TrustRadius
Wufoo is a web application for creating online forms. The tool automatically builds the database, backend and scripts needed making it easy to collect and understand data. Wufoo was acquired by SurveyMonkey in 2011.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/e6/rf/87GSFXLLMXNK.PNGWoo Hoo for WufooWe use the forms to easily collect data both internally and externally. Internally, we used the Wufoo forms to collect information to order all employees new business cards. Externally, we use it for people to express an interest in donating their car or donating their stuff. It's used within the development and communications departments. It allows us to be more modern and streamline processes.,Easy to use Affordable Easy to export data Somewhat customizable,Somewhat of a learning curve Not fully customizable, definitely holds your hand a lot Some features are hidden or hard to find Sometimes tricky to export data Doesn't communciate to other softwares,8,Helped us grow our businesses Helped us reach people who didn't want to call, preferred to fill out a form online Provided us with more data to use for future marketing Allowed us to collect customer data to better influence our marketing strategy,SurveyMonkey, Google Forms, WordPress, SurveyGizmo and SurveyLegend,AgoraPulse, Bitly, Evernote,Employee Surveys Customer Surveys Research StudiesWufoo - ease of use makes it easy to recommendOur university utilizes Wufoo across several departments. The program allows us to segment each form by department so that each department has its own separate login, making the information available to each department very specific to said department. We use a TON of different forms for many departments that hold a wide variety of information as well. The forms are kept on Wufoo's servers as well so we can always search through past submissions to analyze any trends we become interested in.,Easy to edit forms - especially for users with no coding experience Keeps information for long periods of time Easy to publish and share with clients/customers,More robust interface for increased functionality A better way to export information and sort before exporting Ability to include calendar interface for scheduling with forms,7,Gives clients quick and easy forms to fill out - increased satisfaction due to ease Our department often has to follow up with clients after submitting their forms We use Wufoo to schedule campus visits - this is where the form is found lacking most of us. We would love for a calendar feature to be able to block out certain dates or redirect before a form is completed.,Google Forms,Adobe Photoshop, GoldMine, Apple iCloud,Customer SurveysWufoo is easy, but not for complex formsWufoo is being used widely in Goliath over multiple departments. We use it in our on-boarding procedures for new colleagues, the manage our production process and to get customer feedback. It is used by our marketing departments worldwide, the IT department and the R&D department. Together we have created over 50 forms.,It's easy to create forms - with drag and drop you can compose a new form within minutes. It's easy to link Wufoo to other services like Google Drive. Almost all of our forms are connected to some other service to store our data.,The number of fields is limited to 150. Some of our forms have a complex build up with different factors that show or don't show fields. Every radio button option is a "field" so this counts up quickly. For new users, all the features of Wufoo are not directly clear. Some features are hidden, like making your own themes and linking the form to 3rd parties. Wufoo can do a better job in their UI to emphasize this.,9,We can gather some information more quickly, which allows us to operate more efficiently. It takes some time to set up complex forms, Wufoo can do a better job for advanced users and thus be a time saver.,Bynder Brand Portal, Dropbox Business, Trello, Slack,Employee Surveys Customer SurveysSolid and reliable productWe use Wufoo for custom forms that collect a wide range of data: Contractor referencesTestimonialsMeetup signup formWe also implement Wufoo forms for clients and for everything from a simple contact form to a detailed intake or job application.,Versatile field types allow the creation of a wide variety of forms. Responsive layout means forms work across devices without us needing to write any code.,Implementing themes (color and layout schemes) is a little bit messy and could use an overhaul.,9,Wufoo has supported our ROI by offering features that would otherwise take a lot of time to code.,Google Forms,Craft, ExpressionEngineWufoo Forms CreatorMy company uses Wufoo to enable electronic on-boarding and time sheet submission for our temporary employees. This process has proven far more efficient and has greatly improved the accuracy of the information received.,The forms are easy to create and easy to use. These factors are a plus because you don't have to be a super savvy tech person to manage the forms and the end user finds them easy to understand and complete.,There are limits to the number of fields one can use in a Wufoo form. This became problematic when we needed to create a complex expense form. Additionally, the form needs to be completed in one session. It isn't possible to start a form, save the information entered to that point and then complete it later.,10,Wufoo has had a positive impact on our business,Cognitoforms,1,1,Electronic on-boarding and time sheet submission,Timesheet submission,Surveys,10,10
Unspecified
Wufoo
90 Ratings
Score 7.9 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Wufoo Reviews

Wufoo
90 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 89 vetted Wufoo reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 44)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Debbie Gillum profile photo
December 01, 2018

User Review: "Woo Hoo for Wufoo"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the forms to easily collect data both internally and externally. Internally, we used the Wufoo forms to collect information to order all employees new business cards. Externally, we use it for people to express an interest in donating their car or donating their stuff. It's used within the development and communications departments. It allows us to be more modern and streamline processes.
  • Easy to use
  • Affordable
  • Easy to export data
  • Somewhat customizable
  • Somewhat of a learning curve
  • Not fully customizable, definitely holds your hand a lot
  • Some features are hidden or hard to find
  • Sometimes tricky to export data
  • Doesn't communciate to other softwares
I think Wufoo is appropriate for small businesses or nonprofits who are budget conscious. I think it's good for beginners or people who want the bare minimum product. It's great for filling out forms and collecting data from customers and employees. I wouldn't want to use it on an industrial or enterprise scale. It's good for teams because multiple people can use and it is fairly user-friendly.
Read Debbie Gillum's full review
Justin Moore profile photo
April 10, 2018

Review: "Wufoo - ease of use makes it easy to recommend"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our university utilizes Wufoo across several departments. The program allows us to segment each form by department so that each department has its own separate login, making the information available to each department very specific to said department. We use a TON of different forms for many departments that hold a wide variety of information as well. The forms are kept on Wufoo's servers as well so we can always search through past submissions to analyze any trends we become interested in.
  • Easy to edit forms - especially for users with no coding experience
  • Keeps information for long periods of time
  • Easy to publish and share with clients/customers
  • More robust interface for increased functionality
  • A better way to export information and sort before exporting
  • Ability to include calendar interface for scheduling with forms
Wufoo works perfectly for anyone needing a very simple form. It is very intuitive for people who have little experience with web design as well. Forms requiring quick and easy answers, especially short forms - Wufoo is perfect. If you are mining for deeper trends from clients or customers, you'll want to look for a form management software that has some higher end details on the reporting side.
Read Justin Moore's full review
Wilbert Kramer profile photo
April 06, 2018

Review: "Wufoo is easy, but not for complex forms"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Wufoo is being used widely in Goliath over multiple departments. We use it in our on-boarding procedures for new colleagues, the manage our production process and to get customer feedback. It is used by our marketing departments worldwide, the IT department and the R&D department. Together we have created over 50 forms.
  • It's easy to create forms - with drag and drop you can compose a new form within minutes.
  • It's easy to link Wufoo to other services like Google Drive. Almost all of our forms are connected to some other service to store our data.
  • The number of fields is limited to 150. Some of our forms have a complex build up with different factors that show or don't show fields. Every radio button option is a "field" so this counts up quickly.
  • For new users, all the features of Wufoo are not directly clear. Some features are hidden, like making your own themes and linking the form to 3rd parties. Wufoo can do a better job in their UI to emphasize this.
Wufoo is a tool that suits many jobs. While it isn't the most complex piece of software and it doesn't suit lengthy forms it is easy to set up simple 10-20 question forms or surveys. I would recommend it to gather information and feedback quickly from within your own company. It's suited for larger companies with 30-200 employees.
Read Wilbert Kramer's full review
No photo available
April 05, 2018

Wufoo Review: "Solid and reliable product"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Wufoo for custom forms that collect a wide range of data:
  • Contractor references
  • Testimonials
  • Meetup signup form
We also implement Wufoo forms for clients and for everything from a simple contact form to a detailed intake or job application.
  • Versatile field types allow the creation of a wide variety of forms.
  • Responsive layout means forms work across devices without us needing to write any code.
  • Implementing themes (color and layout schemes) is a little bit messy and could use an overhaul.
Ideal for:
  • Intake forms
  • Contact forms
  • Job applications
  • Sign up forms
  • Surveys
  • Testimonial collection

Not great for:

  • Complex surveys
Read this authenticated review
Bree Gurin profile photo
August 02, 2017

User Review: "Wufoo Forms Creator"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company uses Wufoo to enable electronic on-boarding and time sheet submission for our temporary employees. This process has proven far more efficient and has greatly improved the accuracy of the information received.
  • The forms are easy to create and easy to use. These factors are a plus because you don't have to be a super savvy tech person to manage the forms and the end user finds them easy to understand and complete.
  • There are limits to the number of fields one can use in a Wufoo form. This became problematic when we needed to create a complex expense form.
  • Additionally, the form needs to be completed in one session. It isn't possible to start a form, save the information entered to that point and then complete it later.
I think Wufoo is excellent for basic forms. The more complex or longer forms become problematic.
Read Bree Gurin's full review
No photo available
September 13, 2017

Wufoo Review: "Great product that could use a bit of polish"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a Realtor, we are always looking for more clients. Integrating Wufoo into our website in order to help capture leads has been a great decision. Their ease of creating forms and full customization make it easy to create the perfect form for your prospects. Clients have mentioned they appreciate the ability to request a market evaluation any time of day (or night) and allows us to capture the information to help turn a prospect into a client.
  • Lack of technical experience is just fine, very easy to create.
  • Lots of options for customizing.
  • Could use a few more options to 'pretty' up the forms.
  • Some basic flow improvements would be welcome such as continuous typing for a phone number instead of having to tab over or click the next box.
  • More flexibility to build the form the way you want.
Given that I am a newer user to the platform I can only lay out where I have found it effective and that is in lead capture. We wanted an option for users that either didn't want to pick up the phone, or were unable to due to timing or other reasons. From that point of view we did find it effective to create a personalized form that you can see here: https://www.michaelsmithteam.ca/selling/
Read this authenticated review
Isaac Nuell profile photo
October 01, 2015

Wufoo Review: "Formulating the perfect form"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Wufoo primarily for dynamic event registrations (using PayPal integration) and follow up surveys. The software is using across departments and is used to collect data in a single source document for future use and integration into CRM and advocacy tracking systems.
  • Wufoo's layout is simple and intuitive. A single click will add a field to your form, and more advanced users can customize forms with minimal time invested to create complex and advanced systems.
  • Integration into webpages is simple. The code is provided in several formats and its a matter of copy and paste.
  • Payments are incredibly easy to integrate once you have the appropriate accounts set up with a third party approved vendor.
  • Creating receipts, follow up emails, and establishing form logic is very simple - a few clicks and you're done!
  • Fields are set and cannot be modified (with few exceptions). An inexperienced user needs to invest significant time in order to understand how logic works, how hidden fields can alter a form, and what the full range of functionality is. The Wufoo blog begins to explain this, but there isn't a step-by-step guide to take you from 0 to 60 in a short period of time.
  • While Wufoo has some pre-populated fields you can choose from (US states, for example), you can't save your own lists for use in future forms.
  • Wufoo's biggest flaw is that forms cannot communicate with one another. Each form is an island, and data cannot move between forms or be uploaded to a new form.
  • When you delete a field, all data previously collected and associated with that field is lost forever.
Wufoo isn't designed to be event software, but for smaller firms and non-profits with low operating budgets, it can be a cost effective and efficient way of collecting registration information and funds. It's also not SurveyMonkey (even though it's owned by them), and although forms can be purposed to fit any situation, it comes at a cost.
Read Isaac Nuell's full review
Rebecca VanDenBerg profile photo
November 11, 2015

User Review: "Using Wufoo since February 2012"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I currently use Wufoo to implement forms for over 20 Website Clients. I have over 40 forms in use currently ranging from basic contact forms to complex custom ordering forms. We choose to start using Wufoo back in February 2012 after searching for a solution that allowed us to incorporate PayPal Payment with customized order forms. We need to collect very specific user information for a particular client's educational workshops and Wufoo offered us the best solution. We also use the custom reports to provide clients with monthly and annual sales reports which they love. We have used Wufoo to create simple contact forms, surveys, event RSVP, livestock show entry forms w/payment, farm market order forms w/payment, daycare employment applications, education workshop registrations w/payment, and more. I have had a few technical questions and I received direct email responses and dialog with the same support staff person to resolve or answer my question.

Overall, Wufoo have been a huge benefit to our business as it provides us a way to create customized solutions for clients in an easy package.
  • Payment integration
  • Customized appearance to match existing website styles
  • Useful reports
  • It is sometimes hard to find the answers in the documentation library for advanced issues; but the "ask support" option has always helped
I have successfully added Wufoo forms to both HTML and Wordpress sites with success.

In terms of custom themes and styling forms, I find it very helpful in my business to be able to customize the form to match the rest of a clients website look. I also like the advanced custom form field options that can be controlled through CSS styles.

Using Wufoo for online registration or ordering with payment integration with PayPal has been great. It just works!
Read Rebecca VanDenBerg's full review
Audrey Burn profile photo
October 06, 2015

Wufoo Review: "Easy and Seamless Data Collection and Processing"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm a freelance graphic/web designer and I use Wufoo for two clients, one holds a large festival in the fall and has the need to manage vendor applications and emails and the second is a small private school who uses Wufoo to gather contact and volunteer interest info from parents. Both of these forms feed into MailChimp which allows them to manage their emails.
  • I love how easy it is to create a form and collect a variety of data, but also to customize the look of it.
  • In both instances where I use Wufoo, there is a need to use the information collected to create and maintain a detailed email list, containing several kinds of information—basic like contact info, but also breaking into categories like all of the different areas where parents want to volunteer. In the past, the school had to use paper and every parent's form had to be hand typed in. Now with Wufoo, they indicate all of their volunteer interests, all of the data gets sent to MailChimp, and we're able to send information to specific segments/groups based on their interests. It's saved countless hours of manual work and eliminated a lot of typos.
  • I love that you can integrate with payment options, as well as collect files. It makes collecting the application info from Craft Vendors seamless, and I don't need to track them down for payment.
  • I also love the rules option, so you can show/hide specific fields based on a user's answer.
  • Wufoo fits all of my needs at this time so if I had to pick something that could change (and this would be picky), the site/interface could use a little bit of a freshen up. But like I said, that's being picky.
I think if someone is just looking for a way to collect very simple contact info to maintain a list of some kind, it might be overkill, I would just use whatever campaign creator they're using. But if you're looking to style to conform to a brand and collect complex data, collect files and/or collect payments, Wufoo makes it so easy and integrates with many popular applications/services.
Read Audrey Burn's full review
Lane Castleberry profile photo
September 29, 2015

Review: "Wufoo may be a funny name, but is means serious business"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Wufoo has been a terrific solution for our website needs at Oklahoma Baptist University. We moved from hand-coded forms (that looked pretty stale) to a simple and easy to use software. Time investment for creating forms dropped drastically. We liked Wufoo so much, that we re-created all existing forms as Wufoo forms -- so they all now, look consistent and offer a user-friendly experience.

Our department assists all other departments, university-wide, with creative services. Thanks to Wufoo, forms are an easier task, so we can focus more time on other tasks. Wufoo also eliminated the need to relay data to our clients (departments). They can log in to to Wufoo easily to view data and print off spreadsheets, removing us as middlemen.
  • Features like drag-and-drop and pre-defined fields make the form creation process very simple.
  • Even when you need something more advanced, the design options and rules are very helpful.
  • If you don't know how to do something, Wufoo has a lot of helpful information on their site.
  • No categorization for forms can make editing difficult (you have to search and remember the title of the form).
  • Wufoo can only handle so many fields. There have been times, we've had to get creative to fit all of the needed content within field restrictions.
  • There have been times when field rules can be clunky if you have a lot. Things start to break.
If you are looking for form software that grants people with no experience the ability to create basic forms, Wufoo is solid. And if you are looking for form software that remains simple in interface, that allows you to create a high volume of forms in little time, IMO, that's where Wufoo shines.
Read Lane Castleberry's full review
Stephen A. Williams profile photo
March 19, 2015

Review: "How I found Happiness and Satisfaction with Wufoo"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We first used Wufoo as an embedded form on our website to collect information on registrants for the NFL's Business-Connect program (minority & women-owned business initiative). The first form was lengthy and involved many different kinds of data fields including "file upload" for businesses certification documents. This worked extremely well. As data was collected I imported it into a custom-built Access database to allow our Business Connect Manager direct access to the information. Incrementally I exported new data and updated the Access db. Wufoo has built a very easy-to-use export function that allowed rapid and accurate exports. Next I built a Wufoo form to collect data on donors and their contributions to our charitable foundation. This form was linked to Paypal for payment processing and the form was imbedded in our website to make it available to visitors to our site. Following these two initial forms, I designed an additional 50 forms that served as collection tools for surveys, contest entries, vendor revenue data, event invitation, transportation registration among others. Forms were used across departments including Marketing, Philanthropy, Events & Hospitality, Administration, Information Systems and Community Affairs.
  • Easy-to-learn and easy-to-use. Building something, anything, from scratch on a website scares the you-know-what out of the average user. Wufoo is incredibly easy to learn, well, the basics, that is. And I had one particularly lame-brained user up and running with Wufoo in short order. Truth is, I built the majority of the forms and often tweaked forms built by others, but Wufoo provides such an easy interface that building and revising is quite simple. After my first few forms, I began to discover some of the truly marvelous features Wufoo provides. Knowing just a bit of html can make an average form look really fancy. Creating colorful, imaginative headers made the forms fun to open. Frequently users would come to me last minute and I would bang out a basic form for their review in just minutes. Because of the simple drag and drop interface, I was able to turn projects around in record time.
  • Allows users at all levels to build custom forms immediately. You don't have to be an IT wiz or html writer to build a complex form in Wufoo. Even a beginner can find success without any prior knowledge of form building or databases or coding. But if the user wants to experiment, there is plenty of good documentation to encourage him/her to explore and go fancy.
  • Support. I can't say enough about the fantastic support I received from Wufoo. I would email them a question and they never failed to respond in less than a few hours. And their answers were clear and concise. They would look at the form in question (the one I had built) and make specific recommendations on how to solve my specific problem. In certain instance, they would even create a form (in my account) to demonstrate the solution. Emails I received from Support were always signed by a person so not only was the support excellent, it was also very personal.
  • Each rules tab has a limit of 50 rules per form. Because of the complex nature of some of my forms (or the crazy things my users wanted to see) I had a couple occasions where I needed more than 50 field rules. If a form-filler choose X from a list, I wanted 10 other fields to become visible, if he chose Y from that same list, I wanted 10 different fields to become visible. Going on like this will pretty quickly use up the 50 rule limit. However, I was able to modify these complicated forms to work around the rule limitation. But I had the feeling from my contact with support that this limitation might be lifted in the future.
I found Wufoo to be incredibly versatile. We produced a series of e-newsletters which included a Trivia Question. There was a "click here for answer" button in the article in the newsletter. This was a link to a Wufoo form. Essentially I made the Wufoo form serve as a landing page. I created a colorful header, which often contained the answer to the Trivia Question. Then there were some corresponding paragraphs in reference to the answer. Following that was some "related" survey question. Our organization was the Host Company for the 2014 Super Bowl so the questions were all football-related. The survey results (from the previous week's question) were also included on the Wufoo form. Over time, the number of subscribers answering the survey increased weekly. I think the format of the Wufoo form with its ability to house images and be a bit whimsical encouraged readers to respond and be engaged. To answer the question of specific scenarios where Wufoo is suited or not, I think the limits are only imposed by the user not the application.
Read Stephen A. Williams's full review
Joseph Hillman profile photo
September 29, 2015

Wufoo Review: "Easy, fun, and very trainable, I can attest to all of this."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Wufoo is used by marketing teams to conduct surveys, gather info, and generate their email lists. Often it was used for follow up questions on their trade show counterparts. It was used across the organization on the various teams.
  • Ease of use with a drag and drop interface. This was consistently a winning point when they reviewed whether to stay with Wufoo for forms services.
  • Easy to train on and refer to documentation on the part of the user. We consistently had ready to go documents in the event a business team needed guidance.
  • Sense of humor. In times when we needed customer support, we were always left grinning at the tongue in cheek nature of the feedback or instructions if something seemed wrong.
  • For what we used it for, I cannot speak to areas of where it could use improvement. It handled the use cases very well and seldom left us looking for more.
  • One small thing I could recommend would be a configurable file uploader option so the user or developer could configure where the files were stored.
Read Joseph Hillman's full review
Sarah Downing profile photo
April 29, 2015

Review: "WuFoo gets a Woo Hoo! for event and program registrations"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Landmark College Institute for Research and Training (LCIRT) is using WuFoo for online conference, workshop, webinar, subscriber list and certificate program or course registrations. WuFoo is also currently being used by several other Landmark College departments such as Student Affairs, Events, and the Office for Institutional Advancement for internal and external submissions with various stakeholders such as faculty, staff, students, parents, alumni and donors.

WuFoo allows LCIRT to quickly set-up registration for training events with the added benefit of a providing an online payment option. Our forms use "Rules" in order to provide messages to those seeking various payment options such as check, purchase order or online credit card payment. The form inbox, that is sortable by name, date, etc. is very helpful for customer service follow-up and registration tracking. Additionally, the form completion status for each submission is useful for customer service follow-up.

  • Ease of use: The tutorials are very helpful for implementing a basic form and then moving forward to more complex forms.
  • Online payment option: Wide range of online payment partners such as PayPal to choose from.
  • Customization: Forms and submission responses can be customized to meet the needs of various projects.
  • Online payment with Google Merchant did not provide payment submission status. When a payment was submitted, the WuFoo form did not record the correct status. One had to check with Google Merchant (now Wallet) to see is a payment had indeed been submitted.

WuFoo would be best to use for project that involves quick, quantitative questions that are related to a short answers or have drop down choices for an event, proposal, etc. WuFoo would be less appropriate for a form that involved many qualitative questions.

For forms that need to offer an online payments option, that is not mandatory, WuFoo can provide this connection.

Read Sarah Downing's full review
Sarah Strenio profile photo
March 18, 2015

Wufoo Review: "Startup School Seeks Sleek Form Submission"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Wufoo for all permanent form collections at our school, from operations to billing to recruitment. We use it primarily for applications, surveys, data collection / updates, and registrations. Some specific examples: student enrollment; summer school enrollment; school lunch program registration; credit card authorization for automatic bill payment; applications for faculty and staff positions; formal internal surveys. We are better able to meet our school's sustainability goals by collecting our "paper" work through Wufoo.
  • Wufoo is particularly useful for creating more complex forms. You have the option to hide/show fields; this makes for a shorter, easier to navigate form for people you need less information from. You also have access to basic code formatting, which requires some additional knowledge but gives greater range of display options.
  • You have options of how to view your data. You can export all results to an excel spreadsheet to analyze it that way, similar to the way googleforms records responses. But you can also see the full form with the responses in it - if you've forgotten how the question was phrased, or need to understand the context for a response, that view is easily available.
  • The list view of all the forms you've created is very helpful when referring to multiple forms during the same period of time.
  • Sharing editing power with multiple people is easy, including the ability to allow different levels of access to specific forms. If you're collecting sensitive data, you get to choose who can view it. If you don't want someone to have access at all anymore, it's fairly simple to either delete their account or to change the commonly held password.
  • Although it gives coding options, the formatting for fields is still pretty limited. There is no option for blocks of text other than "section breaks".
  • The rules section is cumbersome. The show/hide fields option in this section has only simple logic, so in order to create complex rules, you have to create a very long list of simple rules. Functional, but cumbersome.
  • I'd like to see more development toward more bulk entry options. For single responses, you can email the whole form to multiple email addresses. It would be great to have a simple system to be able to send the response to the email entered in a response en masse with an option to add an additional message.
Well suited to:
  • data collection from the public - no inconvenient login required
  • anonymous submissions - with no login, users can be assured no data will be unwillingly collected (except IP address)
Not well suited to:
  • data collection to be used for upload to another database - the field names in the exports do not always make the responses make clear sense. A lot of data cleaning is required for a reasonable upload format.
Read Sarah Strenio's full review
Heather Ahrens profile photo
November 18, 2014

User Review: "From a self-proclaimed Wufoo guru"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I work for a small non-profit in the Health Care industry. We are limited in resources and WuFoo has really been an awesome product for us. We use it for everything from the Contact Us portion of our website to Event Registration to Evaluation Surveys and everything in between. It's so easy to use, fun to play around with and has helped me to learn such things as CSS code and basic HTML. In the event that we've needed to contact Customer Service for assistance, they've been extremely helpful and they also are appreciative of feedback. I'm known as the WuFoo guru here so WuFoo makes me look good!
  • Wufoo is VERY easy to use. When we started using Wufoo, no training was required. I was able to just jump right in.
  • The Help features are very useful. If I'm struggling with figuring out something on my own, I almost always can find the solution in the Help section. If not, I've emailed Wufoo and received assistance really quickly.
  • Wufoo is fun to use! We use it to create staff satisfaction surveys, party invites, and other creative things in addition to the standard registration forms, evaluations, etc.
  • The reports can be a little rough looking when we have a longer form. The data grids are nice but often cumbersome for someone to view. In those situations, we export the data to excel and plug into our own report forms.
  • A cloud-like situation would be helpful for saving old forms. It's nice to reference previous forms but our main page gets bogged down. It would be nice to have a second page to save old forms and have the main page be for active forms.
  • Simpler formatting would be nice for those who do not know HTML. To be able to bold or change font size with the click of a button would be helpful.
I recently started at a new company that uses Survey Monkey. After one wufoo demo, I believe I have my fellow associates excited to switch to WuFoo! Not only is there more functionality, but it's just fun to use!
Read Heather Ahrens's full review
Carla Rose Fisher profile photo
December 03, 2014

User Review: "Woohoo for Wufoo!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The company for which I was office manager utilized Wufoo to create a schedule of classes for its after-school performing arts program. With over a dozen classes offered, the admin department needed an easy way to allow parents to scroll through the class offerings and view the options and also to know when a class had reached its capacity.
  • Wufoo's selection of forms allow for many variables, making it possible to cater each form to serve our organizational needs.
  • I loved the ease with which we could reorder the forms by clicking and dragging -- no need to start over or redo any work!
  • Wufoo's support team is excellent. Whenever I had a question about the possibility of adding more flexibility to our forms, they got back to me quickly and with helpful solutions.
  • When I used Wufoo while at that company, it would have been great to have had the functionality to store credit card information so that parents do not have to fill it out every semester, but I realized that there were likely either security or privacy issues preventing such a thing. However, it's great that PayPal integration is available!
  • It would be great to redesign the Form Manager UI so that it's not so overwhelming to look at and have to scroll down through all our forms, which looked so similar because they were class offerings. Sometimes when adding classes (forms) or when gathering student head counts, we would lose track of where we left off. This meant having to backtrack, which took up time. Even something as simple as numbering the forms would've helped us not lose our place when performing class-by-class data entry or tabulation.
  • More view options for searching forms would be helpful.
Wufoo was initially recommended to me by a colleague who had used it for website content that was in list form, and she wisely recommended it to us as a way to list all our classes so that parents could sign up. I think for schools and after-school programs, it's a great solution. I can't speak to other scenarios since this was the only space in which I've used Wufoo.
Read Carla Rose Fisher's full review
Mark Stackhouse profile photo
March 07, 2014

User Review: "Wufoo Delivers"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Wufoo is being used across 3 of the associations we manage. We use Wufoo for internal forms as well as order forms, membership applications, conference registrations and more. We have found great success and response from our associations' membership with regard to the ease of use and look and feel of the forms we are currently using through Wufoo.
  • Ease of usage by not only our employees but ease of usage by the membership of our associations
  • Wufoo takes the hassle out of form building with a simple interface that even the most novice user can understand
  • Wufoo's customer service cannot be matched. They have tremendous response time and spot on assistance with any issue you may have. I have not had a problem that they did not have an answer for.
  • I would like to see an area where you can build your own custom field clusters similar to their address field(s) option. It would be helpful to have that to make some of our more mundane fields quicker to load in.
  • Maybe add some wysywig type editing features, ie. bold, italic, underline, etc. for the descriptions. I know HTML and it works in the text areas but it would be helpful for those in the office that do not know how to code.
  • Can't think of anything else, Wufoo is darn near perfect at what it offers.
I can only speak to what I use it for and it has been spot on for those purposes. I use it for member applications, book order forms, convention registration, internal work order forms and award forms. As far as questions to ask? Everything I needed an answer for was already built in the FAQ section I looked at when choosing Wufoo. I did have the opportunity to speak with someone at Wufoo before I selected them and they were very helpful in making me feel more than comfortable with their product.
Read Mark Stackhouse's full review
Kira Stone profile photo
March 05, 2014

User Review: "Use of Wufoo in Higher Education"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Originally, Wufoo was utilized within the context of Leadership Development and Student Activities at Ursinus College to help students register their student organizations on campus, submit budget information, propose programming ideas, etc. Wufoo allowed for a quick and intuitive information student submission and I was able to extract submitted information for analysis purposes. Over time, I could see how the requested budget of an organization has increased or decreased and why (maybe they are holding more events off campus now and need additional transportation funds). I also had all information about organization presidents, vice-presidents, treasurers, and so forth in one comprehensive file. I liked that I was able to log into Wufoo and browse survey entries on their website for updated information in real time so I took this to other offices.

Now, Wufoo is used across the entire campus to help alumni register for events, new student orientation, and other endeavors in higher education. Additionally, students and faculty are able to submit requests for AV equipment for their events ("I would like two microphones and a speaker at this building for this time period.") The Facilities office uses Wufoo for purposes similar to this one and now better manage requests for meetings and presenters. Overall it has streamlined processes and helped maintain a cohesive, organized campus atmosphere.
  • One can log into their website and view survey results in real-time. In the morning, maybe 50 student organization submitted their budget requests for the semester, but by the afternoon that number has grown to 100. You can see who has submitted information and who has yet to submit information.
  • Extracting the data into Excel is a huge advantage of Wufoo. I was able to pull the data and track budget info over time. Additionally, I had huge databases of student e-mail addresses so I could directly e-mail organization leaders.
  • The actual form-building process is incredibly easy and intuitive. It took me about an hour of playing around with it to learn about all the basic utilities. In another hour I learned about simple CSS code that I could use to customize my surveys even more. The interface is very point-and-click so anyone can learn this quickly.
  • The forms are simple to fill out! Simpler, streamlined processes leads to better results and increased efficiency overall.
  • Add more drag-and-drop options so that moving form fields while form-building is easier. :)
Wufoo is best suited for simpler endeavors. For example, "Register your student organization, list its President, Vice-President, Treasurer, and all e-mail addresses of leaders and members" or "Register for New Student Orientation: How many family members will be accompanying you? What are their names?" When we used these forms, we had to use Paypal in addition to the form because at the time there wasn't an option for users to pay (say, for lunches at the event). The forms are probably less suited to more intricate quantitative entries. Excel would be a better option here.
Read Kira Stone's full review
Jan Economy profile photo
March 05, 2014

User Review: "Why you should try Wufoo today!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Wufoo to reduce the need for multiple "paper" forms. I worked at a school where multiple forms went out each year to parents to enroll/re-enroll their child for the next school year -- anything from parent information to signing up for lunch. By using Wufoo's form generator, we were able to reduce the number of forms sent home to parents by 90%. The best part about using Wufoo was that all the information parents entered through our Wufoo forms was downloaded to a very usable excel file which meant no more computer entry of information for our families. This reduced hours and hours of monotonous computer entry of family information (can you imagine all those phone numbers?) and dramatically reduced the number of entry mistakes. The side benefit was our huge reduction in paper usage.
  • Wufoo allows you to collect information from a large pool of people
  • Information collected can be viewed through the Wufoo website and/or by downloading an Excel spreadsheet with all of the information your customers have entered
  • The forms were very easy to create and manipulate, and there are multiple themes to choose from
  • There are handy side boxes next to each question that you can provide further information to prevent confusion or explain why you are collecting certain information, etc
  • Wufoo sends you an email each time someone completes a form so you can keep track of who still needs to complete the form
  • Once you get a form set-up and you like the lay-out, you can copy the form and then fill in different information for the next form
  • You can make certain questions within your form mandatory
  • Some of the information collected from families would not transfer well through an Excel spreadsheet (i.e. a phone number would be a string of numbers 5555555555 instead of (555) 555-5555)
  • At the time we were using Wufoo, some of our families would use upper-case and some would use all lower-case with no caps when entering their information (even though we did ask them to enter all information in all caps). This created many challenges when using that information for official forms or when creating bulk address labels for families
  • Because everything at a school runs alphabetically, this was something we manually would have to do once all the information had been collected and uploaded to excel
  • As with any form generator, there is always going to be some clean-up on the excel spreadsheet side to make the information work for the organization's varying needs
Wufoo is definitely well suited for the organization that has a lot of data to collect from clients and wants to eliminate manual paperwork and computer entry. And, although we didn't use the survey generator within Wufoo, this would be a great way to collect opinions from clients as well.
Read Jan Economy's full review
Cindy Le profile photo
March 10, 2014

"Wufoo Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a student government group on campus, we needed something to use for our funding application that would be easy to set-up and user friendly for all funding applicants. We also expanded and started using the website to transfer all other applications and forms online since it is easier to distribute and collect data.
  • I think one of Wufoo's main strengths would be its simple and easy to use interface.
  • Wufoo is very user friendly and easy to set up!
  • Wufoo has many templates to get you started!
  • The only downside is that Wufoo is a third party operator. Thus is there are technical difficulties, you cannot address them within your company. You must contact Wufoo and await their reply.
  • Other areas of improvement could be security of the information stored and the cost of storage of that information online.
I think Wufoo is best suited for small companies or for use on a smaller scale in my experience. For example for student organizations, groups, clubs, etc. I am also not sure how appropriate it is to use to collect sensitive data due to the security of storage of that informaiton online by Wufoo.
Read Cindy Le's full review
Ellis Natalia Garcia profile photo
March 08, 2014

User Review: "Wufoo for everyone!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Wufoo as part of the services offered to our clients and for the whole organization. We usually run contests using the forms, build order forms for a supermarket client and used them as Save A Dates for our photography department. Wufoo has helped us collect data, it has helped us upsell different products and has even increased sales for one of clients! It's a great tool to consider, very easy to use!
  • Accessibility
  • Step By Step instructions to building a form
  • Allows you to make a custom theme
  • Great way to track information and collect data
  • Versatile
  • More information on easy CSS changes
  • Allow it to be used as a true order form with price changes
  • Custom Themes sometimes make your logo look a bit off [not enough room or too much white space even after you size it]
  • Multiple account integration so you can use ONE Wufoo for several clients
It is well suited for any business that is looking to collect data from their customers. I think that they do great with communicating with the client although it would be nice for a Live Chat feature instead of their Help search and FAQ section. Sometimes it's really great to get an answer right away and have someone helping you build your form or adjust a column step-by-step.
Read Ellis Natalia Garcia's full review
Katelyn Ludwig profile photo
March 07, 2014

Review: "Wufoo is the best at website forms. No, seriously."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Wufoo was selected as a way to integrate forms as part of an existing website design. Our CMS was extremely limited to apply and integrate website forms, and Wufoo seemed like the best option for us. We were very happy using it on our website to help us collect contact information for a large amount of folks at a reasonable cost. After another redesign and a new CMS/CRM, we continued to use Wufoo for website form support. I'm not sure if it's still being used at this point, but it was user-friendly enough for various folks to be trained on the tool.
  • Integrating within various CMS tools by offering iframe and js support (within HTML space offerings)
  • Offering style options to make forms look like they belong on your website (whether using Wufoo's own styles, or by applying an external CSS sheet)
  • Providing a super easy drag-and-drop interface that was very easy to use and train folks to use
  • Offering an API for Salesforce.com, among other tools (we never got around to actually using these, but I was impressed that it was available)
  • Providing easily exportable and attractive reports that could be viewed as PDF or CSV, which allowed for us to import contacts into our CRM or use them to reach out via Outlook, etc.
  • Helping us communicate with new leads/contacts by giving easily customizable reply email messages
  • Providing a complex set of rules that allowed us to make our forms more strategic (if someone selects Yes, go to #4; send a reply email if someone says Yes to needing a seat on a bus to an event)
  • Honestly, for what we needed, it went above and beyond. I don't have any complaints at all.
I have already recommended Wufoo to several people. I think the biggest question you need to answer is around turnaround time for your data. If you don't implement the API, can you afford to wait to contact your new leads? We'd often have a bit of a delay in pulling our data spreadsheets and importing them into our CRM.

Wufoo will require some expertise in CSS and HTML to implement within an existing website CMS or design, so make sure you have those resources on staff. The help and support is really excellent, but they don't offer specific design-oriented help.

Wufoo is great for urgent, one-off form needs, like gathering RSVPs to an event. We've also used it to collect regular contact requests. It meets a variety of needs.
Read Katelyn Ludwig's full review
Patty Altaffer profile photo
March 05, 2014

User Review: "Wufoo Makes Me Look Like a Rockstar!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our wine industry association uses Wufoo annually for several roles. We use it to survey current association members to update their personal and business information before we send out renewal notices. We also use it each year to gather RSVP's for our main annual trade and media tasting event.Since we need to collect specific data with each RSVP, Wufoo works perfectly to let us customize our forms to our needs.
  • The form building is really simple to set up.
  • Exporting your entries
  • I really have not had any problems with the system. Works well for our needs as it stands
I would have to say it is pretty straightforward to use. I "inherited" the program from my predecessor. Had never heard of it or used it, but was able to quickly figure out how to use it and adapt to our current needs. I don't have any suggestions otherwise.
Read Patty Altaffer's full review
Tiffney Gipson profile photo
March 05, 2014

User Review: "I'm wild for Wufoo"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Wufoo at the Kornhauser Health Sciences Library. At first it was just a statistical tool to use with the reference librarians, helping them to keep their monthly clinical stats and producing reports. Since then we've used it as a survey for a focus group and as a way to create a digital iPad checkout form. Wufoo was a test for us, we were looking for something that would do more than Excel and Survey Monkey but wasn't complicated and easy to use. This process has become most helpful when it comes to producing the statistics reports each month.
  • Website is easy to navigate, very user friendly.
  • I love that there are no limits on form creation.
  • There are lots of widgets when creating reports, I think that's cool.
  • Wufoo is very quick to answer customer questions.
  • When data is entered, it'd be great if you could see all the entries on one single page.
  • I wish there was a little more education on creating reports, I feel like I had to do trial by fire when it came to using the widgets and creating reports.
  • I wish the home page (with reports, surveys) was better organized. I hate that they can't be placed in alphabetical order instead they default to the date created.
  • I wish the Excel spreadsheet capability was built into the actual site.
  • Sometimes it seems like there is no use for some of the widgets in the reports area.
  • When I customize a survey - as far as appearance - I wish that would come across when inputting data on the back end.
I'd ask...

What do you need the database for?

Wufoo has been able to do anything I've wanted it to do, now it's become more of a matter of how it needs to be used, what is it for, and what information is being collected.
Read Tiffney Gipson's full review
Nick Seagers profile photo
March 04, 2014

User Review: "Wufoo a Winner in Usability"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Wufoo for client-facing forms to collect data and ask the right questions to get started on projects for event-based needs. We also use Wufoo internally to collect information as a Suggestion Box, recapping thoughts on company events and internal fulfillment requests. In both cases, the forms help us get the right information up front to avoid miscommunication or the long email chains that result when not enough information is provided up front.
  • Email routing is easy to set up.
  • Easy to create and edit form questions.
  • Collecting and analyzing the data collected is very easy and helpful.
  • Would like the ability to reorganize the Form Manager.
  • If we were able to pull together forms into folders or categories, that would be ideal.
  • Ability to adjust most admin options and views.
When the knowledge and information you need to collect is clear, Wufoo is the best tool to collect and analyze the data in real time as responses arrive. Should there be a need to collect a large amount of complicated data, perhaps another web based tool would be better suited.
Read Nick Seagers's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Survey templates (8)
8.4
Themes (10)
7.0
Custom logo/branding (12)
7.2
Changes to live survey (9)
8.7
Question design help (9)
8.0
Multiple question types (10)
7.7
Survey logic flexibility (11)
7.8
Response tracking (9)
8.0
Data export (12)
7.6
Standard reports (9)
7.5
Custom reports (6)
6.0
Analytics (7)
6.7
Access controls (8)
8.3
Compliance (7)
8.3
Vendor-offered crowdsourcing (2)
7.0
Respondent restrictions (6)
8.7

About Wufoo

Wufoo is a web application for creating online forms. The tool automatically builds the database, backend and scripts needed making it easy to collect and understand data. Wufoo was acquired by SurveyMonkey in 2011.

Wufoo Integrations

Wufoo Competitors

Wufoo Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No