TrustRadius
Workday Human Capital Management is built as a cloud-based system with global consistency in user experience. Workday HCM is part of a broader system with other Workday products.https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/dF/hc/8FQ1TNTS3WE6.PNGLovely UI and Smart UXWe usually adjust to the system our clients use for headhunting talent, and for the selection process, Workday is a great tool for any Human Resources related transaction. Reporting and its lovely User Interface and User Experience is the best I have seen in the market so far. We used Workday back when I worked for HPE. It was easy to filter out and navigate through a sea of candidates using Workday, also the day to day, performance reviews, so easy to use. I highly recommend it for businesses of any size.,Candidate selection funnel management and documentation Performance reviews made easy and simple Reports to find the right talent in the database,I think over the years they've improved the areas I thought needed to be improved which shows they listen to feedback and the tool evolves. R&D in how to extract all data from resumes and avoid having to enter so much manual data in applications, though sync with Linkedin is cool,10,Faster finding of candidates in talent database. Easy to filter and report data Log and approval flow for HR related transactions Smoother data input, UX/UI,WebHR, LinkedIn Talent and Talent Cloud,9,WebHR, LinkedIn Talent, Workday Human Capital Management,7000,,Talent Acquisition Optimization Performance Management improved experience,None that comes to mind.,I´m sure they will.,10,Yes,Product Features Product Usability Analyst Reports,I believe it was a very informed decision, but getting feedback from the team would´ve been good, have it for a test run.,Implemented in-house,No,Change management was minimal,Data migration from ICIMS,10,no training,Hiring forms flow and setting it up was so easy.,10,Not really, but the UI is so easy and intuitive.,No - there is no facility to customize the interface,No - we have not done any custom code,Not that I remember.,Hardly ever use the support, but all I remember was getting a nice experience in a normal amount of time, so thank you so much and keep up the great work at support and preventing issues for even happening.,Forms, love them sync with linkedin to autofill Reporting is gorgeous,I really didn´t have any issues when I used it,10,10,10,10,NA NA NA,na,File import/export API (e.g. SOAP or REST),10,Go ahead, great support.,10,10,I was not part of the team making the negotiations.,Go ahead, great vendor.,No,N/A N/A N/A,Not sure as I don´t work at HP anymore.Workday HCM ReviewAllows us to log personal contact and work data and also log all of our performance and goals from an incentive perspective. Quarterly goals can be logged and monitored and accessed and approved by managers. Each quarter we'll use HCM Workday to register our quarterly objectives and allow us as users to track them.,Objective and goal setting Use of emergency contacts Registration of Work tie company and period of employment,The main user interface can feel a little clunky. The way you choose options from the drop-down boxes is a little confusing,10,There have been time-savings for requesting leave.,ADP Enterprise eTIME,10,Salesforce Community CloudWorkday as a userWorkday HCM is being used to house all HR (employees and potential employees) data as the system of record. The system is used to house personal employee information, collect onboarding information, make benefits selection, create talent plans, and provide overall company information. Data flows from this system into several other systems. One of the major benefits of having one system of record is that it easy to see where data may be inaccurate or where there are gaps in employee data.,The homepage is very welcoming, clean, and is easy to customize based on the needs of the business. You have the ability to put custom announcements like company content that will make the portal seem warmer and user-friendly. The processes like updating your employee record or selecting benefits are placed in a wizard-like workbook that is easy to use and intuitive.,This may be a company setting that I am not aware of, but the interface doesn't have contrasting colors so sometimes the lines are hard to separate. The primary colors are white/gray and sometimes it can be difficult to figure out where you need to go next. Imagine knowing there is a text area, but not being able to quite figure out where the box is. Eventually, you can get used to it, but it is a bit off-putting initially. There is a notification/alert window and you have to individually check each bubble to make the notification go away. If you have 1 alert then this works, but there are times when you can have 25 alerts and there is no way to make these alert notifications go away in mass.,10,Creates one system of record for your HR data that streamlines the data gathering process.,,10,BMC Track-It!, Cornerstone OnDemand, Concur Travel and ExpenseWorkday WorksWe are using this across the entire organization. It is our sole HCM application. We are able to have a single interface on a global basis with all of the advantages of CLOUD technology. We were able to implement using a big bang which our company has never previously deployed.,Provides online documentation for users: Users can navigate for themselves without contacting the HR Department. It allows users to produce PDF output for their pay advice and other reports/forms. This allows the users to save the output in a secure location. Single portal for pay, performance, reports, personal information, and training.,Primitive graphics that look kind of childish. Would like to see a workflow type interface.,8,Positive ROI as it saved us countless dollars in IT costs and system downtime. Positive ROI: Reduced internal headcount in the HR department.,Oracle eBusiness Suite,8,Oracle eBusiness Suite, Oracle Transportation Management CloudWHCM is the solution to provide all in one focus on your Human Talent and Manage for Success!Workday Human Capital Management (WHCM) is being used across the organization in all departments. It really is an all-in-one solution from recruiting new talent, professional development, managing current employee data, and encouraging recognition for employee birthday and anniversary dates. We really do enjoy the benefits of this software solution.,Recruiter module works very well for posting jobs and designated job sites and then tracking potential candidates through the interviewing process, hiring, and onboarding. Performance module helps with tracking everything from goal setting, feedback, and performance one on one reviews. Daily pay and hour tracking to include vacation and holidays works very well and is easily accessible and seen by all employees.,I would like to be able to see information on employees even when they have been terminated. Sometimes I need information but can't see it because an employee has been terminated in the system.,9,The ROI for our corporate and local HR teams has been measureable. We have been able to streamline and align headcount to HR needs that have been decreased due to this software solution.,9,Microsoft Power BIWorkday - a solution to all your HR problems!We used Workday for all employee reviews, compensation details, and bonus announcements in our organisation. It actually consolidated a lot of manual processes and outdated documents. It now was one stop to see the performance of an employee and their ratings by superiors, view compensation details as well as a repository of useful onboarding policies and procedures for communication from HR.,Employee review formats and criteria are customisable and easy to understand Repository for policy and frameworks Seamless communication between HR and all employees for various announcements,The updates to certain tabs for example compensation, did not automatically send a real time notification to employees. This makes crucial times such as annual appraisal announcements a bit of let down with employees constantly refreshing the portal as opposed to relying on an email notification. Although I'm not sure this was specific to my organisation but the rating scales were a bit too detailed and often had to make you fill things up over and over again. It largely depends on which modules your organisation chooses to integrate with the firm. In my organisation a lot of modules with regard to leave, recruitment etc., were not activated leading to a slightly incomplete integration.,9,Our HR team was able to trim down its external vendors significantly once Workday was implemented. I personally saw as an employee the before and after of Workday so I know how relieved HR was that they did not have to get involved in processes that were prone to manual error such as release of compensation data at the same time to everyone via email.,8,8,iCIMS Talent Acquisition Software Suite and BambooHR,Expensify, Tikit Carpe Diem, Microsoft TeamsBest in class system for HCMI currently use Workday for several reasons in my current organization. On a personal level, it is where my personal employment information is housed as well as my PTO activities and performance review information. For my specific role in the organization, I use Workday to run detailed reports regarding Sales Reps on Sales Bonus Plans.,Instant access to information, such as PTO, performance, role, etc. Can access reports filtered for specific data points or fields. Easy to use. One central database location for all personnel information. Secure and limited access is given on a need to know basis.,Certain information can not be accessed and/or updated by the own individual. For example, for a name change, an individual would need to contact HR directly for updates or changes to information. Lack of notification emails when updates are done or if pending items are awaiting responses. The employee needs to log in to find out if anything is pending or not. It would ideal if automatic email notifications go out if anything is still pending updates or changes have been made. Effective dating not available for all changes in generates reports. For example, if a change was made to a certain field, the report generated does not display the effective date of the change.,9,I did not make the purchase decision on this tool so I would be unable to determine ROI. In regards to my day to day job duties, this tool has helped me tremendously with real-time access to sales compensation information. It helps me to accurately and efficiently do my job and not worry about outdated information. This tool and specifically its reports feature help me catch errors soon as they are inputted incorrectly in the system. I then can have the data corrected in a timely manner.,Oracle CRM,Tableau Desktop, Tableau Server, MS SharePoint, Concur Travel and Expense, Oracle Siebel CRM,,Personnel information Performance Reviews Benefits and Paid Time Off records Reporting function,Communication between employee and HR Cases/ticketing features to track questions and responses Link to ADP/payroll systems directly,10Very intuitive UI and a great tool to use for new hire on boardingWe are using Workday Human Capital Management for many different reasons. The first one is for new hire onboarding. It's a great way to keep track of your progression in one single interface. Another use is for payslips. You can check all the details regarding salary. Finally, it's used for everything HR-related, such as requesting time off, or employee personal information. It is used by the whole company, and it allows us to streamline work performed by the HR department.,Keeps you on track. Upload document in the same UI. User-friendly.,Interactivity. Lots of hidden functionality. It could be overwhelming at first.,8,Streamlining processes. Gained time. Employee visibility.,Insperity PerformSmart, Nexonia Expenses and Concur Expense,HubSpot, DiscoverOrg, RainKing (acquired by DiscoverOrg)Workday HCM Review from a new userCurrently, Workday is used as our main system of record for HRIS and Payroll for our entire organization. We have been able to streamline our hiring process by switching to Workday.,It easily displays a consolidated head count report. It eliminates a lot of the manual processes we were doing for new hire setup.,Some of the business processes are not functionally set up correctly to work for our needs. The self-service features do not seem to be working appropriately as expected.,6,Our implementation just commenced at the end of August so this is not quite measureable yet.,6Review from an end userIt is deployed across the whole company and it allows for planning and alignment amongst the business. We use it to create REQs and get everyone's approval. We use it for our normal HR functions.,Alignment amongst the business. Source of Truth. Organization.,It needs to integrate with other systems. It's not the easiest to use. It's not the most intuitive.,9,More productive. It allows HR to be more efficient. It's an easy system to manage, compared to older systems.,PeopleDoc by Ultimate Software,9,Adaptive Insights, a Workday companyFlexible, Customizable and IntuitiveWe use HCM across our entire organization globally. It provides a user friendly way to access information about employees and the organization based on each user's security access. Paired with some of the other modules offered by Workday, HCM is a powerful tool for employee and manager self- service in a wide range of tasks such as personal data entry, review and acknowledgment of company policy documents, time tracking for Non-exempt and overtime eligible employees and managing time off. We also use HCM to bring in sophisticated automation of administrative HR tasks such as fulfilling verification of employment requests or electronic I-9 verifications, and fostering collaboration across various business functions, through approval workflows, notifications and inbox "to do" and "review" tasks for various stakeholders.,Groups employees in management hierarchies and creates Org Charts that are easy to navigate and allow for visualizing management chains regardless of employee locations Intuitive and easy to use. The Workday search functionality works very much like Google; one can search for anything that they have access to in the database and drill down into the various details. All information is connected through hyperlinks and users can easily keep digging into the details for as far as their security access would take them. Tasks such as to do, review or approve items are sent to the user's Workday Inbox, very much resembling email. Notifications about outstanding "to do" items are also sent to each the user's work email address on a daily basis.,Language translations of custom data fields and business processes across different modules are not available and each client has to maintain these on their own. This can significantly challenge system adoption and utilization, in countries where English is a second language. Limited ability to customize system generated error messages (often heavy of technical jargon) leads to inability for the end user to self-service in resolving simple transactional issues and causes a high volume of escalations to the system support team. Inability for the system to handle multiple transactions with the same effective date and determine what would be the most up to date information based on the timestamp of each transaction. This creates a constant need for data corrections, cancellations or rescinding of transactions to accommodate entry of additional information effective dated on the same day or users have to future date transactions to avoid conflict.,9,To get the most value out of all possible automation in Workday you really need to use a lot of their modules, otherwise you may not be able to solve for some pretty important and necessary needs. The system maintenance is way more than what I have seen with some other systems and therefore you need a quite large team dedicated to it. The ability to automate a lot of administrative tasks and the ability for employee and manager self-service definitely create a lot of opportunity for HR to spent time and effort elsewhere. A lot of the automation that can be leveraged in Workday also allows for eliminating third party vendors as well as the cost of their maintenance and integrations.,,JIRA SoftwareWorkday: A robust HRIS solution with aspirations for learningWorkday is used as our enterprise HRIS/HCM and payroll processing system. It is the system of record for all HR processes, with the exception of learning management which is handled by a separate, integrated LMS system. Our legacy system was antiquated and was replaced with Workday so that we could take advantage of more modern HRIS features as well as a robust data reporting facility.,Robust reporting is a key feature of Workday which we leverage in a wide variety of ways to inform HR strategy As easy to use UX that provides for mobile device access is an attractive feature that has aided in end user adoption Workflow management is important as we build out various HR processes for our employee audience (i.e. benefits selection, performance reviews, etc.),While the reporting facility is robust, the look and feel of exported reports could use some work to make them more visually appealing The ability to leverage QR codes to directly access a process or task using a smartphone would be a nice addition The learning management features are not yet extensive enough for adoption by organizations who deploy learning in an extended enterprise,8,The data analysis that Workday has made possible is a quantum leap from our legacy system. Our HR strategy initiatives are much more informed as a result. Once we got past the initial adoption phase, self service of our team members has freed up HR staff resources to focus on other strategic initiatives The completeness of the product suite has enabled us to jettison duplicate systems and has helped the overall cost of ownership from an IT systems perspective,Cornerstone OnDemand,Snagit, MS SharePointConsider the benefits of Workday HCM to gain more controlWorkday HCM is used across the entire headquarters for over 10,000 employees for its human resources modules, including employee and demographic databases, payroll, goals development, paycheck pulldowns, paycheck history, performance management and performance reviews. It is better and cheaper than our prior ERP system and bolt on systems we previously used.,Since it is cloud based, it does not have version control issues (e.g. get 10 years behind on versions that are no longer supported), or the need for constant upgrades. This is completed behind the scenes. The flexibility of Workday HCM implementation and then taking it to day to day operations was superior. You can then blow and out and start using other system cababilities when ready. To enter the system, we must use multi-factor authentication for additional security of employee data. A user downloads their reports and then they are shown in their archive of work transactions and history.,To me, it did not have enough user guides or they were just lacking so you had to wing it. Sophisticated users appreciate the effort a software developer and provider has in making complete user guides. Makes it complete and comprehensive. I was expecting to see contact help by hovering over certain sections of the screens but did not see this, kind of surprised it was missing. I tried to cascade my performance goals to my team but they all duplicated, no idea why and our HR IT team could not figure it out. Appeared to be a hierarchy set up issue.,8,Positive ROI, we were one of the first organizations that went with Workday HCM, and we received numerous discounts. Cloud systems are the way to go and we feel the system is stable for our growing work force. The user conferences have been helpful to network and learn more deepness in the modules and functionality. Right off the bat, our implementation costs were lower than budgeted and we had less 'billing' surprises.,Oracle PeopleSoft HCM and SAP ERP,Kyriba, Citrix Essentials, Google Cloud AI, Oracle Hyperion Enterprise Performance ManagementWorkday Human Capital Management ReviewWorkday is being used for a variety of different things. It is used for human resources purposes, employment address verifications, and payroll purposes. It is great for hourly workers who need to clock in and out. There are options to see the amount of hours you've worked across the week and to compare it to the week before, or even other weeks worked. For employment address verifications, it helps the company almost have an address book of everyone that works there. Another great feature of Workday is you can upload seating arrangements so co-workers who are working together but have never met can find each other on the floor.,Payroll -- showing the breakdown of each check. Workday helps keep everything extremely organized and makes it very easy for the reader to comprehend. Efficiency -- helps keep track of the number of hours people are working, and prevents employees from lying about the times they have come in and out. Helpful -- There is a section where you can have just your team and all their information, so you know who you are working closest with and the easiest way to reach them.,There is no way to modify your time clocked in and out. For example if you are an hourly worker and you accidentally forget to clock in you are not able to fix this issue on your hour. You have to go to someone from human resources in order for the problem to be corrected.,8,Helps create efficiency within the company Helps with the ease of communication through the virtual address book,Skype for Business (formerly Lync), Microsoft 365 Business, ADP Streamline PayrollGreat product that simplifies all HR functions!We use Workday to manage all of our HR functions. This includes pay, benefits, reviews, job postings, etc. Workday is our sole source for all HR data and organizational charts/info on other employees. We use it enterprise-wide and have been running it for approximately 3 years. It does a great job of storing all this information in one location and it is easy to search.,Single repository for all HR information that is easy to search. Provides interactive org charts that allow you to drill up and down easily to see the entire chain of command. Provides easy access to your data and the ability to update information and interact with HR in a secure/contained environment.,The interface is not intuitive and it is hard to navigate. I find that often make several extra clicks trying to find where I should be. The performance review function is also not intuitive. The text appears to be grayed out, you have to edit each section and then move on. Overall it is not easy to walk through the process and is confusing. The annual benefits enrollment is also not easy to navigate and understand. There are lots of clicks, lots of drop downs, and the required fields are not easy to spot.,7,Our previous system was homegrown and lacked in many areas. Going to Workday has given us a single source for all HR data that is easy to search and find what you are looking for. Workday allowed us to streamline annual processes like performance reviews, raises, and benefits election. It has simplified these processes for the employees and provided more actionable data for HR. Integration with other applications allows our user data to be used by other applications that need it. We simply output a file with username and ID to other apps that require that info.,,ExtraHop, Atlassian Confluence, JIRA Software, Bitbucket, Team Foundation ServerSimplify Your Process through Ease and VisibilityWe switched to Workday to simplify all of our processes that HR has to deal with. One of the driving factors was the mobile app that Workday provides. With an employee base that skews low-mid 20's, it was imperative that we have something that allowed people to access all of their HR information from their handheld devices. The desktop platform is extremely user friendly and able to be customized to each individual's preferences.,Mobile Application - Simple and quick Easy to navigate Pay, vacation, sick, work history all in one spot,Single sign on was tricky at the start,10,Gave us almost 4 hours per HR rep back on new hire day 1. We have a start date every 4 weeks and the manual entry of paperwork that was able to be eliminated with Workday has allowed us to put more HR reps in the classroom to aid with more important day 1 tasks. Simplified search - the backend information is now housed in a simple database that allows me to pull with employee first or last name, or user ID. We paid more for this solution, but we've seen a 33% increase in employee interaction since doing so.,Saba, Cornerstone OnDemandEnd user Perspective on Workday HSMWe use Workday in our company for tracking payroll, paid time off, and paystubs. We have also started developing ways to use the idea functionality for our project management group. It is used across the entire organization.,Its does a very good job of managing paid time off requests and paid time off calendars. The submission and approval process is very streamlined and understandable. The payroll system seems very adequate as well. I only see it from the perspective of getting my paystub, But it is easy to read Seems like it has a plethora of functionality that we haven't even started to utilize yet.,As an end user that really only uses what functionaility is delivered, it is hard for me to comment on the cons of this software. It is possible that it does not have cons, but it is far more likely that they simply have not deployed the software for areas that it is less capable at handling.,9,Again from the default perspective of an end user it is difficult for me to comment on things like ROI or impacts. However I can say that the software is significantly better than anything we were using before hand. It also consolidated a significant number of software packages. I would assume a positive impact and ROI.,Oracle PeopleSoft HCM,Oracle PeopleSoft HCMAn intuitive portal for HR info and co-worker recognitionI use Workday as my HR system of record. All employees at my organization use it to view pay stubs, update biographical information, change tax elections, view historical tax forms, as our employee directory, etc.,Single sign-on makes it easy to log in without having to remember another username or password. Downloading PDF's of historical tax statements is convenient and intuitive. Giving "badges" to other employees as a thank you is easy and effective - makes it easy to review a list of badges received when performance review season is upon us.,I'm not a big fan of the mobile app. I can't ever find what I'm looking for in there and end up having to go to the full website. I can't send badges from there (or figure out how to) for example, which seems like an obvious use case... I don't love the way performance reviews work in Workday. Getting the formatting right is difficult and the screen real estate I get to use for typing in comments or listing things is very limited.,8,I and my coworkers have started acknowledging each other more with the badging capabilities, which helps to increase engagement and help people feel appreciated. Having a go-to portal to download tax documents and update tax elections has been nice. I used to have to wait for a physically mailed W-2 and/or visit our payroll office to make changes.Workday Helps Hypergrowth Tech Company Scale!Consolidates all HR related informationLeveraged for performance compensation planningLeveraged for benefits enrollmentLeveraged for organizational hierarchy designLeveraged as headcount source of truth for actuals and forecast,Clean and easy to use interface in comparison to other incumbents such as Oracle Lots of modules enables broad functionality -- from payroll, to headcount tracking, to benefits and compensation planning Easily connects to other critical tools such as Payroll, ATS, and the Financial Planning tool Product continues to evolve and get better Robust reporting functionality,Pricing. Its expense comparative to other incumbents in the space Product maintenance / complexity appears to be high according to my IT team Identifying a solid implementation partner was a challenge,8,Workday HCM has helped tremendously during organizational changes Workday HCM really streamlined our benefits sign-up process for the better! Workday HCM made compensation planning a breeze during performance reviews Love the organizational charts visuals! Reporting is robust!,Oracle HCM Cloud,Tableau Online, IBM Cognos TM1, Slack, Greenhouse, Okta, Atlassian Confluence, BlackLineHCM for the Modern AgeWorkday HCM is currently being utilized to streamline and automate current manual processes as well as provide an ability to track our employee's life cycles all within a single system. We use the Workday HCM for recruiting/onboarding, payrolling, talent management, and a plethora of other services. The primary business problem Workday HCM addresses is a single system to manage employee transactions,Reporting. There seems to be a virtually limitless way to report on hundreds of different data points Performance Management capabilities have gone from manual pen and paper to online and fully automated with built-in routing and workflows Payroll services have been enhanced and pay changes have been streamlined and made more efficient,Reporting. Can be very messy if the user does not know what they're doing Roles in Workday need more configuration capabilities,7,We've seen a positive reception from Management and Employees using the system for day-to-day, BAU transactions Our data & analytics team has seen drastic improvements in the ability to track and monitor previously unexplored employee data points to drive business plans The learning curve for non-tech savvy personnel is pretty high and there have been some issues with adoption for people who don't primarily use computers for day-to-day work,Pega Platform,SharePoint CRM, Pega PlatformWorkday can Work for youI work for a non-profit program housed within the University of Southern California. The entire university uses Workday HCM. In my position, I use Workday HCM in two capacities. Firstly, I use it as an employee and secondly, as a supervisor of other employees. Workday HCM is used for many purposes including benefits, compensation and payroll, employee management, time tracking, hiring and on-boarding. One of the primary business problems Workday HCM enables us to solve is hiring. The system simplifies the hiring process by providing one central location for us to read resumes, respond to applicants, accept or reject candidates and onboard. It also allows for simply time tracking and vacation/ sick time management. Lastly, it solves the individual problem that many employees have of keeping track of paycheck stubs and tax forms; Workday HCM conveniently organizes those documents all in one place.,Time tracking-I like the ease of entering time worked and the time off request policies. That system works very well for my colleagues and I am able to revise entries and easily submit it to my supervisor. Organizing pay stubs and tax forms- The payroll feature has been useful to me, I like being able to go back and see past checks. I am also easily able to refer my employees to their pay stubs when they have a question about past compensation. Benefit Management- I am able to view my benefits at any time and make changes when necessary.,The messaging features- the way that messages to other colleagues shows up is confusing because I cannot see what was written before the most recent message. The way that Workday HCM displays the "process" of an item (each step of a process such as termination of an employee) is not intuitive. The recruiting- this section could be simplified but overall it is not bad. My main complaint is that if candidates upload a Word document instead of PDF version of their supplemental documents the system does not allow you to preview that document. Instead, it automatically downloads the document to your computer. This is problematic when reviewing a large quantity of resumes because it takes up unnecessary space on my computer.,7,I have not been a part of evaluating the ROI that Workday HCR has provided for the company.,ADP and At your Service,Slack, DPS Outlook Office, Adobe Acrobat DC, SurveyMonkey, Google DriveWorkday - useful, won't do everythingWe use Workday HCM across the whole organization. It's a very simple to use program. I'm not sure on the implementation since I wasn't around for that portion, but the use is simple. We use HCM to manage our internal organization (promotions/transfers etc). I enjoy it because it does a great job of integrating payroll and position. We also get a good all up view of the organization.,Clean interface Easy to move people in organization Links with Pay/Benefits,Would love to see an option in Workday to build out scheduling/forecasting. We have tried solving this issue using Humanity and now Pipkins. It would be great to have all this information in one place and not have to go to an external vendor. In the end we went with Pipkins and have been pleased. Humanity was a bust.,9,Hard to quantify. It definitely saves us time in managing payroll and employee transfers.,Vantage Point and Humanity,Microsoft SQL ServerWorkday Blows Away Anything in the Market!It is being used across the entire organization because every employee uses it, and they can use it while being mobile. HR, finance, and leadership use it for a number of different functions but mainly in making business decisions. It enables their decision making by having a full understanding of their people.,Analytics Reporting Self Service,Financials Features Tax integrations,10,Collaboration Communication Forecasting,SAP,SAP Business One, Paychex Flex, UltiProWorkday HCM ReviewWorkday is used by the entire organization to track time off, post internal jobs, view incentives and enroll in benefits. It is a great one-stop-shop for employees to use for HR purposes. We recently moved our job postings into Workday and I have found it to be easier to view than the previous application.,Employees can easily track and manage their time off. Job postings are easy to see and apply to. Employees' benefits are accessible and easy to research in Workday.,There is a lot of clicking around involved. Everything is a new window.,7,Allow employees to have transparent view of their benefits Have a central location for all employee job postings Track and manage employee benefits from a single source,Salesforce App CloudWorkday pros and consWe use workday for HRIS, payroll, benefits and performance evaluation across the organization. It helps to house all of these functions in one place as well as take care of some of the workload being employee self-serve.,Reports - they are simple and you can add as much detail as you can think of Self-service address, payment info, benefits - frees up a lot of administrative work Layout - the layout is easy to use and makes sense,I would like it to be less complicated when it comes to country or province specific requirements - I don't want to be able to choose another country unless I need to. Very difficult to use on cell phones An area to log conversations or memos,5,It saved time for reporting I found entering a new hire took more time than necessary,Oracle PeopleSoft HCM
Unspecified
Workday Human Capital Management
290 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>

Workday HCM Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Workday HCM
290 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 101

Do you work for this company?

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 290 vetted Workday HCM reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 71)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Roy Zumbado Cognuchz profile photo
October 02, 2019

Lovely UI and Smart UX

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We usually adjust to the system our clients use for headhunting talent, and for the selection process, Workday is a great tool for any Human Resources related transaction. Reporting and its lovely User Interface and User Experience is the best I have seen in the market so far. We used Workday back when I worked for HPE. It was easy to filter out and navigate through a sea of candidates using Workday, also the day to day, performance reviews, so easy to use. I highly recommend it for businesses of any size.
  • Candidate selection funnel management and documentation
  • Performance reviews made easy and simple
  • Reports to find the right talent in the database
  • I think over the years they've improved the areas I thought needed to be improved which shows they listen to feedback and the tool evolves.
  • R&D in how to extract all data from resumes and avoid having to enter so much manual data in applications, though sync with Linkedin is cool
It is best suited for mid to huge companies, easy to use, create reports and analyze data, beautiful User Experience and User Interface. For small or micro businesses it would help them keep everything in one place and it is great. However cost wise there may be cheaper alternatives, if you can afford it, then use it.
Read Roy Zumbado Cognuchz's full review
Michael Tantouri profile photo
September 26, 2019

Workday HCM Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Allows us to log personal contact and work data and also log all of our performance and goals from an incentive perspective. Quarterly goals can be logged and monitored and accessed and approved by managers. Each quarter we'll use HCM Workday to register our quarterly objectives and allow us as users to track them.
  • Objective and goal setting
  • Use of emergency contacts
  • Registration of Work tie company and period of employment
  • The main user interface can feel a little clunky.
  • The way you choose options from the drop-down boxes is a little confusing
Read Michael Tantouri's full review
No photo available
October 17, 2019

Workday as a user

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workday HCM is being used to house all HR (employees and potential employees) data as the system of record. The system is used to house personal employee information, collect onboarding information, make benefits selection, create talent plans, and provide overall company information. Data flows from this system into several other systems. One of the major benefits of having one system of record is that it easy to see where data may be inaccurate or where there are gaps in employee data.
  • The homepage is very welcoming, clean, and is easy to customize based on the needs of the business. You have the ability to put custom announcements like company content that will make the portal seem warmer and user-friendly.
  • The processes like updating your employee record or selecting benefits are placed in a wizard-like workbook that is easy to use and intuitive.
  • This may be a company setting that I am not aware of, but the interface doesn't have contrasting colors so sometimes the lines are hard to separate. The primary colors are white/gray and sometimes it can be difficult to figure out where you need to go next. Imagine knowing there is a text area, but not being able to quite figure out where the box is. Eventually, you can get used to it, but it is a bit off-putting initially.
  • There is a notification/alert window and you have to individually check each bubble to make the notification go away. If you have 1 alert then this works, but there are times when you can have 25 alerts and there is no way to make these alert notifications go away in mass.
As a user, Workday is the best for completing online job applications. The resume upload process is a breeze and when you do need to make data entries it isn't difficult. As an employee, it is very visually appealing to look at your profile, view all of your job data, and upload your picture.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 04, 2019

Workday Works

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using this across the entire organization. It is our sole HCM application. We are able to have a single interface on a global basis with all of the advantages of CLOUD technology. We were able to implement using a big bang which our company has never previously deployed.
  • Provides online documentation for users: Users can navigate for themselves without contacting the HR Department.
  • It allows users to produce PDF output for their pay advice and other reports/forms. This allows the users to save the output in a secure location.
  • Single portal for pay, performance, reports, personal information, and training.
  • Primitive graphics that look kind of childish.
  • Would like to see a workflow type interface.
Workday appears suitable for companies of any size or type. I know of companies using this in the manufacturing, retail, as well as educational sectors. I don't think it is strong for any type of company and is a generic, one size fits all solution with the scalability provided by cloud technology.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workday Human Capital Management (WHCM) is being used across the organization in all departments. It really is an all-in-one solution from recruiting new talent, professional development, managing current employee data, and encouraging recognition for employee birthday and anniversary dates. We really do enjoy the benefits of this software solution.
  • Recruiter module works very well for posting jobs and designated job sites and then tracking potential candidates through the interviewing process, hiring, and onboarding.
  • Performance module helps with tracking everything from goal setting, feedback, and performance one on one reviews.
  • Daily pay and hour tracking to include vacation and holidays works very well and is easily accessible and seen by all employees.
  • I would like to be able to see information on employees even when they have been terminated. Sometimes I need information but can't see it because an employee has been terminated in the system.
It is a great human capital management solution.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Workday for all employee reviews, compensation details, and bonus announcements in our organisation. It actually consolidated a lot of manual processes and outdated documents. It now was one stop to see the performance of an employee and their ratings by superiors, view compensation details as well as a repository of useful onboarding policies and procedures for communication from HR.
  • Employee review formats and criteria are customisable and easy to understand
  • Repository for policy and frameworks
  • Seamless communication between HR and all employees for various announcements
  • The updates to certain tabs for example compensation, did not automatically send a real time notification to employees. This makes crucial times such as annual appraisal announcements a bit of let down with employees constantly refreshing the portal as opposed to relying on an email notification.
  • Although I'm not sure this was specific to my organisation but the rating scales were a bit too detailed and often had to make you fill things up over and over again.
  • It largely depends on which modules your organisation chooses to integrate with the firm. In my organisation a lot of modules with regard to leave, recruitment etc., were not activated leading to a slightly incomplete integration.
It's great for global organizations since especially in consulting when you work across the board with people from other offices and countries, you can use one consolidated portal to record all activity and performance details.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I currently use Workday for several reasons in my current organization. On a personal level, it is where my personal employment information is housed as well as my PTO activities and performance review information. For my specific role in the organization, I use Workday to run detailed reports regarding Sales Reps on Sales Bonus Plans.
  • Instant access to information, such as PTO, performance, role, etc.
  • Can access reports filtered for specific data points or fields.
  • Easy to use.
  • One central database location for all personnel information.
  • Secure and limited access is given on a need to know basis.
  • Certain information can not be accessed and/or updated by the own individual. For example, for a name change, an individual would need to contact HR directly for updates or changes to information.
  • Lack of notification emails when updates are done or if pending items are awaiting responses. The employee needs to log in to find out if anything is pending or not. It would ideal if automatic email notifications go out if anything is still pending updates or changes have been made.
  • Effective dating not available for all changes in generates reports. For example, if a change was made to a certain field, the report generated does not display the effective date of the change.
It is very well suited for each employee to look up his or her own personal information and PTO data. It can also easily update certain information and update in real-time. It is easy to use and user-friendly. The automatic reporting generation feature is great. I use it on a monthly basis to determine what new additions or change were made that help me in my role as a Sales Ops Comp analyst. Knowing if a sales rep’s compensation has changed early enough can help me pay accurately to the rep.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Workday Human Capital Management for many different reasons. The first one is for new hire onboarding. It's a great way to keep track of your progression in one single interface. Another use is for payslips. You can check all the details regarding salary. Finally, it's used for everything HR-related, such as requesting time off, or employee personal information. It is used by the whole company, and it allows us to streamline work performed by the HR department.
  • Keeps you on track.
  • Upload document in the same UI.
  • User-friendly.
  • Interactivity.
  • Lots of hidden functionality.
  • It could be overwhelming at first.
Workday Human Capital Management is well suited for keeping track for new hire onboarding. Tasks were assigned to me and I was able to submit everything from there to transfer over to the HR department. It was really an easy process for me.
I think it less suited for sales aspects, whenever you want to enter goal and attainment. It should stay focused on HR tasks.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, Workday is used as our main system of record for HRIS and Payroll for our entire organization. We have been able to streamline our hiring process by switching to Workday.
  • It easily displays a consolidated head count report.
  • It eliminates a lot of the manual processes we were doing for new hire setup.
  • Some of the business processes are not functionally set up correctly to work for our needs.
  • The self-service features do not seem to be working appropriately as expected.
Workday would be well-suited for larger organizations with more complexity. For smaller companies, it seems to have a lot of manual processes.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 26, 2019

Review from an end user

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is deployed across the whole company and it allows for planning and alignment amongst the business. We use it to create REQs and get everyone's approval. We use it for our normal HR functions.
  • Alignment amongst the business.
  • Source of Truth.
  • Organization.
  • It needs to integrate with other systems.
  • It's not the easiest to use.
  • It's not the most intuitive.
For managing the headcount, it is well suited.
Read this authenticated review
Monika Ganeva profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use HCM across our entire organization globally. It provides a user friendly way to access information about employees and the organization based on each user's security access. Paired with some of the other modules offered by Workday, HCM is a powerful tool for employee and manager self- service in a wide range of tasks such as personal data entry, review and acknowledgment of company policy documents, time tracking for Non-exempt and overtime eligible employees and managing time off. We also use HCM to bring in sophisticated automation of administrative HR tasks such as fulfilling verification of employment requests or electronic I-9 verifications, and fostering collaboration across various business functions, through approval workflows, notifications and inbox "to do" and "review" tasks for various stakeholders.
  • Groups employees in management hierarchies and creates Org Charts that are easy to navigate and allow for visualizing management chains regardless of employee locations
  • Intuitive and easy to use. The Workday search functionality works very much like Google; one can search for anything that they have access to in the database and drill down into the various details. All information is connected through hyperlinks and users can easily keep digging into the details for as far as their security access would take them.
  • Tasks such as to do, review or approve items are sent to the user's Workday Inbox, very much resembling email. Notifications about outstanding "to do" items are also sent to each the user's work email address on a daily basis.
  • Language translations of custom data fields and business processes across different modules are not available and each client has to maintain these on their own. This can significantly challenge system adoption and utilization, in countries where English is a second language.
  • Limited ability to customize system generated error messages (often heavy of technical jargon) leads to inability for the end user to self-service in resolving simple transactional issues and causes a high volume of escalations to the system support team.
  • Inability for the system to handle multiple transactions with the same effective date and determine what would be the most up to date information based on the timestamp of each transaction. This creates a constant need for data corrections, cancellations or rescinding of transactions to accommodate entry of additional information effective dated on the same day or users have to future date transactions to avoid conflict.
Workday HCM requires constant and a lot of HRIS support and in the event that a company cannot afford to staff accordingly it may create a lot of frustration. The system allows for a lot of flexibility in customizing and automating processes; however, that also requires constant maintenance by an experienced technical team. Workday HCM is a great solution for companies that are looking to capitalize on employee and manager self-service, standardization of practices, compliance and automation.
Read Monika Ganeva's full review
Mark McConnell, APTD profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workday is used as our enterprise HRIS/HCM and payroll processing system. It is the system of record for all HR processes, with the exception of learning management which is handled by a separate, integrated LMS system. Our legacy system was antiquated and was replaced with Workday so that we could take advantage of more modern HRIS features as well as a robust data reporting facility.
  • Robust reporting is a key feature of Workday which we leverage in a wide variety of ways to inform HR strategy
  • As easy to use UX that provides for mobile device access is an attractive feature that has aided in end user adoption
  • Workflow management is important as we build out various HR processes for our employee audience (i.e. benefits selection, performance reviews, etc.)
  • While the reporting facility is robust, the look and feel of exported reports could use some work to make them more visually appealing
  • The ability to leverage QR codes to directly access a process or task using a smartphone would be a nice addition
  • The learning management features are not yet extensive enough for adoption by organizations who deploy learning in an extended enterprise
Workday is well suited to medium to large organizations that require a robust set of HRIS/HCM features. Organizations that do business on mobile devices will be pleased by the features and UX offered by the system's mobile app. The reporting facility is extensive and will serve the needs of most HR data analysts.
Read Mark McConnell, APTD's full review
No photo available
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workday HCM is used across the entire headquarters for over 10,000 employees for its human resources modules, including employee and demographic databases, payroll, goals development, paycheck pulldowns, paycheck history, performance management and performance reviews. It is better and cheaper than our prior ERP system and bolt on systems we previously used.
  • Since it is cloud based, it does not have version control issues (e.g. get 10 years behind on versions that are no longer supported), or the need for constant upgrades. This is completed behind the scenes.
  • The flexibility of Workday HCM implementation and then taking it to day to day operations was superior. You can then blow and out and start using other system cababilities when ready.
  • To enter the system, we must use multi-factor authentication for additional security of employee data. A user downloads their reports and then they are shown in their archive of work transactions and history.
  • To me, it did not have enough user guides or they were just lacking so you had to wing it. Sophisticated users appreciate the effort a software developer and provider has in making complete user guides. Makes it complete and comprehensive.
  • I was expecting to see contact help by hovering over certain sections of the screens but did not see this, kind of surprised it was missing.
  • I tried to cascade my performance goals to my team but they all duplicated, no idea why and our HR IT team could not figure it out. Appeared to be a hierarchy set up issue.
If you have many disparate systems for human resources modules, and critical payroll functions and modules, and you want to combine into one system, Workday HCM is excellent for this. The price point for a quite complete cloud computing system helps a lot, so you don't have to pay for expensive consultants to do constant implementations where the expertise is not passed on to the customer.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workday is being used for a variety of different things. It is used for human resources purposes, employment address verifications, and payroll purposes. It is great for hourly workers who need to clock in and out. There are options to see the amount of hours you've worked across the week and to compare it to the week before, or even other weeks worked. For employment address verifications, it helps the company almost have an address book of everyone that works there. Another great feature of Workday is you can upload seating arrangements so co-workers who are working together but have never met can find each other on the floor.
  • Payroll -- showing the breakdown of each check. Workday helps keep everything extremely organized and makes it very easy for the reader to comprehend.
  • Efficiency -- helps keep track of the number of hours people are working, and prevents employees from lying about the times they have come in and out.
  • Helpful -- There is a section where you can have just your team and all their information, so you know who you are working closest with and the easiest way to reach them.
  • There is no way to modify your time clocked in and out. For example if you are an hourly worker and you accidentally forget to clock in you are not able to fix this issue on your hour. You have to go to someone from human resources in order for the problem to be corrected.
Workday is extremely well suited for any company that has many hourly paid workers. It is an extremely good application to use in order to keep track of hours for the employee and the employer. It may be less appropriate for companies that don't have so many hourly workers or companies that can't reap the other benefits, like the address book or requesting time off through Workday.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Workday to manage all of our HR functions. This includes pay, benefits, reviews, job postings, etc. Workday is our sole source for all HR data and organizational charts/info on other employees. We use it enterprise-wide and have been running it for approximately 3 years. It does a great job of storing all this information in one location and it is easy to search.
  • Single repository for all HR information that is easy to search.
  • Provides interactive org charts that allow you to drill up and down easily to see the entire chain of command.
  • Provides easy access to your data and the ability to update information and interact with HR in a secure/contained environment.
  • The interface is not intuitive and it is hard to navigate. I find that often make several extra clicks trying to find where I should be.
  • The performance review function is also not intuitive. The text appears to be grayed out, you have to edit each section and then move on. Overall it is not easy to walk through the process and is confusing.
  • The annual benefits enrollment is also not easy to navigate and understand. There are lots of clicks, lots of drop downs, and the required fields are not easy to spot.
I feel it is a great enterprise HR tool and it is the market leader. That said, the interface is confusing and participating in the annual processes/workflows is also confusing and I always feel like it is going to not save and make me re-do all my work. It does store all this data in one place which is the main benefit. You can see all your info, paychecks, reviews, benefits, etc. You can also search for jobs and other people very easily.
Read this authenticated review
Zach Wasson profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We switched to Workday to simplify all of our processes that HR has to deal with. One of the driving factors was the mobile app that Workday provides. With an employee base that skews low-mid 20's, it was imperative that we have something that allowed people to access all of their HR information from their handheld devices. The desktop platform is extremely user friendly and able to be customized to each individual's preferences.
  • Mobile Application - Simple and quick
  • Easy to navigate
  • Pay, vacation, sick, work history all in one spot
  • Single sign on was tricky at the start
This is a perfect solution for a large workforce with multiple moving departments. This allows for people to have access essentially 24/7 to some of their most commonly asked questions. The ability to track vacation time off, sick time, leave (parental/military/medical), and personal days is seamless. Another function our employees seem to like is the ability to track all of their work history in one place. There is a consistent timeline that lets them see where they have been and how they have progressed. With the addition of our leadership development schedule, it becomes very evident what their next step is.
Read Zach Wasson's full review
Nathan Kung profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Workday in our company for tracking payroll, paid time off, and paystubs. We have also started developing ways to use the idea functionality for our project management group. It is used across the entire organization.
  • Its does a very good job of managing paid time off requests and paid time off calendars. The submission and approval process is very streamlined and understandable.
  • The payroll system seems very adequate as well. I only see it from the perspective of getting my paystub, But it is easy to read
  • Seems like it has a plethora of functionality that we haven't even started to utilize yet.
  • As an end user that really only uses what functionaility is delivered, it is hard for me to comment on the cons of this software. It is possible that it does not have cons, but it is far more likely that they simply have not deployed the software for areas that it is less capable at handling.
We are a very large organization, and it seems to do an amazing job of tracking Payroll/PTO across the entire group. It is entirely possible that this would be a little overkill for a small organization. However I am not privy to the pricing model that they use so if it was affordable for small business it might be perfectly viable.
Read Nathan Kung's full review
Jarod Bonino profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Workday as my HR system of record. All employees at my organization use it to view pay stubs, update biographical information, change tax elections, view historical tax forms, as our employee directory, etc.
  • Single sign-on makes it easy to log in without having to remember another username or password.
  • Downloading PDF's of historical tax statements is convenient and intuitive.
  • Giving "badges" to other employees as a thank you is easy and effective - makes it easy to review a list of badges received when performance review season is upon us.
  • I'm not a big fan of the mobile app. I can't ever find what I'm looking for in there and end up having to go to the full website. I can't send badges from there (or figure out how to) for example, which seems like an obvious use case...
  • I don't love the way performance reviews work in Workday. Getting the formatting right is difficult and the screen real estate I get to use for typing in comments or listing things is very limited.
In general, I am pretty happy with using Workday as my HR system. The badging aspects, historical information, and directory info retrieval make it a very useful tool on a weekly basis.
Read Jarod Bonino's full review
No photo available
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Consolidates all HR related information
  • Leveraged for performance compensation planning
  • Leveraged for benefits enrollment
  • Leveraged for organizational hierarchy design
  • Leveraged as headcount source of truth for actuals and forecast
  • Clean and easy to use interface in comparison to other incumbents such as Oracle
  • Lots of modules enables broad functionality -- from payroll, to headcount tracking, to benefits and compensation planning
  • Easily connects to other critical tools such as Payroll, ATS, and the Financial Planning tool
  • Product continues to evolve and get better
  • Robust reporting functionality
  • Pricing. Its expense comparative to other incumbents in the space
  • Product maintenance / complexity appears to be high according to my IT team
  • Identifying a solid implementation partner was a challenge
Workday HCM is being leveraged across the whole company. It serves as the consolidation point for (i) headcount tracking, (ii) employee information, (iii) benefits, (iv) compensation planning, and (v) organizational design. The user interface is sleek and easy to use for all users -- even new ones. We've also been able to easily connect Workday HCM to several other software solutions further improving efficiency. My only complaint about this software is the price -- as your organization grows it gets quite expense due to the SaaS pricing.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workday HCM is currently being utilized to streamline and automate current manual processes as well as provide an ability to track our employee's life cycles all within a single system. We use the Workday HCM for recruiting/onboarding, payrolling, talent management, and a plethora of other services. The primary business problem Workday HCM addresses is a single system to manage employee transactions
  • Reporting. There seems to be a virtually limitless way to report on hundreds of different data points
  • Performance Management capabilities have gone from manual pen and paper to online and fully automated with built-in routing and workflows
  • Payroll services have been enhanced and pay changes have been streamlined and made more efficient
  • Reporting. Can be very messy if the user does not know what they're doing
  • Roles in Workday need more configuration capabilities
Workday is well-suited to bring any company into the 21st century as far as managing your workforce. Would be less appropriate for smaller businesses as the cost/benefit ratio diminishes with fewer employees.
Read this authenticated review
Sarah Ruderman profile photo
February 27, 2018

Workday can Work for you

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I work for a non-profit program housed within the University of Southern California. The entire university uses Workday HCM. In my position, I use Workday HCM in two capacities. Firstly, I use it as an employee and secondly, as a supervisor of other employees. Workday HCM is used for many purposes including benefits, compensation and payroll, employee management, time tracking, hiring and on-boarding. One of the primary business problems Workday HCM enables us to solve is hiring. The system simplifies the hiring process by providing one central location for us to read resumes, respond to applicants, accept or reject candidates and onboard. It also allows for simply time tracking and vacation/ sick time management. Lastly, it solves the individual problem that many employees have of keeping track of paycheck stubs and tax forms; Workday HCM conveniently organizes those documents all in one place.
  • Time tracking-I like the ease of entering time worked and the time off request policies. That system works very well for my colleagues and I am able to revise entries and easily submit it to my supervisor.
  • Organizing pay stubs and tax forms- The payroll feature has been useful to me, I like being able to go back and see past checks. I am also easily able to refer my employees to their pay stubs when they have a question about past compensation.
  • Benefit Management- I am able to view my benefits at any time and make changes when necessary.
  • The messaging features- the way that messages to other colleagues shows up is confusing because I cannot see what was written before the most recent message.
  • The way that Workday HCM displays the "process" of an item (each step of a process such as termination of an employee) is not intuitive.
  • The recruiting- this section could be simplified but overall it is not bad. My main complaint is that if candidates upload a Word document instead of PDF version of their supplemental documents the system does not allow you to preview that document. Instead, it automatically downloads the document to your computer. This is problematic when reviewing a large quantity of resumes because it takes up unnecessary space on my computer.
Workday is well suited for basic employee management, time tracking, and payroll. Recruiting is a bit more difficult because of the many steps required in the process. In order to ensure that the system is as useful to you and your team as possible, I recommend making sure that you have a training for your employees about how to use it before they begin using the system. Once you get used to it, Workday HCM is simple! However, it can be confusing at first if you have never used it. I wouldn't say that this is a downside to the product though, as this is the case with any new technology or software system.
Read Sarah Ruderman's full review
Luke Ferrel profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Workday HCM across the whole organization. It's a very simple to use program. I'm not sure on the implementation since I wasn't around for that portion, but the use is simple. We use HCM to manage our internal organization (promotions/transfers etc). I enjoy it because it does a great job of integrating payroll and position. We also get a good all up view of the organization.
  • Clean interface
  • Easy to move people in organization
  • Links with Pay/Benefits
  • Would love to see an option in Workday to build out scheduling/forecasting. We have tried solving this issue using Humanity and now Pipkins. It would be great to have all this information in one place and not have to go to an external vendor. In the end we went with Pipkins and have been pleased. Humanity was a bust.
I would use workday HCM as your all up personnel system. It's great for a 30K foot view of your organization. If you need to get more granular you will likely need a different solution.
Read Luke Ferrel's full review
Amy Rose Gill profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the entire organization because every employee uses it, and they can use it while being mobile. HR, finance, and leadership use it for a number of different functions but mainly in making business decisions. It enables their decision making by having a full understanding of their people.
  • Analytics
  • Reporting
  • Self Service
  • Financials
  • Features
  • Tax integrations
Workday is great for any medium size business all the way up to enterprise Fortune 100 companies and across any industry imaginable. Small mom and pop businesses are probably not the best fit to bring Workday into their business to address business needs, it would be way too sophisticated and way too expensive.
Read Amy Rose Gill's full review
Nathan Duncan profile photo
October 30, 2017

Workday HCM Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workday is used by the entire organization to track time off, post internal jobs, view incentives and enroll in benefits. It is a great one-stop-shop for employees to use for HR purposes. We recently moved our job postings into Workday and I have found it to be easier to view than the previous application.
  • Employees can easily track and manage their time off.
  • Job postings are easy to see and apply to.
  • Employees' benefits are accessible and easy to research in Workday.
  • There is a lot of clicking around involved. Everything is a new window.
Workday is a good tool for larger businesses that have a lot of employees to manage. It is a good tool for both the employer and the employee. It allows employees to have clear visibility into their benefits. It also is a good place to house your internal job board.
Read Nathan Duncan's full review
Nikki Dettman profile photo
February 06, 2018

Workday pros and cons

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use workday for HRIS, payroll, benefits and performance evaluation across the organization. It helps to house all of these functions in one place as well as take care of some of the workload being employee self-serve.
  • Reports - they are simple and you can add as much detail as you can think of
  • Self-service address, payment info, benefits - frees up a lot of administrative work
  • Layout - the layout is easy to use and makes sense
  • I would like it to be less complicated when it comes to country or province specific requirements - I don't want to be able to choose another country unless I need to.
  • Very difficult to use on cell phones
  • An area to log conversations or memos
I believe it's best for large companies that require different countries and provinces.
Read Nikki Dettman's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Employee demographic data (50)
8.8
Employment history (55)
8.4
Job profiles and administration (57)
8.3
Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (56)
8.4
Organizational charting (55)
9.2
Organization and location management (55)
8.7
Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.) (37)
7.7
Pay calculation (41)
8.6
Support for external payroll vendors (33)
8.0
Benefit plan administration (40)
8.3
Direct deposit files (42)
9.0
Salary revision and increment management (42)
8.4
Reimbursement management (24)
8.6
Approval workflow (45)
9.2
Balance details (45)
8.3
Annual carry-forward and encashment (38)
8.7
View and generate pay and benefit information (53)
9.3
Update personal information (57)
9.0
View company policy documentation (45)
9.0
Employee recognition (34)
8.9
View job history (49)
8.7
Tracking of all physical assets (13)
7.7
Report builder (45)
8.3
Pre-built reports (46)
8.1
Ability to combine HR data with external data (38)
7.4
New hire portal (33)
9.3
Manager tracking tools (32)
8.9
Corporate goal setting (29)
8.3
Individual goal setting (34)
8.2
Line-of sight-visibility (28)
8.6
Performance tracking (33)
8.3
Performance plans (34)
8.3
Performance improvement plans (29)
8.5
Review status tracking (30)
8.7
Review reminders (31)
8.4
Multiple review frequency (28)
8.8
Create succession plans/pools (20)
8.6
Candidate ranking (19)
8.2
Candidate search (20)
8.6
Candidate development (20)
8.4
Job Requisition Management (24)
8.5
Company Website Posting (20)
8.2
Publish to Social Media (18)
8.4
Job Search Site Posting (20)
7.9
Duplicate Candidate Prevention (21)
8.2
Applicant Tracking (21)
8.3
Notifications and Alerts (24)
8.3

About Workday HCM

Workday Human Capital Management is built as a single system with a single source of data, single security model, and single user experience. Workday offers organizations a cloud-based system that evolves to meet changing business needs today and into the future. The user-friendly, global system also ensures that customers are always on the latest version with up-to-date capabilities, whether they’re using Workday on a browser or mobile device. Workday HCM is part of a single system with other Workday products including Workday Financial Management, Workday Payroll (for the U.S., Canada, France, and the UK), Workday Recruiting, Workday Learning, Workday Planning, and more.

Key product areas:
  • Human Resource Management
  • Organization Management
  • Business Process Management
  • Reporting and Analytics
  • Employee and Manager Self-Service
  • Absence Management
  • Benefits Administration
  • ACA Management
  • Compensation Management
  • Performance and Goal Management
  • Talent Management
  • Survey Framework
  • Contingent Labor Management

Workday HCM Features

Human Resource Management Features
Has featureEmployee demographic data
Has featureEmployment history
Has featureJob profiles and administration
Has featureWorkflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
Has featureBenefits information
Has featureOrganizational charting
Has featureOrganization and location management
Has featureCompliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)
Payroll Management Features
Has featurePay calculation
Has featureSupport for external payroll vendors
Has featureOff-cycle checks
Has featurePayroll history for each employee
Has featureBenefit plan administration
Has featureDirect deposit files
Has featurePayroll tracking and auditing
Has featureSalary revision and increment management
Has featureReimbursement management
Has featureStatutory form management
Leave and Attendance Management Features
Has featureApproval workflow
Has featureEmail notifications
Has featureBalance details
Has featureTravel absence management
Has featureAnnual carry-forward and encashment
Employee Self Service Features
Has featureEmployee login
Has featureView and generate pay and benefit information
Has featureUpdate personal information
Has featureRequest time off
Has featureView job history
Has featureView company policy documentation
Has featureView company news and information
Has featureEmployee recognition
Asset Management Features
Has featureTracking of all physical assets
Does not have featureAsset issue and transfer management
Does not have featureAsset return
Does not have featureWarranty and after-sales status maintenance contract tracking
HR Reporting Features
Has featureReport builder
Has featurePre-built reports
Has featureAbility to combine HR data with external data
Integration with other HR capabilities Features
Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by same vendor
Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by different vendor
Performance Management Features
Has featurePerformance plans
Has featurePerformance improvement plans
Has featureReview status tracking
Has featureReview reminders
Has featureMultiple review frequency
Succession Planning Features
Has featureCreate succession plans/pools
Has featureCandidate ranking
Has featureCandidate search
Has featureCandidate development
Onboarding Features
Has featureNew hire portal
Has featureManager tracking tools
Performance and Goals Features
Has featureCorporate goal setting
Has featureIndividual goal setting
Has featureLine-of sight-visibility
Has featurePerformance tracking
Recruiting / ATS Features
Has featureJob Requisition Management
Has featureCompany Website Posting
Has featurePublish to Social Media
Has featureJob Search Site Posting
Has featureDuplicate Candidate Prevention
Has featureApplicant Tracking
Has featureNotifications and Alerts
Additional Features
Has featureReorganization Management
Has featureWorkforce Planning

Workday HCM Competitors

Oracle HCM Cloud, SAP SuccessFactors, Ultimate Software

Workday HCM Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community

Workday HCM Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android