TrustRadius
Kronos Workforce Central is a suite of HR Management offerings targeted mainly at enterprise customers with larger-scale and more complex HR and workforce management issues. Workforce Central provides capabilities for managing time and attendance, payroll, HR, and other labor management functions.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/4m/75/DP01QS3NBLJ0.pngKronos - Could Be Better. Could Be Worse.Kronos Workforce Central is our time keeping system across our organization. All hourly associates use it to punch in and out daily. Managers use it for managing labor and ensuring that employees are logging their time accurately. HR and accounting staff use it regularly for reporting purposes and various metrics needed to manage our business. We also use it to ensure that all employees' vacation and PTO are accurately accruing and processing.,Reporting - reports run quickly once scheduled Time editing - it is quite simple to edit someone's time when necessary Accruals - Kronos correctly calculates our employees' vacation and PTO accruals 99% of the time,Reporting - some of the reports' names do not coincide with the data that is pulled from the system System errors - the system crashes regularly on us with no real explanation why Punch accuracy - sometimes the punches from the timeclocks do not feed into the system,5,Positive - higher punch accuracy, which means fewer manual checks Negative - system errors still require manual checks at times Positive - employees are able to see their time, which helps managers know if there is a discrepancy,UltiPro and ADP Enterprise eTIME,iCIMS Talent Acquisition Software Suite, Skype for Business (formerly Lync), Microsoft Office 365,10000,3,Time management Labor control Scheduling,Labor control,Labor control Time management Vacation/PTO management,5Kronos provides timekeeping and forecasting capabilitesKronos is used first to manage timekeeping for hourly employees and time off for salary exempt employees. All employees in the company use Kronos. Kronos also maintains individual employees' time off buckets. Finally, some of our largest orgs use the workforce management / scheduling features in Kronos to help plan to meet business needs.,I personally feel like timekeeping is very well thought out and has some powerful tools built in. There is a bit of a learning curve but with strategically placed SMEs we were able to get the use and functionality we needed out of the system. Workforce planning has been crucial in planning operational support in our retail and customer service centers. It is also editable and modifiable as needed.,While it is a pro that the system allows us to do all we need on the timekeeping front, the con is that it requires SMEs to ensure our workforce knows how to do it effectively. The requesting of time off through the calendar/schedule could use some work. It's not intuitive for most of our workforce (regardless if they are retail associates or software engineers) and we frequently run into issues. Our SMEs and guides are able to sort out most issues. I am not a fan of Kronos using FLASH and I find the system to be slow.,8,Kronos has been an improvement over the previous system we had. It allows for greater accuracy and wider abilities to make corrections if needed There is more control/power in the hands of team managers to allow them to resolve timekeeping issues for their direct reports and not need to connect with HR,Workday Human Capital Management and ADP Vantage HCM,Workday Human Capital Management, ADP Vantage HCMSolid Tool for Large OrganizationKronos is utilized by the entire organization for timekeeping and time off requests of all employees. This includes all clinical and non-clinical staff whether they are exempt or non-exempt status. As a 24/7/365 operation timekeeping, incentives, and differentials are imperative to capture both legally, but also for our own analytical purpose. Kronos has allowed for the organization to monitor schedule, float hours, and effectively track hours and location of hours by each individual employee.,As a full service hospital there can be demands of staff to respond to high census or staffing shortages. Kronos has offered great utilization in floating hours between units and departments, identifying direct or indirect patient care hours, and ultimately offering analytics to clinical and operational leaders. This ability to specifically move hours while at work is exceptional for reporting and planning purposes across the organization. The self-managed and leader managed options of an employee’s time card is of huge benefit. As a 24/7 hour operation it is critical that each individual is accountable for their own timekeeping. Kronos allows each employee to manage and submit adjustment, updates, and changes while at work without having to have their manager do it for them. The proceeding approval/acceptance process with these changes is well established and easy to authenticate. The ability to access and navigate the user interface is very friendly and forgiving. Other systems can be quite cumbersome and hard to navigate, update, and easily change, but Kronos is pretty straight forward both for users and administrators. This ability to easily orient new team members and managers has been a great benefit to the organization.,Without proper implementation and guidelines around accountability Kronos can become a burden just like any other misused system. With that said, there are managers who manage near 50 people in our organization and if employees don’t manage/update their time cards a manager will be overwhelmed to keep it accurate for them. When it comes to floating hours and tying it to new locations or cost centers via pay codes it can be a challenge to correct mismanaged time cards. One complaint is that that timecards don’t always update in live time when approving or adjusting hours or time off. When in a crunch to approve timecards prior to payroll being run it can be a little intimidating to submit a timecard that doesn’t represent a full-week of work although you entered or approved the correct hours. Speed and processing of the system lags, so can cause frustration. More automation around requests and approvals would be beneficial to high volume managers. Having to manually approve each request or change can be very time consuming for leaders who must log into the system to do so. Automation around holiday or sick time requests would be nice and would provide some relief to teams. Additionally, creating features to approve such requests visa email link or similar would save the time of having to log into the application.,7,Organizationally, the analytics have contributed significantly to staffing and labor forecasting. As a healthcare organization there are seasons across different specialties, and being able to review productivity hours to align staffing needs has been a cost saver. Given the ownership by team members of managing their timecards, it has been a huge time saver for managers. Leaders can focus on tasks at hand, and do not need to spend countless evening or weekend hours auditing their employee timecards.,Ceridian Dayforce, Oracle PeopleSoft HCM, PeopleSoft Financials, PeopleSoft eProcurement and Concur Expense,Oracle PeopleSoft HCM, PeopleSoft eProcurement, PeopleSoft Financials, SkillSurvey Pre-Hire 360, Kronos Workforce Central, Ceridian Dayforce, Concur ExpenseKronosWe use Kronos as a way of clocking in and out, so basically recording the amount of time we are in work. This is how we get our hours verified to be able to get paid.,Allows multiple edits Very simple User-friendly,I think they are doing extremely well!,9,We are more productive because Kronos is not time consuming. Our timecards are more accurate. Shows how much PTO we have left,Kronos is not all that it promises to beKronos WFC is being used across the whole organization from recruiting to HR to timekeeping to payroll. It replaced our legacy systems that were separate programs for each function.,Rolling the timekeeping into the payroll system is much easier than with our previous system. Kronos is extremely robust and has many features that we have not begin to use.,Kronos can take a simple task and make it overly complicated. This is the problem when the program is so incredibly robust. All of the tax withholding and filing was handled autonomously by our previous payroll company. We had little knowledge of what they were doing. With Kronos, we are required to provide filing schedules, specific EIN for each locality, etc. This is something we would have preferred not to concern ourselves with and was much easier on us when the previous company was handling. Kronos seems to be geared toward large organizations with a payroll department, accounting department, HR department, etc. Our company is small and has only one employee in each of those roles. As such, Kronos can be a real burden on that one employee to do a lot of work that should be handled by a team of people, especially in the implementation phase.,1,Kronos is much more expensive than the previous systems we were using, so at this point the ROI is negative. The idea is that it will allow us to scale and grow the company more easily so time will tell if that is the case.,,QuickBooks Premier
Windows, Linux, Mac
Kronos Workforce Central
74 Ratings
Score 6.7 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Kronos Workforce Central Reviews

Kronos Workforce Central
74 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 6.7 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 74 vetted Kronos Workforce Central reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-20 of 20)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
December 09, 2018

Kronos Workforce Central Review: "Kronos - Could Be Better. Could Be Worse."

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kronos Workforce Central is our time keeping system across our organization. All hourly associates use it to punch in and out daily. Managers use it for managing labor and ensuring that employees are logging their time accurately. HR and accounting staff use it regularly for reporting purposes and various metrics needed to manage our business. We also use it to ensure that all employees' vacation and PTO are accurately accruing and processing.
  • Reporting - reports run quickly once scheduled
  • Time editing - it is quite simple to edit someone's time when necessary
  • Accruals - Kronos correctly calculates our employees' vacation and PTO accruals 99% of the time
  • Reporting - some of the reports' names do not coincide with the data that is pulled from the system
  • System errors - the system crashes regularly on us with no real explanation why
  • Punch accuracy - sometimes the punches from the timeclocks do not feed into the system
Kronos Workforce Central is well-suited for large organizations seeking a simplified time-recording system or are trying to get away from manual timesheets being submitted. Larger organizations would see a greater return on investment while using this system. It is less appropriate for smaller organizations with fewer employees, as the cost of the system likely would be greater than the investment of the system.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 13, 2018

Kronos Workforce Central Review: "Kronos provides timekeeping and forecasting capabilites"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kronos is used first to manage timekeeping for hourly employees and time off for salary exempt employees. All employees in the company use Kronos. Kronos also maintains individual employees' time off buckets. Finally, some of our largest orgs use the workforce management / scheduling features in Kronos to help plan to meet business needs.
  • I personally feel like timekeeping is very well thought out and has some powerful tools built in. There is a bit of a learning curve but with strategically placed SMEs we were able to get the use and functionality we needed out of the system.
  • Workforce planning has been crucial in planning operational support in our retail and customer service centers. It is also editable and modifiable as needed.
  • While it is a pro that the system allows us to do all we need on the timekeeping front, the con is that it requires SMEs to ensure our workforce knows how to do it effectively.
  • The requesting of time off through the calendar/schedule could use some work. It's not intuitive for most of our workforce (regardless if they are retail associates or software engineers) and we frequently run into issues. Our SMEs and guides are able to sort out most issues.
  • I am not a fan of Kronos using FLASH and I find the system to be slow.
We use Kronos Workforce Central only for it's timekeeping and scheduling/forecasting capabilities. It absolutely meets our needs for these areas. The reporting functionality also serves us well; exporting reports in excel covers the needs for most teams that use the system. Finally, business leaders and local HR crews are able to run reports on the teams they support.
Read this authenticated review
John Pavarini profile photo
March 14, 2018

Kronos Workforce Central Review: "Solid Tool for Large Organization"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kronos is utilized by the entire organization for timekeeping and time off requests of all employees. This includes all clinical and non-clinical staff whether they are exempt or non-exempt status. As a 24/7/365 operation timekeeping, incentives, and differentials are imperative to capture both legally, but also for our own analytical purpose. Kronos has allowed for the organization to monitor schedule, float hours, and effectively track hours and location of hours by each individual employee.
  • As a full service hospital there can be demands of staff to respond to high census or staffing shortages. Kronos has offered great utilization in floating hours between units and departments, identifying direct or indirect patient care hours, and ultimately offering analytics to clinical and operational leaders. This ability to specifically move hours while at work is exceptional for reporting and planning purposes across the organization.
  • The self-managed and leader managed options of an employee’s time card is of huge benefit. As a 24/7 hour operation it is critical that each individual is accountable for their own timekeeping. Kronos allows each employee to manage and submit adjustment, updates, and changes while at work without having to have their manager do it for them. The proceeding approval/acceptance process with these changes is well established and easy to authenticate.
  • The ability to access and navigate the user interface is very friendly and forgiving. Other systems can be quite cumbersome and hard to navigate, update, and easily change, but Kronos is pretty straight forward both for users and administrators. This ability to easily orient new team members and managers has been a great benefit to the organization.
  • Without proper implementation and guidelines around accountability Kronos can become a burden just like any other misused system. With that said, there are managers who manage near 50 people in our organization and if employees don’t manage/update their time cards a manager will be overwhelmed to keep it accurate for them. When it comes to floating hours and tying it to new locations or cost centers via pay codes it can be a challenge to correct mismanaged time cards.
  • One complaint is that that timecards don’t always update in live time when approving or adjusting hours or time off. When in a crunch to approve timecards prior to payroll being run it can be a little intimidating to submit a timecard that doesn’t represent a full-week of work although you entered or approved the correct hours. Speed and processing of the system lags, so can cause frustration.
  • More automation around requests and approvals would be beneficial to high volume managers. Having to manually approve each request or change can be very time consuming for leaders who must log into the system to do so. Automation around holiday or sick time requests would be nice and would provide some relief to teams. Additionally, creating features to approve such requests visa email link or similar would save the time of having to log into the application.
As someone managing staff I am extremely happy with Kronos as the primary timekeeping system for my organization. As an employee myself, I too utilize Kronos for vacation requests, and this is painless and easy for both myself and my own manager to approve paid leave. As a clinical entity, there is a huge variation in schedules among teams, and Kronos has the ability to capture and accommodate all of them. The numerous pay codes that can be set up and easily selected is wonderful for our financial leaders to review productivity, overtime, and patient/non-patient time on clinical units. As with many of the tools I use, Kronos would be overkill for even a small organization that can easily bill or manually track hours.
Read John Pavarini's full review
Betsy Scruggs profile photo
April 10, 2018

Kronos Workforce Central Review: "Kronos"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Kronos as a way of clocking in and out, so basically recording the amount of time we are in work. This is how we get our hours verified to be able to get paid.
  • Allows multiple edits
  • Very simple
  • User-friendly
  • I think they are doing extremely well!
I think Kronos is great for any type of company looking to record their employees time! It’s a fast and easy way for each employee to log in and enter their time. Someone who is a supervisor goes in and approves everyone’s time card and that is how we get paid!
Read Betsy Scruggs's full review
No photo available
March 30, 2018

Kronos Workforce Central Review: "Kronos is not all that it promises to be"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kronos WFC is being used across the whole organization from recruiting to HR to timekeeping to payroll.

It replaced our legacy systems that were separate programs for each function.
  • Rolling the timekeeping into the payroll system is much easier than with our previous system.
  • Kronos is extremely robust and has many features that we have not begin to use.
  • Kronos can take a simple task and make it overly complicated. This is the problem when the program is so incredibly robust.
  • All of the tax withholding and filing was handled autonomously by our previous payroll company. We had little knowledge of what they were doing. With Kronos, we are required to provide filing schedules, specific EIN for each locality, etc. This is something we would have preferred not to concern ourselves with and was much easier on us when the previous company was handling.
  • Kronos seems to be geared toward large organizations with a payroll department, accounting department, HR department, etc. Our company is small and has only one employee in each of those roles. As such, Kronos can be a real burden on that one employee to do a lot of work that should be handled by a team of people, especially in the implementation phase.
Kronos seems to be well suited to a large company with large administrative staff. For a smaller company, you are better off getting a payroll company that handles things instead of being expected to maintain certain systems yourself.
Read this authenticated review
Elaine Foster profile photo
July 19, 2017

User Review: "Kronos Workforce Central Usage"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kronos Workforce Central is used for employee scheduling across the whole organization. It is easily accessible online from any device and allows employees to see the most up-to-date information about their schedules, rather than just having a paper schedule in the office.
  • Accessible online and through a mobile app outside of work
  • Utilizes the same login system as the rest of our software so we don't have to remember multiple passwords
  • Simple user interface
  • The user interface is simple but it's outdated and doesn't run very smoothly. Sometimes it takes multiple clicks to get the page to change and the password often has to be entered twice.
  • Once you have logged in to the Kronos app for the first time, it stays calibrated to your employer, but the setup requires a set of codes and other info to log in for the first time.
Kronos is great if you have many employees on shift schedules with varying availability. It allows employers to schedule employees based on their availability and to have the schedules up to date within the app or online platform so that employees can check their schedules at their leisure.
Read Elaine Foster's full review
Juan Osegueda profile photo
July 27, 2016

Review: "Kronos Workforce Central... First time user, and I'm Impressed!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kronos Workforce Central is used by each one of the properties that we manage. We are in the hospitality industry, and our hotels use this software every day to record, approve, and report time. Kronos is a trusted provider of timekeeping software and solutions that has only gotten stronger with time. What I like about the suite is that it comes in desktop and mobile versions. The desktop is all-intuitive giving each user the ability to navigate across workspaces, or tab groups that allow them to access different segments of the software. For instance, the My Information tab is the one-stop dashboard that all employees can access to view their swipe entries, requesting time off, and view their pending request. At the management level, other tabs for Payroll and Timeclock Setup can be accessed, and each tab gives the user a good set of tools to aid in decision making.
  • Easy to use and navigate
  • Web-based, can be accessed anywhere, anytime
  • Quick Links makes it easy to find frequently-used options
  • Extensive range of setup tools to customize user experience
  • Training required to use the product effectively, not simple at first
  • Dependent on Java, frequent updates to Java necessary to continue using the Kronos platform
  • Reporting tools are extensive and solid, though some reports can only be extracted in PDF, not in the more usable Excel format. How Kronos determines which can be extracted in Excel vs. PDF, I can't tell.
Kronos is great for recording time and for reporting, when used effectively. What I like about Kronos is that their Customer Support team is always very knowledgeable and helpful in a bind. Which means that when I don't necessarily know where to access a particular set of tools, I can call a Solutions rep and they know exactly where to point me to achieve the results that I need. Like most software, it is not recommended for very basic users; users should be comfortable accessing a computer or smart phone to use the suite. Kronos is well suited for those businesses have hourly employees that are required to swipe in and out to record their time. Swiping in can be done at a physical kiosk/timeclock, or from a computer. If a location is equipped with a physical kiosk/timeclock, a good support technician that knows how to resolve random errors should be present to assist when needed.
Read Juan Osegueda's full review
Spencer Hamons, MSOL, CHCIO profile photo
June 03, 2015

Review: "Kronos Workforce Central - Works even in the Bush of Alaska"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workforce Central was used throughout our organization, which encompassed our main hospital in Bethel, Alaska as well as 50 village clinics that were spread-out across the "bush" of western Alaska. The business problem that Workforce Central addressed was the HR / Payroll and Time & Attendance management of our employees, regardless of the location of the staff. Considering that we had no road connecting our main hospital in Bethel to our village clinics, the accurate management of these functions with an electronic system was imperative for accurate and timely payroll.
  • Time and Attendance integration is exceptional, whether using time clocks on online clocking capabilities at off-site locations that lack physical time clocks
  • The ability to track details from an HR perspective, such as educational requirements (and expirations), immunization status, etc was well built
  • Security is very granular, so you can give certain users access to certain pieces of the application, while maintaining security in other areas.
  • Administration of the system is complex. There is no way that an organization with no formal IT department will be able to effectively able to manage the complexity of the system without some outside assistance. This wasn't a problem for our organization as we had a large, formal IT department, but we had four people involved in the build process and one person dedicating approximately 30% of their time to the day-to-day management of the system.
  • The server requirements are extremely robust for the system, utilizing more resources than I really think should be required. Although the system does support virtualization, you have to dedicate a significant amount of CPU and memory to each virtual machine to obtain peak performance.
  • Although you can import data from an extract, this is complex to do. Even if you have someone who is a SQL (this is the version we used) expert, developing importation scripts is difficult. Most likely, if you are doing a switch from a previous system, you will need third party assistance to develop the import / validation scripts.
I would not suggest Workforce Central for small organizations with fairly simply pay rules. The system is so complex that you will be purchasing capabilities that you will likely never use. However, if you are a large, complex organization with complex pay rules (such as a union shop) and difficult tracking requirements, then I would highly suggest looking into the system. Because the system supports virtualization and use of SQL versus more expensive Oracle, mid-sized organizations may find Workforce Central very appealing.
Read Spencer Hamons, MSOL, CHCIO's full review
Scott Richardson profile photo
April 16, 2015

Kronos Workforce Central: "WFC Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kronos WFC Suite is our core timekeeping application that is being used by over 10,000 employees, in addition we use the Kronos WFC Suite for HR and it serves as our system of record for all employee data.
  • WFC helps to provide a single point of view into your timekeeping and employee data and information for management.
  • We have found the WFC in the timekeeping arena helps managers make superior staffing decisions based on the use of Hyperfinds queries in conjunction with excellent reporting capabilities.
  • Our employees find the intuitive and informative user interface very easy to navigate.
  • Simple guided " in product" how to's -- hover over help with more of a " Would you like to see more ... " style of help
  • How about large " Task buttons" that walk through steps ....
  • More concise UI
Over all - integration of TML and HR/PR Product with Good Scheduling and reporting from the analytics
Read Scott Richardson's full review
Melody Dickes profile photo
March 13, 2015

Kronos Workforce Central Review: "Why choose Kronos"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using workforce central to replace the use of papertime cards. It is being used by all departments with hourly employees and we are in the process of implementing our salary employees for the use of accruals. We feel that this is a more reliable way to keep track of peoples hours, sick and vacation time. With the use of biometrics this will allow us to know that people are not clocking other employees in.
  • This product allows for keeping track of time and attendance a lot better than papertime cards. We have found that being able to setup rules for lunches and breaks will keep people from abusing these privileges. The ability to request time off and get manager approval allows for accurate times taken from employees.
  • I think that the supersearch feature when trying to troubleshoot something can be a bit frustrating to get what you are looking for. Once you do find the information it is very helpful but can be very hard to get the right wording for what you are looking for.
I think the ability to setup rules and such for lunches and breaks is a great tool to keep employees from abusing these. The use of accruals is great to keep better track of sick and vacation time. We have found less errors in paychecks by going to this software.
Read Melody Dickes's full review
Chris Page, RN profile photo
December 09, 2014

User Review: "Kronos Workforce Central"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Workforce Insight (WFI) is one of the largest Workforce Management partners of Kronos. WFI's business offerings cover a wide range of professional services for the Kronos Workforce Central suite in multiple workforce management domains. Services cover everything from Implementation, Technical & Architectural Components, Strategic Alignment to Optimization of WFC. Clients range from single facility to multi state and international corporations ranging from 500-1.5 million employees.

  • Fully integrated suite - Timekeeping, Scheduling, Staffing, and Business Analytics.
  • Meeting the need through technology - Workforce Mobile.
  • User Friendly.
  • Java Is- Soon to be addressed in upcoming releases - Moving away from a Java based platform
  • Predictive Demand - Health Trending Need yet to be met by Kronos
Strongly recommend understanding your current state, future state business requirements, industry best practices, and the ability to optimize the application prior to implementing the product. Such strategic work has proven to be both very beneficial with all parties but also reduced the 'second guessing' during implementation when deadlines and targets are needing to be met.
Read Chris Page, RN's full review
Dan Hill profile photo
February 04, 2014

Kronos Workforce Central Review: "Kronos Oversees Your Staff for Improved Efficiency"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PeopleSoft is our database of record. Records for hourly (and a small group of salaried) employees are exported from PeopleSoft and imported into Kronos via a Data Integration Interface. Employee data and schedules are pushed out to the timeclocks. The clocks scan fingerprints to verify that the correct employee is using the device. Kronos then records the employees' punches and reports schedule deviations to the appropriate supervisor. The Payroll Department extracts time and attendance files to upload into PeopleSoft for payroll processing.
  • Prevents others from punching an employee IN/OUT by requiring biometric validation
  • Alerts the supervisor of schedule variances and discourages employees from taking long lunches and stealing time by punching in early or out late.
  • Maintains detailed records of who, when and where a punch was created.
  • Reduces errors for Payroll by requiring supervisor review of timecards prior to extractions.
  • Access to timeclocks through Device Manager, web browser and GuiSim provide a variety of tools for resolving issues as they arise.
  • Pay codes are provided to supervisors for their use, but, restrictions do not exist that prevent the application to inappropriate groups.
  • Timeclock devices and annual maintenance fees are expensive.
  • Timeclock devices do have limitations to firmware updates based upon motherboard version. This can have an effect on functionality. Depot Exchange for problem devices does not upgrade the board.
  • Detergents/cleansers do erode some employees' fingerprints.
Biometric verification and supervisor access to prevent overtime has helped to pay for this application. The new healthcare requirements are prompting us to consider bringing more staff into the program.

Maintenance fees, Manager's licenses and device costs are expensive. Devices are proprietary.
Read Dan Hill's full review
Raul Rodriguez profile photo
January 31, 2014

Kronos Workforce Central Review: "The Backbone of Hourly HR Payroll"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My former employer had Kronos devices deployed for hourly employees to clock in/out of their shifts. The product was used by managers of those employees across the organization to review and approve time entered by the employees. The HR team and my former team would ensure that the data entered was pulled from Kronos and loaded to Oracle for our Payroll process. This provided accurate time recording for our hourly employees and saved the company money resolving disputes on time entered.
  • Kronos is the market leader when it comes to timekeeping and the devices used to support it. There is a reason for that: They work as designed, and they work well.
  • Once configured properly, the stability of a WFC server is admirable, considering that the majority of deployments are on Windows Server
  • The layout of WFC is very well thought out. It is easy for non-technical personnel to navigate with minor training
  • Product Support can be difficult from a back end perspective. Questions regarding database and network infrastructure (network load balancers/VIPs) can drag as it is hard to get their L2 Support team to engage them
  • Although this is true of any application that requires a JRE installed to use from the desktop, Kronos is very sensitive to what version of Java you use. Be warned: delay or cancel any updates until they have been vetted on Kronos
  • The Kronos devices are great. However, the Workforce Device Manager module is not as hardy and foolproof as the clocks. Good idea, but still needs work.

1)Excellent for timekeeping, especially when used in conjunction with their devices

2)People who need data from Timekeeping will have a field day. There are many reports to choose from, and they are very customizable.

3) This is not for small businesses. I'd say with the server/hardware/support personnel required this is for at least a medium-sized business with over 200 employees (with the majority being hourly)

Read Raul Rodriguez's full review
James Hunt profile photo
January 27, 2014

Kronos Workforce Central Review: "WFC is a terrific tool for managing your workforce!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
WFC was used as a timekeeping software for their main workforce. It was used to manage unexcused and excused time off, lunches, break, lateness and early departures. It also used aggregate time to calculate accumulated paid time off.
  • WFC aggregates the entire timekeeping and management in one system.
  • The software makes scheduling very easy according to staffing and workforce needs, and will do some of the work for you.
  • Edits are incredibly easy to make.
  • There are some areas and situations where management and technical staff are locked out of editing or correcting an error, and this should be addressed.
  • The ability to view workforce by department and by department needs can be useful for more thorough scheduling.
  • Designations for FT and PT workstaff and those with specific scheduling restrictions should be more pronounced.
I think it is more suited to a larger company with many departments rather than a smaller company with fewer scheduling needs. The capabilities of the software are much more complex than a smaller company would need, but should that company grow, a relationship should be maintained for possible future utilization.
Read James Hunt's full review
Jeremy Vivace profile photo
January 25, 2014

Kronos Workforce Central Review: "Workforce Central - Its Time to Consider It"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
KRONOS Workforce Central is being used across the whole organization as its primary timekeeping tool. This tool helps address accurate time keeping of the workforce along with PTO management.
  • Timekeeping including clock punching, web punching, and cell app punching
  • PTO management -- submission, review, auto deduction
  • Pay rules - ability to designate rules based on groups, individuals, and more
  • As a web-based solution, Workforce Payroll requires internet connectivity for data access – offline capabilities are not available.
  • Being Microsoft-based, browser support is limited to Internet Explorer.
  • Kronos’ international presence will always be restricted as long as Workforce Payroll (and HR) is only available in the English language.
Expectations and requirements need set to make sure it is right or right sized for the company in question. The product can be overwhelming if you do not approach it properly
Read Jeremy Vivace's full review
Brooke A. Holt profile photo
January 21, 2014

Kronos Workforce Central Review: "Kronos Smonos!"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workforce central is being used by the entire HR department for time/scheduling management and payroll. It helps to eliminate any discrepancies between employee and manager regarding time or scheduling.
  • Kronos is user friendly. you dont have to have studied rocket science to get it.
  • Kronos accuracy is impeaccable. When clocking in and or out accuracy can be the difference between a few cents to a dollar. :)
  • Kronos would oftentime not detect a punch in or punch out. This became extremely frustrating as that would result in extra paperwork on the employee's part.
  • Kronos would time out within 2 minutes or in the midst of a punch in/out.
Read Brooke A. Holt's full review
No photo available
September 19, 2016

Kronos Workforce Central Review: "Timekeeping Excellence"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kronos is currently being used across the University of Maryland Medical System. We're using it to address time and attendance (using the Kronos time clock), timestamp (using our intranet), basic scheduling, reporting and in 2016 we introduced Attestation Tool Kit to the organization. For those unaware of this module it gives employees the ability to state if they received their full meal break at the time clock or the web.
  • Communication with the Kronos Project Manager - there has never been an occasion when the Project Manager has not made themselves available to get on a call or resolve issues.
  • Managing Resources - On many occasions multiple projects were overlapping one another and the Kronos Team was excellent in organizing their time to meet various due dates.
  • Resolving issue - Being able to resolve application and database concerns are critical when working on a project and on several occasions we've met to define, research and resolve issues.
  • Having a backup when a consultant is on leave has been a concern but the status of the project was never jeopardized.
  • Managing consultant leave schedules should be a priority especially when working on a project during peak leave times. Make and keep track of staff leave time to successfully prioritize project tasks.
  • Trouble shooting the Transaction Assistant error report is challenging. If a "user friendly" error report could be made it will be extremely helpful.
Kronos is well suited for businesses of all sizes. Kronos Global Support has been excellent in troubleshooting issues and concerns. Businesses should thoroughly review their maintenance contract to understand what type of support will be provided and what hours it will be provided.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 12, 2016

Kronos Workforce Central Review: "100+ Employees? KRONOS is a No Brainer!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I worked for a healthcare company with a little over 200 employees. My primary use was in HR as well as time management. It helped me to track employees time and attendance, track trends and employee disciplinary problems with time and attendance and to track expected overtime.
  • It gave me real time reporting so that I could see if we were on track to have excessive overtime usage so that we could call in other employees to utilize instead of paying out overtime pay
  • KRONOS made it easy to track trends for employees who abused our call off procedures. We would take historical reports to see if someone had a habit of calling off every other Friday, or the day after payday and so forth.
  • KRONOS allowed us to track people clocking in or out too soon or clocking in late or staying over in the break areas on the clock to gain extra non-approved work time.
  • Now that I work at a smaller company I do not see having such an elaborate system for time keeping, but with a group at 100 plus, it has great function in the day to day operations.
  • I really do not have much to complain about the usefulness of KRONOS
Best suited for 100 employees or more. I didn't see the cost benefit of using it for 40 employees at my current workplace.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 17, 2016

Kronos Workforce Central Review: "Robust employee time management tool."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Workforce Central as a Manager in a retail environment where we managed over 200 employees scheduling and time off requests. At a glance, we were able to keep track of their attendance, see how much time they have logged for a certain period, approve time off requests and more. It was easy to collaborate with the other managers and was a smooth learning curve.
  • Reporting. Employees want to know how much time they have, maybe it is to qualifying Family Leave or to see how much time they have accrued towards vacation.
  • Collaboration. With a large retail environment, you need a simple way for multiple managers to keep track of all employees.
  • Employee Request approvals. It could be done very simply and with either searching their name or employee number.
  • User Interface: It could be a bit more update for modern UI. It feels like an old database, and although it is easy to learn, it would be less intimidating if it looked and felt more up to date.
  • Searching for multiple dates for a specific employee would be cumbersome and we would have to write down parts, versus adding them on the fly.
Well suited for managing large employee pools. Simple to keep track and manage lots of employees.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 24, 2014

Review: "Kronos Workforce Central at a large research University"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kronos
Workforce Central is used across the University and is the timekeeping system
of record for all hourly employees. Workforce Central was selected to replace a
legacy, in-house developed system that was nearing end of life. The Kronos Workforce Central solution provided additional
functionality, while also allowing the University to apply a consistent application
of rules for rounding, leave tracking, and compensatory time tracking.
  • Workforce Central offers an array of time collection options, including physical time clock, web time clock, mobile, and a pay from schedule option. Departments have the flexibility of choosing the time collection option that meets their need.
  • Workforce Central time cards have an impressive audit trail and reporting capability, allowing supervisors to determine how an employee's punch was added to their time card.
  • Kronos is enhancing the mobile capabilities withing Workforce Central, allowing additional flexibility to those departments and employees that need this option.
  • Workforce Central supervisors interact with the system using a web browser. Advanced time card options require the client PC to use the Java Runtime Environment (Java). Kronos has struggled over the years to keep up with the Java updates and at times, this has been a source of frustration for our campus supervisors. Java related issues include very slow system response times and in some instances, a failure to access the system completely. In fairness, many vendors have also struggled with Java updates. Preferably, vendors would move away from the Java requirement.
  • On a University campus, student employees often have multiple jobs. These part-time jobs are in various departments with different funding sources and supervisors. The Workforce Central product historically did not work well for employees with multiple jobs. Kronos has begun to offer new software enhancements that are designed to address this issue, but the updates are an additional cost and not included in the base Workforce Central product.
  • While the Workforce Central solution contains many standard reports, adding custom reports is not easy and requires billable support from Kronos.
It is important to understand your workforce and the needs of the employee and department supervisor. Workforce Central is a very good product, but understanding how it will be used in your environment is key. Workforce Central works very well in auxiliary units that use time clocks but is less effective in academic units with student employees that work multiple jobs.
Read this authenticated review

About Kronos Workforce Central

Kronos Workforce Central is a full workforce management suite of solutions for scheduling, absence management and timekeeping with powerful reporting and analytics functionality. The vendor says Workforce Central can be optimized to an organization's particular industry, and can scale globally. It can be implemented in the cloud or on premise. Workforce Central is designed to help users automate, optimize, and simplify the management of their organization’s workforce. According to the vendor, the solution enables organizations to reduce labor costs, improve productivity, minimize compliance risk and improve employee engagement.

Robust reporting and analytics provide visibility into real-time and accurate data, via alerts and dashboards, which aim to help make informed decisions. Self-service capabilities allow access at any time from PC or via the mobile app.

Kronos Workforce Central Features

Has featureCore HR
Has featureScheduling
Has featureAbsence management
Has featureTime and Attendance
Has featurePayroll
Has featureAnalytics

Kronos Workforce Central Screenshots

Kronos Workforce Central Integrations

Payroll, HR, CRM, POS, ERP, General Ledger

Kronos Workforce Central Competitors

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Required

Contact sales for pricing information at 1 (800)-225-1561.

Kronos Workforce Central Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Kronos Workforce Central Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:US, Canada, Mexico, Europe, Middle East/Africa, Asia/Pacific
Supported Languages: US English, French Canadian, French-France, Italian, Korean, Polish, Spanish-Mexico, Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese, German, Dutch, Brazilian, Portuguese, Japanese