TrustRadius
Zenefits is a free, cloud-based core-HR platform with benefits administration capabilities. Zenefits, an American company headquartered in San Francisco, is not paid by users of its platform but by benefits providers whose users choose to administer benefits through the Zenefits platform. A payroll system was added to the platform November 2015, with a free mode and a paid mode with additional administrative features.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/8M/IT/VLRDBLJLCAJJ.JPEGZen with ZenefitsOur US and Global work locations use Zenefits for time off, benefits, onboarding, offer letters, and many more things. I love how the system can send automated emails to take more off my plate (very welcome as an HR Professional) and allows our employees to self-enroll in their benefits with an easy to use and intuitive platform. This is a great system for US employees but it's not as robust for an international employee base.,Easy to use--it's easy to learn how to use the system. Customer Service--it's quick and easy to get a polite response. Benefits--great to have our selections in the same place. Customizable --we've created a lot of unique reports and settings to make our processes more efficient. Intuitive--our employees do not need to be trained on where to find information or how to find it.,Time off--it's hard for the system to accommodate unique policies Reporting--some of the fields are not customizable Customer Service--some of their reps are very green and aren't familiar with basic HR practices International--It's great for the US but a lot of their compliance and reporting features don't work well for non-US entities.,9,Positive--saves us time by automating emails and processes Positive--easy for employees to transparently view their benefits Negative--our PTO is always messed up without fail every year Positive--easy enough to add new fields into the system to track pertinent data and report on it,Kronos Workforce Ready,DocuSign, Sterling Talent Solutions, Expensify, HireRightWorth it. Go get Zenefits.We're using Zenefits to manage all our employee information from hiring, time off, payroll, through the process of termination. Zenefits integrates really well with our applicant tracking system too, so that makes for seamless processes of selection and recruiting. Zenefits solves several key issues of information available for our managers and forth the members of our team to connect with one another: contact info, PTO schedules, and approvals.,Ease of use for employees Ease of use and level of customization for managers integration of all HR functions under one platform,A few things about setting up payroll have been a bit glitchy, notably the inability to record a permanent as well as a work mailing address for some employees.,8,Great ROI. It replaced a system (no system) which was free but messy and hard to organize. Zenefits has been worth it for our small HR department.,ADP Resource,QuickBooks Online, Bloomerang, JazzHR,55,1,Time and Attendence tracking is simple and also robust Payroll is even easier than others I've tried.,8,No,Price Product Features Product Usability Third-party Reviews,I might think about starting with Zenefits' payroll and time and attendance, which didn't exist when we started with Zenefits a few years ago.,No,7Zenefits is easy to useOur Recruiting Department use Zenefits to send offer letters, show prospective employees a sample of our health and dental benefits using the tool on the site. Our HR department uses Zenefits to manage employee documents, send out policies and handbooks, help associates sign up for employee benefits and also to manage time and attendance. We request and approve time off as well.,Zenefits keeps it simple, associates don't dread logging in because the dashboard layout is a collection of apps , you click the icon for what you need. Zenefits has a chat based Help Desk so you can get answers to questions immediately. Zenefits offers a great resource for administrators call Club Zen. Club Zen features HR related articles and information to supplement continuing eduction for our people experts.,While the Tech Support is fast to respond, the actual resolutions can take a while to come into play In the Time and Attendance feature it allows people to clock in early from 30 minute unpaid breaks if they wish. Most TimeKeeper apps prevent you from ending a break early to comply with the law, switching to Zenefits actually increased our California meal break violations.,8,California Meal Break Violations cost a full hour of each employees pay rate. If an employee clocks in 1 minute early it costs us at least 10.50 (minimum wage Ca, 15.00 in Los Angeles) which adds up quickly. We had 37 meal break violations when we first rolled it out. They need to add a feature that disallows them to clock in ahead of 30 minutes, or add a feature that shows them how long they've been on break.,Paycom, Paychex Flex, Paychex Accounting Online, Kronos Workforce Central, Newton Applicant Tracking System and iCIMS Talent Acquisition Software Suite,Slack, Gusto, AsanaEasy and EfficientWe are currently using Zenefits for our employees across 5 states. It has made my job easier because every employee now has a portal to make changes to their information that I can then push over to our payroll provider. It is also helping us support a more robust Performance Managment program and makes us look amazing during the on-boarding process. We've not done open enrollment yet in through Zenefits, but so far the employees have loved having access to their enrollment info without having to send an email to anyone.,The Time and Attendance has been a great support in reminding our employees about meal breaks. It is also one of the few HRIS programs we've found that talks to QuickBooks. Performance Management has been great at sharing company-wide goals. We've had a good response to the reviews we've sent out as well. The Org Chart has been great for our new hires as well as those who've been here because it allows for people to share their personal cell phone if they'd like. No more texting/emailing someone else to get a cell number for a new person.,It would be great if Zenefits talked to our 401k provider. The one we use isn't currently supported. Implementation at times felt repetitive, but we were integrating a lot of moving parts.,10,We've been able to ensure our compliance with their tools. We're able to keep employee data safe and secure. We're able to push out and track updates to policies.,,HubSpotZenefitsZenefits is our overall human resources platform. It allows for an interactive process to onboard employees and maintains employee records. It saves our HR department time as employees have direct access to all HR information that they want and need.,Zenefits enables us to onboard employees efficiently. Employees interact directly with the platform, freeing up personnel time. Zenefits provides an easy platform to disseminate important documents to employees and then allows for the retention in an online "employee file." Zenefits streamlines the annual open enrollment and insurance election process.,The platform can be cumbersome. Sometimes a lot of keystrokes are required to navigate between screens. (To go from one employee to the next in the directory) There is no easy access to FSA reports. In fact, I would suggest that there is no way to get any meaningful data on the FSA plan without having to contact support. They do a BAD job at keeping employee deduction amounts up to date. Additionally, FSA deductions are not updated automatically after open enrollment.,7,Zenefits frees up our staff time to allow us to focus on our business objectives.,
Unspecified
Zenefits
58 Ratings
Score 7.1 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Zenefits Reviews<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>

Zenefits
58 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.1 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 58 vetted Zenefits reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 38)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Sandy Nahra profile photo
December 05, 2018

User Review: "Zen with Zenefits"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our US and Global work locations use Zenefits for time off, benefits, onboarding, offer letters, and many more things. I love how the system can send automated emails to take more off my plate (very welcome as an HR Professional) and allows our employees to self-enroll in their benefits with an easy to use and intuitive platform. This is a great system for US employees but it's not as robust for an international employee base.
  • Easy to use--it's easy to learn how to use the system.
  • Customer Service--it's quick and easy to get a polite response.
  • Benefits--great to have our selections in the same place.
  • Customizable --we've created a lot of unique reports and settings to make our processes more efficient.
  • Intuitive--our employees do not need to be trained on where to find information or how to find it.
  • Time off--it's hard for the system to accommodate unique policies
  • Reporting--some of the fields are not customizable
  • Customer Service--some of their reps are very green and aren't familiar with basic HR practices
  • International--It's great for the US but a lot of their compliance and reporting features don't work well for non-US entities.
Zenefits is great for smaller businesses, not large enterprises. I love it because it's easy to train people on, has a good look and feel, and allows us to automate a lot of our time off capabilities. Where I am less impressed is the reporting features. I wish we could do more customizable point in time reports. I also wish the system was better for international employees.
Read Sandy Nahra's full review
Ben Flemming profile photo
December 04, 2018

User Review: "Worth it. Go get Zenefits."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Zenefits to manage all our employee information from hiring, time off, payroll, through the process of termination. Zenefits integrates really well with our applicant tracking system too, so that makes for seamless processes of selection and recruiting. Zenefits solves several key issues of information available for our managers and forth the members of our team to connect with one another: contact info, PTO schedules, and approvals.
  • Ease of use for employees
  • Ease of use and level of customization for managers
  • integration of all HR functions under one platform
  • A few things about setting up payroll have been a bit glitchy, notably the inability to record a permanent as well as a work mailing address for some employees.
It's great for keeping current employee information accurate and available. And I'm in the middle of deploying the payroll and time to track features, so I'm hopeful it'll be very well suited for those features too. The simplicity of exporting a calendar feed of everyone's PTO for my department makes for great visibility about our team schedules.
Read Ben Flemming's full review
Brittany Martin, PHRca profile photo
September 07, 2018

User Review: "Zenefits is easy to use"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Recruiting Department use Zenefits to send offer letters, show prospective employees a sample of our health and dental benefits using the tool on the site. Our HR department uses Zenefits to manage employee documents, send out policies and handbooks, help associates sign up for employee benefits and also to manage time and attendance. We request and approve time off as well.
  • Zenefits keeps it simple, associates don't dread logging in because the dashboard layout is a collection of apps , you click the icon for what you need.
  • Zenefits has a chat based Help Desk so you can get answers to questions immediately.
  • Zenefits offers a great resource for administrators call Club Zen. Club Zen features HR related articles and information to supplement continuing eduction for our people experts.
  • While the Tech Support is fast to respond, the actual resolutions can take a while to come into play
  • In the Time and Attendance feature it allows people to clock in early from 30 minute unpaid breaks if they wish. Most TimeKeeper apps prevent you from ending a break early to comply with the law, switching to Zenefits actually increased our California meal break violations.
Zenefits makes sense for you if you looking for a system to manage personnel info for a team that is slightly more tech savvy. Associates utilizing the app on their smart device has been so valuable to information out and back quickly. However, people who don't have smartphones and smart devices (or don't use their smart devices to their full potential) struggle a bit.
Read Brittany Martin, PHRca's full review
Elisha Ritchey profile photo
August 28, 2018

Zenefits Review: "Easy and Efficient"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Zenefits for our employees across 5 states. It has made my job easier because every employee now has a portal to make changes to their information that I can then push over to our payroll provider. It is also helping us support a more robust Performance Managment program and makes us look amazing during the on-boarding process.

We've not done open enrollment yet in through Zenefits, but so far the employees have loved having access to their enrollment info without having to send an email to anyone.
  • The Time and Attendance has been a great support in reminding our employees about meal breaks. It is also one of the few HRIS programs we've found that talks to QuickBooks.
  • Performance Management has been great at sharing company-wide goals. We've had a good response to the reviews we've sent out as well.
  • The Org Chart has been great for our new hires as well as those who've been here because it allows for people to share their personal cell phone if they'd like. No more texting/emailing someone else to get a cell number for a new person.
  • It would be great if Zenefits talked to our 401k provider. The one we use isn't currently supported.
  • Implementation at times felt repetitive, but we were integrating a lot of moving parts.
Zenefits has really allowed us to set up our game as a small company. We have a centralized place for HR information that is both secure and easy to use. It has made my life easier because I no longer have to dig through paper files to find information on employees. The education and support for the product is also amazing.
Read Elisha Ritchey's full review
Terrie Gero-Smead profile photo
December 17, 2018

User Review: "Zenefits"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zenefits is our overall human resources platform. It allows for an interactive process to onboard employees and maintains employee records. It saves our HR department time as employees have direct access to all HR information that they want and need.
  • Zenefits enables us to onboard employees efficiently. Employees interact directly with the platform, freeing up personnel time.
  • Zenefits provides an easy platform to disseminate important documents to employees and then allows for the retention in an online "employee file."
  • Zenefits streamlines the annual open enrollment and insurance election process.
  • The platform can be cumbersome. Sometimes a lot of keystrokes are required to navigate between screens. (To go from one employee to the next in the directory)
  • There is no easy access to FSA reports. In fact, I would suggest that there is no way to get any meaningful data on the FSA plan without having to contact support.
  • They do a BAD job at keeping employee deduction amounts up to date. Additionally, FSA deductions are not updated automatically after open enrollment.
Zenefits is well suited for a small company with HR professionals in house, but no decent HR software. I would not use this if you did not have an HR professional on board. They do not provide enough guidance or have one point of contact for the customer.
Read Terrie Gero-Smead's full review
Zach Shelley profile photo
December 11, 2018

"Zenefits: Easy usability, moderate service, poor payroll support"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zenefits provide our organization with an effective organizational chart, timeclock software and to a lesser extent, payroll system. Our HR department were the primary users of the portal. Employees used the portal for time clock and PTO requests. After a year, we discontinued the Zenefits payroll system and replaced it with a more streamlined solution. Our HR department felt that Zenefit's payroll was more difficult and convoluted than it needed to be.

The organizational structure, staff bios and PTO tracking functions were well liked and well received by the majority of our employees. As a manger of 25 individuals, I found it easy to track time, vacations and absences.
  • Simple User Interface
  • Creates informative employee bios to help teams get to know each other
  • Easy PTO/Vacation request, tracking system
  • Clunky payroll system (as reported by HR)
  • Less than satisfactory technical support
  • Difficult initial implementation
For smaller organizations with a low employee count, this is an easily trainable solution. For larger organizations or organizations with a limited HR department, this may not be the best solution. Much of the effectiveness of Zenefits relies on employee buy-in so training on processes and procedures is necessary for a successful integration.
Read Zach Shelley's full review
Caitlynn Castil, SHRM-CP profile photo
December 07, 2018

Zenefits Review: "Highly Recommend"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The whole organization uses Zenefits. We use this for hiring, onboarding, benefits administration, and general organizational usage. We utilize the hire app to extend offers to new hires, run background checks, and keep employment documents on file. We work with One Digital for full benefits administration with Zenefits. We also utilize the HRA and FSA add on's through Zenefits. We use the COBRA administration, which makes my job much easier. And we utilize this for our org charts and compensation tracking.
  • Customer Service - the chat feature is super helpful! We get access to chat with someone immediately with quick accurate answers.
  • COBRA administration - I don't need to do anything, Zenefits handles it all
  • Benefit Administration - I like the open-enrollment tracking features as well as the ability to send reminders to those who have to complete it still
  • One Digital - I'm not a fan of their chosen broker. They don't communicate well, no follow-up and slow response times
  • Club Zen rewards - more insight on how these get redeemed, maybe a FAQ section within Club Zen
  • Org Chart on the mobile app - it's not very integrative on the mobile side
Well suited for small HR departments, departments of 1 or 2, since Zenefits takes on a lot of administrative roles for the HR function, this is extremely helpful. Maybe not best suited for a large company with a large HR department. Not necessary if they have people specializing in the different aspects.
Read Caitlynn Castil, SHRM-CP's full review
Sarah Hiller profile photo
December 06, 2018

Zenefits Review: "Pretty Great - They're Still Improving"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Company-wide. It's a seamless onboarding and offboarding process. Easy to handle all employee deductions/contributions. It acts as a small part-time employee helping me manage HR. I love how it’s easy to get assistance when you need it and they do a very good job of routing you to the right person.
  • The layout is seamless and easy - visually appealing
  • Offering friendly customer service and finding an answer for you every time you call/contact
  • HR Education
  • 401k integration with more companies
  • The payroll section layout isn't very intuitive, I use Zenefits every day and yet I still can't find Payroll Pay Templates on the first try
  • Admin properties-I learned through the ed center that there's a feature about showing all company an employee's phone number, had this software 2.5 years and didn't know that
  • My Aflac deductions are in crazy weird classifications like commuter benefits because there aren't enough classes
Very well suited to small companies that want to grow, because it grows with you and makes the hiring process very smooth. It's less suited to companies where they are still using a lot of papers and files. This basically requires you to go all digital.
Read Sarah Hiller's full review
Rachel Hynes profile photo
September 02, 2018

Zenefits Review: "Excellent HR Management Platform!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zenefits is the go to HR platform for our organization. We use it for the entire lifecycle of our relationship with employees - everything from onboarding, requesting time off, checking time off balances, sick balances, FSA management, FSA balances, review tracking etc. We also use it to replace Dropbox to store all HR documents.

It is used internationally across 3 offices and many remote staff
  • Onboarding
  • Putting all the documents in one place
  • Time off tracking
  • Ease of use
  • Access levels - managers aren't able to see all documents
  • Integrations
  • Customer Service
Zenefits is great for our small to medium sized non profit. It helped greatly to put all HR documents in one place and streamline the HR processes. It allowed us to eliminate other platforms that we were using. I imagine it wouldn't be as good of a fit for a larger organization.
Read Rachel Hynes's full review
Greg Hawkes profile photo
December 12, 2018

Zenefits Review: "Zen Benefits"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zenefits company-wide for all aspects that are offered. We use it for payroll, time & attendance, time off, performance management, goals, health insurance, and hiring. So far we have loved it, there have been hiccups along the way, but our account rep is incredible and he makes everything right in the end.
  • Time & Attendance
  • 401k Integration
  • User interface
  • Customer Service (Except Priyal & Freddi, they are TOTAL rockstars!!)
  • Insurance integration (can only use One Digital (not impressed with them) and it was no simple task to integrate)
  • Reports. They offer some but they aren't things that are used!
We wanted a system that was "all-in-one", meaning that it would do each aspect of HR, and also operational needs. We love that it integrates our benefits, payroll, time, performance management and compliance.
Read Greg Hawkes's full review
Travis Rotondo profile photo
August 10, 2018

User Review: "Zenefits for a Mortgage Lender"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zenefits is being used by the entire organization as the HRS of record and onboarding platform.
  • Very easy to use and navigate
  • Support is fantastic
  • Many HR functions in one place
  • Integrations are great
  • Customizing emails from the system
  • More triggers for sending custom emails
  • Checklist to ensure all tasks relating to a new hire are completed
Zenefits is suited for any organization looking to get an easy to use HRS platform. The integration and support team are great and always willing to help. They are continually improving the service with new features which makes life even easier.

If you need total control of all email content being sent by the system this may not be for you as they are not customization.
Read Travis Rotondo's full review
No photo available
December 07, 2018

Zenefits Review: "Great for Small Businesses"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Zenefits to manage all our employee information from hiring, onboarding documents, and employee recognition. Zenefits allows us to do all of these things easily with our remote employees who work all over the country. Zenefits solves of securing getting sensitive hiring documents from remote employees without a lot of back and forth calls and emails. It also allows employees and managers access to key information about their fellow coworkers without having to go through HR.
  • Makes the hiring process easy
  • Easy to bulk information request information from employees
  • Trainings on many HR topics and how to best use Zenefits
  • Hard to make unique time off policies
  • We can't integrate our payroll with the Zenefits
Great for small businesses with several office locations or remote employees
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 09, 2018

User Review: "Zenefits is a Benefit"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zenefits is being used by the entire organization. We have several satellite locations, and Zenefits has enabled us to reduce travel with the employee self-service. This also allows for ease of policy implementation and acknowledgments. We also use it as a system of record, as well as electronic personnel database, which allows remote managers access tot he fields that they need without having to have files scanned. The onboarding has created a better candidate experience when our employees come in for orientation, their paperwork has been completed. The reports have saved on admin duties, and we have drastically reduced the size of our personnel files, saving paper and increasing space.
  • Ease of use- all of our employees, regardless of their comfort lever with computers, can use Zenefits easily and intuitively.
  • Responsiveness- many options for customer service, and they see everything through to completion.
  • Customization- this has been a life saver for our various certifications and trainings, sending out reminders based on customized fields and expiration dates.
  • Dual companies- unable to transfer data or employees between companies, unable to auto mirror set up, very manual process.
Zenefits is great for benefits open enrollment, onboarding, and as a system of record; however if you have multiple companies, it can get confusing.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 04, 2018

Zenefits Review: "Great, easy to use software"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zenefits across the whole organization to help track PTO and other HR needs. It simplifies our approval processes and houses many of our HR docs in one place. We've made the change to go nearly paperless and using Zenefits really helps us achieve our goals! It's also nice they have an app so that our employees can submit policy docs, PTO requests, etc. while out in the field or traveling.
  • Simplifies PTO process
  • You can update and have employees acknowledge through Zenefits
  • Zenefits notifies you if employees update payroll info ie withholdings/ direct deposit info
  • Organization of HR docs ie performance reviews, policy updates
PTO tracking is made very easy and the website/app is very user friendly. Enrolling/ updating our benefits is also a very easy process. Customer service has always been there to help in a timely fashion if we had any questions.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 07, 2018

Zenefits Review: "Solid, but not heads or tails above the rest."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Zenefits throughout our company. We are primarily using it as our HR, on-boarding, and review platform. We also use Zenefits to run Payroll.
  • Zenefits has really streamlined the on-boarding process.
  • Zenefits allowed us to formalize a Performance Management program that makes it easy to manage and track employee status and reviews.
  • The Zenefits interface is simple, clear, and easy to use.
  • Zenefits does not allow for customization of reports so instead of seeing just the data I need I have to select from a pre-set menu of options.
  • Zenefits does not integrate with our 401k provider or our project time and tracking system so the amount of manual entry to create a payroll gets old fast
  • The Bulk upload payroll feature does not include enough options for data upload.
  • Pay Period and Check Date settings cannot be customized to fit the structure of our company, they are too restrictive.
Zenefits is well suited for small companies and companies that have simple, standard processes and no HR department. If you need a very custom system with all the bells and whistles or have a large company the system might not be the best for you as the limitations and amount of manual input needed will catch up with you.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 05, 2018

Zenefits Review: "Solid HR Software eases administration for small/medium business"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zenefits is a full service HRIS that is easy for employees to use and for HR teams to implement. We used it for our entire organization (with the exception of international employees). We used it as our first transition from a spreadsheet and filing system to an HRIS, and as a result improved our business efficiency greatly.
  • Easy to implement - does not require a large project team or months of work if your data is already prepared.
  • Makes for a smooth onboarding experience - employees are impressed by how much paperwork has been eliminated on their first day!
  • Provides easy to access business intelligence reports that improve our decision making.
  • International functionality is limited and should be improved.
  • Updates to the product could be better communicated.
Zenefits is well suited to small/medium sized businesses that need a rich HRIS solution (but don't need extensive customizations).
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 09, 2018

User Review: "Zenefits - User-friendly Platform"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zenefits as our HRIS as well as for the timekeeping, time off, and benefits apps. Our employees use it across the organization, and we are currently transitioning to using its Documents section as our main place for employee files.
  • It is very user-friendly so employees can easily use it, even when not very computer savvy.
  • It has a very wide range of applications so you can get a lot done in one place.
  • There are good reporting tools.
  • The help desk could use improvement. I am sometimes on hold for a very long time.
  • The chat function could also use improvement. I am not confident that the answers I'm getting here are always accurate.
It is well suited for a relatively small business that still wants some structure and an online platform to get HR tasks done. It might be less appropriate for a large company.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 09, 2018

Zenefits Review: "Efficient and Cost Effective"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zenefits to onboard all new employees and to process payroll...there's not a person in the company who doesn't interact with it.
  • Streamlines onboarding process
  • Simple user interface
  • Ability to easily report metrics
  • Better user permissions
  • Linking multiple entities
Does the job well at a great price point
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 31, 2018

"A user's review of Zenefits"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as our insurance broker. I have used it for paycheck resource as well
  • Intuitive UI - easy to navigate
  • Clean and mess free for legal docs
  • Great all in one HR tool
  • Price point - I hear it's expensive
  • Depending on how much your company is willing to dish out, the basic product can be rather useless
  • You have to buy the whole product for integration to really stand out
If you have the full works from Zenefits, it can be your whole HR department at a small to mid sized company.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 21, 2018

Zenefits Review: "Making our digital company even more digital!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for payroll, PTO and hiring/onboarding. We use it throughout the whole company.
  • Makes everything more digital!
  • Super simple to use!
  • Gives our employees a piece of mind, because they have their PTO and payroll needs in the palm of their hands.
  • Nothing so far!
I believe it is great for large and small companies!
Read this authenticated review
Veronica Herbes profile photo
May 18, 2018

User Review: "Zenefits Experience"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zenefits as a company-wide HRIS system for both our US and Canadian entities. While it is not the most robust HRIS system I have ever used, it certainly does the trick and is improving daily. The main problem it addresses is tracking and housing all employee data in one place while also handling all US benefits administration and on-boarding within statutory compliance. It also handles our COBRA and FSA administration. All of this is in one "simple-to-navigate" portal.
  • Allows for custom field configuration and notifications.
  • Manages enrollment and termination of employees in US benefit programs, as well as COBRA administration.
  • Has a very helpful ACA reporting and filing tool.
  • I would have said allowing the ability to rehire employees, but this ability went live for us yesterday so that is wonderful.
  • Effective dating intelligence is almost a necessity and Zenefits does not have the ability to handle reporting for payroll changes based on effective dating.
  • Zenefits used to tag future employee status as "set up" and now they show them as "active". I wish they would go back to the former method. It is ridiculous that I run an active employee list as of June 30th and future hires for July and later show on the active list.
Small companies with mostly US-based employees (50 or less) who have a small or no HR department and do not need a lot of extra bells and whistles, such as supplemental compensation tracking and/or compensation changes frequently.
Read Veronica Herbes's full review
Victoria Rosario profile photo
June 05, 2018

User Review: "Zenefits-It's a one-stop shop"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company uses Zenefits to assist with hiring via offer letters, background checks and on-boarding of new employees. We just switched from a different payroll provider to Zenefits because we were having difficulties integrating between three different providers. Zenefits will update the employee's payroll information seamlessly once a change is made on the employee's behalf.
  • Ease of running a background and motor vehicle check.
  • Ease of adding a new employee.
  • Ease with self-selecting benefits.
  • Pricing is a bit high compared to the competition.
  • Combining a user and an administrator so that when the administrator signs it, they have the option to switch between user and administrator without having two separate logins.
  • N/A
If you are a company with employees and you want to be able to track changes whether it be terminations, on-boarding, promotions, etc. this is a great tool. The platform is very easy to navigate.
Read Victoria Rosario's full review
Kristopher Osborne profile photo
May 29, 2018

User Review: "Zenefits Gets the Job Done!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zenefits as our HRIS. We have 2 locations in the US and it serves us well. I enjoy the capability to pull reports and deep dive on data. The integrations we have had previously were great when they worked but since are limited or don't work any longer.
  • Easy to use and intuitive. It's a simple HRIS that gets the job done.
  • Great reporting and dashboards.
  • It is a basic system so don't expect it to be a full HRIS.
  • Integrations are spotty. Deeper integrations are needed.
If you're a small up and coming company Zenefits is a great tool. Their community program is also a good resource and keeps you updated on new laws and ideas around HR and Recruiting. Overall it gives you what you need and is affordable so why not give it a shot!
Read Kristopher Osborne's full review
Jenna Mullikin profile photo
February 22, 2018

User Review: "Benefits with Zenefits"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zenefits is used Company wide. The main problem it addressed for us, was the onboarding process.
  • Onboarding has become a breeze!
  • Employees like that they can log in and see their benefits, employee documents, PTO all in one portal.
  • HR compliance tools have really helped our company
  • Payroll function--we used for 7 months and then Zenefits dropped us because we operate in Alabama. We were told that Zenefits will sync with a paryoll service, we signed up for said payroll service---it syncs about 70% of the time.
  • No performance management tools
  • The cost keeps increasing!
It is really great for any small/medium business that is looking to streamline their processes.
Read Jenna Mullikin's full review
Brad Price profile photo
September 27, 2017

User Review: "Zenefits is full of Benefits!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zenefits has its home in our HR department at ActivTrak. I, as the HR Manager, am the only admin though I've given managerial rights to our two co-founders. Every employee in our company has a profile, and they use the platform to request any kind of time off. We run our payroll through Zenefits, as well as our insurance (medical, dental, vision, and business). We send our hiring contracts through Zenefits, which allows for electronic signatures and automatic filing of documents under employee profiles. It captures their banking info which syncs them into payroll, and helps with the tax withholding calculations. Zenefits has streamlined so many processes for us, and allows us to keep multiple things in one place.
  • The Hiring onboarding process is excellent. Easy, fast, and you can keep an eye on the progress of new hires during their onboarding.
  • Payroll is great - so simple, efficient and thorough.
  • Tracking of time off is easy. We set up our time off policies, and users can request time off through the platform. There's even an integration with Slack which allows you to request time off without even logging in to Zenefits.
  • I'd like to see more integration with other ATS softwares.
Zenefits is well suited, in my opinion, to any company with employees or contractors that number about 10 or more. If you're a really small shop, it might not be worth it, considering the bells and whistles might be nothing more than a perk. If your team is growing, Zenefits will for sure save you a lot of time.
Read Brad Price's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Employee demographic data (33)
7.9
Employment history (27)
8.3
Job profiles and administration (27)
8.0
Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (26)
8.5
Organizational charting (31)
8.2
Organization and location management (33)
8.2
Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.) (29)
8.8
Pay calculation (15)
8.1
Support for external payroll vendors (13)
6.8
Benefit plan administration (25)
8.4
Direct deposit files (21)
8.3
Salary revision and increment management (18)
8.6
Reimbursement management (13)
6.2
Approval workflow (28)
8.2
Balance details (27)
8.3
Annual carry-forward and encashment (22)
7.0
View and generate pay and benefit information (34)
8.6
Update personal information (36)
8.9
View company policy documentation (34)
8.4
Employee recognition (14)
8.2
View job history (27)
6.7
Tracking of all physical assets (5)
6.6
Report builder (28)
8.1
Pre-built reports (28)
8.2
Ability to combine HR data with external data (20)
7.6
New hire portal (32)
8.7
Manager tracking tools (28)
8.9
Corporate goal setting (7)
7.1
Individual goal setting (8)
7.0
Line-of sight-visibility (5)
6.4
Performance tracking (6)
6.9
Performance plans (8)
6.3
Performance improvement plans (7)
6.6
Review status tracking (8)
6.8
Review reminders (8)
6.9
Multiple review frequency (8)
6.2
Create succession plans/pools (3)
6.9
Candidate ranking (4)
7.1
Candidate search (4)
8.2
Candidate development (4)
6.8
Job Requisition Management (3)
7.5
Company Website Posting (2)
7.0
Publish to Social Media (2)
7.0
Job Search Site Posting (3)
7.5
Duplicate Candidate Prevention (3)
7.5
Applicant Tracking (2)
7.0
Notifications and Alerts (4)
7.8

About Zenefits

Zenefits gives you, your managers, and your employees a single place to manage all your HR payroll, benefits, compliance, and more in one online dashboard. Seamlessly connect your company's payroll, health insurance, paid time off, and other HR systems with Zenefits in just a few seconds without having to change vendors, plans, or pricing. And if your business doesn't have these things yet, Zenefits can give you quotes and set you up in just a couple of minutes.

Zenefits Screenshots

Zenefits Integrations

Zenefits Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

Zenefits Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Zenefits Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Languages: English