Zabbix Reviews

95 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-17 of 17)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
October 25, 2019
Ricardo Melo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Zabbix was adopted in our framework due to the value, the hardware requirements, the knowledge we had available and the vast documentation on the internet.
Read Ricardo Melo's full review
September 17, 2019
Eduardo Viero | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Although we still use Cisco Prime for network devices, when comparing Zabbix with Nagios, for example, you see that Zabbix is more robust, stable, easy to deploy and has an enterprise focus that other tools don't have. Also, the fact that the Zabbix community is very active is also a relevant point in favor of it. You can count on the community to help you a lot.
Read Eduardo Viero's full review
December 05, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We're using Munin in parallel to Zabbix, mostly out of legacy reasons. While Munin in the version used here only allows static graphs through image-files, Zabbix clearly wins here with the option to zoom in and out.
I used Nagios many years ago and it was quite similar to Zabbix. Since I haven't used it in a while, I don't know how it compares currently.
Read this authenticated review
June 20, 2019
Thomas Higgins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Most of the SolarWinds are separated out, whereas Zabbix includes templates and capabilities for all of them out of the box. Other solutions listed include most or all of them to varying degrees as well.

New Relic is more for Application Monitoring, but the New Relic Infrastructure is a direct competitor. Datadog and Zenoss Cloud are similar. In all cases, infrastructure monitoring is both stronger and cheaper using Zabbix. It is also available on-prem, whereas these other options are not. However, the application side is better for New Relic and Datadog. Have not used Zenoss Cloud to determine it's strength in Application monitoring.

For SolarWinds (all components), WhatsUpGold, and PRTG Network Monitor, Zabbix is an equal competitor. It is cheaper up front, with no recurring subscription or renewal costs (though there are support costs if you choose to purchase it). It can be more difficult, especially compared to WhatsUpGold, which is the easiest to use of all of them (and least flexible). Overall, it is a question of where your money is spent moreso than how much with any of these options.

Nagios is FOSS software as well, but much more difficult to get to a usable state. Once in place, it is probably equal to Zabbix for maintaining.

Finally, Dynatrace is by far the best solution, but it is at a significant price over and above the other options available. It was just too expensive for us to consider our needs.


Read Thomas Higgins's full review
July 24, 2018
Eric O'Callaghan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I personally prefer Zabbix over any other monitoring software that I have ever tried. Zabbix is so customizable that if there is a feature I need, I can easily implement it. I can then add that feature to a template in no time and have it applied to hundreds, or even thousands, of other servers. The performance of Zabbix and its ability to use proxy servers to gather data and report back to a primary node is also rather unique in my experience. Zabbix, being self-hosted, rather than a cloud solution, also prevents latency or routing issues from generating false alerts.
Read Eric O'Callaghan's full review
July 25, 2018
Steve Mushero | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Zabbix was much better at handling traditional systems, and in ease of customization, both in the system itself, and customizing data sources, such as adding deep MySQL or JMX integrations. It's very good for organizing large-scale (hundreds or thousands of servers) systems; its security system is very good at separating teams, customers, etc. Also very good support, forums, etc.
Read Steve Mushero's full review
March 27, 2017
Deepshikha Gandhi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Nagios has some advantages over Zabbix like "flapping" detection and multiple alert levels - Error, Warning and OK.
However, the disadvantages of Nagios like needing an addon (NRPE) to monitor remote system internals (open files, running processes, memory, etc), no charting of monitored values (different systems like "Cacti" or "Nagiosgraph" can be bolted on) and the web interface being read only, we decided to go for Zabbix because of the extra features it provides when stacked up against Nagios.
Read Deepshikha Gandhi's full review
April 24, 2017
Josh Quint | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

More extensive and customizable than SaaS solutions. Much less learning curve than Nagios. Cost is very much lower than SaaS monitoring especially at scales over 1000 hosts ($15,000/month for SaaS!!) Templating systems allows for easy management and monitoring of groups of similar hosts. Not as 'pretty' as SaaS providers, but much more customizable.
Read Josh Quint's full review
December 11, 2015
Nadir Wade | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Nagios will always be at or near the top, but I really like how sleek Zabbix is. Also, once it's up and running its really helps keep things in order for you and your customers. As for PandoraFMS, it would have beat out Zabbix, but the documentation on PandoraFMS is really lacking.
Read Nadir Wade's full review
July 25, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Zabbix is a great, free solution. While not everything is discovered and configured out of the box, it is a powerful tool that allows for complete customization to what your organization needs as far as a monitoring solution. We've invested the time to make Zabbix powerful, and while it doesn't upgrade or maintain itself, it continues to demonstrate a positive ROI compared to off the shelf tools.
Read this authenticated review
April 04, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Zabbix had the best support for the devices I initially had in my network, its ability to adapt and change has made it my Swiss Army knife of monitoring tools. While it could benefit greatly from a moderated zabbix community, its support from the open source community has filled the whole rather well.
Read this authenticated review
December 01, 2015
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have had feedback that Splunk is a more out-of-the-box solution. With some fine tuning, it is possible to get the same robust functionality from a Logstash and Zabbix integration. The setup is more taxing, but you avoid paying the costly Splunk fees. So it all really depends on the organizations goals and how they currently invest in monitoring.
Read this authenticated review
December 01, 2015
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I'm mostly familiar with Zabbix, but I've also started working with OpenNMS more recently. It appears that they're very comparable, the major difference being that OpenNMS supports SNMP Traps natively and can import MIBs which I was never able to figure out with Zabbix. Like I've said earlier, Zabbix worked great for me in a small/medium business where I had time to carefully craft templates for each of the few makes/models we were using, but when looking at a large enterprise I've had better luck with OpenNMS where we can just import the manufacturer provided MIBs, but that also comes at a cost where as far as I know you don't have some of the advantages of the Zabbix Agent running on the host itself and the additional flexibility that comes along with that.

In summary Zabbix's main strength comes from the fact that if you can script it you can monitor it, but that also comes at a cost since you have to be willing to put in the time to get everything setup just the way you want it. The competition seems to be easier to setup/start using out of the box, but Zabbix in my experience is more flexible. So depending on your needs choose the solution that best fits your needs.
Read this authenticated review
December 01, 2015
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The choice was made about 6 years ago, but nothing recent has called that into question. I don't really remember the details of the original choice.
Read this authenticated review

What is Zabbix?

Zabbix is an open-source network performance monitoring software. The core program is free, with paid support from the vendor. It provides out-of-the-box templates from Zabbix and community developers. Zabbix includes network health measurements, including memory utilization, packet loss rate, and predictive trends in bandwidth usage and downtimes. These measurements can be adjusted using custom thresholds for network health and security issue alerts.


Zabbix also offers automation capabilities, including automatic network detection, configuration management, and report generation. It also enables remote and scripted remediation efforts when an issue is detected. The open-source format of the software is designed to support customization by users and the community.

Zabbix Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No