TrustRadius
https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/BF/l7/LS1EFQZR9TZ5.JPEGCriteo Dynamic Retargeting ReviewThe company where I am currently working for, we use Criteo Dynamic Retargeting to re-engage lost paying clients who are not playing our games anymore but at least they paid a certain amount of money in the past. The product itself is just used by the marketing department but we analyze all the data regarding the campaigns with the data team. Thanks to the pool of data from all the partners of Criteo we are able to retarget those people just with an email address.,You are able to access to their data pool, to build audiences with just an email list (encrypted and hashed) Easy to use platform and easy way to analyze data from the dashboard. Everyone could manage the dashboard easily enough to surf through the data and understand the performance. Also you have the help of your account manager. The powerful algorithm drives good results for your company, without too much effort. And they are continuously improving with new features (design types, campaigns, platform, mobile / app products ...) Support for testing all of the integration of the events to check if data is well received. Google Chrome extension, testing mode inside the dashboard with error detection and also the help of your account manager + technical stuff.,Not for small companies because you have to spend a minimum amount of money for each campaign in order to ensure that the algorithm could work in the right way but also it's a logic reason. Account managers sometimes are not active enough to answer my emails in the first 48 hours, probably Criteo needs to automate some stuff to not need anymore account managers for everything (new campaings, new designs of creatives....) Creative types could improve much more, specially with video features. Video is the future and they need to work much more in that direction.,9,Criteo Dynamic Retargeting gives us very good results and positive ROI on our active campaigns with them. Overall we are pretty happy with them and looking to do more campaigns with them. We are also looking to test new things with them in order to get better ROI such us new video creatives, new mobile app campaigns for our app games & also how the app retargeting products work! We should point out that as a company we are analyzing results as a 'last click' attribution model and if you only look to the data from the dashboard it's different. But also both have good ROI for the campaigns. Also your account manager is always looking for recommendations of new CPC options or going for the ARO (automation of the bid) to optimize it.,,B2CCriteo : A great tool if you use it with good KPI and no blind trustCriteo is used by a few departments and part of my job is to diffuse it throughout the company. It is mainly used for B2C businesses: our e-commerce platforms and some leads on acquisition business. We wanted to retarget new users, or specific audiences through dynamic remarketing products or services. Our main objectives were to increase conversions and improve ROI. Thus, we started to use Criteo as a new remarketing tool next to Google Ads/Facebook Ads.,The first strenght of Criteo Retargeting is the user-friendly platform, where you can easily manage your budget and analyse the performance. Secondly, the CPC based model is great advantage of Criteo compare to some competitors. Finally, the post-click attribution. It is more trustworthy and tenable than post-view.,Tags and feed implementation : difficult and hard to understand for project and dev teams. The budget part is not clear, especially when the account manager does stuff on his own. It should be possible to change the budget from a period and not month to month. Now we have no information about the creative parts. It will be better to have a vision of which ad is working better than another and on which website.,8,If you are a new entrant in a market, with few acquisition channels, Criteo is going to enhance significantly your ROI with low CPA and high turnover. Usually, with have a CPA below 10€ on our businesses for ROI which can be up to 2. If you already have a clear marketing strategy, with many platforms, Criteo will probably increase your turnover but your ROI will be lower due to the high number of common interactions/conversions between the platforms. It happened frequently, that is why you have to think about your main goal/KPI. Finally, you have to take care of the marketing saturation on your global audience, especially if you use remarketing widely on all your platforms such as Linkedin/Facebook/Google/etc. You should keep a ratio of 60% acquisition and 40% max remarketing, and take that into consideration if you want to launch Criteo campaigns. Once, one of your clients focused only on remarketing cause it had a lower CPA : Facebook & Critéo retargeting. But after a few months, the CPA rose drastically and the ROI declined from 3 to almost one. So keep online dedicated campaigns for Acquisition when you use Criteo.,Facebook for Business, LinkedIn Marketing Solutions, Google Ads (formerly AdWords), Twitter Ads, Rakuten Attribution and Google Analytics,BothEasy to Set Up, Great ROI, Criteo is the Best.We are using Criteo for dynamic retargeting for one of our e-commerce clients. Criteo helped us in targeting various website including Facebook in terms of showing the product ads. The ROI from retargeting ads is minimal and it's helping us to use our marketing budget more efficiently. We get notifications from Criteo when to increase or decrease the bid to use our Criteo budget effectively. I would rather say with minimal effort it gives maximum ROI.,Bid optimization, regular notification to optimize bids help us to control the budget. Once the campaign is set & feed uploaded, the rest all is automated, so minimum effort to get the maximum result. Great ROI, as Criteo display ads to all those potential customers who visited us online, the ROI is excellent, it targets almost all high traffic websites.,Reports are not available, e.g. from which website we received impression, clicks & orders. Feed update, I am not sure but If we could update feed through API, it will be much easier to stay up to date with product data. Sometimes it took time to update the data in the dashboard report.,9,ROI is great, our Ad cost is around 3% of the revenue that we generate from Criteo, whereas website average is around 12%.,Google Ads (formerly AdWords),B2CCriteo Offers Great Support and Drives Strong ReturnsWe are an advertising agency, and use it for one client specifically. The solution is isolated to one department, as well. Criteo is our dynamic remarketing solution and we use it to drive product sales based on our product feed.,Easy to use interface; makes navigation and campaign management easy Strong direct revenue from product sales; easy to prove value for client Excellent support team, which makes solving issues/troubleshooting and optimizations much easier,Lack of visibility into placements (where ads are shown) Limited creative capabilities compared to other advertising platforms,10,We've seen a strong overall impact on ROI, though the exact impact on direct return is hard to quantify given we run campaigns across a number of different platforms/vendors.,Google Ads (formerly AdWords) and Facebook for Business,B2CGreat retargeting solution for eshop productsWe use Criteo as a solution to retarget people who visited our e-shop product and have not converted. We also use it to acquire new subscribers for our monthly beauty box as pure acquisition without retargeting. So we have 2 types of utilisations for 2 different goals: subscription acquisition and eshop retargeting.,Great retargeting for eshop products and a high ROAS Possibility to use a catalog even for only 1 product which is great to decrease our time spent on creatives A lot of data available on the platform,I can't stop my campaign by myself if there are some problems on the website I can't do major changes without talking with my account manager; it is not very easy when we want to have a test and learn approach I do not launch as many messages than on other levers because it is not really easy to launch new creatives quickly,8,ROAS on Criteo is higher than on other levers on average I want more freedom on the platform to create assets by myself and be more reactive,Facebook for Business and Google Ad Manager,B2CHuge network and ease of use!Criteo Dynamic Retargeting is a pretty easy and powerful way to start using a retargeting mechanism. We currently use it on all of our business lines, especially in the lower funnel.,Huge network of publishers: your ads are very very likely to be seen multiple times around the web by your users. CPC payment: I particularly like CPC vs CPM, in this way I pay only users who are actually interested in my product. Easy of use: Criteo does not require a lot of management effort,With Criteo you need to be able to delegate to your account and a big part of the job as you can't actively manage the tool. Sometimes this gets a little frustrating. The Criteo Team is not the best for customers that like to have detailed explanations and to be hands-on. Dynamic Creatives set by Criteo are not the best looking (but they are effective).,10,High volumes of conversion at target CPA Visibility Ease of use,Google Ads (formerly AdWords),B2CCriteo Remarketing an honest reviewIt is used across the entire organization! It's a powerful channel to drive back traffic and purchases in our business! We saw a reduction in cart drops and an increase in recurrence. The platform and technology is very versatile and can be used to target a very specific group of users and adapt to your current marketing strategy.,Scalable Easy to implement Flexible,You need to measure incrementality. Need to control the budget constantly. No flexibility in creatives.,8,Good on CPP Good on visits Good on ROI,,B2CLeading Dynamic RetargetingWe use Criteo to retarget our customers who leave our website without making a purchase. By using Criteo we can win back lots of leaving customers. The performance we reach with Criteo is very good and the banners are also varied. In particular, we target customers with abandoned carts or who are visiting product detail pages.,Reach leaving customers Large display network Always the latest technology,Blackbox of data The support team often changes,9,Good impact on ROI because you win back customers very effectively ( which you paid a lot of money before to get them to visit your website).,,B2CCriteo exceeded our expectations!Criteo is being used across our entire site. It helped us achieved great placement for our retargeting ads where past agencies had low budget placements at the bottom of sites.,We prefer them as our partner for retargeting as we are paying per click instead of per impression so only if the customer is interested and engaged do we pay. Not only do we do retargeting but we also do a mirroring of the user for customer acquisition as well as targeting our customer list who has not engaged. Their easy to use interface and campaign set up is also helpful,I would like to see more options for customer acquisition More detailed reporting based on GA last click,9,We had an increase of ROI based on a last click in GA compared to other agencies,B2CDifficult to judge true valueWe have used Criteo Dynamic Retargeting for various clients in different retail industries. We used it to drive customers that have aborted the sales funnel back to the website.,Easy to set up Transparent costs,Tracking differences are a big issue and the number one reason why we stop using the product. Data import to "lead tracking" tool would be a chance to really evaluate the success of campaigns based on the company's tracking model.,3,Not possible to truly assess,Google Ads (formerly AdWords),B2CLargely happy, only recently performance droppedCriteo Dynamic Retargeting is used by us to retarget lower-funnel users that leave our website with relevant product offers that they have been viewing.,Target lower-funnel users off-site Provide insights using a dashboard,Provide more control over the quality of impressions; despite having a very low CPC, recently the # of impressions & clicks has skyrocketed without any additional conversions.,5,Criteo has increased sales with a specific COS benchmark,AdRoll,B2CMy Criteo Review !I have been using Criteo for many years now (close to 7 years). It's remarkably easy to implement and to manage. We use it to retarget our audience in order to engage customers into the funnel. It's a good tool of acquisition additionally for other campaigns like affiliation or Google Ad Words. Pay attention to your CPC adjustments for the big periods of commerce.,Retargeting Tracking Manage campaign,User Interface Last Click attribution,7,Last Click Atribution The difference between analytics and Criteo figures,Rakuten Attribution and Google Ads (formerly AdWords),B2CEfficient webmarketing tool !We have a lot of traffic on our blog. Our goal is to invite those users visiting the blog to discover our product and to place an order. Criteo Dynamic Retargeting was an efficient tool to address those visitors and invite them to do so.,Attract visitors of the blog to visit product pages Encourage visitors to order Encourage old clients to order again,Create specific banners more easily than proposed in the coupon projects (too many created to download) Push specific banners depending on the pages viewed by the visitor. For example, if it is a visitor of the blog, do not push the product's banner but a brand banner. Chose the type of sites we want to see our banners to be pushed on.,9,We have launched it 2 months ago so it is a bit soon to estimate the impact but at first it cost a lot for a few orders but then you can adjust your CPC to improve your ROAS.,B2CHigh Performing Dynamic Retargeting, with Some DrawbacksCriteo Dynamic Retargeting is used by the Digital department of our agency to drastically increase ROI of our clients' e-commerce media plans. The ability to dynamically serve ads to users who have viewed specific products on the website has increased conversion rate and boosted overall sales by more than enough to keep the tactic on the media plan.,Dynamically serve retargeting ads to users that have viewed specific items, encouraging them to return and complete their purchase. Responsive dedicated representative. Optimizations goals include CPC, COS, and others.,The platform is prone to outages, serving ads with pixelated images. The platform is not able to ensure that the same product is not included multiple times in the same creative. The UI is not as self-serve as we would like.,9,We are currently seeing over a 5.0 ROAS, even with a less-than-ideal spend level. Historically, we are averaging about a 3.0 ROAS.,AdRoll,B2CCriteo -- more awareness and salesWe use Criteo to promote our items, but there is only one department which uses it; the department is called "Webshop," with around about 5 employees. We use it to strengthen sales and promote the reputation of our company. Even items of the current season or sale-items could be pushed with Criteo.,Great display marketing. Targeted customer approach. Measurable sale increases.,Criteo uses a different evaluation system than Google analytics. Criteo could assign more sales (attribution). Plays ads no matter how the customer behaves (for example: cancel cart).,9,Sales increases. Positive branding effects. ROI 1200.,B2CGreat solution for retargeting campaings!We use Criteo Dynamic Retargeting to reach users through retargeting campaigns. With Criteo we can reach people effectively with a low marketing budget. It's profitable for us.,Simple Cheap Great reach Profitable,We'd like to exclude sites of our campaigns. We hope to see which sites our adverts are appearing on. We'd like to exclude different types of traffic, for example, mobile devices.,7,Yes, good results. We are satisfied. It' a great bet.,Google Ads (formerly AdWords),B2CMust have tool to re-engage with your usersCriteo is used to re-engage with job-seeking users who looked at jobs but have not yet applied.,Criteo has a huge network. It therefore makes it easy to re-engage with a high percentage of your users. The staff at Criteo is very helpful and persistent when it comes to making your campaigns work. The campaigns are easy to manage. Lots of different creatives are available.,No possibility to use daily budgets increases the risk of high losses, especially during the ramp up phase. Lack of transparancy: There are no statistics how certain creatives or placements work. Therefore there is not much you can do to improve the success of the campaigns. Either they work or they don't. Everything seems to be very retail focused. It sometimes can be difficult to convey that your business works differently and therefore has to be handled differently.,7,We are able to re-engage more known users,B2CCriteo dynamic retargeting offers scalable results and easy campaign managementCriteo is an important part of our online marketing mix and allows us to drive cost-efficient marketing campaigns in all our European markets. It allows us to gain relevant reach in each of the countries and target the right customers. The campaign setup was very easy and required few internal resources and the new self-management tools for coupons allow for better and faster processes.,Easy campaign management Excellent reach in European countries Good ROI results immediately after launch,Not a lot of functionality for campaign optimization besides CPC/COS setting No self-management possibilities for some settings Statistics are not as transparent as they could be,9,Positive ROI impact through advanced targeting methods Stable results through campaign management based on COS rather than CPC No additional fees besides ad-spent,Google Ads (formerly AdWords),B2CCriteo = retargeting King!We use Criteo Dynamic Retargeting for the e-commerce and marketing departments. It helps us to increase our conversion rate, and it drives traffic. It also helps us to save time because we use the feed already configured for Google Shopping in multiple languages with Criteo.,Awesome inventory - visitors see our ads everywhere Easy configuration - you can use your Google Shopping feed Fees control - you can work with CPC, CPA, COS etc...,To configure my feed, I have to use integrate.criteo.com and marketing.criteo.com for the budget/reporting/campaigns configuration. I would like to have those tools unified into one. Improve the way we can change data range for dates (the calendar is a bit bugged) Give the possibility to manage columns (COS, CPO, conversion, clicks...),8,Bad ROI at start (first month) - When you launch a new campaign, COS is very high for a few weeks. I thought it was going to take less time for the algorithm to be effective. Good ROI after that - After a few weeks, our COS started to get better! More traffic Some people complain about being too much retargeted,Google Ads (formerly AdWords),B2CGood platform for retargeting and self running display campaingCriteo helps us to retarget people who visited our products (contact lenses). Our potential customers are going to visit different websites to compare products and prices, and to remind them of our site and the specific product they saw is the best strategy so that we aren't forgotten. Potential problems are an over showing of our banners, resulting in too much pressing. Also, retargeting a customer who already bought is a waste of money, but could be "part of the game".,Retargeting on Facebook Dynamic visuals Control of costs,Visuals for Instagram I would like to exclude precise domains for our retargeting,8,Good COS, around 20% Brand identity building time over time,B2Cmy experience with CriteoWe are currently using this tool to promote the academic offer across all of Italy and other European countries. This tool works well with long term campaigns that have to be planned in plenty of time. On the other hand it works badly with short term campaigns. This is mainly because the response time of the Criteo staff is slow, and planning a campaign with them takes a very long time.,It provides wide coverage. Reduces production run of creatives. Allows you to promote multiple titles at the same time. It is more focused than static creatives.,High response time from accounts. High response time from the Technical Department. Some formats are not optimized.,8,Provides a good number of leads. Consistently performing. Needs to improve conversion rate between leads and purchases.,Google Ads (formerly AdWords), Sizmek, AdRoll and Taboola,B2CCriteo is a must have for e-commerceIt is being used to display our inventory. It addresses the problem of showing new vs returning customers.,Mid and lower funnel targeting Control over your budget and CPC Supportive tech support and customer support,Possibly have an account manager for each account to [see if] setup was done correctly Monthly reviews on Criteo performance,9,Attribution is difficult in our industry so it is hard to gauge what the right ROI is Our overall lead volume has increased due to Criteo being able to stay in front of the customers Conversions are one of our main KPIs and Criteo has helped in that area,,B2CIncrease your income while mantaining a healthy ROI with Criteo retargetingIt is being used by the sales department. Its main objective is to generate conversions by retargeting users that are in the lower section of the marketing funnel.,Very good conversion rate due to its algorithm Excellent support from Criteo managers,Very rigid space in the banners to include text Opportunity in improving the display format to make it more attractive to users,10,Excellent results in ROI while obtaining great amount of income,RTB House Personalized Retargeting and Google Ads (formerly AdWords),B2CMy opinion of Criteo Dynamic RetargetingWe use Criteo for Display Marketing in one department. It helps us to attract more potential customers around Germany and Europe.,The retargeting ads show good offers. It doesn't feel annoying like some other retargeting campaigns. It's flexible.,Maybe the cost factor, but not really.,9,The positive effect is the measurable success and effort it gives to our company. One negative effect is that a few customers feel spied on by Criteo.,,B2CVery useful toolCriteo Dynamic Retargeting is being used to remind customers of their recently seen items. It addresses the problem of customers forgetting about our items. It helps a lot to get recognized and be remembered. As a user, I find the ads to be a bit overbearing, but as a graphic designer, I do know how important that can be.,It remembers our customers, and what they have seen and seemed to have liked. Advertising is important. The ads are very recognizable.,The ads are the blinking kind, which I do not like (personally). The ads are not very pretty.,10,Better overview of advertising. higher sales. customer loyalty.,,B2C
Unspecified
Criteo Dynamic Retargeting
91 Ratings
Score 8.8 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Criteo Dynamic Retargeting
91 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 91 vetted Criteo Dynamic Retargeting reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 46)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Quim Giralt Bosch profile photo
April 11, 2019

"Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The company where I am currently working for, we use Criteo Dynamic Retargeting to re-engage lost paying clients who are not playing our games anymore but at least they paid a certain amount of money in the past. The product itself is just used by the marketing department but we analyze all the data regarding the campaigns with the data team. Thanks to the pool of data from all the partners of Criteo we are able to retarget those people just with an email address.
  • You are able to access to their data pool, to build audiences with just an email list (encrypted and hashed)
  • Easy to use platform and easy way to analyze data from the dashboard. Everyone could manage the dashboard easily enough to surf through the data and understand the performance. Also you have the help of your account manager.
  • The powerful algorithm drives good results for your company, without too much effort. And they are continuously improving with new features (design types, campaigns, platform, mobile / app products ...)
  • Support for testing all of the integration of the events to check if data is well received. Google Chrome extension, testing mode inside the dashboard with error detection and also the help of your account manager + technical stuff.
  • Not for small companies because you have to spend a minimum amount of money for each campaign in order to ensure that the algorithm could work in the right way but also it's a logic reason.
  • Account managers sometimes are not active enough to answer my emails in the first 48 hours, probably Criteo needs to automate some stuff to not need anymore account managers for everything (new campaings, new designs of creatives....)
  • Creative types could improve much more, specially with video features. Video is the future and they need to work much more in that direction.
Criteo Dynamic Retargeting is well suited for every kind of action related to hot leads / customers regarding your business. It's a good way to increase the conversion rates of the funnel and always works really well for that kind of audience. On the other hand, you need to ensure that you have built a minimum size audience to let the algorithm work properly.
Read Quim Giralt Bosch's full review
Baptiste CROENNE profile photo
April 11, 2019

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Review: "Criteo : A great tool if you use it with good KPI and no blind trust"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Criteo is used by a few departments and part of my job is to diffuse it throughout the company. It is mainly used for B2C businesses: our e-commerce platforms and some leads on acquisition business. We wanted to retarget new users, or specific audiences through dynamic remarketing products or services. Our main objectives were to increase conversions and improve ROI. Thus, we started to use Criteo as a new remarketing tool next to Google Ads/Facebook Ads.
  • The first strenght of Criteo Retargeting is the user-friendly platform, where you can easily manage your budget and analyse the performance.
  • Secondly, the CPC based model is great advantage of Criteo compare to some competitors.
  • Finally, the post-click attribution. It is more trustworthy and tenable than post-view.
  • Tags and feed implementation : difficult and hard to understand for project and dev teams.
  • The budget part is not clear, especially when the account manager does stuff on his own. It should be possible to change the budget from a period and not month to month.
  • Now we have no information about the creative parts. It will be better to have a vision of which ad is working better than another and on which website.
- If you have a lot of high-quality traffic without conversion, Criteo will help to engage and make them convert.
- If you want to increase the turnover by new means.
- If you launch a new business and you have "nice & aesthetic" products, it will be a great addition to your acquisition strategy, with good results usually, including increased brand awareness and turnover.
- If you are selling visibility/notoriety to clients, Criteo is a qualitative display network and it will be well received by your clients.
- I do not recommend Criteo for e-commerce businesses with very high cost. It will have a high CPA and it will be difficult to attribute conversion due to the number of marketing interactions required.
Read Baptiste CROENNE's full review
Chitta Ranjan Dash profile photo
June 26, 2019

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Review: "Easy to Set Up, Great ROI, Criteo is the Best."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Criteo for dynamic retargeting for one of our e-commerce clients. Criteo helped us in targeting various website including Facebook in terms of showing the product ads. The ROI from retargeting ads is minimal and it's helping us to use our marketing budget more efficiently. We get notifications from Criteo when to increase or decrease the bid to use our Criteo budget effectively. I would rather say with minimal effort it gives maximum ROI.
  • Bid optimization, regular notification to optimize bids help us to control the budget.
  • Once the campaign is set & feed uploaded, the rest all is automated, so minimum effort to get the maximum result.
  • Great ROI, as Criteo display ads to all those potential customers who visited us online, the ROI is excellent, it targets almost all high traffic websites.
  • Reports are not available, e.g. from which website we received impression, clicks & orders.
  • Feed update, I am not sure but If we could update feed through API, it will be much easier to stay up to date with product data.
  • Sometimes it took time to update the data in the dashboard report.
It's a great marketing tool for B2C industry, particularly for the e-commerce industry. As I have seen the Criteo ads on Facebook, as a marketing person we don't need to run a separate campaign on Facebook. Product Ads looks superb with prices, discount codes and it certainly helps to convert those customers who left the website earlier.
Read Chitta Ranjan Dash's full review
Oliver Brantley profile photo
June 20, 2019

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Review: "Criteo Offers Great Support and Drives Strong Returns"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are an advertising agency, and use it for one client specifically. The solution is isolated to one department, as well. Criteo is our dynamic remarketing solution and we use it to drive product sales based on our product feed.
  • Easy to use interface; makes navigation and campaign management easy
  • Strong direct revenue from product sales; easy to prove value for client
  • Excellent support team, which makes solving issues/troubleshooting and optimizations much easier
  • Lack of visibility into placements (where ads are shown)
  • Limited creative capabilities compared to other advertising platforms
Criteo is perfect for eCommerce clients that have a strong product feed; might not be as appropriate for vendors without a large variety of products or vendors who do not sell directly to consumers.
Read Oliver Brantley's full review
Laura Dudragne profile photo
April 25, 2019

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Review: "Great retargeting solution for eshop products"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Criteo as a solution to retarget people who visited our e-shop product and have not converted. We also use it to acquire new subscribers for our monthly beauty box as pure acquisition without retargeting. So we have 2 types of utilisations for 2 different goals: subscription acquisition and eshop retargeting.
  • Great retargeting for eshop products and a high ROAS
  • Possibility to use a catalog even for only 1 product which is great to decrease our time spent on creatives
  • A lot of data available on the platform
  • I can't stop my campaign by myself if there are some problems on the website
  • I can't do major changes without talking with my account manager; it is not very easy when we want to have a test and learn approach
  • I do not launch as many messages than on other levers because it is not really easy to launch new creatives quickly
It is really suited for classical online eshops. When the catalog / pixel / creative templates are set well, managing Criteo is really easy. We have a great ROAS and ROI with a low time spent on the platform.

With our box campaign (without retargeting), it is more complicated to have clear explanations on our products and to push different messages because we only have 1 template. We consider that lever as a top of funnel one whereas our main goal is conversion.
Read Laura Dudragne's full review
Eleonora Stoppa profile photo
April 11, 2019

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Review: "Huge network and ease of use!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Criteo Dynamic Retargeting is a pretty easy and powerful way to start using a retargeting mechanism. We currently use it on all of our business lines, especially in the lower funnel.
  • Huge network of publishers: your ads are very very likely to be seen multiple times around the web by your users.
  • CPC payment: I particularly like CPC vs CPM, in this way I pay only users who are actually interested in my product.
  • Easy of use: Criteo does not require a lot of management effort
  • With Criteo you need to be able to delegate to your account and a big part of the job as you can't actively manage the tool. Sometimes this gets a little frustrating.
  • The Criteo Team is not the best for customers that like to have detailed explanations and to be hands-on.
  • Dynamic Creatives set by Criteo are not the best looking (but they are effective).
Criteo is very well suited for business with a product: the dynamic feed exposes to the user products seen on your website. It is less suited for service providers.
Read Eleonora Stoppa's full review
Giovanni Paolo Allegrezza profile photo
April 11, 2019

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting: "Criteo Remarketing an honest review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the entire organization! It's a powerful channel to drive back traffic and purchases in our business! We saw a reduction in cart drops and an increase in recurrence. The platform and technology is very versatile and can be used to target a very specific group of users and adapt to your current marketing strategy.
  • Scalable
  • Easy to implement
  • Flexible
  • You need to measure incrementality.
  • Need to control the budget constantly.
  • No flexibility in creatives.
I would recommend Criteo Dynamic Retargeting is a case of e-commerce business and businesses where it is crucial to maintain that your users always engaged. It works best when you have prices and discounts as a competitive factor. It would work less when you have to use static images. It may work better when you don't have a strong CRM and if you do have that you should create a complementary strategy.
Read Giovanni Paolo Allegrezza's full review
Matthias Geiger profile photo
April 11, 2019

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Review: "Leading Dynamic Retargeting"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Criteo to retarget our customers who leave our website without making a purchase. By using Criteo we can win back lots of leaving customers. The performance we reach with Criteo is very good and the banners are also varied. In particular, we target customers with abandoned carts or who are visiting product detail pages.
  • Reach leaving customers
  • Large display network
  • Always the latest technology
  • Blackbox of data
  • The support team often changes
  • Good to reach customers that have abandoned the cart
  • Not so good in select categories or segments that should be filtered out from the targeting
Read Matthias Geiger's full review
irrum doss profile photo
June 24, 2019

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Review: "Criteo exceeded our expectations!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Criteo is being used across our entire site. It helped us achieved great placement for our retargeting ads where past agencies had low budget placements at the bottom of sites.
  • We prefer them as our partner for retargeting as we are paying per click instead of per impression so only if the customer is interested and engaged do we pay.
  • Not only do we do retargeting but we also do a mirroring of the user for customer acquisition as well as targeting our customer list who has not engaged.
  • Their easy to use interface and campaign set up is also helpful
  • I would like to see more options for customer acquisition
  • More detailed reporting based on GA last click
For us we are B2C and we feel Criteo is well suited to our needs in targeting that user with great ads and placements.
Read irrum doss's full review
Bernhard Ollefs profile photo
April 25, 2019

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Review: "Difficult to judge true value"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used Criteo Dynamic Retargeting for various clients in different retail industries. We used it to drive customers that have aborted the sales funnel back to the website.
  • Easy to set up
  • Transparent costs
  • Tracking differences are a big issue and the number one reason why we stop using the product.
  • Data import to "lead tracking" tool would be a chance to really evaluate the success of campaigns based on the company's tracking model.
It produces good results - the results however largely differ from the numbers our customers track via Google Analytics and other web tracking technology. These tremendous differences make steering the campaign difficult and make customers doubt the achieved numbers
Read Bernhard Ollefs's full review
Soufiane Achoui profile photo
April 25, 2019

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Review: "Largely happy, only recently performance dropped"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Criteo Dynamic Retargeting is used by us to retarget lower-funnel users that leave our website with relevant product offers that they have been viewing.
  • Target lower-funnel users off-site
  • Provide insights using a dashboard
  • Provide more control over the quality of impressions; despite having a very low CPC, recently the # of impressions & clicks has skyrocketed without any additional conversions.
  • Well suited for low impression share campaigns to target the low-funnel users to ensure traffic quality
  • Less-suited to target a broader audience
Read Soufiane Achoui's full review
Maxime Mauboussin profile photo
April 11, 2019

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting: "My Criteo Review !"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have been using Criteo for many years now (close to 7 years). It's remarkably easy to implement and to manage. We use it to retarget our audience in order to engage customers into the funnel. It's a good tool of acquisition additionally for other campaigns like affiliation or Google Ad Words. Pay attention to your CPC adjustments for the big periods of commerce.
  • Retargeting
  • Tracking
  • Manage campaign
  • User Interface
  • Last Click attribution
It's good to use with a correct tracking implementation for basic retargeting. Like moving add to cart scenery or abandoned cart into the funnel of conversion. But I tried the new tool for customer acquisition and in my experience, the ROI is not really high. I prefer to use other channels of acquisition.
Read Maxime Mauboussin's full review
Alexandre Camenen profile photo
April 11, 2019

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Review: "Efficient webmarketing tool !"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a lot of traffic on our blog. Our goal is to invite those users visiting the blog to discover our product and to place an order. Criteo Dynamic Retargeting was an efficient tool to address those visitors and invite them to do so.
  • Attract visitors of the blog to visit product pages
  • Encourage visitors to order
  • Encourage old clients to order again
  • Create specific banners more easily than proposed in the coupon projects (too many created to download)
  • Push specific banners depending on the pages viewed by the visitor. For example, if it is a visitor of the blog, do not push the product's banner but a brand banner.
  • Chose the type of sites we want to see our banners to be pushed on.
If you have trafic that only visits your site and you want them to order, it is well suited!
Read Alexandre Camenen's full review
No photo available
June 26, 2019

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Review: "High Performing Dynamic Retargeting, with Some Drawbacks"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Criteo Dynamic Retargeting is used by the Digital department of our agency to drastically increase ROI of our clients' e-commerce media plans. The ability to dynamically serve ads to users who have viewed specific products on the website has increased conversion rate and boosted overall sales by more than enough to keep the tactic on the media plan.
  • Dynamically serve retargeting ads to users that have viewed specific items, encouraging them to return and complete their purchase.
  • Responsive dedicated representative.
  • Optimizations goals include CPC, COS, and others.
  • The platform is prone to outages, serving ads with pixelated images.
  • The platform is not able to ensure that the same product is not included multiple times in the same creative.
  • The UI is not as self-serve as we would like.
Criteo Dynamic Retargeting performs very well for e-commerce websites that are generating a large amount of traffic from other sources. It is very efficient at re-engaging with users who may have dropped out of the funnel. We have not seen much success when trying to use the platform with less support from other strategies.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 22, 2019

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Review: "Criteo -- more awareness and sales"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Criteo to promote our items, but there is only one department which uses it; the department is called "Webshop," with around about 5 employees. We use it to strengthen sales and promote the reputation of our company. Even items of the current season or sale-items could be pushed with Criteo.
  • Great display marketing.
  • Targeted customer approach.
  • Measurable sale increases.
  • Criteo uses a different evaluation system than Google analytics.
  • Criteo could assign more sales (attribution).
  • Plays ads no matter how the customer behaves (for example: cancel cart).
It works for continuous optimization through machine learning. Potential new customers receive reminders of products in which they are already interested, and information about new products in which they could be interested, so our website will stay top-of-mind, and the potential customers can be driven to buy the product in our warehouse.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 22, 2019

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Review: "Great solution for retargeting campaings!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Criteo Dynamic Retargeting to reach users through retargeting campaigns. With Criteo we can reach people effectively with a low marketing budget. It's profitable for us.
  • Simple
  • Cheap
  • Great reach
  • Profitable
  • We'd like to exclude sites of our campaigns.
  • We hope to see which sites our adverts are appearing on.
  • We'd like to exclude different types of traffic, for example, mobile devices.
When you want to run a quick campaign and you don't know how to do that for yourself well. If you use Criteo Retargeting you can reach results in a short period of time. Sometimes it's more difficult to use when you don't work with e-commerce because you don't have a catalog as usual, but you create a feed with an Excel archive. It's very simple to complete that and upload to your account. So it's a good way to reach your business goals. In other words, with Criteo we can reach people effectively with a
low marketing budget. It's profitable for us.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 17, 2019

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Review: "Must have tool to re-engage with your users"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Criteo is used to re-engage with job-seeking users who looked at jobs but have not yet applied.
  • Criteo has a huge network. It therefore makes it easy to re-engage with a high percentage of your users.
  • The staff at Criteo is very helpful and persistent when it comes to making your campaigns work.
  • The campaigns are easy to manage.
  • Lots of different creatives are available.
  • No possibility to use daily budgets increases the risk of high losses, especially during the ramp up phase.
  • Lack of transparancy: There are no statistics how certain creatives or placements work. Therefore there is not much you can do to improve the success of the campaigns. Either they work or they don't.
  • Everything seems to be very retail focused. It sometimes can be difficult to convey that your business works differently and therefore has to be handled differently.
Great and probably easy to implement and use for retailers.
More difficult for other industries.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 16, 2019

Review: "Criteo dynamic retargeting offers scalable results and easy campaign management"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Criteo is an important part of our online marketing mix and allows us to drive cost-efficient marketing campaigns in all our European markets. It allows us to gain relevant reach in each of the countries and target the right customers. The campaign setup was very easy and required few internal resources and the new self-management tools for coupons allow for better and faster processes.
  • Easy campaign management
  • Excellent reach in European countries
  • Good ROI results immediately after launch
  • Not a lot of functionality for campaign optimization besides CPC/COS setting
  • No self-management possibilities for some settings
  • Statistics are not as transparent as they could be
Criteo Dynamic Retargeting is a tool well-suited for retargeting customers in European countries and managing campaigns with little effort. Also it allows [us] to move from the lower funnel to mid funnel and upper funnel campaigns. It is not the right tool for you if you prefer in-depth management of campaigns and optimization on small details as not a lot of statistics are provided, for example regarding placements.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 11, 2019

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Review: "Criteo = retargeting King!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Criteo Dynamic Retargeting for the e-commerce and marketing departments. It helps us to increase our conversion rate, and it drives traffic. It also helps us to save time because we use the feed already configured for Google Shopping in multiple languages with Criteo.
  • Awesome inventory - visitors see our ads everywhere
  • Easy configuration - you can use your Google Shopping feed
  • Fees control - you can work with CPC, CPA, COS etc...
  • To configure my feed, I have to use integrate.criteo.com and marketing.criteo.com for the budget/reporting/campaigns configuration. I would like to have those tools unified into one.
  • Improve the way we can change data range for dates (the calendar is a bit bugged)
  • Give the possibility to manage columns (COS, CPO, conversion, clicks...)
Criteo is great if you already have a lot of visitors on your website (I mean more than a few thousand). If you don't have any, it can be very expensive and you won't have a good conversion rate (and therefore a bad return on investment). It's great when you already use Google Shopping as you can use the same feed.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 11, 2019

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Review: "Good platform for retargeting and self running display campaing"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Criteo helps us to retarget people who visited our products (contact lenses). Our potential customers are going to visit different websites to compare products and prices, and to remind them of our site and the specific product they saw is the best strategy so that we aren't forgotten. Potential problems are an over showing of our banners, resulting in too much pressing. Also, retargeting a customer who already bought is a waste of money, but could be "part of the game".
  • Retargeting on Facebook
  • Dynamic visuals
  • Control of costs
  • Visuals for Instagram
  • I would like to exclude precise domains for our retargeting
I think that Criteo would be well suited for those who sell commodities and products with a high level of competition. In our case, our Criteo account manager manages the campaigns and bidding without asking us, in complete autonomy. This is good for us, no wasting time and an efficiently run campaign.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 11, 2019

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Review: "my experience with Criteo"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using this tool to promote the academic offer across all of Italy and other European countries. This tool works well with long term campaigns that have to be planned in plenty of time. On the other hand it works badly with short term campaigns. This is mainly because the response time of the Criteo staff is slow, and planning a campaign with them takes a very long time.
  • It provides wide coverage.
  • Reduces production run of creatives.
  • Allows you to promote multiple titles at the same time.
  • It is more focused than static creatives.
  • High response time from accounts.
  • High response time from the Technical Department.
  • Some formats are not optimized.
Criteo Dynamic Retargeting is well suited for long-term, always-on campaigns. It is less appropriate for last-term campaigns.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 26, 2019

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Review: "Criteo is a must have for e-commerce"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used to display our inventory. It addresses the problem of showing new vs returning customers.
  • Mid and lower funnel targeting
  • Control over your budget and CPC
  • Supportive tech support and customer support
  • Possibly have an account manager for each account to [see if] setup was done correctly
  • Monthly reviews on Criteo performance
I believe Criteo is great for e-commerce industries only.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 26, 2019

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Review: "Increase your income while mantaining a healthy ROI with Criteo retargeting"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the sales department. Its main objective is to generate conversions by retargeting users that are in the lower section of the marketing funnel.
  • Very good conversion rate due to its algorithm
  • Excellent support from Criteo managers
  • Very rigid space in the banners to include text
  • Opportunity in improving the display format to make it more attractive to users
Well suited for businesses that have a lot of products
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 22, 2019

Review: "My opinion of Criteo Dynamic Retargeting"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Criteo for Display Marketing in one department. It helps us to attract more potential customers around Germany and Europe.
  • The retargeting ads show good offers.
  • It doesn't feel annoying like some other retargeting campaigns.
  • It's flexible.
  • Maybe the cost factor, but not really.
In combination with the display marketing currently in our shop, Criteo is well suited.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 22, 2019

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Review: "Very useful tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Criteo Dynamic Retargeting is being used to remind customers of their recently seen items. It addresses the problem of customers forgetting about our items. It helps a lot to get recognized and be remembered. As a user, I find the ads to be a bit overbearing, but as a graphic designer, I do know how important that can be.
  • It remembers our customers, and what they have seen and seemed to have liked.
  • Advertising is important.
  • The ads are very recognizable.
  • The ads are the blinking kind, which I do not like (personally).
  • The ads are not very pretty.
Criteo Dynamic Retargeting is very well suited for getting customers to come back to our shop, and therefore it is well suited for increasing sales. Seeing the ads will make the customer recognize our brand. That causes customer loyalty.
Read this authenticated review

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Data Transfer (17)
6.7
DSP integration (11)
7.1
Ad campaign creation (41)
8.5
Ad deployment (40)
8.5
Display advertising (42)
8.3
Ad display and retargeting segmentation (37)
8.8
Ad dashboards (44)
8.1
Ad performance reports (44)
7.0
Ad conversion tracking (41)
9.0
Ad attribution reporting (4)
6.1
Cross-channel ad management (1)
8
Ad forecasting and optimization (3)
6.5

About Criteo Dynamic Retargeting

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting aims to deliver the right ad at the right moment in the shopper journey. The vendor says Criteo Dynamic Retargeting consistently wins 90% of competitive performance tests and generates an average 13X return on ad spend at significant sales volume. It is used by 18,000 marketers worldwide.

Criteo promises to help you re-engage shoppers throughout their path to purchase with tailored video and display ads, delivered across the world’s best publishers. Criteo is designed for measurable performance and utilizes granular machine learning on over 1.4B active monthly shoppers and more than $600B annual sales across retailers, brands, travel, and B2C commerce companies.

According to the vendor, key capabilities and benefits include:
• Reach and visibility across web, mobile, video, and social via Criteo’s global network of thousands of publishers and partners
• Generate new sales by predicting additional products or items of interest
• Link shoppers across devices, browsers, and apps so they engage with the most relevant products to them
• Boost engagement through Kinetic Design, which dynamically tailors ads’ visual designs to each shopper’s tastes while ensuring brand consistency and compliance with the Coalition for Better Ads
• Track performance with real-time campaign reports
• Data is maintained with the highest levels of security and privacy, following industry standards and regulations – including GDPR

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Features

Ad Campaigns Features
Has featureAd campaign creation
Has featureAd deployment
Has featureDisplay advertising
Has featureAd display and retargeting segmentation
Does not have featureSequence targeting
Ad Network Integration Features
Has featureData Transfer
Has featureDSP integration
Ad Reporting & Analytics Features
Has featureAd dashboards
Has featureAd performance reports
Has featureAd conversion tracking
Does not have featureAd attribution reporting
Does not have featureCross-channel ad management
Does not have featureAd forecasting and optimization

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Screenshots

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Video

Jumia has benefitted from working with Criteo

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Downloadables

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Integrations

Adobe Audience Manager, Neustar PlatformOne, Oracle DMP (Bluekai), Salesforce DMP (formerly Krux)

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Competitors

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

Pricing is based on a CPC model and is dependent on traffic generated to a site

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No