TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/BF/l7/LS1EFQZR9TZ5.JPEGWe've used Criteo for a number of years now and always returned impressive results. Criteo are fast to respond, great account managers and professionals in the field.Criteo enables us to retarget our customers who shopped online and catch those abandoned cart customers. It's useful for us because in car rental, often customers will get a quote on our website but then leave to look elsewhere and it's effective to have Criteo ads following them page to page afterward to show them we're the lowest price they'll find.,Facebook Retargeting News websites Google advertising,Updating creatives more often Using more varied ad formats Simplified weekly reporting,10,We have definitely seen an increase in return year on year from using Criteo,B2CAn all encompassing retargeting solution with exceptional customer insightOver the last 12 months, I've used Criteo Dynamic Retargeting to capture lower funnel customers to convert into online and stores sales. During this time, we've introduced store level reporting, and TVex, which allows us to aggressively retarget users following the airing of our TV ads. These features have given us a much greater insight into the power of impressions, and ultimately allow us to improve our omnichannel strategy. This has been further aided by the support of the amount strategists at Criteo, who are extremely knowledgable, friendly and helpful.,Lower funnel retargeting - stop your customers going elsewhere TVex - make your TV ads work harder Offline store sales - learn more about the value of brand building and onmichannel reporting Weekly strategy calls,More control of the platform Greater training for big clients,10,Brand building has ensured we have hit our targets every week for a year, since starting our work with Criteo Less customers escaping after visiting our site Massive omnichannel ROI,,B2CGood platform with a reliable algorithmCriteo retargeting has been very helpful in getting users back into our site. Their tool outperforms their competitors when it comes to both traffic and conversions.,Display Ads Design Websites Placements Quality Traffic,Placement reporting Traffic reporting,9,It has a slight positive impact, although it is difficult to measure it with accuracy in any instance.,B2CGood experience but questionable costs!We use Criteo within the online marketing department currently for low funnel retargeting and will be introducing mid funnel in the next few weeks. This is particularly crucial during the busy Christmas period.,Reports are clear and understandable Our account manager is really helpful and explains things clearly,The costs can often seem confusing and lack transparency,6,High COS which is being questioned by Senior Management However, on occasion, high levels of revenue are being offered,B2CVery easy to use to make sure you're not leaving money on the table - but don't trust them blindly!We use this within our e-commerce department. This makes it very very easy and straightforward to run an extensive remarketing campaign across lots of different publishers so we do not have to invest much time in management or testing creatives. It's all done for us.,Has a good reach of publishers and can buy the inventory programatically and all we need to do is set a CPC bid any only pay when a customer clicks. The hard work is done for us. Their ad formats perform very well out-of-the-box so again, we don't need to test lots of different variants because their ads are already very effective. Flexible with budget and commitments. We can change our target spend instantly depending on business concerns without being locked in to a commitment.,Information - Criteo is unashamedly black-box and doesn't give customers the ability to audit the numbers. You have to put your faith in Criteo. Budget inflation - sometimes Criteo will recommend bid increases which seem to show a lift in reach and clicks and orders, but when you contrast this with your other numbers time and time again we have seen no incremental impact from some of these spending splurges. Criteo has a level where it is effective, and going over that - the only winner is Criteo as you have spent more. Criteo will not be transparent with you where that level is so you have to work it out yourself. Static CPC - unlike most platforms, you don't have an 'auction' for the click, you set a fixed CPC and this impacts every single click you have from most valubale to least. This means a bid increase of just 5% could have a 10%+ lift in spend for only a few more (less qualified) clicks.,7,Criteo runs at a lower ROI than our other marketing channels. It is a profitable channel for us at between 3:1 and 6:1 return on ad spend. As a share of our overall budget it is a fraction, but gives us so much exposure on different platforms that it's worth it.,B2C
Unspecified
Criteo Dynamic Retargeting
38 Ratings
Score 7.6 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Criteo Dynamic Retargeting
38 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.6 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 38 vetted Criteo Dynamic Retargeting reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-13 of 13)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Yazmin Collister profile photo
January 08, 2019

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Review: "We've used Criteo for a number of years now and always returned impressive results. Criteo are fast to respond, great account managers and professionals in the field."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Criteo enables us to retarget our customers who shopped online and catch those abandoned cart customers. It's useful for us because in car rental, often customers will get a quote on our website but then leave to look elsewhere and it's effective to have Criteo ads following them page to page afterward to show them we're the lowest price they'll find.
  • Facebook Retargeting
  • News websites
  • Google advertising
  • Updating creatives more often
  • Using more varied ad formats
  • Simplified weekly reporting
For very low prices it is perfect because it stands out on the retagreting ads and the dynamic ad format shows a range of vehicles in case they want something bigger/smaller.
Read Yazmin Collister's full review
Adam Keys profile photo
January 08, 2019

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Review: "An all encompassing retargeting solution with exceptional customer insight"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Over the last 12 months, I've used Criteo Dynamic Retargeting to capture lower funnel customers to convert into online and stores sales. During this time, we've introduced store level reporting, and TVex, which allows us to aggressively retarget users following the airing of our TV ads. These features have given us a much greater insight into the power of impressions, and ultimately allow us to improve our omnichannel strategy. This has been further aided by the support of the amount strategists at Criteo, who are extremely knowledgable, friendly and helpful.
  • Lower funnel retargeting - stop your customers going elsewhere
  • TVex - make your TV ads work harder
  • Offline store sales - learn more about the value of brand building and onmichannel reporting
  • Weekly strategy calls
  • More control of the platform
  • Greater training for big clients
Sales - with feed based activity, you won't be caught out with price changes.
Read Adam Keys's full review
Caroline Silvestre profile photo
December 13, 2018

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Review: "Good platform with a reliable algorithm"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Criteo retargeting has been very helpful in getting users back into our site. Their tool outperforms their competitors when it comes to both traffic and conversions.
  • Display Ads Design
  • Websites Placements
  • Quality Traffic
  • Placement reporting
  • Traffic reporting
Criteo is great for a multi-product retail site and for any conversion driven businesses. Not so useful for PR perhaps, as it doesn't give any user insight.
Read Caroline Silvestre's full review
Emily Barker profile photo
December 13, 2018

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Review: "Good experience but questionable costs!"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Criteo within the online marketing department currently for low funnel retargeting and will be introducing mid funnel in the next few weeks. This is particularly crucial during the busy Christmas period.
  • Reports are clear and understandable
  • Our account manager is really helpful and explains things clearly
  • The costs can often seem confusing and lack transparency
Criteo Retargeting is great for a business like ourselves during the busiest periods e.g. Christmas but during the quieter months, it can be excess expenditure.
Read Emily Barker's full review
No photo available
December 13, 2018

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Review: "Very easy to use to make sure you're not leaving money on the table - but don't trust them blindly!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this within our e-commerce department. This makes it very very easy and straightforward to run an extensive remarketing campaign across lots of different publishers so we do not have to invest much time in management or testing creatives. It's all done for us.
  • Has a good reach of publishers and can buy the inventory programatically and all we need to do is set a CPC bid any only pay when a customer clicks. The hard work is done for us.
  • Their ad formats perform very well out-of-the-box so again, we don't need to test lots of different variants because their ads are already very effective.
  • Flexible with budget and commitments. We can change our target spend instantly depending on business concerns without being locked in to a commitment.
  • Information - Criteo is unashamedly black-box and doesn't give customers the ability to audit the numbers. You have to put your faith in Criteo.
  • Budget inflation - sometimes Criteo will recommend bid increases which seem to show a lift in reach and clicks and orders, but when you contrast this with your other numbers time and time again we have seen no incremental impact from some of these spending splurges. Criteo has a level where it is effective, and going over that - the only winner is Criteo as you have spent more. Criteo will not be transparent with you where that level is so you have to work it out yourself.
  • Static CPC - unlike most platforms, you don't have an 'auction' for the click, you set a fixed CPC and this impacts every single click you have from most valubale to least. This means a bid increase of just 5% could have a 10%+ lift in spend for only a few more (less qualified) clicks.
Companies that aren't doing any remarketing are leaving money on the table. Criteo is a proven solution that will get you going with effective creative, across lots of different publishers, in very quick order. The management overhead is tiny so you don't need any extra resource to run Criteo.

Criteo also has good access to premium publishers where your ads can appear on top-tier news sites where competition might otherwise be too high.

For agencies, or for companies who have in-house resource already, they could run remarketing campaigns across GDN and Facebook more efficiently than Criteo and would have much more transparency. There would be some substantial management overhead for this of course, so you would need to calculate that through.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 13, 2018

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Review: "Criteo has helped our client grow sales in 2018"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used Criteo on behalf of a retail client in both the UK and USA. It has delivered a good volume of sales and revenue on top of the other digital advertising we undertake as well as a good way of building and maintaining brand awareness.
  • Easy to use
  • Good reporting
  • Self management - easy and quick to change bids
  • More info on the re-targeting funnel - customer info
  • Better understanding from the account team on our client's business requirements
It is ideal for retail clients where it can build bespoke ads based on products a potential customer has viewed. I would struggle to see the benefits of Criteo for some of our travel clients where a bespoke ad would be harder to build and we could use Google Display Network for re-marketing
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 13, 2018

Review: "Criteo Dynamic Retargeting is well worth the investment!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Criteo Dynamic Retargeting has been a great asset to our company. Since implementing this we have seen an increase in sales from retargetting our customers who left our site without purchasing. We are a small company so making the decision to use this was a big one but it has paid off.
  • Assigned a key contact to help you with your account. This helps to get the best from the program.
  • Easy to use dashboard which shows key information to help you report stats back and keep an eye on the progress each month.
  • Flexible - you can adjust budgets month on month to suit your company situation.
  • Some ads are a bit overwhelming on some websites. We had had some (very few) negative feedback on how many ads are shown.
Criteo Dynamic Retargeting is well suited to us as we sell high value items. People come back to our site a few times to research etc., before committing to buy. Criteo helps to make sure that the potential customer comes back to us by reminding them what they were looking at which is where the targeted ads come in to play.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 13, 2018

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting: "Criteo Dynamic Remarketing Review after 3 months of use."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Criteo Dynamic Remarketing for our e-commerce platform to engage customers. We have a lot of website visitors that come and look but don't buy and this has helped us to bring some of them back. We are still evaluating how successful it is and will make a decision within the next 3 months if we are to keep it or not as the first 6-8 weeks were great but it has dropped off for us slightly now and I was promised the reverse of that in the sales calls.
  • Our ads appear on a very diverse range of sites and some very prominent ones like eBay etc.
  • The dashboard gives you a very good feel for how the campaign is going.
  • There is an API so if this works out for us we will then look to integrate it into our CRM to see who is at a glance that is responsive to remarketing.
  • A reverse API so it could pull actual sales figures from our website instead of the ones pre-discounts and shipping to get a better feel for the ROAS.
Well suited if you have great product photography, I think we are not seeing the returns we could be if we were to improve our photography. Also, the constant changing of bid values seems a bit excessive and not intuitive in terms of we see that the ads are working well on a low bid but not so much on a higher bid and yet it keeps on asking us to approve raises in the bid which never seem to work.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 09, 2019

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Review: "Great re-targeting tool!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's been great to put the company's products in front of the right audience and also attract customers that are in the lower level of the funnel.
  • Attracts customers that are most likely to purchase
  • Controls cost of sales
  • Gives full access to the partner for monitoring the performance of the campaigns
  • They have taken some time to adjust changes we wanted to make in certain campaigns, such as lowering the COS or fixing a problem that we had a few months ago where customers were not shown enough ads as they should
it's great when you work with a seasonal product. Depending on demands, they can adapt to the price they show to the customers. They might take some time to implement the changes your company wants.
Read this authenticated review
Luiz Lai profile photo
June 20, 2018

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Review: "Great for platform for retargeting, traffic, improve ROI."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Criteo is used by the marketing department, in most cases, to help the agency's customer portfolio reach its primary digital marketing goals, whether with CPC reduction, increased ROI, increased media streaming display, targeted campaigns for new users, or specific audiences or dynamic remarketing products
  • dynamic remarketing
  • Customer aquisition
  • Criteo API has more accessibility and this helps the agencies to access the data and the reports programmatically, combining data from other sources in one marketing dashboard.
I strongly recommend Criteo to any company, whether small, large or medium company. It provides a number of
solutions that can help you achieve your top KPI in digital marketing, whether, ROI, leads, decrease CPC or CPA.
The only case where I would not recommend it would be if you do not have an IT team or cannot perform
the basic set-up of tags by yourself.
Read Luiz Lai's full review
No photo available
May 16, 2018

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Review: "Criteo: Great Interface, at a Price"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Criteo for dynamic retargeting ads for users who have visited our website and not converted. Our digital marketing department uses the product and reports the results upward to management. We were searching for a reasonable retargeting solution which could be implemented relatively easily, and after trying Google AdWords, we decided to give Criteo a try.
  • Great interface - easy to understand and train others to use. While some might consider the dashboard too simplistic, I found that the simplicity of the dashboard made it an easy, 5-minute endeavor to go in and tweak bids whenever needed.
  • Good customer service - particularly the set-up team worked very closely with us and was always very responsive. When we were moved over to their existing accounts team, the customer service remained top-notch, and they were quick to proactively point out things we could do to improve our results.
  • Relatively wide display network - our Criteo ads show on a variety of websites; we found that the breadth of the network was nearly as extensive as Google's display network.
  • Level of control over ads - Most features of Criteo can't be managed directly in the dashboard. That can be a problem when you want ads adjusted quickly, for example, if you make a change to your logo. Customer Service has to be contacted in that case.
  • Cost - Of the several retargeting platforms we tried, Criteo was the most costly. This is in terms of cost per click and cost per conversion. In the end, we just couldn't justify paying substantially more for a similar ad network to Google just for the level of customer service.
  • Reporting - There is no reporting provided automatically, and user data is gated; it was difficult for us to ascertain anything about the audience we were serving ads to, and even basic geographic data wasn't available to us.
If cost is no object, Criteo certainly offers a top-notch customer service experience, and little-to-no time investment to manage the platform. For a company without a dedicated ads team, Criteo could be a good option since the platform does most of the legwork for you. Also, cost may depend on industry, so other customers may find a different cost situation than we found.
Read this authenticated review
Joe Preston profile photo
May 20, 2016

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Review: "I sincerely believe Criteo is the only remarketing vendor worth using for retail"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Criteo as an additional remarketing ad program. Criteo is an easy ad program to manage yourself.
  • Criteo produces retail transactions that you can attribute back to them in your own analytics. This is a huge difference between Criteo and other remarketing vendors.
  • Criteo has a great platform for managing their campaigns. You can effectively drill down to see what's working, you can increase volume yourself, you can analyze how volume changes through various changes. The ability to tailor my campaigns is still unusual in remarketing, and makes Criteo the only choice I'm aware of that suits my requirements for remarketing.
  • Criteo goes all-out on the creative side to get clicks. If you have very strict feelings about brand and image, you may have to get more involved with managing creative but I was happy to let Criteo feature our merchandise to get clicks.
  • Criteo charges on the click. This makes reporting for SEM teams familiar and easy.
  • I never felt Criteo account management staff was really partnering with me to make my experience as efficient as possible. I never felt that they really had the expertise to help me. Their platform was so easy and robust that I don't so much need help with that as real analysis.
  • The platform didn't really let me analyze placement and remove obvious losing placements.
If you are a retailer, particularly a retailer with very high seasonality, Criteo is a great way to make sure you are capturing the attention of a previous visitor. When I do analysis on any other remarketing vendor, I find their attribution is mostly smoke and mirrors. When I do analysis on Criteo, I can back up the sales and revenue they are producing as incremental. This is HUGE, if you care about knowing that your vendor is moving the needle.
Read Joe Preston's full review
No photo available
June 08, 2016

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Review: "A Less Than Efficient Retargeting Platform"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Criteo for one of my retail clients as our display retargeting platform. I manage the campaigns for my client and work directly with 2 Criteo campaign reps. We initially switched to the Criteo platform for retargeting to take advantage of their dynamic creative functionality, which allows us to serve product ads in real-time featuring products a user has viewed while recently browsing the client's website.
  • Dynamic Creative - The dynamic ads pull in our product feed on a daily, real-time basis. We can retarget users who have visited the client's site and browsed several products but then left without making a purchase. The dynamic ads technology will pull those products a user has viewed straight off our feed and place their images, price and more details right into the display ad. It's a great way to remind a user "Hey, you we're just checking this product out. We know you're interested. Come back and buy it!"
  • Optimizes against clicks, not views - Other retargeting platforms will optimize based on views to a display ad and post-view purchases. While there is a lot to be said to the credit an exposure without a click has in the purchase funnel, an actual click on an ad will always be more valuable as it shows a higher level of user engagement. Criteo optimizes based on the clicks, which in turn targets a more qualified audience for our client.
  • 24-hr lookback window - Criteo's standard window is for post-view conversions in 24 hours. This is a very short amount of time which ads more relevancy to the "view" of the ad. Many other platforms, including Google, default to a 30 day window. A lot of clients have trouble grasping how if someone was shown an ad a month ago that it actually had a real impact on their decision to purchase. The 24-hour window Criteo uses makes the post-view purchase seem more tangible and relevant.
  • Bid Management - Bid management on the platform is a nightmare. It requires daily monitoring in order to meet both spend and ROI goals. I've never been more frustrated with an ad platform when it comes to managing bids. There is also little to no predictive bid modeling to guide your bid changes. I feel like I am taking a shot in the dark half the time when I make adjustments on my own. Additionally, the smallest change can have a big impact so it's frustrating that there is not more guidance, especially considering this is a self-serve platform.
  • Support - In my experience, the support team has not been very helpful. They seem to confuse goals and offer conflicting advice on a regular basis. It's really frustrating. Last month, over halfway into the month my campaign was underspending drastically. The support team offered bid change suggestions to ramp up spend. This only ruined my ROAS for the month. Even though I had outlined specific spend and ROAS goals, the Criteo team did not seem to understand how to meet both of these simultaneously. I should not have to choose between one or the other with a good platform.
  • Dashboard - The dashboard is confusing and hard to read. It needs to have more customization options. Right now you are limited to the number and type of metrics you can view on the dashboard at one time.
Honestly, based on my experience, I would not recommend Criteo as the first retargeting partner to test out on a client campaign. I have had much more success using AdRoll, and that platform is also much more intuitive and requires less daily maintenance with the campaigns.

That being said, Criteo does exactly what it is supposed to. It retargets to users across the web who have been cookied on your website. It also does it so much more efficiently than Google Display Network, so I will give it credit for that.
Read this authenticated review

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Data Transfer (3)
8.6
DSP integration (2)
9.0
Ad campaign creation (11)
7.9
Ad deployment (11)
8.4
Display advertising (11)
8.3
Ad display and retargeting segmentation (8)
7.8
Ad dashboards (11)
8.2
Ad performance reports (11)
7.0
Ad conversion tracking (10)
7.7
Ad attribution reporting (4)
6.0
Cross-channel ad management (1)
8
Ad forecasting and optimization (3)
6.5

About Criteo Dynamic Retargeting

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting aims to deliver the right ad at the right moment in the shopper journey. The vendor says Criteo Dynamic Retargeting consistently wins 90% of competitive performance tests and generates an average 13X return on ad spend at significant sales volume. It is used by 18,000 marketers worldwide.

Criteo promises to help you re-engage shoppers throughout their path to purchase with tailored video and display ads, delivered across the world’s best publishers. Criteo is designed for measurable performance and utilizes granular machine learning on over 1.4B active monthly shoppers and more than $600B annual sales across retailers, brands, travel, and B2C commerce companies.

According to the vendor, key capabilities and benefits include:
• Reach and visibility across web, mobile, video, and social via Criteo’s global network of thousands of publishers and partners
• Generate new sales by predicting additional products or items of interest
• Link shoppers across devices, browsers, and apps so they engage with the most relevant products to them
• Boost engagement through Kinetic Design, which dynamically tailors ads’ visual designs to each shopper’s tastes while ensuring brand consistency and compliance with the Coalition for Better Ads
• Track performance with real-time campaign reports
• Data is maintained with the highest levels of security and privacy, following industry standards and regulations – including GDPR

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Features

Ad Campaigns Features
Has featureAd campaign creation
Has featureAd deployment
Has featureDisplay advertising
Has featureAd display and retargeting segmentation
Does not have featureSequence targeting
Ad Network Integration Features
Has featureData Transfer
Has featureDSP integration
Ad Reporting & Analytics Features
Has featureAd dashboards
Has featureAd performance reports
Has featureAd conversion tracking
Does not have featureAd attribution reporting
Does not have featureCross-channel ad management
Does not have featureAd forecasting and optimization

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Screenshots

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Video

Jumia has benefitted from working with Criteo

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Downloadables

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Integrations

Adobe Audience Manager, Neustar PlatformOne, Oracle DMP (Bluekai), Salesforce DMP (formerly Krux)

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Competitors

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

Pricing is based on a CPC model and is dependent on traffic generated to a site

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No