Lucidchart Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
100 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 45)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
January 12, 2021
KC Baltz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It's intuitive and easy to use
  • It's pretty flexible. It guides you to a good way to do things but doesn't force it
  • Being web-based eliminates install hassles and makes sharing the output and collaboration easier.
  • Some of the annotation tools could be easier to use
  • I'd like a auto-incrementing number pin to quickly label the steps of a process
Read KC Baltz's full review
November 18, 2020
Andrew Knight | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Graphical displays of processes
  • Wireframes for design projects
  • Org charts and department structures
  • Importing images is a bit clunky
  • Not enough graphical elements like images and icons
  • Exporting can be a bit tricky
Read Andrew Knight's full review
November 18, 2020
Eric Serdar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Process Visualization
  • Collaboration and Reviews
  • Load time causes it to lag and can sometimes be difficult to use
  • Design - getting the arrows to go the right way can be frustrating sometimes
  • Customer education on how to use the software
Read Eric Serdar's full review
December 04, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to add installation to Google suite of products
  • Intuitive interface to get started quickly
  • Attractive user interface
  • I wish I could easier incorporate my companies themes / branding into the platform
  • It seems really intuitive as a org chart system but perhaps more tutorials for other use cases?
  • Google product suite security is so-so; perhaps Lucidcharts can improve upon it?
Read this authenticated review
November 18, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • No installation needed to use Lucidchart
  • Can be access from any device with any operating system using supported browsers
  • minimal client side computing and storage resources requirement
  • Integration to Microsoft software suite can be a challenge
  • need more file type export options
  • capabilities to share to people not registered to Lucidchart would be nice
Read this authenticated review
December 01, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Robust library of diagramming shapes/icons. Covers a breadth of cloud use-cases/products as well as basic diagramming shapes.
  • Easy to use: The user interface is very good, easy to navigate, and straightforward, allowing for little fuss when creating whatever diagram you need to create.
  • Exports to any format you could need, generally speaking!
  • The new interface is great!
  • Integrations: There are so many integrations available to make using Lucidchart even better--Slack, Google G-Suite, O-365, Github, you name it!
  • Lack of Desktop Application: draw.io has a desktop application, as does Visio. It would be nice to have a desktop application for Lucidchart instead of being tied to the browser.
  • Pricing is not very transparent at all. Upgrading a personal account, for example, doesn't actually show you pricing until you get to the point of entering your card information. The dreaded "Contact Sales" messaging is there for use cases outside of personal use, making pricing a mystery until you're already on the hook.
Read this authenticated review
November 18, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of sharing content
  • Great collaboration tools
  • Great library of stencils
  • It could allow for more import options for stencils
  • Printing sometimes is challenging given export process
  • Building a bigger library of stencils
Read this authenticated review
November 18, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Wide range of templates to get you started
  • Easy and intuitive to use
  • Great for sharing and collaborating with customers and staff
  • Lucidchart has evolved greatly over the years and now provides all the functionality I require
Read this authenticated review
May 19, 2020
Tom Troxell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Collaboration.
  • Flexible design.
  • Easy to pick up.
  • Usable in a broad swath of business units.
  • File revision management.
  • File & folder structure.
  • Using lines to link objects is sometimes very finicky.
Read Tom Troxell's full review
February 28, 2020
PAULIUS BUCINSKAS | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Has a lot of visualization features
  • Chart creation tool has a lot of options and is easy to use
  • Variety of pre-configured templates to speed up document creation
  • Sharing option could be improved
  • Scaling a large flow chart could be challenging
Read PAULIUS BUCINSKAS's full review
February 15, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The templates provided are nice starter points and are thought-provoking.
  • All the basic tools are available quickly and can be easily discovered.
  • The templates are although good, don't provide more value that inspiration.
  • Lack of compatibility with other apps like Visio is a minus.
Read this authenticated review
December 23, 2019
Mandy Jones | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Creating flowcharts for processes
  • Creating processes especially for induction and training. Some people learn easier with a step by step visual diagram
  • Nothing to add. We are happy with the way it is.
Read Mandy Jones's full review
November 15, 2019
David Cassel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The program just seems to work. What I mean by this is that there's no hesitation or stutter (even on low-end hardware).
  • The collaboration features are incredible. Just like google docs, you can see the other person's cursor and share document space this way. Also, it backs up stuff in Google Drive, so you can always just share those files separately if they don't have Lucidchart for whatever reason.
  • File support. Any type of importing file (VISIO or even BPMN) can be pushed into the system and it supports images too!
  • The dumping of files into Google Docs is not something that is configurable (to the best of my knowledge) and people with limited storage might want to stop that feature.
  • I'd like to see more support for touch drawing, as it's a little buggy on my surface pro at the moment.
  • The dotted boundary when you push an object over the borderline (for a new page) is a little annoying, and this could be fixed to be a continuous grid (with scaling).
Read David Cassel's full review
September 05, 2019
Stephen Kirschenmann | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It's easy to learn. I got started with no training.
  • It's easy to share/collaborate on files/documents.
  • They have a large variety of shapes and default templates to help you get started.
  • It is extremely difficult to export the files in a way that's easy to print on standard A4/ 8.5x11 printer paper.
Read Stephen Kirschenmann's full review
August 20, 2019
Rob Zimmer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Lucidchart mimics all of the features of Visio that we need.
  • Lucidchart makes collaboration on the development of charts super easy.
  • Lucidchart helps us keep all of our charts in one on-line location where everyone can access them from anywhere.
  • I can't think of any particular cons to using Lucidchart.
Read Rob Zimmer's full review
August 13, 2019
Richard Perroset | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Integrations with Google Drive, Confluence, JIRA, and Jive.
  • They offer a free version as well as several paid versions with increased functionality and storage.
  • Sharing diagrams can be cumbersome if others do not have the same level of access permissions.
  • The free version does not include storage so you have to download your work to save it.
  • The disadvantage of it being on the web is you are subject to outages and connection drops.
  • Keeps image sizes small since large to very large images can bog down the program.
Read Richard Perroset's full review
November 25, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Quick user interface - It is very easy to draw diagrams that look good.
  • Easy to learn - The basics are very easy to learn, 5 minutes training and you can be drawing. That being said, there is plenty of depth for those who need more complex functions.
  • The arrows and leaders are smart - In some chart software, the arrows and leaders don't find their way around the other items on the page, leading to lots of time spent on "Arrow management." Lucidchart does this pretty well automatically.
  • The pop-up box to add another element to your flow chart is super useful, great for getting ideas out quickly.
  • For us, the lack of audio flow and video flow symbols is a bit of a pain. We have imported our own images, etc. to use, but some built-in ones would be nice.
Read this authenticated review
November 05, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Organizational charts
  • Floor plan / office layout planning
  • Process mapping
  • Storage space quota visibility
  • Photo management
Read this authenticated review
October 22, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Great dynamic chart creation.
  • Ability to have other people contribute and collaborate.
  • A huge variety of charts that can be created for every type of need.
  • Onboarding is a bit challenging.
  • It requires some time to get used to and figure out how to use it.
  • Occasionally we have errors when trying to share charts.
Read this authenticated review
September 07, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Org charts for in-office roles,
  • Decision trees for customer service.
  • Step by step process instructions.
  • A great visual aid when trying to facilitate training or presentation.
  • The aesthetics have room for improvement, but that's about it.
Read this authenticated review
March 26, 2019
Nathan McBride | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Allows individuals to further realize engineering issues and collaborate, globally in real time, in order to resolve the issues.
  • Allows individuals and teams to define a workflow or process to use for a platform or action. For instance, before selecting an HRIS platform, we used Lucidchart to map out all HRIS processes which made selecting a platform ridiculously simple.
  • Lucidchart also allows anyone to easily publish their output so that users, both internally and externally, can view their ideas without needing a license, login or any complicated understanding.
  • The mobile aspects of Lucidchart are also fantastic as an individual can create a concept or design and present it to individuals right from their pocket.
  • Lucidchart is literally one of only a handful of apps that I feel gets it perfectly right. They listen to their customers and are constantly innovating to bring new ideas and helpful concepts to their product.
  • If I really had to extend my wish list out, one thing I would love to have is the ability to auto-expire sharing links in case I forget to retract a temporary permission assignment.
Read Nathan McBride's full review
March 07, 2019
Albert Ellenich | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Lucidchart makes it extremely easy to quickly draw out a sitemap using the sitemap shapes. You can drop one shape on the canvas, open its details, and type your entire site outline in and Lucidchart creates a beautiful sitemap.
  • Shapes for decisions in some of the provided templates are too small to contain the amount of text I often need when I'm creating a process flow diagram. Lucidchart allows me to make a custom shape that fits my needs and makes it reusable across projects as a new shape template.
  • Drawing a diagram is very easy when you're working within a shape template. Lucidchart allows you to drag a connection from any point on a shape and gives you the ability to pick the next shape in the context of what you're doing without going back to the shapes palette to pick it. This saves a lot of time!
  • I've found layers very useful when illustrating a sitemap with users who have different access permissions to a website. I create a master sitemap layer and put each unique user on their own layer with a different colored shape overlaying each element of the master sitemap they have access to. By turning layers on/off, I can quickly show which areas of a site individual user types have access to.
  • I love the ability to work with the sitemap shapes, drop a shape and type in my entire site to let Lucidchart automatically create the visual map. The downfall is trying to make edits using the same text editor later. You can add new shapes and move existing ones around with ease in your map, but I'd love the ability to click a shape and open the editor with the shape I selected highlighted so I can begin editing there. Instead, the editor opens and you have to scroll around looking for the page you want. The editing window is also small, so this task is almost impossible to do.
  • I sometimes have problems with the alignment of my shapes on the canvas when I'm trying to use a grid. Lucidchart seems to snap off my gridlines sometimes. And if the canvas changes, my grid spacing changes, causing my shapes to be off the grid I've defined.
  • Shapes on a canvas display a red dot for locations you can click to pull out a connector and add a new shape. I notice when I'm on the middle of a shape line that a 2nd hollow dot appears to the side of the shape which allows me to also drag from it to create a new connector. I'd prefer having the solid dots on the actual shape to avoid the confusion about where you're clicking if you're working in a congested map.
Read Albert Ellenich's full review
March 07, 2019
Jay Hall | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Making Workflows with the shapes feature on Lucidchart makes this product super easy to use and read.
  • I love the multiple page options as well. So I am able to "paint" the whole picture of a process and then duplicate the page and then strictly focus on a particular stage of the process on each page.
  • The ability to share LucidChart pages with others who don't use Lucidchart is also super simple. You can send them an email or just give them a link to view your document. Very easy.
  • Transferring documents to another Lucidchart user after someone has left the organization is also very easy and Lucidchart prompts you to do this once you remove the user. Very smart.
  • I really like how you can download your LucidChart documents into PDFs so you can easily share the file in emails or Slack.
  • Honestly, there is nothing that I can see that could make this product easier or better to use.
Read Jay Hall's full review

What is Lucidchart?

Lucidchart is a presented by the vendor as a flexible yet powerful flowchart and diagram software that integrates with other collaboration tools, enabling visual collaboration for teams.

Lucidchart Features

Has featureIntegrations with industry-leading applications
Has featureReal-time collaboration with team
Has featureExport and import current diagrams from various systems

Lucidchart Screenshots

Lucidchart Videos (2)

Lucidchart Integrations

Lucidchart Competitors

Lucidchart Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Free$0per month
Individual7.95per month
Team9.00per user/per month
EnterpriseCustom Pricing

The Team Pricing increases depending on the number of users on the account.

Lucidchart Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
25%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
20%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
25%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
30%

Lucidchart Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Lucidchart Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Languages: English