Varicent Incentive Compensation Management Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
79 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 41)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
March 08, 2021
David Hauptmanh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ICM to calculate and pay all non-salary incentive payments, including stock grants, spiff awards, etc. Initially, this was the primary purpose, however, in recent months, we've been trying to figure out how to use more of the reporting functionality to report on and use the 7 years worth of incentive data to perform analytics on our performance based plans and review total compensation.
  • Flexibility - We have not run into a compensation plan that we could not build in ICM. Some of our plans are very detailed with complicated formulas.
  • Accuracy - ICM is going to calculate accurate payouts every time (assuming the builds are done correctly). We have had some teams run their own calculations in parallel to verify payout amounts. Several times there were discrepancies but in each instance, it was errors on the client side (Excel).
  • Reporting Capabilities - While we have only scratched the surface, there seems to be powerful reporting tools build in to ICM. Both from the end user perspective as well as from a management perspective. Reports are easy to build in Presenter and with the addition of Rapid Reports and the Discovery Dashboard, we are looking forward to providing powerful insights into our incentive payouts.
  • Zions Bancorporation takes security very seriously. While we have NOT had any security issues with ICM, with it being a cloud application, our internal infosec team really wants some kind of MFA (multi factor authentication) support for off corporate network access.
  • The ICM internal workflow manager is not as flexible as we would like. For what it does, it works extremely well. However, for our purposes, it would not fit our process so we created our own workflows using presenter reports, scheduler and automated data imports. We'd love to be able to use the internal workflow and I think with recent improvements we're getting close but it's just not there yet.
  • In order to send emails to users (ie. payments need approval) we had to write an external python script. It works well but for most admins, they are not able to support it. It would be nice to have the ability to send emails based on defined triggers. The built in workflow can do this but as mentioned previously, we are not able to use it.
  • I'd like to have the ability to run a partial calculation. Currently, there is only an option to run a full system calc or a single calculation. I would like the ability to run a stream of calcs (ie. from a parent down to all children only).
Any time incentive payments are calculated with formulas (simple or complex), ICM will work well. Payments are easy to validate and ICM maintains a very detailed audit trail. In addition, reporting capabilities allow payees to easily see how payments are being calculated and can model what payments would be with increased production.
Overall, very well designed from an admin user interface perspective. There is a bit of a learning curve but once familiar with the application, navigation becomes easy and intuitive. The web portal usability depends upon how the reports are built and organized. While the appearance is clean and easy to use, it could be updated to a more modern look/feel.
One of the primary reasons we chose Varicent ICM as our incentive compensation solution is because of the flexibility it offers. The application is capable of anything we can come up with. We often say that we start with a blank slate and are only limited by our imagination. As mentioned previously, we have incentive plans that range from simple calculations (ie. Loan Volume applied against a rate) to plans with hundreds of individual calculations. Other products we looked at as a solution seemed to want us to change our processes to match the product. With ICM, we can adopt the product to our existing processes.
Read David Hauptmanh's full review
March 06, 2021
Fotios Rassias | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Varicent Incentive Compensation Management is being used across the organization to pay Commissions to Brokers who introduce loans into ANZ Bank (from mum and dad Home Loans to Corporate Loans).
  • ICM Is a Cloud based tool which allows the Business at ANZ to manage and create tailored commission payments to our Brokers.
  • Using the Integrated Development Environment of ICM at ANZ we have built multiple solutions that are tailored to how our business works. From manually created tailored deals that go through a workflow process to Approve/Reject the transaction based on input from Broker Manager, State Manager and General Manager. Using Python scripts and accessing the existing web services of ICM we are given the versatility to manage how our Commission Payments are handled e.g. sending emails with encrypted attachments to Brokers, storing Broker Invoices in tailored directory structure within ICM, ...
  • ICM is a scalable product which easily churns through about 700,000 transactions a day at ANZ within a 3-4 hours window to calculate the commissions payable.
  • Automated rebuild Indexing of tables and calcs, or next best thing, automated reports to list what should have its index rebuilt.
  • To have the functionality for a conditional entry on the ICM scheduler. E.g. if ICM table has fieldx = 'Y' then we run a specific row in the ICM scheduler else it's skipped.
  • The ability to download data in csv, Excel … from the "History Viewer" of tables that have changes tracked.
I believe ICM is a versatile tool that allows you to build a complex solution, if required, to allow the payment of Commissions. It is very scalable and easy to maintain, and finding the root cause of a problem is simple (e.g. why did Account "X" calculate a commission of $100 instead of $150).
ICM has all the tools required to build [and] maintain a Compensation solution plus it allows the Business to view via on screen reports (that are downloadable). It also has the ability to send emails when errors occur in the scheduler and at ANZ, we have then used that to generate incident phone calls on my mobile phone.
ICM calculations are very scalable and as they run concurrently they can easily churn through millions of rows of data. Our main transaction table which contains historical data has over 235 Million rows of data and we use table considerably throughout our calculations and saved import SQL that run in the ICM scheduler.
Read Fotios Rassias's full review
March 02, 2021
Brandon Cole | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Medidata Solutions, we leverage the Varicent implementation to service our entire global sales force. We leverage the tool to not only compensate our sales reps timely and accurately, we have built self service reports for our Finance and Operations colleagues to leverage as well. Having a ready made, single source of truth has drastically improved our organizational efficacy. In addition, it has allowed us to focus more on the strategy and insights our sales data can provide and less time searching through the data for the story.
  • Enables more meaningful insights -> this is accomplished through the ability for the administrator(s) to access every grain of data that runs through the system and either report on or build calculations off of that data point(s).
  • Flexibility -> both in regards to handling exceptions to the designed calculation flow or when you need to create a new plan flow. Since the system is structured to be driven by table data, you typically never need to augment the calculation logic itself for minor changes. You simply either edit or add some new data to a few tables and most of the iterations you need to accommodate can be achieved.
  • Full ownership by the client -> once you have been trained (which is another area Varicent as a whole excels at), you have full control over what happens inside your implementation. You have access to complete any task imaginable and will only be limited by your skill level and imagination.
  • The only item I can see making this product even more useful than it already is would be the addition of a data discovery layer for the admin users. Enabling us to interact with the data leveraging SQL or some other language would make it that much easier for us to access and analyze the data and eliminate the need for us to pull the data out of the system in order to massage as needed.
I would say Varicent is best suited in scenarios where systematic flexibility is required (which technically would be everywhere). The ease of use and table driven approach really make the product the gold standard in my opinion and I can't see a situation where I would recommend anything other than Varicent.
The usability, while extremely intuitive, does require a slightly higher programming understanding than its competitors. The need to understand join logic and the implications thereof is paramount in being able to bring the full system administration duties in house. This is the only reason I didn't give it a 10/10 rating.
The table driven architecture of Varicent truly enables quick and efficient scaling. We just went through being acquired by a larger company not that long ago and instead of folding our Sales Compensation function under the parent company's remit, they ended up folding their existing sales comp into ours. This was solely based on our ability to show Varicent's flexibility/scalability in getting their plans built and running on our platform.
Read Brandon Cole's full review
April 12, 2021
Andreea Beutel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Varicent Incentive Compensation Management is used across the company to calculate Sales Incentives, non-Sales Incentives and to administer the yearly merit/ salary review process.
  • It is very useful when you have complex data and incentive rules.
  • Has a high degree of flexibility in table and calculation building.
  • Has a robust audit trail.
  • The standard presenter reports need some work, especially on the visualization part.
  • Workflow functionality and navigation are still a bit cumbersome for users.
  • The application needs some ramp-up time for new administrators due to the high volume of tables and interdependencies.
If you have complex data and complex incentive plans Varicent Incentive Compensation Management will help you make sense of that and with time give you a robust tool to use.
The many tables and interdependencies offer [a] lot of flexibility but also make it hard for onboarding new administrators. Good training documentation and stable incentive plans would help with that, but we had [a] significant change in plans every year so not yet able to see that scenario play out.
I think it is flexible for many and different incentive plan designs.
Read Andreea Beutel's full review
March 26, 2021
Sharad Sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Varicent ICM is used in the organization to compute Sales Commissions for Sales Payees (Colt Employees) as well as Partner Sales.
It is being used accross departments - primarily Finance and HR.
Following business problems are addressed by Varicent ICM in my organization:-
  • One-stop solution related to all sales commission queries via inquiry module
  • ICM Simplicity and Robustness allows to implement complex business requirement as part of yearly commission plan strategy changes with ease
  • Helps define sales targets as part of yearly target planning excercise
  • Discovery Dashboard feature caters high level commission information to management to watch-out for deviations and behavioural trends in commission plan for its timely check and future improvement
  • Easy Calc build method to implement complex business logic like , ew component quota management, component credits, attainment, payout factor and finally payouts
  • Implementation of new component : ACV-GAM and IBR-GAM implemented in 2020 covers all detailed above
  • Ease of building and editing Presenter reports with vast features for report customization
  • like Commission Summary Statement for Payees and Partners
  • New features like Discovery Dashboard, Symon AI, Health Dashboard enhanced overall product scalability and usage
  • Regular customer interaction from Varicent Customer Success Manager wherein customer is updated on new product offerings, supports on bundled features usage like data purging, webinars and issue resolution if any in particular
  • Always prompt ticket response from Varicent Support towards ticket resolution
  • Ask Expert Time feature allows customer to interact with Varicent Representative directly on guidance required on implementation or understanding Varicent features
  • To add multiple clacs in one-shot for index rebuild operation in Scheduler
  • Currently, option allows adding one calc/table at a time
  • In health Dashboard, if clacs and tables should also reflect current index fragmentation level so that timely actions can be taken on model health
  • More visually appearing feature could be added in Presenter Report for designing like smooth headers row, or shade feature, different fore-colour for different at attributes or tuples level, grouping and un-grouping records on attribute values etc.
  • To incorporate facility to migrate maintenance plan (index regenerate/rebuild) created within Scheduler in one model to migrate to other models
Scenarios wherein well suited:-
Bundled features make implementing business requirement very simple and yet scalable
Quota and Territory Management
Scheduler Jobs, Saved Imports and Saved Publication

Scenarios where it is less appropriate:-
Nothing encountered till now
  • Simple yet robust to use
  • Excellent Varicent Support
  • Product has been scaled up to meet requirements like Analytics and Forecasting via Symon AI, Discovery Dashboard feature and may more new and interesting featured added like Health Dashboard, selective data purging etc.
  • Online training
Yes - NA
Read Sharad Sharma's full review
March 24, 2021
Feriel Benhamou | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Varicent Incentive Compensation Management is used by a department. It carries (calculates and records) the variable compensation for the entire sales network.
  • Varicent provides us with support on three levels: Development is set up of different dashboards for the network and the payroll service: on this point we rely on our consultant (Seybel) who provides us with support and expertise.
  • Active participation in various new features such as symon.
  • A support and active listening through Gwenaelle
  • Have support contacts who master the French language
Today the tool perfectly meets our needs
Because we have quality contacts:
Seybel has been with us since the start of the project and we are very satisfied with his expertise on ICM but also on the compensation plans.
Gwenaelle is very responsive and responds to all of our requests.
We can develop our reports on demand with the support of seybel.
We particularly focused on all the evolutions of varicent (ex present adaptive)
Read Feriel Benhamou's full review
March 22, 2021
Umayr Kayani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It has automated the compensation payments for our company, where we pay 1500 employees, and has eliminated manual errors in calculations.

It allows managers to review and approve bonuses with an audit trail. It allows payees to access their bonus at any time remotely.

It also provides automated analytical reports.
  • Analytical reports.
  • Compensation reports accessible on mobile devices.
  • Data Discovery reporting.
  • Personalizing reports.
It is well suited to automate compensation payments for thousands of employees, and automate complex schemes which can be difficult to calculate manually.

It also provides automated analytical reports which can be amended to cater for the metrics required.

It can be made easier to design analytical reports, and have process guides within the system.
The reports were not interchangeable initially, but this was soon amended.

The mobile access to the bonus reports have proven to be very useful to all payees and managers.

The admin client is also easy to navigate around and to extract the relevant tables from.

The web client payee v2 would further improve the usability.
We tend to have new schemes which have to be tested and integrated into Varicent. This is always a swift process.
Read Umayr Kayani's full review
March 19, 2021
Binoy Warrier | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The SPM system is used to payout financial performance related incentives to customer service colleagues and their leaders. It is used byt multiple departments. It addresses the processing of incentives.
  • Robust database capabilities
  • Ease of use
  • Very short learning curve for developers
  • Reporting is a weakness, due to lack of features
  • Performance dashboards are lackluster and severely limited for major use
  • Workflow is also quite restrictive and not easily adaptable to business needs
The tool is well suited for batch processing of incentive payouts and regular reporting. For analytical purposes and leadership summary reporting purposes, the tool is lacking in sophistication.
While the tool is good, it feels like it has aged poorly. Lacking reporting features commonly available in many tools. Lacking in ability for complex input forms.
The tool is good and quite fast when it comes to processing and retrieval of data.
Dont see a limit to the scalability.
Read Binoy Warrier's full review
March 13, 2021
Alberto Del Moral | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[Varicent Incentive Compensation Management] is being used for the entire organization, but only the sales teams is able to visualize their objectives, sales, achievements and incentive collection.
  • Customer service
  • Agility
  • Good work tools
  • Customer service in other languages, for example Spanish
[Varicent Incentive Compensation Management] is quite visual and easy to use for users.
For the administrators of the tool, we would like it to be a little easier to load information
In our case the use is quite interesting although [only a] few times a month since the information is loaded monthly
I do not put a 10 for the topic I mentioned above, loading the data is sometimes quite laborious, if it were a little easier it would undoubtedly be a 10
Read Alberto Del Moral's full review
March 04, 2021
Kim Tendler | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for our Dealer Commissioning and our Internal Sales Compensation. IT supports the application and it is being used by our Finance and Marketing teams. It replaced an existing application.
  • Tracks commissioning and sales compensation.
  • Informative dashboard.
  • Easy to redo commissioning runs.
  • Sales Inquiry lacks functionality to process adjustments.
  • At times we have to customize more then we would like to meet our requirements.
It has fit our Sales Compensation needs quite well.
Looks easy to add a new Dealer to system.
Dealer Commissioning has required a lot of customization.
Improvement over our previous application.

We completed the “Solution Enablement for
SaskTel” program and my team and I were very impressed on how well it went.
This gave my team a better understanding of the application. Customizing the presentations to fit SaskTel
was extremely helpful. Sai Nagendran did
an awesome job.

We found that processing the wireless run takes less time then the previous application.
Read Kim Tendler's full review
March 01, 2021
Jatin Bhatli | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Varicent ICM is being used by across the whole organization for Incentive Processing , Incentive plan management and Reporting related to Incentives for front line Customer Care Professional, their Team Leaders, coaches and other staff.

There are many more others users as well which manages other process related to Incentives like plan management. It is also being used by the top management leaders to get the Incentive numbers for further reporting and analytics.
  • Quick
  • Stores large number of data set
  • Creates logs of every activity
  • File upload is not possible from payeeweb
  • Scheduling the workflow is not possible at the moment
  • Emails within workflow is very limited in nature
  • Pop-up messages like confirmations message is not there on the payeeweb
  • Auto data/table Sync should be there between all models/environments
It is well suited for incentives calculation and payment for bigger organizations.
Varicent ICM is useful for incentive calculation efficiently.
It needs to have more scalability.
Awesome support service.
Read Jatin Bhatli's full review
March 20, 2021
Abdul Niyaz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Varicent Incentive Compensation Management is used to calculate the commissions of Internal Sales executives and Outside Partners, and extensively used in Sales Ops department.
  • User friendly Admin client
  • Easy accessible Payeeweb
  • Not very much complicated Calcs and reporting designs
  • Error log
  • Troubleshooting
  • Payee web Display mechanism , more user friendly
Varicent [Incentive Compensation Management] is well suited for Sales incentive calculations for the different component on different level and on different hierarchical system.
Designing is simple and not more complicated.
Its easy to build and execute!
Its easy to design and implement and execute, has almost all the features In order to help the sales executives.
Read Abdul Niyaz's full review
March 13, 2021
Ibrahim Ahmad | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Varicnet Incentive Compensation Management is being used to calculate bonuses for the sales generating consultants who are working in the sales offices. There are a number of schemes and complexities; ICM handles this perfectly.
  • Approval process all integrated.
  • Calculation time is very fast.
  • Number of users is limitless.
  • Presenter reports could be easier to write.
  • Approval process should have the amount approved in the approval history.
  • Importing adjustments via upload - should be direct to tables and not scheduler.
Works well with complex schemes and vast number of users.
The system is very easy to use.
We are looking at modelling different scenarios, but this is causing a lot of complexities.
Read Ibrahim Ahmad's full review
March 11, 2021
sandeep manglani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Wolseley uses Varicent to calculate sales commission for its front line sales force across different business lines.
  • Accurate Commission Calculations
  • Ease of administration
  • User friendly
  • Data Reporting and Analysis
  • Ease in making changes to the admin client
Well suited for sales compensation process and payout. Can expand into Sales Compensation Re-design as well.
Varicent is accurate in commission calculations and easy to understand by end users
Well suited to accommodate different sales compensation plans
Read sandeep manglani's full review
March 03, 2021
vidhi Gupta | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by a department. We are using this tool for calculating the payouts. We are having good experience with Varicient.
  • SQl imports- which is helpful in evaluating the problems
  • Workflows availability
  • the most important thing which I feel is varicent should [have] functionality for importing data from frontend. e.g. if user wants to upload the spreadsheet from frontend then they should be able to do
It is good in use for various forms. The key things which i feel should be improved is Data importing from frontend and the language translation functionality should be there
It is good in use
yes it is good
Read vidhi Gupta's full review
March 28, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use [Varicent Incentive Compensation Management] to compute commissions for US Sales team. We utilize for the processing of the commissions only as we have a in-house application that handles our CRM needs. Sales data is pulled into the system by territory and we use the fund tables and calculation engine to compute commissions amounts. The final product is sent via secure transmission to our HR payment system for payment to Sales team.
  • Custom calculation functionality
  • Audit tracking
  • Portal capabilities
  • Report creation is very difficult
  • Effective dating on territories
  • Calculation run times too long
[Varicent] Incentive Compensation Management is well suited to perform custom calculations for complex commission plans. Our plans were very complex and included many variables and monthly exceptions. (Ex. product, fund, FA, territory, date ) The implementation team was able to create calcs that handled every variable we requested. The portal was key to our success so our sales team could log in directly and see exactly how they were paid for each product and FA. AND they didn't have to worry about saving copies each month as they could always refer to the portal.
It was extremely difficult to create reports. We had to download data and create them in other applications. This was very limiting and required a great deal of time and effort. Drag and drop functionality is needed so we can self serve in the product.

I feel the system can do so much more than we use it for today. Unfortunately, we have an in-house proprietary system that overlaps with the full suite of Varicent and ICM.
Read this authenticated review
March 18, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[Varicent Incentive Compensation Management is] currently used within Business Market domain, where we support both Sales (internal) and Partners (external) compensations.
Our IT landscape is highly complex and has many moving pieces in order to reduce legacy systems and we want to reduce our IT spent and enable business to be able to manage systems themselves in order to be more efficient and effective.

From a business perspective we wanted to increase the adoption rate within Sales of the compensation plans by using functionalities in reporting and forecasting. By using Varicent we have been paying correct and on time for three years in a row.
  • Flexibility - Varicent is not template based. You can implement the model specifically for your organisation.
  • Scalability - Since it is not stick to templates you are able to expand the model for other domains as well.
  • Reporting - Several ways of reporting are possible and each has their own benefit/purpose.
  • Strong/Powerfull Calculation Engine delivering fast results/speed to insight
  • User Interface is minimized to what you need and is not showing off all the functions it can "also" do
  • Strong audittrail
  • Appears to be almost unlimited in what you are able to create
  • Workflow Management works fine, but it is not on same "level" with rest of product.
  • Inquiry Mangement works fine, but it is not on same "level" with rest of product.
Varicent [Incentive Compensation is perfectly suited when you are in need of a platform that is flexible to your specific compensation logic and when you are searching for a vendor that is investing in the functionalities of the application.

If you are looking to achieve any of below "goals", Varicent is the way to achieve them

  • Automation of manual Activities / Processes
  • Reduction of admins
  • Decrease of Calculation time
  • Increase of adoption rate
  • Expanded usage of software to other domains within organization
  • Increase visibility of Admin team
  • Strong Admin User Interface with high intuitive design
  • You don't need to be a programmer to understand Varicent - everything can be tracked/traced in the admin client
  • "in-screen" education videos to help admins navigate the model
  • Many ways to get things done
Since our initial implementation we expanded the model with a completely different domain.
Then, we created another Varicent environment for other purposes, but all linked to our initially implemented model.
We have been able to expand, without having to change our initital implementation, making the expansion not only succesfull, but also without risk to the compensations model.

New functionalites in reporting have been setup on top of the compensation model, without having to change the model itself.
(change on change will get risky/costly in the end, and with Varicent we minimize that risk to almost 0%).
  • Online training
  • in-person training
  • no training
You have a support page where you can create tickets, but you also have a CSM available.
They are all doing a great job in replying fast and making sure you know what they are doing when something is wrong/needed.
Yes - We have several upgrades during the year, since it is a Cloud application
Read this authenticated review
March 15, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Varicent Incentive Compensation Management is used to calculate commissions to different populations: internal network but also external companies that bring business. The idea is to use ICM as the single source of truth regarding how commissions are calculated. It also allows [managing] the entire lifecycle of the commissions, from the receiving of financial movements to the calculation, the payment in [the] accounting system, and the edition of statements.
  • Calculate commissions
  • Keep track of the history of the calculation for legal purpose
  • Restitution of the data for front end users
  • Flexibility of the tool that allows us to do pretty much everything we can
  • Frequent new release of the tool that brings enhancements, new features
  • Complete admin functionalities
  • Reports are still quite rigid
  • Reports are not very user friendly
  • Some features in the admin are not well optimized (browsing [through] components, searching for dependencies)
From financial movements integration to the restitution, it's easy to monitor and track the lifecycle of commissions and the calculations that took place. The tool allows to automatically notify some users in some defined scenarios to gain efficiency, control, and risk management. The tool is easy to set up and allows to decrease the time to market for new functionalities or implement new change requests.
Varicent Incentive Compensation Management interfaces are improved quite often. Ergonomy is improved as well. This results in a better understanding and usage of the tool by back-end users. The tool is also API enabled, which is great when thinking of the implementation of special technical needs. [Debugging] is easier and done faster. From the front end POV, the results are reachable easier and faster. Browsing through the different reports is more intuitive.
Varicent Incentive Compensation Management is a tool that allows [users] to implement the specific rules applying to the business, [without] any technical constraints from the tool. The reports would, however, need to be a little bit less rigid and add more controls regarding what has been entered by users.
Read this authenticated review
March 12, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Varicent Incentive Compensation Management is used to calculate, output, and present variable earnings for our sales force. This spans the sales and account management organization plus some additional teams. It addresses the need for a tool to deliver incentive compensation for employees on a commission/bonus scheme.
  • Entirely flexible capability that can address almost all business logic
  • Powerful calculation engine able to process a huge volume of data
  • Robust and secure cloud-based technology
  • New analytical and AI-based tools
  • Positive services and support experience
  • Integration to other systems such as HR, sales, and DW
  • Mobile capability
  • Out-of-the-box workflow-based capability
Suited to environments where commission schemes are complex and frequently changing with multiple variables, where the sales force is global, where SaaS model works better, where continuously-delivered updates and upgrades in a fast-moving business are the norm.

Conversely it could be recommended less in an environment where the schemes are fairly simple and static, where there is a small volume of users or data, where a local and perhaps non-hosted implementation is preferred.
For an end user, this very much depends on how the web client, reports, and workflow have been structured; with the new sales portal and report options, this is rapidly becoming easier and/or more productive to use.

For the admin client, there is a high learning curve and it demands considerable skill to build and maintain the model; having said that, designed wisely, it can be immensely flexible and powerful in delivering the exact requirements of the business.
It's in the nature of the core product to configure and scale to the needs of the organization--essentially to ingest data from multiple sources (internal and external) build the data transformation logic to whatever degree is required, then to publish the resulting data to the end user in the form of reports, web forms, files, etc.
Read this authenticated review
March 09, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the ICM platform company wide to address our incentive compensation bonus plans. It addresses our problems of calculating bonuses manually in Excel. Teammates log in on a monthly basis to review their bonus compensation summary and approve it before we send it over to payroll for processing. This helps ensure we do not overpay/underpay our teammates.
  • Provides visibility to our teammates that they did not have before.
  • Calculates bonuses at a company wide level instead of individually.
  • Keeps historical information for us.
  • The layout currently is too bulky/same color so it is difficult to see.
  • Building out reports.
  • Adding to the system without building knowledge.
This is a great platform for sales incentive compensation. However, Service King uses it for incentive compensation, not sales. It still allows us the flexibility that we need to complete our monthly bonus programs. It could be better fit for sales and maybe a bit more flexible for those who do not use it for a sales platform.
This is a hard question. Even with the training provided at an additional cost, it is still difficult to build out new plans in the platform without known background knowledge. If you know what you're doing its fine - but those of us who don't have to rely on Varicent to assist us to build out changes which comes at an additional cost.
As mentioned before, it is user friendly for those who have a background in building within the model. If there is no knowledge, it makes it harder to build out new plans or models within the platform.
Read this authenticated review
April 06, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have just recently implemented it across our Sales organization. We had been tracing variable incentives with multiple Excel workbooks and it was a very manual process. We envision this to automate much of that process.
  • Excellent business consultants.
  • Allows great customization.
  • As I am new to compensation, it took me a while to understand some of the logic.
  • Would like to be able to total values within the view of records vs having to export to Excel.
  • Increased functionality for Inquiries in reports.
We have just launched and are awaiting further feedback from users and will have to see how successful future payouts are calculated or if we will have many questions and tweaks.
The drag and drop functionality while creating is easy. We needed to start with a better understanding of all our policies. We used the self-guided approach and took us quite a while to get created.
Great. Since this is year one, I will be looking forward to seeing how easy plan and operational changes can be set up.
Read this authenticated review
April 01, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The software Varicent is providing us takes care of all forms of remuneration, for our outside of France operations. Whether it is for regular paycheck or deferred payment or other incentive, the software is a powerful tool that interacts well with all of our internal services such as HR databases and references.
  • fairly customizable
  • good integration with other internal services
  • knowledgeable varicent team
  • Still running with old tech
  • The customization capabilities often means complexity
Our use of the software is very specific thus making it difficult to compare well other regular uses. We have a high degree of customization which is often the source of complexity. Varicent is of course helping us manage the tool but heavy internal knowledge is required for us to perform our day to day actions.
The tool's performance are great and the UI however simple is working just fine.
We are using Varicent's software to manage thousands of employee and i beleive we could scale it for more if needed.
Read this authenticated review
April 01, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Varicent ICM is used in the compensation process (Anual Compensation Review ) and to manage Differred compensation. The scope is worldwide.
  • Ability to implement complex functional rules
  • Great autonomy to design our own solution
  • Good performances with large volume of data
  • Real time calculation
  • User interface (in our implementation) could look better
ICM is particularly well suited when computing variable compensation based on sales performance (or any kind of commission) every month/quarter.
On the other hand it is not the perfect tool to build an application with complex user interface where user input data and expect to see the result instantly. Often there is a need for calculation hence delaying the result. (Unlike a trigger in a standard db).
Usablity is good both on Admin console or Web
We have experienced a large deployment of the solution and the perfomance were still good.
Read this authenticated review
March 24, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Varicent Incentive Compensation Management is used to centralize all compensation for all distribution channels of our organization. We are still at the middle of the way.
  • The tool is flexible.
  • During the last year, many features have been implemented.
  • The customer can propose features to implement.
  • The customer relation is great.
  • Deployment (we are still far from devops philosophy).
  • Many new features on Reports during the last year, but it still needs some improvement.
  • Lack of metric.
  • Difficult to analyze problems (no query tool in multi tenant server).
ICM is suited for enterprise where all acts are centralized in only one system. This way we could plug ICM on it and avoid QOD problems. ICM would have some difficulties managing QOD problems if there are different data sources.
ICM is accessible. For calculation implementation, SQL/DB knowledge would be of great help. This way you will reduce performance problems.

On the other hand, business people without this kind of knowledge may only be able to define parameter tables for compensation plans, and maybe implement simple calculations (but IT help will be needed I think to secure the global model).
In multi-tenant, an environment could suffer performance problem due to neighbors. Happily, it won't happen too often. However, the tool is permissive, so we need to be vigilant on calculation implementation. This way we could avoid many performance problems.
Read this authenticated review
March 23, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Varicent Incentive Compensation Management to calculate the variable amount of retail employees and offer them a portal for reporting their results. The tool also allows managers to have an overview of their employees and different areas to enter financial compensation.
  • Easy of use
  • Ergonomics
  • Multitude of business use cases possible to implement
  • The possiblity of triggering tasks in the scheduler from a table
  • Delete locked tables or calculations

Well suited: We have a business case that allows a manager to evaluate their collaborators--this business case is frequently used and performs well.

Less appropriate: We would like to have the possibility to schedule the activations of tasks from a table. For example, if my today's date is between column A and B, I want to activate this task from our scheduler.

The handling of the tool in general is simple and easy to use. It also makes it possible to respond to a large number of business use cases.
On the other hand, we sometimes encounter issues depending on the browsers we use and their configuration (languages). These issues concern the tool console and the web part.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Sales compensation plan creation (27)
7.2
Complex sales crediting (28)
7.5
Sales compensation process automation (28)
7.5
Incentive auditing/regulation compliance (25)
7.7
Sales compensation dashboards & forecasting (27)
6.5
Incentive modeling (25)
6.8
Agile incentive strategy (22)
7.0
ICM mobile visibility (16)
5.9

What is Varicent Incentive Compensation Management?

Varicent is a Sales Performance Management (SPM) solution that aims to enable organizations worldwide to Plan, Operate, and Pay effectively to streamline sales and drive growth.

The Varicent Incentive Compensation Management (ICM) solution automates the entire compensation process including data collection, compensation calculation, and commission statement distribution to reduce costs and improve sales performance. The vendor states users get the flexibility, scalability, and usability needed to manage complex compensation, and ensure sellers are paid accurately—and on time.

Plus, with the addition of its augmented intelligence solution, Symon.AI, users can spot trends, find meaningful patterns, and identify outliers in seller performance, seller churn, and customer attrition, in order to make Plan, Operate, and Pay smarter than before.

Varicent Incentive Compensation Management Features

Has featureIncentive plan management
Has featureSales events and eligibility management
Has featureModeling
Has featureAssignments
Has featureData integration
Has featureDashboards and reporting
Has featurePost pay management
Has featureWorkflows
Has featureAnalytics
Has featurePay data integration

Varicent Incentive Compensation Management Screenshots

Varicent Incentive Compensation Management Integrations

Salesforce.com, CRM, ERP, HCM, Point-of-sale

Varicent Incentive Compensation Management Competitors

Varicent Incentive Compensation Management Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Varicent Incentive Compensation Management Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: Chinese-simplified, Chinese-traditional, Dutch, English, French, German, Japanese, Italian, Korean, Portuguese (Brazil), Spanish, Swedish, Turkish, Polish

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Varicent Incentive Compensation Management?

Varicent (formerly IBM Cognos Incentive Compensation Management, or IBM Sales Performance Management) is presented by the newly reformed vendor as a Sales Performance Management (SPM) Solution that will accurately track, manage and report on sales-related data and processes to reduce administrative costs and provide insight into key performance metrics. The solution encompasses Incentive Compensation Management, Territory Management, Quota Planning and Channel Management. Varicent was acquired by IBM in 2012, and then relaunched as an independent product and company (under its former name) September 2019.

What are Varicent Incentive Compensation Management's top competitors?

Xactly Incent, Anaplan, and CaptivateIQ are common alternatives for Varicent Incentive Compensation Management.

What is Varicent Incentive Compensation Management's best feature?

Reviewers rate Incentive auditing/regulation compliance highest, with a score of 7.7.

Who uses Varicent Incentive Compensation Management?

The most common users of Varicent Incentive Compensation Management are Enterprises from the Financial Services industry.