Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Zuora

Zuora

Overview

What is Zuora?

Zuora is one of the best-known subscription billing platforms. Zuora is an enterprise-level product and, as such, provides comprehensive metrics, tax automation, and support for multiple currencies. It also offers Salesforce and NetSuite integration out-of the-box. It often replaces…

Read more
Recent Reviews

TrustRadius Insights

Zuora is a versatile software that offers several key use cases for businesses across various departments. Users, such as Surf Air and …
Continue reading

Review of Zuora

1 out of 10
February 11, 2023
We use Zuora for billing (invoicing), creation and tracking of subscriptions, cancellations and sync of data over to our CRM (Salesforce) …
Continue reading

Zuora Review

1 out of 10
January 18, 2021
Redgate currently use Zuora to manage their customer subscriptions, and create quotations for making amendments/adding new products. The …
Continue reading

Use at your peril

1 out of 10
November 03, 2020
Zuora is the center of our billing system and subscription management solution.
Continue reading

Sage Intacct

5 out of 10
May 18, 2019
Incentivized
Zuroa is being used by one department in our business to support a small e-commerce side of our business. We use it also for customers who …
Continue reading

Zuora Review

10 out of 10
May 10, 2019
Incentivized
At our organization, we use Zuora on our finance and business operations team -- primarily for invoicing customers and keeping track of …
Continue reading

Zuora Does A Lot

7 out of 10
March 07, 2018
Incentivized
Our whole organization is using Zuora from sales to fulfillment. It allows us to effectively bill on a recurring basis.
Continue reading
Read all reviews
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Zuora?

Zuora is one of the best-known subscription billing platforms. Zuora is an enterprise-level product and, as such, provides comprehensive metrics, tax automation, and support for multiple currencies. It also offers Salesforce and NetSuite integration out-of the-box. It often replaces cumbersome ERP…

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

128 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is Chargebee?

ChargeBee is an all in one subscription billing solution designed to handle all the complexity of recurring billing. The product integrates with a range of other SaaS applications including SalesForce, accounting, and order fulfillment systems. Some key features include: Managed Subscription…

What is Recurly?

Recurly is a subscription billing platform and manages customer communications via email, business performance monitoring, and account changes. A merchant bank account is required to work with Recurly. A payment gateway is part of the product but it integrates with other gateways, such as PayPal,…

Return to navigation

Product Demos

Zuora Advanced Consumption Billing - Micro Demo

YouTube

Zuora Demo: Suspend For Non-Pay (Part 2)

YouTube

Zuora CPQ Micro Demo

YouTube

Zuora + Workato | Custom automations that fit your business

YouTube

Zuora Revenue Micro Demo

YouTube

Zuora Demo: Suspend For Non-Pay (Part 1)

YouTube
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Zuora?

Zuora is software for subscription businesses. The software is designed to provide an end-to-end subscription management solution that includes billing, finance, commerce and insights, helping users establish a subscription business model and establish, nurture, and monetize recurring customer relationships.

Zuora spans across commerce, billing, collections, revenue recognition, and analytics. The vendor says their products aim to help users:

  1. Go to market with their subscription offerings, then grow and retain their customer base across multiple channels
  2. Automate billing, collections, and revenue recognition to scale their business and support their go-to-market strategies
  3. Deeply understand their subscribers and the health of their business at all times

Zuora is headquartered in Foster City, CA with 11 offices around the world. The company services over 800 clients, including HP, Dell, Financial Times, Box, YP.com, Vivint, Hubspot, and Schneider Electric.

Zuora Features

  • Supported: Product Catalog
  • Supported: Subscriptions & Amendments
  • Supported: Zuora for Salesforce
  • Supported: Billing & AR Settlement
  • Supported: Payment Processing
  • Supported: Revenue Recognition
  • Supported: GL Integration

Zuora Competitors

Zuora Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Zuora is one of the best-known subscription billing platforms. Zuora is an enterprise-level product and, as such, provides comprehensive metrics, tax automation, and support for multiple currencies. It also offers Salesforce and NetSuite integration out-of the-box. It often replaces cumbersome ERP (enterprise resource planning) systems that does not focus exclusively on billing.

Braintree, a PayPal service, Maxio, and Vindicia are common alternatives for Zuora.

Reviewers rate Performance highest, with a score of 9.7.

The most common users of Zuora are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(276)

Community Insights

TrustRadius Insights are summaries of user sentiment data from TrustRadius reviews and, when necessary, 3rd-party data sources. Have feedback on this content? Let us know!

Zuora is a versatile software that offers several key use cases for businesses across various departments. Users, such as Surf Air and Branch, have found value in using Zuora as their primary revenue and subscription management system. It handles the complexity of subscription management, invoicing, and billing seamlessly, allowing finance, technology, customer service, and product strategy teams to automate manual processes and save time. Zuora has also proven valuable for the finance and accounting departments, serving as a centralized billing system that consolidates billing accounts and avoids the need for manual revenue reconciliation. Additionally, the integration of Zuora with Salesforce allows sales operations to manage the product catalog accurately and enables sales representatives to generate accurate quotes. Furthermore, companies implementing Zuora globally have benefitted from its ability to address subscription-related problems, recurring payments, prorations, discounts, invoicing, and reporting. The software has also been praised for its flexibility and support in scaling businesses during seamless transitions from other vendors. Overall, Zuora's features cater to multiple departments within organizations by facilitating financial transactions, managing subscriptions efficiently, providing valuable insights through data analysis tools like Zuora Insights, and aiding in compliance with company guidelines during field inspections.

Flexible Pricing and Customization: Several reviewers have mentioned that Zuora's subscription modeling allows for pricing flexibility and customization to meet specific business needs. Users appreciate the well-thought-out pricing structure and ability to request new pricing and discounting options, indicating that Zuora provides a customizable platform.

Seamless Integration with Salesforce: Many users have praised the integration between Zuora and Salesforce, stating that it streamlines sales processes and improves overall efficiency. With this integration, salespeople can easily build product quotes with flexible rate plans and have visibility into Zuora subscriptions and financials within Salesforce, enhancing their workflow.

Responsive Customer Support: Reviewers consistently mention the helpfulness of Zuora's support team. They appreciate the quick response times and assistance provided whenever needed. This level of support contributes to a positive user experience and demonstrates Zuora's commitment to excellent customer service.

Inaccurate Reporting: Several reviewers have expressed dissatisfaction with the reporting capabilities of Zuora. They feel that running multiple reports and combining them to get the desired level of detail is time-consuming. Some users also mentioned the need for improvement in distinguishing between multiple lines of business.

Difficult User Interface: Many users find the user interface of Zuora confusing and unintuitive. They have encountered issues such as clicking on hyperlinked subscription numbers leading to invoices instead of subscriptions, limited customization options to improve the poor UI, and weak search and reporting capabilities.

Lack of Integration and Flexibility: Reviewers have highlighted several integration and flexibility-related concerns with Zuora. Users mentioned challenges in integrating Zuora quotes with Salesforce, difficulties in customizing without Apex coding knowledge, limitations in offering different payment plans and billing frequencies, and a lack of seamless integration with popular accounting systems like Quickbooks.

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 134)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
February 11, 2023

Review of Zuora

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
If you have a very straightforward use case, simple product catalog and don't require integration with other systems, complex reporting or comprehensive tech support or knowledgebase, Zuora might be a good option.
For companies with a complex use case, integrations, detailed reporting needs or who need solid tech support, I don't recommend Zuora at all.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
If your company processes a large volume of transactions, Zuora is well-suited for you. In addition, if you need to make changes to subscriptions to your customers frequently or track usage in order to bill clients, Zuora has the capability to do so. If your company goes through any kind of audits, Zuora's audit log may come in handy. Zuora does cost quite a bit so if your company doesn't process a large volume of transactions or make many changes to subscriptions, it may not be worth the investment.
February 23, 2021

Invest in Zuora

Chloe Sayers | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Zuroa is very well-suited for B2B businesses that primarily have a subscription stream of revenue. It is less appropriate for B2C and retail, if you are only selling one-time products or services, this tool would be overkill and confusing instead of helpful. However, if you need to recognize revenue from subscriptions over the service period, Zuora is a lifesaver.
January 18, 2021

Zuora Review

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
If you have very simple subscriptions, this will work for you. But do not touch this software if you have anything complex in your use case, or if you sell perpetual licensing alongside subscription.
November 03, 2020

Use at your peril

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It's well suited to a company with a very, very simple set up who don't need flexibility or reliability. One that sells few subscriptions for a large amount of money and don't mind giving Zuora a good slice of that revenue.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Perfect for any SaaS company with recurring billing, subscription and renewals needs. It's easy to get using and there is a lot you can automate within your billing, subscription and renewal processes. Whether you are in sales, customer service or billing, it's a powerful tool that you can use to manage your product catalog and customers' billing needs.
May 18, 2019

Sage Intacct

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Zuora is great if you have a team to manage it and focus solely on that application. We tried to build an out of the box integration but we quickly realized we would need to build something custom to handle our use case. Zuora rep continues to push products without understanding our business or helping provide full solutions.
May 10, 2019

Zuora Review

Andy Chu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
When I need to know whether a customer has paid or not, I refer to Zuora for the payment status. It's great to have a single source of truth to go to and determine the history of an account (when they were signed, when they were first invoiced, when they first paid, how they pay, etc.).
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Zuora is a great tool for subscription businesses to be able to bill their customers. We have a global business and bill in many currencies and need to notify our customers in many languages. Zuora allows us to be able to bill at different rates and in different currencies. The one challenge we have is we need to be able to break down communications based on specific detailed traits and Zuora is limited in how detailed you can get in segmenting your billing notices.
Dirk Miller | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
In terms of managing a subscription business, there is nothing better. For more complex businesses, with multiple locations and multiple products, Zuora can still fit your needs, however, please give consideration to setting up your product catalog first before progressing. This will save you time and money and will allow you to get the most out of Zuora. Zuora has a large amount of flexibility once you understand the product and a sound understanding of the product catalog is crucial to the success of your business. Zuora pushes you to simplify your business and focus on what matters for your customers.
Joshua Henke | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Zuora is a subscription tool. It is very focused and should probably stay that way. I think there is a good reason many businesses are choosing Zuora, but I think they'll be in for a disappointment in many areas, those I've listed in the Cons section of this review. If they make some drastic improvements to the UI, my users will be much more pleased, like removing a little rock out of your shoe.

For a simple subscription business, Zuora is a great tool. If you get into multi-year subscriptions (known to be multi-year from inception), there are challenges, particularly related to revenue recognition, amendments, and, especially, future-dated amendments.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Zuora was difficult for us to implement, because we already had a history of SaaS, so we had a moving target in getting up and running. I would recommend having a strong focus on getting it up and running as quickly as possible, as time only makes it more difficult.
August 20, 2017

All in your hands!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
In our specific case, payments, and subscriptions done in the mobile platform cannot be managed in Zuora. In thess cases, you cannot perform everything in Zuora. It is really fine when you can finish all your tasks in Zuora and be sure that it is all clearly recorded and trackable. This is at least in our case.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Zuora is well suited if you need to integrate data into SalesForce or do not have many product SKU's. If you have too many product sku's, it can make it more difficult to understand the invoices from the client perspective.

If you need to understand what products your customers are utilizing, the reporting is great. It may just take you a while to get the right report.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I'm not sure if it is the best solution for a subscription-based business. Single payments seem to be fine but reoccurring charges seem to cause problems. The search for a credit card by the last numbers, which is often the only information we get, is quite slow.

Overall I'm satisfied with the interface and daily operations.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Zuora is made for SaaS. I believe for companies using Salesforce it is highly suitable as it allows integration between sales and finance, which is at other times a black hole. We are still moving forward to use another tool for our general ledger system.
Return to navigation