TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/kN/nD/TC91G898JENT.pngMobile cross platform develpoment with Xamarin saves time and moneyXamarin is used to develop small mobile business apps for special customers. For example, we developed an app, where the user can download the data of customers including last service results and fill in a new service form; let the customer sign the form and send the form back to the office where it is approved and archived.,We save development time with Xamarin, because we use Xamarin Forms an so we can share most of the code over 3 platforms. We can use our C# knowledge to develop iOS and Android Apps. Xamarin's integration into Visual Studio is very good and became even better during the last releases of Visual Studio.,You still need a MacOS running on a Mac to debug and test and deploy the apps to Apple.,10,Very positive, because it enabled us to develop mobile apps on iOS and Android with our existing knowledge and saved a lot of development time with a bigger income.,native coding and phonegapp,Telerik, Team Foundation Server, Trello, SlackXamarin rocks!Xamarin Forms allows us to get a line of business apps written quickly that can be run on Android or iOS with minimal fuss.,Built into Visual Studio Free Cross platform,Few examples,9,Allows rapid prototyping and development to get initial sales then complete the product and get it shipped,React Native and PhonegapXamarin: seamless C# .NET development for MacOSThe product development team was building a cross-platform endpoint security product in C# .NET and all used MacBook Pros, so Xamarin was the IDE of choice. It addressed the problem of being able to develop the Linux and Mac versions of the product without having to have a Linux VM for Linux development and also made it possible to develop the cross-platform portions of the software natively on their Macs, rather than using a Windows VM. Only Windows-specific development and testing needed to be done within a VM. As a product development startup, all but one employee used Xamarin.,Good interactive debugger. Built on Atom, many of the same useful functionality as the more generic editor. Many good plugins for various other programming languages and other functionality.,Atom's multi-cursor plugin would be a welcome plugin to this IDE as well. The online support could be further developed. The application would occasionally crash.,8,Time saved avoiding having to switch to a Linux VM while developing cross-platform C# .NET applications on a MacOS. Enabled more developers to comfortably work on the cross-platform portions of the applications (versus the web-based portions of the application). Could be configured to write both C# .NET as well as Javascript, reducing the number of IDEs needed to develop across the stack.,Atom, Eclipse and Visual Studio IDE,Skype for Business, Discourse, GitlabXamarin ReviewXamarin was used in a couple of projects by my organization. When it comes to faster development one should go for it. Yes, there are challenges but compared to developing two separate applications for the same purpose in different platforms this is the best choice. This application is better in performance compared to hybrid applications.,Native application Code based to some extent. It is the same except specialized UI for different OS Faster development compared to native application development.,teaching a Microsoft developers who has no experience in mobile application development is a challenge Should be simpler for deployment to devices.,7,Faster development has a direct relation to the number of resources required. Getting the right resource to work on the project is a challenge as mobile developers are more familiar with Objective C / Java not on.net Getting the right component for the project is a bit of a challenge.,Objective C, Java and Cordova,OutSystems, Apache CordovaXamarin - DEFINITELY worth the tryWe use Xamarin for cross-platform development. We like the idea of a code base sharing between platforms. Our apps are either built with Xamarin, or will be built with Xamarin. The problems it addresses is the amount of time and money it costs to have two full native applications.,Code sharing - I mean, you can do the work in half the time. Great way to release to multiple markets without having to write code twice. Robust - Basically anything you need on the OS level is available. Intuitive - Xamarin gives you the capability of a code share project, and then platform specific projects. You can communicate between the two and it makes it very nice to develop in.,Forms - not 100% there. Still needs work but is production ready. iOS - sometimes errors can be hard to understand, if they even show up. Insights - Xamarin offers their own crash analytics software. However, it's not perfect and sometimes doesn't pick up crashes.,9,Code Sharing - We were able to launch an Android implementation of our app within weeks after finishing iOS. The amount of time taken to develop a new platform is very small. Monetization - not the best, but definitely getting better. We've had issues with finding suitable ad networks that work with Xamarin.,Apache Cordova,Visual Studio IDE, Microsoft SQL Server
Unspecified
Xamarin
34 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Xamarin Reviews

Xamarin
34 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 34 vetted Xamarin reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-8 of 8)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Markus Hopfenspirger profile photo
March 01, 2018

Review: "Mobile cross platform develpoment with Xamarin saves time and money"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Xamarin is used to develop small mobile business apps for special customers. For example, we developed an app, where the user can download the data of customers including last service results and fill in a new service form; let the customer sign the form and send the form back to the office where it is approved and archived.
  • We save development time with Xamarin, because we use Xamarin Forms an so we can share most of the code over 3 platforms.
  • We can use our C# knowledge to develop iOS and Android Apps.
  • Xamarin's integration into Visual Studio is very good and became even better during the last releases of Visual Studio.
  • You still need a MacOS running on a Mac to debug and test and deploy the apps to Apple.
Xamarin is perfect for business apps. Developing games is probably better in native code. (But I have never developed games with xamarin.)
Read Markus Hopfenspirger's full review
Patrick Steger profile photo
December 22, 2017

User Review: "Xamarin rocks!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Xamarin Forms allows us to get a line of business apps written quickly that can be run on Android or iOS with minimal fuss.
  • Built into Visual Studio
  • Free
  • Cross platform
  • Few examples
Great for line of business applications. Not so great for cross-platform games (use something like Unity instead).
Read Patrick Steger's full review
David McCann profile photo
August 18, 2017

Review: "Xamarin: seamless C# .NET development for MacOS"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The product development team was building a cross-platform endpoint security product in C# .NET and all used MacBook Pros, so Xamarin was the IDE of choice. It addressed the problem of being able to develop the Linux and Mac versions of the product without having to have a Linux VM for Linux development and also made it possible to develop the cross-platform portions of the software natively on their Macs, rather than using a Windows VM. Only Windows-specific development and testing needed to be done within a VM. As a product development startup, all but one employee used Xamarin.
  • Good interactive debugger.
  • Built on Atom, many of the same useful functionality as the more generic editor.
  • Many good plugins for various other programming languages and other functionality.
  • Atom's multi-cursor plugin would be a welcome plugin to this IDE as well.
  • The online support could be further developed.
  • The application would occasionally crash.
Xamarin is definitely the best product to use for C# .NET programming on MacOS; for other uses it may not be the best IDE: different languages, different platforms, etc.
Read David McCann's full review
Siya Ul Haqu profile photo
December 11, 2017

"Xamarin Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Xamarin was used in a couple of projects by my organization. When it comes to faster development one should go for it. Yes, there are challenges but compared to developing two separate applications for the same purpose in different platforms this is the best choice. This application is better in performance compared to hybrid applications.
  • Native application
  • Code based to some extent. It is the same except specialized UI for different OS
  • Faster development compared to native application development.
  • teaching a Microsoft developers who has no experience in mobile application development is a challenge
  • Should be simpler for deployment to devices.
Business application its the best bet. For game-like applications, it may not be the best bet.
Read Siya Ul Haqu's full review
Jordan Max profile photo
April 04, 2017

User Review: "Xamarin - DEFINITELY worth the try"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Xamarin for cross-platform development. We like the idea of a code base sharing between platforms. Our apps are either built with Xamarin, or will be built with Xamarin. The problems it addresses is the amount of time and money it costs to have two full native applications.
  • Code sharing - I mean, you can do the work in half the time. Great way to release to multiple markets without having to write code twice.
  • Robust - Basically anything you need on the OS level is available.
  • Intuitive - Xamarin gives you the capability of a code share project, and then platform specific projects. You can communicate between the two and it makes it very nice to develop in.
  • Forms - not 100% there. Still needs work but is production ready.
  • iOS - sometimes errors can be hard to understand, if they even show up.
  • Insights - Xamarin offers their own crash analytics software. However, it's not perfect and sometimes doesn't pick up crashes.
Xamarin is great for any scenario, even if you don't utilize Xamarin Forms, which is the code sharing capability. But even if you just utilized the platform specific code, it's still all in C#. Makes it easy to not only maintain, but later hire developers who might not have any Xamarin experience to be able to come on board quickly and make an effect.
Read Jordan Max's full review
Calvin Fisher profile photo
April 17, 2017

Xamarin Review: "The only way to do mobile development"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I've been using Xamarin for 100% of my mobile work since 2012. In my current organization, we have a Xamarin mobile app for nearly all of our projects.
  • Sharing code with other parts of an application, including backend and web
  • Not having to re-write the same application multiple times
  • Not having to maintain multiple versions of the same application in parallel (features, bugfixes, etc.)
  • Getting to use C# and all of its wonderful features for mobile development
  • Xamarin could provide more recognition and support to those of us who have been with them since the beginning
I've introduced Xamarin to multiple organizations. Unless you have engineers who insist on not knowing C#, there are rarely any instances where it's not the best choice.
Read Calvin Fisher's full review
No photo available
April 04, 2017

User Review: "Xamarin - Sometimes Worth It"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As an independent consultant, I use Xamarin with many small companies. Often, they bring me on in the early stages to evaluate and recommend improvements to their mobile strategy. Xamarin addresses the business problem of speed and resources. With Xamarin, you can develop mobile apps faster as well as utilizing existing resources. Some companies may have existing .NET developers in which case Xamarin fits well and the learning curve of mobile is less because of the familiarity with .NET.
  • Xamarin allows you to write cross platform code. This allows companies to build apps more quickly by writing less code. Having code abstracted and reused across multiple platforms allows for more testing and less issues overall.
  • The ability to use Visual Studio is a huge plus. Visual Studio is one of the best IDE's available and being able to write cross platforms apps while in a great IDE makes everything less painful.
  • Xamarin is now free with a large company backing. This means that bugs on the platform get fixed more quickly and there is a large community of developers.
  • Having also done a lot of native mobile development, some of the IDE's features need to emulator their native counterparts. For example, trying to extract a string resource on Android in Xamarin Studio is painful. There are many useful tools in Android Studio that Xamarin should implement.
  • Xamarin will always be behind on native platform features. They must catch up when Apple and Google release new platform versions.
  • The biggest pain point is the random issues Xamarin continues to have. Having a large code base on top of a native platform makes it very difficult to debug issues. Every developer must decide if its an issue with Xamarin or the native platform. Bugs don't get fixed very quickly. Hopefully that will change with the Microsoft acquisition.
Xamarin is well suited for several reasons. The first, it allows companies to share code across platforms. If the app has a lot of business logic and a fairly simple UI, Xamarin is great for this use case. Xamarin also works well if the developers who will work on the app are already fluent in .NET.
Xamarin is less appropriate if the company has a lot of developers. If there are plenty of resources to develop apps natively then the headache of dealing with Xamarin's issues are not worth the effort. If the UI is very complex and has difficult animations it's difficult to debug visual/performance issues in Xamarin.
Read this authenticated review
amar khan profile photo
July 29, 2016

Xamarin Review: "Developer's god for cross platform mobile app"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Xamarin to develop cross-platform apps for taxi aggregation app in android, windows and IOS. It is used by my project team including android, IOS and Windows people to create applications in single code base, and it helped us to write quality code that runs consistently on different platorms
  • It allows us to develop apps using single codebase which runs on different platforms.
  • They need to work in providing quality support to customer queries
It is well suited when you have a single codebase, tight deadlines for the product release, and you have less developers to tackle the problems that can occur in testing and release level. It is less appropriate in situations where you want apps like system-level tasks which may not be allowed by Xamarin
Read amar khan's full review

About Xamarin

Xamarin Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No