Xamarin Reviews

41 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-11 of 11)

Duy Mai | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2019

Try Xamarin - It's worth a shot

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Xamarin is used in my organization to create mobile and web applications that can share the same common logic. This is great for building cross-platform applications for any organization that needs it.

Xamarin is mainly used in the development team as it does require technical knowledge of building software. You can use it to solve many different business problems through applications built on the Xamarin platform.
  • Layouts that can be bind to
  • Great community that can provide plenty of code samples and exchanges of ideas
  • Provide the ability to share code between various platform such as mobile - Android, iOS, Windows, and web
  • Similarly to Silverlight or WinForms, if Xamarin had the ability to drag and drop in the Designer, it would be great.
  • The ability to auto translate some of the common native calls from different platform would also be amazing to see.
  • Also more help syntax auto resolving abilities is needed. I had to spend a lot of time resolving errors when importing an open source project to try out.
If you are required to develop applications that are cross-platformed, Xamarin is a great tool to use. It will help save time and effort from your development team to be able to build applications seamlessly for android, IOS, Windows, and web on a single platform instead of requiring multiple tools to get the job done.
Read Duy Mai's full review
Florence Birgen | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 19, 2019

Xamarin for cross-platform mobile applications

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Xamarin is used by our product development team to create Android and iOS mobile applications. With Xamarin we can create cross platform mobile applications fast and easy without leaving the Visual Studio environment. It’s convenient because it allows us code applications using C# programming while taking advantage of Visual Studio debugging tools. We are pleased with Xamarin so far.

  • Allows development of cross-platform mobile applications in C# language without the need to learning new languages.
  • Access to Visual studio debugging tools
  • It's free and has a growing community
  • Allows use of Visual studio IDE
  • Occasional crashing of the application
  • Online community still growing. Less documentation online
  • Experienced problems with Code signing and deployment with IOS
Xamarin comes in handy when you want to write cross-platform (for Android and iOS) applications without the need to code twice. It shortens development time and that's an advantage. Xamarin also helps developers building on .NET transition to mobile development without the need to learn additional programming languages- saves money and training time. Most of the time Xamarin is all good a part from a few times when you want to keep up with new features and Xamarin takes time to implement them.
Read Florence Birgen's full review
Kyle Kochtan | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2019

Cross platform development in Xamarin

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently Xamarin is being used by our main corporate office for a number of applications. We are using it for quality assurance and sales. This allows us to have the same look and feel and functionality across multiple environments. Our sales and QA staff are located all over and have different mobile platforms.
  • Write once - use multiple places
  • Robust 3rd party add-ons for most functioanlity
  • Prompt support and assistance when needed
  • My only issues really stem from the IOS side, but those are not necessarily Xamarin's issues
  • Needing to connect to IOS machine
  • Code signing and deployment with IOS is very cumbersome
Xamarin is perfect if you have senior .Net developers and do not want to have write code twice. Once for Android and once for IOS. This also allows you to have one code base platform that make changes much simpler and keeping both versions in sync. It would be nice if you could have some common settings files across the 2 that would inject into the pList file for example.
Read Kyle Kochtan's full review
Markus Hopfenspirger | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 01, 2018

Mobile cross platform develpoment with Xamarin saves time and money

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Xamarin is used to develop small mobile business apps for special customers. For example, we developed an app, where the user can download the data of customers including last service results and fill in a new service form; let the customer sign the form and send the form back to the office where it is approved and archived.
  • We save development time with Xamarin, because we use Xamarin Forms an so we can share most of the code over 3 platforms.
  • We can use our C# knowledge to develop iOS and Android Apps.
  • Xamarin's integration into Visual Studio is very good and became even better during the last releases of Visual Studio.
  • You still need a MacOS running on a Mac to debug and test and deploy the apps to Apple.
Xamarin is perfect for business apps. Developing games is probably better in native code. (But I have never developed games with xamarin.)
Read Markus Hopfenspirger's full review
Patrick Steger | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 22, 2017

Xamarin rocks!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Xamarin Forms allows us to get a line of business apps written quickly that can be run on Android or iOS with minimal fuss.
  • Built into Visual Studio
  • Free
  • Cross platform
  • Few examples
Great for line of business applications. Not so great for cross-platform games (use something like Unity instead).
Read Patrick Steger's full review
David McCann | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 18, 2017

Xamarin: seamless C# .NET development for MacOS

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The product development team was building a cross-platform endpoint security product in C# .NET and all used MacBook Pros, so Xamarin was the IDE of choice. It addressed the problem of being able to develop the Linux and Mac versions of the product without having to have a Linux VM for Linux development and also made it possible to develop the cross-platform portions of the software natively on their Macs, rather than using a Windows VM. Only Windows-specific development and testing needed to be done within a VM. As a product development startup, all but one employee used Xamarin.
  • Good interactive debugger.
  • Built on Atom, many of the same useful functionality as the more generic editor.
  • Many good plugins for various other programming languages and other functionality.
  • Atom's multi-cursor plugin would be a welcome plugin to this IDE as well.
  • The online support could be further developed.
  • The application would occasionally crash.
Xamarin is definitely the best product to use for C# .NET programming on MacOS; for other uses it may not be the best IDE: different languages, different platforms, etc.
Read David McCann's full review
Siya Ul Haqu | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2017

Xamarin Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Xamarin was used in a couple of projects by my organization. When it comes to faster development one should go for it. Yes, there are challenges but compared to developing two separate applications for the same purpose in different platforms this is the best choice. This application is better in performance compared to hybrid applications.
  • Native application
  • Code based to some extent. It is the same except specialized UI for different OS
  • Faster development compared to native application development.
  • teaching a Microsoft developers who has no experience in mobile application development is a challenge
  • Should be simpler for deployment to devices.
Business application its the best bet. For game-like applications, it may not be the best bet.
Read Siya Ul Haqu's full review
Jordan Max | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 04, 2017

Xamarin - DEFINITELY worth the try

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Xamarin for cross-platform development. We like the idea of a code base sharing between platforms. Our apps are either built with Xamarin, or will be built with Xamarin. The problems it addresses is the amount of time and money it costs to have two full native applications.
  • Code sharing - I mean, you can do the work in half the time. Great way to release to multiple markets without having to write code twice.
  • Robust - Basically anything you need on the OS level is available.
  • Intuitive - Xamarin gives you the capability of a code share project, and then platform specific projects. You can communicate between the two and it makes it very nice to develop in.
  • Forms - not 100% there. Still needs work but is production ready.
  • iOS - sometimes errors can be hard to understand, if they even show up.
  • Insights - Xamarin offers their own crash analytics software. However, it's not perfect and sometimes doesn't pick up crashes.
Xamarin is great for any scenario, even if you don't utilize Xamarin Forms, which is the code sharing capability. But even if you just utilized the platform specific code, it's still all in C#. Makes it easy to not only maintain, but later hire developers who might not have any Xamarin experience to be able to come on board quickly and make an effect.
Read Jordan Max's full review
Calvin Fisher | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 17, 2017

The only way to do mobile development

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I've been using Xamarin for 100% of my mobile work since 2012. In my current organization, we have a Xamarin mobile app for nearly all of our projects.
  • Sharing code with other parts of an application, including backend and web
  • Not having to re-write the same application multiple times
  • Not having to maintain multiple versions of the same application in parallel (features, bugfixes, etc.)
  • Getting to use C# and all of its wonderful features for mobile development
  • Xamarin could provide more recognition and support to those of us who have been with them since the beginning
I've introduced Xamarin to multiple organizations. Unless you have engineers who insist on not knowing C#, there are rarely any instances where it's not the best choice.
Read Calvin Fisher's full review
amar khan | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 29, 2016

Developer's god for cross platform mobile app

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Xamarin to develop cross-platform apps for taxi aggregation app in android, windows and IOS. It is used by my project team including android, IOS and Windows people to create applications in single code base, and it helped us to write quality code that runs consistently on different platorms
  • It allows us to develop apps using single codebase which runs on different platforms.
  • They need to work in providing quality support to customer queries
It is well suited when you have a single codebase, tight deadlines for the product release, and you have less developers to tackle the problems that can occur in testing and release level. It is less appropriate in situations where you want apps like system-level tasks which may not be allowed by Xamarin
Read amar khan's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 04, 2017

Xamarin - Sometimes Worth It

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As an independent consultant, I use Xamarin with many small companies. Often, they bring me on in the early stages to evaluate and recommend improvements to their mobile strategy. Xamarin addresses the business problem of speed and resources. With Xamarin, you can develop mobile apps faster as well as utilizing existing resources. Some companies may have existing .NET developers in which case Xamarin fits well and the learning curve of mobile is less because of the familiarity with .NET.
  • Xamarin allows you to write cross platform code. This allows companies to build apps more quickly by writing less code. Having code abstracted and reused across multiple platforms allows for more testing and less issues overall.
  • The ability to use Visual Studio is a huge plus. Visual Studio is one of the best IDE's available and being able to write cross platforms apps while in a great IDE makes everything less painful.
  • Xamarin is now free with a large company backing. This means that bugs on the platform get fixed more quickly and there is a large community of developers.
  • Having also done a lot of native mobile development, some of the IDE's features need to emulator their native counterparts. For example, trying to extract a string resource on Android in Xamarin Studio is painful. There are many useful tools in Android Studio that Xamarin should implement.
  • Xamarin will always be behind on native platform features. They must catch up when Apple and Google release new platform versions.
  • The biggest pain point is the random issues Xamarin continues to have. Having a large code base on top of a native platform makes it very difficult to debug issues. Every developer must decide if its an issue with Xamarin or the native platform. Bugs don't get fixed very quickly. Hopefully that will change with the Microsoft acquisition.
Xamarin is well suited for several reasons. The first, it allows companies to share code across platforms. If the app has a lot of business logic and a fairly simple UI, Xamarin is great for this use case. Xamarin also works well if the developers who will work on the app are already fluent in .NET.
Xamarin is less appropriate if the company has a lot of developers. If there are plenty of resources to develop apps natively then the headache of dealing with Xamarin's issues are not worth the effort. If the UI is very complex and has difficult animations it's difficult to debug visual/performance issues in Xamarin.
Read this authenticated review

About Xamarin

Xamarin Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No