Twilio Reviews

84 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 28)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
March 08, 2021
Ramón Carmona Medina | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Those solutions are just not the same, Mailgun is a programmable SMS API with really low cost and is so far compared with Twilio SendGrid but since we are using more Twilio SMS or Whatsapp, [it's not used for] the same purpose. As OneSignal is an all in one solution for being in communication with customers it offers email mkt, push notifications and SMS. [It is] not clear for us yet if SMS is similar to Twilio because it seems to be solution between bulk sms mkt platform and a programmable SMS. [On] the other hand we have Zendesk Sunshine or smoochio we saw this solution when implementing WhatsApp Business but even if they said they had Mexican numbers we decided to go with Twilio since we asked several times to see how the end user interface looked and we continuously got evasive answers so for Twilio we find a 3rd party integration that clearly told us what they had and what didn't had but they were working one so the 3rd party solution with Twilio was important in this decision.
Read Ramón Carmona Medina's full review
March 10, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Google Voice and Twilio both provide phone numbers; however, Twilio allows you to program how to respond to voice calls. We have only used a small portion of what Twilio is capable of. I appreciate being able to get information about a phone number to see the provider and caller id information. We also use Twilio to validate phone numbers to ensure that they are valid numbers.
Read this authenticated review
October 30, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Authy beats Google Authenticator in the user interface hands down. Google Authenticator shows all of your authentication codes in a list, making it hard to choose the right code to enter. Instead, Authy offers iconic representations of all of your apps, and lets you quickly tap on the one you one - confirming you have the right code. Authy also offers cloud backup and easy device migration. Finally, Authy offers multi-device support. Google Authenticator offers none of the above. Authy wins hands down.
Read this authenticated review
December 21, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We compared Twilio to several other SMS vendors but only Twilio with its third party plug-in directly integrated with Oracle. The others would have required extensive development work and expense to achieve the same functionality. Twilio allowed us to be up in running in quarter of the time so we were able to start testing and launching campaigns far sooner.
Read this authenticated review
August 09, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We previously used Skype for communications, however the price per minute or second per call was more expensive, and it didn't give us the flexibility of integrating calls with our CRM (Vtiger), allowing our sales force to initiate a call with a prospect just by clicking on its opportunity's phone number.
Read this authenticated review
August 26, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I used both Google Authenticator and Duo before switching to Authy. With both of them, I lost access to resources because I forgot to disconnect the device before moving/replacing it. That resulted in absolute hassles with having to reach out to the resource's support and filling out forms to prove my identity. Save yourself the hassle, just use Authy.
Read this authenticated review
September 15, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Twilio is way better quality than most in terms of video, I find customer support excellent and personable, no feeling of a bot as opposed to some other companies! Well-thought-out product and you don't need your own crack DevOps team to launch.
Read this authenticated review
September 07, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The others have a ton of built-in features that are very nice to have with a traditional PBX or CC platform. For some companies, these aren't necessary. Twilio is great because, if you have a very specific use case that doesn't involve most of those other features, then Twilio may be perfect for you.
Read this authenticated review
April 10, 2019
Evan Laird | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

To be honest, I don't know of any Twilio SMS competitors that have the robust transactional SMS that Twilio SMS has. I know of a few marketing SMS platforms such as Textedly but that's more of an email blast (or SMS blast) to your list then something targeted based on user action inside our application that Twilio SMS can provide. On top of that, in Twilio SMS I can push them through my own segmentation and sequences programmatically to even make the marketing SMS's more targetted compared to some of the pure blast competitors.
Read Evan Laird's full review
April 04, 2019
Andrew Doar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Twilio SMS works better than Salesforce LiveMessage.

I had some experience with SendHub. SendHub did not integrate with Salesforce (which was problematic).
Read Andrew Doar's full review
October 25, 2018
Jeff Eaton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Google Authenticator — There's no contest here, Authy feels like a much better choice. It's much easier to recover from a lost phone, and it's one less Google app on my phone.

1Password — This is actually the next product we plan to evaluate; it's more promising for sharing accounts across multiple users.
Read Jeff Eaton's full review
October 17, 2018
Ben Gelsey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Bandwidth
Bandwidth is 2/3 the price of Twilio for sending SMS messages. However, we decided to simply go with the market leader because it was the safer choice. At our scale, the increased developer effort outweighed the marginal increase in costs due to the per-SMS pricing differential. Overall we feel confident we made the right decision.
Read Ben Gelsey's full review
March 13, 2018
Olivia Capizzi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Twilio rates were much higher, but their assistance and support were much higher rated so we decided to go with them. We need more support as we are a small team with a limited number of employees, meaning we must outsource questions and information when we can to optimize our efficiency. Nexmo was cheaper but less support overall.
Read Olivia Capizzi's full review
March 13, 2018
Rich Warren | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • voodoo sms, firetext and Nexmo
Twilio is considerably more expensive than its competitors but has far better documentation. If cost is a problem then I would recommend Nexmo over Twilio, although the customer service and documentation is nowhere near as good. I have also had a much less reliable service on Nexmo. In my opinion, the ease of implementation and reliability is well worth the additional cost. If you are looking to be able to send one off campaigns then Twilio is not the tool for you, I would recommend FireText if you are in the UK. That enables texts to be sent via uploading a CSV file, perfect for nontechnical team members. If you want to use a much simpler API that can be accessed via a GET request and no required modules look at Voodoo SMS. Voodoo SMS is also significantly cheaper per message. Twilio customer service is superior to all its competitors, it really is a premium service. Customer support ticket response times are normally well below 24hrs, the only negative is the difficulty in finding a telephone number. Above a certain threshold, you are given an account manager to solve this for you. Two-factor authentication tool saves a lot of time setting up your own service.
Read Rich Warren's full review
March 09, 2018
Ivan Collins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Call Central
We used Cdyne before Twilio and their prices were higher and the tools a far cry from Twilio. Things are much faster to build in Twilio and the UX was night and day difference.
Read Ivan Collins's full review
March 07, 2018
Greg Dungan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have only used Twilio for these services. It was the first platform I tried and I have been totally satisfied with it ever since. I'm not even sure what other products are available in this space. Anyone that I know who offers the kind of services I do, uses Twilio to do it.
Read Greg Dungan's full review
September 07, 2016
Ben Farmer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Plivo
SMS providers are similar in function - obviously. The main area where Twilio is different and better is their API. It's very well thought out and the documentation is superb. The API is complete - it can do everything you need - and it's intuitive. That's what really sets it apart from its competitors.
Read Ben Farmer's full review
January 11, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Amazon Connect, Plivo, and Tokbox are other services that offer WebRTC solutions. Amazon connect, while a good solution if you're already using AWS for your website, is quite expensive compared to the other two options here. Comparatively, Plivo is slightly cheaper than Twilio WebRTC. It can be a good avenue to pursue assuming their support team is as responsive as Twilio's. Finally, Tokbox is quite a popular WebRTC solution. Their prices are comparable to Twilio's, however, their solutions can get expensive when you look to archive communications.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Agent dashboard (2)
9.2
Validate callers (2)
9.2
Outbound response (3)
8.4
Call forwarding (1)
8
Warm transfer (2)
6.1
Interactive voice response (2)
9.2
REST APIs (3)
9.5
Call scripts (2)
9.2
Call tracking (2)
9.2
Multichannel integration (2)
8.6
CRM software integration (3)
9.5
Inbound call routing (1)
10
Recording (1)
10
Quality management (1)
10
Call analytics (1)
10
Historical reporting (1)
10
Live reporting (1)
10
Customer surveys (1)
10
Customer interaction analytics (1)
10

What is Twilio?

Twilio offers a CPaaS and CCaaS solution, with the combination of its programmable Voice, Video, and Messaging APIs, as well as the Twilio Flex cloud contact center. Additional capabilities include Twilio's Elastic SIP Trunking, as well as API for WhatsApp.

Twilio Video

What is Twilio?

Twilio Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Local Calls$0.013Per Minute
Toll-Free Calls$0.013Per Minute
Browser / App Calls$0.040Per Minute

Twilio Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No