Zerto Reviews

60 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 27)

Tim Lillis | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 10, 2020

The Easy Button for Disaster Recovery

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Zerto in our IT Department to ensure our hot site is ready for any disaster that occurs. Currently, we have a list of mission-critical applications that are replicated to our DR site via Zerto. As an Education provider for the state, we host a special education application that needs to be current with 0 loss in case of an outage. Zerto is helping us realize this goal with minimal downtime.
  • Intuitive interface and easy activation of backup site.
  • Rapid deployment initially as well as adding new systems.
  • When I upgrade VMWare I have to manually stop the zerto vms before they can enter maintenance mode.
  • Maybe a little cheaper renewal.
Zerto is perfect for a hot site. The button is so simplistic you literally just flip a switch to bring up your DR replicated site. It is also very valuable for the developers who want to test out new code, or IT engineers wanting to test new patches. You can easily spin up a fully functioning test site, practice anything you need, then nuke it. On the flip side, it is not your basic file restore product. This is hot data not at rest.
Read Tim Lillis's full review
Christopher Mills | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2020

Zerto to the rescue

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zerto as our disaster recovery tool for our critical tier 0/1 applications and systems. It is used by the whole of our IT Storage and Virtualization team, along with other tools, to protect our infrastructure and data.
  • Zerto does really well at keeping the data in-sync and giving us incredible RTO/RPO times.
  • The testing capabilities of Zerto make it really simple to verify that our strategy works.
  • The reporting functionality gives us the necessary outputs to satisfy both our internal and external audits.
  • Zerto recently added a "long term" storage functionality to act as a backup, if you will. If they could provide a true backup system, Zerto would be one of those "ultimate" software systems that everyone needs to have!
Zerto is highly suited in environments where you need to get your tier 0/1 systems up and running as quickly and easily as possible. With the low RTO/RPO times, the ease of administration and fail-over, and also the overall functionality of how Zerto's runbook works. Not many applications can do what Zerto does and give you that warm and fuzzy feeling when it comes to DR.
Read Christopher Mills's full review
Stephen Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2019

Zerto is a must for DR Replication

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zerto is being used as a Disaster Recovery solution to replicate mission-critical virtual machines to a secondary site. This is done by the use of journal-based transactions. This allows us to fail over our systems in a matter of minutes compared to a matter of hours. This has reduce the the company's RTO.
  • Journal based replication.
  • Disaster failover and recovery.
  • Automated network reconfiguration after initial setup.
  • There are some configuration settings that could be adjusted to be more global after editing.
Zerto is great for an environment that needs to have real-time system replication for their DR plan. Any company critical systems that are constantly changing throughout the day. With the new features added to Zerto it could also be used as a backup solution for your virtual environment.
Read Stephen Smith's full review
Mark McCully | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

Zerto delivers enterprise-class Disaster Recovery in an easy to use package

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We leverage Zerto for Disaster Recovery failover between our primary data center and our secondary data center. We put all of our critical, Tier 1 applications into Zerto replication groups so we can fail them over in case of an emergency. We have also used Zerto for data center consolidations and migrations since it is a great tool to be used for that type of project as well.
  • Zerto is easy for our administrators to setup and use. Setting up new replication groups or modifying an existing replication group is very straightforward.
  • Zerto makes it easy to test out disaster recovery failovers.
  • Zerto does a great job of doing replication very fast and leveraging vmware change block tracking.
  • Zerto is a rather expensive tool.
  • Better email alert throttling would be good - it can get too noisy with the default alerts.
Zerto is a great option if you are looking for an enterprise-class disaster recovery solution. It is not cheap though, so if you are a SMB there may be cheaper alternatives out there that may get you what you need. Zerto is also a great tool for data center consolidations if you need to migrate VMs from one data center to another very easily.
Read Mark McCully's full review
Jon Shurtliff | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 27, 2020

Zerto keeps us up.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We employ Zerto in our main data center as our emergency back up system. Many times we have had issues or maintenance needed and with a few clicks, we have been able to failover to Zerto. It keep us up and running- it has really saved our bacon and made it easy to keep our up-time at 100%
  • Zerto handles the details in the initial setup, so it's ready to go when it's needed.
  • The fail over is instantaneous! No downtime.
  • Zerto IS a little more pricey than other options, but you get what you pay for!
In cases where keeping your environment available 100% of the time, Zerto is a magnificent tool and makes things so easy. I can’t sleep so much better at night knowing that we have a solution that within a couple of clicks will allow us to get back up and running.
Read Jon Shurtliff's full review
Brian Marcum | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 13, 2019

Zerto: The Master of Disaster

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zerto is being used as it's intended to be used, as a disaster recovery product. Zerto replicates critical company data to other data centers just in case a disaster ever occurs and it does it very well.
  • Offsite data replication
  • Testing of data that is replicated offsite
  • Ease of use
  • Monitoring could be better. More granularity for setting alerts.
  • Encrypt replicated data.
  • Expensive.
Zerto is well suited if you are wanting to replicate your critical data quickly to another data center. This provides quick and easy turn up in case of a disaster. If you are just looking to backup your data and don't need to quickly turn up the DR site after a disaster, Zerto isn't necessary.
Read Brian Marcum's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 30, 2020

Zerto gives you the best in performance and reliability.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Zerto to replicate our production data from one site to another. 300 plus machines are being protected and seconds latency in RPO between the sites allows us to confidently manage our disaster recovery. We have also used the product to migrate and consolidate from other datacenters to our two main sites. This was done with minimal downtime and effort once the VPGs are established.
  • Zerto is great at support and documentation. We have had great success with these two aspects of the company.
  • Zerto is easy to install and configure. You can easily convert the POC to a full production system in minutes.
  • The AWS installation of Zerto documentation has a lot to be desired. It does not have a true step-by-step approach like the Windows side.
Zerto is well suited for the consolidation of data centers and/or replicating data between sites for disaster recovery. These are two great examples of where Zerto shines and out performs other platforms. You are also able to use dissimilar hardware since Zerto works at the VM level versus the at the hardware level.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

Zerto lives up to the hype!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zerto is being used across the entire organization. It provides us with an enterprise-level of backup and recovery for all our critical production servers and applications. Our disaster recovery plan heavily relies on the Zerto technology in which we are successfully able to failover to our disaster site and achieve a very low recovery point objective, which takes actually only tens of seconds.
  • Minimal Recovery time.
  • Isolated testing environment.
  • The cost is on the expensive end.
  • Support is mostly online.
Zerto is well suited for a business in need of a low recovery point objective, as set in their disaster recovery plan. It's also suited in an organization that has minimal resources dedicated to support DR technology. Our setup was minimal, and everyday management has been very minimal. Our setup was for about 50 servers, and was completed in under a week.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2019

Great DR Solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zerto as our DR solution to our DR location as well as Microsoft Azure. We use it to streamline our DR strategy with our business continuity plan. IT has utilized Zerto primarily for DR as well as offloading computing load to DR.
  • I can't stress how important it is for Disaster Recovery.
  • Integration with Microsoft Azure to flip VM's over to Azure as one of our sites.
  • Ease of use to setup Virtual Protection Group.
  • 5 minutes of incremental snapshots to restore VM's.
  • Support needs improvement in terms of response time and provides appropriate solutions.
  • Bugs need to be sorted out with missing configuration on the VPG after it has been created.
  • Better reporting window to generate more usual information.
It's well suited for any environment that requires business continuity and meeting SLA for a production environment. Preventing prolonged downtime and restoring services ASAP. I can't think of any scenarios where Zerto is not suitable.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 03, 2019

Put Your Executives At Ease

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zerto provides the live replication of every business-critical VM in our organization.
  • Live replication.
  • Fail-over testing.
  • Backup options.
  • Notifications.
It's fantastic for anything you wouldn't want to lose any data on, such as an ERP. It is far too expensive, however, to use as a DR option for more static VMs, or VMs where a daily or twice-daily backup is sufficient.
Read this authenticated review
Neil Taylor | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 11, 2019

Simple, reliable, and easy to use

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zerto replication to provide both an HA and a DR capability for all live servers. This enables the business to have a live copy of servers available to protect against local individual server failure and also a separate copy to protect the business in case of a site failure. In the case of local failure, we use journaling to roll back to any point in time over a two week period. This provides robust protection for all live servers.
  • The ability to replicate only delta changes enables us to replicate nearly 200 servers with minimal bandwidth usage and so reduces excessive network costs.
  • Being licensed to replicate multiple copies of a server enables us to keep costs down and use a single product for both DR and HA
  • Journaling enables simple point in time recovery to cope with user errors that would otherwise require a lengthy restore from backups
  • For some servers, the 30-day journaling now replaces traditional backup products, saving cost and enabling speedy recoveries
  • I’d like to see improvements to the usage graphs so I could dig deeper into network bandwidth usage with the ability to see what VPG is using most of the bandwidth
  • The ability to just failover a single server in a VPG would be useful, as this would reduce the number of VPG that have to be created
  • Bulk editing of failover IP addresses would be helpful
Zerto replication is great for the majority of live servers and enables us to successfully have high availability at a reasonable price. Not having synchronous replication is not an issue in most cases, but is a limitation for some of the SQL servers.
Read Neil Taylor's full review
Thomas Green | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 19, 2018

Zerto: It just works well

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I was able to easily replicate our primary datacenter to our disaster recovery site and easily test quarterly.
  • Easy replication that stays in sync when testing
  • Easy to upgrade the tool as well as works well in VMWare during upgrades
  • Support was able to assist remotely as needed
  • Expansion of storage could cause issues at the DR side if not properly expanded before the primary DC
This scales nicely to any environment and outperforms VMware SRM in all categories
Read Thomas Green's full review
Sergiy Moot | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 20, 2018

It has decreased both RPO and RTO significantly

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Primary Use Case

Replication of business critical VMware VMs over WAN to the remote disaster recovery datacenter.

Valuable Features

The benefits are obvious: The simplicity of the setup and the speed of replication.

The speed of WAN replication is great. It is faster compared to RecoverPoint and 20 VMs replicating over a 20Mbps VPN, which has a RPO less than one minute. Of course, your mileage will vary.

Improvements to My Organization

Compared to the previous DR replication solution, Zerto has decreased both RPO and RTO significantly.

  • The simplicity of the setup
  • The speed of replication
  • Low RPO and RTO
  • It's complicated to remove the virtual appliance if for some reason you lose the host.
  • Replication of Microsoft/SQL Clusters needs good beforehand planning
The speed of WAN replication is great. It is faster compared to RecoverPoint and 20 VMs replicating over a 20Mbps VPN, which has a RPO less than one minute. Of course, your mileage will vary.

Make sure you have enough bandwidth!
Read Sergiy Moot's full review
Ryhlen Schoeberl | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 19, 2018

Zerto replication solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zerto to replicate our environment for one of our customers. It provides us with the ability to failover to our other location environment and bring it up within minutes in a disaster situation or when we perform maintenance
  • They have a failover testing option which allows for us to check for errors before we do live failover
  • During failover there is very little downtime in our environment
  • Very good at replicating data over quickly for practically zero loss of data
  • The system errors on failover when there is a backup being processed
  • Some room for improvement on time it takes to verify data after failover
We use it for our company that cannot have downtime on their environment. It provides the assurance that there is the less downtime as well as little to no data loss. If you are a small business you might not use all the functionality but it is there if you need it
Read Ryhlen Schoeberl's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 24, 2018

Why I like Zerto best

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We are a Disaster Recovery specialty company providing the spectrum of DR - BC planning to implementation, including best of class products to enhance our clients' ability to restore data quickly and minimize downtime. As a Zerto reseller and MSP, we provide a DR site for our customers. Specifically, Zerto provides easy recovery of a failed virtual machine, with the restore point option up to 14 days and a high granularity of restore points.

Zerto can provide One-2-Many backups up to 3 local and/or DR sites. With infections like Crypto-Locker, Zerto provides a fast resumption of a VM (or group of VMs) at the click of a few buttons, to select the machine and time of the restore. And Zerto does this without snapshotting the VMware environment. Zerto can also [move] to Hyper-V in a similar manner and move Hyper-V to VMware or vice-versa.
  • Anyone with a large disk (VMDK) knows the issues of VMware snapshots. Most backup software is a "point in time backup" that uses snapshots. While the backup can be run multiple times per day the stress of the snapshot on the host and storage is eliminated by the continuous protection of Zerto log replication.
  • A client had a the disks on a VM go missing for some reason. We had them "flip the switch" for a real fail over and press the fail over button. The VM on our DR site started to come alive as the VM at the customer site was brought down. When the DR VM was fully up, automatic reverse replication started. The DR machine was available in a few minutes (to take into account different host hardware) for access. One the vm at both sites were in sync, we had the customer again repeat the fail over process and the DR site VM was turned off and the Production site VM was brought back on line. This was a 200 GB VM and the whole process was finished in about 3 hours.
  • Zerto also allows for "Test" fail overs that can be configured on many different functions, such as host, datastore, network and IP usage. Configuring the IPs is crucial to avoid inadvertent site cross contamination of the same VM.
  • Zerto can also retrieve files from any VM disk on the DR site without starting a VM. Very handy for retrieving files or directories.
  • Since Zerto is running continuous log replication, changes on the production VM are nearly instantaneously copied to the DR site. As with any data process, having sufficient bandwidth for "churn" peaks minimizes the delay in updating the DR site.
  • Zerto is in the process of update their "Offsite Backup" process. This is a scheduled snapshot of a VM that extends the "point in time" beyond the up to 14 days of granular recovery. For those wanting to have a "compliance copy" of a vm (db or exchange or files) this is mechanism that will be improving.
  • Zerto is an evolving product that takes user input seriously. They encourage recommended improvements and features from customers.
  • One thing Zerto can't do is backup a turned off VM. Many snapshot based backup software products can backup a turned off VM.
  • While many backup products are install, create backups and go, Zerto requires a bit of planning on the initial network configuration. Installing the software and configuration is actually easy, setting up a VPN between sites needs planning, particularly for MSPs. Once the VPN is set up the rest is quite easy. This is being addressed.
If you have very large VMDKs (Virtual Machine Disk), failing snapshots or failing Microsoft VSS processes, then Zerto is the product.
If you have limited CPU or storage space or speed, Zerto is the answer.
If you need "nearly" instant RPO and very fast RTO, Zerto is the answer.
If you don't have the platform issues or are not concerned with RPO and RTO, and cost is a driver, then other products can have an advantage.
Read this authenticated review
Greg Goss | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 06, 2018

Zerto makes BC/DR powerful and simple.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zerto is our primary high availability and DR solution. We use it across our entire organization to provide continuous replication that protects our environment. We also use Zerto to migrate our VMs between data centers and cloud providers. The simple interface and ease of being able to get it set up and configured let us quickly react to changes in our virtual environment.
  • It is simple to set up and use. In my opinion, one of the most important functions of a tool is its interface. If you have the best product in the world but it takes an arm and a leg to configure and a doctorate degree to use, then the product isn't worth very much.
  • The continuous replication is done very well. The failover and failback process runs smoothly.
  • This has less to do with the product than the company, but Zerto as a company really listens to their customer base. We've always had a very good interpersonal experience with their support and sales teams. Having great people behind their product is definitely one of Zerto's strengths.
  • The price point and minimum license requirements would make it difficult for a smaller organization to adopt Zerto.
  • I'm trying to figure out how to integrate it with SQL, but currently, I've found other DR methods for SQL still work better.
Zerto does an amazing job of making sure our critical systems stay up and protected. I'm not sure I'd want to spend the money that would be required on a license for a development server, but for those systems you just can't live without, Zerto is our go-to product.
Read Greg Goss's full review
Jay Stelmach | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2018

Zerto - Unparalleled Protection

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zerto is used by the IT department to provide protection of a virtual environment. One main distinction is that it provides solid protection for single servers or a cluster of servers that are part of an application. It does a phenominal job in this task and I have been able to save countless hours using it. From recovering from botched upgrades, corrupted files, and even virus infections to leveraging the DR as a test bed for upgrades. It has a wide variety of uses.
  • Journaling
  • WAN optimization
  • Application Consistency
  • Full site failover processing
  • Reports on what is protected and where and protection levels
Zerto is terrific at protecting individual servers and application clusters BUT it lacks the ability to control a full site recovery without manual intervention. If you have applications that require very limited downtime with almost no loss of data, then this is a great product for you. A failover acts as a reboot of the system, but you're only looking at a 10 second loss of data (even when protecting 9TB of data).
Read Jay Stelmach's full review
David Judice | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 06, 2018

Zerto Virtual Replication, reliable replication.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zerto to replicate our most mission-critical virtual servers to our offsite replication host site. It was extremely easy to setup and it just works. We have had no issues with it in the last two-plus years and I can't imagine anything would be easier to setup and implement and provide better service.
  • It's efficient, requiring little resources to operate.
  • It's easy to setup and manage.
  • It works. We have no issues with it, so it causes no anxiety.
  • I haven't found anything I would change with Zerto. Simple and reliable is what is most important, and Zerto is both of those things.
I think anyone in a virtual environment that needed replication would be very satisfied with Zerto Virtual Replication software. It was so easy to get installed, setup and running and is very reliable. We have had no issues with it and are very, very happy with the results. I would recommend it to anyone needing virtual server replication.
Read David Judice's full review
Dennis Chan | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 14, 2017

Zerto the DR solution for Cloud Replication

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zerto is the only solution that offers tier 0 RPO/RTO for VMware and Hyper-V hypervisors and replication to the public cloud seamlessly. It offers a comprehensive DR solution.
  • Support of multiple hypervisors.
  • Support of replication to the public cloud.
  • Hardware agnostic in regards to storage.
  • Would like to see support for KVM.
  • More automation.
  • More customization of dashboards.
This is a perfect solution for protection of mission-critical virtual workloads.
Read Dennis Chan's full review
Muhammad Mulla | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 08, 2017

Why should you switch to Zerto for DR?

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zerto is used by our organization to enable replication of virtual machines on our primary VMware datacentre to a secondary VMware datacentre and will be used to enable us to pivot our disaster recovery and business continuity infrastructure from a traditional datacentre to a public cloud provider such as Microsoft Azure or Amazon's AWS.
  • Simple installation process
  • Single pane of glass for administration of replication and protection
  • Hypervisor agnostic approach
  • Quick updates
  • Better support for SQL server high availability. Databases have to be removed from HA prior to upgrades of Zerto software.
Zerto Virtual Replication is well suited to a DR scenario based on virtual machines.
Read Muhammad Mulla's full review
Neil Lucas | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 21, 2017

Zerto the Easy but Powerful Replication Software

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Zerto to provide real-time replication to our Disaster Recovery site. It is being used by the IT department only but the servers that it protects are used by the entire organization. It gives us the ability to recover gracefully from any unexpected business emergencies with an RPO that is within 5 minutes or less. Thus reducing any down time our customers may experience.
  • The recovery time objectives can be within seconds and not minutes, thus your data loss is minimal if at all.
  • The setup and configuration of Zerto is extremely easy and can be done with little exposure to it beforehand.
  • The actual process of doing a failover is a one button click process.
  • The ability to do multi-site replication cannot be restricted to a selected few virtual machines. It is an all or nothing approach.
  • The minimum amount of virtual machines that you can initially start out with is higher than 5. This would not be feasible for small organizations.
  • The license packs for the number of virtual machines that will be replicated are somewhat large and are not ideal for small organizations.
If you have to initiate a failure to your Disaster Recovery site in case of inclement weather or just keeping your doing a once a year fail over to your DR site then this process will be easy to achieve and carry out. Also if you experienced an attack of ransomware you can use Zerto to do a file level recovery to restore only those file(s) that have been affected.
Read Neil Lucas's full review
Philip Reetz | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 26, 2017

Perfect disaster recovery setup with nice replication features

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We use Zerto as part of our Managed Service offerings in our cloud data center for Disaster Recovery as a Service (DRaaS). We also use, on premise, Zerto projects for our customers.
  • It is very easy to install.
  • The replication is great. The journal based approach gives perfect recovery point options.
  • The orchestration helps in case of a disaster to get all applications running again in an orderly way.
  • The administration is very self explanatory.
  • Zerto needs a lot of open tcp ports between the different components. Especially in a cloud setup this is sometimes cumbersome. Less communications ports would be an improvement.
  • To streamline the implementation of a disaster site, it would be great if Zerto could also offer some kind of layer 2 LAN extender to connect recovery site and production LAN.
You always need real disaster recovery protection in virtual environments; it is a perfect match.

I do not recommend it to use as the only backup solution. Since Zerto does not use snapshots it can work with other tools like Veeam Backup Reviews without any problems.
Read Philip Reetz's full review
David Yezersky | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 15, 2017

Zerto - Replication and (Backup)

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zerto addresses the need for replication and backup when array based replication is lacking or difficult to configure and use. It also replaces the VMware product SRM, which is costly and may not always be configured depending on the array(s) that a customer may have.
  • Zerto installs within minutes and depending on replication bandwidth can replicate entire VM's irregardless of size.
  • A side benefit to Zerto is the product can retain between 14 and 30 days of backups for use at either production or DR site.
  • A feature of Zerto is it uses Hypervisor based replication via existing networks, which translates into no backend storage cycles or capacity wasted on array based replication and no extra networks needing to be created for separation of replication traffic, which speeds up the deployment of the software.
  • Zerto allows for a blend of DR related testing including failover/failback and bubble testing, without the need for extra storage capacity for journaling space. Some replication technologies need double and even triple the amount of replicated capacity to perform any testing.
  • Zerto is great for it's uses cases and has no real areas for improvement. It's GUI and internals are excellently worded to allow for ease of use. It's backup section is superbly orchestrated.
Zerto is well suited for VMware shops that want/need replication without purchasing SRM. Zerto's cost is on a per VM basis, which can inhibit some applications, but there is no dependency on size, so a VM can be 1GB or 12TB, and still be licensed for backup and replication. Environments that have recoverpoint for EMC storage will like this tool, because of it's ease of use. Shops can allow VMware admins to manage the tool and thusly manage VMware failovers and failbacks. Zerto does work with Hyper-V as well, so they are covered by the major hypervisors.
Read David Yezersky's full review
Chris John | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2016

Zerto Virtual Replication, good stuff

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zerto is being used by my organization to replicate all our virtual servers (VMware). Our IT department is using it now to make sure we have a disaster recovery environment should anything happen. It allows us to quickly turn up a disaster recovery environment and not worry about spinning up entirely new hardware.
  • Fast replication
  • Fairly simple to add new servers
  • Simple interface
  • Update of Zerto vms could be a little easier
  • Seems to lose connectivity once in a while
Zerto Virtual replication is well suited for environments that have a lot of virtual machines. It's very fast and easy to use. It can work with not only VMware, but with hyperV and others. If you have all physical servers (which, at this point, why?) then this probably is not the right replication software for you.
Read Chris John's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 20, 2018

Zerto is great!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We use Zerto to replicate our VMware environment, which has grown substantially over the past several years or so. We have an off-prem DR site that we replicate both on-site data and cloud data brought in from a wide array of formats and organizations. We love the functionality of the automation and the ease of management. It really helps free up time.
  • DR
  • Virtualized backup
  • Replication
  • Speed
  • ROI
  • TCO
Zerto is very well suited for a situation in which you need to replicate data or info to a DR site, whether on or off-prem, or in the cloud. This software platform has a lot of cloud capabilities, and really makes sense for a lot of organizations trying to make their DR more approachable and consistent.
Read this authenticated review

About Zerto

Zerto is a disaster recovery solution that promises to help customers eliminate the risk and complexity of modernization and cloud adoption. By replacing multiple legacy solutions with a single IT Resilience Platform, Zerto aims to change the way disaster recovery, backup and cloud are managed. The vendor says Zerto’s software platform delivers continuous availability for an always-on customer experience while simplifying workload mobility to protect, recover and move applications freely across hybrid and multi-clouds.

The vendor says Zerto is used by 6,000 customers globally and is powering resiliency offerings for Microsoft Azure, IBM Cloud, AWS, SunGard AS and more than 350 cloud services providers.

Categories:  Disaster Recovery

Zerto Features

Has featureBC/DR for vSphere & Hyper-V
Has featureHypervisor-based replication
Has featureInstallable in minutes at any scale
Has featureScalable to 5000 VMs
Has featureSoftware-only
Has featureUpgrade in-place in minutes
Has featureNo hypervisor version lock-in
Has featureManagement redundancy
Has featureAlways-on, block-level & no scheduling
Has featureStorage agnostic VM-level replication
Has featureRPO = seconds with no snapshots
Has featureNo protected VM performance impact
Has featureRewind to increments in seconds
Has featureMulti-VM consistency groupings
Has featureOne-To-Many simultaneous replication
Has featureCross-hypervisor replication
Has featurevMotion & svMotion support
Has featureBuilt-in WAN compression
Has featureBandwidth throtting and QOS
Has featureDynamic & compressed journaling
Has featureSQL & Oracle Temp DB optimization
Has featureAutomatically protect new VMs
Has featureRecover sites, apps, VMs & files
Has featureRecover to thousands of points in time
Has featureRTO = minutes with boot ordering
Has featureCross-hypervisor VM conversion
Has featureAutomated failover & boot ordering
Has featureNo snapshots on recovery VM
Has featureFailback with reverse protection
Has featureNon-disruptive failover testing
Has featureAutomatic re-IP, re-MAC of VMs
Has featureRecovery reports for compliance
Has featureREST API with automation examples
Has featureDRaaS to over 350 Zerto Cloud Providers
Has featureReplicate to and from Azure with RPOs in seconds
Has featureReplicate to AWS with RPOs in seconds
Has featureMulti-tenancy & traffic isolation
Has featurevCloud Director Integration
Has featureSelf-service portals & role based access
Has featureMobile app and Analytics SaaS monitoring
Has featureMulti-site management interface

Zerto Screenshots

Zerto Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Zerto Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
30%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
70%

Zerto Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Zerto Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, All Virtual Machines your Hypervisor supports
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:Asia, Middle East, Europe, North America, Central America and the Carribbean, South America, Australia and Oceania
Supported Languages: English, Italian, Chinese, Japanese, Portuguese, French, Spanish