Workday HCM Reviews

By Overall Rating

9-10
15
7-8
7
5-6
2
3-4
1
1-2
1

By Company Size

Review Details

 Last Updated
Loading…
 Overall Rating
Loading…

Author Details

 Company Size
Loading…
 Department
Loading…
 Experience
Loading…
 Industry
Loading…
 Job Type
Loading…
 Role
Loading…

Reviews (1-25 of 26)

Melissa Cypher profile photo
Melissa CypherSr. Consultant - Payroll Tax & HRIS | Education Management | 5001-10,000 employees

7 of 10  |  4/27/2016
It is being used across the organization, to streamline business efforts with HR, Benefits, Payroll, and integrations with our student systems and other vendors, but provides us with a more flexible and modern system to manage our information among those systems.
  • The flexibility of being a cloud-based system that users can log on from anywhere (including administrators) to use with a simple sign-in screen - no special downloads or certificates needed to access your data.
  • The ability to customize (within the structure of the system) what users see and access, as well as the self-service capabilities for employees.
  • Most actions and activities in Workday can be tracked as a "to-do", so you can follow up on something at a later time without forgetting about it.
  • Finding employee data is fairly easy, the search tool is a great feature of Workday.
  • The Payroll module is lacking some major reports "out of the box". For example, coming to Workday from a payroll service provider, we realized Workday doesn't have a clean Payroll Register or Payroll Summary report that can be used for audits or top-level reconciliation. We had to build custom reports to manage that, but most reports only output to Excel, so Workday lacks some clean PDF versions that satisfy Auditors needs when looking to compare top-level payroll information.
  • The Payroll module does not come with in-house training. The realization is that the consultants your organization uses, are also going to be your trainers, leaves many facing challenges of information not being passed to the end-users properly. Workday needs to provide more web-based training, at no extra cost, to users of the system. Payroll is an important module within Workday, and users need to understand the "how's" and "why's" of the system - because it is quite different from other in-house and SaaS payroll systems.
  • The Payroll Module is still very young, so there are many developments needed to make it more effective for large organizations. From reports, to tax configurations, to exports and imports of data from 3rd parties, Workday needs to put more focus on listening to its users and making things available more quickly than years down the road. We have had issues with tax calcs and had to identify necessary changes Workday needed to make, which are things other payroll systems have already tackled. In some ways, it can feel like you are redesigning the wheel as you move forward with Workday Payroll.
Workday seems to be more suited to the Employee management and high-level data aspects of an organization.  The financial structure of Worktags to mirror an accounting GL, create confusion among users new to Workday.  The HR Information tracking and employee data capture and data management seem to be the most developed within Workday.
Key Questions to ask as an organization: What is broken in your current organization that you want to fix?  What modules would you benefit most from?  Are you currently in-house or outsourced for payroll?  If you are considering Workday as a full solution to HR, Finance, and Payroll needs, you may require additional heads to support the system depending on how large or detailed your organization is.  This is not a system that will reduce your admin headcount if you currently outsource HR/Payroll needs to service providers such as ADP, Ceridian, etc.
No photo available
Authenticated ReviewerDirector in Information Technology | E-Learning | 5001-10,000 employees

9 of 10  |  3/16/2016
Workday is our global HRMS solution and it is used by all departments across the organization to manage employee information and to integrate this information into other HR and business systems.  In times past we would use best of breed products but never really get to the point where leveraging the extra feature set of a best of breed product.  With this portfolio of applicatoins our employees would have a differnet applicatoin for services like Performance and Compensation.  We have standardized on Workday for HRMS, Performance and Compensation management and will be implementing Workday Onboarding.  This provides our employees with a single user interface for these functions and we expect to Workday to continually enhance these products in the semi-annual update cycle. 
  • User Interface - Workday is ERP software but presents information that aligns with the experience you get on good consumer sites. Workday started with a superior UI to other ERP software and was recently revamped to leverage HTML 5.
  • Innovation Cycle - Enhancements are introduced twice a year and extends the product offering.
  • Single Tenant - All customers are on the same version of the software. This is what has enabled Workday to drive the innovation cycle. From a customer perspective it means that documentation on the Workday Community site is current and applicable to the version of the software that you are running. This also extends opportunities to share information between customers.
  • Workday Community - The community site should be a great place for information and to get questions answered. I feel that that the documentation on the site is missing specific examples and that Workday does not adequately manage the site. On the community sites for other business systems I see that the Help & Support team respond to unanswered questions. I don't see the same management of the site by Workday.
  • User Interface - It may seem odd that I have User Interface as one of the things done well and as one of the things that need improvement. Because of the modern look and feel of Workday we went live with little user training and found that some processes like certain aspects of the performance review that were hard to understand. Also we recently modified one of our Business Processes to include the distribution of a report. Updating this configuration was not well documented on the community site and tricky to find out how to manage it in the User Interface.
  • Reports and Data Sources - It's easy to build simple reports but the Workday Data Sources and available objects can be hard to understand.
Workday is very well suited for any company with 500+ employees especially for a company interested in implementing the HRMS as a SaaS.  The HCM subscription includes Global HRMS, Payroll, Beneffits Administration, Onboarding, Performance and Compensation Management.  If you use Workday to administrate these services you will get more value for your subscription.  
Carlino Cecilio profile photo
Carlino CecilioSr. Mgr, HR Operations and Systems | Computer & Network Security | 1001-5000 employees

10 of 10  |  2/19/2016
I have used Workday for HCM, Payroll, Expense, Time tracking and performance.  We have used it to deliver employee and manager capabilities that are easy to use and provide actionable data access.  I have used it in all cases in hypergrowth companies.  This means we are looking for efficiency gains and looking for a scalable solution that is flexible to meet our changing business needs
  • The user experience is superior to all others. It is built like all the consumer tools out there, so employees are familiar with the icons and navigation
  • Finally a solution that really has reporting that is already built in. There is no need to buy a data warehouse or anything
  • Configuring really is simple. you dont need to hire technical people to learn how to configure business processes
  • They can improve their performance solutions. performance reviews are done in a very traditional fashion and dont offer some of the new functionality
  • The goals module is limited and needs to have more flexibility to be able to align goals and cascade them down the organization
It is well suited for all types of companies especially complex companies. It is suited for companies that have a lot of changes in the way they do business.  Companies that change in headcount or acquire companies.  companies that change business rules.  It is also suited for global companies as I dont know many other solutions that truly are global
David Watson profile photo
David WatsonInside Sales Consultant | Internet | 1001-5000 employees

7 of 10  |  2/19/2016
Being used across the organization for non-salary employees for time management and for salary employees for tracking sick and vacation days.
  • Tracks T & L
  • Tracks sick days
  • Able to easily request PTO or other absences.
A repeat function for entering time and labor would be nice.
Isaac Dixon, PhD., SPHR profile photo
Isaac Dixon, PhD., SPHRAssociate Vice President and Director Human Resources | Higher Education | 501-1000 employees

7 of 10  |  12/23/2015
We implemented Workday just over a year ago. We went from a largely paper based system and a old legacy system that was not really designed to support HR processes. Our implementation lasted approximately 8 months as the result of a great team from LC and our implementation partners at Meteorix. Workday is used to manage human capital transactions related to employee onboarding, benefit enrollment, time and attendance tracking and payroll. Moving from paper has helped us clean up and refine our reporting as well as our work processes too!
  • Onboarding: Putting everything related to an employee coming on board into one place makes it much easier for people to understand what is expected of them and for us to see what they have done and need to do.
  • Benefits management: We did our first online enrollment a year ago and for the most part it went exceptionally well. Most of our employees had complained for sometime about the amount of paper they had to fill out for benefits enrollment each year and the previous system required navigating 10 screens to make a benefit change for one employee.
  • Time Reporting and Attendance Tracking: This makes managing employee time and attendance much more accurate and likely to be reviewed by submitting managers. It also eliminated several hundred paper timesheets each month!
  • The training modules have greatly improved these were the weakest items when we went live a year ago
  • Greater assistance on the need for culture change in organizations. Many organizations think they are buying an appliance and they're not prepared for the amount of organizational change that will ensue.
  • Getting Workday financials might have made the implementation of the payroll piece a bit easier. We are still writing interfaces with our GL because that is on the old system.
Is your team tech savvy enough to manage their end of the project? Do you have a project manager in your organization to keep things on time/track?
How well documented are your processes? If they are like most HR teams this is where you need to do quite a bit of work prior to getting into to Workday.
As I stated earlier change leading organizations will do well with the product. Change resistant environments will struggle as this product forces you to move more quickly than you are comfortable with.

Key question: When do we want to go live and what resources are we willing to put into the project?
Enrique Piovani profile photo
Enrique PiovaniHRIS Analyst, Lead | Oil & Energy | 1001-5000 employees

6 of 10  |  11/11/2015
Workday is our global HCM platform and it is our US HR and Payroll system. We have implemented Core HCM, Performance Review and we are in the middle of implementing our new merit process in Workday. We have connectors from Workday to Oracle HR, to Active Directory, to benefit vendors, to Stock Administrators, etc.
  • One of my favorite features of Workday is the actionable items and the fact that you can run a report and after auditing the data you can correct it from within the report.
  • Workday is a complex system that allows great flexibility. It comes with predefined business processes that can be fully customized.
  • Workday self service features for managers and employees are great and particularly those features that are mobile enabled.
  • Dashboards and reporting are spectacular.
  • Documentation. This is the first system I have ever worked that has such a lack of documentation.
  • Creating advance reports and specifically creating calculated fields is very cumbersome.
  • Payroll in general is still a very immature product. Most mature payroll systems handle taxation much better than Workday.
Workday is very well suited for small to medium size companies that are looking to be independent from IT.
Ask specific questions about delivered reports, delivered connectors, out of the box business processes, etc. 
Make sure you understand how technical support works and also find out about how easy/difficult it would be to implement new modules in the future and ask how other companies usually deal with this issue.
Jeff Greening profile photo
Jeff GreeningEngagement Manager, Workday Implementations | Information Technology and Services | 51-200 employees

10 of 10  |  10/22/2015
  • The application runs fast and the design make the application intuitive; very similar to your favorite consumer website. If you can use Google, Amazon, or Zappos; you can use Workday. The End User Experience is the best that I have seen in any HRMS or Financials software. There are several visual dashboards that have graphs/charts that you can even take action on by drilling into the data. The user interface is very simple, even for those not technical savvy. The ability to make a change (Related Action) of almost any data object on one screen is very impressive.
  • Mobile - The mobile experience for iPad and iPhone is amazing. Development is done with the mantra, "mobile first" to give end users the best experience.
  • Integrations - Workday has made it possible to leverage out-of-the-box integrations for many third party vendors using Cloud Connect technology. This makes it more of an exercise of mapping the data and making configurations as opposed to full blown development efforts. Workday also supports Big Data which is very attractive to companies.
  • Audit Trail Functionality: A very intuitive audit trail feature that does not require setup. Every single transaction is tracked.
  • The Community: The Workday Community listens to its customers - whether it is a customer asking for advice or a "how-to" question or it is submitting a new idea to be added in one of the two major feature releases (updates) a year. Workday also allows customers to post solutions (integration builds, how-to guides, reports, creative solutions) to the Solution Catalog that other customers can leverage. Through the Community Q&A Forums, customers can interact with other end users and even partner consultants to help with an issue.
  • Two updates a year with minimal downtime. The updates take place during a weekend and with the last update, there was only about 4 hours and 7 minutes of downtime. Workday is continuously adding new features that can be turned on by the customer discretion and over the last few updates, Workday has added over 250 new features based on customer input alone from the Community Brainstorms.
  • And finally, a single version across all customers is key in a real SaaS solution. Long gone are the days of asking another company what version they are on.
  • One of the opportunities that I see as an Implementation Partner is to offer additional training for reporting. While the reporting tool, with proper knowledge transfer and training, can be easy to use - most customers do not have the time to focus on this during the original implementation. I would recommend that your implementation partner spend time with the Subject Matter Expert showing the basics of Reporting and assisting on writing a few key and critical reports to give adequate knowledge transfer. Take advantage of the BIRT Reporting tool. In addition, enable the various Dashboards for your management team and executives. .
  • With the SaaS implementation, since everything is "documented" in the tenant; customers sometimes cannot adjust to less documentation. The documentation is typically no where close to traditional ERP Implementations that includes things like As-Is and To-Be process flows and the "implementation binder."
  • Workday has moved to 2 updates a year, with that being said, customers have to update their internal training documents to adopt changes every 6 months that can be burdensome for some customers. Workday does provide customers an updated tenant 5 weeks in advance of the Update weekend in order to have adequate time to test and make any necessary changes to documentation.
  • Security: Workday Security setup and configuration can be very complex. I would recommend that Security Administrators attend Workday Training during the initial deployment.
Please note that this review was written by an Implementation Partner of Workday.  The views and opinions expressed here are my own only and in no way represent the views, positions or opinions - expressed or implied - of my employer (present and past).  


Tom Glasscock profile photo
Tom GlasscockPrincipal | Human Resources | 1001-5000 employees

10 of 10  |  6/17/2015
I helped a client company select and implement Workday for all of its 5,000 employees in 40 countries.  Until that point, my client did not have a global, integrated HR system of record in place.
  • Highly configurable; makes it easy to conform to business requirements
  • Great end user experience; intuitive interface is easy to navigate
  • Consistent, transparent and inclusive cycle of innovation and improvement
  • No LMS
  • Since it is easy to configure, a high level of discipline is required to keep workflow streamlined and simple. This is not as easy as it sounds.
It's critical to benchmark with other Workday customers to gauge their user experience.
Linda Buckley profile photo
Linda BuckleyAssociate Director, Financial Applications | Higher Education | 5001-10,000 employees

10 of 10  |  6/17/2015
Workday is used across Georgetown University for Human Capital Management, Payroll, Benefits, Time Tracking, Academic Appointments.  It provides an auditable workflow, electronic onboarding, and paperless benefits/payroll election.  It also provides secure document and data storage. Workday replaced a highly customized main frame product (Genesys) that required alot of outside-system paper approvals and processing which result in delays, lost documentation and a specialized IT staff for maintenance.
  • The Single User Version philosophy, while a challenge for change management due to the frequent upgrade cycle, allows for our unique higher education requirements to be incorporated rapidly. Because of this, Product support is responsive and timely.
  • Georgetown is a design partner and this close relationship allows us to provide feedback for constant product improvement. This design partner philosophy and willingness to take feedback and adapt has been a huge selling point for user acceptance at Georgetown.
  • Workday provides a very secure storage platform that experiences very infrequent outages. When outages occur they are typically resolved in under an hour.
  • Even for non-design partners, Workday provides options to join User Groups to preview planned functionality. Also Workday encourages users to create Brainstorms for new ideas that the community votes upon. The ability to provide feedback prior to releases is also key to change management and user acceptance. Workday has a good track record in terms of adopting customer brainstorms.
  • Workday maintains and facilitates a Community of Users to ensure self-sufficiency, sharing lessons learned and knowledge sharing.
  • Any ideas for improvement are considered by Workday and the company provides multiple avenues for feedback (see above). Any issues we have experienced in the past have been addressed or are in the process of being addressed.
  • One source of frustration is the lack of documentation; however, with the rapid rate of improvement that Workday has been able to sustain, documentation is a reasonable trade-off for their responsiveness.
  • Not an area for improvement, but a factor for consideration is that use of Workday does require some technical IT experience. A big selling point is that organizations don't need to keep teams of dbas and technical experts on hand to maintain the system, as with a Main-frame. But Workday does require some technical IT support. This is particularly true for integrations and reporting.
As with anything, the choice of product is dependent upon the needs of the organization.  However if an organization wants an easy-to-use, intuitive, configurable system that improves constantly and is focused more on the business user than the technologist, Workday is ideal.  If an organization is change-averse and wants a more traditional platform that is customizable, and stable for long periods of time with lots of documentation, this may not be the best fit.  The difference between Workday and a more traditional ERP can be thought of as the difference between an iphone and a central switchboard.
No photo available
Authenticated ReviewerProfessional in Human Resources | Financial Services | 1001-5000 employees

4 of 10  |  5/6/2015
Workday is utilized by the company as a whole. Human Resources utilizes it for employee information such as basic data, compensation, benefits, etc and reporting. Finance utilizes it for expenses request, for determining cost allocations and such. Employees are using it to request days off and for self service transactions such as name and address changes.
  • Employees basic data is easily accessed.
  • Easy for employees to request time off and update their personal information.
  • Benefits open enrollment has been made easier.
  • Reporting is not user friendly.
  • The expense system is confusing to most users. If you accidently hit one wrong button, you lose all your data and are required to redo it all. If the AP team denies a request you also have to reenter everything if you're correcting and trying to resubmit.
  • Some of the tabs are confusing too. You have Job History, Worker History, etc. Some of the info overlaps, other info doesn't and then you can never remember what you clicked on if you ever need to get back to it. I'm fairly technically savvy, so it definitely isn't "operator error."
I think it's user friendly for keeping track of basic employee data. I also like the ease of use during our open enrollment period for benefits. It's easy to use and understand. 

I think they need to work on updating their expense side so that it isn't so complicated for users to utilize. If you are a potential client, be sure to have them delve deep into how it all works, it is possible that ours isn't customized appropriatly for our use. 

For a potential client, I'd want them to go step-by-step on the various user tabs so that you have a better understanding how they can and should be utilized. Again, maybe our customization is off.
Robert Goodman profile photo
Robert GoodmanDirector, Business Intelligence & Analytics | 5001-10,000 employees

8 of 10  |  3/3/2015
Workday has a robust reporting engine and handles workflow very well. Business processes can be established to handle virtually any scenario. Their Worktag model offers an effective means of hierarchical reporting.
  • Workday has a Big Data initiative. They extend the capability to mash data from various sources into the Workday platform. While it is possible to extract data from the Workday platform, their is a governor on the API in terms of volume that can be exported. We find this limiting and creates complex processing for our business intelligence team. We have been able to use custom reports to extract large volumes of data, but this still remains slower than a traditional fat-client ERP database connection.
  • We have found that Workday did not thoroughly test deprecated functionality during new releases. This has caused some functionality to 'break' unexpectedly when upgrading tenants. That being said, they have been quick to collaboratively work with us to resolve the issue(s). I suspect this process will ever improve as the company continues to grow.
No photo available
Authenticated ReviewerAnalyst in Information Technology | Information Technology and Services | 10,001+ employees

9 of 10  |  3/3/2015
Workday is being implemented to integrate platforms for performance management, compensation management, and general people management. Today we use multiple systems for position management and are retiring old systems for each of these processes in order to consolidate and expedite.
  • Workday is enabling consistent, streamlined reporting across HR and the business
  • Workday will allow managers access to worker history that we have never been able to package and put online before.
  • We are working to integrate with SAP payroll and there are challenges in mapping things like action/reasons and infotypes. This is in the details and it's where we are spending most of our time.
  • The product / methodology is light on documentation and this is difficult when it comes to communicating the changes to the business.
Workday is great for mid-size companies and it's important for a user to document priorities prior to starting the project, but also to be flexible during the implementation. I think our major difficulties are encountered when we are unable to agree to a global process, which is absolutely critical in a global implementation.
Dale Tolley profile photo
Dale TolleySr. HR Generalist | Computer Software | 501-1000 employees

10 of 10  |  3/3/2015
Workday is our new HRIS that has replaced SAP company-wide.  We are using Workday as our system of record and strategic platform for performance management, hiring and onboarding, expense management and human capital management.  With Workday, we streamlined our open enrollment process from last year, we've reduced the time it takes for HR business partners to support their customers, and we've reduced data entry errors significantly.  Automating employee self service tasks has also freed up our HR team to address more strategic issues and perform fewer transactional tasks.
  • Intuitive system: employees who are even minimally tech savvy can find more than one way to complete the task they are trying to do by themselves.
  • Customizable and flexible business processes: Workday has the ability to adapt to a changing workforce and changing processes and policies very easily.
  • Cloud based: Employees can access Workday from any computer and complete processes we need them to in a timely manner, without having to be logged into our company network.
  • User Experience/Layout: Many screens in Workday have several scroll bars that can make navigating Workday difficult.
  • Creating and merging custom security groups is not an easy task from the client side of Workday. Having a diagnostic walkthrough solution for creating custom security would be helpful.
  • While onboarding is beginning to function in Workday, there is not yet a seamless integration to bridge services from an Applicant Tracking System into Workday.
Workday is well suited for a company seeking to manage a large number of employees more efficiently.  Ideally, an HR team will be large enough proportionately to the employee base, as Workday can be leveraged to manage more employees, but having a larger staff to support a larger group of employees is still essential.
Amanda Easton profile photo
Amanda EastonAssociate Director, Human Resources | Financial Services | 1001-5000 employees

10 of 10  |  1/23/2015
We use Workday across the whole organization, for 3100+ employees in 12 countries, for employee data management, time and absence management, expenses, talent management, data analysis and more. Workday is a unified global solution that provides increased transparency and consistency in HR processes ,and enables our HR team to spend more time focused on higher value-add contributions to the organization. Our managers and leaders can make better business decisions with more information at their fingertips.

  • The user experience is very intuitive and is in line with what people want to see and do with an online application these days. We don't have to spend much time on training employees and managers because they can generally figure out how to do what they need to do on their own. The ease of use and look & feel are some of the reasons we chose Workday to begin with, and it's getting better with age.
  • Security. It's flexible so you can allow access to what you want and block what you don't. And it's solid. And you don't have to remember who has access to what when building and delivering reports and chance exposing confidential or sensitive information. If they don't have permission to see it, they don't see it.
  • Reporting capabilities are amazing. We're several years in and still feel like we're just scratching the surface. Our executives love the dashboard views and have set them as the standard for other internal dashboard-like reporting.
  • Time Tracking in countries with complex work-week and shift schedules is a challenge. I expect we'll continue to see improvements with Workday planned global expansion.
  • I would love for Workday to provide in-depth training at no cost for system administrators. We are able to manage the system and our needs independently. Depending on the project, it may take us longer and we may not really be optimizing the process or system if we're missing knowledge and experience that would help us do so.
Workday is doing a great job of meeting the needs of all different types and sizes of organizations. The most important questions to ask during the selection process are the areas where your organization does something in a very specific way and change is not an option. The answer (with many vendors) will be "yes, we can do that" but will you really be happy with what it looks like? Or do limitations exist that don't in your current process? Whenever we find ourselves bending and breaking things to make our process fit, we re-evaluate what we're trying to do and how we're trying to do it, and usually we're able to approach it differently for the same or better result.
 
No photo available
Authenticated ReviewerProfessional in Human Resources | Non-Profit Organization Management | 10,001+ employees

9 of 10  |  1/23/2015
We are using Workday as a self-service tool organization-wide. Our HR department uses Workday as the system of record and the information integrates to our payroll department. We also use Workday for our performance review process and benefits enrollment. It addresses a previous business problem of inconsistency of stored data (we are an international organization and needed a system that would work for all locations). Workday also helps us with personnel data integrity by its report writing capabilities.
  • Workday has excellent report writing capability. It provides hundreds of standard reports and also enables you to create custom reports. These reports can be shared with staff or kept restricted to certain departments.
  • Workday offers a comprehensive way of managing position information through the use of position management, job profiles, job families, and job family groups. This is particularly helpful for market analysis and EEO and Affirmative Action reporting.
  • High level security - highly customizable.
  • Great opportunity to provide feedback and suggestions; there is a Workday Community for all users and this input is taken into account for future version updates.
  • Workday users will need training - not all areas of the system are intuitive (report writing, for example).
  • Version updates can be too frequent; although they reduced updates from four times per year to two, it can be challenging to our staff to reacquaint themselves with a newer version, particularly if it includes a redesign.
  • Unless really customized, there are sometimes too many clicks to get through a process.
One question to ask is: What is the number of employees? Workday is ideal for larger organizations and is capable of accommodating many departments, unions, special job groups, etc. within one company profile. What regions will it be used in? Since it's a robust product, connectivity and bandwidth may be an issue for more remote areas of the world (something to keep in mind for international organizations). It is well suited for employee self-service and provides a comprehensive company directory.
Raghavendran Parthasarathy profile photo
Raghavendran ParthasarathyPrincipal Consultant & Delivery Head ,Workday Practice | Computer Software | 5001-10,000 employees

8 of 10  |  1/20/2015
Workday provides advanced capabilities for the HCM community by unmatched modern facilities like complete digitalization of HR documents, latest analytics, embedded analytics, exceptional system audit functionality, and complete system in the cloud with no restrictions on data storage and integrating the cloud system with other HR systems as well.

It addresses the following problems
1. No space/Field constraints
2. No integration restrictions with third party vendors
3, Everything on cloud with excellent Disaster recovery management
4. Latest analytics including descriptive, predictive and prescriptive nature
5. Configurable security, with data security standards on par with any traditional on premises ERP systems
 
  • No data storage and complete digitalization
  • Configurable business process driven system and no infrastructure required
  • No pains of version upgrades and exceeding integration tools to integrate the system with third party payroll providers
  • Much integrated and jet fast payroll functionality for US and canada
  • Exceptional audit capabilities
  • Extraordinary analytics and embedded analytics
  • Ready to use cloud connectors for payroll integrations
  • Well built talent management including recruiting
  • Ready to use integrations even with background verification companies in recruiting
  • Recruiting can be much interactive and some the commited functionalites like integrations with HireVue not yet seen
  • Improvements required for ADP payroll integrations
  • More provisions required for localization ( esp for Asian countries)
  • Transparency in Pricing
  • No solution available for Learning management System
Desire to move into cloud and what is the objective of the company in using modern technologies like analytics and integration?
Desire to outsource mundane quantitative processes in HR and keeping qualitative processes in house
Desire for hassle free upgrade cycles
Desire for getting rid of white elephants (AMS team) in traditional ERP setup
No photo available
Authenticated ReviewerConsultant in Professional Services | Information Technology and Services | 1001-5000 employees

10 of 10  |  1/20/2015
We implement Workday for organizations (Partner with Workday), as well as use Workday in our own organization. We use Workday across our entire organization. All of our departments use it for Goal Setting, Performance Reviews, Time Off, and Personal Information (such as Emergency Contact information). We are moving towards using Workday for Benefits as well. It addresses the need for a "one-stop-shop" for our employees, a better User Experience. 
  • Workday has a very responsive customer support staff.
  • Workday is very concerned about quality, and has put many checkpoints in place to ensure the product customers receive is built with the utmost precision.
  • Workday is great about giving customers what they want. They are continuously evolving, improving, releasing new functionality, and solutions each week, to meet the needs of their clients.
  • Workday's Talent and Performance module is vast and possesses a lot of great functionality, however Workday currently offers no Certification for Implementers, which I feel is very much needed.
  • The recruiting module still has a long way to go. It is new, so we all know that is has gaps, but with WD24 coming out in March, I believe it will take Workday recruiting to the next level!
  • It would be great if Workday would share more information with partners, whether that be through a weekly status meeting, or email. Workday has done a good job at building their Community, however there are times where it has not been updated, and we share outdated information with customers.
I am honestly not involved in sales or the "selection" process at all. I implement the system for customers who have already been selected by Workday. As a partner we bid on the projects that Workday presents to us, the partner with the lowest bid is typically chosen, so this a better question for someone who works at Workday. 
Brad McGerald profile photo
Brad McGeraldSr. HRIS Analyst | Paper & Forest Products | 1001-5000 employees

10 of 10  |  1/20/2015
It is used across the entire organization as our primary HRIS/Payroll system.  It allows real-time access to employee data and metrics to management.
  • The user interface is intuitive and familiar. It mimics the current Apple interface, so end-users are not intimidated by the design.
  • It is highly configurable. It allows you to set up processes and workflows that make sense for your business.
  • It has a great support system. The Workday Community is great for general questions and networking with other Workday professionals. And the Workday Support site is a fast and efficient way to get your problems resolved.
  • I would like to see certifications opened up to professionals other than consultants by Workday Training.
  • Some of the reporting functions can get very complicated for the general end-user. If you are not generating reports on a regular basis, a lot of the functionality can be lost or forgotten.
  • Integrations can be complicated and hard to understand. I would like to see Workday provide more support on integrations, rather than pointing clients to expensive 3rd party consultants.
A few tips:
-If you want an integration Time-Tracking/Payroll system, you'll need to make sure Workday can handle your time-tracking needs.  The time-tracking system is not very robust.  
-It is a little too expensive for a smaller company, so make sure the price is worth your while.  
-Be sure to choose your consulting partner for implementation very carefully, as some are better than others.  
-You will need an in-house expert to administer the system.  While it is easy to use, if you are not willing to pay extra for an expert (or to extensively train the people you have), you will not get all you can out of the system.

Matt Gill profile photo
Matt GillEngineer | Packaging and Containers | 5001-10,000 employees

10 of 10  |  12/20/2014
Workday is currently being used as a human resource management tool across the entire organization.  It is used for the following areas; benefits, payroll, organization hierarchy, employee performance (review/goals), and employee talent (work history/education/certification).  From an end user stand point it is a platform that bridges the company to the employee.  It aids in direct communication and visibility of critical information for both the organization/employee that drives openness, development, and full engagement through the use of an advanced user oriented program interface.  Although I do not currently use or require additional functionality within Workday it is also a tool that can perform all analytical calculations and charting required across multiple business roles (executive/finance/human resources).
  • User friendly interface - Simple and clean user interface. Includes a home screen with high level functionality to each available area (benefits, payroll, organization hierarchy, employee performance (review/goals), and employee talent (work history/education/certification). It is easy to navigate and find any/all information.
  • Notification/workflow - When the organization or employee is required to perform a task Workday has the required workflows for each action/individual and directly communicates with your company's email system to provide an automated notification. These then direct you to their prompts/tutorials (see below).
  • Included user prompt/tutorials - When an employee is required to enter information within the program (i.e. change of address/goals/etc..) an installed sub prompt directs the individual through all of the required steps. This is very similar and as user friendly as online tax programs (i.e. TurboTax).
  • Full buy in/support - The program by itself is great. However, it is only great if there is support and acceptance from both the organization and employee where it is used. I feel fortunate that I have experienced both of these within my current company, but the transition from our previous system to Workday lacked the proper training documents for immediate acceptance. I know the software is customized for each end use, but I believe better end use documentation and/or instructions between the software provider and the organization could smooth this process.
  • Workday/End User Communication - More visibility/communication for certain functionality between workday and the end users (employee). For example, a highlight of best practices or hidden functionality. My best example would be the web portal access outside of your organizations network. It is a great feature to access information anywhere, but goes unnoticed by many users because they do not know it exists. This can be provided from Workday to the Employee or form Workday to Organization to Employee.
Workday is well suited for medium/large organizations that have a decent amount of employees.  A smaller organization could make great use of the functionally of the software, but I believe the justification of use could be less advantageous.
Katrina Fountain profile photo
Katrina FountainSr. Manager, Global Compensation and Benefits | Computer Hardware | 1001-5000 employees

8 of 10  |  5/6/2014
Global HRMS with self service functionality for managers and employees.  Used to manage HR and Financial data across the whole organization for employees in 34 countries.  Robust custom reporting capabililities, global currencies, performance evalution system and merit/compensation planning tool.
  • Improved user interface, org charts, analytics in the merit tool.
  • Reporting data in local and reporting currency, which is USD for Intermec.
  • Business processes can be modified as necessary by the functional owners.
  • System documentation and client support
  • Creating custom reports is more difficult than other systems I've used
Well suited for the mid-sized global company, very flexible and robust functionality.  Companies will need to put significant effort into developing  in-house support. Must engage a Workday partner for implementation, developing the custom reports and interfaces, setting up business processes and ongoing changes and enhancements.  Depending on the company's requirements, could be expensive and expensive model compared to other solutions. 
No photo available
Authenticated ReviewerAnalyst in Human Resources | Medical Devices

8 of 10  |  1/25/2014
We currently use Workday as our HCM for over 10,000 Global Employees. We also utilize the Compensation and Performance Management modules in Workday. Most employees and managers have EDA and MDA access and use business processes in Workday to update employee records. The Change Job function is also used for edits and changes to positions.
  • Workday support has been outstanding. This is key especially if there is a bug impacting our users.
  • Upgrades that address key concerns and that fix bugs have been great. It seems like they really listen to what their clients needs are.
  • Having tenants available to us for testing. Workday is very flexible.
  • The testing process for each upgrade could be streamlined so that there is less impact to the client.
  • Would like to see more languages available and a larger dictionary in Workday. This will help in the translation and not leave it solely up to the client to translate (except custom fields which should be translated by the customer)
  • Effective dating is so particular in Workday. For example if I enter a location and the effective date of the address is after the effective date of someone I want to hire into that location it will error out while doing an RPDE for mass hires.
  • Failures on RPDE's are vague. It takes a while to figure out why it did not load properly
What is your budget? Do you have the bandwidth for period testing on upgrades that you might not necessarily need but are forced into?
No photo available
Authenticated ReviewerConsultant in Human Resources | Telecommunications | 1001-5000 employees

2 of 10  |  1/24/2014
Workday was implemented to automate and streamline the company wide human resource management processes.  Mainly communicating to the employees and have them manage there own HR requests.  Also, a cloud based, non-enterprise solution was required, allowing for minimal internal IT resources.  Plus it had to interface with the existing payroll system.
  • From the USER EXPERIENCE point of view, the system was easily navigated
  • The cloud-based solution did fit into the corporate environment fairly easily.
  • The was readily available core technical resources available.
  • Their project management implementation staff needs vast improvement
  • There releases need to be more thoroughly tested.
  • Very limited reporting ability without brining on highly technical consultants and in most cases virtually impossible
  • Management response to customer issues was somewhat non-existant, we had to raise it to the executive level.
  • too many release at the time.
  • web-services did not work as documented and very limited.
I would recommend to wait until Workday is a more mature company, before investing a considerable amount of capital.  The concept is great, the implementation was lacking.  They do have a greta executive leadership team so I assume that they will improve as they mature.
No photo available
Authenticated ReviewerProgram Manager in Information Technology | Computer Software | 501-1000 employees

5 of 10  |  11/26/2012
  • The application interface is great. It is very user friendly from a user perspective.
  • It presents organization charts in a very user friendly, dynamic way. It’s nice to have something that’s always up to date. Of course it’s dependent on business processes flowing data into HR for updating.
  • System management is incredibly difficult. The software is based upon Business Objects which is well organized and quick, but not something I or I believe most people are familiar with. It is not your typical relational database. You cannot see data in the background and need to know where to go to find it. It is hence difficult to create reports and to enact integrations to other systems. It presents a lot of challenges.
  • It is very expensive, and we typically have to pay outside consultants to do build outs. We typically contract with our support provider - OneSource VHR, based in Dallas. They are a Workday reseller and we bought Workday through them. Companies of a smaller size cannot buy direct from Workday.
  • Security administration is relatively difficult. Sometimes things are locked down and you don’t know why one person cannot see something that another person can.
  • The mass import tool is impossible to use. It relies heavily on reference IDs, which makes sense, but there are 3 different types of reference ID s and usage is not clear cut.
  • It is not easy to do organizational changes.
There is a really good Workday community of users. A lot of the time when you are looking for information, it is a good resource. You can submit feature requests that get voted upon.

There’s an integration how-to, for the integration I wanted to do for the LMS.

There are out of the box integration templates. One specifically for Cornerstone, Success Factors/Plateau, Wageworks. They are still not easy to configure, but a bulk of the work is done.
No photo available
Authenticated ReviewerAnalyst in Human Resources | Computer Software | 501-1000 employees

9 of 10  |  11/12/2012
  • Best HRIS software that I have worked with, but it’s new and has growing pains.
  • User interface is exceptionally good. Very user-friendly - easy to find data. UI features lots of cool things like org charts based on pictures with strong visual presentation. It’s a very Dynamic Interactive experience – appeals to a younger audience. Don’t have to keep opening new screens: application flows to proper next spot. Look and design is very Facebook-like, very "social media". You know what to do instinctively.
  • The product is extremely flexible and robust.
  • The application doesn’t have custom fields which is very inconvenient.
  • Reporting tool is overly complex and cumbersome. Not at all standard but very proprietary. It takes a long time to figure it out. This was hard for the business to adapt to. Everyone wants to use it, but it’s too hard to figure it out without substantive training. We lock it down to those who have had training. Something more standard would have been better. Even after 1 year, we still struggle with this. Our outside consultant (One Source) designs reports for us, but this is very costly. During training, we saw an amazing reporting catalog, but this is not available to clients. We spend a lot of time trying to recreate.
  • Sometimes seems that there was a disconnect between engineer and UI designer – different terms are used for the same thing. For example, “Employee type” is called worker subtype in report builder. “Job title” is “position title”. This took some time to uncover.
  • Workday provides a quarterly update but does a poor job of letting us know what has changed. They tell us at a high level, but we still have to audit everything (e.g. data security) we don’t understand the impact of updates until after we have completed a detailed audit. They could provide audit tools but don’t. This process alone takes two weeks every quarter.
  • Odd changes to interface with no real notification about why things have changed. We have to figure out how to do things in the new interface and then modify all our internal documentation.
No photo available
Authenticated ReviewerDirector in Information Technology | Non-Profit Organization Management | 51-200 employees

9 of 10  |  11/1/2012
  • For HRIS, it knocks it out of the park
  • The interface/ usability are really good which is typically the biggest barrier to adoption
  • It has a lot of configurability.
  • Configurability can be Achilles heel. It is almost too configurable/flexible. That’s helpful though if you are a large company and can dedicate the resources. However, some areas are too technical for an HR person to understand. If your goal is to not have to build up IT you will find that even a small company has to provide technical support from IT.
  • One of the challenges is finding stuff. There’s no manual. Even if you know what to do, you don’t know how to get there. We find ourselves having to call to get navigation assistance. There is no quick tip sheet and we have gone on all the training.
  • The online help/FAQ library is poor. The guide to completion is missing. This is the missing link between using product and configuring product. If you enter an employee, they have to have role, job description, salary grade all in existence beforehand. There’s nothing that tells you that. Knowing the sequence of things is not explained anywhere. Also, for our integrations, if you want to integrate Active Directory, it turns out you also have to also give permission in the security profile. There are many layers of undocumented stuff. We used OneSource (the reseller) to implement who has also learned by doing. If you ask them a question, oftentimes you find they’ve not experienced it before.
  • As a small business, you need recommendations for process. Endless configuration choices puts a lot of burden on the people who know the system. You need more of an out of the box configuration. A more turnkey approach would have been helpful for our size of company.
  • Workday outsources
You need to have your eyes wide open around the expertise required in-house to support a continually evolving platform that does not have a lot of out of the box guidance.

Feature Rating Summarytr-Score

Employee demographic data (18)
8.0
Employment history (16)
8.1
Job profiles and administration (16)
7.9
Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (17)
8.6
Organizational charting (17)
7.8
Organization and location management (17)
8.5
Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.) (14)
7.5
Pay calculation (11)
8.0
Support for external payroll vendors (10)
7.0
Benefit plan administration (11)
8.1
Direct deposit files (10)
8.0
Salary revision and increment management (11)
8.3
Reimbursement management (8)
8.4
Approval workflow (13)
8.9
Balance details (13)
8.5
Annual carry-forward and encashment (12)
8.0
View and generate pay and benefit information (15)
8.9
Update personal information (17)
9.2
View job history (8)
9.0
View company policy documentation (11)
8.2
Employee recognition (11)
8.1
Tracking of all physical assets (7)
8.3
Report builder (17)
8.3
Pre-built reports (17)
8.2
Ability to combine HR data with external data (12)
7.8
Performance plans (6)
7.5
Performance improvement plans (5)
8.1
Review status tracking (4)
8.3
Review reminders (5)
8.5
Multiple review frequency (5)
8.3
Create succession plans/pools (4)
8.5
Candidate ranking (4)
9.3
Candidate search (4)
7.6
Candidate development (4)
7.9
New hire portal (7)
7.9
Manager tracking tools (6)
8.2
Corporate goal setting (5)
8.2
Individual goal setting (5)
8.3
Line-of sight-visibility (4)
8.4
Performance tracking (5)
7.7
Job Requisition Management (5)
7.5
Company Website Posting (4)
8.0
Publish to Social Media (5)
7.5
Job Search Site Posting (5)
7.7
Duplicate Candidate Prevention (5)
7.5
Applicant Tracking (5)
7.8
Notifications and Alerts (4)
7.7

Workday HCM Description

Workday Human Capital Management offers intuitive, self-service features to help effectively organize, staff, and pay a global workforce, automating the hire-to-retire lifecycle for all an organization's personnel under one cloud-based umbrella. Workday HCM is a comprehensive offering touting complete control over workforce management and all the essential elements (pay, promotion, leave, ad-hoc change, bonuses, equity, etc., with rich analytics to track everything). It is scalable and flexible, as it is meant to accommodate both smallish, medium-sized or some large businesses or enterprises. Workday is now expanding into other areas as well, like financial management and intelligence, presenting an offering to compete with many ERP offerings.

Workday HCM Competitors

Workday HCM Technical Details

Operating Systems:Unspecified
Mobile Application:No