Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Workday HCM

Workday HCM

Overview

What is Workday HCM?

Workday Human Capital Management is built as a cloud-based system with global consistency in user experience. Workday HCM is part of a broader system with other Workday products.

Read more
Recent Reviews

HCM for the Modern Age

8 out of 10
February 21, 2024
Incentivized
Workday HCM is currently being utilized to streamline and automate current manual processes as well as provide an ability to track our …
Continue reading

Unlogical but it works

4 out of 10
February 01, 2024
Incentivized
I use Workday for managing candidates. Applications, contracts, checking information about managers. Job advert and all infomation about …
Continue reading

Workday HCM Review

10 out of 10
September 21, 2023
Using Workday HCM, it is possible to gain a total image of the workforce for a user. Further, it helps to understand the total people …
Continue reading

Workday for HRMS

7 out of 10
December 08, 2021
Incentivized
Workday is our organization's Human Resources application. We perform all the HR activities such as Personal Information view and update, …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 48 features
  • Update personal information (88)
    8.1
    81%
  • Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (84)
    7.9
    79%
  • Employment history (86)
    7.4
    74%
  • Job profiles and administration (88)
    7.3
    73%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://softwareconnect.com/human…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $100 per year per user
Return to navigation

Features

Human Resource Management

Organizing, tracking and providing instant access to critical employee data, job profiles, transfers, promotions, and benefits information.

7.7
Avg 7.8

Payroll Management

Provides for pay calculation and benefit plan administration, in addition to managing direct deposit, salary revisions and payroll tracking.

7.7
Avg 8.0

Leave and Attendance Management

Streamlines communication between HR and employees and facilitates efficient management of employee leave including requisitions, approvals, balance calculation, and annual carry-forward.

8
Avg 8.1

Employee Self Service

Employee portal allowing employees to view and update their personal information.

7.8
Avg 8.1

Asset Management

Maintaining a record of assets such as laptops, pagers, cell phones, etc. issued to employees. Record typically includes asset type, number, serial number and date of issuance.

6.8
Avg 7.7

HR Reporting

Pre-built and custom reports, and integration with external data.

7.7
Avg 7.6

Onboarding

Employee onboarding is the process of orienting new hires to the social and performance aspects of their jobs so that they are able to function in their new roles as quickly as possible.

8.1
Avg 8.0

Performance and Goals

Goal alignment is the practice of ensuring that all employees have clearly defined goals in support of the overall corporate strategy.

7.7
Avg 8.1

Performance Management

Performance management is the process of ensuring employees meet pre-determined objectives and goals through regular check-ins and appraisals.

8.2
Avg 7.9

Succession Planning

Succession planning is the identification and development of internal employees with the potential to fill key business leadership positions in the company.

7
Avg 7.9

Recruiting / ATS

Recruiting or Applicant Tracking Software is software used to manage the recruitment process electronically by handling job postings, applicant status, resume management, etc.

8
Avg 7.7
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Workday HCM?

Workday Human Capital Management is built as a single system with a single source of data, single security model, and single user experience. Workday offers organizations a cloud-based system designed to evolve, to meet changing business needs today and into the future. The system also ensures that customers are always on the latest version with up-to-date capabilities, whether they’re using Workday on a browser or mobile device. Workday HCM is part of a single system with other Workday products including Workday Financial Management, Workday Payroll (for the U.S., Canada, France, and the UK), Workday Recruiting, Workday Learning, and Workday Planning.

Key product areas:
  • Human Resource Management
  • Organization Management
  • Business Process Management
  • Reporting and Analytics
  • Employee and Manager Self-Service
  • Absence Management
  • Benefits Administration
  • ACA Management
  • Compensation Management
  • Performance and Goal Management
  • Talent Management
  • Survey Framework
  • Contingent Labor Management

Workday HCM Features

Human Resource Management Features

  • Supported: Employee demographic data
  • Supported: Employment history
  • Supported: Job profiles and administration
  • Supported: Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
  • Supported: Benefits information
  • Supported: Organizational charting
  • Supported: Organization and location management
  • Supported: Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)

Payroll Management Features

  • Supported: Pay calculation
  • Supported: Support for external payroll vendors
  • Supported: Off-cycle/On-Demand payment
  • Supported: Payroll history for each employee
  • Supported: Benefit plan administration
  • Supported: Direct deposit files
  • Supported: Payroll tracking and auditing
  • Supported: Salary revision and increment management
  • Supported: Reimbursement management
  • Supported: Statutory form management

Leave and Attendance Management Features

  • Supported: Approval workflow
  • Supported: Email notifications
  • Supported: Balance details
  • Supported: Travel absence management
  • Supported: Annual carry-forward and encashment

Employee Self Service Features

  • Supported: Employee login
  • Supported: View and generate pay and benefit information
  • Supported: Update personal information
  • Supported: Request time off
  • Supported: View job history
  • Supported: View company policy documentation
  • Supported: View company news and information
  • Supported: Employee recognition

Asset Management Features

  • Supported: Tracking of all physical assets

HR Reporting Features

  • Supported: Report builder
  • Supported: Pre-built reports
  • Supported: Ability to combine HR data with external data

Integration with other HR capabilities Features

  • Supported: Additional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by same vendor
  • Supported: Additional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by different vendor

Performance Management Features

  • Supported: Performance plans
  • Supported: Performance improvement plans
  • Supported: Review status tracking
  • Supported: Review reminders
  • Supported: Multiple review frequency

Succession Planning Features

  • Supported: Create succession plans/pools
  • Supported: Candidate ranking
  • Supported: Candidate search
  • Supported: Candidate development

Onboarding Features

  • Supported: New hire portal
  • Supported: Manager tracking tools

Performance and Goals Features

  • Supported: Corporate goal setting
  • Supported: Individual goal setting
  • Supported: Line-of sight-visibility
  • Supported: Performance tracking

Recruiting / ATS Features

  • Supported: Job Requisition Management
  • Supported: Company Website Posting
  • Supported: Publish to Social Media
  • Supported: Job Search Site Posting
  • Supported: Duplicate Candidate Prevention
  • Supported: Applicant Tracking
  • Supported: Notifications and Alerts

Additional Features

  • Supported: Reorganization Management
  • Supported: Workforce Planning

Workday HCM Video

Workday HCM

Workday HCM Competitors

Workday HCM Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android

Frequently Asked Questions

Workday Human Capital Management is built as a cloud-based system with global consistency in user experience. Workday HCM is part of a broader system with other Workday products.

Workday HCM starts at $100.

Oracle Fusion Cloud HCM and SAP SuccessFactors are common alternatives for Workday HCM.

Reviewers rate Review reminders highest, with a score of 8.5.

The most common users of Workday HCM are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(588)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 103)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I believe that Workday Human Capital Management is a great tool all the way around for any team that is already utilizing any of the Workday Platform products. It makes for a seamless way to view Worker data within the same tool that is used for accounting/finance. This is definitely a tool I would recommend to purchase all of the features for, such as Payroll, because without the full functionality of Workday Human Capital Management the product can prove to be difficult to use. However, with our organization we use the full capabilities and it makes our process seamless.
March 19, 2024

Great Partners...

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Over the years my experience with the Workday Human Capital Management has increased based on my roles with my companies. This product is very user-friendly, right down to the employee experience. This is very important during the onboarding process.
February 21, 2024

HCM for the Modern Age

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Workday is well-suited to bring any company into the 21st century as far as managing your workforce. Would be less appropriate for smaller businesses as the cost/benefit ratio diminishes with fewer employees.
February 20, 2024

Workday works for you.

Noah Mark Blaustein | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Overall Workday is a great program for a large company that can focus on its core products and service and use a ready made and tailored business software that can complete the tasks workday can. No need to reinvent the wheel. Workday does this in a smart workflow.
February 01, 2024

Unlogical but it works

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It is good that I can share the candidates with the hiring mangers. That I can send mass messages. I can see steps happening with the candidates. Hiring manager can change status when I put it in People Leader Shortlist Review. Less appropriate: When candidate answered yes for goverment related job, and the error message is just "no canidadate available" when I try to change the candite's status.It is difficult to undersatand it in thebeginning. Many times hiring managers has no idea where to find something. You need to unpost andrespost job advert for synchronization. Need to clock on "to do" after puting candidate in interview stage.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Workday Human capital management works best when it is set and forget it. That is to say, if your org has done all the heavy lifting up front, scraped all data, and set up best practices and SOPs for the way HR is to be managed by a platform and then loaded these onto the platform, it works well. However, is transitions (from one ATS or platform over to this) or, if you had no real prep work done ahead of time, it could be done concurrent with implementing WDHRM - but I would highly not recommend that.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I think Workday Human Capital Management is well suited for large organizations who want a system that handles many things pretty well. It isn't without it's flaws though, and I think without a true admin a HR team would struggle to make the system work how it should. The appeal of the entire Workday Human Capital Management ecosystem is also something to consider even if not all of the options are top notch yet.
September 21, 2023

Workday HCM Review

Avinash Sistla | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
By far the best I have worked with in my HR career. Workday is not perfect, but it is the best HCM software that I have used. You can integrate almost every aspect of HR into one platform. The employee self service is easy to use.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
If you want a friendly platform to allow all your peers to communicate and share information this is a great option in the market, cloud and AI implementation keep it on vanguard with others alike. Users will understand and adapt quickly as it shares some utilities like in a social media.
Olivia Adhikary | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Workforce Management : Workday has helped us tremendously here. We are able to create new profiles for new joinees, thus making onboarding quite easy. As we operate from two locations, Workday has helped in keeping internal communication within the team alive! Recognition : Managers are able to recognise their teams through Workday, this is quite encouraging for our folks, Recognition and appreciation is not limited to mangers and peer to peer recognition is something which we are still exploring Something that might help us in this area, is if there was an option to praise our peers directly, or assign points to them. I wish Workday had a proper rewards and recognition platform too! We would be willing to invest money into something like this.
Kuldeep Chouhan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Workday human capital management is well suited for organizations to manage their employee records. It is also well suited for managing the employee's salary details, also the details of past salary changes, promotions, etc. It has options to keep track of employees' goals for the year, where they can keep track of their progress, and also managers can view the progress or share feedback. This is very helpful for tracking career progress and providing feedback. Other options, like training assigned to employees, can also be seen in Workday; users will get alerts by email for any new assignments or due assignments, etc.
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Workday was suited to at few different situations. One of them being: - when I was a startup - it made sure everything was in place & to make sure everything was covered - When I was at a mid-size company, another system was already present & now it was time to change.
Shreyans Parekh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Workday has been incredibly impactful at integrating and aligning all critical back-office components in our organization from finance to HR to operations while providing the robust analytics and dashboard capabilities that our teams require. Workday's Human Capital Management module provides us with an unparalleled talent management program and segment analytics.
December 08, 2021

Workday for HRMS

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Well suited for an enhanced number of use cases for the HRMS domain. Most of the HR activities can be easily achieved using the workday HCM application. It has a neat UI so well understandable. Absence management is quite good. Less appropriate for faster entry of data by end-users as lots of data needs to be entered for even some simple items. Errors are not always easily understood and take lots of time to resolve.
September 21, 2021

Workday works for me

Erica Mijon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Workday [Human Capital Management] is great for accessing your time off calendar and submitting PTO requests. The career and development segments could be more easily accessed to encourage employees to use [them] more. It takes too many clicks to get to the professional development section, payroll, or anything that isn't linked to from the home page. Overall, it's a great solution for HR. The minute details are tracked automatically, rather than people scouring over spreadsheets.
Terry Scott | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
The platform has maintained clean records of most of the transactions that take place in our organization. The user interface has a dashboard that gives guidelines on how to budget effectively. It can be easily customized to ensure that funds and other organization resources are well monitored. This product can easily be acquired at a moderate cost.
Logan Brecklin, PE | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Very well suited to provide a transparent, easy to use software that tracks employee information across a whole organization. Modifying information directly within the software can be cumbersome, but copying and pasting information into Workday [Human Capital Management] allows users to share information with HR and company management. It also provides an accurate count of time with ATC, pay stub information, changes in your personal contact information exported into other company software, and ways for you to display interest in other positions at the company (so when the position opens up, HR can reach out to you).
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
In my opinion, I believe that Workday is probably the best HCM software in the world right now. As mentioned, Workday allows unlimited configuration. For example, Workday allows the configuration of a time-off plan that should only be visible to a certain set of employees (e.g. Singapore employees). Moreover, the absence eligibility rule that is configurable even allows to segregate those Singaporean employees further, for example, if they are 25 - 30 years old, they are eligible for 15 days AL, on the other hand, if they are 30 or above, 20 days of AL. All of these are capable through Workday HCM.

I don't think Workday is not well-suit or not appropriate on any circumstances. In the past, I have used software like Eagle and Opera which is on a different level when compared to Workday. If I have to comment anything negative, as mentioned prior, Workday is difficult to learn. In order to master a module, it could take up to 2 years. From the scenario above, if someone has no experience on Workday at all, it would take them at least 6 months of Workday learning in order to configure the scenario mentioned above.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It is very well suited for each employee to look up his or her own personal information and PTO data. It can also easily update certain information and update in real-time. It is easy to use and user-friendly. The automatic reporting generation feature is great. I use it on a monthly basis to determine what new additions or change were made that help me in my role as a Sales Ops Comp analyst. Knowing if a sales rep’s compensation has changed early enough can help me pay accurately to the rep.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Workday Human Capital Management isn’t like other systems on the market therefore it requires a lot of training to get up to speed. It also requires a lot of technical knowledge, ability, and willingness to learn for the administrator roles. A dedicated team who work together and understand how changes in one module impact the other modules is key. There can be no lone wolves in this system. The team must be dedicated to working together, testing, and learning together. Testing is crucial. It’s great to have a sandbox environment!
Jill Dickert | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Workday Human Capital Management is well suited for day-to-day human resources tasks as well a future planning regarding goals, quarterly check-ins, and career growths. It is useful to have multiple features and available tasks in the overall dashboard. It is helpful that learning paths and courses are also integrated in the platform.
Monika Ganeva | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Workday HCM requires constant and a lot of HRIS support and in the event that a company cannot afford to staff accordingly it may create a lot of frustration. The system allows for a lot of flexibility in customizing and automating processes; however, that also requires constant maintenance by an experienced technical team. Workday HCM is a great solution for companies that are looking to capitalize on employee and manager self-service, standardization of practices, compliance and automation.
April 24, 2021

Workday HCM Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Workday Human Capital Management is very user friendly, both on the administration side and as well as an end user. It can manage large sets of employee data. Integrations can be performed using latest web services technology and workday has certain inbuilt connectors. So its suitable for any enterprise which can afford the software for storing large employee database. For small to medium size companies, this is more expensive.
Return to navigation