Zerto Reviews

63 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-22 of 22)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
February 10, 2020
Tim Lillis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We initially purchased RecoverPoint and after stumbling through the installation with the consultant and realizing how clumsy and nonautomated it was we began looking elsewhere. We really disliked the amount of setup and manual configuration needed to get basic things configured like IP address changes for the DR site. Zerto answered this in spades and was extremely easy to configure.
Read Tim Lillis's full review
January 29, 2020
Christopher Mills | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We use VMware vSphere Replication as our disaster recovery tool for our Tier 2/3 systems. This was chosen as it saves us costs for our less critical, but still needed systems that keep our company running. Putting everything on Zerto would be great, but with this combination, we can cover our whole infrastructure and know that we can meet all the SLA's we have established.
Read Christopher Mills's full review
November 20, 2019
Stephen Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Hands down Zerto blows VMware SRM out of the water. The configuration is easy to setup. Managing replications are just a few short key strokes and there is an easy-to-navigate web dashboard.
Read Stephen Smith's full review
November 19, 2019
Mark McCully | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Zerto is a lot more flexible that VMware SRM. We used to use SRM and it was very rigid. All of our protection groups were based on storage volumes so any time anything needed to be added or removed from a protection group you had to adjust the storage volume and make other changes in SRM. With Zerto it is much easier to add or remove servers into protection groups. The scripting and instrumentation for bringing protection groups is much easier with Zerto as well.
Read Mark McCully's full review
January 27, 2020
Jon Shurtliff | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Veeam Backup & Replication
Zerto is a little more seamless however the price is a little higher than Veeam.
Read Jon Shurtliff's full review
January 30, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Zerto was far and away from a much better product than RecoverPoint. EMC was unable to perform near as fast and as good as Zerto and required a lot more setup and infrastructure to run.
Read this authenticated review
November 06, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Veeam Backup & Replication
Veeam is an impressive solution, however, Zerto has a better feature set, customizable journal, and RPO timing. The price with Zerto was more competitive.
Read this authenticated review
July 03, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Veeam Backup & Replication
Zerto is best suited for critical applications that need live replication and lossless recovery. In the case of less critical VMs, we use Veeam.
Read this authenticated review
January 11, 2019
Neil Taylor | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Zerto replication is a lot cheaper than any of the completion, it’s simple to set up and use, requires minimal training for users, and its simple interface and groups using VPG enables a granular setup.

It just does what it says and is simple, reliable, and relatively cheap
Read Neil Taylor's full review
June 06, 2018
Greg Goss | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We started out using Backup Exec which was in service until we virtualized our environment where it didn't perform as well at the time. Then we switched to Veeam which worked well, but then as we started needing to do migrations and off-site DR, we found ourselves relying on Zerto more often.
Read Greg Goss's full review
July 14, 2018
Jay Stelmach | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

While more expensive, Zerto does a better job of protecting our servers and keeping the RPO low. It was also supported by our financial core which was a huge factor in our adoption. However, one it was put into our system, we wanted to adopt it company wide. As long as you understand what it should be used for, you will not be disappointed.
Read Jay Stelmach's full review
September 20, 2018
Sergiy Moot | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The speed of WAN replication is great. It is faster compared to RecoverPoint and 20 VMs replicating over a 20Mbps VPN, which has a RPO less than one minute. Of course, your mileage will vary.
Read Sergiy Moot's full review
September 19, 2018
Ryhlen Schoeberl | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

With Zerto we are able to bring up environment faster and with less data loss without having to set backups every hour and replication to match
Read Ryhlen Schoeberl's full review
November 21, 2017
Neil Lucas | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Veeam
We used to use Veeam for our replication solution but due to the snapshot issues that we used to experience with our larger virtual machines, i.e we would encounter some lost of connectivity. We were told by two of our partners that Zerto would solve our needs and we did our research and used the trial and were so impressed that we purchased it.
Read Neil Lucas's full review
October 26, 2017
Philip Reetz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Veeam Backup & Replication and VMware Business Continuity & Disaster Recovery
Zerto is easy to install and maintain. Most importantly, the replication feature with a journal that provides recovery point every few seconds cannot be found in any other software we evaluated.
Read Philip Reetz's full review
September 15, 2017
David Yezersky | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Physical recoverpoint and virtual Recovperpoint for VMware are still very basic in their feature set. Physical recoverpoint requires months of planning, installation, configuration, before systems are replicated and then protected. There is no backup feature such as Zerto, which is an added benefit. And Zerto can be installed within minutes and not weeks/months from EMC. Recoverpoint for VMware only works with EMC related storage and still has a limited feature set. It has a multitude of restrictions and isn't nearly as refined as Zerto. Zerto is storage agnostic and operates on the VMware hypervisor layer (along with Hyper-V) and is an all around great solution.
Read David Yezersky's full review
September 24, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Zerto solves issues with snapshot-based backups and provides continuous data protection up to 14 days with an astonishing granularity. Zerto's One-2-Many can provide local and offsite backups with near real-time and fast restore of a VM
Zerto does not backup physical machines or VMs that are turned off, but there are other products to do that.
Other backup products are stepping up with ease of deployment and small organizations would find them a little easier to use as there are fewer configuration options.
Read this authenticated review
June 20, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We looked at both CommVault and NetBackup, which are similar platforms to that of the Zerto Replication Software stack. We thought the Zerto solution best met our specification needs, as well as our cost needs. The CommVault licensing was complicated, and we just have had a bad experience in the past with NetBackup.
Read this authenticated review
April 06, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Zerto replicates at the hypervisor level, not the VM level like VMware Site Recovery Manager (SRM). SRM replicates vms within or across vSphere clusters, but not between different hypervisors. While I only replicate from vcenter to vcenter, if we needed to replicate to a hyper-v cluster, it could be an option. SRM also doesn't replicate as fast as Zerto.
Read this authenticated review

What is Zerto?

Zerto is a disaster recovery solution that promises to help customers eliminate the risk and complexity of modernization and cloud adoption. By replacing multiple legacy solutions with a single IT Resilience Platform, Zerto aims to change the way disaster recovery, backup and cloud are managed. The vendor says Zerto’s software platform delivers continuous availability for an always-on customer experience while simplifying workload mobility to protect, recover and move applications freely across hybrid and multi-clouds.

The vendor says Zerto is used by 6,000 customers globally and is powering resiliency offerings for Microsoft Azure, IBM Cloud, AWS, SunGard AS and more than 350 cloud services providers.

Categories:  Disaster Recovery

Zerto Features

Has featureBC/DR for vSphere & Hyper-V
Has featureHypervisor-based replication
Has featureInstallable in minutes at any scale
Has featureScalable to 5000 VMs
Has featureSoftware-only
Has featureUpgrade in-place in minutes
Has featureNo hypervisor version lock-in
Has featureManagement redundancy
Has featureAlways-on, block-level & no scheduling
Has featureStorage agnostic VM-level replication
Has featureRPO = seconds with no snapshots
Has featureNo protected VM performance impact
Has featureRewind to increments in seconds
Has featureMulti-VM consistency groupings
Has featureOne-To-Many simultaneous replication
Has featureCross-hypervisor replication
Has featurevMotion & svMotion support
Has featureBuilt-in WAN compression
Has featureBandwidth throtting and QOS
Has featureDynamic & compressed journaling
Has featureSQL & Oracle Temp DB optimization
Has featureAutomatically protect new VMs
Has featureRecover sites, apps, VMs & files
Has featureRecover to thousands of points in time
Has featureRTO = minutes with boot ordering
Has featureCross-hypervisor VM conversion
Has featureAutomated failover & boot ordering
Has featureNo snapshots on recovery VM
Has featureFailback with reverse protection
Has featureNon-disruptive failover testing
Has featureAutomatic re-IP, re-MAC of VMs
Has featureRecovery reports for compliance
Has featureREST API with automation examples
Has featureDRaaS to over 350 Zerto Cloud Providers
Has featureReplicate to and from Azure with RPOs in seconds
Has featureReplicate to AWS with RPOs in seconds
Has featureMulti-tenancy & traffic isolation
Has featurevCloud Director Integration
Has featureSelf-service portals & role based access
Has featureMobile app and Analytics SaaS monitoring
Has featureMulti-site management interface

Zerto Screenshots

Zerto Video

Complete VM Protection with Zerto in 90 seconds

Zerto Downloadables

Zerto Competitors

Zerto Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Zerto Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
30%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
70%

Zerto Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Zerto Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, All Virtual Machines your Hypervisor supports
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:Asia, Middle East, Europe, North America, Central America and the Carribbean, South America, Australia and Oceania
Supported Languages: English, Italian, Chinese, Japanese, Portuguese, French, Spanish

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Zerto's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 9.2.

Who uses Zerto?

The most common users of Zerto are from Mid-size Companies and the Information Technology & Services industry.