Workday HCM Reviews

Workday HCM45 (45)
7.8 of 0 - 10

Review Details

Author Details

Reviews (1-10 of 24)

Workday HCM
November 11, 2015
HRIS Analyst, Lead |
Oil & Energy | 1001-5000 employees

6 of 0 - 10  |  11/11/2015
Workday is our global HCM platform and it is our US HR and Payroll system. We have implemented Core HCM, Performance Review and we are in the middle of implementing our new merit process in Workday. We have connectors from Workday to Oracle HR, to Active Directory, to benefit vendors, to Stock Administrators, etc.
One of my favorite features of Workday is the actionable items and the fact that you can run a report and after auditing the data you can correct it from within the report.

Workday is a complex system that allows great flexibility. It comes with predefined business processes that can be fully customized.

Workday self service features for managers and employees are great and particularly those features that are mobile enabled.

Dashboards and reporting are spectacular.

Documentation. This is the first system I have ever worked that has such a lack of documentation.

Creating advance reports and specifically creating calculated fields is very cumbersome.

Payroll in general is still a very immature product. Most mature payroll systems handle taxation much better than Workday.

Workday is very well suited for small to medium size companies that are looking to be independent from IT. Ask specific questions about delivered reports, delivered connectors, out of the box business processes, etc.  Make sure you understand how technical support works and also find out about how easy/difficult it would be to implement new modules in the future and ask how other companies usually deal with this issue.
Workday HCM
October 22, 2015
Engagement Manager, Workday Implementations |
Information Technology and Services | 51-200 employees

10 of 0 - 10  |  10/22/2015
The application runs fast and the design make the application intuitive; very similar to your favorite consumer website. If you can use Google, Amazon, or Zappos; you can use Workday. The End User Experience is the best that I have seen in any HRMS or Financials software. There are several visual dashboards that have graphs/charts that you can even take action on by drilling into the data. The user interface is very simple, even for those not technical savvy. The ability to make a change (Related Action) of almost any data object on one screen is very impressive.

Mobile - The mobile experience for iPad and iPhone is amazing. Development is done with the mantra, "mobile first" to give end users the best experience.

Integrations - Workday has made it possible to leverage out-of-the-box integrations for many third party vendors using Cloud Connect technology. This makes it more of an exercise of mapping the data and making configurations as opposed to full blown development efforts. Workday also supports Big Data which is very attractive to companies.

Audit Trail Functionality: A very intuitive audit trail feature that does not require setup. Every single transaction is tracked.

The Community: The Workday Community listens to its customers - whether it is a customer asking for advice or a "how-to" question or it is submitting a new idea to be added in one of the two major feature releases (updates) a year. Workday also allows customers to post solutions (integration builds, how-to guides, reports, creative solutions) to the Solution Catalog that other customers can leverage. Through the Community Q&A Forums, customers can interact with other end users and even partner consultants to help with an issue.

Two updates a year with minimal downtime. The updates take place during a weekend and with the last update, there was only about 4 hours and 7 minutes of downtime. Workday is continuously adding new features that can be turned on by the customer discretion and over the last few updates, Workday has added over 250 new features based on customer input alone from the Community Brainstorms.

And finally, a single version across all customers is key in a real SaaS solution. Long gone are the days of asking another company what version they are on.

One of the opportunities that I see as an Implementation Partner is to offer additional training for reporting. While the reporting tool, with proper knowledge transfer and training, can be easy to use - most customers do not have the time to focus on this during the original implementation. I would recommend that your implementation partner spend time with the Subject Matter Expert showing the basics of Reporting and assisting on writing a few key and critical reports to give adequate knowledge transfer. Take advantage of the BIRT Reporting tool. In addition, enable the various Dashboards for your management team and executives. .

With the SaaS implementation, since everything is "documented" in the tenant; customers sometimes cannot adjust to less documentation. The documentation is typically no where close to traditional ERP Implementations that includes things like As-Is and To-Be process flows and the "implementation binder."

Workday has moved to 2 updates a year, with that being said, customers have to update their internal training documents to adopt changes every 6 months that can be burdensome for some customers. Workday does provide customers an updated tenant 5 weeks in advance of the Update weekend in order to have adequate time to test and make any necessary changes to documentation.

Security: Workday Security setup and configuration can be very complex. I would recommend that Security Administrators attend Workday Training during the initial deployment.

Please note that this review was written by an Implementation Partner of Workday.  The views and opinions expressed here are my own only and in no way represent the views, positions or opinions - expressed or implied - of my employer (present and past).  
Workday HCM
October 4, 2015
No photo available
Director in Information Technology |
E-Learning | 5001-10,000 employees

9 of 0 - 10  |  10/4/2015
Workday is our global HRMS solution and it is used by all departments across the organization to manage employee information and to integrate this information into other HR and business systems.  In times past we would use best of breed products but never really get to the point where leveraging the extra feature set of a best of breed product.  With this portfolio of applicatoins our employees would have a differnet applicatoin for services like Performance and Compensation.  We have standardized on Workday for HRMS, Performance and Compensation management and will be implementing Workday Onboarding.  This provides our employees with a single user interface for these functions and we expect to Workday to continually enhance these products in the semi-annual update cycle. 
User Interface - Workday is ERP software but presents information that aligns with the experience you get on good consumer sites. Workday started with a superior UI to other ERP software and was recently revamped to leverage HTML 5.

Innovation Cycle - Enhancements are introduced twice a year and extends the product offering.

Single Tenant - All customers are on the same version of the software. This is what has enabled Workday to drive the innovation cycle. From a customer perspective it means that documentation on the Workday Community site is current and applicable to the version of the software that you are running. This also extends opportunities to share information between customers.

Workday Community - The community site should be a great place for information and to get questions answered. I feel that that the documentation on the site is missing specific examples and that Workday does not adequately manage the site. On the community sites for other business systems I see that the Help & Support team respond to unanswered questions. I don't see the same management of the site by Workday.

User Interface - It may seem odd that I have User Interface as one of the things done well and as one of the things that need improvement. Because of the modern look and feel of Workday we went live with little user training and found that some processes like certain aspects of the performance review that were hard to understand. Also we recently modified one of our Business Processes to include the distribution of a report. Updating this configuration was not well documented on the community site and tricky to find out how to manage it in the User Interface.

Reports and Data Sources - It's easy to build simple reports but the Workday Data Sources and available objects can be hard to understand.

Workday is very well suited for any company with 500+ employees especially for a company interested in implementing the HRMS as a SaaS.  The HCM subscription includes Global HRMS, Payroll, Beneffits Administration, Onboarding, Performance and Compensation Management.  If you use Workday to administrate these services you will get more value for your subscription.  
Workday HCM
September 30, 2015
Associate Vice President and Director Human Resources |
Higher Education | 501-1000 employees

7 of 0 - 10  |  9/30/2015
We implemented Workday just over a year ago. We went from a largely paper based system and a old legacy system that was not really designed to support HR processes.  Our implementation lasted approximately 8 months as the result of a great team from LC and our implementation partners at Meteorix. Workday is used to manage human capital transactions related to employee onboarding, benefit enrollment, time and attendance tracking and payroll. Moving from paper has helped us clean up and refine our reporting as well as our work processes too!
Onboarding: Putting everything related to an employee coming on board into one place makes it much easier for people to understand what is expected of them and for us to see what they have done and need to do.

Benefits management: We did our first online enrollment a year ago and for the most part it went exceptionally well. Most of our employees had complained for sometime about the amount of paper they had to fill out for benefits enrollment each year and the previous system required navigating 10 screens to make a benefit change for one employee.

Time Reporting and Attendance Tracking: This makes managing employee time and attendance much more accurate and likely to be reviewed by submitting managers. It also eliminated several hundred paper timesheets each month!

The training modules have greatly improved these were the weakest items when we went live a year ago

Greater assistance on the need for culture change in organizations. Many organizations think they are buying an appliance and they're not prepared for the amount of organizational change that will ensue.

Getting Workday financials might have made the implementation of the payroll piece a bit easier. We are still writing interfaces with our GL because that is on the old system.

Is your team tech savvy enough to manage their end of the project? Do you have a project manager in your organization to keep things on time/track? How well documented are your processes? If they are like most HR teams this is where you need to do quite a bit of work prior to getting into to Workday. As I stated earlier change leading organizations will do well with the product. Change resistant environments will struggle as this product forces you to move more quickly than you are comfortable with. Key question: When do we want to go live and what resources are we willing to put into the project?
Workday HCM
June 17, 2015
Principal |
Human Resources | 1001-5000 employees

10 of 0 - 10  |  6/17/2015
I helped a client company select and implement Workday for all of its 5,000 employees in 40 countries.  Until that point, my client did not have a global, integrated HR system of record in place.
Highly configurable; makes it easy to conform to business requirements

Great end user experience; intuitive interface is easy to navigate

Consistent, transparent and inclusive cycle of innovation and improvement


Since it is easy to configure, a high level of discipline is required to keep workflow streamlined and simple. This is not as easy as it sounds.

It's critical to benchmark with other Workday customers to gauge their user experience.
Workday HCM
June 17, 2015
Associate Director, Financial Applications |
Higher Education | 5001-10,000 employees

10 of 0 - 10  |  6/17/2015
Workday is used across Georgetown University for Human Capital Management, Payroll, Benefits, Time Tracking, Academic Appointments.  It provides an auditable workflow, electronic onboarding, and paperless benefits/payroll election.  It also provides secure document and data storage. Workday replaced a highly customized main frame product (Genesys) that required alot of outside-system paper approvals and processing which result in delays, lost documentation and a specialized IT staff for maintenance.
The Single User Version philosophy, while a challenge for change management due to the frequent upgrade cycle, allows for our unique higher education requirements to be incorporated rapidly. Because of this, Product support is responsive and timely.

Georgetown is a design partner and this close relationship allows us to provide feedback for constant product improvement. This design partner philosophy and willingness to take feedback and adapt has been a huge selling point for user acceptance at Georgetown.

Workday provides a very secure storage platform that experiences very infrequent outages. When outages occur they are typically resolved in under an hour.

Even for non-design partners, Workday provides options to join User Groups to preview planned functionality. Also Workday encourages users to create Brainstorms for new ideas that the community votes upon. The ability to provide feedback prior to releases is also key to change management and user acceptance. Workday has a good track record in terms of adopting customer brainstorms.

Workday maintains and facilitates a Community of Users to ensure self-sufficiency, sharing lessons learned and knowledge sharing.

Any ideas for improvement are considered by Workday and the company provides multiple avenues for feedback (see above). Any issues we have experienced in the past have been addressed or are in the process of being addressed.

One source of frustration is the lack of documentation; however, with the rapid rate of improvement that Workday has been able to sustain, documentation is a reasonable trade-off for their responsiveness.

Not an area for improvement, but a factor for consideration is that use of Workday does require some technical IT experience. A big selling point is that organizations don't need to keep teams of dbas and technical experts on hand to maintain the system, as with a Main-frame. But Workday does require some technical IT support. This is particularly true for integrations and reporting.

As with anything, the choice of product is dependent upon the needs of the organization.  However if an organization wants an easy-to-use, intuitive, configurable system that improves constantly and is focused more on the business user than the technologist, Workday is ideal.  If an organization is change-averse and wants a more traditional platform that is customizable, and stable for long periods of time with lots of documentation, this may not be the best fit.  The difference between Workday and a more traditional ERP can be thought of as the difference between an iphone and a central switchboard.
Workday HCM
May 6, 2015
No photo available
Professional in Human Resources |
Financial Services | 1001-5000 employees

4 of 0 - 10  |  5/6/2015
Workday is utilized by the company as a whole. Human Resources utilizes it for employee information such as basic data, compensation, benefits, etc and reporting. Finance utilizes it for expenses request, for determining cost allocations and such. Employees are using it to request days off and for self service transactions such as name and address changes.
Employees basic data is easily accessed.

Easy for employees to request time off and update their personal information.

Benefits open enrollment has been made easier.

Reporting is not user friendly.

The expense system is confusing to most users. If you accidently hit one wrong button, you lose all your data and are required to redo it all. If the AP team denies a request you also have to reenter everything if you're correcting and trying to resubmit.

Some of the tabs are confusing too. You have Job History, Worker History, etc. Some of the info overlaps, other info doesn't and then you can never remember what you clicked on if you ever need to get back to it. I'm fairly technically savvy, so it definitely isn't "operator error."

I think it's user friendly for keeping track of basic employee data. I also like the ease of use during our open enrollment period for benefits. It's easy to use and understand.  I think they need to work on updating their expense side so that it isn't so complicated for users to utilize. If you are a potential client, be sure to have them delve deep into how it all works, it is possible that ours isn't customized appropriatly for our use.  For a potential client, I'd want them to go step-by-step on the various user tabs so that you have a better understanding how they can and should be utilized. Again, maybe our customization is off.
Workday HCM
March 3, 2015
Director, Business Intelligence & Analytics |
5001-10,000 employees

8 of 0 - 10  |  3/3/2015
Workday has a robust reporting engine and handles workflow very well. Business processes can be established to handle virtually any scenario. Their Worktag model offers an effective means of hierarchical reporting.
Workday has a Big Data initiative. They extend the capability to mash data from various sources into the Workday platform. While it is possible to extract data from the Workday platform, their is a governor on the API in terms of volume that can be exported. We find this limiting and creates complex processing for our business intelligence team. We have been able to use custom reports to extract large volumes of data, but this still remains slower than a traditional fat-client ERP database connection.

We have found that Workday did not thoroughly test deprecated functionality during new releases. This has caused some functionality to 'break' unexpectedly when upgrading tenants. That being said, they have been quick to collaboratively work with us to resolve the issue(s). I suspect this process will ever improve as the company continues to grow.

Workday HCM
March 3, 2015
No photo available
Analyst in Information Technology |
Information Technology and Services | 10,001+ employees

9 of 0 - 10  |  3/3/2015
Workday is being implemented to integrate platforms for performance management, compensation management, and general people management. Today we use multiple systems for position management and are retiring old systems for each of these processes in order to consolidate and expedite.
Workday is enabling consistent, streamlined reporting across HR and the business

Workday will allow managers access to worker history that we have never been able to package and put online before.

We are working to integrate with SAP payroll and there are challenges in mapping things like action/reasons and infotypes. This is in the details and it's where we are spending most of our time.

The product / methodology is light on documentation and this is difficult when it comes to communicating the changes to the business.

Workday is great for mid-size companies and it's important for a user to document priorities prior to starting the project, but also to be flexible during the implementation. I think our major difficulties are encountered when we are unable to agree to a global process, which is absolutely critical in a global implementation.
Workday HCM
March 3, 2015
Sr. HR Generalist |
Computer Software | 501-1000 employees

10 of 0 - 10  |  3/3/2015
Workday is our new HRIS that has replaced SAP company-wide.  We are using Workday as our system of record and strategic platform for performance management, hiring and onboarding, expense management and human capital management.  With Workday, we streamlined our open enrollment process from last year, we've reduced the time it takes for HR business partners to support their customers, and we've reduced data entry errors significantly.  Automating employee self service tasks has also freed up our HR team to address more strategic issues and perform fewer transactional tasks.
Intuitive system: employees who are even minimally tech savvy can find more than one way to complete the task they are trying to do by themselves.

Customizable and flexible business processes: Workday has the ability to adapt to a changing workforce and changing processes and policies very easily.

Cloud based: Employees can access Workday from any computer and complete processes we need them to in a timely manner, without having to be logged into our company network.

User Experience/Layout: Many screens in Workday have several scroll bars that can make navigating Workday difficult.

Creating and merging custom security groups is not an easy task from the client side of Workday. Having a diagnostic walkthrough solution for creating custom security would be helpful.

While onboarding is beginning to function in Workday, there is not yet a seamless integration to bridge services from an Applicant Tracking System into Workday.

Workday is well suited for a company seeking to manage a large number of employees more efficiently.  Ideally, an HR team will be large enough proportionately to the employee base, as Workday can be leveraged to manage more employees, but having a larger staff to support a larger group of employees is still essential.

Workday HCM Rating Summary

Overall Rating (45)
Usability (10)
Availability (7)
Performance (4)
Support (8)

Feature Rating Summary

Employee demographic data (16)
Employment history (14)
Job profiles and administration (14)
Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (15)
Organizational charting (15)
Organization and location management (15)
Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.) (12)
Pay calculation (9)
Support for external payroll vendors (8)
Benefit plan administration (9)
Direct deposit files (8)
Salary revision and increment management (9)
Reimbursement management (6)
Approval workflow (11)
Balance details (11)
Annual carry-forward and encashment (10)
View and generate pay and benefit information (13)
Update personal information (15)
View job history (6)
View company policy documentation (9)
Employee recognition (9)
Tracking of all physical assets (6)
HR Reporting (15)
Report builder (15)
Pre-built reports (15)
Ability to combine HR data with external data (10)
Performance plans (4)
Performance improvement plans (3)
Review status tracking (2)
Review reminders (3)
Multiple review frequency (3)
Create succession plans/pools (2)
Candidate ranking (2)
Candidate search (2)
Candidate development (2)
Onboarding (5)
New hire portal (5)
Manager tracking tools (4)
Corporate goal setting (3)
Individual goal setting (3)
Line-of sight-visibility (2)
Performance tracking (3)
Job Requisition Management (3)
Company Website Posting (2)
Publish to Social Media (3)
Job Search Site Posting (3)
Duplicate Candidate Prevention (3)
Applicant Tracking (3)
Notifications and Alerts (2)

Workday HCM Description

Workday Human Capital Management offers intuitive, self-service features to help effectively organize, staff, and pay a global workforce, automating the hire-to-retire lifecycle for all an organization's personnel under one cloud-based umbrella. Workday HCM is a comprehensive offering touting complete control over workforce management and all the essential elements (pay, promotion, leave, ad-hoc change, bonuses, equity, etc., with rich analytics to track everything). It is scalable and flexible, as it is meant to accommodate both smallish, medium-sized or some large businesses or enterprises. Workday is now expanding into other areas as well, like financial management and intelligence, presenting an offering to compete with many ERP offerings.

Workday HCM Competitors

Cornerstone OnDemand, Fairsail HCM, Infinisource iSolved, Kenexa, Lumesse, Meta4 PeopleNet Talent Management, TalentGuard, UltiPro, HRMSSoft, Ramco HCM, syncHR, PeopleFluent Mirror Suite for Talent Management, Cornerstone OnDemand, Fairsail HCM, Infinisource iSolved, Kenexa, Lumesse, Meta4 PeopleNet-talent-management, TalentGuard, UltiPro, HRMSSoft, Ramco HCM, syncHR, PeopleFluent Mirror Suite for Talent Management
Excerpt from TrustRadius Buyer's Guide to Core HR Software
TrustRadius Top Rated Core HR for Enterprise and SMB 2015


Core HR Software

Software Profile & Review Summary

David Duffield, former CEO of PeopleSoft, and Aneel Bhusri founded workday in March 2005. The company went public in 2012 and has a current market capitalization of $15 billion. The workday platform is fundamentally different to every other product in the category in that it is effectively an ERP platform with Financials in addition to Core HR functionality and talent management. It is a pure multi-tenant SaaS system and is a highly disruptive product in the large enterprise segment of the market and it has already made significant waves in the marketplace.

Company Status: Public
2014 Revenue: $469m*
Revenue Growth 2013-14: 71%*
Customers: 700
Employees: 3,900 est.

Workday Customer Distribution

Workday Customer Distribution Pie Chart Source: (30) User reviews of Workday on TrustRadius

Aggregate User Ratings of Workday on TrustRadius

Source: (30) User reviews of Workday on TrustRadius
Rating Attribute Workday # of Reviewers Contributing to Rating Average Core HR Category Average
Likelihood to recommend 8.3 24 7.82
Likelihood to renew 9.4 15 7.19
Product usability 8.7 9 8.54
Product availability 9.0 6 9.00
Product performance 9.3 4 8.30
Support 7.3 8 8.88
In-person training 7.8 6 7.80
Online training 8.0 6 7.50
Implementation satisfaction 6.8 8 7.28

Summary of Workday Reviews

Source: (30) User reviews of Workday on TrustRadius
Workday Pros Workday Cons
User interface
The UI is exceptionally intuitive and dynamic.
Reporting is complex and burdensome. Many smaller customers require technical consultants or IT support.
Organization charts
Organization chart mapping capabilities are presented in very visual, dynamic way.
Inadequate documentation on updates. Far less documentation that customers are used to with on-premise software.
Very frequent product enhancements for bug fixes and in response to customer requests.
Deployment/support are outsourced for smaller customers.
Pure multi-tenant SaaS system with high availability and few outages.
System Management
System management very difficult. Object-oriented database is fast but presents some challenges due to unfamiliarity.
Very strong mobile experience on iPad and iPhone.
Data import
Mass import tool very difficult to use.
Customer Support
Support team is responsive and knowledgeable.
Absence of an LMS is a major product gap.

Workday Response to Reviewer Feedback


See TrustRadius Buyer's Guide to Core HR Software or download in pdf to continue your research offline.