Workday HCM Reviews

360 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 64)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 14, 2021
John Grenz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Workday is by far one of the leading HCM application systems out there. So easy to configure and yet so advanced in capability. The WD Community of resources and other clients is very very helpful. It has allowed us to be successful in all our HR needs, looking to consolidate from other systems eventually as well and move it all into Workday!
Read John Grenz's full review
April 13, 2021
Carl Pieri | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

There are a lot of functions of Workday that we choose to manage over Confluence (our internal wiki). Not sure if this is better or worse but its a choice we've made. They both have not good search functionality so thats something could benefit from.
Read Carl Pieri's full review
April 14, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I believe [Workday Human Capital Management] is probably the industry benchmark of excellence and has features that can easily be customized to meet the needs of organizations. It has strong and knowledgeable account teams that work closely with customers to develop the most efficient solutions. I believe oracle systems come the closest but they aren't smart and the technology still needs to be developed further.
Read this authenticated review
April 14, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

It's a great tool for us now that we've scaled. It will be able to grow as we become 10,000 employees+ across the world. The build has been complex, but as we gain expertise on the team, we unlock critical functionality that enhances our HR sophistication.
Read this authenticated review
October 30, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Kronos, ADP Vantage, Net Suite, Ceridian - chose workday because of the international capabilities and its flexibility. It had enough out of the box that special programming did not need to be done. They had a good base, having worked with People soft we were aware of the functionality we would get.
Read this authenticated review
November 05, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

If you are looking for easy to use, user-friendly and easy to customize, then Workday Human Capital Management is the right tool for you. I have used Paycom and Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne before. Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne is the worst tool you could ever get. Paycom is better at ease of navigation and options.
Read this authenticated review
October 02, 2019
Roy Zumbado Cognuchz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

It is all in the User Experience, which means a lot if you are using the system everyday and for important Human Resources transactions, the User Interface, colors, fonts, navigation, animations, functionality and efficiency make it the best Human Resources Software I have ever used in my career. It is a smooth and pleasant experience, against the square, tedious and complicated nature of other competitors.
Read Roy Zumbado Cognuchz's full review
October 17, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have only ever used Workday.
Read this authenticated review
October 04, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

It is far superior to the ORACLE solution which requires a tremendous amount of software patching (E-Business Suite version) and is difficult to maintain on a timely basis.
Read this authenticated review
August 26, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I've only used BambooHR and used an internally developed software before and those did not have half the features of Workday. That's why we switched to Workday.
Read this authenticated review
July 20, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Workday HCM easily beats any of its competitors in the current market. It is user-friendly, easy to use, easily links to other systems, has great reporting features, and can have all the data you need in just one place. I highly recommend it to any company looking for a best in class Human Capital Management tool.
Read this authenticated review
July 19, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I think Workday Human Capital Management is more detailed than Insperity. Everything is well designed and clear. There are a lot of functionalities, which is great, but could be overwhelming at the same time. The good part is that it is user-friendly, and you can find your way quite easily. For the interface between employee and HR, everything is there that is needed to be successful and to have the best streamlined process.
Read this authenticated review
December 10, 2018
Monika Ganeva | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I like because it allows for a lot flexibility and design of sophisticate workflows that fit a company's needs. It also supports very well employee and manager self- service which is a huge plus.
Read Monika Ganeva's full review
December 20, 2018
Mark McConnell, APTD | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Workday is more complete and mature from a functionality standpoint for the broad suite of HRIS needs. The same can be said of Cornerstone from the learning management side of things, which is why we continue to operate both "best of breed" systems in our HCM systems infrastructure. Integration support has been adequate so that this is not an undue burden on our IT staff.
Read Mark McConnell, APTD's full review
September 11, 2018
Nathan Kung | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Oracle PeopleSoft was our previous HCM software. Again I can only comment from a end user perspective. However Oracle was not nearly as user friendly as Workday. It also did not seem to have nearly as many features inherent to the software. I think Workday outperforms it by a significant margin.
Read Nathan Kung's full review
February 27, 2018
Sarah Ruderman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • ADP and At your Service
I believe that Workday HCM is more ascetically appealing and some aspects are more intuitive than similar products such as the popular ADP and the University of California's system At Your Service. ADP has some features that I would like to see Workday HCM improve such as their mobile app. At Your Service appears very simple but I view this as a positive because I do not believe that its simplicity takes away from its functionality.
Read Sarah Ruderman's full review
January 12, 2018
Amy Rose Gill | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • SAP
Workday blows SAP away in the human capital management space. Workday is extremely user-friendly where SAP made me want to pull my hair out on a daily basis, as did all of my coworkers. I think it this is mainly due to the fact the Workday is ONE platform, everyone gets the same features, and you make configurations based on your business processes.
Read Amy Rose Gill's full review
August 03, 2016
Sarah Truman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Workday is much more intuitive than PeopleSoft. It also touches everyone in the company, where PeopleSoft is more behind the scenes. The reporting module is much more in depth. In addition, the customization is what you make of it in Workday, while Peoplesoft is more of a prepackaged product. Workday is the wave of the future, and where software is going - it is all cloud-based, has a great mobile app. It is easy to use, and auditors love it!
Read Sarah Truman's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Employee demographic data (59)
9.0
Employment history (65)
8.8
Job profiles and administration (67)
9.0
Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (65)
9.1
Organizational charting (63)
8.9
Organization and location management (63)
8.8
Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.) (42)
7.4
Pay calculation (48)
8.6
Support for external payroll vendors (38)
7.9
Off-cycle/On-Demand payment (3)
8.3
Benefit plan administration (45)
8.9
Direct deposit files (49)
8.9
Salary revision and increment management (48)
8.3
Reimbursement management (27)
8.3
Approval workflow (52)
9.1
Balance details (52)
8.3
Annual carry-forward and encashment (42)
8.7
View and generate pay and benefit information (60)
9.3
Update personal information (67)
9.0
View company policy documentation (53)
8.8
Employee recognition (39)
8.1
View job history (58)
8.8
Tracking of all physical assets (16)
8.2
Report builder (54)
8.3
Pre-built reports (55)
8.3
Ability to combine HR data with external data (47)
7.9
New hire portal (39)
9.0
Manager tracking tools (38)
8.9
Corporate goal setting (34)
8.8
Individual goal setting (40)
8.4
Line-of sight-visibility (34)
7.9
Performance tracking (39)
8.3
Performance plans (41)
8.3
Performance improvement plans (35)
8.4
Review status tracking (38)
8.6
Review reminders (39)
8.4
Multiple review frequency (34)
8.8
Create succession plans/pools (24)
9.3
Candidate ranking (23)
8.6
Candidate search (24)
8.9
Candidate development (23)
9.2
Job Requisition Management (29)
9.1
Company Website Posting (23)
8.6
Publish to Social Media (22)
8.6
Job Search Site Posting (24)
8.0
Duplicate Candidate Prevention (25)
8.1
Applicant Tracking (25)
8.5
Notifications and Alerts (28)
8.5

What is Workday HCM?

Workday Human Capital Management is built as a single system with a single source of data, single security model, and single user experience. Workday offers organizations a cloud-based system that evolves to meet changing business needs today and into the future. The user-friendly, global system also ensures that customers are always on the latest version with up-to-date capabilities, whether they’re using Workday on a browser or mobile device. Workday HCM is part of a single system with other Workday products including Workday Financial Management, Workday Payroll (for the U.S., Canada, France, and the UK), Workday Recruiting, Workday Learning, Workday Planning, and more.

Key product areas:
  • Human Resource Management
  • Organization Management
  • Business Process Management
  • Reporting and Analytics
  • Employee and Manager Self-Service
  • Absence Management
  • Benefits Administration
  • ACA Management
  • Compensation Management
  • Performance and Goal Management
  • Talent Management
  • Survey Framework
  • Contingent Labor Management

Workday HCM Features

Human Resource Management Features

Has featureEmployee demographic data
Has featureEmployment history
Has featureJob profiles and administration
Has featureWorkflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
Has featureBenefits information
Has featureOrganizational charting
Has featureOrganization and location management
Has featureCompliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)

Payroll Management Features

Has featurePay calculation
Has featureSupport for external payroll vendors
Has featureOff-cycle/On-Demand payment
Has featurePayroll history for each employee
Has featureBenefit plan administration
Has featureDirect deposit files
Has featurePayroll tracking and auditing
Has featureSalary revision and increment management
Has featureReimbursement management
Has featureStatutory form management

Leave and Attendance Management Features

Has featureApproval workflow
Has featureEmail notifications
Has featureBalance details
Has featureTravel absence management
Has featureAnnual carry-forward and encashment

Employee Self Service Features

Has featureEmployee login
Has featureView and generate pay and benefit information
Has featureUpdate personal information
Has featureRequest time off
Has featureView job history
Has featureView company policy documentation
Has featureView company news and information
Has featureEmployee recognition

Asset Management Features

Has featureTracking of all physical assets

HR Reporting Features

Has featureReport builder
Has featurePre-built reports
Has featureAbility to combine HR data with external data

Integration with other HR capabilities Features

Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by same vendor
Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by different vendor

Performance Management Features

Has featurePerformance plans
Has featurePerformance improvement plans
Has featureReview status tracking
Has featureReview reminders
Has featureMultiple review frequency

Succession Planning Features

Has featureCreate succession plans/pools
Has featureCandidate ranking
Has featureCandidate search
Has featureCandidate development

Onboarding Features

Has featureNew hire portal
Has featureManager tracking tools

Performance and Goals Features

Has featureCorporate goal setting
Has featureIndividual goal setting
Has featureLine-of sight-visibility
Has featurePerformance tracking

Recruiting / ATS Features

Has featureJob Requisition Management
Has featureCompany Website Posting
Has featurePublish to Social Media
Has featureJob Search Site Posting
Has featureDuplicate Candidate Prevention
Has featureApplicant Tracking
Has featureNotifications and Alerts
Additional Features
Has featureReorganization Management
Has featureWorkforce Planning

Workday HCM Competitors

Workday HCM Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community

Workday HCM Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Workday HCM?

Workday Human Capital Management is built as a cloud-based system with global consistency in user experience. Workday HCM is part of a broader system with other Workday products.

What is Workday HCM's best feature?

Reviewers rate View and generate pay and benefit information and Create succession plans/pools highest, with a score of 9.3.

Who uses Workday HCM?

The most common users of Workday HCM are Enterprises from the Computer Software industry.