supported: Multiple review frequency

Succession Planning Features

  • Supported: Create succession plans/pools
  • Supported: Candidate ranking
  • Supported: Candidate search
  • Supported: Candidate development

Onboarding Features

  • Supported: New hire portal
  • Supported: Manager tracking tools

Performance and Goals Features

  • Supported: Corporate goal setting
  • Supported: Individual goal setting
  • Supported: Line-of sight-visibility
  • Supported: Performance tracking

Recruiting / ATS Features

  • Supported: Job Requisition Management
  • Supported: Company Website Posting
  • Supported: Publish to Social Media
  • Supported: Job Search Site Posting
  • Supported: Duplicate Candidate Prevention
  • Supported: Applicant Tracking
  • Supported: Notifications and Alerts

Additional Features

  • Supported: Reorganization Management
  • Supported: Workforce Planning

Workday HCM Competitors

Workday HCM Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Workday HCM?

Workday Human Capital Management is built as a cloud-based system with global consistency in user experience. Workday HCM is part of a broader system with other Workday products.

What is Workday HCM's best feature?

Reviewers rate Publish to Social Media highest, with a score of 9.7.

Who uses Workday HCM?

The most common users of Workday HCM are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Computer Software industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 91)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
December 08, 2021

Workday for HRMS

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workday is our organization's Human Resources application. We perform all the HR activities such as Personal Information view and update, Request references, Career, Performance, and Feedback request and receiving, Jobs and Referrals, etc on Workday as end-users.
  • Detailed Functionalities for HR Activities
  • In-app and email Notifications for activities pending
  • SSO logins for employees
  • Neat looking UI
  • Absence Management is very well defined
  • Search option is really difficult for some fields LOVs
  • Errors are not very clear sometimes and not easily understood how to resolve the same
  • No back button on pages are really a letdown
  • Notifications kept showing even after read (for weeks)
Well suited for an enhanced number of use cases for the HRMS domain. Most of the HR activities can be easily achieved using the workday HCM application. It has a neat UI so well understandable. Absence management is quite good. Less appropriate for faster entry of data by end-users as lots of data needs to be entered for even some simple items. Errors are not always easily understood and take lots of time to resolve.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used for payment type election, request time off to apply PTOs, etc, or even to update goals and employment details or profiles, basically, it's a one-stop solution for all HR and finance-related activities.
  • Leave management
  • Employee details management
  • User interface can be modernized.
For employees to check their salary-related information or for an org chart, even for places where employees can check on balance leaves or apply for new leaves, etc.
September 21, 2021

Workday works for me

Erica Mijon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workday [Human Capital Management] is being used across the entire organization for employees to manage a plethora of internal information like PTO, career and development goals, etc. It addresses everyday business problems like submitting timesheets and requesting time off. It also houses sections for employees and their managers to discuss their professional development goals, as well as required training modules, like onboarding and Compliance.
  • Allows managers and employees to provide feedback to one another
  • Workday [Human Capital Management] is a great storage of payroll and paystub information
  • [It] allows companies to upload mandatory training modules
  • Some of its interface is not very intuitive
  • It takes several clicks and digging to get to some basic info
  • Its layout is outdated compared to other internal websites
Workday [Human Capital Management] is great for accessing your time off calendar and submitting PTO requests. The career and development segments could be more easily accessed to encourage employees to use [them] more. It takes too many clicks to get to the professional development section, payroll, or anything that isn't linked to from the home page. Overall, it's a great solution for HR. More minute details are tracked automatically, rather than people scouring over spreadsheets.
Terry Scott | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This platform is used across our organization to manage our resources and assets. It has developed excellent infrastructure that tracks down how our assets are used. It has simple and secure document storage tools that backs [up] our records and any reports. The UI is flexible and intuitive for any user, and all our customers can access it easily.
  • Management of resources.
  • Management of our records database.
  • I have not experienced any area where it needs improvement.
The platform has maintained clean records of most of the transactions that take place in our organization. The user interface has a dashboard that gives guidelines on how to budget effectively. It can be easily customized to ensure that funds and other organization resources are well monitored. This product can easily be acquired at a moderate cost.
Logan Brecklin, PE | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire organization uses Workday [Human Capital Management] to manage goal plans and achievement, hour tracking, pay stub information, organizational chart information, personal development plans and credentials, core job achievements, and year-end review information. It solves many problems for our employees, mainly a software that is accessible from anywhere that helps employees accurately track their hours and charge to appropriate work orders [and] allows information transfer between employees, Human Resources and company management.
  • Makes it easy to charge specific work orders when tracking time.
  • Accurately creates report for year-end reviews and goal tracking.
  • Allows users to comment on ongoing work tasks that can be seen by management.
  • Can use software to see how much time is left in vacation or sick banks.
  • Allows users to quickly elect benefits for the next calendar year, with controls to prevent inadvertent benefit selection. Summarizes total premium cost.
  • Sometimes time charge errors are hard to uncover, particularly when multiple hour submittals have not been saved.
  • Adding, editing and deleting performance tasks can be difficult to manage.
  • The mobile app can be easier to use than the web browser version.
Very well suited to provide a transparent, easy to use software that tracks employee information across a whole organization. Modifying information directly within the software can be cumbersome, but copying and pasting information into Workday [Human Capital Management] allows users to share information with HR and company management. It also provides an accurate count of time with ATC, pay stub information, changes in your personal contact information exported into other company software, and ways for you to display interest in other positions at the company (so when the position opens up, HR can reach out to you).
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In any organization, a HCM software is required to track and manage its workforce. Unlike other HCM software, Workday is much more capable than just tracking and managing the organization’s workforce. At the company, Workday is utilized as the main portal for all employees, whether it is for compensation to retrieve payslips, benefits for benefits election, reimbursement, or even absence to request time-off and leave. On the other hand, from the HR side, Workday allows the HR team to retrieve any data that is needed and critical to the business at anytime via report writer. For instance the number of employees in each department or the total amount of reimbursement for each department. Workday also supports the creation, edit, and deletion of new supervisory organization (team, region, company, etc) and allow the admins to easily perform changes to employee data to accurately keep track of employee data so that it is most up-to-date.
  • Workday is easy-to-use for end-users due to its simple interface.
  • Workday can be unlimitely configure by the Workday team in order to meet the critical business needs (e.g. approval flows, business rules, validations, etc.)
  • Easily and accurately track and maintain employee data.
  • Easily allow the HR team to pull data and information through report writer.
  • Workday Studio allows Workday to be integrated with other platforms, leading to automation and time-savings using Workday as the main source of truth.
  • Even though Workday is easy-to-use for end-user, negative feedback on Workday generally revolve around the interface that doesn't look modern.
  • Even through Workday allows unlimited configuration, learning one Workday module can take up to 2 years. Workday configuration is not as simple as other HCM softwares.
  • Even though Workday provides learning course, it is extremely expensive.
  • Even though Workday has Workday Support to support errors, issues, and bugs on Workday, Workda Supports tend to be kind of slow when compared to other softwares support.
  • Workday is extremely expensive when compared to other HCM softwares.
In my opinion, I believe that Workday is probably the best HCM software in the world right now. As mentioned, Workday allows unlimited configuration. For example, Workday allows the configuration of a time-off plan that should only be visible to a certain set of employees (e.g. Singapore employees). Moreover, the absence eligibility rule that is configurable even allows to segregate those Singaporean employees further, for example, if they are 25 - 30 years old, they are eligible for 15 days AL, on the other hand, if they are 30 or above, 20 days of AL. All of these are capable through Workday HCM.

I don't think Workday is not well-suit or not appropriate on any circumstances. In the past, I have used software like Eagle and Opera which is on a different level when compared to Workday. If I have to comment anything negative, as mentioned prior, Workday is difficult to learn. In order to master a module, it could take up to 2 years. From the scenario above, if someone has no experience on Workday at all, it would take them at least 6 months of Workday learning in order to configure the scenario mentioned above.

August 31, 2021

Workday works for you.

Noah Mark Blaustein | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Workday in our entire organization, fulfilling, new hires, I-9, managing day to day employee requests including paid time off, payroll forecasting, reports that detail financials, location database management, senior level approvals and so much more. It's a day to day workflow that for the most part is simple and easy to use.
  • Manage Time Off requests.
  • Requisitions for new hires.
  • Promotions and pay increase.
  • The requisition and candidate flow can take a bit to get used to, there are some arrows to go to the next candidate that aren't in the best place for workflow.
  • For our hourly employees that work in multi-departments where a rate change is required, there isn't a way to make that change in the inbox module. It would be great if this functionality was added for a more productive flow.
Overall Workday is a great program for a large company that can focus on its core products and service and use a ready made and tailored business software that can complete the tasks workday can. No need to reinvent the wheel. Workday does this in a smart workflow.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I currently use Workday for several reasons in my current organization. On a personal level, it is where my personal employment information is housed as well as my PTO activities and performance review information. For my specific role in the organization, I use Workday to run detailed reports regarding Sales Reps on Sales Bonus Plans.
  • Instant access to information, such as PTO, performance, role, etc.
  • Can access reports filtered for specific data points or fields.
  • Easy to use.
  • One central database location for all personnel information.
  • Secure and limited access is given on a need to know basis.
  • Certain information can not be accessed and/or updated by the own individual. For example, for a name change, an individual would need to contact HR directly for updates or changes to information.
  • Lack of notification emails when updates are done or if pending items are awaiting responses. The employee needs to log in to find out if anything is pending or not. It would ideal if automatic email notifications go out if anything is still pending updates or changes have been made.
  • Effective dating not available for all changes in generates reports. For example, if a change was made to a certain field, the report generated does not display the effective date of the change.
It is very well suited for each employee to look up his or her own personal information and PTO data. It can also easily update certain information and update in real-time. It is easy to use and user-friendly. The automatic reporting generation feature is great. I use it on a monthly basis to determine what new additions or change were made that help me in my role as a Sales Ops Comp analyst. Knowing if a sales rep’s compensation has changed early enough can help me pay accurately to the rep.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Workday Human Capital Management across our global organization. It addresses a number of problems including data management, tracking, organization and general support of the business and HR functions.
  • Customized detailed reporting
  • Absence management
  • Business processes and transactions
  • Accurate and real time data
  • Effective dated custom fields
  • Importing data
Workday Human Capital Management isn’t like other systems on the market therefore it requires a lot of training to get up to speed. It also requires a lot of technical knowledge, ability, and willingness to learn for the administrator roles. A dedicated team who work together and understand how changes in one module impact the other modules is key. There can be no lone wolves in this system. The team must be dedicated to working together, testing, and learning together. Testing is crucial. It’s great to have a sandbox environment!
Jill Dickert | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workday [Human Capital Management] is used across our entire organization. It is used for multiple purposes. I specifically use Workday Human Capital Management for goal setting, quarterly check-ins, requesting paid time off, reviewing payslips, managing paid time off balances, and other items related to human resources. In addition to the standard human resources tasks, I also use Workday for submitting requisitions to obtain purchase orders for our vendors.
  • Streamlined platform that is useful across multiple business units
  • User-friendly dashboard
  • Excellent integration for financial and human resources-related tasks
  • The search tool could always use improvement
  • Time off balance can be confusing
  • More integrations could be useful
Workday Human Capital Management is well suited for day-to-day human resources tasks as well a future planning regarding goals, quarterly check-ins, and career growths. It is useful to have multiple features and available tasks in the overall dashboard. It is helpful that learning paths and courses are also integrated in the platform.
Monika Ganeva | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use HCM across our entire organization globally. It provides a user friendly way to access information about employees and the organization based on each user's security access. Paired with some of the other modules offered by Workday, HCM is a powerful tool for employee and manager self- service in a wide range of tasks such as personal data entry, review and acknowledgment of company policy documents, time tracking for Non-exempt and overtime eligible employees and managing time off. We also use HCM to bring in sophisticated automation of administrative HR tasks such as fulfilling verification of employment requests or electronic I-9 verifications, and fostering collaboration across various business functions, through approval workflows, notifications and inbox "to do" and "review" tasks for various stakeholders.
  • Groups employees in management hierarchies and creates Org Charts that are easy to navigate and allow for visualizing management chains regardless of employee locations
  • Intuitive and easy to use. The Workday search functionality works very much like Google; one can search for anything that they have access to in the database and drill down into the various details. All information is connected through hyperlinks and users can easily keep digging into the details for as far as their security access would take them.
  • Tasks such as to do, review or approve items are sent to the user's Workday Inbox, very much resembling email. Notifications about outstanding "to do" items are also sent to each the user's work email address on a daily basis.
  • Language translations of custom data fields and business processes across different modules are not available and each client has to maintain these on their own. This can significantly challenge system adoption and utilization, in countries where English is a second language.
  • Limited ability to customize system generated error messages (often heavy of technical jargon) leads to inability for the end user to self-service in resolving simple transactional issues and causes a high volume of escalations to the system support team.
  • Inability for the system to handle multiple transactions with the same effective date and determine what would be the most up to date information based on the timestamp of each transaction. This creates a constant need for data corrections, cancellations or rescinding of transactions to accommodate entry of additional information effective dated on the same day or users have to future date transactions to avoid conflict.
Workday HCM requires constant and a lot of HRIS support and in the event that a company cannot afford to staff accordingly it may create a lot of frustration. The system allows for a lot of flexibility in customizing and automating processes; however, that also requires constant maintenance by an experienced technical team. Workday HCM is a great solution for companies that are looking to capitalize on employee and manager self-service, standardization of practices, compliance and automation.
April 24, 2021

Workday HCM Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workday Human Capital Management is being used by the entire organization across all departments. It serves as the core HR system for our company and the benefits is used mainly within united states. This software is cloud based, so it's easy to access and it serves as the HR systems data management system.
  • Act as Proxy feature is really cool and helps function as an admin effectively
  • Benefits module is good
  • Overall look and feel is good. Easy to use
  • Workday is not customizable in terms of user interface
  • Reporting capability is very limited
  • Many Fonts and text editing features are missing while providing feedback
Workday Human Capital Management is very user friendly, both on the administration side and as well as an end user. It can manage large sets of employee data. Integrations can be performed using latest web services technology and workday has certain inbuilt connectors. So its suitable for any enterprise which can afford the software for storing large employee database. For small to medium size companies, this is more expensive.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workday HCM is currently being utilized to streamline and automate current manual processes as well as provide an ability to track our employee's life cycles all within a single system. We use the Workday HCM for recruiting/onboarding, payrolling, talent management, and a plethora of other services. The primary business problem Workday HCM addresses is a single system to manage employee transactions
  • Reporting. There seems to be a virtually limitless way to report on hundreds of different data points
  • Performance Management capabilities have gone from manual pen and paper to online and fully automated with built-in routing and workflows
  • Payroll services have been enhanced and pay changes have been streamlined and made more efficient
  • Reporting. Can be very messy if the user does not know what they're doing
  • Roles in Workday need more configuration capabilities
Workday is well-suited to bring any company into the 21st century as far as managing your workforce. Would be less appropriate for smaller businesses as the cost/benefit ratio diminishes with fewer employees.
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Workday Human Capital Management to manage our performance reviews, job profiles, career development, org structure, everything HR related. All of our HR processes like promotions, job transfers, contractors, manager workflows, performance reviews, etc. are all done through Workday, across all countries. We do NOT use it for payroll or vacation/PTO use cases, as that has not been something globally aligned for us on.
  • HR process workflows
  • Mobile app is pretty good
  • Less emails, more notifications are good, especially the way it bundles the notifications
  • The web interface is awful
  • Terrible, terrible, UI. No modern features like auto-save. I can't count the times I have lost work.
  • Their UX team (if it even exists) must be aliens, because I can't see how humans would have come up with the UI conventions they have.
  • Who creates a website application where you can't open stuff in multiple browser windows and tabs easily?
As a whole, the application does the HR management well. But where it falls terribly short is making it easier, quicker, and faster for managers to do common tasks, like managing performance objectives for an entire team. Sure, there is the "cascade" function to copy objectives down from manager to associate, but that's it. I can't look at the performance objectives across my entire team and update them. I can't even easily open links in new browser windows so I can see them side by side! They need to work on actually understanding what managers do regularly with some user research.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workday HCM is used across the entire organization and has also been used at one of my previous jobs with another company. This software is awesome for all HR and job management in one place. You can easily record goals, keep track of performance reviews, compensation, time off, and so much more. If you're ever wondering about a coworker's contact information or where they fall on the on the reporting chain, it's incredibly easy to look that up. I was at another company that didn't use Workday for things like performance reviews and tracking hours and it was an extremely archaic and slow system that was incredibly frustrating.
  • Performance Tracking
  • Compensation
  • Time Off
  • User Friendly
  • Clean Design
  • Seamless
  • It's only useful if your manager and other co-workers adopt it too, otherwise, it'll be lacking data/functionality.
  • Sometimes some forms or information isn't where you'd think it is, intuitively, so you have to go on a bit of a hunt for it.
  • I frequently get errors or have access issues with small things that are frustrating. You might reload the page and it'll work which is a bit annoying.
Workday Human Capital Management is good for bigger companies that employ a large number of workers. It makes it easy to manage pay, time off, performance, personal information, tax information, etc. all in one place. Other employers I've had, use multiple systems for each of these things, whereas Workday puts all this information in one place. I'd highly recommend it to get all your HR management into one, seamless application.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Workday across our global workforce. It is our HRIS (our main source of truth for all people data across HR, Payroll, Finance, etc), our performance management tool and we're planning to launch their LMS platform. We are also looking to build new Workday instances across the world as we expand into new countries.
  • Organize People Data
  • Scale with the company
  • Grow internationally
  • Customization
  • Expansive use cases
  • It's complex to build, which can lead to downstream complications as you continue to build.
  • The performance module was not customizable in a way to perfectly fit our needs.
  • Various integrations add increased complexity.
Workday is an important, compliant tool as you scale to the 1,000s and 10,000s of employees. It's a solution that can scale to support even the biggest employers. There are so many modules you can add, which is important flexibility as you continue to grow. It is robust enough to sync with various payroll/finance tools as well.

Given high costs and high complexity to setup/change, I would not recommend for SMB clients.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workday is used as our main HCM system throughout the organization, which is now over 77k+ users. It is our main HR system of record for employees. Employee Self Service, Manager Self Service, Compensation Review, Talent Review, Performance, etc. are all items that we perform in Workday. The system allows for pretty much anything to be built to handle the way your business process wants to function.
  • Flexibility in building Business Processes.
  • Highly configurable.
  • Always on and available anywhere from cloud.
  • More easy, it is almost too good at what it does, that it is sometimes cumbersome to do actions.
  • Less downtime, already great, but would be nice to have zero downtime.
  • Better implementation of client's brainstorm ideas into the product releases.
Workday HCM is well suited to meet the needs of an HR system environment, everything from ESS, MSS, Benefits, Comp, Talent, Performance, Recruiting, Payroll, Time Tracking, and even Learning. It seems like it can do it all. When thinking of having multiple individual systems to accomplish these things, it makes it a lot easier to have it all in one place like in Workday. However, some drawbacks as it may not be able to do everything that another standalone application can do, but it may outweigh the cons here having everything together.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implemented Workday Human Capital Management as a replacement for internal processes (Indeed posting, spreadsheets, etc.) that were ineffective and burdensome. We found that by implementing Workday HCM, we were able to streamline our processes, using their advanced technology, giving us time to spend with our employees, managing performance, having detailed records, and understanding what our shortfalls were.

Additionally, we were able to attract additional candidates not captured using our spray and pray approach on Indeed/ZipRecruiter/etc. We found that the candidates from Workday HCM were far more qualified and met our expectations.
  • Human Resource Management
  • Reporting and Analytics
  • Benefits Administration
  • Workforce/Labor Management
  • Talent Optimization
  • Compliance Monitoring
  • Employee Interface
  • Time and Attendance
Workday [Human Capital Management] [exceeds] our expectations! I don't have a lot to knock them for; however, there's always room for improvement. Some of the features seemed like they could use a revamp, and some of the customization issues were a little complex. Overall, customer service was exceptional. Their support team is phenomenal and quick to respond. I don't know of an industry that Workday wouldn't be a benefit.
Carl Pieri | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The whole organization uses to manage our pay, benefits, performance, feedback, time off, and time sheets for folks who need to submit those. It makes a lot of processes that could be done manually or over spreadsheets automated and simple. We also use it to manage things like healthcare and other benefit elections.
  • It's really easy to see my pay and how much I have been paid over time and where the different parts of my paycheck are going in regards to taxes, social security, 401k, etc.
  • Easy to give feedback to colleagues within the platform.
  • The search functionality is pretty bad. I'd love to be able to search for specific documents and have the search functionality bring them up (W2, April 2020 payslips). But it doesn't currently seem to recognize almost any search query
  • Its really hard to tell how the categories were created. For example if I want to find my W2 why is it hidden under Pay -> Tax documents but its not hidden under personal information -> worker documents. If your search functionality worked this would be less annoying.
  • The way you choose to collapse certain items is odd. Like in "personal information" there are 5 items shown up front and then it says "More (2)." The items are small, there is no reason to cut them off after only 5.
I believe that Workday Human Capital Management is well suited for companies that are looking to manage HR for a larger number of employees (at least 100). It seems like it would be more than is necessary below that but to be completely honest I do not work in HR and don't know. It also seems good for organizations that track hours worked.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Workday across the organization for performance/career management, absence (etc.) tracking, booking leave, and integration to other platforms such as compliance attestation, LinkedIn Learning, etc.
  • The UI is clean and easy to navigate.
  • It has neat integration features to support L&D and compliance tasks.
  • Workday HCM has come a LONG WAY, it used to be terrible!
  • There are times when it's not obvious how to perform a task, or to accidentally do the wrong thing (aka, not as intuitive as it could be).
There has been a considerable investment in developing Workday HCM. When I first started using it six years ago, and it was excruciating and caused issues continuously (back then, my manager once accidentally "fired" one of my colleagues, resulting in him not being paid for a month!). Happily, things have changed, and this seamless integrates payroll to leave (even managing our firms generous but complicated paternity leave). Has resulted in Workday HCM becoming (almost) the one-stop-shop for HR stuff if only they had travel/expenses, then it really would be a one-stop-shop!
Not able to comment, as a user, I call our HR hotline for support with Workday. However, they are very knowledgeable, so I can only presume that support for them is excellent!
Amanda Haskett | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Across the whole organization. All employees have some sort of access to Workday. We have those working directly in the recruiting payrolls etc., side of things. Others are using it to keep track of their on work benefits, time, growth and keeping in contact and knowing others throughout the organization.
  • Time tracking
  • Benefits
  • Recruiting
  • Communication
  • More user-friendly for employees
Workday is a great solution to companies that have employees spread amongst locations.. this gives an opportunity for continued growth and success as well as great information for said employees. It definitely makes it easier on those HR associates who are not housed in specific locations where employees need more assistance.
The support is great.. it helps to keep moving processes throughout the HR flow. We are able to connect great people to even better jobs and use the tools to promote those people highly qualified to the positions they seek.. benefits are easily accessible along with payroll and goal setting.
Bryan Parry | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Workday across the entire organization for a variety of HR functions - requesting PTO, seeing team hierarchies/departments, etc. It also integrates with other systems that can control access to things like SFDC, NetSutie, OpenAir, etc. We do not use it to manage HR plans or handle our pay stubs or benefit allocation like health insurance, 401(k), etc.
  • PTO requests and viewing is very quick and easy.
  • Useful to see where people sit in our organization and to find someone's manager if necessary,
  • Workday also contains useful contact info like cell phone if you need that in an emergency.
  • We use separate systems for pay stubs / benefit allocation as well as managing HR plans. Would be great if Workday could handle all of these things well.
  • This may be our setup, but I am unable to pull useful reports which I want to use to analyze headcount & capacity. This may be just how we set up access.
It does the simply HR tasks very quickly and easily. I like the interface as well. It does still seem to be lacking in its full functionality because we do need to use a variety of other systems for HR-related things. I think Workday should focus on improving these other areas so that we could reduce the # of systems we need to go into. The functions that we do use Workday for operate well.
Wish the reporting and integrations were better and that we were able to use Workday in more contexts. I think that Workday probably does have more capabilities than we use, but I'm not sure how user-friendly they are. I like using Workday for what we do use it for and therefore would recommend it.
November 05, 2019

Workday Review

Rachel Friedlander-Holm | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the whole organization to hold much of our employees' necessary HR information.
  • Massive scale. Uber is huge and being able to access Uber employee information across teams and regions is super helpful.
  • Easy-to-use interface. I really like the ability to easily pull user information needed to provide insight into my programming.
  • Trusted source. I've never been let down by the partnership and consistency across the board!
  • Access to all user information. Sometimes I've found some inconsistencies in reports I've pulled through Workday. This could be bad data or the system, unsure of the origin.
I had to create a new entry for taking time off for employees to volunteer through a "Volunteer Time Off" category and this was a super easy and seamless experience because of Workday.
I've never reached out to support but I am sure they would be great.
November 05, 2019

Workday HCM

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the whole organization. It is simple and easy to use and very user friendly. It has a great user interface. You can customize the UI with options based on your needs. It's even more simple to access the data on your phone with their mobile application, which can be used/downloaded to Android, iPhone, etc.
  • Ease of use
  • Cool user interface
  • Customization based on your requirements
  • Accessibility from all kinds/types of devices
  • Could have more graphical interface in the UI
  • Advanced options are hard to navigate
  • Could have a tutorial on how to use
If you are looking for a simple, user-friendly human capital management tool, then Workday Human Capital Management tool is the right one for you. Users can also access the information using a user-friendly mobile application.
Like I already explained it is user friendly. It has great User interface.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workday HCM is being used by the entire organization, worldwide.
It addresses onboarding, compensation, reviews, PTO tracking, personnel employee work life. Workflows are set up for supervisors and managers to approve changes. Employees go in and put in their goals and annual reviews, which go back to the managers for their part. All gets completed, approved and submitted in the application.
  • Onboarding.
  • Promotions and increases.
  • Tracking of the employee life cycle.
  • Tax forms - want to be able to house state tax forms for employees to fill out at the same time as FWT - W4, without having to purchase the payroll module.
  • PTO - ability to grant time over 10 months and prorate time-based on hire date.
  • Be more user-friendly. Example direct deposit set up is extremely burdensome. The system is not intuitive.
  • PTO - be able to see your entire direct reports and their reports time for the year at a glance!
In a large organization where there are multiple locations and hierarchies, a WFM system works well to get workflows completed in a standardized manner and allow an unbiased view of employee and management timeliness. It allows for self-service and a way to legally comply by having all forms submitted able to be signed with an electronic signature.
Management understands that the better we make Workday the better for the business, but due to the priciness of WD modules and programming, we must sometimes wait for changes.