Workday HCM

Workday HCM

Customer Verified
Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.1 out of 100
Top Rated
Workday Human Capital Management

Overview

Recent Reviews

Workday for HRMS

7 out of 10
December 08, 2021
Workday is our organization's Human Resources application. We perform all the HR activities such as Personal Information view and update, …
Continue reading

Workday works for me

8 out of 10
September 21, 2021
Workday [Human Capital Management] is being used across the entire organization for employees to manage a plethora of internal information …
Continue reading

Best in class system for HCM

10 out of 10
August 31, 2021
I currently use Workday for several reasons in my current organization. On a personal level, it is where my personal employment …
Continue reading

Workday: A Data Powerhouse

8 out of 10
August 30, 2021
We use Workday Human Capital Management across our global organization. It addresses a number of problems including data management, …
Continue reading

Workday HCM Review

6 out of 10
April 24, 2021
Workday Human Capital Management is being used by the entire organization across all departments. It serves as the core HR system for our …
Continue reading

HCM for the Modern Age

8 out of 10
April 23, 2021
Workday HCM is currently being utilized to streamline and automate current manual processes as well as provide an ability to track our …
Continue reading

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 48 features

Update personal information (77)

8.9
89%

Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (74)

8.7
87%

Employment history (75)

8.6
86%

Job profiles and administration (77)

8.3
83%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Workday HCM, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://softwareconnect.com/human…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $100 per year per user

Features Scorecard

Human Resource Management

8.4
84%

Payroll Management

8.7
87%

Leave and Attendance Management

8.8
88%

Employee Self Service

8.3
83%

Asset Management

8.3
83%

HR Reporting

8.0
80%

Onboarding

8.6
86%

Performance and Goals

7.9
79%

Performance Management

8.4
84%

Succession Planning

8.3
83%

Recruiting / ATS

8.5
85%

Product Details

What is Workday HCM?

Workday Human Capital Management is built as a single system with a single source of data, single security model, and single user experience. Workday offers organizations a cloud-based system that evolves to meet changing business needs today and into the future. The user-friendly, global system also ensures that customers are always on the latest version with up-to-date capabilities, whether they’re using Workday on a browser or mobile device. Workday HCM is part of a single system with other Workday products including Workday Financial Management, Workday Payroll (for the U.S., Canada, France, and the UK), Workday Recruiting, Workday Learning, Workday Planning, and more.

Key product areas:
  • Human Resource Management
  • Organization Management
  • Business Process Management
  • Reporting and Analytics
  • Employee and Manager Self-Service
  • Absence Management
  • Benefits Administration
  • ACA Management
  • Compensation Management
  • Performance and Goal Management
  • Talent Management
  • Survey Framework
  • Contingent Labor Management

Workday HCM Features

Human Resource Management Features

  • Supported: Employee demographic data
  • Supported: Employment history
  • Supported: Job profiles and administration
  • Supported: Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
  • Supported: Benefits information
  • Supported: Organizational charting
  • Supported: Organization and location management
  • Supported: Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)

Payroll Management Features

  • Supported: Pay calculation
  • Supported: Support for external payroll vendors
  • Supported: Off-cycle/On-Demand payment
  • Supported: Payroll history for each employee
  • Supported: Benefit plan administration
  • Supported: Direct deposit files
  • Supported: Payroll tracking and auditing
  • Supported: Salary revision and increment management
  • Supported: Reimbursement management
  • Supported: Statutory form management

Leave and Attendance Management Features

  • Supported: Approval workflow
  • Supported: Email notifications
  • Supported: Balance details
  • Supported: Travel absence management
  • Supported: Annual carry-forward and encashment

Employee Self Service Features

  • Supported: Employee login
  • Supported: View and generate pay and benefit information
  • Supported: Update personal information
  • Supported: Request time off
  • Supported: View job history
  • Supported: View company policy documentation
  • Supported: View company news and information
  • Supported: Employee recognition

Asset Management Features

  • Supported: Tracking of all physical assets

HR Reporting Features

  • Supported: Report builder
  • Supported: Pre-built reports
  • Supported: Ability to combine HR data with external data

Integration with other HR capabilities Features

  • Supported: Additional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by same vendor
  • Supported: Additional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by different vendor

Performance Management Features

  • Supported: Performance plans
  • Supported: Performance improvement plans
  • Supported: Review status tracking
  • Supported: Review reminders
  • Supported: Multiple review frequency

Succession Planning Features

  • Supported: Create succession plans/pools
  • Supported: Candidate ranking
  • Supported: Candidate search
  • Supported: Candidate development

Onboarding Features

  • Supported: New hire portal
  • Supported: Manager tracking tools

Performance and Goals Features

  • Supported: Corporate goal setting
  • Supported: Individual goal setting
  • Supported: Line-of sight-visibility
  • Supported: Performance tracking

Recruiting / ATS Features

  • Supported: Job Requisition Management
  • Supported: Company Website Posting
  • Supported: Publish to Social Media
  • Supported: Job Search Site Posting
  • Supported: Duplicate Candidate Prevention
  • Supported: Applicant Tracking
  • Supported: Notifications and Alerts

Additional Features

  • Supported: Reorganization Management
  • Supported: Workforce Planning

Workday HCM Competitors

Workday HCM Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Workday HCM?

Workday Human Capital Management is built as a cloud-based system with global consistency in user experience. Workday HCM is part of a broader system with other Workday products.

How much does Workday HCM cost?

Workday HCM starts at $100.

What is Workday HCM's best feature?

Reviewers rate Publish to Social Media highest, with a score of 9.6.

Who uses Workday HCM?

The most common users of Workday HCM are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Computer Software industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 92)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Shreyans Parekh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workday has been incredibly impactful at integrating and aligning all critical back-office components in our organization from finance to HR to operations while providing the robust analytics and dashboard capabilities that our teams require. Workday's Human Capital Management module provides us with an unparalleled talent management program and segment analytics.
December 08, 2021

Workday for HRMS

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Well suited for an enhanced number of use cases for the HRMS domain. Most of the HR activities can be easily achieved using the workday HCM application. It has a neat UI so well understandable. Absence management is quite good. Less appropriate for faster entry of data by end-users as lots of data needs to be entered for even some simple items. Errors are not always easily understood and take lots of time to resolve.
September 21, 2021

Workday works for me

Erica Mijon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workday [Human Capital Management] is great for accessing your time off calendar and submitting PTO requests. The career and development segments could be more easily accessed to encourage employees to use [them] more. It takes too many clicks to get to the professional development section, payroll, or anything that isn't linked to from the home page. Overall, it's a great solution for HR. More minute details are tracked automatically, rather than people scouring over spreadsheets.
Terry Scott | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The platform has maintained clean records of most of the transactions that take place in our organization. The user interface has a dashboard that gives guidelines on how to budget effectively. It can be easily customized to ensure that funds and other organization resources are well monitored. This product can easily be acquired at a moderate cost.
Logan Brecklin, PE | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Very well suited to provide a transparent, easy to use software that tracks employee information across a whole organization. Modifying information directly within the software can be cumbersome, but copying and pasting information into Workday [Human Capital Management] allows users to share information with HR and company management. It also provides an accurate count of time with ATC, pay stub information, changes in your personal contact information exported into other company software, and ways for you to display interest in other positions at the company (so when the position opens up, HR can reach out to you).
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my opinion, I believe that Workday is probably the best HCM software in the world right now. As mentioned, Workday allows unlimited configuration. For example, Workday allows the configuration of a time-off plan that should only be visible to a certain set of employees (e.g. Singapore employees). Moreover, the absence eligibility rule that is configurable even allows to segregate those Singaporean employees further, for example, if they are 25 - 30 years old, they are eligible for 15 days AL, on the other hand, if they are 30 or above, 20 days of AL. All of these are capable through Workday HCM.

I don't think Workday is not well-suit or not appropriate on any circumstances. In the past, I have used software like Eagle and Opera which is on a different level when compared to Workday. If I have to comment anything negative, as mentioned prior, Workday is difficult to learn. In order to master a module, it could take up to 2 years. From the scenario above, if someone has no experience on Workday at all, it would take them at least 6 months of Workday learning in order to configure the scenario mentioned above.

August 31, 2021

Workday works for you.

Noah Mark Blaustein | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Overall Workday is a great program for a large company that can focus on its core products and service and use a ready made and tailored business software that can complete the tasks workday can. No need to reinvent the wheel. Workday does this in a smart workflow.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is very well suited for each employee to look up his or her own personal information and PTO data. It can also easily update certain information and update in real-time. It is easy to use and user-friendly. The automatic reporting generation feature is great. I use it on a monthly basis to determine what new additions or change were made that help me in my role as a Sales Ops Comp analyst. Knowing if a sales rep’s compensation has changed early enough can help me pay accurately to the rep.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workday Human Capital Management isn’t like other systems on the market therefore it requires a lot of training to get up to speed. It also requires a lot of technical knowledge, ability, and willingness to learn for the administrator roles. A dedicated team who work together and understand how changes in one module impact the other modules is key. There can be no lone wolves in this system. The team must be dedicated to working together, testing, and learning together. Testing is crucial. It’s great to have a sandbox environment!
Jill Dickert | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workday Human Capital Management is well suited for day-to-day human resources tasks as well a future planning regarding goals, quarterly check-ins, and career growths. It is useful to have multiple features and available tasks in the overall dashboard. It is helpful that learning paths and courses are also integrated in the platform.
Monika Ganeva | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workday HCM requires constant and a lot of HRIS support and in the event that a company cannot afford to staff accordingly it may create a lot of frustration. The system allows for a lot of flexibility in customizing and automating processes; however, that also requires constant maintenance by an experienced technical team. Workday HCM is a great solution for companies that are looking to capitalize on employee and manager self-service, standardization of practices, compliance and automation.
April 24, 2021

Workday HCM Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workday Human Capital Management is very user friendly, both on the administration side and as well as an end user. It can manage large sets of employee data. Integrations can be performed using latest web services technology and workday has certain inbuilt connectors. So its suitable for any enterprise which can afford the software for storing large employee database. For small to medium size companies, this is more expensive.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workday is well-suited to bring any company into the 21st century as far as managing your workforce. Would be less appropriate for smaller businesses as the cost/benefit ratio diminishes with fewer employees.
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a whole, the application does the HR management well. But where it falls terribly short is making it easier, quicker, and faster for managers to do common tasks, like managing performance objectives for an entire team. Sure, there is the "cascade" function to copy objectives down from manager to associate, but that's it. I can't look at the performance objectives across my entire team and update them. I can't even easily open links in new browser windows so I can see them side by side! They need to work on actually understanding what managers do regularly with some user research.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workday Human Capital Management is good for bigger companies that employ a large number of workers. It makes it easy to manage pay, time off, performance, personal information, tax information, etc. all in one place. Other employers I've had, use multiple systems for each of these things, whereas Workday puts all this information in one place. I'd highly recommend it to get all your HR management into one, seamless application.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workday is an important, compliant tool as you scale to the 1,000s and 10,000s of employees. It's a solution that can scale to support even the biggest employers. There are so many modules you can add, which is important flexibility as you continue to grow. It is robust enough to sync with various payroll/finance tools as well.

Given high costs and high complexity to setup/change, I would not recommend for SMB clients.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workday HCM is well suited to meet the needs of an HR system environment, everything from ESS, MSS, Benefits, Comp, Talent, Performance, Recruiting, Payroll, Time Tracking, and even Learning. It seems like it can do it all. When thinking of having multiple individual systems to accomplish these things, it makes it a lot easier to have it all in one place like in Workday. However, some drawbacks as it may not be able to do everything that another standalone application can do, but it may outweigh the cons here having everything together.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workday [Human Capital Management] [exceeds] our expectations! I don't have a lot to knock them for; however, there's always room for improvement. Some of the features seemed like they could use a revamp, and some of the customization issues were a little complex. Overall, customer service was exceptional. Their support team is phenomenal and quick to respond. I don't know of an industry that Workday wouldn't be a benefit.
Carl Pieri | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I believe that Workday Human Capital Management is well suited for companies that are looking to manage HR for a larger number of employees (at least 100). It seems like it would be more than is necessary below that but to be completely honest I do not work in HR and don't know. It also seems good for organizations that track hours worked.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
There has been a considerable investment in developing Workday HCM. When I first started using it six years ago, and it was excruciating and caused issues continuously (back then, my manager once accidentally "fired" one of my colleagues, resulting in him not being paid for a month!). Happily, things have changed, and this seamless integrates payroll to leave (even managing our firms generous but complicated paternity leave). Has resulted in Workday HCM becoming (almost) the one-stop-shop for HR stuff if only they had travel/expenses, then it really would be a one-stop-shop!
Amanda Haskett | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workday is a great solution to companies that have employees spread amongst locations.. this gives an opportunity for continued growth and success as well as great information for said employees. It definitely makes it easier on those HR associates who are not housed in specific locations where employees need more assistance.
Bryan Parry | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It does the simply HR tasks very quickly and easily. I like the interface as well. It does still seem to be lacking in its full functionality because we do need to use a variety of other systems for HR-related things. I think Workday should focus on improving these other areas so that we could reduce the # of systems we need to go into. The functions that we do use Workday for operate well.
November 05, 2019

Workday HCM

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
If you are looking for a simple, user-friendly human capital management tool, then Workday Human Capital Management tool is the right one for you. Users can also access the information using a user-friendly mobile application.