Zix Email Encryption (ZixEncrypt) Reviews

103 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 102)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
January 07, 2021
James Molina | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Zix across our organization to encrypt our secure business email and to provide seamless secure email between us and the hospital in which we practice, which also uses Zix. The software also has the option to force encryption by adding the word secure in an email subject line. It can also automatically encrypt using keyword filters.
  • Seamless encryption among other Zix users
  • Encrypted email portal for non-Zix email recipients
  • Keyword filters for autoencryption
  • We are a small company. I would request that Zix create smaller licensing packages. I am unhappy that we have to buy in packs of 10 when we only need five. If a competing solution becomes available with better pricing, then I will consider leaving Zix to avoid paying for licenses I do not need.
I would recommend it, based on email encryption technology, to a company that has 10 or more employees (their minimum license package). Overall I like the product but am unhappy that I have to purchase licenses I don’t use. I think a five-user package should be the minimum.
Read James Molina's full review
January 06, 2021
Brandon Truong | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Zix email encryption for the entire organization. It allows us to safely send and receive email through the Zix secured email gateway.
  • Secured email gateway to send and receive emails.
  • Zix gateway assists with filtering potential and malicious email/attachment.
  • The portal can be more user friendly to navigate.
Zix integrates very well with G Suites (Gmail).
Read Brandon Truong's full review
December 19, 2020
Matt Thibault | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zix as a way to send encrypted emails to keep PHI and other sensitive data secure when being sent to via email. We currently have it deployed at a company level but only a few departments actually utilize it. We chose to deploy it company wide to make sure we don't have anyone that accidentally sends PHI via email without it being encrypted. The nice thing about Zix is that you can deploy it company-wide but only pay for those users that actually utilized the encryption that month. This helps keep the overall cost down.
  • Email Encryption - The implementation was simple and using the encryption is even easier.
  • We only use the email encryption and it does everything that we need it to do.
We only utilize the email encryption option that Zix provides and it works great. It was very easy to train users on how to use the email encryption. Managing the software is very easy as well. If you have a question at they provide a lot of video tutorials or you can also reach out to the support team.
Read Matt Thibault's full review
January 05, 2021
Hector Topete | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zix keeps our entire agency confident that we remain HIPAA compliant in our email practices. While there are many options out there for email encryption, I prefer Zix due to how easy it is to use for my staff and, even more so, how easy it is for our outgoing recipients to use. Other encryption services require the use of one-time passcodes and processes that can be difficult to manage. With Zix, we do not have those troubles. I highly recommend this product for agencies in the social services and nonprofit sectors.
  • Easy to encrypt outgoing emails from our staff
  • Easy for recipients to receive our encrypted messages
  • The cost is affordable when compared to other encryption services
Zix is well suited for any agency required to comply with HIPAA
Read Hector Topete's full review
December 23, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zix email encryption is a tool that our organization uses to send and receive sensitive information securely. We have many departments that utilize Zix, the main department being Medical Records. Zix provides a platform for us to send PHI to third parties that need the information to provide our patient's proper care. In the medical field, security is a necessity and Zix helps us comply with all the regulations.
  • Provides a secure platform to send sensitive information.
  • Recipient of encrypted messages has a user-friendly portal to view messages and respond.
  • Seamless integration with GAME add-on for Google Workspace.
  • Manual updates required.
Zix integrates well with Google Workspace to work seamlessly and behind the scenes. Whole message encryption (including attachments) can be programmed with a keyword or phrase in the subject line. Our staff finds that relatively easy to do. Plus, if our staff forget to add the keyword to encrypt the message, all messages are scanned for sensitive information and encrypted anyway. Great safeguard!
Read this authenticated review
December 23, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Zix across our entire organization. The heavy users for the product are our Police, Fire, and HR Departments. With having to send sensitive data to other organizations this was the solution for us. We chose Zix because we were looking for an email encryption solution that did not break the budget but that still covered the minimum Security requirements.
  • Easy to implement.
  • Easy to use for both end user and recipient.
  • User support is great.
  • When you get into the automatic encryption it could be a little challenging.
This would be appropriate in any organization. Zix gives you the ability to configure as little as you want or as much as you want. Starting out we were using only the manual encryption using the outlook plug-in. This was fast and easy to setup and get the users going. This is still how most of our users still use it.
Read this authenticated review
December 23, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Zix to provide encrypted email to help us meet HIPAA and keep patient information secure.
  • Email Encryption.
  • Capture of Data that needs encrypting.
  • Easier implementation.
Excellent for entities requiring a secure way to transmit HIPAA information.
Read this authenticated review
December 19, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Email encryption, email filtering.
  • Products work as they should.
  • Mail filtering has really improved with the move to Zix Protect.
  • Support is very responsive.
  • Support techs fall short in people skills and courtesy sometimes.
Zix has really been great to work with overall and the products have been a great fit for us.
Read this authenticated review
March 03, 2020
Mike McCloskey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zix everyday and throughout our organization. We are a Title Escrow Service and heavily communicate detailed non-public financial information with real estate buyers, sellers, agents, and lenders. We looked at countless solutions which were not able to serve our needs. Many were not very useable by customers. Most were too cumbersome for our agents to manage complex communication threads. Zix is also used by our largest clients, making even greater usability. It has been performing very well for several years
  • Great usability for outside users who may need heavy access for several weeks and almost never again.
  • Streamlined operation for our agents, keeping communication threads organized (actually a function of our mail app - it is just that Zix actually allows this - it was a deal breaker with countless others)
  • Of course, bullet proof and highly recognized encryption. (duh!)
  • Lovely people at Zix supporting us!
  • Excellent reliability and availability
  • Responsive to customer input on making things even better
  • We reported a major issue with accessing documents on a smart phone. The display hides the documents from the recipient, causing much confusion. I haven't heard any progress on improvement, and am quite surprised that this hasn't been addressed.
  • This is doing better now, far less complaints
  • I have never received free pizza from Zix. We always appreciate pizza.
  • Still no pizza.
It has almost perfectly met our needs. A title company with 25 users that requires encrypted communication countless times daily. I am not sure that it would work as well for a small 2 user setup due to cost; I haven't checked that. I work with a small dental office that fits that scenario. There are many HIPAA solutions that match their use case, however.

Still agree with what i wrote a while back on this.
  • Online training
  • In-person training
  • Self-taught
Firsly, there is rarely even a need for support.

Secondly, it is readily avail (likely due the first item!)

The calls are answered quickly be staff who are both knowledgeable and excellent communicators. I found that they seemed to actually care about my situation and in getting the maximum efficiency with the Zix platform, Also, they are fun.
Read Mike McCloskey's full review
March 07, 2020
Daniel Hereford | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zix is deployed globally across all our users and departments. First NBC Bank uses Zix to secure email between our clients and bankers. We have the solution integrated with our DLP solution to look for sensitive information and transparently encrypt email. We rely on the transparent TLS encryption, but the solution can also fall back to a traditional portal solution where the recipient must create a username and password.
  • Transparent encryption with other Zix clients and any email server that can negotiate TLS.
  • Simple deployment options with virtual, physical, or hosted options.
  • Zix can provide email protection with encryption and also email security with SPAM and content filtering.
  • Knowledgeable deployment engineers helped us deploy the solution on the phone without a costly specialist needed.
  • Branding the "Secured by Zix" stamp the solution places on secured messages would be a nice feature.
Zix is a good solution for people running on-premise email (especially Exchange). The cost of the solution is very reasonable in the marketplace and Zix is very good at it. Their Zix directory of other registered Zix users enables transparent encryption across a very large user base. Zix is well regarded in the financial sector due to strong security and auditing.
Read Daniel Hereford's full review
March 06, 2020
Jason Wilson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zix is used to either explicitly encrypt emails through a keyword in the subject line or implicitly encrypt emails based on heuristics that look at the content of the message. It is used across our healthcare organization to protect patient privacy as required by HIPAA and other government regulation.
  • Heuristics work well.
  • The ability to simplify explicit encryption through a keyword is nice.
  • Most recipients are prompted to a secure portal to read the message, but if the other user also uses Zix then the message is automatically decrypted.
  • Zix is appliance based (at least in our implementation). The encryption happens as the message leaves the mail server. This means there is nothing to install at the client. It makes Zix very non-intrusive.
  • Nothing comes to mind -- it just works.
Zix is well suited for an environment where the confidentiality of email messaging is important. For causal messaging it may not be worth the effort or expense.
Read Jason Wilson's full review
March 04, 2020
Mike Narumiya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zix as our mobile email app for our entire organization, as well as for ad hoc encryption needs. It helps solve our issue on dealing with BYOD. In addition, it provides us with means to send secure messages when necessary to our partners, with minimal impact to them. Zix is one of the easiest solutions we found while being attractively priced.
  • Zix mobile app. Easy to use. Anyone can use it with minimal if any, training.
  • The encryption registration for recipients is as painless as it gets. Simple, effective.
  • The app is easy to configure, and compatible with all devices. This made for quick deployment.
  • Customer support is a little hard to use. However, infrequently needed.
  • The app has limitations as you can only view one mailbox, calendar account. You can't check other mailboxes or calendars.
  • Lots of service windows, though few with actual outages. However, in our industry, we treat each update as a potential for an outage, and have to put in certain measures.
The mobile app is the best - easy to set up, quick to deploy, works well and requires very little in terms of support or training. So to need an app that is quick to deploy and easy to use, it is well suited.
I give it the high rating due to the fact support will be rarely needed. Zix documentation is pretty solid, clear, and helpful. When contacted, Zix did a good job in resolving the issues and we were able to move forward without any issues on the zix side. The app is easy to use, and again requires little support.
Read Mike Narumiya's full review
March 04, 2020
Kendall White | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We leverage Zix as our enterprise solution for email encryption, threat protection and email archiving. IT solves any of our concerns or issues pertaining to encrypting sensitive emails, archiving email and safeguarding/filtering our incoming emails to the cooperation. It serves as our standard for email encryption and provides a solution for us to communicate externally in a secure manner.
  • Simple and easy setup and installation.
  • Zix performs encrypting based upon contextual analysis which greatly reduces the number of false positives.
  • Zix greatly supports our needs to be HIPPA compliant and allows us to quarantine emails based upon selected criteria
  • Some end users struggle with the process to open secure emails, when they are not a Zix customer.
  • Generally have to contact support anytime you want to create or edit rules, etc. which can be time consuming.
Very well suited for the healthcare environment. Also great for companies with small IT support staff as the system is very low maintenance. The installation was very simple and straightforward and ongoing support has been excellent. The trusted relationship feature for all Zix customers is a great benefit and prevents the need for other Zix customers to log into a portal etc. to retrieve information.
Read Kendall White's full review
March 03, 2020
Brad Sarpalius | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Zix to secure our email since we work with sensitive client data.
  • Zix catches outbound mail that was unencrypted and should have been encrypted.
  • Zix provides an easy process for our clients to retrieve encrypted mail.
  • Zix has robust tracking portals that allow us to monitor users.
  • My only wish list item would be for Zix to combine their portals into one.
Zix is well suited for organizations that need to be HIPA compliant. Zix is probably not needed if sensitive data is not found within ones industry.
Read Brad Sarpalius's full review
April 08, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zix is currently being used across the whole organization. It allows us, a health care organization, a means of securing our communications to ensure that users do not send PHI in an insecure manner. The system currently enforces encryption based on a number of policies. Some policies enforce automatic encryption, where others allow users to encrypt on demand. We are currently using Zix's cloud hosted offering, but we had a Zix server in-house for years.
  • Policies are set to manage the encryption, so it is mostly hands off. You can set them and forget them.
  • Zix has great support. If you need to understand why something was or was not encrypted, they can assist.
  • The hosted dashboard gives you report options, so you can search the logs on your own. This gives you the ability to do your own research and see what is going on. You can also have reports emailed to you on a schedule.
  • Zix to Zix emails (Zix customer to Zix customer) are automatically encrypted. Otherwise, recipients need to use the Zix web portal to receive the email.
  • Currently, the hosted dashboard does not allow me to touch or manage the policies at all. When I migrated from onsite to hosted, they pulled in my existing policies and added them to the general policies. If I need anything adjusted, I can call support and they will adjust for me.
  • Zix does not offer any other products other than encryption. I was hoping to have one vendor for spam and encryption, but was not willing to leave Zix for Proofpoint.
Zix is well suited for healthcare where PHI needs to be secured. Zix is also well suited for finance where financial information needs to be secured. If you are not concerned with any regulations regarding patient or client data, perhaps Zix is not for you.
Zix support has been wonderful. Whenever I had a question or needed assistance with a report they were there to help.
Read this authenticated review
March 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company uses Zix for email encryption. Almost five years ago, we acquired a federal grant which required the handling of certain Personally Identifiable Information for clients of a program that the grant funds. The grant required additional data security measures including email encryption for emails that contain PII data for these clients. We selected Zix after evaluating several options and based on a trusted reseller's advice.
  • Zix scans outbound emails for personal financial information and encrypts accordingly.
  • Zix scans outbound emails for health information and encrypts accordingly.
  • Zix has an easy end-user interface enabling users to release false-positive encrypted emails without encryption and requiring the end-user to leave an explanation for why the email was released without encryption, therefore, leaving an audit trail.
  • Zix was very easy to implement on our email domain with a few clicks of the mouse.
  • Zix cannot scan PDFs or other image files.
  • Zix errs on the side of false positives for any string of numbers that it assumes might be defined as personal financial information.
  • Zix management console has room for improvement in terms of navigation and UI.
Zix is well-suited for all manner of personal financial information (PFI), health information (HIPAA) and educational information (FERPA), collectively called personally identifiable information (PII). For those messages that contain this information, Zix requires encryption. For those false-positives, Zix will email and administrator(s) and the end-user that sent the email that a message was placed in quarantine for human review to determine whether to release the email with or without encryption. Zix also can detect other Zix gateways and pass all messages to and from the remote Zix gateway with encryption. This is noticed by the end-user by the presence of a blue banner in the email message body.
Read this authenticated review
March 07, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zix is currently being used by the Business Department to share confidential information with our financial institutions. We are also using it in IT when we need to communicate credentials with our partners. It has solved the business problem of needing to transfer information through email securely.
  • Easy manual encryption. You can define a key word or phrase that will trigger an email and contents to be encrypted.
  • Simple encryption rules interface. Zix supplies some pre-defined rules for auto-encryption such has for HIPPA, FERPA, PII, etc that will automatically encrypt if certain keywords or patterns are detected. These can be modified to fit your company requirements.
  • Automatically encrypts email if you are sending to another Zix customer. This makes the encryption process seamless because they do not need to log in to the Zix gateway to retrieve encrypted email. The email and contents are automatically encrypted.
  • Zix will customize your portal, so it is more seamless for your clients and partners.
  • The configuration for web mail, such as Gmail, was not well documented.
  • The default encryption policies initially generated a high volume of false-positives and encrypted much more than we intended.
Zix is well suited if you are looking for a solution that allows you to securely communicate through email. In our case we needed the ability to transmit email communication containing personal financial information that needed to be secure. It is also a good solution for sharing secure credential information with trusted partners.
  • Online training
Zix support has been very responsive. They worked well with us when we initially purchased Zix to get it integrated with Gmail. They also worked with us to customize our Zix Email Encryption Gateway that our partners log into to retrieve encrypted email. The couple times we have run into issues, they have been very responsive in resolving the issues.
Read this authenticated review
March 06, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our business unit is a HIPAA covered entity and we needed a secure mail platform in order to remain compliant. This is just for our business unit and some Corporate HR and Financial teams at this point, but it will probably roll out globally in the next year or so.
  • Very easy to use.
  • Works just like the secure mail feature you would use with your bank or healthcare.
  • Cost effective.
  • Very good support when you reach out to the Zix Support center.
  • We have a hosted solution and it was very straight forward to implement.
  • Should be able to import contacts
  • Should be able to scan pictures for PHI
  • should be a mobile app like all of the big free email apps like Goggle, AOL, Yahoo etc
[It is well suited for] sending PHI securely. [It has] the ability to scan emails for PHI when the user doesn't click the Send Encrypted button. Mail is scanned and when it detects PHI, it automatically encrypts the mail. Sometimes we don't need it to go out secure but have had emails get identified as having PHI in it. Always better safe than sorry, but it can be cumbersome for the recipient.
  • Online training
  • Ease of use
  • Cost effective
  • Great support and easy to implement
Read this authenticated review
March 05, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zix for email encryption for all staff. We are a bank, it's required for regulatory.
  • Integrated well with Google corp apps
  • Automatically encrypts when needed
  • Back-end management is not that strong.
It's great for banks.
Read this authenticated review
April 01, 2019
Jerry Robinson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the ZixGateway to monitor outbound email and securely encrypt on demand, or based on policy, email containing confidential or electronic Patient Health Information (ePHI) ensuring HIPAA compliant email communications. We also use the ZixOne MDM product to sandbox corporate email on mobile devices.
  • Widespread usage of ZixGateway in the Healthcare arena makes end to end encryption very seamless for our users.
  • The product is easy to use. Our users can encrypt either through the use of an Outlook add-on that puts a "Send Securely" button in Outllook for Windows. Though there is no client for those users on a Mac, or those who use OWA, they can still easily encrypt by inserting a keyword in the subject line. As a safety net, the rules that are processed at the Gateway allow for automatic encryption when end users forget.
  • The ZixOne product has grown in functionality over the years and now includes the ability to encrypt from the mobile device. It's become a very stable, reliable program.
  • The backend management of the ZixGateway could be simplified. It took a while to get the hang of how the rules interacted with one another. That having been said, once we had it tweaked out, it's been relatively hands off. Since we rely on this for HIPAA compliance, an improvement in this area would be a periodic "health" check of our appliance to ensure we've not made a rules change that has invalidated the intended use of the product.
  • We would have liked to seen the ZixOne MDM product allow integration of calendar items with the device's native calendar application. That was the biggest complaint of our users, that their business calendar, which contained no ePHI, was now segregated from there personal calendar forcing them manage two separate calendars.
This recommendation is based on the combined rating of the ZixGateway (10) and ZixOne (8). The lowered score for ZixOne is based on my recommended improvements. ZixGateway is well suited for anyone with a need to encrypt email, manually or by rule. Due to the number of Zix clients in the Healthcare arena currently using ZixGateway, it is especially suitable due to the seamless process for the recipient. When the sender's ZixGateway is communicating with a ZixGateway at the receiver's site, the email is encrypted by the sending ZixGateway, decrypted by the receiving ZixGateway, and delivered to the recipient with no extra effort on their end. By comparison, most of the other vendors we evaluated forced their recipients to a Portal from which they could retrieve the secured email, requiring them to maintain yet another set of credentials.
Outstanding support every time we've called.
Read Jerry Robinson's full review
March 14, 2019
Frank Vrba | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for email encryption and some restrictions such as, we don't allow .zip files in or out except in specific cases.
  • Their support is fast and very good.
  • The Zix server we have does a great job of accurately encrypting email that should be, even if we forget.
  • I really like that we can manually encrypt any email we want.
  • The interface. It's not at all user-friendly or intuitive.
Health care is very well suited, for sure, but any business that needs secure communications would benefit.
Read Frank Vrba's full review
October 13, 2017
Kevin Ryan, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is currently being used by paralegal and legal assistants in our office. Zix addresses security and compliance concerns by automatically filtering and securing communications being sent out of our office. With past software, users had more control over what was secured but with Zix the communications are done behind the scenes automatically.
  • One of the things that Zix does well is that it not only provides security to plain text it also makes sure attachments are in compliance as well
  • Being able to add many policies and include/exclude users on the back end provides great flexibility when managing many different types of users. Some of our users require more compliance than others so the ability to create an abundance of policies has been great
  • The integration with Exchange and Outlook for our users has been a positive experience. It took some time to create all the policies at the beginning but everything seems to be work great.
  • We had to create a policy to force encrypt emails that may not meet criteria of policies in place. I believe having an add in or macro that will allow users to encrypt on demand would be a good addition. Perhaps this is already an option so I could be wrong but with our environment we had to setup up a keyword that forces encryption. Many users seem to forget this keyword, causing delays.
  • I have been told that recipients sometime struggle with accessing Zix and creating username/passwords to access our items. I believe more instruction and explanation to those receiving may eliminate these obstacles.
  • One of the biggest annoyances I found was that Zix has multiple portals for the admin. I believe there are 3-4 portals where I need to log in separately to do different things to manage our Zix Gateway, users, policies, etc. It would seem reasonable that all these platforms could be combined into one.
Zix is well suited in an environment where personal and sensitive information is used and shared electronically. One of the big reasons I choose Zix was that Zix works on its own without much requirements from the users. So if an attorney in our office decides to send an email with a Social security number or other personal data, Zix will encrypt the email for the attorney. This protects the firm, the client, and all parties involved. In a world where personal information is stolen daily, it is vital to have something that protects humans from themselves.
Read Kevin Ryan, MBA's full review
November 17, 2017
Joel Segal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Zix across the entire organization. We are utilizing it to protect information being sent by and to our organization that may include PHI, PCI and HIPAA related information.
  • It analyzes emails that may contain data that should be encrypted and automatically encrypts that data.
  • It allows for specific personnel to bypass Zix and send an email that should not need to be encrypted.
  • It allows for recipients outside of our organization to respond in an encrypted format to our users.
  • Recipients outside of our organization have found that it is cumbersome to have to login to the zix portal to receive it.
  • When corresponding with a recipient back and forth, we have received feedback that not all the email recipients have received the email and it is not easy to trace the email.
  • Better logging of whether a recipient received and opened that email.
  • Easier way to delete a sent zix email/revoke that email.
It is great to use Zix when we send listings or reports to some of our locals. We also use it heavily when we correspond with our software vendor.

It is less appropriate when Zix incorrectly identifies an email as containing materials and auto encrypts that email.
Read Joel Segal's full review
November 16, 2017
Lindsey Payne | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The entire organization uses Zix. Originally, we had to log into a separate portal to send secure mail. The way Zix interfaces with Outlook GREATLY increases overall productivity across the bank. Also, the policies that run behind the scenes add an extra layer of protection to keep the bank and our customers' information safe.
  • The implementation turn around time was impressively fast!
  • They did a great job branding the site, which makes our customers more comfortable.
  • I feel like an everyday person would struggle with writing or modifying the policies for Zix. Luckily they are always there for support, but the training for that part was definitely lacking.
I feel like Zix is absolutely perfect for those in the financial industry. I would guess that at least half of our outbound emails have sensitive information that needs to be encrypted. Why not minimize the risk of data leaks?
Read Lindsey Payne's full review
November 08, 2017
Allison Dechant | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
With the growing rate of cyber-crime and identity theft, we recognize the importance of protecting the storage and transmission of client data now more than ever. We are committed to actively ensuring the privacy and security of our clients and the sensitive data that they entrust us with. For this reason, we decided to implement Zix’s Email Encryption Service across all departments to protect the contents of our outbound emails containing personally identifiable information, such as account numbers, social security numbers, banking and financial information, and more.
  • Customers find it easy to read and reply to emails that are received securely.
  • We were able to establish a Subject Line "key word" that allows employees to easy send secure messages via their mobile devices.
  • A large number of the insurance carriers we partner with use Zix as well, making our secure correspondence even easier.
  • Our implementation specialist was extremely helpful, and made the process a lot easier than expected.
  • The pricing options when it comes to number of users were a little limited, especially for a small business.
Secure email encryption is a must in today's day and age. Introducing it to clients can be a little bumpy, but if you can effectively explain that the email encryption will help to ensure that their personal information is protected it makes it easier. Zix assists with this by providing pre-scripted templates that can be used to educate clients and employees about the new process.
Read Allison Dechant's full review

What is Zix Email Encryption (ZixEncrypt)?

Zix provides a transparent email encryption solution. The solution provides automatic email encryption and data loss prevention to offer peace of mind for users, employees, and executives. Its privacy filters automatically scan all emails and attachments, so if any sensitive information is detected it can be encrypted and quarantined. And, Zix's approach to transparency removes extra steps and passwords, in order to make secure email as easy as regular email. That goes for senders AND receivers. The solution aims to end compliance and regulatory concerns, as Zix does the work for the user.

Zix Email Encryption (ZixEncrypt) Features

Has featureProtect Communications
Has featureEnsure Accuracy
Has featureMaintain Compliance

Zix Email Encryption (ZixEncrypt) Integrations

Microsoft Office

Zix Email Encryption (ZixEncrypt) Competitors

Zix Email Encryption (ZixEncrypt) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Zix Email Encryption (ZixEncrypt)?

Zix Email Encryption (formerly ZixEncrypt) provides automatic email encryption and data loss prevention solution. Zix scans the content of outbound email and automatically encrypts or takes action based on user-defined policies, for any email environment to secure any mailbox beyond its native capabilities.

What is Zix Email Encryption (ZixEncrypt)'s best feature?

Reviewers rate Availability and Performance and Product Scalability highest, with a score of 9.

Who uses Zix Email Encryption (ZixEncrypt)?

The most common users of Zix Email Encryption (ZixEncrypt) are from Mid-size Companies and the Hospital & Health Care industry.