Varicent Incentive Compensation Management

Varicent Incentive Compensation Management

Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.4 out of 100
Top Rated
Varicent Incentive Compensation Management

Overview

Recent Reviews

Great product without limits

8 out of 10
October 29, 2021
Varicent Incentive Compensation Management is used to calculate commissions to different populations: internal network but also external …
Continue reading

Varicent Review

8 out of 10
April 13, 2021
Varicent Incentive Compensation Management is used across the company to calculate Sales Incentives, non-Sales Incentives and to …
Continue reading

Great team

8 out of 10
March 30, 2021
The application is being used by a section of the organization and it is related to the commissions
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2022
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2021

Popular Features

View all 8 features

Complex sales crediting (29)

7.8
78%

Sales compensation process automation (29)

7.8
78%

Sales compensation plan creation (28)

7.7
77%

Sales compensation dashboards & forecasting (27)

6.8
68%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Varicent Incentive Compensation Management, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Varicent Incentive Compensation Management?

Varicent (formerly IBM Cognos Incentive Compensation Management, or IBM Sales Performance Management) is presented by the newly reformed vendor as a Sales Performance Management (SPM) Solution that will accurately track, manage and report on sales-related data and processes to reduce administrative…

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

6 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Salesforce Maps (formerly MapAnything)?

Salesforce Maps (formerly MapAnything) helps users map their CRM data. Users can: View customer, prospect, employee, partner, & competitor locationsBuild routes, call lists, campaigns, & event invite lists directly from the mapMap wins & losses and visualize team activities & performanceMaps is…

Features Scorecard

Sales ICM

7.4
74%

Product Details

What is Varicent Incentive Compensation Management?

Varicent is a SaaS company that helps businesses fuel growth. Its suite of solutions support a company’s revenue journey, from results-driven planning and predictability to growth. With Varicent, companies worldwide can set smarter goals and territories to maximize revenue potential. Varicent enables teams with AI-driven insights to make better decisions and outdo previous performance, and to create incentive strategies that motivate the right behaviors to achieve revenue goals. To learn more about Varicent, visit www.Varicent.com.

Varicent, Varicent and design, and Symon are trademarks or registered trademarks of Varicent in the USA, Canada, and other countries.

Varicent Incentive Compensation Management Features

Sales ICM Features

  • Supported: Sales compensation plan creation
  • Supported: Complex sales crediting
  • Supported: Sales compensation process automation
  • Supported: Incentive auditing/regulation compliance
  • Supported: Sales compensation dashboards & forecasting
  • Supported: Incentive modeling
  • Supported: Agile incentive strategy
  • Supported: ICM mobile visibility

Additional Features

  • Supported: Incentive plan management
  • Supported: Sales events and eligibility management
  • Supported: Modeling
  • Supported: Assignments
  • Supported: Data integration
  • Supported: Dashboards and reporting
  • Supported: Post pay management
  • Supported: Workflows
  • Supported: Analytics
  • Supported: Pay data integration

Varicent Incentive Compensation Management Screenshots

Varicent provides clarity and transparency to sellers. Find answers faster and have confidence in compensation plans. Help your sellers spend more time selling.Easy to use and understand sellers adopt tools that help them align your strategic initiatives. Help them understand which deals will help them win!Leverage Varicent ICM to model compensation plans and understand the financial impact of changes. With the ability to more accurately forecast commission payouts with “what-if” assumptions, you can budget more effectively for sales compensation costs, manage target total compensation for sales representatives and assess plan effectiveness.Simple and easy to share the right information to the right people to drive the right results.

Varicent Incentive Compensation Management Integrations

Varicent Incentive Compensation Management Competitors

Varicent Incentive Compensation Management Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, SaaS
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux, Mac
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Mobile Web
Supported CountriesGlobal
Supported LanguagesChinese-simplified, Chinese-traditional, Dutch, English, French, German, Japanese, Italian, Korean, Portuguese (Brazil), Spanish, Swedish, Turkish, Polish

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Varicent Incentive Compensation Management?

Varicent (formerly IBM Cognos Incentive Compensation Management, or IBM Sales Performance Management) is presented by the newly reformed vendor as a Sales Performance Management (SPM) Solution that will accurately track, manage and report on sales-related data and processes to reduce administrative costs and provide insight into key performance metrics. The solution encompasses Incentive Compensation Management, Territory Management, Quota Planning and Channel Management. Varicent was acquired by IBM in 2012, and then relaunched as an independent product and company (under its former name) September 2019.

What are Varicent Incentive Compensation Management's top competitors?

Xactly Incent, Anaplan, and CaptivateIQ are common alternatives for Varicent Incentive Compensation Management.

What is Varicent Incentive Compensation Management's best feature?

Reviewers rate Incentive auditing/regulation compliance highest, with a score of 8.1.

Who uses Varicent Incentive Compensation Management?

The most common users of Varicent Incentive Compensation Management are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Financial Services industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 42)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
November 02, 2021

Data Transparency

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[Varicent Incentive Compensation Management] is being used for the entire organization, but only the sales teams is able to visualize their objectives, sales, achievements and incentive collection.
  • Customer service
  • Agility
  • Good work tools
  • Customer service in other languages, for example Spanish
[Varicent Incentive Compensation Management] is quite visual and easy to use for users. For the administrators of the tool, we would like it to be a little easier to load information
In our case the use is quite interesting although [only a] few times a month since the information is loaded monthly
I do not put a 10 for the topic I mentioned above, loading the data is sometimes quite laborious, if it were a little easier it would undoubtedly be a 10
whenever I have needed their help, they have always been present to help me and clarify my doubts
Kumar Manas | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Varicent Incentive Compensation Management is used by the commissions team in my organization. We calculate incentives of the sales rep through this tool. It is quick, easy to maintain, calculates plan/incentive correctly, change in plans for coming years can be implemented easily. Kind of robust tool. Charts/graphs have made the dashboard more user-friendly and easy to understand.
  • Automation of processes are smooth.
  • Linking with external tools is easy.
  • Making of calculations, presenter reports requires very less training.
  • As [the] model gets more and more transactional data, the calculation time increases. This should/can be handled internally with better model optimization.
  • Migrating from one env to other sometimes is challenging. There can be better 'Alerts' or 'Explanation' provided to handle it or at least to give a hint of the error.
  • For managers viewing their rep's report, the access part can be made easier. It should be linked to Payee hierarchy and access can be done automatically.
Varicent is well suited across all the domains (Finance, Insurance, Hi-Tech etc.) for sales incentive calculation. It can tackle the difficult scenarios/conditions provided by the client. This tool may not or should not be used in incentive forecasting. It's not a planning tool. Small scenario modeling can be done here but not on a large scale.
Once Varicent ICM is implemented by the professionals on the client-side, it's easy for the client's admin to handle queries, do daily activities, run reports, scheduler, etc. Maintenance is easy and can be done with minimum training to the admin. Business users also find this tool easy to use and maintain.
Varicent provides lots of scalability. Payees can be accommodated if raised exponentially too. Change in plans can be handled 'n' number of times in a year. Configuration changes handle many of the parameters and hence are easy to maintain, easy to handle by the admins and changing plans in this dynamic industry is easier to get accomplished.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ICM currently implemented for UK sales force and sales support. The product replaced an internally developed 'black box' solution that was slow and restricting commission plan development due to its inflexibility. ICM overcomes these factors and allows accurate allocation of orders across the organisation structure, feeding sales data into the CRM, and providing real time dashboards with appropriate drill to detail for Sales to track, check and interrogate their performance. Other reporting outbounds provide FP&A team with information relevant to their analysis needs.
  • Flexibility
  • Data Volumes
  • Varicent Support
  • Product Development
  • Running a block of calculations - instead of only individual or whole model
  • Independent identification of fragmentation, etc. issues with calcs/tables
Build flexibility allows complex plans to be accommodated. Order line level reporting requirements of the business are met. Fast runtimes ensure data is made available for ICM Dashboards/CRM at start of day. Varicent Support provides confidence that issues can be quickly resolved
If you have the necessary skills then developing plans and resolving issues, etc. within ICM can be performed independently in most cases
Since implementation the number of user has not significantly changed so scalability has not been demonstrated to us yet
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Varicent Incentive Compensation Management is used to calculate commissions to different populations: internal network but also external companies that bring business. The idea is to use ICM as the single source of truth regarding how commissions are calculated. It also allows [managing] the entire lifecycle of the commissions, from the receiving of financial movements to the calculation, the payment in [the] accounting system, and the edition of statements.
  • Calculate commissions
  • Keep track of the history of the calculation for legal purpose
  • Restitution of the data for front end users
  • Flexibility of the tool that allows us to do pretty much everything we can
  • Frequent new release of the tool that brings enhancements, new features
  • Complete admin functionalities
  • Reports are still quite rigid
  • Reports are not very user friendly
  • Some features in the admin are not well optimized (browsing [through] components, searching for dependencies)
From financial movements integration to the restitution, it's easy to monitor and track the lifecycle of commissions and the calculations that took place. The tool allows to automatically notify some users in some defined scenarios to gain efficiency, control, and risk management. The tool is easy to set up and allows to decrease the time to market for new functionalities or implement new change requests.
Varicent Incentive Compensation Management interfaces are improved quite often. Ergonomy is improved as well. This results in a better understanding and usage of the tool by back-end users. The tool is also API enabled, which is great when thinking of the implementation of special technical needs. [Debugging] is easier and done faster. From the front end POV, the results are reachable easier and faster. Browsing through the different reports is more intuitive.
Varicent Incentive Compensation Management is a tool that allows [users] to implement the specific rules applying to the business, [without] any technical constraints from the tool. The reports would, however, need to be a little bit less rigid and add more controls regarding what has been entered by users.
Provide quick feedback, with most the time a great level of expertise and advises.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[Varicent Incentive Compensation Management is] currently used within Business Market domain, where we support both Sales (internal) and Partners (external) compensations. Our IT landscape is highly complex and has many moving pieces in order to reduce legacy systems and we want to reduce our IT spent and enable business to be able to manage systems themselves in order to be more efficient and effective. From a business perspective we wanted to increase the adoption rate within Sales of the compensation plans by using functionalities in reporting and forecasting. By using Varicent we have been paying correct and on time for three years in a row.
  • Flexibility - Varicent is not template based. You can implement the model specifically for your organisation.
  • Scalability - Since it is not stick to templates you are able to expand the model for other domains as well.
  • Reporting - Several ways of reporting are possible and each has their own benefit/purpose.
  • Strong/Powerfull Calculation Engine delivering fast results/speed to insight
  • User Interface is minimized to what you need and is not showing off all the functions it can "also" do
  • Strong audittrail
  • Appears to be almost unlimited in what you are able to create
  • Workflow Management works fine, but it is not on same "level" with rest of product.
  • Inquiry Mangement works fine, but it is not on same "level" with rest of product.
Varicent Incentive Compensation is perfectly suited for both smaller and large companies, specificaly when you are in need of a platform that is flexible to your specific compensation logic and scalable as well. Also, Varicent is highly invested in the roadmap of the software. If you are looking to achieve automation of processes, reducing manual activities, decreasing calcing times etc., then Varicent is the way to go.
Strong Admin User Interface with high intuitive design You don't need to be a programmer to understand Varicent - everything can be tracked/traced in the admin client "in-screen" education videos to help admins navigate the model Many ways to get things done
Since our initial implementation we expanded the model with a completely different domain. Then, we created another Varicent environment for other purposes, but all linked to our initially implemented model. We have been able to expand, without having to change our initital implementation, making the expansion not only succesfull, but also without risk to the compensations model. New functionalites in reporting have been setup on top of the compensation model, without having to change the model itself. (change on change will get risky/costly in the end, and with Varicent we minimize that risk to almost 0%).
  • Online training
  • in-person training
  • no training
You have a support page where you can create tickets, but you also have a CSM available.
They are all doing a great job in replying fast and making sure you know what they are doing when something is wrong/needed.
Yes
We have several upgrades during the year, since it is a Cloud application
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We pay our advisors using this tool. It helps us run a successful compensation payroll cycle.
  • Locking data of previous comp runs
  • Scheduler jobs
  • Auditing
  • Workflow processing
  • Good user interface
  • Hard to build complex queries with locked functions.
  • Hard to integrate with other solutions because of lack of API interface.
  • Hard to design data base model since its not a relational database.
If a company has a lot of changes in its sales structure every year then I would not recommend this product but if the sales structure is pretty much the same with each year then this is a viable and easy-to-code solution.
Users find it easy to use and understand.
I particularly find it hard to scale because tables that have locked data cannot be modified which provides less scalability and reusability.
  • no training
quick response time
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Varicent is being used mostly by sales but also across the organization for comprehensive compensation management. In terms of business problems that Varicent addresses, it helps to increase overall sales yield, increases payment accuracy, and reduces the overall time that it takes to resolve inquiries that the sales team has through their chat bot.
  • User friendly interface.
  • Fast and reliable website.
  • Great customer service.
  • More integrations.
  • More modern UI.
It's well suited for any organization looking for a well rounded product for compensation management. The customer support is in my opinion the strongest aspect and selling point of this product. The company is very responsive, and the demo that was given prior to fully getting on board with the product has proved to be very helpful.
It's overall easy to use and the user experience is good. I know how to get to where I need to go, I rarely make any errors, and the interface is overall clean and understandable if you put the effort in to understand it. The data visualization is also nice.
Varicent could include more integrations with more niche products and CRMs. Varicent's "AI-powered chatbot" seems a bit more like an attempt to include a flashy buzzword, "AI", into the context of their product as the accuracy and value that the chatbot adds isn't completely ideal, but hopefully, it gets improved in the future.
Varicent's overall support while using ICM has been fantastic. Our contact at Varicent has been very responsive to emails, very rarely failing to reply to any questions or inquiries within 24 hours. Moreover, their replies are consistently thorough while being concise, and clear enough that any directions are easy to follow and apply.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Varicent is being used to calculate and pay variable compensation within the consumer business line.
  • Customer service cares about the customer's needs.
  • The ability to design flexible plans and calculations that allow plan changes through user-provided configuration data.
  • The ability to consistently communicate with user base about current and future development.
  • The fast pace of development does not always allow for an appropriate amount of regression testing.
A good product supported by stellar customer service makes this company a winner in my book. You never have to wait long for a touchpoint when your account manager will connect you with experts to help drive your development forward.
Flexibility is important but it comes with a learning curve. I would give the product a 9 on functionality and a 7 on learning curve.
There are no limits to what can be built.
April 13, 2021

Varicent Review

Andreea Beutel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Varicent Incentive Compensation Management is used across the company to calculate Sales Incentives, non-Sales Incentives and to administer the yearly merit/ salary review process.
  • It is very useful when you have complex data and incentive rules.
  • Has a high degree of flexibility in table and calculation building.
  • Has a robust audit trail.
  • The standard presenter reports need some work, especially on the visualization part.
  • Workflow functionality and navigation are still a bit cumbersome for users.
  • The application needs some ramp-up time for new administrators due to the high volume of tables and interdependencies.
If you have complex data and complex incentive plans Varicent Incentive Compensation Management will help you make sense of that and with time give you a robust tool to use.
The many tables and interdependencies offer [a] lot of flexibility but also make it hard for onboarding new administrators. Good training documentation and stable incentive plans would help with that, but we had [a] significant change in plans every year so not yet able to see that scenario play out.
I think it is flexible for many and different incentive plan designs.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have just recently implemented it across our Sales organization. We had been tracing variable incentives with multiple Excel workbooks and it was a very manual process. We envision this to automate much of that process.
  • Excellent business consultants.
  • Allows great customization.
  • As I am new to compensation, it took me a while to understand some of the logic.
  • Would like to be able to total values within the view of records vs having to export to Excel.
  • Increased functionality for Inquiries in reports.
We have just launched and are awaiting further feedback from users and will have to see how successful future payouts are calculated or if we will have many questions and tweaks.
The drag and drop functionality while creating is easy. We needed to start with a better understanding of all our policies. We used the self-guided approach and took us quite a while to get created.
Great. Since this is year one, I will be looking forward to seeing how easy plan and operational changes can be set up.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The software Varicent is providing us takes care of all forms of remuneration, for our outside of France operations. Whether it is for regular paycheck or deferred payment or other incentive, the software is a powerful tool that interacts well with all of our internal services such as HR databases and references.
  • fairly customizable
  • good integration with other internal services
  • knowledgeable varicent team
  • Still running with old tech
  • The customization capabilities often means complexity
Our use of the software is very specific thus making it difficult to compare well other regular uses. We have a high degree of customization which is often the source of complexity. Varicent is of course helping us manage the tool but heavy internal knowledge is required for us to perform our day to day actions.
The tool's performance are great and the UI however simple is working just fine.
We are using Varicent's software to manage thousands of employee and i beleive we could scale it for more if needed.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Varicent ICM is used in the compensation process (Anual Compensation Review ) and to manage Differred compensation. The scope is worldwide.
  • Ability to implement complex functional rules
  • Great autonomy to design our own solution
  • Good performances with large volume of data
  • Real time calculation
  • User interface (in our implementation) could look better
ICM is particularly well suited when computing variable compensation based on sales performance (or any kind of commission) every month/quarter.
On the other hand it is not the perfect tool to build an application with complex user interface where user input data and expect to see the result instantly. Often there is a need for calculation hence delaying the result. (Unlike a trigger in a standard db).
Usablity is good both on Admin console or Web
We have experienced a large deployment of the solution and the perfomance were still good.
March 30, 2021

Great team

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The application is being used by a section of the organization and it is related to the commissions
  • Good 24-hour support
  • Experts on the logic of complex calculations
  • The tool itself is very stable
  • Modification of a complex calculation after being in PROD that does not cause regression issues (documentation for future changes)
  • Experts that build the model that is assigned to other projects (losing knowledge)
  • Varicent's monthly window of change impacting a client's application because it is not in their windows to change

Best suited for organizations that have all the raw data coming in from one source

Less suited for organization that would have multiple feeds that Varicent Incentive Compensation Management would need to get before going in the logic

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use [Varicent Incentive Compensation Management] to compute commissions for US Sales team. We utilize for the processing of the commissions only as we have a in-house application that handles our CRM needs. Sales data is pulled into the system by territory and we use the fund tables and calculation engine to compute commissions amounts. The final product is sent via secure transmission to our HR payment system for payment to Sales team.
  • Custom calculation functionality
  • Audit tracking
  • Portal capabilities
  • Report creation is very difficult
  • Effective dating on territories
  • Calculation run times too long
[Varicent] Incentive Compensation Management is well suited to perform custom calculations for complex commission plans. Our plans were very complex and included many variables and monthly exceptions. (Ex. product, fund, FA, territory, date ) The implementation team was able to create calcs that handled every variable we requested. The portal was key to our success so our sales team could log in directly and see exactly how they were paid for each product and FA. AND they didn't have to worry about saving copies each month as they could always refer to the portal.
It was extremely difficult to create reports. We had to download data and create them in other applications. This was very limiting and required a great deal of time and effort. Drag and drop functionality is needed so we can self serve in the product.

I feel the system can do so much more than we use it for today. Unfortunately, we have an in-house proprietary system that overlaps with the full suite of Varicent and ICM.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Varicent ICM is used in the organization to compute Sales Commissions for Sales Payees (Colt Employees) as well as Partner Sales.
It is being used accross departments - primarily Finance and HR.
Following business problems are addressed by Varicent ICM in my organization:-
  • One-stop solution related to all sales commission queries via inquiry module
  • ICM Simplicity and Robustness allows to implement complex business requirement as part of yearly commission plan strategy changes with ease
  • Helps define sales targets as part of yearly target planning excercise
  • Discovery Dashboard feature caters high level commission information to management to watch-out for deviations and behavioural trends in commission plan for its timely check and future improvement
  • Easy Calc build method to implement complex business logic like , ew component quota management, component credits, attainment, payout factor and finally payouts
  • Implementation of new component : ACV-GAM and IBR-GAM implemented in 2020 covers all detailed above
  • Ease of building and editing Presenter reports with vast features for report customization
  • like Commission Summary Statement for Payees and Partners
  • New features like Discovery Dashboard, Symon AI, Health Dashboard enhanced overall product scalability and usage
  • Regular customer interaction from Varicent Customer Success Manager wherein customer is updated on new product offerings, supports on bundled features usage like data purging, webinars and issue resolution if any in particular
  • Always prompt ticket response from Varicent Support towards ticket resolution
  • Ask Expert Time feature allows customer to interact with Varicent Representative directly on guidance required on implementation or understanding Varicent features
  • To add multiple clacs in one-shot for index rebuild operation in Scheduler
  • Currently, option allows adding one calc/table at a time
  • In health Dashboard, if clacs and tables should also reflect current index fragmentation level so that timely actions can be taken on model health
  • More visually appearing feature could be added in Presenter Report for designing like smooth headers row, or shade feature, different fore-colour for different at attributes or tuples level, grouping and un-grouping records on attribute values etc.
  • To incorporate facility to migrate maintenance plan (index regenerate/rebuild) created within Scheduler in one model to migrate to other models
Scenarios wherein well suited:-
Bundled features make implementing business requirement very simple and yet scalable
Quota and Territory Management
Scheduler Jobs, Saved Imports and Saved Publication

Scenarios where it is less appropriate:-
Nothing encountered till now
  • Simple yet robust to use
  • Excellent Varicent Support
  • Product has been scaled up to meet requirements like Analytics and Forecasting via Symon AI, Discovery Dashboard feature and may more new and interesting featured added like Health Dashboard, selective data purging etc.
  • Online training
NA
Yes
NA
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Varicent is used for sales and Agency partner commissioning across all the company.
  • Very flexible tool
  • Reliable cloud-based tool (nearly no downtime in 10 years)
  • Great support team
  • Training staff to develop compensation plan is a bit tricky
  • Reporting capability can be improved
  • Processing quite slow when you process massive amount of data points
Very flexible for commission computation and commission statement presentation to sales teams.
End user [usability is] excellent even if reporting can be improved.
Compensation admin [usability is] good.
Compensation dev [usability is] good but you need well-trained staff.
Can accommodate easily addition of new sales staffs on commission plan.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Varicent Incentive Compensation Management is used to centralize all compensation for all distribution channels of our organization. We are still at the middle of the way.
  • The tool is flexible.
  • During the last year, many features have been implemented.
  • The customer can propose features to implement.
  • The customer relation is great.
  • Deployment (we are still far from devops philosophy).
  • Many new features on Reports during the last year, but it still needs some improvement.
  • Lack of metric.
  • Difficult to analyze problems (no query tool in multi tenant server).
ICM is suited for enterprise where all acts are centralized in only one system. This way we could plug ICM on it and avoid QOD problems. ICM would have some difficulties managing QOD problems if there are different data sources.
ICM is accessible. For calculation implementation, SQL/DB knowledge would be of great help. This way you will reduce performance problems.

On the other hand, business people without this kind of knowledge may only be able to define parameter tables for compensation plans, and maybe implement simple calculations (but IT help will be needed I think to secure the global model).
In multi-tenant, an environment could suffer performance problem due to neighbors. Happily, it won't happen too often. However, the tool is permissive, so we need to be vigilant on calculation implementation. This way we could avoid many performance problems.
March 24, 2021

Satisfaction!!!!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Varicent Incentive Compensation Management is used by a department. It carries (calculates and records) the variable compensation for the entire sales network.
  • Varicent provides us with support on three levels: Development is set up of different dashboards for the network and the payroll service: on this point we rely on our consultant (Seybel) who provides us with support and expertise.
  • Active participation in various new features such as symon.
  • A support and active listening through Gwenaelle
  • Have support contacts who master the French language
Today the tool perfectly meets our needs
Because we have quality contacts:
Seybel has been with us since the start of the project and we are very satisfied with his expertise on ICM but also on the compensation plans.
Gwenaelle is very responsive and responds to all of our requests.
We can develop our reports on demand with the support of seybel.
We particularly focused on all the evolutions of varicent (ex present adaptive)
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Varicent Incentive Compensation Management to calculate the variable amount of retail employees and offer them a portal for reporting their results. The tool also allows managers to have an overview of their employees and different areas to enter financial compensation.
  • Easy of use
  • Ergonomics
  • Multitude of business use cases possible to implement
  • The possiblity of triggering tasks in the scheduler from a table
  • Delete locked tables or calculations

Well suited: We have a business case that allows a manager to evaluate their collaborators--this business case is frequently used and performs well.

Less appropriate: We would like to have the possibility to schedule the activations of tasks from a table. For example, if my today's date is between column A and B, I want to activate this task from our scheduler.

The handling of the tool in general is simple and easy to use. It also makes it possible to respond to a large number of business use cases. On the other hand, we sometimes encounter issues depending on the browsers we use and their configuration (languages). These issues concern the tool console and the web part.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It has automated the compensation payments for our company, where we pay 1500 employees, and has eliminated manual errors in calculations.

It allows managers to review and approve bonuses with an audit trail. It allows payees to access their bonus at any time remotely.

It also provides automated analytical reports.
  • Analytical reports.
  • Compensation reports accessible on mobile devices.
  • Data Discovery reporting.
  • Personalizing reports.
It is well suited to automate compensation payments for thousands of employees, and automate complex schemes which can be difficult to calculate manually.

It also provides automated analytical reports which can be amended to cater for the metrics required.

It can be made easier to design analytical reports, and have process guides within the system.
The reports were not interchangeable initially, but this was soon amended.

The mobile access to the bonus reports have proven to be very useful to all payees and managers.

The admin client is also easy to navigate around and to extract the relevant tables from.

The web client payee v2 would further improve the usability.
We tend to have new schemes which have to be tested and integrated into Varicent. This is always a swift process.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Varicent is the enterprise tool for processing variable incentive for Amex Sale / Tele-Support colleagues. Currently it is being used by ~10K users across Amex and we have a goal to expand it further. It is being used by multiple BUs across the organization.
  • Flexible Design - a lot of freedom to the developer
  • In-Built Reporting tool - Presenter Reports
  • Easy to manage Data Structure
  • Decent reporting capabilities
  • Workflow Management
  • Query Management
  • Flexibility in Report Development
  • What - if analysis
1. Very well suited for organizations where compensation plans are complicated and need to go through frequent changes.
2. Might be a challenge where a huge data set needs to get processed. In that case, user has to go for add-on services like PPO offering.
Varicent is doing extremely well with a couple of sharp edges to work through.
The product is scalable, but there could be some performance issues.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Varicent Incentive Compensation Management is used to calculate the commissions of Internal Sales executives and Outside Partners, and extensively used in Sales Ops department.
  • User friendly Admin client
  • Easy accessible Payeeweb
  • Not very much complicated Calcs and reporting designs
  • Error log
  • Troubleshooting
  • Payee web Display mechanism , more user friendly
Varicent [Incentive Compensation Management] is well suited for Sales incentive calculations for the different component on different level and on different hierarchical system.
Designing is simple and not more complicated.
Its easy to build and execute!
Its easy to design and implement and execute, has almost all the features In order to help the sales executives.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The SPM system is used to payout financial performance related incentives to customer service colleagues and their leaders. It is used byt multiple departments. It addresses the processing of incentives.
  • Robust database capabilities
  • Ease of use
  • Very short learning curve for developers
  • Reporting is a weakness, due to lack of features
  • Performance dashboards are lackluster and severely limited for major use
  • Workflow is also quite restrictive and not easily adaptable to business needs
The tool is well suited for batch processing of incentive payouts and regular reporting. For analytical purposes and leadership summary reporting purposes, the tool is lacking in sophistication.
While the tool is good, it feels like it has aged poorly. Lacking reporting features commonly available in many tools. Lacking in ability for complex input forms.
The tool is good and quite fast when it comes to processing and retrieval of data.
Dont see a limit to the scalability.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently we are using Varicent for managing the sales and partner compensation for quite long. Varicent has been able to make the complex calculation easier to understand for the sales community which helps sales to focus on the core job they have rather than understanding the complexity of the calculations/ Incentive plan.
  • Ability to do the backdated changes for the months which are locked to compute the amount accurately
  • Inquiry management features helps to track the sales inquiries timely and within SLA
  • Scenario creation for Simulating the data so that we don't need to create the complete calc or run a parallel model
  • Enhanced reporting features and ability to easy customization of reports
  • Selection criteria level has some limitation while raising the inquiries, it will be good to have if we have multiple level selection joined together
  • V9 was having the ability to sideshow the tables while in V10 we need to open it in different tab
  • Health dashboard suggest which calc has problem, if it also recommend way to optimize the calc will be really helpful
Best suited to cater the requirements where you have multiple components with different payout bands to pay the commissions for your sales team. It helps doing the adjustments for the locked period which helps in paying the commission more accurately as sales can see the adjustments flowing for prior months
Varicent is more business user friendly and allows customization at various levels. Fast calculations time allows admins to cater the developments and operational requirements fulfilled across time zones.
Varicent support is quick to respond and have come up with various programs that help clients solving the issues timely and training the resources if needed.
Varicent is quite flexible to incorporate changes during the running compensation month/year. The ability to incorporate various backdated correction scenarios like changes in portfolio / targets from locked months allows the admin not to manually compute the payout difference.
It also allows to expand the number of Admin/ web user as per the requirements
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Varicnet Incentive Compensation Management is being used to calculate bonuses for the sales generating consultants who are working in the sales offices. There are a number of schemes and complexities; ICM handles this perfectly.
  • Approval process all integrated.
  • Calculation time is very fast.
  • Number of users is limitless.
  • Presenter reports could be easier to write.
  • Approval process should have the amount approved in the approval history.
  • Importing adjustments via upload - should be direct to tables and not scheduler.
Works well with complex schemes and vast number of users.
The system is very easy to use.
We are looking at modelling different scenarios, but this is causing a lot of complexities.