MURAL

MURAL
Formerly Mural.ly

Customer Verified
Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.1 out of 100
Top Rated
MURAL

Overview

Recent Reviews

AKG-Mural

10 out of 10
March 21, 2022
Design Thinking workshops main tool between selected customers and business partners. Default Mind Map and brain storming tool during …
Continue reading

Mural User Experience

9 out of 10
December 12, 2021
Agile project management, workshops, brain storming and ideation sections we are currently using. For follow up meetings also we are using.
Continue reading

MURAL Review

8 out of 10
November 04, 2021
I use MURAL for remote collaboration sessions, discovery work, process mapping and shared note taking.
Continue reading

Best Tool for Collaboration

9 out of 10
June 29, 2021
It lets us visualize our collective thoughts, keeping everyone on the same page on a daily basis. For instance, each team has their own …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2022

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of MURAL, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Starter

$12

Cloud
per month

Plus

$20

Cloud
per month

Enterprise

Contact sales team

Cloud

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is MURAL?

MURAL (formerly Mural.ly) from Tactivos (DBA MURAL) in San Francisco is described by the vendor as a digital workspace and visual collaboration tool, designed for creative teams to make the process of design more efficient for distributed teams, working remotely.

MURAL Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Reviews and Ratings

 (129)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-17 of 17)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The MURAL is a great online collaboration application for our team and many other teams in our organization. We being a team of developers, BA, Product owners troubleshoot any functionality together on MURAL's whiteboard together due to it being online and easily available, and being easy to use. MURAL is used across the whole organization as I have worked on many projects and can see MURAL being used everywhere and even I use to with my team for collaborating with my team and designing any solution.
  • MURAL greatly helps in designing phase of a project
  • It has different frameworks to define different personas, Scenario maps, hills.
  • Can add own customized image by uploading them on MURAL
  • MURAL's integrated chat service is another great feature it has.
  • MURAL hardly has any integration with other apps so that can be improved.
  • More shapes or options
  • Sometimes a little slow
MURAL has ready-to-use templates which make it very seamless for collaboration with clients or teams. It's an on-the-go platform to create or showcase solutions with its friendly images and shapes. Sometimes it gives us ideas even during the design phase, scenarios that haven't been thought of yet. Whenever we are starting a project or a new phase of a project, MURAL is the go-to app to start brainstorming for all kinds of projects or requirements. I can hardly think of a scenario where a MURAL is less appropriate but maybe it is less useful after the completion and delivery of the project.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At our company Mural is used as a collaborative software among agile squads in order to develop customer journey maps, to draft communications destined to clients and to have brainstorming sessions and agile events where everyone can give their input. Mural easily tackles the problem of working together since we are still under a home office regime.
  • Organizing ideas
  • Give visibility to everyone's input
  • Brainstorming
  • Adjusting canvas size, there could be predetermined templates
  • Insert tables
  • Insert frames
Mural is well suited for collaborative work where there isn't high complexity in the job that needs to be done, like drafting simple diagrams or journeys without too much information. Since the items and icons available don't allow a more dinamic or creative approach, Mural is better for day to day activities that don't require high impact presentations.
March 21, 2022

AKG-Mural

A. Kıvanç Güler | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Design Thinking workshops main tool between selected customers and business partners. Default Mind Map and brain storming tool during covid times between team members and also different LOBs from the organization. MURAL is a very helpful tool in order to save time for workshops internal and also external members.
  • Collaboration
  • Templates, canvas and rich palette items
  • Export and import options
  • Industry standard support
  • Trello Plugin
  • Miro Integration
  • More Export Option
Best tool for Design Thinking
Good tool for Mind Map and Brain Storming
Should be improved for product and project management
February 16, 2022

feedback

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Following the team retrospective meeting, collecting feedback, creating voting section
  • Voting scrum master or product owner
  • collecting feedback about last sprint
  • creating teamhealth checkup section
  • page scrolling
  • zooming
  • mention people
It is a very nice platform where you can collect feedback about the team. It can be used without the names of people. It also has the ability to be updated later. when one of the people on the page scrolls the screen at the same time, all the people on the screen scroll this feature can be improved.
December 12, 2021

Mural User Experience

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Agile project management, workshops, brain storming and ideation sections we are currently using. For follow up meetings also we are using.
  • Simultaneously idea registration and comments about existing ideas
  • User friendly interface and easy to use tools
  • Visual reports, classifications of ideas
  • Sometimes application gets slower during sessions
  • Hard to see modifications at the same time, there are some lag between users
For example, during ideation sessions, it's hard to synchronize with others. [The] application gets slower and after modifications sometimes team members write down [on] the same page. Maybe during typing cells should be locked?
November 04, 2021

MURAL Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use MURAL for remote collaboration sessions, discovery work, process mapping and shared note taking.
  • Shared digital white board
  • Voting, affinity mapping
  • Templated exercises
  • sync with audio / video tool
  • licensing and free user access and guests
  • very large groups
MURAL works well with small to medium sized group collaboration and working sessions. As well as structured exercises with templates. For very large groups (100+) there are sometimes issues.
Ann Puckett | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, it is being used among many departments for several different use cases. We have our strategic communications team using it for feedback on our annual report, our centennial celebration team is using it for project planning, our finance department is using it for updating & reviewing goals, our program department is using it for process mapping.
  • Custom configuration of design templates
  • Easy to invite and engage guests
  • Real-time collaboration
  • It is somewhat clunky inviting guests (vs. assigning a user)
  • The ability to easily turn off tracking people (should be default off)
  • Wish it would auto-resize shape larger for characters rather than characters getting smaller.
It is very well suited for virtual collaboration particularly in a situation where you would normally be in a room brainstorming in person. It works great for projects, committees or teams who need to come together to collaborate on an idea, project, process mapping, goal setting or as someone said just a place to jot down their own personal to-dos and or stick notes.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MURAL's being widely used by some large departments, particularly related to services delivery. It's being used to addressed any kind of problems or situations, but it's particularly used as a modelling tool for gaining common understanding, of new business flows, and team understanding and alignment of customers scenarios.
  • visual 'mind-mapping'
  • brainstorming processes
  • Very easy to use and adopt
  • Very good graphic interphase
  • It'd be nice that the zoom regulation could be easier to manage
  • The advanced features are a little bit easy to adopt. Why not adding some agile trainings, or some other tools to facilitate their adoption
  • A faster and easier way to Integrate with ms office
I think MURAL is great to sketch fast teams action, in a collaborative way. When a plan needs to be done, for some specific action (software go live, software trainings, etc), and a number of people needs to be part of, I found MURAL an easy and quick tool to adopt and use, almost immediately, without much further explanations. On the other hand, I wouldn't use for a more accurate or formal scenario, where you need to establish some precise and well-defined actions (industrial process, for example).
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Honestly, I don't think I could do my role without MURAL (formerly Mural.ly). I use MURAL (formerly Mural.ly) to run all of my team meetings and coordinate activities with my partners. I run programs and projects across Africa, and MURAL (formerly Mural.ly) is my go-to tool to ensure that the entire team is engaged in the process and is on the same page when it comes to execution. I've even started running my weekly team meetings on a mural, as it's a great way for the team to catch up and share ideas.
  • Easy to use
  • Engaging
  • Templates
  • Sometimes people get lost.
  • Need to have a way to track people's comments--who added what, etc. It gets quite confusing when you have multiple people adding and moving stuff.
  • Guest users need to be given a proper name. Its cool having visiting giraffes but when it's a CEO of a customer, it's important to know that.
  • Locking and unlocking items is sometimes really painful. People pick up an unlocked frame and move it.
  • Great for team meetings
  • Customer reviews
  • Workflow sessions
  • Planning sessions
  • LUMA workshops
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It lets us visualize our collective thoughts, keeping everyone on the same page on a daily basis. It is used by certain users in our organization. For instance, each team has their own planning murals. These are used regularly--often daily--to show progress. The workspace also increases productivity and focus.
  • MURAL (formerly Mural.ly) has ready-to-use templates for everything to seamlessly collaborate with our clients and engage with them
  • The workspace also increases productivity and focus
  • MURAL (formerly Mural.ly) does take a little time to get up to speed on using it.
  • The sketching feature could be vastly improved to be more like concepts offers, vs the paint app on Windows computers that is currently mimics.
  • Unless you have certain permissions, it is difficult to change your name.
The main value of this software is the collaboration aspect. I love that I can bring people together regardless of their tech fluency and with one icebreaker activity, I can get them to use the main functions they will need for the next few hours. I love that you can paste a URL and it shows a thumbnail of the article.
Brandon Woodle | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[MURAL (formerly Mural.ly)] is used across all consulting professionals in my organization. This includes architects, engineers, landscape architects, and planners. It is a great solution to the problem: how do you visually brainstorm (whiteboard) with your colleagues across offices and remote workers and time zones? Mural allows people to work together regardless of location at the same time, live, in a meeting, or whenever they can fit it into their busy schedules.
  • Collaborate on a visual brainstorming session
  • Share ideas with colleagues regardless of physical location
  • Create simple diagrams and mindmaps
  • Improved accuracy of tablet drawing
  • More customizable shapes
Scenarios where I use Mural [(formerly Mural.ly)]: brainstorming meeting to generate ideas; image board for project vision, precedents, examples; mind-mapping.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MURAL [(formerly Mural.ly)] is authorized for use across the organization and is used in various forums. In particular, I've used it as a white board type space for general brainstorming, as well in more structured Design Thinking sessions with both internal and external stakeholders. Most recently we've created some workspaces relative to deriving and cascading Cultural Change content and initiatives throughout the organization, by region and LoB/team.
  • Collaboration space for brainstorming
  • Requirements gathering/definition
  • Design Thinking - innovation
  • Formatting of content - perhaps restricting standards for post-its to be consistent
  • Folder and copy functions confusing -- tutorials would help
General brainstorming and Design Thinking activities are good application areas for MURAL [formerly Mural.ly)], in that participants can share ideas and then use the 'table top' to sort and gather them into solutions/concepts that drive to a desired outcome. Similarly can be done as a 'I Like, I Wish' type feedback board that can even remain active/available for follow-on reflection and comment.. perhaps where subsequent events are planned to build upon an initial one.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MURAL (formerly Mural.ly) is not just limited to a department or a project; rather, it's being used across the whole organization to do deep-dive discussions with the customers to understand the client pain areas.

Every client interaction in the very beginning where we do workshops goes through MURAL (formerly Mural.ly) for white-boarding exercises.
  • Ability to follow other users' cursors makes it easy for a group to understand what a particular person is explaining
  • Drag-and-drop components for ease of use
  • Quick and easy way to provide access to internal/external users as MURAL (formerly Mural.ly) is a SaaS product
  • Sometimes, while doing a retrospective, it's difficult to make a user anonymous
  • It also is a little painful sometimes to make a certain section move from one place to another
  • It takes time to load a mural board
The tool MURAL (formerly Mural.ly) is best suited for performing any kind of white-boarding exercises both internally and externally to include participants up to 50.
Online collaboration has become very easy during the pandemic when we do not have a chance to meet people in person.

Mural is less appropriate when the number of user might be more than 50
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It lets us visualize our collective thoughts, keeping everyone on the same page on a daily basis. For instance, each team has their own planning mural. These are used regularly--often daily--to show progress. It helps everyone on the team imagine together to unlock new ideas, solve hard problems, and innovate faster.
  • It's a large, virtual wall you can solve problems on visually.
  • You can interact with your content in new ways in MURAL (formerly Mural.ly).
  • MURAL is a standalone tool that does not directly integrate with other tools.
  • I wish you could expand the artboards more or even have the option to do multiple artboards!
When one of my designers needs me to review something, we set up a MURAL and I can sketch over their designs or leave post-it notes, plug in images for inspiration, anything.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MURAL is being used in various departments across our organization. It was adopted to assist with collaboration, particularly to address the challenges posed by remote working when the pandemic struck. MURAL is an exceptional tool that enables teams to share ideas, organize work and track progress. It is flexible enough to tackle any scenario requiring teams to collaborate. It is very easy to adopt and has tooling built-in to allow for more sophisticated interaction. Highly recommended.
  • Kanban boards
  • Brainstorming
  • Mind mapping
  • Voting for prioritization
  • Having some login issues recently.
Great for team collaboration and visualizing ideas.
Susan Gregory | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use MURAL with multiple clients. It helps with collaboration, engagement, and learning online. I’ve used it to teach communication skills, to run strategic planning meetings, brainstorming sessions, and focus groups. I’ve created a calendar to manage social media. People miss being able to get together in person to share ideas around a flip chart or whiteboard. MURAL fills that gap. It’s much easier to use and more flexible than other whiteboard functions (such as whiteboard in Zoom). People can use it simultaneously or for asynchronous collaboration.
  • Strategic planning: You can build up the thought process on a large workspace and easily see how your conversation has developed.
  • Brainstorming: Easy for people to get started and add lots of ideas at the same time. Easy to move ideas around to see themes.
  • Focus groups: Participants can easily see their ideas being captured.
  • People accidentally type over their own content.
  • Doesn’t work on phones/tablets.
  • Without guidance, participants will type over others notes.
Particularly suited for detailed collaboration with multiple aspects or steps to the conversation. Because there is a learning curve, it is less suited to simple topics such as a short document review or to capture a short conversation. It’s best suited to groups that are open to learning new technology.
Faye Sadler-Clark | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Many of my colleagues and I use Mural when working with clients remotely; we have been using it for several years. It's a fantastic way of working with geographically dispersed teams and has been particularly helpful in supporting collaboration during the Covid 19 pandemic. It is used to run remote workshops and meetings where our clients are open to using the tool.
  • It allows you to build from independent work to group exercises and discussions and using brainstorming and the voting tool to drive decision making and action.
  • It has functionality that allows you to bring your audience to different areas of the whiteboard using the 'summon everyone' function, and move between delivering material with 'presentation mode' and interactive exercises where students contribute ideas or suggestions.
  • It offers an interactive and engaging platform for collaboration and costs can be kept low because people can join sessions as visitors.
  • The only thing that used to bug me about Mural was the fact that you couldn’t identify participants who joined as visitors (one time collaborators appear as anonymous animals). I noticed recently that visitors can now add their name which is really useful. I expect this change came from Mural user feedback, they do seem to develop the features over time.
  • Sometimes participants can't see images that you add to the whiteboard. There's a way around it but it's a little frustrating and I'm not sure why it happens.
It's great when you need to drive real decision making and action; the voting tool is particularly useful in this regard. It's a great tool to use when you want to hear all voices, and not just from the loudest individuals. I've used Mural extensively over the last two years, and I've developed an online course in how to use the tool. I've run hundreds of participative workshops with it too, it's my 'go to' for running engaging remote workshops.
Chat support tends to get back to you within a few hours and are always helpful.