Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Xero

Xero

Overview

What is Xero?

Xero is an online accounting software product for small businesses and personal finance. Its features beyond general ledger and double-bookkeeping include quotable invoicing, bank reconciliation, purchase order and expense management, and tax management. Third party apps can extend its features…

Read more
Recent Reviews

Xero to Hero

8 out of 10
March 18, 2024
Incentivized
My business uses Xero as a gauge for all financial optics. It helps manage monies in and out, account visibility and solves invoicing …
Continue reading

Xero the Hero

10 out of 10
March 04, 2024
Incentivized
I use Xero for invoicing, reconciling our monthly revenue and spending, and providing our accountants with the information they need for …
Continue reading

Xero or Zero

1 out of 10
March 01, 2024
I use it as an accounting program. <br>The program constantly loses the ability to connect to my bank. When reported this problem takes …
Continue reading

Xero

4 out of 10
February 02, 2024
It is an accounting system we use for billing, paying bills, and producing financial reports. It also has payroll capabilities, but I am …
Continue reading

Efficient User

8 out of 10
January 11, 2024
Incentivized
Xero caters excellently to businesses of various sizes, offering a remarkably clean interface that's incredibly user-friendly, even for …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 44 features
  • Bank reconciliation (188)
    9.1
    91%
  • Accounts receivable (181)
    9.0
    90%
  • Standard reports (183)
    8.3
    83%
  • Dashboards (180)
    8.0
    80%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

1 video

"Straight-Forward" Accounting. How Xero Helped a Business Owner Manage Expenses
03:08
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Early

$13

Cloud
per month

Growing

$37

Cloud
per month

Established

$70

Cloud
per month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.xero.com/us/pricing-plans/

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $13 per month
Return to navigation

Features

Payroll Management

Provides for pay calculation and benefit plan administration, in addition to managing direct deposit, salary revisions and payroll tracking.

7.7
Avg 7.5

Customization

This addresses a company’s ability to configure the software to fit its specific use case and workflow.

7.5
Avg 7.1

Security

This component helps a company minimize the security risks by controlling access to the software and its data, and encouraging best practices among users.

8
Avg 8.0

Reporting & Analytics

Users can report on and analyze usage, performance, ROI, and/or other metrics of success.

8.1
Avg 7.6

General Ledger and Configurable Accounting

Financial management solution, including capabilities for general ledger and configurable accounting

7.4
Avg 7.4

Inventory Management

The ability to track and manage the flow of goods or materials into and out of an inventory.

6.5
Avg 7.0

Order Management

The ability to process orders, and track them from quote to cash.

6.8
Avg 7.4
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Xero?

Xero is an online accounting software platform for small businesses and their advisors, as well as for personal finance. Xero competes most often with QuickBooks Online. Its features, beyond the ubiquitous general ledger and double-entry bookkeeping support, include invoicing with quotes, bank reconciliation, purchase order and expense management, tax management, and it is mobile-accessible. Xero integrates with over 800 third-party applications, covering everything from inventory and logistics to cash flow, project management, customer relationship management, and e-commerce.

The product is sold by subscription (a distribution model commonly known as software as a service or SaaS) requiring the payment of a monthly fee. This charge is proportionate to the number (and type) of company entities managed by the subscriber. The lowest tiered pricing option is the $9 per month Starter pack, which supports unlimited users but a limited number of transactions. The $30 Standard pack breaks open usage limits and adds e-filing and payroll options. The $70 Premium package doubles the number of supported employees on payroll from 5 to 10, and supports multiple currencies.

Xero Features

General Ledger and Configurable Accounting Features

  • Supported: Accounts payable
  • Supported: Accounts receivable
  • Supported: Cash management
  • Supported: Bank reconciliation
  • Supported: Expense management
  • Supported: Time tracking
  • Supported: Fixed asset management
  • Supported: Multi-currency support
  • Supported: Multi-division support
  • Supported: Regulations compliance
  • Supported: Electronic tax filing
  • Supported: Self-service portal
  • Supported: Global Financial Support
  • Supported: Primary and Secondary Ledgers

Inventory Management Features

  • Supported: Inventory tracking

Reporting & Analytics Features

  • Supported: Dashboards
  • Supported: Standard reports
  • Supported: Custom reports

Customization Features

  • Supported: Plug-ins

Security Features

  • Supported: Role-based user permissions
  • Supported: Multi-factor authentication

Xero Screenshots

Screenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of

Xero Video

Xero is accounting software for small businesses and their advisors. It reveals a business's cashflow in real-time with online accounting, invoicing, payroll, billing & banking.

Xero Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Xero is an online accounting software product for small businesses and personal finance. Its features beyond general ledger and double-bookkeeping include quotable invoicing, bank reconciliation, purchase order and expense management, and tax management. Third party apps can extend its features further.

Xero starts at $13.

Priority AccountEdge, QuickBooks Online, and Sage 50cloud Accounting are common alternatives for Xero.

Reviewers rate Journals and Reconciliations highest, with a score of 9.3.

The most common users of Xero are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(720)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 208)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Xero as our main accounting software
  • Bank reconciliation
  • Currency conversion
  • real time accounting
  • credit card feeds. ours never work well we have to import csv
  • it's a bit slow
Xero is very easy to use. I had never used it and I found the learning curb was quite easy. I find the csv importations difficult to manage. I'm sure we could make it easier.
April 08, 2024

Accounting made easy

Mark Corney | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
Xero is revolutionary, a simple and effective financial software, easy to navigate for the NON Financial users, end to end system so brilliant for filing your taxes. It is superior to any other cloud system.
  • Bank Reconciliation
  • Sales Invoicing
  • Project Accounting
  • Tax Filing
Xero is a simple, efficient and superior cloud software
April 02, 2024

Xero Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Full accounting function. Only problem that I have is that there is not a salesperson field that I can allocate to specific clients.
  • Reporting
  • Invoicing
  • Cashbook
  • No salesperson field
The overall functionality is excellent, very user friendly and I really have no problems except that there is no salesperson field
Mitesh Chavda | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We really acknowledge the fact that our finances are the critical pillar to our business and thats why it was paramount to find a very reliable tool to help us run all our financial activities. Xero has been that tool for us and has been working outstandingly. With Xero, we are able to manage our cash flow by accounting for every cash that enters and leaves our business.
  • Accurate financial reports.
  • Advanced security.
  • Budgeting and quoting.
  • Professional and beautiful invoices.
  • Automatic financial data capturing from receipts.
  • In-depth financial analytics.
  • Nothing to be specific. All parts had been made to work really well.
Xero has been a super reliable accounting tool that allows us to take care of all our financial management needs from a single place. It helps monitor expenses and track how cash is flowing in and out of the business. The financial reports are very good eye opener into the business financial health and performance.
March 18, 2024

Xero to Hero

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
My business uses Xero as a gauge for all financial optics. It helps manage monies in and out, account visibility and solves invoicing easily as a one stop shop. Xero is easy to use with a quick learning curve, has a great dashboard and excellent reports. The pre-defined reporting filters help me keep a close eye on the whole business
  • Invoicing
  • Quoting
  • Reporting
  • More control on report inputs
  • Small bug reduces size of screen
Xero is an excellent place for your business financials and I would easily suggest it to others. I like that it makes running your business super easy, looks great, has excellent reports and can produce invoices on the go, quickly and accurately. The mobile app is also handy when away from my work station and has solved the on the go problem for my business
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Xero for our bookkeeping services and we are also tracking are invoice histories with it. In invoicing, we can always keep and verify our previous invoice to clients and provide them with copies if they need it. We provide clients with monthly reports and annual reports of their books. Also, we don't just use Xero for current year books, we can use it for previous years bookkeeping services! We can also pick up if they have their books currently recorded so we can assist and provide service with reconciling them.We can also provide access to our clients with their Xero Financials so they can have an easy access to their financials progress in real-time.

  • Monthly Reports
  • Invoice
  • Annual Reports
  • Financial Statements
  • Transparency
  • Easy access
  • Integration with other platforms
  • It could be also used for a broader CRM-like software, just with a few more features
  • Sidenotes conversations on books, for real-time reviewing
Xero is one of the easy-to-learn accounting software that anyone could start and settle with! Even a teenager could learn on how to use it. Accountants and Bookkeepers who are new to the industry could give them a good boost on their profile if they have certification and fluency with using Xero. Xero is kind of one of the basic requirement
Melissa Lenos | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Xero every day, we use it for our own bookkeeping for our company as well as with 100 other companies that we do bookkeeping for. We have been able to create customized reports so that our clients can get the information that they need from their bookkeeping. We also have been able to utilize Hubdoc so that our clients have an easy way to get us their receipts!
  • Extract bank statements
  • Collect receipts
  • Customized reports
  • Easy connection to tax software
  • Xero needs to add the ability to change what account is used in Spend money without having to start over
  • Ability to write cheques out of foreign currency bank accounts
  • Ability to add credits on the matching screen on AP & AR not have to pre-allocate
If they are using foreign exchange I always use Xero. If I need reporting to be customized we always use Xero. If the client is already working in a software and it is working for them we will leave them in the software they are in.
March 04, 2024

Xero the Hero

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use Xero for invoicing, reconciling our monthly revenue and spending, and providing our accountants with the information they need for our various tax returns and payments. It’s a great tool for helping us compare and track our revenue with previous quarters and years and simply automates the way we receive payments and track our expenditures and revenue.
  • Automates invoicing
  • Easy view of overdue payments
  • Real-time view of the financial health of the business
  • Occasionally, the price increases and I feel that prices should be fixed for long-term users as there are very few changes in the software from when I started using it 6 years ago.
  • It would be useful to have the emails sent with invoices saved.
  • Visual dashboards are limited.
It's beneficial for invoicing, managing cash flow, working with your accountant, year-on-year financial reviews, and preparing for tax returns.
March 01, 2024

Xero or Zero

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I use it as an accounting program. <br>The program constantly loses the ability to connect to my bank. When reported this problem takes over a month to resolve. I have had this problem 3 times in 6 or 7 months.<br>The support is useless as they only recite pre-approved answers. Xero never takes responsibility for Yodlee, the program that connects the bank to Xero.<br>I understand it is not their program, but they sell their program with Yodlee, so there should be some kind responsibility and accountability.<br>When I asked to talk to someone about the problem, a chap called me out of the UK and could only apologize but could not offer any solution or way forward. He was basically one of the support staff that e-mail you apologies.<br>I then sit with 2 months of transactions I have to catch up on. <br>I get no financial help, or discount for the times I cannot use the program. "Just download your bank statement and import it" they say! Easier said than done and you end up spending half a day trying to put the statement into a format that Xero can import. Then you spend half a day trying to find out what was not imported!<br>If you are looking for an accounting system, look for one in your country with telephonic support. Go through the reviews and look for patterns like "lack of telephonic support" or "Only e-mail support available".<br>Xero also only offers 20 invoices on the entry level program, Costs you double to have unlimited invoices or even enough invoices to run a small company for a month (one competitor offers invoices on the entry level and is better known for the same price). You would think that being such a big world-wide company they would offer something like invoices. It is an absolute joke as to how they just want to reduce your bottom line and increase their bottom line without giving any support.
  • Nothing particularly well
  • Average
  • Matches invoice to payment
  • Proper Support
  • Discounts for periods when Yodlee is not working
  • Offer more functionality on the entry level program - Invoices. Will cost you nothing.
  • Support staff who can solve problems without sending a tutorial video
There is absolutely no support. I think that the e-mail support is AI. the support "specialists" cannot resolve any issues. always kick the can down the road to the next person. Don't expect any help when you have an issue.
Bank could not connect to Xero for over a month. this has happened 3 times in 7 or 8 months.
Asked to talk to someone other than the "support specialist" telephonically and only got a "support specialist" calling to apologize> No help.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Xero for our company bookkeeping and find it easy to use as well as having all the features we need.
  • VAT returns.
  • Bank Account Sync.
  • Nominals
  • Purchase orders linking to purchase invoices when created from an API integration.
We recommend Xero quite a bit to smaller clients as it is very easy to use.
February 26, 2024

Xero is great for quotes.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Xero to create quotes for potential customers. We are able to have different branding themes and templates, which saves us a lot of time.
  • Branding themes.
  • Templates
  • Storing customer information.
  • Display billing and shipping addresses on quotes.
  • Easily duplicate and edit quotes.
  • Allow different customer names on a customer profile.
Creating quotes for customers, especially when your business operates in different countries and therefore requires templates in different languages.
February 06, 2024

Xero

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Basic accounting
  • Data feeds
  • Responsiveness to questions posted online
  • Clear, easy to read dashboards
  • No ability to call for support so no real-time answers
  • Some functions are less than intuitive
  • Easy to forget to check transaction dates (defaults to current day); no reminders
Initial training was very brief and for first time users far from adequate. For those experienced in the use of accounting software perhaps Xero is intuitive but for novices it takes time to learn and the training videos are no substitute for being able to talk to an expert real-time.
February 02, 2024

Xero

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It is an accounting system we use for billing, paying bills, and producing financial reports. It also has payroll capabilities, but I am not familiar with its abilities in that area. For the most part, it is very intuitive and easy to get up and running quite quickly. I particularly enjoy their customizable reports. Unfortunately, there are a lot of small, seemingly easy to implement recommendations that the Xero team have failed to implement after several years. Their statements for clients don't have an aging summary. Their quoting system does not send out reminders. There is no ability to route invoices to one email and quotes to a separate email. There are a lot of little important things missing that add up to a lot of frustration and manual input.
  • Ease of Use
  • Custom Reporting
  • Good Integrations
  • Quoting
  • Bank Reconciliation
  • Managing Contact Information
I see this working best for very small organizations that work with other small organizations. Once you start growing and needing more features, Xero will not grow with you. You will have to resort to add-ons or transition to a new service. I do also wish they had more open communication about the future of Xero, and an extended road map of planned features so we can see what their developers are up to. They certainly don't seem to be making much progress on the feature list recommended by users!
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use this alongside and on behalf of a number of clients, for management accounts, VAT returns and to a lesser extent wages.

Xero offers a solution across the entire spectrum of accounting this being bookkeeping, wages, VAT, management accounts. There are a wealth of reports to assist and guide.

I'd say xero offers a solution that's built for the user and thus assists even those that don't (and have no desire to!) understand accounting in its full detail.
  • Reporting
  • Assisting the user
  • Making transactions easy
  • Bank Feeds
  • Lock dates
  • Year end procedure
  • More advanced aged debtor reporting
Xero is well suited to owner managed businesses from small one one bands to SME's. It helps to minimise the burden of day to day transactions with the bank feeds option and gives the user a degree of comfort when the bank in reconciled that all transactions are entered.

It's also built in such a way that the user doesn't need to understand the finer details of the accounting treatment, it's built to assist and walk through the user although some of the terminology is a little American with receivables and payables etc.
January 11, 2024

Efficient User

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Xero caters excellently to businesses of various sizes, offering a remarkably clean interface that's incredibly user-friendly, even for beginners. The fresh and straightforward layout is particularly enjoyable. Furthermore, Xero provides robust support through comprehensive online resources, including articles and websites, allowing users to submit queries and receive prompt assistance. We rely on this system daily and appreciate the multitude of fantastic features it offers.
  • Easy to upload Bank statement
  • Can generate reports
  • Payroll
  • Financial reporting
  • Purchasing via Xero lacks the option to attach PDFs to purchase orders, limiting documentation.
  • In the payroll center, there's no provision to upload documents like doctor's notes for sick leave onto employee cards, hindering documentation management.
As a small to medium-sized enterprise, our team of 10 staffs relies on Xero daily. The bank feeds for swift reconciliation, seamless upload of credit card expenses, and the ability to attach documents to pertinent transactions significantly aid our workflow and efficiency. User access levels are restricted, causing either minimal or full Restricted user access in Xero creates a binary access system: limited or full access for staff. This setup poses confidentiality risks; accessing accounts receivable reports grants full access to sensitive bank balances, potentially compromising confidential financial information due to the lack of nuanced access permissions.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are an accounting firm that uses Xero internally and for our clients. For my position, I am in billing for the firm, so I work in invoicing and reconciliation. Using Xero has been such a great help. We made the switch from QB years ago and have never looked back. We refer all clients to Xero and require they switch to Xero from QB, unless there is third part app integration that Xero has not yet partnered with. The ease of reconciliation and running of reports saves me so much time. Any mistakes that I make or changes that need to be made are easily done in the software. Xero support has always been great as well.
  • Matching during reconciliation.
  • Invoicing and accepting online payments is a game changer.
  • Great Customer Support. Every time I have submitted a ticket, the response time is quick and always helpful.
  • We also use XPM for our CRM. When creating tasks in XPM, it would be helpful if the entire chart of accounts was an option in the Income Account drop-down box. Sometimes, tasks or costs need to be coded back to an expense or COG's account.
  • When editing an invoice in Xero, that change is not reflected in XPM. Since I am the only employee privy to the Xero side, other employees only accessing XPM cannot see the change unless I make a note.
  • When setting up third-party payment apps such as Stripe. Xero would not allow me to code transaction fees back to an expense or COGS account. Each morning, I must go in and find and recode these fees.
I believe that Xero is suited for most business types and levels of income. The user-friendliness of the software is great.
Angie Martin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I utilize Xero in my mentoring practice to aid my clients in tracking expenses, managing payroll, and making strategic financial decisions crucial for business growth. Xero serves as a comprehensive tool, offering easy accessibility across devices, enabling efficient financial management, and providing valuable insights for the entire business team, from bookkeepers to CEOs.
  • Payroll
  • Reporting
  • Reconciliation
  • Customisation of Accounts
  • Layout
  • Onboarding
I frequently recommend Xero to a diverse range of clients, including fashion brands, digital marketing agencies, medical professionals, artists, and more. Xero proves to be a cost-effective solution for actively managing business finances. Its versatility makes it well-suited for any industry, seamlessly growing with the business to offer continuous support. In cases where a business is just starting out and financial constraints are a concern, I may suggest alternatives like Wave. However, in most situations, Xero remains my top recommendation.
Darrell Bruxvoort | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We have many emergency facilities throughout the U.S (23 and counting). The facilities choose which accounting software they want to use if they do not want to use the default standard - WorkDay. One of our facilities chose Xero. So 1 out of 23 facilities was using Xero.
  • Their method of moving between screens was very logical and intuitive which is not a "given" attribute among software packages.
  • Finding transactions was relatively easy with just common sense.
  • The use of this software was generally well received in that the accountants did not discredit the software as cheap, poorly organized, or timely to learn. No one at Corporate had a vendetta against using Xero.
  • It does a good job of allowing the users to drill down to the final detail of an account balance - which is fundamental to the accounting department's needs.
  • I used the system to audit the numbers and to uncover unusual or unsupported transactions. I did not have to close the system but knowing who did, I think this area is well thought out.
  • It does not have the full capability to issue sophisticated financial statements with footnotes, but it is not a mid-tier software like WorkDay, NetSuite, and Sage.
  • It definitely has QuickBooks beat.
Xero is a fine bookkeeping software for small businesses and is really built around that task. It will quickly out the financial statements with the ability to add key drivers with the use of Word and PowerPoint.

Just like QuickBooks, it does not have the internal controls to push it to the next level of software, such as WorkDay, NetSuite, etc.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Xero is an excellent tool to ensure all accounts payable and receivables are current. Additionally the financial statements help to determine the position of my business. The latter is a powerful tool that assists with decision making and identified areas I should focus attention on. As an example, the profit and loss report can reveal areas where costs are higher than expected.
  • Profit and loss
  • Payroll
  • Invoicing
  • Allow pricing tiers for invoicing e.g. retail, wholesale, etc
  • Reporting could be improved
  • Search functionality could be improved
Xero is excellent for a small business. In my experience, it's a great tool to allow a small number of users to see what accounting tasks need attention. As an example, if two users are responsible for paying bills the user can very quickly see if the other user has paid a specific bill. I don't have sufficient experience with a larger corporation but assume the lack of a pricing tier based on customer is a significant disadvantage of the software as is the difficulty with inventory management.
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I find Xero a nice to have program/platform, however there are a few aspects that need to be addressed as a matter of urgency. 1. Invoice numbers does not update automatically. Numerous invoice numbers are skipped by the program then the user now have to leave all else and go and update the invoice numbers to follow chronologically. This is nonsense. Xero surely have expert IT personnel, have them fix this issue, lock the numbers in order to update automatically. 2. Why are cancelled and or deleted invoices, quotes, and purchase orders left on the system? Why can they not be deleted permanently, alternatively have a seperate heading for all cancelled/deleted documents.3. Nowhere is there a function to add the company Terms & Conditions to Invoice, Quotes and Statements. Neither can a link be inserted to a web URL where the client has to accept the T's & C's. I have researched this issue on the Xero website, blog and various internet links, apparently there is no "fix" for this issue that have been implemented or available in the near future. This is outrageous and unheard off. A line or two of code, where is your IT specialists, let them fix it, not that difficult. 4. Emails being sent from Xero to the client: Why is there no option to insert my business card in image format at the bottom of the email?? Neither can I insert a link to our company T's & C's for clients to accept. Terms and Conditions are the backbone of any and every business be is a SME or a Corporate Company. Fix this email issue, not that difficult, merely a few lines of code..!! Yet Xero expect us as users to promote Xero to other companies knowing these flaws exist for a number of years already and to date, December 2023 nothing has been done by Xero to address these flawed aspects.No Sir, not in my job description to promote a flawed product.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Needed to right-size the accounting system to something that automates as much as possible. This software is used for all aspects of financial management; it synchronizes with my time-tracking and project management software, sends recurring invoices for monthly work, automates A/R follow up, manages A/P and thus helps manage cashflow. Overall happy with these features.
  • Automation of recurring invoies
  • Automation of invoice follow-ups
  • Automation of A/P albeit through a cumbersome input process
  • Bank feeds break often and are slow to be repaired.
  • Multi-currency support doesn't take into account usability
  • Highly requested features by 100s of users from as far back as a 10 years do not get implemented
  • User requested features almost never make it into the software; and these requests are often extremely simple and basic, but would make a huge improvement in usability.
Xero is effective for a small to medium size business with not very much complexity; but it does offer enough power to do actual accounting work within the business' books; you can make GL adjustments, it has a full memory of all transactions and adjustments should an auditor wish to see everything that has happened - though this might not be what you're looking for ;) - and is overall an effective accounting tool.

There are some minor usability gripes which, when compounded over months and years, cause many hours of what I believe to be unnecessary work.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Xero is the overall accounting platform for all Corporate activity. The strength is the integration to other required apps. Payroll, expense management, quarterly tax preparation and submission are all easily integrated into the necessary accounts. Other than a part time bookkeeper, there really is no need for further internal staff. Xero is reviewed by an external accounting firm and the effort is minimal to reconcile on a monthly basis. The dashboard layout is simple to customize and use - in short, meets all accounting requirements in one place.
  • Integrate Wagepoint payroll system
  • Integrate MileIQ mileage expense system
  • Integrate Dext expense management system
  • Simple bank account integration - upload bank accounts and reconcile quickly with automated suggestions
  • Working with historical Chart of Accounts is sometimes tricky, should be able to search by input as opposed to simply a timeline
We are a small firm, with no internal accounting expertise, Xero is truly an "outsourced like" accounting package. A number of automated tasks make monthly reconciliation very easy. It is simple to use and understand. Search is typically simple, with a few anomalies, when looking for historical data, but that is rarely an issue. I am a very satisfied end user and recommend Xero to all small firms.
December 11, 2023

Xero is the new ten.

Andrew Campbell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Xero for all our bookkeeping clients. We do weekly bookkeeping and monthly reporting for some, but Xero also works great for write-ups with their Ledger product. The biggest problem that it addresses for us is that it prevents clients from making a mess of their books. A lot less can go wrong in Xero than in QB, and it's a lot easier to fix when it does.
  • Cash coding the first thing I loved about it. The spreadsheet-like format just makes sense and is basically a superpower when it comes to write-up.
  • Find and Recode is the next beauty. You can find and fix so much so quickly with that one tool.
  • The integrated fixed asset module exists and is adequate which is more than I can say for any competing software.
  • Getting data in and out of the software is easy.
  • Reporting is beautifully customizable.
  • Their customer service has always been good for me.
  • I love that Hubdoc is included for free.
  • Everybody kvetches about their reconciliation function, and sure, I'd like it to be a little more like the QB version that everyone is used to.
  • The UI on Hubdoc is pretty weak. They've had plenty of time to integrate Hubdoc directly into Xero and they haven't yet.
  • Navigation could be easier. It ends up being a lot of clicks.
  • The fact that credit cards still have be listed as "bank" accounts in order to get a feed is bonkers.
  • Their "Projects" module is not very powerful, yet not very easy to use.
I shill for Xero every chance I get. It is so superior to its competitors. There are only two situations where I don't recommend Xero. First, for the not-very-ambitions DIY'er, there are simpler solutions out there ---- I think TrulySmall and FreshBooks are better for folks who don't know anything about bookkeeping and are trying to do it themselves --- TrulySmall is as close as you can get to idiot-proof books. And then for those folks who, because of size or industry, really need more power than Xero has, maybe QB can do it without having to go further upmarket. But if you need that much juice, you should also have an in-house bookkeeper at least half-time. For folks like me, who work with that part of the market between the DIYers and those with in-house bookkeepers, Xero is the beginning and the end of the discussion as far as I'm concerned. Friends don't let friends use Quickbooks.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Xero to manage invoicing of our clients and keep track of our spending.
We have lots of clients with varying amounts of spend each month and it allows up to keep trackof them and easily see what is outstanding.
  • Easy to create invoices
  • Recurring invoices with automated email invoicing
  • Simple dashboard showing the finance status
  • Our accountant can log in to do our end of year
  • Multiple users
  • as a non accountant - the reports can be difficult to get to where you need
  • an activity log of all users actions would be really handy
As a small business without an in-house accountant Xero make it easy for us to keep our accounts up to date and magae our customer billing without having to spend hours and hours pouring over paperwork.
Invoicing of customers is very easy and means we can send quotes and invoices to customer quickly and easily.
When payments come in the can be reconciled with a quick button-press which saves us loads of time over the month.
December 08, 2023

Xero is a great tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Xero is used to manage expenses within the organization. There are 3 main teams that use the software; Operations, Sales & Marketing and Account Management. All 3 teams are regularly out traveling to events or to visit clients. Processes have been set up to ensure that claiming expenses is a quick and easy process. Employees take a photo of their receipts immediately after expenditure and log the expense under the relevant codes, set-up by the finance team. At the end of the expense period (for us a calendar month) all receipts would be submitted for approval and payment.
  • Easy upload of receipts whilst out of the office
  • App to log expenses remotely
  • Fast submission of expense data
  • Expense reports available to review
  • Simplifying and streamlining the user interface could enhance the overall user experience.
  • Introduction of AI to automate data entry by extracting information from receipts
My previous job asked for an expense sheet with original receipts and took 45 days to turn expenses around. In this role, using Xero, much of the admin has been digitized and automated, making the recording of the data easier and timely.
Return to navigation