IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPC)

IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPC)

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.8 out of 100
IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPC)

Overview

What is IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPC)?

The IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) is designed to be the user's own space, in the IBM Cloud. With VPC, the user defines and controls a virtual network in logically isolated parts of the IBM Cloud where, and can...
Read more

Recent Reviews

Secured

10 out of 10
December 28, 2020
IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPN) is being used in our organization in a way to keep and ensure the safety of our data storage and …
Continue reading

IBM Cloud VPC

9 out of 10
December 22, 2020
We started to use the [IBM Cloud Virtual Cloud] (VPC) (gen1) platform as a quick and easy way to provide connectivity from several …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

How IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) Differs From Its Competitors

IBM Cloud Portfolio

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service IBM Cloud Virtual Servers IBM Cloud Object Storage IBM Cloud Databases
When you use services provided [within] the same boundaries you can benefit [from] seamless integration between those services.
Continue reading

IBM Cloud Portfolio

IBM Analytics Engine IBM Watson Studio (formerly IBM Data Science Experience) IBM Watson Natural Language Understanding IBM Watson Tone Analyzer IBM Watson Natural Language Classifier IBM Watson Knowledge Studio IBM Watson OpenScale
These services connect very well together inside the IBM platform. …
Continue reading

IBM Cloud Portfolio

IBM Cloud Virtual Servers IBM Cloud Container Registry IBM Cloud Object Storage IBM Cloud Managed Knative
Being able to leverage the other IBM Cloud offerings with VPC allowed us flexibility in building a robust migration application. In addition it is enabling us more options for add-on solutions …
Continue reading

IBM Cloud Portfolio

IBM Cloud Virtual Servers IBM Cloud Object Storage IBM API Connect
At the moment we are mainly using virtual machines, virtual storage, and the IBM API to operate the environment. Concerning products, we are using our own products and services from the Ultimus Digital Process Automation Suite, with …
Continue reading

IBM Cloud Portfolio

IBM Cloud Internet Services IBM Cloud Object Storage IBM Cloud Databases
Mostly positive, but automated provisioning of databases still lacking.
Continue reading

IBM Cloud Portfolio

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service IBM Cloud Functions IBM Cloud Internet Services IBM Cloud Object Storage IBM Cloud Databases IBM Watson Visual Recognition
Having several services working together helped to simplify our lives. The offer that IBM cloud has keeps growing and it is catching up with …
Continue reading

Implementation Insights

I was very impressed by getting IBM Cloud's VPC offering up and running - I endeavour to do everything through CLI tools where available as this lends itself to future automation, and is easier to document then endless GUI screenshots. I found IBM's documentation easy to navigate (though confess I …
Continue reading

Examples of Exceptional Support

Without IBM Cloud's support, we would never even have gotten our proof of concept off the ground as for reasons unknown, our account wouldn't validate (in spite of being populated with all our details correctly). IBM Cloud support responded very rapidly and got us over the hurdle, meaning we were …
Continue reading

IBM Cloud Support Resource Usage

Central Documentation and Learning Hub IBM Cloud Docs Ability to check uptime status for IBM Cloud products Access to IBM and Developer communities through Stack Overflow or GitHub Chat with Watson
Yes - I wanted to learn how to modify routing tables within VPC's, especially for the purpose of …
Continue reading

IBM Cloud Support Resource Usage

Contributing to the IBM Developer community IBM Cloud product demos and tutorial videos
Yes we have dropped few questions on IBM developer community and received their response in very short time that was very helpful.
Continue reading

Popular Features

View all 9 features
  • Dynamic scaling (25)
    9.3
    93%
  • Security controls (27)
    9.1
    91%
  • Service-level Agreement (SLA) uptime (27)
    8.8
    88%
  • Operating system support (27)
    8.3
    83%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPC), and make your voice heard!

Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPC)?

The IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) is designed to be the user's own space, in the IBM Cloud. With VPC, the user defines and controls a virtual network in logically isolated parts of the IBM Cloud where, and can deploy desired cloud resources. VPC is designed to give dynamic scalability for…

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.ibm.com/cloud/vpc/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

1 person want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Amazon Web Services?

Amazon Web Services (AWS) is a subsidiary of Amazon that provides on-demand cloud computing services. With over 165 services offered, AWS services can provide users with a comprehensive suite of infrastructure and computing building blocks and tools.

What is Linode?

Linode helps users simplify cloud infrastructure with Linux virtual machines and tools to develop, deploy, and scale applications. Linode aims to make virtual computing more accessible, affordable, and simple. The vendor states the Linode infrastructure-as-a-service platform is deployed across 11…

Return to navigation

Product Demos

Virtual Private Clouds on IBM Cloud
04:05
Return to navigation

Features Scorecard

Infrastructure-as-a-Service (IaaS)

8.9
89%
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPC)?

What is IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPC)?

IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud, also known as IBM Cloud VPC,is presented as a highly resilient and secure software-defined data center where the user can build secure, isolated private clouds for business operations while maintaining essential public cloud benefits. The user chooses compute, storage, and networking resources and IBM handles maximum availability and scalability, plus a variety of options for your workload demands. IBM Cloud VPC is purpose-built for IaaS, PaaS, and hybrid cloud needs with solutions for VMware, SAP, IBM Z, and IBM Power Systems.

VPC Solutions on IBM Cloud
Provision a scalable IBM Cloud VPC with compute, storage, networking solutions below.

IBM Cloud Virtual Servers for VPC are scalable, single and multi-tenant virtual server instances built on Intel® Xeon® processors to launch with maximum network isolation and control. Learn more.

IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers for VPC are dedicated, single-tenant servers with 100 Gbps uplinks ready in 10 minutes or less –built on 2nd Gen Intel® Xeon® Platinum 8260 CPUs. Learn more.

IBM Cloud Block Storage for VPC enables high-performance block storage volumes with flexible IOPs options, high availability, and encryption options. Learn more.

IBM Cloud Backup for VPC to automatically back up, manage, and restore block storage volumes from backups. By using this service, you prevent data loss, manage risk, and improve data compliance. Learn more.

IBM Cloud Hyper Protect Virtual Servers gives authority over Linux-based virtual servers for workloads that contain sensitive data and business IP. Learn more.

IBM Cloud Dedicated Host for VPC provide the flexibility to use software licenses, and maximum isolation and control over instance placement to help address corporate compliance and regulatory requirements. Learn more.

IBM Cloud Spectrum Symphony allows users to deploy high-performance computing (HPC) clusters that use IBM Spectrum Symphony as the HPC scheduling software - build an HPC cluster and automatically add and remove worker nodes from a cluster based on workload requirements. Learn more.














IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) Features

Infrastructure-as-a-Service (IaaS) Features

  • Supported: Service-level Agreement (SLA) uptime
  • Supported: Dynamic scaling
  • Supported: Elastic load balancing
  • Supported: Pre-configured templates
  • Supported: Monitoring tools
  • Supported: Pre-defined machine images
  • Supported: Operating system support
  • Supported: Security controls
  • Supported: Automation

IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) Video

Virtual Private Cloud, or VPC, allows the user of a cloud environment to define Virtual Private Networks, manipulate them, control them, tear them down, recreate them, and deploy workloads into those definitions.

IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) Competitors

IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

The IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) is designed to be the user's own space, in the IBM Cloud. With VPC, the user defines and controls a virtual network in logically isolated parts of the IBM Cloud where, and can deploy desired cloud resources. VPC is designed to give dynamic scalability for easier business growth, high availability for better customer satisfaction, and lower total cost of ownership.

Azure Virtual Network are common alternatives for IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPC).

Reviewers rate Dynamic scaling highest, with a score of 9.3.

The most common users of IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

 (59)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 29)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
November 01, 2022

IBM cloud review

Rishav Karanjit | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPC). We have virtual server running inside VPC. We access the VPC by doing SSH into the server using command line. Locally, we use windows machine but we use mobaxterm (other application) to use SSH. We prefer SSH over other windows options. Our use case is to host website inside the VPC.
  • SSH
  • No down time until now
  • Cost efficiency
  • Low tutorial on internet
  • Would be very helpful if docs include video demo as well.
Our use case is small. We use only one region and zone. I think IBM cloud VPC does well in larger cloud infrastructure as well. In case if the user is only learning about cloud, I would not recommend IBM cloud. IBM cloud does have good documentation but generally someone who is new to cloud would like to have a video demo.
Sienna Miller | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
This product is used by our department in collaboration with the IBM Cloud Virtual Server team to host our data securely. It has built a powerful infrastructure for all data that is hosted in our private cloud. We landed on this platform due to its performance and the total cost required for deployment. It gives us all tools required for a private virtual network.
  • Provision of VPC Subnets.
  • Network orchestration for our private cloud.
  • The functionality and reliability has been awesome.
  • I have not experienced any downtime from its capability.
I have liked the performance of this platform since we deployed it. It provides us with an additional network layer that eliminates any bottlenecks of our virtual servers. It has high functionality speed in data processing contributing to faster workflows. Security of our private cloud is guaranteed at an affordable and reliable cost.
November 03, 2021

IBM CLOUD VPC Review

Sai karthik Satyavarapu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use it for a few clients, not for all the clients for implementation of the cloud.
  • Domain name services. Public and private DNS and domain registration.
  • IBM Cloud Direct Link. Physical or virtual private connections to IBM Cloud.
  • High availability. Enhanced security.
  • UI has lot of confusion, new user gets lot confusion while navigation.
  • Most of IBM cloud has pre -configured Vm's, very less customization available.
  • Very limited varieties of flavors for windows and Linux OS available.
  • Compared to AWS very less features like SQL & Oracle DB's are also missing.
Migration of applications is easy. It can be used for smaller organizations for handling a big customer base. Companies might face challenges due to some missing features like site-site VPN and others, etc.
September 21, 2021

IBM Cloud VPC review

Luciano Ghilarducci | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
I help customers design their virtual data center on IBM Cloud [Virtual Private Cloud]. VPC is the core component of a corporate virtual data center.
  • [It] is a way to implement isolation.
  • Allows to properly extend local ip scope.
  • Allows to have more control over network.
  • A customer I follow [has] faced problems [creating] a VPC VPN site to site. Not sure if it has been solved yet. This could have direct help from IBM because it is important to have customers onboard.
It is more suitable for bigger and complex environments with lots of components. [For] smaller DTC with few components you should go without VPC to save money.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
The IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) is being used widely throughout our organization for [the] migration of applications and databases to the cloud environment for increasing the accessibility to our application at comparatively lower cost with significantly improved performance. The performance over cloud infrastructure needs some initial optimization. The server hardware cost and relevant technical maintenance cost are almost eliminated.
  • Faster migration of application and database
  • Significantly increased application accessibility
  • Lower cost in comparison with its mee-too
  • Improved performance
  • Server hardware cost completely eliminated
  • Technical maintenance cost almost eliminated
  • Complex pricing structure
  • Limited varieties of windows and Linux versions
I definitely recommend [using] IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) for migration and implementation of applications and databases over cloud environment. It will surely increase the accessibility to the applications at [a] cheaper cost with significant improvement in performance. However, some initial optimization is required for stable performance. The server hardware cost will be completely eliminated. The technical maintenance cost will be almost eliminated.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) to test applications. It is a much simpler and cheaper way to use IBM Cloud than compared to other providers out there. Mostly we use it for testing purposes in Windows and Linux environments.
  • Easy to read documentations
  • IBM Cloud CLI
  • Price and latency
  • Custom image support
  • Custom images
  • Managing permissions
  • Expecting more regions
IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) is well suited to secure and scale our environment for hosting an application and testing an application on cloud-based VPC and it's very cost-efficient. If someone [is] looking for more powerful instances it is less appropriate.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We have used VPC by global prototype department. We used a common system by global, so [we] have been chosen VPC as infrastructure.
  • This system has been stable for 6 years without any problems.
  • [We] can use High speed WAN on free.
  • We can use backup system by optional.
  • We have to upgrade to the newest version of Citrix Xentools regularly.
  • VNC connection method was changed without [being] notified.
Suitable scenario:
1. Reduced server management costs
2. Stable use of the system
3. Used free and fast WAN line

Less appropriate scenarios:
You would like to manage a cloud server, if so should be used Bare metal server.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) as an experimental environment and to give us accessible computer resources without endangering our internal infrastructure. The VPC allows us to leverage several newer technologies without the typical hurdles of approvals from various IT departments. Specifically, our data science work is developed on virtual cloud. Again, this allows for free use of the toolsets in the data science platforms for easy and fast implementations for our business use cases.
  • Integrations with open-source software
  • Reduced administrative burden
  • Easy to implement and deploy
  • Prepackaged deployments for common use cases, with embedded software and archectitures
  • Cost estimation can be difficult to understand
  • Expensive
We used it to deploy a version of our data science environment, particularly in tight integrations. Some software needs both administrative and technical support to handle it, and with the VPC sitting outside our company's infrastructure, we could readily build without burden. This allowed us to grab ROI faster and within the deadlines required by the business areas.
December 28, 2020

Secured

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPN) is being used in our organization in a way to keep and ensure the safety of our data storage and indeed it is very reliable and accessible anytime and anywhere within our organization and I am very grateful for this program. Yes, it is being used by our whole organization, and no problems to address so far.
IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) is well suited in terms of assurance in terms of the safety of our data storage that is very reliable and accessible anytime and anywhere. I could not find any reason that it is less appropriate for my whole organization as it is well used.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) is used as a development environment. We are working on learning IBM Cloud and IBM Cloud Pak for Automation. The environment is intended to be used for customer demos with our products.
  • Creating Virtual Private Cloud and virtual server instances was quick and easy, saving us time.
  • Documentation for setting up networking was easy to follow.
  • IBM Cloud Command Line Interface allowed us to script repetitive tasks.
  • The documentation and integration between OpenShift and IBMCloud was not clear. It took some time to figure out which interface to use to setup certain items.
  • Better communication between departments could be improved. Had a billing question and had two departments saying it was the other team's issue. Took three days of back and forth to resolve.
  • The documentation for loading containers into IBM Cloud OpenShift container registry was not clear. The correct commands were not documented.
We were planning on hosting an IBM Cloud Pak for Automation environment for a customer. IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) provides a quick way to deploy and upgrade a full IBM Cloud Pak for Automation.

Document migrations is another use case we have looked at using IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) for. Being able to quickly spin up a temporary environment for migration and remove resources when completed allows us to reduce cost for the user.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
The IBM VPC was used to increase render farm capacity during peak production times. Cost and data security were the most important features we evaluated, especially compared to other players like Amazon AWS and Google Cloud.
  • Price
  • Latency
  • Features
  • User interface
  • Documentation
IBM VPC is a good alternative to Amazon AWS and Google Cloud due to the competitive pricing. However, we've found the lack of some security features (for example, firewall on the VPC Classic) to be a security problem for most users.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I use IBM Cloud VPC to test LogDNA agents in the Windows environments so that IBM customers can send logs to LogDNA in Windows.
  • Supports virtual Windows environments
  • Supports virtual Linux environments
  • need more variety of linux environments
  • need more variety of Windows environments
The cost of using IBM Cloud and/or it's VPC is high. Best to compare prices before committing
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We are utilizing IBM [Cloud Virtual Private Cloud] (VPC) to run our application software and deployment orchestration for our customers
  • Terraform integration with Schematics
  • VPC Custom Image Support
  • KVM based
  • Direct Link Routing to Corporate Networking
  • Just add VPC Custom Routes, still needs a ton of work
  • L2 broadcast support in the SDN for cluster based synchonization and failover
  • API documentation has WAY too many versions still available (and Googlable)
  • EIP Internet options are poor (don't exist except through an unscalable LBaaS)
IBM has the ability to specifically target heavy enterprise. They need to cater to that crowd.
December 22, 2020

IBM Cloud VPC

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We started to use the [IBM Cloud Virtual Cloud] (VPC) (gen1) platform as a quick and easy way to provide connectivity from several on-premise networks into the IBM cloud using IPSEC site to site VPN's. At the time, the VPC (gen1) platform also provided the necessary connectivity to the Power Series networks. This was completed prior to setting up a gateway appliance within the Classic Inf. Gen1 VPC's are now being deprecated in favor of Gen2.
  • Compute
  • IPSEC
  • Simplicity
  • Access Lists
A quick and easy way to provide connectivity from several on-premise networks into IBM using IPSEC site to site VPN's.
Easy to manage.
Cost effective.
Of course, a [IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud] (VPC) doesn't provide the same level of granularity one can achieve with a managed firewall / gateway appliance.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
At Ultimus we are using IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) virtual machines for development, QA, demonstration/sale, and operation of Ultimus Composed Process Solutions, powered by Ultimus Digital Process Automation Suite. These machines are used by different departments--product development, professional services, and sales across the world. Ultimus internal solutions are hosted on IBM machines as well.
  • The IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) architecture allows scripted preparation and management of the virtual environment, which we use to link the IBM VPC API with an Ultimus CPS solution, allowing our colleagues to manage the IBM environment directly from our own management solution.
  • IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) uses a "pay what you use" pricing model. By integrating the IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) API into Ultimus management processes, the machines can be started and stopped automatically specifically for the needed times. This saves us a lot of money.
  • The performance of the IBM VPM machines is excellent and gives us great performance for developing and presenting our Ultimus products and solutions.
  • The amount of supported/provided software could be better. At the moment Windows Server 2019 is not yet available, for example.
  • IBM strongly pushes their own products (e.g., their own databases). But Microsoft SQL Server or Oracle as a service are not offered. So we need to take care about licensing, installation, and operation of these databases ourselves, which is a big disadvantage. Other cloud provider offer better service here !
  • Compared to IBM classic infrastructure, a lot of useful functionality is gone (e.g., template handling).
The initial preparation of the IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) environment is much more complex compared to using the classic environment. Once this hurdle is overcome, the flexibility is a great asset. The scripted preparation and management, with the option to integrate their capabilities into our Ultimus solutions, makes it very powerful and useful for our colleagues.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use IBM Cloud [Virtual Private Cloud (VPC)] in our team for dynamically scaling our compute capacity as the application needs it. As our application's demands change significantly on a minute-to-minute basis, we've found it much simpler and cheaper to use IBM Cloud to dynamically provision resources than to reserve the application's maximum needed capacity in our internal IT infrastructure.
  • Easy and fast provisioning of resources through UI, API and CLI
  • Huge scalability
  • Great customer service
  • Viewing online invoices and billing data is awful - there are several separate systems that require multiple layers of accounts
  • Not all features are available in all regions, such as single-site resiliency in COS
  • VPC instance disk drives are awkwardly slow. The boot drive is limited to 50MiBs read/write, even though network is 2GiBs.
To be honest, the [IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPC)] experience is pretty similar to AWS. The main advantage with IBM VPC is that it has a very substantial promotional offer of free compute time for first-time customers. The main times you wouldn't want to use IBM VPC are when you have very specific instance requirements (GPUs, etc.), or are able to take advantage of AWS's spot instances.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We currently use it for about 30% of our SaaS infrastructure and in the process of migrating our remaining IBM Classic Infrastructure. It allows us to automate provisioning of both network and compute resources.
  • Good number of regions and zones
  • Simple security groups
  • Fast provisioning
  • No support for building custom images with e.g. Hashicorp Packer
  • IBM support in general is not great
It's well suited for quickly spinning up environments with infrastructure as code tools like Terraform. It's not well suited for autoscaling due to lack of support for automatically building images.
December 09, 2020

IBM VPC Review by Vertex

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use IBM Cloud [Virtual Private Cloud (VPC)] as a vehicle to get Virtualized Power System Access, and direct services like cognitive watson, and surge virtual computing for application development. We use this as a way to develop incubative initiatives in a separate cloud.
  • PowerSystems Virtualization
  • VPC Based Computing - Windows & Linux Infrastructure
  • IBM Watson Cognitive Services
  • Availability - several outages in the past year, need to increase reliability
  • New product offerings - continually add innovative
  • License portability with microsoft.. getting MVLP agreements onboard
[IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPC)] is suited toward incubative development where you have a cross between traditional infrastructure & native services that benefit with blending. There is an easy ramp up for deploying services vs aws
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
IBM VPC is becoming the core service for our Software As a Service initiative. Our core services are being migrated from other cloud vendors (Google and AWS) for three key reasons: flexibility on hybrid strategies, simplicity on implementation, the availability of migrating on-premises services based on AIX and I-series to cloud without much of a problem.
  • Hybrid cloud implementations
  • AIX and I Series
  • Flexibility on requirements
  • Security
  • Documentation is incomplete
  • Some services require improvements
  • Lack of support in Latinamerica
It is ideal when trying to create a hybrid cloud. It works better if you already have I-Series or AIX deployed in your organization.

It is complicated if you are using certain services from other vendors Amazon such as Lambda functions or Kinesis. There are some that have the same functionality on IBM, although not an exact replacement.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We recently started using IBM Cloud VPC to host k8s clusters for various teams. These clusters are mostly used for CI workloads, i.e. short-lived pods that do builds and run tests.
  • Easy to deploy k8s clusters of various versions.
  • Predictable pricing
  • RHEL8/CentOS8 not available.
  • No file storage, only block.
  • Unable to add UBM bare metals to VPC networks.
IBM Cloud VPC is useful when using other offerings from IBM Cloud to closely integrate them. It has feature parity with other cloud vendors while maintaining competitive pricing combined with a vast infrastructure and stability.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud for hosting our clients' host business applications. Mostly, they are internal business applications. In addition, we host a number of small web apps. We also use IBM Cloud VPC to develop POCs.
  • Easy to use and build
  • Clear costing model
  • Multiple regions
  • Unclear error message (e.g. when creating a VPC network with access to Classic resources is enabled)
  • Limited compute profiles compared to classic (e.g. no Variable compute profiles available)
IBM Cloud VPC is a good option for building and deploying a hybrid cloud strategy.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use IBM Cloud VPC to host our Client Server monitoring and storage of snapshot data from each Server. It is deployed company-wide and enables dashboards to be able to view our entire Client Server status from anywhere.
  • It's more cost-effective than public cloud, giving higher performance at a lower cost.
  • No additional virtualization costs
  • Built-in redundancy for critical workloads
  • More upfront costs, which do reduce over time so, if the budget is tight, then can be a downside.
  • Responsibility for on-going maintenance tends to be handled for you in the private cloud.
  • We are responsible for the security, implementation, and to keep it up-to date.
IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud works well for organizations whose core business is centered around private data where control and security are important factors. Also, companies that must adhere to stringent compliance standards, such as PCI DSS or companies that have enough resources to run their own IT operations. The infrastructure and hosting are not shared and are done 'in-house', which gives a high level of security, control, and customization. The Server can be on-site or off-site and private clouds tend to be more reliable. Getting the security right and keeping it right can be painful. Monitoring is essential.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
We currently use it to demonstrate the characteristics of the service, so that our partners are able to offer it to their customers.
  • One of the most complete clouds on the market.
  • OpenStack services are very interesting.
  • Use of users and permissions is very hard.
  • Intuitively budget tools.
Very good option for customers using SaaS, IaaS and PaaS.
The times we have used the technical service have helped us beyond duty.
James Freeman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
IBM VPC is being used currently as a proof of concept and a training platform - our business relies on enabling other companies to achieve their own technology goals, and with cloud migrations currently big business, we make it ours to be aware of the current state of cloud provider offerings. IBM is a vital part of this. Thus through prototyping potential solutions and building on our own cloud platform knowledge, we are in a better position to help clients to make the right purchasing decisions for their business, and to help them to implement it.
  • Powerful
  • Easy to get started
  • Multiple regions
  • Clearly a "me too" offering
  • Small range of offerings compared to other providers
  • Limited range of regions
I don't, at this stage, really see the compelling reason to select IBM VPC - it's clearly a "me too" offering that is still being actively developed and can't yet offer what its competitors offer. It's a great start by a well known and trustworthy brand so I would love to see it develop into a competitive offering. But, at this stage, I would only recommend it if someone already has a relationship with or a preference for IBM services.
Overall, IBM Cloud's support offering is excellent - the documentation is clear and concise, and also honest when it comes to limitations. Their support team are responsive and helpful, even on the free tier, and overall I would have no hesitation in recommending them to a client for their cloud compute requirements.
Krishn Garg | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use IBM Cloud VPC to host our SP application for data collection, and to be the backend for a couple of web apps. It is being used across the whole organization. We are resolving the document collaboration and management system issues that we had, and this helps our company because it provides an efficient and cost-effective solution for meeting our company's needs for speed, cost, and reliability. IBM Cloud VPC is versatile enough that it meets needs across several different use cases.
  • Agile to scale.
  • Secure and protected.
  • Set-up of specific user rights.
  • VPC server instance change.
IBM VPC is well suited to secure and scale our environment for hosting an application on cloud-based VPC and its very cost-efficient for our uses. It may be less appropriate for sharing environments and power-based instances.
Support was good and very responsive but I think it might need some improvements as the timing was not excellent. I expected a quicker and more comprehensive response.
Return to navigation