Workplace by Facebook Reviews

269 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 47)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Rahul Kumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 22, 2020

The best tool for Internal Communications in organisations

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The best thing is we do not have to send or accept request to connect with others.
  • It's UI is very similar to regular facebook to looks familiar.
  • My focus is on privacy. Sharing confidential documents on this platform is a little bit doubtful.
  • Its timeline is not so much useful as it also inclines to waste time by generating spam content.
Read Rahul Kumar's full review
Adriana Paez | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2019

Workplace by Facebook is great if you like regular Facebook

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It is user-friendly, as most individuals are familiar with Facebook. The look and feel are the same.
  • It reduces the number of emails, as people can choose to post communications instead of maintaining a distribution list.
  • It fosters participation and collaboration.
  • It is not a project collaboration tool. I understand that this is not the main intent, but it should offer better project-related collaboration features since it is a professional version.
  • In light of the latest news, I find it hard to trust Facebook with internal proprietary communication.
Read Adriana Paez's full review
Lokesh Meena | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 09, 2019

Workplace by Facebook is a new real online workplace

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Its layout is very similar to regular Facebook, so it looks familiar and easy to use. Members do not need to be trained to use it for the first time or later on.
  • We can create different groups for different departments or different projects according to our needs, and share required content over that group only; it's a helpful way to discussions, collaboration, etc.
  • Its pricing is suitable for a small or large organization.
  • It has nice mobile apps, which helps us to keep connected with the organization and project while we are away.
  • The chat feature is inbuilt in Workplace by Facebook, so we don't have to use other apps for that purpose.
  • If they could add some more features to track project statuses or task updates, it could be a great help for most of its users.
  • There could be some way to save us from managing two Facebook accounts, i.e. personal and workplace. Maybe one common portal for both.
  • Sometimes Workplace by Facebook distracts our focus, as its main wall shows endless content shared by other mates, which helps to disturb focus from the work.
Read Lokesh Meena's full review
David Faustina | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 09, 2019

Workplace leads the pack

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It provides a user interface that is familiar and proven to assist in engaging people to use the platform. The layout is clean and minimal and pleasing and that helps staff become comfortable with interacting with one another.
  • Group insights are a fantastic feature that allows you to see how a certain topic, discussion or file is performing with the staff or audience. If you are seeking feedback on a particular memo, for instance, the insights will catalog who has viewed, how many comments, questions or interactions, etc. It helps to see in real-time, the things staff or clients are excited about and then the items where no one comments.
  • Cataloging of historical information is a real benefit. The dashboard has a notes section where I will keep a lot of private and or personal reflections that I can reference at a later time. I may jot a few notes about a project so I can recall them at a later point. Many programs do this, but again, this is all within the same house and for time and memory sake, this really works well.
  • Segmenting is very easy to do. We have set up Groups for various projects, teams, clients or cohorts. You can segment as much as you want and one person may be in more than one group but maybe not all groups. Basic segmenting that works well. Notifications are sent when new posts or news is released.
  • The platform is not the same portal as Facebook so there is no chance that posts get put on the wrong timeline. With this said, what I like most is the ease of onboarding and no one has had any trouble getting up and going on Workplace. It is like Facebook, easy and something most if not all will have familiarity in navigation.
  • It would be helpful if a review confirmation checkbox was able to be placed by files that needed to be read or reviewed. Along the same line, approve, review again, etc. would be helpful checkboxes to add by files, proposals.
  • The layout is clean but suffers a bit from the center column width with two sidebars and a lot of empty space. It almost looks like a going out of business sale retail store where you notice the empty shelves. Workplace feels a bit bare at times. I think some good design modifications can help. Now on mobile, it is a great layout. I am addressing specifically the desktop browser login.
  • An admin control dashboard would be really effective and even more so with more users on the platform.
Read David Faustina's full review
Katelyn Rylee | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 08, 2019

Great Place for Big Companies

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It provides a place where you can interact with your fellow coworkers.
  • It helps get questions answered fast and it may be helpful to others as well to see your questions and answers.
  • It provides a place where I can always be updated about whats going on in my business, new items that my company releases, and videos or documents on people explaining how to use the new items.
  • It is difficult to get the hang of at first because there is so many different components to it. Recently, I realized that I can even see my organization chart of everyones ranks in the company! I just realized this a year later so, it can be overwhelming at times.
  • With there being so many different components to it, I sometimes can't find my notifications and who is responding to what post that I posted.
  • I'm not a fan that there can be so many different groups within the Workplace by Facebook app because its already a whole different program than Facebook. Then you add groups into that and I feel like it just leaves room for a lot of confusion.
Read Katelyn Rylee's full review
Sonia S. Babani | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2019

Highly recommend workplace by Facebook for large hierarchal corporations

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It provides the ability to instantly post something the same way you would on personal Facebook accounts to let the company know of a success story, announcement, or praise for another employee.
  • The ability to stay logged into your personal account and access your company login through the same portal. This has drastically increased adoption versus any other internal social media channel that we have tested in the past.
  • The ability for others, even those you don’t work with, to comment and share posts that team members have shared. This allows for digital virality within the company, which helps foster a healthy corporate culture digitally.
  • Since most people use Facebook for their own personal social networking, the ease of figuring out Facebook for work is exceptional and get more people to adopt the platform and use it on a daily basis.
  • So far, it has addressed every need that we have had as a company. If anything, our company can work on adopting the platform even more, especially with ground staff that have wins and learnings onboard aircraft and at the airport. Being on the corporate side of the business, I would love to see some way to encourage these types of employees to post and share more.
  • I would also like to see if there is a way to have an element of paid social on the internal side so that more important announcements and press releases can be shared and can show further up on every employee's feed when they log in.
Read Sonia S. Babani's full review
Chandan Vishwakarma | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 01, 2019

A Perfect digital Place to Collaborate!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • No need to Send a Friend request and wait for acceptance to start Communicating. Everyone in the organization is already connected to you.
  • You can understand the hierarchy more easily, Communicate the Cases directly to the concerned person/team, Post an experience across the platform for everyone.
  • This Has the capability of removing the legacy Internal chat application and use Workplace Instead.
  • Adapting to this software does not take a moment if you have ever used the Facebook. Everything is exactly same except you don't have to send the friend request.
  • If Workplace by Facebook can adapt to Screen Sharing and other Content Communication which is highly required across the Industry, it will be a total game changer.
  • Strictness to more user data on the profile page will bring more transparency within the organization. Like Basic User Photo, Designation, Location. etc
  • Having Badges/Levels for the Users based on their contribution across the organization and teams can make the Workplace more interesting and quick adapting.
Read Chandan Vishwakarma's full review
Gabriela Band | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2019

More collaborative work

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Instant social feel: very easy to use.
  • Works on any device. Designed for mobiles and on the go workers.
  • The Groups feature is very well designed and very useful.
  • Very easy to get distracted. There is a risk to scroll endlessly without any use.
  • Notifications can be annoying and not customizable enough.
  • Very hard to track project updates on the platform and focus on one single issue.
Read Gabriela Band's full review
João Almeida | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 07, 2019

The Workplace tool for more collaboration at your work.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • A very quick platform for sharing insights and following any on going discussion.
  • Chat feature and mobile device support.
  • Inform other people about relevant events.
  • The groups are not well organized IMHO.
  • It would be great to have Workplace by Facebook as a part of my personal Facebook social network account.
  • Not possible to control what information you want to see in groups, as the quantity of information can become quickly overwhelming.
Read João Almeida's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 20, 2019

An intuitive tool that is easy to roll out and solves a lot of communication challenges.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Minimal learning curve - besides being generally intuitive, the functions and interface are familiar to anyone who uses Facebook.
  • Balanced notifications - many competing tools have notifications that are either too intrusive and frequent or not helpful enough, while Workplace is a good middle ground.
  • Flexible - polls and comments have a variety of business uses that make it a much more robust communication tool compared to strictly chat-based options.
  • Limited project management options - no good way to track tasks or projects, so other tools are needed.
  • Easy to dismiss for people who don't see the value - the Facebook-like nature of the tool can be a liability when it comes to wanting management to take it seriously.
  • Chat interface has downsides - the standalone chat applications can be a bit buggy, and the chat interface within the web view is not ideal.
  • No intuitive way to message a group - chat options like Slack are better at easily messaging a group or department, where in Workplace you have to be a member of a group to start a conversation.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 08, 2019

A Quality Communication Platform for Your Company

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • One point of connection for all communication needs.
  • The layout is very similar to Facebook, so it has very little learning curve.
  • The mobile app is well made and easy to use, so we're not tied to just our laptops for communication.
  • Perhaps because it is a new offering, some of the features are a little buggy at times.
  • Currently, you cannot share your screen in a group call.
  • You can't add people outside your organization to video calls on Workplace Chat.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 04, 2019

A nice integrated package with social media functions

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It has a relatively easy to use interface and makes meeting management tasks less stressful.
  • The software can also help streamline general employee interactions, meetings, and communications in one environment.
  • The newsfeed can become too cluttered if highly utilized.
  • Depending on one's hardware specs, the video conferencing tools can be limited. However, that is the same with similar products.
  • Some of its features may lack data privacy transparency rights.
  • Some of the functions are not as streamlined resulting in more tedious interactions with the program.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2019

Hmmmmm.

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • A way to communicate with a team.
  • Commenting on visuals.
  • Private channels.
  • Privacy issues.
  • We weren’t ready to pay for the additional features of a brand new tool.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2019

Workplace Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It is being used to obtain feedback by running polls.
  • Single sign-on feature.
  • Messaging and calling.
  • Live video streaming.
  • Unlimited storage for photos and videos.
  • Security.
  • Not good as project management tool, difficult to measure individual tasks.
  • Unable to remove employees, always need to connect to the customer service center.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2019

Increasing collaboration with a fun and interactive UX design

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Single source of truth
  • Document Management
  • Knowledge Management
  • Improved communication
  • Improved process efficiency
  • Better project visibility
  • Integration with third parties
  • No public evolution roadmap
  • Small community of developers
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2019

Workplace -- an online meeting place

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Group Chat.
  • Newsfeed -- this is kind of unique for a connectivity tool like this.
  • Video calls through phone make it very convenient.
  • It is not very popular.
  • The pricing is very reasonable, but not many are aware of it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2019

A social approach to work

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Extremely easy to use as-is modeled on Facebook's platform.
  • Works well in any device (mobile and desktop).
  • Very easy to upload media and share it with the teams.
  • It can be used for distraction rather than focus.
  • Hard to keep track on threads.
  • Notifications system needs to be improved.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 15, 2019

Facebook Workplace, Not My Favorite

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Segmented groups for chat.
  • Different permission levels as far as admins or users.
  • There's little or no way to track tasks or manage items.
  • The personal "wall" feature seems very useless.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 08, 2019

Love Workplace!

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Document storage.
  • Notifications and alerts.
  • Single sign-on.
  • Mobile sign-on.
  • Mobile user-experience.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 07, 2019

A new way to collaborate

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Live-streaming and video capabilities.
  • No training at all is needed - friendly interface.
  • Replace all the social tools of our digital workplace like Yammer or Twitter.
  • Targets younger employees like millennials.
  • Our IT teams need to put in extra hours of coding for integrations to go live.
  • Workplace doesn’t support group video chats. It’s a deal-breaker for a platform that claims to make team collaborations efficient.
  • Problems with work-life balance.
Read this authenticated review

About Workplace by Facebook

Workplace by Facebook (formerly Facebook at Work) allows users to interact with co-workers through the Facebook interface.

Workplace by Facebook Integrations

Workplace by Facebook Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No