Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Zuora

Zuora

Overview

What is Zuora?

Zuora is one of the best-known subscription billing platforms. Zuora is an enterprise-level product and, as such, provides comprehensive metrics, tax automation, and support for multiple currencies. It also offers Salesforce and NetSuite integration out-of the-box. It often replaces…

Read more
Recent Reviews

TrustRadius Insights

Zuora is a versatile software that offers several key use cases for businesses across various departments. Users, such as Surf Air and …
Continue reading

Review of Zuora

1 out of 10
February 11, 2023
We use Zuora for billing (invoicing), creation and tracking of subscriptions, cancellations and sync of data over to our CRM (Salesforce) …
Continue reading

Zuora Review

1 out of 10
January 18, 2021
Redgate currently use Zuora to manage their customer subscriptions, and create quotations for making amendments/adding new products. The …
Continue reading

Use at your peril

1 out of 10
November 03, 2020
Zuora is the center of our billing system and subscription management solution.
Continue reading

Sage Intacct

5 out of 10
May 18, 2019
Incentivized
Zuroa is being used by one department in our business to support a small e-commerce side of our business. We use it also for customers who …
Continue reading

Zuora Review

10 out of 10
May 10, 2019
Incentivized
At our organization, we use Zuora on our finance and business operations team -- primarily for invoicing customers and keeping track of …
Continue reading

Zuora Does A Lot

7 out of 10
March 07, 2018
Incentivized
Our whole organization is using Zuora from sales to fulfillment. It allows us to effectively bill on a recurring basis.
Continue reading
Read all reviews
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Zuora?

Zuora is one of the best-known subscription billing platforms. Zuora is an enterprise-level product and, as such, provides comprehensive metrics, tax automation, and support for multiple currencies. It also offers Salesforce and NetSuite integration out-of the-box. It often replaces cumbersome ERP…

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

128 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is Chargebee?

ChargeBee is an all in one subscription billing solution designed to handle all the complexity of recurring billing. The product integrates with a range of other SaaS applications including SalesForce, accounting, and order fulfillment systems. Some key features include: Managed Subscription…

What is Recurly?

Recurly is a subscription billing platform and manages customer communications via email, business performance monitoring, and account changes. A merchant bank account is required to work with Recurly. A payment gateway is part of the product but it integrates with other gateways, such as PayPal,…

Return to navigation

Product Demos

Zuora Advanced Consumption Billing - Micro Demo

YouTube

Zuora Demo: Suspend For Non-Pay (Part 2)

YouTube

Zuora CPQ Micro Demo

YouTube

Zuora + Workato | Custom automations that fit your business

YouTube

Zuora Revenue Micro Demo

YouTube

Zuora Demo: Suspend For Non-Pay (Part 1)

YouTube
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Zuora?

Zuora is software for subscription businesses. The software is designed to provide an end-to-end subscription management solution that includes billing, finance, commerce and insights, helping users establish a subscription business model and establish, nurture, and monetize recurring customer relationships.

Zuora spans across commerce, billing, collections, revenue recognition, and analytics. The vendor says their products aim to help users:

  1. Go to market with their subscription offerings, then grow and retain their customer base across multiple channels
  2. Automate billing, collections, and revenue recognition to scale their business and support their go-to-market strategies
  3. Deeply understand their subscribers and the health of their business at all times

Zuora is headquartered in Foster City, CA with 11 offices around the world. The company services over 800 clients, including HP, Dell, Financial Times, Box, YP.com, Vivint, Hubspot, and Schneider Electric.

Zuora Features

  • Supported: Product Catalog
  • Supported: Subscriptions & Amendments
  • Supported: Zuora for Salesforce
  • Supported: Billing & AR Settlement
  • Supported: Payment Processing
  • Supported: Revenue Recognition
  • Supported: GL Integration

Zuora Competitors

Zuora Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Zuora is one of the best-known subscription billing platforms. Zuora is an enterprise-level product and, as such, provides comprehensive metrics, tax automation, and support for multiple currencies. It also offers Salesforce and NetSuite integration out-of the-box. It often replaces cumbersome ERP (enterprise resource planning) systems that does not focus exclusively on billing.

Braintree, a PayPal service, Maxio, and Vindicia are common alternatives for Zuora.

Reviewers rate Performance highest, with a score of 9.7.

The most common users of Zuora are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(276)

Community Insights

TrustRadius Insights are summaries of user sentiment data from TrustRadius reviews and, when necessary, 3rd-party data sources. Have feedback on this content? Let us know!

Zuora is a versatile software that offers several key use cases for businesses across various departments. Users, such as Surf Air and Branch, have found value in using Zuora as their primary revenue and subscription management system. It handles the complexity of subscription management, invoicing, and billing seamlessly, allowing finance, technology, customer service, and product strategy teams to automate manual processes and save time. Zuora has also proven valuable for the finance and accounting departments, serving as a centralized billing system that consolidates billing accounts and avoids the need for manual revenue reconciliation. Additionally, the integration of Zuora with Salesforce allows sales operations to manage the product catalog accurately and enables sales representatives to generate accurate quotes. Furthermore, companies implementing Zuora globally have benefitted from its ability to address subscription-related problems, recurring payments, prorations, discounts, invoicing, and reporting. The software has also been praised for its flexibility and support in scaling businesses during seamless transitions from other vendors. Overall, Zuora's features cater to multiple departments within organizations by facilitating financial transactions, managing subscriptions efficiently, providing valuable insights through data analysis tools like Zuora Insights, and aiding in compliance with company guidelines during field inspections.

Flexible Pricing and Customization: Several reviewers have mentioned that Zuora's subscription modeling allows for pricing flexibility and customization to meet specific business needs. Users appreciate the well-thought-out pricing structure and ability to request new pricing and discounting options, indicating that Zuora provides a customizable platform.

Seamless Integration with Salesforce: Many users have praised the integration between Zuora and Salesforce, stating that it streamlines sales processes and improves overall efficiency. With this integration, salespeople can easily build product quotes with flexible rate plans and have visibility into Zuora subscriptions and financials within Salesforce, enhancing their workflow.

Responsive Customer Support: Reviewers consistently mention the helpfulness of Zuora's support team. They appreciate the quick response times and assistance provided whenever needed. This level of support contributes to a positive user experience and demonstrates Zuora's commitment to excellent customer service.

Inaccurate Reporting: Several reviewers have expressed dissatisfaction with the reporting capabilities of Zuora. They feel that running multiple reports and combining them to get the desired level of detail is time-consuming. Some users also mentioned the need for improvement in distinguishing between multiple lines of business.

Difficult User Interface: Many users find the user interface of Zuora confusing and unintuitive. They have encountered issues such as clicking on hyperlinked subscription numbers leading to invoices instead of subscriptions, limited customization options to improve the poor UI, and weak search and reporting capabilities.

Lack of Integration and Flexibility: Reviewers have highlighted several integration and flexibility-related concerns with Zuora. Users mentioned challenges in integrating Zuora quotes with Salesforce, difficulties in customizing without Apex coding knowledge, limitations in offering different payment plans and billing frequencies, and a lack of seamless integration with popular accounting systems like Quickbooks.

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 132)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Zuora is used to manage Subscriptions of our SaaS offerings. It is used by our Sales, Accounting, Finance & Accounting, and Collections Department. Zuora helps manage our subscriptions and have a lot of features to make management of these subscriptions easy. It integrates well with our SalesForce platform and allows us to make changes to subscriptions with a user-friendly UI. There is an audit log to show the different versions of a subscription.
February 23, 2021

Invest in Zuora

Chloe Sayers | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
[Zuora] is being used by the finance, sales, and success teams. It addresses the problem of not being able to have visibility into billing internally or externally. It also saved us from the issue of having no real "order" object in our system to track changes to subscriptions. The RevOps team has also been heavily involved.
January 18, 2021

Zuora Review

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Redgate currently use Zuora to manage their customer subscriptions, and create quotations for making amendments/adding new products. The whole sales team have adopted this solution since we migrated away from an in-house designed solution.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Zuora is being across our entire organization for everything from annual subscription renewals and one-time purchases to issuing refunds and credits. Since we are a SaaS company, it is the perfect billing solution for us to be able to easily create quotes, invoices, and perform other billing-related functions. The solution for our company is not having to manually run/create billing items or manage multiple platforms for our billing and subscription-related needs.
May 10, 2019

Zuora Review

Andy Chu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
At our organization, we use Zuora on our finance and business operations team -- primarily for invoicing customers and keeping track of accounts receivables. We also use Zuora a lot for some of our financial reporting. It is also very helpful during our standard audits, as they'll request a lot of information that is already stored in Zuora.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Our organization uses Zuora for billing our customers. The billing department uses it to automate billing, send billing email notifications, and update our CRM with billing information. Zuora is a robust tool that allows us to provide certain billing information like renewal dates in our CRM so that our renewals team can make sure our customers have a smooth renewal experience.
Dirk Miller | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Zuora is used as our complete end to end billing, payment, and sub-ledger and is currently in one of our regions with the view to expand this product to all regions around the world in a staged rollout. Zuora allows us to focus on building products and solutions for our customers and team by providing a product that is flexible and scalable to meet our needs. Zuora's ability to quickly build products for our customers and release into production allows us to stay relevant in today's business world.
Joshua Henke | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Zuora is a point solution for subscription billing. That's all it does, but that makes it a critical part of our business, managing our complex deals with customers, generating and delivering invoices and credits to them.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Zuora for managing our SaaS-based subscriptions and billing. All departments that interact with the customer have some interaction with Zuora, including Sales, Finance, Accounting, Customer Success, and Information Systems.
Anthony Hewitt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We are a SaaS business and use Zuora to manage all our subscriptions. From original quotes in Salesforce, to regular invoicing and payment collections, to feeding back subscription and customer information back to Salesforce to enable our customer success, support and billing departments to have all the information they need to hand. The great thing is once the original subscription is created from the quote input is minimal and it just does its job. Invoices and payment collections just work automatically in the background and we only get involved when there are exceptions to deal with. Its great to know you can rely on it and have your focus on other areas of the business. Recent changes have helped improve the way we use Zuora with multi-currency, CPQ and the Insights reporting being the standout areas. Software is not everything and the team at Zuora are always open and willing to help when change comes around and the annual Subscribed event is a MUST for anyone in the subscription economy. I am always happy to recommend Zuora as its years ahead of any competition.
Andrew Keith | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
ClearCare uses Zuora for our entire quote-to-cash process. We use Z-Quotes for our SalesForce quoting integration, which allows our sales reps to book their orders in SalesForce, and send the subscription to Zuora for invoicing and collection. We also use Zuora for our month-end reporting. Last year we also implemented usage records feeding directly from our API into Zuora, which allows us to bill much easier.

Zuora is used solely by the Finance department. Zuora addresses the problem of manual processes in the finance department. We've been able to automate nearly everything, which saves us a lot of time to work on other priorities. Thank you Zuora!
August 20, 2017

All in your hands!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Zuora to manage customer accounts so we can have in one place all the information about account details, billing, invoicing, refunds, payments, cancellations, and discounts. It makes easy for customer support to investigate an account. You can search for customer account information, process cancellations, refunds and make any kind of adjustments.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Zuora is being used as our CMS for invoicing and billing customers. Our billing and finance departments are the main users of zuora, however, we utilize the reporting capabilities across the entire organization. Zuora has a robust reports section that allows us to drill down to the product line-item so we can understand the usage of our customers.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Zuora in a cloud-based environment to process online-payments. In the B2C field we support credit cards and PayPal, in B2B also wire transfers can be processed. It is primarily used to collect payments, issue refunds, send invoices and cancel or amend subscriptions. We also use it to search for payments when customers or companies report uncertain transactions.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Zuora for billing and it is used by various departments including: Finance/Accounting, Billing Support, Customer Support, Sales, and Product Dev. We switched from a home grown billing system to Zuora to improve invoicing, revenue recognition and the communication between our provisioning team and billing.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are using Zuora for our monthly invoicing as well as revenue reporting. We leverage the Zuora for Salesforce functionality so that our sales people build Zuora quotes within Salesforce which sync to Zuora automatically once a customer becomes billable.

Zuora allows us to automate our billing process as well as provides flexibility to adjust our products and prices, which was much more limited using out of the box Salesforce opportunity products previously.
Return to navigation