Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Workday HCM

Workday HCM

Overview

What is Workday HCM?

Workday Human Capital Management is built as a cloud-based system with global consistency in user experience. Workday HCM is part of a broader system with other Workday products.

Read more
Recent Reviews

HCM for the Modern Age

8 out of 10
February 21, 2024
Incentivized
Workday HCM is currently being utilized to streamline and automate current manual processes as well as provide an ability to track our …
Continue reading

Unlogical but it works

4 out of 10
February 01, 2024
Incentivized
I use Workday for managing candidates. Applications, contracts, checking information about managers. Job advert and all infomation about …
Continue reading

Workday HCM Review

10 out of 10
September 21, 2023
Using Workday HCM, it is possible to gain a total image of the workforce for a user. Further, it helps to understand the total people …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 48 features
  • Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (88)
    8.6
    86%
  • Update personal information (92)
    8.5
    85%
  • Employment history (91)
    8.2
    82%
  • Job profiles and administration (93)
    8.0
    80%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://softwareconnect.com/human…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $100 per year per user
Return to navigation

Features

Human Resource Management

Organizing, tracking and providing instant access to critical employee data, job profiles, transfers, promotions, and benefits information.

8.2
Avg 7.9

Payroll Management

Provides for pay calculation and benefit plan administration, in addition to managing direct deposit, salary revisions and payroll tracking.

8.3
Avg 8.0

Leave and Attendance Management

Streamlines communication between HR and employees and facilitates efficient management of employee leave including requisitions, approvals, balance calculation, and annual carry-forward.

8.3
Avg 8.1

Employee Self Service

Employee portal allowing employees to view and update their personal information.

8.1
Avg 8.1

Asset Management

Maintaining a record of assets such as laptops, pagers, cell phones, etc. issued to employees. Record typically includes asset type, number, serial number and date of issuance.

7.6
Avg 7.8

HR Reporting

Pre-built and custom reports, and integration with external data.

8
Avg 7.6

Onboarding

Employee onboarding is the process of orienting new hires to the social and performance aspects of their jobs so that they are able to function in their new roles as quickly as possible.

8.3
Avg 8.0

Performance and Goals

Goal alignment is the practice of ensuring that all employees have clearly defined goals in support of the overall corporate strategy.

8.1
Avg 8.2

Performance Management

Performance management is the process of ensuring employees meet pre-determined objectives and goals through regular check-ins and appraisals.

8.5
Avg 8.0

Succession Planning

Succession planning is the identification and development of internal employees with the potential to fill key business leadership positions in the company.

7.5
Avg 8.0

Recruiting / ATS

Recruiting or Applicant Tracking Software is software used to manage the recruitment process electronically by handling job postings, applicant status, resume management, etc.

8.2
Avg 7.8
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Workday HCM?

Workday Human Capital Management is built as a single system with a single source of data, single security model, and single user experience. Workday offers organizations a cloud-based system designed to evolve, to meet changing business needs today and into the future. The system also ensures that customers are always on the latest version with up-to-date capabilities, whether they’re using Workday on a browser or mobile device. Workday HCM is part of a single system with other Workday products including Workday Financial Management, Workday Payroll (for the U.S., Canada, France, and the UK), Workday Recruiting, Workday Learning, and Workday Planning.

Key product areas:
  • Human Resource Management
  • Organization Management
  • Business Process Management
  • Reporting and Analytics
  • Employee and Manager Self-Service
  • Absence Management
  • Benefits Administration
  • ACA Management
  • Compensation Management
  • Performance and Goal Management
  • Talent Management
  • Survey Framework
  • Contingent Labor Management

Workday HCM Features

Human Resource Management Features

  • Supported: Employee demographic data
  • Supported: Employment history
  • Supported: Job profiles and administration
  • Supported: Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
  • Supported: Benefits information
  • Supported: Organizational charting
  • Supported: Organization and location management
  • Supported: Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)

Payroll Management Features

  • Supported: Pay calculation
  • Supported: Support for external payroll vendors
  • Supported: Off-cycle/On-Demand payment
  • Supported: Payroll history for each employee
  • Supported: Benefit plan administration
  • Supported: Direct deposit files
  • Supported: Payroll tracking and auditing
  • Supported: Salary revision and increment management
  • Supported: Reimbursement management
  • Supported: Statutory form management

Leave and Attendance Management Features

  • Supported: Approval workflow
  • Supported: Email notifications
  • Supported: Balance details
  • Supported: Travel absence management
  • Supported: Annual carry-forward and encashment

Employee Self Service Features

  • Supported: Employee login
  • Supported: View and generate pay and benefit information
  • Supported: Update personal information
  • Supported: Request time off
  • Supported: View job history
  • Supported: View company policy documentation
  • Supported: View company news and information
  • Supported: Employee recognition

Asset Management Features

  • Supported: Tracking of all physical assets

HR Reporting Features

  • Supported: Report builder
  • Supported: Pre-built reports
  • Supported: Ability to combine HR data with external data

Integration with other HR capabilities Features

  • Supported: Additional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by same vendor
  • Supported: Additional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by different vendor

Performance Management Features

  • Supported: Performance plans
  • Supported: Performance improvement plans
  • Supported: Review status tracking
  • Supported: Review reminders
  • Supported: Multiple review frequency

Succession Planning Features

  • Supported: Create succession plans/pools
  • Supported: Candidate ranking
  • Supported: Candidate search
  • Supported: Candidate development

Onboarding Features

  • Supported: New hire portal
  • Supported: Manager tracking tools

Performance and Goals Features

  • Supported: Corporate goal setting
  • Supported: Individual goal setting
  • Supported: Line-of sight-visibility
  • Supported: Performance tracking

Recruiting / ATS Features

  • Supported: Job Requisition Management
  • Supported: Company Website Posting
  • Supported: Publish to Social Media
  • Supported: Job Search Site Posting
  • Supported: Duplicate Candidate Prevention
  • Supported: Applicant Tracking
  • Supported: Notifications and Alerts

Additional Features

  • Supported: Reorganization Management
  • Supported: Workforce Planning

Workday HCM Video

Workday HCM

Workday HCM Competitors

Workday HCM Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android

Frequently Asked Questions

Workday Human Capital Management is built as a cloud-based system with global consistency in user experience. Workday HCM is part of a broader system with other Workday products.

Workday HCM starts at $100.

Oracle Fusion Cloud HCM and SAP SuccessFactors are common alternatives for Workday HCM.

Reviewers rate Off-cycle/On-Demand payment highest, with a score of 9.1.

The most common users of Workday HCM are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(606)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 103)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Workday Human Capital Management as our ATS and HRIS. On the recruiting team we use Workday Human Capital Management to keep track of headcount, post job openings, internally and externally, track applicants and take candidates to offer/placement. As an employee we use Workday Human Capital Management to track time, benefits and enrollment and pay.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use WorkDay Human Capital Management for every day recruiting, onboarding, expenses, performance appraisals and are moving into timekeeping and payroll. It provides us a platform to register for learning opportunities within our organization as well as a "live" organizational chart so you can essentially learn all about the different departments and people that make up the company.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Workday Human Capital Management is an internal profile management tool where associates are updating the work history similar to other job seeking platform. Associates can add projects, achievements , certifications etc. The alerts are helping to get notification for the job and recruiters have complete visibility about candidature. It helps to speed up the process and maintain end to end visibility.

It also helps to maintain performance, annual review and compensation records as well as all type of learning records.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use Workday Human Capital Management in many ways where I work. I use it for requesting time off, seeing time off from other colleagues, looking up coworkers info and their reporting structure, I file my expense reports through Workday Human Capital Management, I review open roles and also refer colleagues to open roles using Workday Human Capital Management. I also review my quarterly and annual conversation talking points, tracking goals and accomplishments.
Rohit Kumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I was using Zoho and other in house applications to managed the different department but post implementation of HCM module I am really got great productivity and results which I was looking for my organisation.
Initially my team wa confused between SF and Workday Human Capital Management but now everyone is very much satisfied.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I personally use Workday Human Capital Management for much of the reporting and analysis for our FP&A function. Workday Human Capital Management is used to manage all of our hiring and current employee information including all of the data that is utilized for our budgeting and planning. For my role, Workday Human Capital Management provides an automated and standardized process for employee data that can be transformed and loaded to our financial planning tool.
March 19, 2024

Great Partners...

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use Workday Human Capital Management for Human Resources, Timekeeping, Benefits and Payroll functions. I find this system to be user-friendly and it partners well with our Third Party partners for Payroll. It is refreshing to have a product that is a one stop shop for all my HR related needs and partners well with my TP.
February 21, 2024

HCM for the Modern Age

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Workday HCM is currently being utilized to streamline and automate current manual processes as well as provide an ability to track our employee's life cycles all within a single system. We use the Workday HCM for recruiting/onboarding, payrolling, talent management, and a plethora of other services. The primary business problem Workday HCM addresses is a single system to manage employee transactions
February 20, 2024

Workday works for you.

Noah Mark Blaustein | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Workday in our entire organization, fulfilling, new hires, I-9, managing day to day employee requests including paid time off, payroll forecasting, reports that detail financials, location database management, senior level approvals and so much more. It's a day to day workflow that for the most part is simple and easy to use.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We Use WDHCM for HRM, BA, TM, Workforce BI, Recruiting, and Time Tracking. I believe the platform can do other capabilities, but we have not been using it since my tenure. Essentially, associates can help themselves manage their patients through PTO, healthcare, and other benefits, as well as track their employee progress via reviews and yearly touch bases.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Workday HCM extensively to handle our HR processes. This currently includes onboarding, promotions, termination, benefits, etc. Workday is a robust solution/ecosystem that allows us to handle the various components in a single use case. We also use this system to drive integrations to our various other systems including our accounting system which is currently Netsuite.
September 21, 2023

Workday HCM Review

Avinash Sistla | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Using Workday HCM, it is possible to gain a total image of the workforce for a user. Further, it helps to understand the total people cost, including its labor for work within the organisation andbenefits for quick assessments
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Organization is key in any company, and being able to see and manage all the information of your associates in a quick and secure platform allows the HR personal and team leads alike to handle different situations and activities, it shortens the time and need of meetings. In a direct note, it allows me to have more accurate control of my team's feedback, it really softens my workload.
Georgia Hodson, CPP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Workday HCM was being used when I arrived at Lenovo, I remember thinking it was the most advanced system I had used so far. I manage payroll, so most of our data comes from Workday HCM. I have been very satisfied with the flexibility of the system and would recommend it highly.
Olivia Adhikary | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
At our organisation, we use Workday for internal communication, employee information systems, appreciation, and recognition. Workday applications: Workday has helped us tremendously to maintain coordination within the team and be able to communicate internal notes with each other. Workday has made Workforce management quite easy for us and we receive feedback from everyone that it keeps them engaged. In short Workday is like a Facebook for our internal team, it is fun and easy to use!
Kuldeep Chouhan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Onboarding employees, using the timesheet to manage the work schedule and holidays. Also, using the workday for collecting different forms required at different stages to opt in/out for different policies. The Workday tool is also used to manage the employee's banking information, employee's career progress, annual appraisals, feedback, and sharing other policy details like the different parts in salary such as variable, stock, etc.
Shreyans Parekh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We currently use Workday Human Capital Management for human resources management, payroll, and workforce management, talent management, employee experience, employee experience, workforce planning, and analytics and reporting. The business problems that we are tackling via Workday include being able to seamlessly integrate our compensation and payroll platform, and future-proof our workforce with talent management, analytics, and workforce planning. Workday also provides us with a robust platform for strategic sourcing, spend management, and Adaptive Planning efforts.
December 08, 2021

Workday for HRMS

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Workday is our organization's Human Resources application. We perform all the HR activities such as Personal Information view and update, Request references, Career, Performance, and Feedback request and receiving, Jobs and Referrals, etc on Workday as end-users.
September 21, 2021

Workday works for me

Erica Mijon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Workday [Human Capital Management] is being used across the entire organization for employees to manage a plethora of internal information like PTO, career and development goals, etc. It addresses everyday business problems like submitting timesheets and requesting time off. It also houses sections for employees and their managers to discuss their professional development goals, as well as required training modules, like onboarding and Compliance.
Terry Scott | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
This platform is used across our organization to manage our resources and assets. It has developed excellent infrastructure that tracks down how our assets are used. It has simple and secure document storage tools that backs [up] our records and any reports. The UI is flexible and intuitive for any user, and all our customers can access it easily.
Logan Brecklin, PE | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Our entire organization uses Workday [Human Capital Management] to manage goal plans and achievement, hour tracking, pay stub information, organizational chart information, personal development plans and credentials, core job achievements, and year-end review information. It solves many problems for our employees, mainly a software that is accessible from anywhere that helps employees accurately track their hours and charge to appropriate work orders [and] allows information transfer between employees, Human Resources and company management.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
In any organization, a HCM software is required to track and manage its workforce. Unlike other HCM software, Workday is much more capable than just tracking and managing the organization’s workforce. At the company, Workday is utilized as the main portal for all employees, whether it is for compensation to retrieve payslips, benefits for benefits election, reimbursement, or even absence to request time-off and leave. On the other hand, from the HR side, Workday allows the HR team to retrieve any data that is needed and critical to the business at anytime via report writer. For instance the number of employees in each department or the total amount of reimbursement for each department. Workday also supports the creation, edit, and deletion of new supervisory organization (team, region, company, etc) and allow the admins to easily perform changes to employee data to accurately keep track of employee data so that it is most up-to-date.
Return to navigation