Salesforce Social Studio

Salesforce Social Studio

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 7.2 out of 100
Salesforce Marketing Cloud Social Studio (Radian6 + Buddy Media)

Overview

Recent Reviews

Social Studio

8 out of 10
February 21, 2022
We were using this software to collect all the social media posts using the keywords which were related to our product and also tried to …
Continue reading

Radian6 Delivers

10 out of 10
November 18, 2019
Currently, Radian6 is used across our military recruitment department to identify opportunities where our brand can become a part of the …
Continue reading

Marketing in retail real estate

10 out of 10
December 05, 2017
Social Studio is being used by the organization I work for. It is being used by each property's marketing department so that social boosts …
Continue reading

Social Studio is competent

8 out of 10
April 05, 2017
We used to Social Studio to schedule all of our social media content on Facebook and Twitter. It was only used by our marketing …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Popular Features

View all 27 features
  • Broad channel coverage (11)
    8.0
    80%
  • Twitter (11)
    8.0
    80%
  • Content planning and scheduling (11)
    7.0
    70%
  • Workflow management (11)
    7.0
    70%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Salesforce Social Studio, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Basic

$1,000.00

Cloud
Per Org Per Month

Pro

$4,000.00

Cloud
Per Org Per Month

Corporate

$12,000.00

Cloud
Per Org Per Month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Features Scorecard

Listening/monitoring

5.8
58%

Publishing

6.3
63%

Engagement

8.0
80%

Marketing

7.2
72%

Channel coverage/integration

7.5
75%

Reporting/analytics

5.7
57%

Account management

6.0
60%

Product Details

What is Salesforce Social Studio?

Social Studio (formerly Radian6) enables users to listen, engage, and publish within a social media marketing and management suite — and connect enriched social data to marketing with sales and service. Social Studio is the result of Salesforce' combining of Radian6 with the capabilities of Buddy Media, a social media publishing tool acquired by Salesforce in 2012. Social Studio is available on the Salesforce Marketing Cloud.

The product supports:

Social Listening
Gather market intelligence. Gain relevant feedback across your marketing, service, and sales campaigns with reporting tied to your social accounts from the office or via mobile app. Search for any topic or brand. Watch for fresh topics and trends from convenient customizable dashboards.

Community Engagement
Deploy a single platform for social media engagement and social reviews across every department in a company. Securely manage access and roles with user and team workspaces. With machine learning, gauge brand sentiment and prioritize posts — then automatically route customer activity to the appropriate role in either marketing, sales, or service. Route social posts to your CRM platform to complete the picture of the customer across social, email, and other digital channels.

Social Publishing
Manage company’s entire social presence across teams. Create workspaces and access based on role or group to ensure brand consistency.
Collaborate on campaigns. Draft, share, schedule, review, and approve content. Access stock photos, trending topics, and more — on a desktop or in a mobile app. Reporting gives a real-time snapshot on content, channel, and creative performance.

Monitoring Performance
Track customer interactions, brand health, and campaign results as they unfold. Depict real-time customer feedback with on-screen imagery.
Highlight the customer voice. Keep a close eye on conversations to develop insights around real-time customer discussions. Display insights based on region, post popularity, and words commonly associated with a product. Get comprehensive multichannel views of every customer relationship — plus in-depth explorations of email campaigns, social care, and every brand journey.

Salesforce Social Studio Video

Learn how to use Social Studio. See how to reach an always-moving audience and inspire engagement when and where customers prefer.

Salesforce Social Studio Competitors

Salesforce Social Studio Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Radian6 was acquired by Salesforce.com in 2011 and - along with Buddy Media - is now part of the Salesforce Marketing Cloud. Salesforce now supplies social media management capabilities through Social Studio, the product built by combining Radian6 with Buddy Media, available on the Salesforce Marketing Cloud.

Bottlenose, Brandwatch, and Verint Messaging are common alternatives for Salesforce Social Studio.

Reviewers rate Broad channel coverage and Automated routing and prioritization and Customer interaction histories highest, with a score of 8.

The most common users of Salesforce Social Studio are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Unknown industry.

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Reviews

(1-25 of 55)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
February 21, 2022

Social Studio

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • collects data from different sources
  • richness of a data
  • quality of the data
  • easy of download the data
  • adding keywords using any scripts is still challenging can be improved the way script functions
  • filter options so that we choose selected sources
  • may add different sources as competitors are providing wide range of data
November 18, 2019

Radian6 Delivers

Alexis Ramsey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • First time setup is easy to do. Keyword and dashboard creation are walked through, and results flow in quickly tell you if your set is working or not.
  • Technical support is responsive. If technical support is not fast enough for an emergency issue, our rep is quick at getting things escalated.
  • Dashboard widget options are simple to implement and easy to drill down into.
  • If you open multiple widgets and drill down, each one has to be closed separately. It would be nice to have a “reset” button.
  • The look of Radian6 has not changed in years. I think there’s room to introduced a new aesthetic, create new features, etc.
  • Choosing what columns to export for listening results would be helpful. There are unnecessary columns that need to be deleted each time an export occurs.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Very easy to use
  • Friendly interface
  • Little errors / bugs
  • Heavier analytics abilities
  • Ability to look at platforms that are review sites, amazon, etc rather than just social sites
  • Updated interface
Mahesh Aluvala | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The amount of the information that radian6 can pull from multiple social platforms is absolutely phenomenal. Its just not only the pull but the way the information can be presented in dashboards was way good. It helped us understand in various aspects of our social presence.
  • Multiple profiles helped us to break down the Big/Huge social buzz cloud to smaller and more manageable pieces. This helped us concentrate on the lows and helped us to plan better on turning them to highs.
  • Radian6 allowed us to follow thru the crowd trends with the latest information presented in a single view. This also helped us to collect the social opinion on the product releases.
  • The ease of use, one need not be an expert to start using this platform. The interface is easily understandable by anyone.
  • A keyword can be edited quickly to tailor the needs and the results were quick.
  • The initial setup was difficult to make it live. Despite the fact that the radian6 is a great tool, there is still a lot to improve upon with regard to the setup process.
  • Narrowing down the search sometimes produces glitches. I have experienced some glitches when looking up for the period time like 90 days with fewer keywords.
  • There is room to improve the export data functionality.
Jeremy Cowles | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • One stop shop: if you are looking for a tool that combines multiple facets found in individual tools then this could be for you
  • Scheduling posts is a breeze across platform. So this is clearly geared towards marketers or community managers who need a quick and simple way to manage communications output
  • Salesforce is a ubiquitous platform these days - social studio is a natural extension of this (the engage and CRM functionality plays to this strength) so for businesses of any size that subscribe to the Salesforce suite, adding this tool would make total sense
  • The user interface is rather simplistic which can be seen as a pro - intuitive and easy to navigate, and more quickly accessible for newbies over rival platforms which can have steep learning curves and layers of detailed functionality which take time to get familiar with
  • Jack of all trades, master of none: OK so this might sound a bit harsh, but while the tool accomplished three similar functions competently, and all under one bonnet, the fact that none of them are outstanding in functionality and capability in my book that also counts as a weakness, regardless of the fact they are all combined in one software suite. It would seem that Salesforce needs to think more carefully about who the target user audience is here - publishers, sellers and marketers, or insight types who work with the content - it's a bit lacklustre in all three areas
  • Simplicity vs total control: I mentioned previously that it has a very intuitive, accessible and 'simplistic' (in a good way) UI which makes getting to grips with the tool great for early adopters. BUT with this comes the downfall that it is rather simplistic, and the rich functionality that is available in other platforms is just not seen here. For example, the engagement scores for competitor brands (not client / owned brands) are not available, meaning you can't do deeper dive analysis on content performance for rival organizations. The ability to only export content in 90 day chunks is also frustrating
  • For such a large organisation, think about how much support you're going to need from Salesforce. You might have to be prepared to wing it on your own
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Easy end-user graphical interface, create powerful dashboards in minutes.
  • Can be integrated with other tools like Salesforce.
  • Fast, refreshes and retrieves your queries in seconds; you can have several dashboards with your key metrics, keywords, tag cloud, etc.
  • Some networks are out of the tool: i.e. only Facebook open public API but not all of it, other social networks are missing as well.
  • Having 2 separate consoles: Engagement console and the Radian6 dashboard console (one is web-based and the other is via desktop app).
  • The engagement console is very powerful but difficult to set up.
Jimmy Mack | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Social listening - pulling in mass amounts of data.
  • Publishing - creating a content calendar and publishing to multiple platforms.
  • User interface - it has a fairly intuitive UI.
  • Analytics - the analytics are very surface level and leave something to be desired. It lags behind other tools like Sprinklr or crimson hexagon.
  • Topic profiles - the idea of "topic profiles" to power searches can be confusing and is inefficient.
  • Reporting - The auto-generated reports weren't very good. I generally exported raw data to Excel and created my own reports after scrubbing the data.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Social Listening - boolean search queries that can be narrowed down by source and language, as well as location, to ensure it's relevant to the brand.
  • Owned Channel Monitoring - pulling owned content/comments into streams for moderation, engagement and review.
  • Publishing - scheduling, drafting, tracking brand owned social posts.
  • Instagram Social Listening - it currently does not offer much social listening in terms of Instagram.
  • Instagram Owned - It currently stops pulling once an update is "old" by their standards, even if it receives recent comments. They can force pull, but you have to work with their tech team to do so.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • It helps you visualize your social calendar on a daily, weekly, and monthly level. I liked seeing the days posts not just listed out, but listed in hourly blocks. It helped me make sure everything was spaced out nicely.
  • It lets you preview the way your content will look on each social platform.
  • Duplicating content was fairly easy.
  • I would have loved a library function for all the images I continually post on social.
  • I wish I could have dragged content on the calendar. For instance, if I had a post scheduled at 3:00 but I needed to move it to 5:00, I wish I could have just dragged the post on the calendar to the 5:00 slot, rather than opening the post and editing the scheduled time.
  • When too many posts were on the calendar, it looked very cluttered.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • I liked that Radian6 measured multiple social media platforms.
  • I liked the easy-to-use interface of Radian6.
  • I liked the fact that Radian6 allowed for the export of information, charts and results to easily compile into a document that could be shared with upper leadership.
  • I frequently wished I could see a share of voice a little easier - how a company compares with competitors.
  • I had trouble setting up keywords to monitor certain companies or industry trends.
  • When I used Radian6, I wanted to be able to monitor in real time more effectively.
Sharon Suchoval | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • It is hands-down, the best tool for monitoring brand mentions at an enterprise level.
  • It provides profiles for multiple users.
  • It allows you to identify and address conversations rapidly.
  • It is difficult to use if your brand has a very common name. For example, if your company name is "Ignite" there could be many different reasons why someone would use that word and the results can be useless. If you have a very unique name like "Starbucks" most of the results will be relevant.
  • It isn't a cost effective tool for smaller brands. There are cheaper, more basic tools for those businesses.
Nicole Swanson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Superior publishing platform with the ability to share workspaces and content calendars between users
  • Seamless integration with external tools like Google Analytics and bit.ly allow for content creation in one place
  • Engagement of all channels in one place with he ability to assign enquiries to other team members and follow up on progress
  • Superior data collection from major social channels, as well as blogs, forums and mainstream news sites
  • Performance alanysis for own channels and the ability to create dashboards for reporting
  • Some channels not supported yet (Instagram for example) and content from Facebook events is not captured
  • Customisable, and exportable reports still not available in the analyze component of Social Studio - some reporting still needs to be done in Radian6
  • Can't tag people in responses, or tag people/pages in posts for Facebook yet (this means we still schedule some content direct to FB if this is needed)
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Single interface to our three main platforms; LinkedIn, Twitter, Facebook.
  • Aggregated calendar showing when posts and tweets are scheduled.
  • Dashboard access to performance reporting.
  • Shared workspace allows coordination with Agencies and others that are working remote.
  • Images do not always show up in posts, API issues.
  • Cannot toggle between calendar and posts easily.
  • More in-tool resources for researching topics and #s to use in posts.
November 04, 2014

Radian6 Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The ability to dive into data various ways and bring user directly to source of mention. I love the ability to look at data and dig into the data. For example, looking at Topic Trends and then being able to dive into the River of News from a specific point in the Topic Trends. Another way would be to look at the keyword groups, dive into media type and then dive into a specific media type for more detailed data about Twitter or Forums specifically.
  • I really like the art of the Keyword Configuration and ability to filter noise.
  • Number of sources covered. One of the things I love about the tool is the ability to crawl so many sources including social media sites, blogs, mainstream news, forums, YouTube, Twitter, Facebook and more. The tool covers over 650 million sources of data the last rep I talked to in late July, 2013.
  • Ability to train multiple users across the organization.
  • I really like the Engagement Console workflow and use the feature to delegate mentions to the appropriate stakeholders. I also like to flag and prioritize mentions among team members. We can also respond to mentions from the tool specifically if we need to.
  • Provide insights based on data.
  • Customize Reports. Many times, I would like to see data a specific way. Currently, this tool does not allow me to custom build a report in the tool to send to my managers. I will need to export data and create my own dashboard based on the data I would like to see. The Summary Dashboard does not provide me the reporting I need.
  • Sentiment could be improved.
Nolan Perry | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Social media monitoring: Radian6 excels in pulling in mentions of our brand as well as a detailed assortment of key words. Topic Profiles allow an incredible amount of filtering and let create separate stacks or queues for different topics. It also allows "Does Not include" key words in the Topic Profiles. Different profiles can be designed for different teams, also.
  • Categorization of posts: Radian6 offers more categorization of posts than any tool I've used. This includes post tags, source tags, sentiment, priority, engagement level, classification level, and assign to user. Users can create their own system for how they want to use these, but it's not required.
  • Macros: One of my team's favorite things about Radian6 is that we can create macros. These are shortcut buttons within the engagement console that we can program to do multiple actions. For example, a macro for "Alumni Association" may mark a post positive, add a post tag of Alumni, add a high priority flag, and assign the post to a specific user. Multiple workflow actions taken care of with one click.
  • Analytics: This is still emerging but Radian6 does a pretty good job once you know what you're doing. only down side is that you have to open and log into a separate window to access it, which happens to be the Radian6 Dashboard. This is the same place you create and design your Topic Profiles and keyword groups, etc. The Analysis Widgets, Rivers of News, etc. provide a lot of flexibility for viewing things like mentions per time period, pie charts by post tag, and word clouds. It's also easy to export all posts from a chart.
  • Assigning and managing posts: User assignment is easy and flexible within Radian6. Users can quickly create their own My Tasks stack, as well as other stacks to monitor effectively.
  • Setup: Radian6 is incredibly difficult to get up and running. I'm the only one on my team that took the time to learn it. Two years later, there are still things I have to have our account rep walk me through. Once set up correctly though, it functions great.
  • Fragmentation: Because of all the companies and tools they've acquired and incorporated, the Salesforce ecosystem is quite fragmented. Use the Engagement Console for monitoring and engaging, use the dashboard website for setup, filtering, and analytics, use the Social Hub site for more details filtering and automated rules, use the Summary Dashboard site for other broad view analytics. I just want it all to be in one system. Fortunately, this is exactly what they're working on.
  • Managed Accounts: I still don't entirely understand what these are and why they need to be set up this way. The execution could definitely be better.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Friendly user interface. Easy to navigate and easy to set up the account based on keyword
  • Stability - almost never had problem with logging in or getting kicked out of the program unexpectedly during the 3 years of use.
  • Certain features. I really like the keyword cloud as well as the topic trend.
  • Export limit. 500 mentions is too little. Any topic could easily gather over 2000 mentions in my experience.
  • Keyword sentiment. This is the major turn-off but it is not unique only to Radian 6.The keyword-based analysis cannot properly interpret human emotions. The sentiment we received is not accurate but we just don't have the time to go through these mentions manually to get a favorability ratio.
  • Level of noise. Often times there are quite a few automated and duplicated message/advertising that should have been noticed, captured and filtered out automatically by the system.
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Radian6 integrates with other enterprise applications like Salesforce.com and analytics like Webtrends, Omniture and Google Analytics.
  • Radian6 does not pull data from a handful of major sites that provide extremely useful content, such as LinkedIn groups, Amazon reviews, and Google+.
  • Radian6 also does not capture comments made in response to Facebook fan page post or pick up posts proactively made by fans to pages unless the fans make all their content public.
  • The query search for Radian6 basically consists of "and" "or" and "not" as filtering tools but doesn't provide other valuable filtering options such as narrowing your search to specific sites or links.
  • Radian6's website is entirely in Flash, which makes your computer slow down quite a bit.
  • The collaboration process has some glitches. For example, when a user creates a campaign or keyword to track, everyone on the team can see it but will not have the ability to modify anything.
  • In addition to the license fee, there is a per-topic profile fee, which is where you tell it what data you want to pull in. If you want to separate data, there is only so much you can do within one topic profile. If you go over your data limit, you'll be charged!
  • It's very expensive. If you're a small - mid-sized company you can probably get the same results with a much more affordable software.
May 06, 2014

Radian6 review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • I think Radian6 have one of the best data crawls out of the Social Monitoring tools that I have used. The tool consistently returns the largest volume numbers.
  • Radian6 is great at getting a read on what is being said about your brand and most importantly, doing so quickly. It only takes a minute or two to set up a keyword group and the pull can run in a matter of seconds.
  • The tool's AI behind the data crawl is smart. When searching for certain keywords like Pepsi, social mentions that include Pepsi in a hashtag are also pulled back. So not only posts including #Pepsi, but also #ILovePepsi would be pulled back as well.
  • The export or raw data can be tedious. Currently, the tool exports a 10,000 mention bulk CSV file. When dealing with larger brands like Nike, you are looking at well over 300K posts for a year. Parallel to this, is the lack of an exportable sample of data.
  • Each widget can only showcase 3 months worth of data. So creating a trend line of volume of mentions must be done in 3 separate widgets and requires the user to manually piece them together.
  • Though the tool consistently brings back the most volume, the data is not always clean. Within the data crawl, twitter user names are also scraped for your kewords, so going back to the above example, if your keyword is nike, and someone's twitter handle is @IhateNike, the post is often irrelevant to the brand.
  • Though I find the tool quite easy to use, new users often tell me that the tool is incredibly confusing and not an intuitive process.
  • Lack of Facebook posts, though this is a limitation of all social monitoring tools given the privacy settings of the social network
  • Lacking the ability to input Boolean Syntax limits the depth of the keyword queries.
March 31, 2014

Apps made easy

Paul Theunis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • It makes creating Facebook applets really easy, it takes away the the hassle of doing all that work on Facebook itself.
  • Customizing is a pain, or I should say used to be. The support team is great and tried to help me with whatever issue I had but some features were just missing back then