Zenefits

Zenefits

Score 6.1 out of 10
Zenefits

Overview

What is Zenefits?

Zenefits is a free, cloud-based core-HR platform. It primarily services small to mid-sized businesses and provides time management and benefits administration capabilities.
Read more

Recent Reviews

Zenefits Review

1 out of 10
April 29, 2022
We are a small company that had yearly subscription. Signed up in April,2021, transitioned over 2 months and decided to discontinue using …
Continue reading

What Support?

3 out of 10
March 11, 2022
We use (yes, I am a current customer) it as our all-encompassing HR platform. Their support team and turnaround time on issues are …
Continue reading

Best payroll system

10 out of 10
November 13, 2021
We use Zenefits for Onboaring/offboarding, payroll, benefits, PTO, HR, etc. Every employee uses zenefits for their pay and PTO. …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 48 features
  • Update personal information (131)
    5.6
    56%
  • View and generate pay and benefit information (125)
    4.8
    48%
  • View company policy documentation (118)
    4.2
    42%
  • Organization and location management (119)
    4.0
    40%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Zenefits, and make your voice heard!

Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Essentials

$8

Cloud
per employee/per month

Growth

$14

Cloud
per employee/per month

Zen

$21

Cloud
per employee/per month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.zenefits.com/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services
Return to navigation

Product Demos

Move Yourself with The Zenefits Mobile App
00:52
How This Tile Company Improved Employee Experience with Zenefits
02:42
How an Arizona Marketing Agency Uses Zenefits to Gain an Edge in Efficiency
02:38
Return to navigation

Features

Human Resource Management

Organizing, tracking and providing instant access to critical employee data, job profiles, transfers, promotions, and benefits information.

5.1Avg 8.0

Payroll Management

Provides for pay calculation and benefit plan administration, in addition to managing direct deposit, salary revisions and payroll tracking.

5Avg 8.1

Leave and Attendance Management

Streamlines communication between HR and employees and facilitates efficient management of employee leave including requisitions, approvals, balance calculation, and annual carry-forward.

5.2Avg 8.2

Employee Self Service

Employee portal allowing employees to view and update their personal information.

4.6Avg 8.2

Asset Management

Maintaining a record of assets such as laptops, pagers, cell phones, etc. issued to employees. Record typically includes asset type, number, serial number and date of issuance.

1.2Avg 7.9

HR Reporting

Pre-built and custom reports, and integration with external data.

3.7Avg 7.7

Onboarding

Employee onboarding is the process of orienting new hires to the social and performance aspects of their jobs so that they are able to function in their new roles as quickly as possible.

6.1Avg 8.0

Performance and Goals

Goal alignment is the practice of ensuring that all employees have clearly defined goals in support of the overall corporate strategy.

7.9Avg 8.2

Performance Management

Performance management is the process of ensuring employees meet pre-determined objectives and goals through regular check-ins and appraisals.

4.2Avg 8.0

Succession Planning

Succession planning is the identification and development of internal employees with the potential to fill key business leadership positions in the company.

8Avg 7.9

Recruiting / ATS

Recruiting or Applicant Tracking Software is software used to manage the recruitment process electronically by handling job postings, applicant status, resume management, etc.

7.8Avg 7.7
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Zenefits?

Zenefits is a SaaS cloud-based human resources platform that, according to the vendor, helps more than 11,000 small and mid-sized companies empower their workforce, manage change, and stay compliant. Zenefits' People Platform aims to deliver a comprehensive, intuitive HR experience in the market. The vendor's HR, Benefits, Payroll and Performance apps combine with advisory services and tightly integrated partner apps to help companies simplify HR administration – reducing paperwork and complexity so companies can focus on starting, running and growing their businesses.

Zenefits Screenshots

Screenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of HR ManagementScreenshot of HR ManagementScreenshot of HR ManagementScreenshot of Benefits AdminScreenshot of Benefits AdminScreenshot of PayrollScreenshot of PayrollScreenshot of PayrollScreenshot of Payroll

Zenefits Videos

Move Yourself with The Zenefits Mobile App
How This Tile Company Improved Employee Experience with Zenefits
How an Arizona Marketing Agency Uses Zenefits to Gain an Edge in Efficiency

Zenefits Competitors

Zenefits Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported LanguagesEnglish

Frequently Asked Questions

Zenefits is a free, cloud-based core-HR platform. It primarily services small to mid-sized businesses and provides time management and benefits administration capabilities.

Namely, Gusto, and BambooHR are common alternatives for Zenefits.

Reviewers rate Candidate development and Notifications and Alerts highest, with a score of 8.2.

The most common users of Zenefits are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews

(1-25 of 141)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Zenefits still runs payroll with reasonable success and fluidity, but in my opinion, the company, on the whole, has gone downhill. The product is stagnant and still lacks key features like support for R&D tax credits. In my experience, the customer service has gotten horrible; we transitioned to Gusto, and multiple Zenefits employees assured us our Q3 taxes would be refunded (not sent to the government)... of course, they were wrong and misled us into double paying our taxes. I would NOT recommend the product at this point.
  • Automated payroll
  • Customer service
  • Offboarding
  • Product velocity
  • Helping small businesses
At this point, it's best suited for convincing me to go to Gusto.
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We implemented Zenefits for our HR administration, Payroll, and used their 401k integration.
  • Ignoring your emails
  • Messing up taxes
  • Answering customers
  • Responding to emails
Zenefits might be good for a small company with a few employees. We did have issues with their customer service. We ended up leaving Zenefits because of it. Zenefits has refused to help us with a tax issue. Zenefits filed our taxes, and we got a letter stating there was a discrepancy. Today marks over 300 days since Zenefits acknowledged they received the letter from the IRS, but it is still unresolved. I haven't even been able to get a response from them. They do not have a phone number to call, and I have since sent emails weekly for 7 weeks, and no one will respond to my emails. This company is beyond frustrating.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Zenefits is primarily used for payroll management and processing, issuing year-end tax documents to staff and contractors, HR and onboarding documents, and management / tracking of PTO. It is used for all staff (and, gradually, all contractors) across our whole organization. Previously, we used a 3rd party accounting firm for payroll, and streamlining it with Zenefits has saved time and reduced errors.
  • Payroll processing
  • Issuing year-end tax documents
  • Vacation tracking for employees that are less than 1 FTE is a little tricky -- required more manual math on my end than I would have ideally liked
  • Customer service can be a little slow to respond when we submit a ticket about an issue
As a nonprofit organization, we always have to be mindful of operating expenses. With Zenefits, it seemed like a big expense at first, but the amount of time I have saved on dealing with HR / onboarding and payroll processing has far outweighed the cost for our organization. It's also especially helpful at tax time when I have a bunch of contractors that I need to issue 1099s for. I think for small organizations of just a few people, it probably has more functionality than what you need, but once your payroll is over 10-15 people, and/or you have a lot of short-term staff, staff with irregular hours, etc. it is really helpful.
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Getting support is nearly impossible I believe. We received a tax notice in March of 2022 and I am still emailing them once a week for an update on the case. It has not been resolved and all my emails go unanswered I've found. They make it impossible to call, chat or email a direct person so you just have to keep emailing the support email and wait 3 months for a response I've found. Any instance where we have needed support has been an absolute nightmare in my view.
  • Making it difficult to get support, I believe.
  • Getting support, I've found
  • Support response times.
  • Access to an actual person to talk to, I've found.
This software is good if everything always goes smoothly and you never need support. But if they mess up your taxes and you open a ticket I hope you have several months to get a response and it's not urgent in my opinion.
April 29, 2022

Zenefits Review

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We are a small company that had yearly subscription. Signed up in April,2021, transitioned over 2 months and decided to discontinue using the Zenefits on Dec, 2021
  • Sales
  • Setting Expectation
  • Lack of US Based Support
  • Timelines of Support - from my experience, you should expect 5-14 days delay in response and that may not include a resolution
  • Helping user to manage their own subscription
Background: Core-CSI is a small disadvantage business that support US Govt. customers. Back in 2021 we transitioned from then our payroll provider to Zenefits an online platform to do payroll and benefits management. Zenefits offered monthly and yearly plans and since the yearly plans carried additional discounts. We onboarding with Zenefits in 19th April, 2021 we realized that we were oversold by the tool does not have US based support nor the support we requested was timely. It took us next 3 months to get our account stable but being a Govt contractor we needed support to continue to stay compliance with regulations and made the determination to discontinue using the Zenefits by November, 21 and we transited to the new HR, Payroll Platform on January 1st, 2022. Current Status: On April 5th, 2022 (14 days prior to renewal) formally requested to cancel our subscription and on 04/21 the representative responses back that they will go ahead and process automatic payments because Core-CSI (we) did not provide them ample heads up, hence $1032.00 was charged on 04/19
March 11, 2022

What Support?

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use (yes, I am a current customer) it as our all-encompassing HR platform. Their support team and turnaround time on issues are absolutely horrible in my opinion. HORRIBLE! If you are considering Zenefits, I would look at Gusto or another saas platform. I have had to sit on hold for 45 mins to up to an hour or more just to talk to a support human. If you send your question via email - in my experience, it could be up to a week before you get an answer and usually, they send you a help link. If I could attach print screens to show my hold time for support issues, I would! It is beyond frustrating!
  • Submitting payroll is super user-friendly (just cross your fingers you don't have an issue).
  • The mobile app is great.
  • Support team response time
  • Train the support team so they know how the heck to fix/support issues
  • Have the support team actually answer the phone
  • Have the support team respond at all!
The mobile app platform is user-friendly for sure. If you need to contact the support team - from my experience, you will wait and wait, and then you will not get a resolution until days later, if at all.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Zenefits has been an excellent platform. We utlilize it for all onboarding, time off management, benefits management, and it syncs with our payroll platform. In most uses it has been extremely user friendly and a pleasure to work with. This year I did have a few challenges with setting up vacation rules and it was difficult to reach a live agent as you have to go through several screens to get to the point where they will connect you with an agent. At that point the agent was very helpful and assisted me with great professionalism!
  • Manage new hires
  • Track time off
  • Onboarding
  • Live customer service access
It is very user friendly and is most cases functions extremely well.
November 13, 2021

Best payroll system

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Zenefits for Onboaring/offboarding, payroll, benefits, PTO, HR, etc. Every employee uses zenefits for their pay and PTO. Administrators and operations staff use it for all applications. Personally I use it most frequently for payroll. Having close to 300 employees can make it a challenging task, but the software is so user friendly that uploading it all is a breeze and then all deductions, contributions, taxes, etc. is taken care of from there.
  • Payroll
  • PTO
  • Benefits
  • Paystubs should be available to view from the employees profile
  • Rehiring a terminated employee shouldn't require calling the company
Zenefits is really great for running payroll, documenting employee information, PTO balances and requests, and benefits.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Zenefits used by the whole organization, even with the acquisition of two other companies, Zenefits made it easy to integrate our data into this people platform!
  • Reporting
  • Benefits Administration
  • Hiring
  • Business Administration has had glitches with our Healthcare provider
  • Pay Connect reporting would more helpful with dates to identify specific time period changes occurred
  • Zenefits does not guide user to Banks and Paychecks for Direct Deposit completion
One example where Zenefits excels in is the Hiring portion. If an employer is using a recruiting platform, it integrates with Zenefits to hire the candidate seamlessly. It imports all the necessary data into the information boxes as needed to hire easily!
November 12, 2021

Zenefits!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Zenefits for payroll and insurance purposes. It works very very well for what we use it for. I clock in and out using the mobile app every day and love the convenience of it. Also, whenever I have any insurance or benefits questions I know I can find the resources I need and where I need to find them.
  • New insurance information is easy to access
  • Clocking in and out is very easy
  • Very secure and user friendly
  • Take a picture when you clock in and out from phone
  • Accessing third party information
I am traveling a lot for work and it is very easy to clock in and out from my cell phone. I love finding all of my personal information in one place, I can find my time off requests, pay stubs, and insurance info all in one convenient spot. They always ask for some security feature to access which is very nice.
  • no training
Very user-friendly and reliable.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Air Comm uses Zenefits for employees to access, update, and manage payroll information. The helps employees to have real-time access to their HR documents to make last-minute changes or obtain necessary documents.
  • User friendly
  • Responsive with questions
  • Secure
  • Allow for live tax forms and immediate updates to tax information from the app
I was applying for a personal loan on a Saturday afternoon and had [forgotten] to get copies of previous years' taxes and previous paystubs. Luckily I was able to log into Zenefits and get all the documentation I needed and forwarded [it] to the necessary parties.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I am an employee who uses Zenefits and it was a great experience. The platform was very user-friendly and easy to navigate. WE used Zenefits as our whole organization and it addressed all of our HR needs. <br><br>I would suggest using Zenefits for anyone looking for a new platform.
  • User Interface
  • Easy Navigation
  • Easy to maintain and keep track of all needs.
  • Support
I was needing to find my benefits from my company and had no clue what I had and Zenefits with it's easy navigation, I was able to find my way to the correct section.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
This is great! great! HR software.Coming from an employee user, it is so easy to see all my pay stubs and tax info. It's super user-friendly and I enjoyed using it. Being able to pull your financial reports from their app makes life much easier. They present the data in a easy to read way.<br><br>I highly recommend it to all HR departments.
  • Present my Pay Stubs
  • Show me my taxes on each paycheck
  • Easy to use software
  • Better homescreen
  • Send more updates on any changes
  • Send the pay stub email as soon as I get paid
IT works very well for the everyday employee who wants to be able to keep track of all their payments and l their tax info. I really enjoyed the email updates the software sends that remind me it's payday! The software does a great job of showing all my financial information displayed on each pay stub.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Zenefits is used across the whole organization for HR/Payroll/
  • Their timecards are easy to read and use
  • It intertwines multiple different areas of business
  • The ability to clock in from multiple locations
  • Being able to upload payroll hours when you want to prior to payroll dead line
It makes HR/Payroll very easy and user friendly. Is a cost effective strategy to HR.
November 08, 2021

Highly recommend Zenefits

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Zenefits is used to manage our companies daily time keeping, employee time off and insurance benefits.
  • Time keeping
  • Personal Time off
  • Insurance Benefits
  • Direct link to personal insurance card
  • Allow employees to directly edit missed time punches
It is an easy-to-use, one-stop app that embodies many different HR/Payroll components. It cuts down on unnecessary conversations with said departments because it gives employee's a transparent view of hours worked, PTO and insurance benefits.
  • no training
The support we receive from Zenefits is great. Whether it is an internal issue with time keeping, or just tracking down individual insurance cards, Zenefits always finds a solution for our employees.
November 03, 2021

Zenefits is Great!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Our entire company is using Zenefits for multiple functions. It has a wide variety of capabilities and is user-friendly for everyone. I also used this platform in my previous job and it's great to use every time. I'm not very tech-savvy in this new digital age. This gives me the peace of mind and tools to access all my needs within the workplace. Great platform!
  • Insurance Benefits
  • Payroll
  • Requesting time off
  • News Updates
  • Customer Service Poral
  • More Tools
Zenefits is a great platform that has many aspects of employee needs in one place. It makes it easy to see pay stubs, edit personal information, see tax information, and even request time off. It keeps the employees in mind, making this very useful for the workers. Has everything that is important to use in one place. Also, it being super easy to use, I would recommend this to any colleague.
November 03, 2021

Zenefits Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It is used across the whole organization. It allows us to retrieve all of our benefits information very easily. Gives us information when It comes to our pay as well. We are able to access It via our cell phones if we are on the go and it is very responsive.
  • Health insurance
  • Dental insurance
  • Payment information
  • Website could look a little better, it's kind of plain
It is very easy to get all your information when It comes to benefits and at my previous job It was not as easy and would always have to ask HR for information. Zenefits allows for me to look for all the information I need from my laptop or my cell phone.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Zenefits is used as the HR platform for our company across the whole organization. It tracks each employee's time off, PTO, hours worked and our insurance benefits. The app is very user-friendly and easy to use especially when looking up our medical and dental insurance. It provides any additional information for those said insurance companies in one location. My favorite aspect of this app is the time clock function as it is all done remotely from the app on my phone.
  • Time clock function-- easy to use and never lags
  • The insurance portion has all of the pertinent information in one location
  • Allows you to track your hours and is updated in real time
  • I would like to be able to download our individual insurance card in the app
  • Make adjustments to missed punches on the time clock feature
  • Have to email HR manager to have time clocked changed.
We have used many different HR platforms at this company and it is nice that this is a one-stop app that consolidates all many aspects of HR into one. I can't think of a scenario where this would be less appropriate because this app is truly extremely user-friendly and requires zero to no training at all in order to have success using this app.
November 01, 2021

Zenefits is a time saver

Mi-Hyen Valdez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Zenefits is amazing! The integration and use of the site are very easy. The dashboard is very user-friendly and our employees love using it. All the add on such as payroll, benefits and time clock have made managing our rapidly growing company very easy. Would recommend Zenefits for all HR needs!
  • Integrating employee information from other payroll providers easy
  • Has great reporting to keep track of payroll and benefits
  • Has easy timeclock and PTO integration for tracking hours
  • Faster customer service response
  • Integration with more 3rd party apps
  • Easier employee garnishment tracking
Zenefits has a great payroll and timeclock system. The approval process for submitting hours and editing is easy and leaves very little room for errors. Being able to track where our employees are logging in from during this pandemic has been a great help.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Zenefits is an innovative tool for all of your HR needs. it is incredibly easy to use and intuitive, and everything you need as an employer or an employee is right at your fingertips. Updating your personal information is also extremely easy, and working for a mid-sized company, I have referred to the Organization Chart many times. Great software.
  • Updating bank information
  • Viewing sick / vacation days
  • Organization chart
  • Viewing and adjusting insurance information
  • Phone wait time
I am currently applying for a new apartment and accessing my financial information is super accessible and easy to get through Zenefits.
October 21, 2021

10 Stars

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Zenefits is used in our company for our payment information, health insurance, and org chart. Employment history and Super simple and easy to use as a reference. I love the ease of access through the mobile app. Very convenient especially if you are not in front of your computer all the time. Thanks!
  • responsive
  • accurate
  • great newsletters
  • No complaints
Great for Payroll, health benefit information, org chart, employee info. History and new changes that need to be made. Super accessible and easy to use. People in customer service and chats are very helpful.
  • no training
I give it a 10 because of the support that Zenefits gives, very responsive and helpful.
No
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Zenefits to process payroll and all aspects associated with payroll and payroll taxes. I use the platform to run all the necessary payroll reports needed by ownership. They handle the required tax filings.
  • Communicates well with reminders when tasks are required to be completed.
  • Process payroll bi-monthly
  • Keeps track of employee time and paid time off
  • The wait times to speak with a customer service representative was longer than expected.
Zenefits is a great payroll processing option for any size company.
Ann Mountjoy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Common Fibers utilizes Zenefits for Payroll and Time Tracking. It is being used [by] our whole organization. It streamlines employee time tracking, PTO, and HR, and makes Payroll processing stress-free. As the owner of a small business, anything that can help reduce my time on any given task means I have more [opportunities] to grow the business. Zenefits is one of the single biggest improvements to our HR process.
  • Employee Onboarding
  • Payroll Processing
  • Time Tracking
  • PDF Reporting
  • Log-In/Out Reminders
  • Faster Payroll Processing (
Zenefits is well suited for most of our HR needs from on-boarding employees to processing payroll. We haven't run into any areas where Zenefits hasn't been able to help us.
October 14, 2021

Zenefits Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
The system is easy to use and offers an app for your phone. My employees are able to track their time correctly, do their time off, and see paycheck and benefits information directly on their phone. The application is great for onboarding and is user friendly so my employees have no problem updating their tax, address, and other vital information! I highly recommend Zenefits!
  • Onboarding
  • Payroll
  • Time Tracking
  • Time Off
  • Reporting
  • Customer Support is small and has long wait times to talk to a representative
The system allows for all online onboarding allowing us to utilize the system for hiring during COVID. Employees are able to update their own information for banking, taxes, and addresses, which reduces paper and frees up human resources by reducing task-based functions.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We've been using Zenefits for 3+ years and considering we don't have a dedicated HR person in the office, it's made HR and benefits administration really easy. Employees are generally happy with how easy the website is to use and as an administrator, everything feels intuitive and easy to use as well!
  • Easy to use
  • Wide range of offerings
  • Reasonable price
  • Faster customer response time
It's easy to use for a small organization like us!
Return to navigation