Yardi Voyager Reviews

49 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-15 of 15)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
September 15, 2020
Maria Clara Daly | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as a CRM for a multi-site senior living organization spread across multiple states, to handle all our leads, move them through the sales funnel as well as connect and maintain the records once someone has moved in and ideally try to use it to track our marketing efforts as well as sales management/sales efforts.
  • Ability for manager to easily oversee/switch between communities
  • User permission throttling to ensure focused areas of access
  • Diverse custom reporting with several editable user fields available
  • In my experience there's a fairly steep learning curve for a new user to be able to navigate the system
  • While there's diverse functionality, many items seem buried in menus or obscure places, particularly the first time you're trying to find them
  • Getting used to the refresh functionality in some parts of the system can be challenging if you're used to a system that automatically updates when new filters are applied
I think it really depends on what you're looking to get out of the system. In terms of managing, updating, creating, and following prospect records, Yardi Voyager is absolutely fantastic. There are a number of existing API integrations already on the market that can connect into the record, and I commissioned a custom one to be built to work with the website that seems on the whole to work fairly flawlessly, so long as your community codes aren't regularly changing. That said, you definitely need to do strong onboarding with anyone coming into the system, particularly if they have limited former CRM experience. There's a great opportunity to input (and aggregate reports) from multiple facets of the system, but if people are inputting poor data, or missing it entirely, or you haven't formalized an even plan for things like Source and Sub Source then even the best system is likely to end up disappointing you and your stockholders when it comes time to analyze data. But, when used properly I'm impressed with how robust it is.
As mentioned in an earlier part of my review, the support is stunning. I'm one of those people who always try to problem solve on my own and the available documentation library is incredibly helpful and very easy to search/navigate. However, whenever I've needed to actually contact a support individual, I've received prompt replies and been sourced to the appropriate type of person to answer my query.
Read Maria Clara Daly's full review
September 17, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used for real estate within our company. It is used by accountants, those that work at the apartment complex (maintenance and office staff), as well as upper-level managers that need and use the reports. The platform is the core of our business and managing real estate without Yardi (or one of their competitors) would be nearly impossible at scale.
  • Reporting is very well done
  • Accounting controls and stability of the system
  • Purchase orders and invoicing
  • Look and feel of the product
  • Cost of customer service and help
  • Confusing layout - sometimes hard to find the feature or section you are looking for.
  • Odd tech requirements for check scanners, running their product in certain browsers, etc.
Yardi Voyager is well suited for an organization with a large portfolio. Being an industry standard, most employees within the industry will be able to use the product right away. Any new employees to the industry will have some issues learning the product as it has a steeper learning curve than some other accounting systems and platforms. You need a large portfolio to support the admin setup and maintenance of the system, as it can be confusing and takes a lot of time.

Being so robust is fantastic if you want a standard look and robust feel to reporting.
Written documentation and support can be limited and confusing. The search feature is not as robust as a lot of other products. In-person support can very helpful if you find the right support rep.
Read this authenticated review
September 16, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used in our multi-housing department for all aspects or renting and community member management. It allows for the efficient management of rent collections, delinquency, renewals, personal information,
current vacancy and vacancy projections. It is also helpful in managing prospect data from the i initial call through becoming a resident.
  • Rent collection
  • Lease Management
  • Resident history
  • Ease of data access
  • Ease of adhoc report creation
  • Ease of custom resident email creation
Voyager is well suited when your company has deployed industry standard and has very few customizations. The product is fantastic out of the box in terms of scope or features and functionality. It’s weak in terms of allowing customization and fairly inflexible in allowing direct access to your data so that you can get a raw data dump to pivot in another application.
The local office is very knowledgeable, however recently it seems that Yardi has begun to route calls offshore and the knowledge base there does not seem to be as strong as the USA based support centers. All customizations are done by offshore personnel, which presents issues in terms of the language barrier and time zone differences.
Read this authenticated review
March 26, 2020
Charlene Crehan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The whole organization. We are a property management company. Leasing, Managers, Owner, Regional, Accounting, Business Office all use the Yardi Voyager.
  • Resident information
  • Accounting information
  • Guest card and following prospect pipeline
  • Rent roll
  • Lease changes
  • It's alright the way it is.
Yardi Voyager is well suited for resident calls for work orders and they are easy to track. Rent amounts and charges are easy to find.
I love Yardi Voyager and its features. It is very user-friendly. I highly recommend it for any property management company.
Read Charlene Crehan's full review
May 26, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Voyager is used by our Property Management and Accounting departments. We use it for rent payments, state and federal compliance and general accounting.
  • State and Federal Compliance
  • Rent Control
  • General accounting
  • User interface could use a face lift
  • Updated web technologies
  • User self service for maintaining profile
Voyager does a good job of keeping us in compliance with various federal and state agencies. It is also strong in rent control, payment processing including checks, direct deposits and credit card transactions.
We've been using it for several years and I hear very little negative feed back from dozens of users across three to four different departments.
Read this authenticated review
April 02, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Yardi Voyager across our organization for AR, AP, and Maintenance. Having a single database for our properties and entities allows us a lot of flexibility in reporting and assigning access to users as it supports single sign-on software. We also gain efficiencies in our payable process by leveraging the PayScan and Procure to Pay module.
  • Yardi Voyager allows us to customize menu sets and provide multiple roles for users.
  • There are several reporting options from novice level to advanced offered.
  • Voyager 7s is a stable platform.
  • Would like to see an Android and iOS app that is specifically geared toward accounting functions.
Yardi Voyager is well suited for advanced accounting functions such as Intercompany for receivables and payables and complex management fee calculations.
While an international company such as Yardi can provide an extensive amount of support resources there can be times when an issue we are experiencing does not get resolved in a timely manner as we may be the only client reporting it.
Read this authenticated review
November 16, 2017
Sondrah Laden | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses Yardi Property Management for our on site property operations, as well as, our back end accounting. It is our solution for all property management, including service/facilities management, our CRM and resident records. It allows us to do all functions of property management from entering prospect traffic, to residency tasks, e.g. posting rent, sending letters etc... to move-out. We process our invoices through Yardi and use it for our expense control.
  • Reporting in Yardi is really strong, especially the financial reporting.
  • Yardi also is good at versatility when it comes to finding information - you can locate data in many ways and output in many forms.
  • Yardi is pretty seamless with allowing you to switch from property to property.
  • Yardi PM is not intuitive. Even for savvy computer users, until you get to know it, it is not an easy platform.
  • It freezes fairly often on us.
  • Yardi's solutions and steps for some processes are cumbersome and again, not intuitive, so you have to ask someone with experience for help.
Yardi Property Management is very well suited for companies that want in depth and easy to use financial reporting without needing multiple CPAs. It has solid back-end accounting functionality and the reporting is great. Yardi would not be appropriate for a company whose front line employees are luddites with computers and don't easily pick things up. It is just too hard.
Read Sondrah Laden's full review
August 01, 2017
Alison Clark | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Yardi is used by the account and finance departments. It is mainly used for financial reporting, A/P, A/R, and to track property costs.
  • Compiles A/P and invoices well - can easily review payments and pull prior invoices through many different modules depending on your need.
  • It is user-friendly once you are aware of how to navigate and find each module.
  • Financial reporting is a breeze and can be altered specifically to meet your needs.
  • Navigating can be a little difficult at times. You definitely need training to find what you are looking for, and the many capabilities are buried within the many modules.
  • I wish it were more seamless to import data from Excel rather than keying it all in.
  • It has a few minor technical difficulties when multiple users are working on the same thing and does not warn you that multiple people are accessing the same thing.
It is perfect for development and property management simultaneously. The many different modules and roles that Yardi offers allow for data to be seamlessly translated as the property is developed then leased.
Read Alison Clark's full review
August 01, 2017
Suzanne Crockett | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Yardi Voyager 7s to effectively track revenue and expenses related to our managed properties. We manage approximately 30 properties around central Kentucky. Yardi is utilized as our accounting system, helping us track and report all property-related expenses and revenue on behalf of the property landlords that we service. We also utilize Yardi to track tenant, vendor, and property insurance policy information.
  • Tenant rent payments tracking - system allows us to effectively track rent payments made by tenants. Templates for tenant account statements, tenant ledgers, etc,. are available within Yardi, which makes it very easy to communicate tenant account status upon request.
  • Vendor payment tracking - system easily integrates with our third-party vendor payment system, allowing us to effectively track all vendor payments seamlessly from one system to the other. Vendors are paid in a timely manner and all payment information is stored within Yardi, making the generation of 1099 docs at year-end very easy.
  • Insurance Policy tracking - system easily tracks insurance policy information for vendors, tenants, and properties. Ticker lists are automatically updated and give notice to system administrators that policies are due for renewal.
  • The configuration of correspondence templates is a little cumbersome and Yardi support for establishing templates comes at a steep cost.
  • Yardi updates have caused us several issues in the past - we integrated to a new system recently and had established some customized operations -when an update occurred, we lost all the customized functions and were reset to factory standard. It took about 2 weeks to restore full functionality after the update.
  • The knowledgebase for Yardi clients (Client Central) is vast, but finding documentation on specific tasks is cumbersome. Sometimes it takes reviewing multiple source docs (that are 100s of pages long) before you find exactly what you are looking for.
Yardi Property Management is well-suited for companies managing multiple properties with a broad base of expenses and revenue to account for. I think the size of the company needs to justify the investment in the product. Yardi is not so well-suited to smaller operations, who would be able to function with QuickBooks or some other, less nuanced, system.
Read Suzanne Crockett's full review
August 01, 2017
Ari Strauss | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Yardi is our core accounting and resident management system. Every aspect of our business is recorded and analyzed through Yardi. We also use many of Yardi's ancillary products such as Mobile Maintenance, Concierge, Rent Cafe, and Construction Management. Every employee in the company touches Yardi in some form or fashion every day.
  • Yardi is a great accounting program. Its wide variety of report formats and its ability to support custom reports is very impressive.
  • Yardi is an effective in taking community staff through an easy-to-navigate workflow of lease prospect to occupied resident.
  • Yardi allows a wide array of customization so you can adjust it to the needs of your particular company.
  • Yardi began as a core accounting program and added ancillary products and services along the way in a haphazard manner. Some of these ancillary products do not integrate in a comprehensive or intuitive way.
  • Yardi Concierge is a cumbersome and clumsy product. Yardi could do a better job in coaching hardware integration and product training.
  • Yardi could use a fresh web-based interface with more dashboard analytical tools.
Yardi Voyager, the core accounting and resident management component, is superb. It is well suited to manage all accounting needs including generating reports for investors and auditors alike. Yardi's weakness is the way it integrates with its ancillary products. Each product has been added to the suite as Yardi acquires software properties, and it doesn't always integrate in an efficient comprehensive way. Another result of this phenomenon is that each product has its own dedicated support team, so when you run into a problem, it is hard to navigate to the right source of support.
Read Ari Strauss's full review
August 01, 2017
Aaron Abraham | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Yardi Property Management was used across the entire property management organization of nearly 100 employees. Yardi was able to combine all of our 3500 single family rental houses into a single application that provided resident and maintenance management functionality. We further used the application to process resident payments and issue automatic emails when residents were past due.
  • Maintenance Management is a very strong point of this application. The mobile app and web interface make tracking maintenance requests a breeze
  • The ability to integrate Yardi Property Management with the other modules offered by the company allowed us to have residents in the system from application to approval and move in.
  • Payment processing was a huge help. We were able to process credit card and check payments easily and quickly.
  • The support direct from the company left a lot to be desired. If and when they did get back with you, it was usually unhelpful or too late.
  • All of the various modules can be confusing, and some do not integrate easily with the Yardi core. Even the Property Management module is vast and could require specialized knowledge to implement.
  • Yardi very often performs serve maintenance without notice to their customers. Generally they assume the maintenance will be seamless, but it very often is not.
Yardi Property Management is well suited to all kinds of rental housing situations. With their recent upgrades, the single family rental housing section is becoming far more useful. Up until recently, managing single family houses was challenging as the software expected each physical address to contain multiple residences. This lead to a very messy interface, and some difficulty.
Read Aaron Abraham's full review
November 15, 2017
Stella Lee | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Yardi has been used across the whole organization.
  • You can view information of numerous properties at one dashboard.
  • It is very user friendly, and all reports can be downloaded to well-formatted Excel worksheets.
  • Easy to set up, easy to use and at the same time generates complicated and consolidated reports.
  • Yardi Genesis is not compatible with Yardi p-scan, which is a huge minus.
Cloud based, manager can access Yardi anywhere with all kinds of devices.

From time to time, it is running slow.
Read Stella Lee's full review
June 20, 2017
Jennifer Small | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Several of our clients utilize Yardi. Our company must log in each month to upload monthly billings to each project.
  • Easy to navigate
  • Easy to upload
  • Easy to find previous uploads
  • Easy access
  • I have no complaints about the software
It is great for project management during construction.
Read Jennifer Small's full review
August 01, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Yardi is used by my company mainly as a way of evaluating clients real estate assets and property management needs. It is used only by our consultancy department and specifically the project management team. It addresses the problems of cash flow analysis, managing property expenses, and evaluating future budgeting needs and accounting line item organization.
  • Yardi Property Management particularly excels at creating a system where it is easy to leave feedback for property managers because the data is available up front.
  • Yardi is also a useful tool at integrating property management across the entire platform. It can be used for asset management as well even for the most nitty gritty details.
  • It is also convenient to edit expenses inputted by the accounting department and managing those expenses forward for future budgeting.
  • Yardi is not particularly user friendly. Each function needs time and practice in order to execute properly, and instructions are not particularly clear sometimes.
  • The licensing can be challenging as it is very restrictive, even with multiple open licenses across a company.
  • Files have a tendency to be corrupted easily.
Yardi is very well suited to evaluating the property management aspect of a real estate asset. It is best used as a tool for budgeting and expense management. One of the most challenging aspects of asset management is being able to budget for property managers correctly. Yardi makes this process much more simple. Yardi, however, is not as useful when it comes to modelling unique real estate assets. There is very little simulation that the program offers.
Read this authenticated review
November 17, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We went through a smaller property management firm using simple Yardi one user site programs, to the full-blown Voyager in which we were able to use it across our whole division interchangeably. This solves our ability to have multiple users working on the account at once when needed.
  • Very strong for facilities management, being able to detail time and cost expenditures and identify problems is huge!
  • Budget and collection reports are easily readable and update from the data quickly and efficiently.
  • Leasing is difficult for users not familiar with the software; needs to be more intuitive.
  • Having to generate reports for renewals through Crystal instead of being able to just view a date range or screen slows down the process.
Well suited for owners or regional mangers who need to check it and have data quick at hand. Small single owned buildings this is not a fit for.
Read this authenticated review

What is Yardi Voyager?

Yardi Voyager provides residential and commercial property management software. Capabilities include integrated accounting, lease renewal workflow, and modules for multi-family, senior, and affordable housing, as well as retail, office and industrial units.

The company was founded in 1984 and has 4,000 employees and 35 offices around the world.

Yardi Voyager Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No