IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
28 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-11 of 11)

Francisco Javier Castañeda Marroquín | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 07, 2020

IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
IBM VPC is becoming the core service for our Software As a Service initiative. Our core services are being migrated from other cloud vendors (Google and AWS) for three key reasons: flexibility on hybrid strategies, simplicity on implementation, the availability of migrating on-premises services based on AIX and I-series to cloud without much of a problem.
  • Hybrid cloud implementations
  • AIX and I Series
  • Flexibility on requirements
  • Security
  • Documentation is incomplete
  • Some services require improvements
  • Lack of support in Latinamerica
It is ideal when trying to create a hybrid cloud. It works better if you already have I-Series or AIX deployed in your organization.

It is complicated if you are using certain services from other vendors Amazon such as Lambda functions or Kinesis. There are some that have the same functionality on IBM, although not an exact replacement.
  • IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service
  • IBM Cloud Functions
  • IBM Cloud Internet Services
  • IBM Cloud Object Storage
  • IBM Cloud Databases
  • IBM Watson Visual Recognition
Having several services working together helped to simplify our lives. The offer that IBM cloud has keeps growing and it is catching up with competitors. Related to Kubernetes, at the time of our implementation we had problems with load balancers but now the experience is better. Also the same happened to us in relation to Visual Recognition.
Read Francisco Javier Castañeda Marroquín's full review
Graham Street | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 08, 2020

IBM Cloud VPC Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IBM Cloud VPC to host our Client Server monitoring and storage of snapshot data from each Server. It is deployed company-wide and enables dashboards to be able to view our entire Client Server status from anywhere.
  • It's more cost-effective than public cloud, giving higher performance at a lower cost.
  • No additional virtualization costs
  • Built-in redundancy for critical workloads
  • More upfront costs, which do reduce over time so, if the budget is tight, then can be a downside.
  • Responsibility for on-going maintenance tends to be handled for you in the private cloud.
  • We are responsible for the security, implementation, and to keep it up-to date.
IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud works well for organizations whose core business is centered around private data where control and security are important factors. Also, companies that must adhere to stringent compliance standards, such as PCI DSS or companies that have enough resources to run their own IT operations. The infrastructure and hosting are not shared and are done 'in-house', which gives a high level of security, control, and customization. The Server can be on-site or off-site and private clouds tend to be more reliable. Getting the security right and keeping it right can be painful. Monitoring is essential.
  • IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions
  • Veeam on IBM Cloud
It's been a positive experience. Everything is working as expected with reliable backups and VMWare storage.
Read Graham Street's full review
Orlando Remédios | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 16, 2020

IBM a dependable Partner for the Cloud Backend

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Infrastructure for our award winning Cloud Software, The Internet of Cargo. It is used to support the digital service and data lake as basis for Machine Learning, API, Mobile and Big Data. Users. We orchestrate several instances and applications that the service uses to provide real time availability, scalability and fail-safety to assure a global, always on service which can scale to process 100,000,000 million cargo assets in real time and forward alerts while providing dependable storage for reporting applications.
  • Pricing
  • Managed Instances
  • Service
  • Geographical locations
Event Streams is a great service and probably the best offering in our current deployment. Redis availability is also key for our architecture as well as PostgreSQL. Since we use Kubernetes, this is also a service that we value, but where AWS is superior in their offering. Instances as a whole are on the same price-level as AWS so its a good thing to see if the available geographical regions are suitable for the respective projects.
Great responsiveness and detailed know-how from the team. Self Explanatory and good resources on the Web to resolve issues. Good communication on issues via email. Good response times on issues which arise and where we have received support from the IBM support team. We believe that IBM is a great Partner to base our IT applications and we believe that a critical infrastructure like a cloud backend will be well served if we continue to base it on IBM.
Read Orlando Remédios's full review
Victor San Pablo | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2020

All in an IBM cloud

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We currently use it to demonstrate the characteristics of the service, so that our partners are able to offer it to their customers.
  • One of the most complete clouds on the market.
  • OpenStack services are very interesting.
  • Use of users and permissions is very hard.
  • Intuitively budget tools.
Very good option for customers using SaaS, IaaS and PaaS.
  • IBM Cloud Virtual Servers
  • IBM Cloud Auto Scaling
  • Veeam on IBM Cloud
More profitable joint offer
The times we have used the technical service have helped us beyond duty.
Read Victor San Pablo's full review
James Freeman | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2020

A great start by IBM as they dip their toe into the Cloud marketplace - keep an eye on this one as it develops.

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
IBM VPC is being used currently as a proof of concept and a training platform - our business relies on enabling other companies to achieve their own technology goals, and with cloud migrations currently big business, we make it ours to be aware of the current state of cloud provider offerings. IBM is a vital part of this. Thus through prototyping potential solutions and building on our own cloud platform knowledge, we are in a better position to help clients to make the right purchasing decisions for their business, and to help them to implement it.
  • Powerful
  • Easy to get started
  • Multiple regions
  • Clearly a "me too" offering
  • Small range of offerings compared to other providers
  • Limited range of regions
I don't, at this stage, really see the compelling reason to select IBM VPC - it's clearly a "me too" offering that is still being actively developed and can't yet offer what its competitors offer. It's a great start by a well known and trustworthy brand so I would love to see it develop into a competitive offering. But, at this stage, I would only recommend it if someone already has a relationship with or a preference for IBM services.
  • IBM Cloud Virtual Servers
This was really an evaluation to see how IBM Cloud works so we can better support our clients - to their credit, the offering works exactly as you would expect it, with the exception that you can't perform custom routing between subnets. If this is an absolute requirement then (at the time of writing) you'll need to go to another cloud provider.
Overall, IBM Cloud's support offering is excellent - the documentation is clear and concise, and also honest when it comes to limitations. Their support team are responsive and helpful, even on the free tier, and overall I would have no hesitation in recommending them to a client for their cloud compute requirements.
Read James Freeman's full review
Krishn Garg | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 07, 2020

Cost effective with a good user-experience

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IBM Cloud VPC to host our SP application for data collection, and to be the backend for a couple of web apps. It is being used across the whole organization. We are resolving the document collaboration and management system issues that we had, and this helps our company because it provides an efficient and cost-effective solution for meeting our company's needs for speed, cost, and reliability. IBM Cloud VPC is versatile enough that it meets needs across several different use cases.
  • Agile to scale.
  • Secure and protected.
  • Set-up of specific user rights.
  • VPC server instance change.
IBM VPC is well suited to secure and scale our environment for hosting an application on cloud-based VPC and its very cost-efficient for our uses. It may be less appropriate for sharing environments and power-based instances.
Support was good and very responsive but I think it might need some improvements as the timing was not excellent. I expected a quicker and more comprehensive response.
Read Krishn Garg's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 25, 2020

Fully featured VPC offering

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We recently started using IBM Cloud VPC to host k8s clusters for various teams. These clusters are mostly used for CI workloads, i.e. short-lived pods that do builds and run tests.
  • Easy to deploy k8s clusters of various versions.
  • Predictable pricing
  • RHEL8/CentOS8 not available.
  • No file storage, only block.
  • Unable to add UBM bare metals to VPC networks.
IBM Cloud VPC is useful when using other offerings from IBM Cloud to closely integrate them. It has feature parity with other cloud vendors while maintaining competitive pricing combined with a vast infrastructure and stability.
  • IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service
  • IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers
Thanks to IBM Cloud we were able to consolidate multiple services at one provider and use both containerized, virtualized, and bare-metal workloads together for our CI needs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 22, 2020

IBM Cloud VPC Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud for hosting our clients' host business applications. Mostly, they are internal business applications. In addition, we host a number of small web apps. We also use IBM Cloud VPC to develop POCs.
  • Easy to use and build
  • Clear costing model
  • Multiple regions
  • Unclear error message (e.g. when creating a VPC network with access to Classic resources is enabled)
  • Limited compute profiles compared to classic (e.g. no Variable compute profiles available)
IBM Cloud VPC is a good option for building and deploying a hybrid cloud strategy.
  • IBM Cloud Databases
  • IBM API Connect
Read this authenticated review
Fortune Nwaiwu | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 22, 2020

Virtual Private Cloud Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use the IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud for hosting our company's and clients' mission-critical hosted services, business applications, and data warehousing requirements. For some of our customers, we use the VPC to host their customer-facing applications, while for others, we deploy it in building hybrid clouds for maintaining business continuity.
  • Hosting customer-facing applications.
  • Maintain business continuity.
  • Improvements in how the client can define and control their virtual networks.
  • Improvements to the efficiency of deploying and managing computing, storage, and networking cloud resources.
IBM VPC offers agile scalability, managing computing and networking resources, and quick speed of deployment of applications to the cloud environment.
IBM provides excellent customer support for the VPC solution.
Read Fortune Nwaiwu's full review
Feras Diab, PMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 16, 2019

Good experience with IBM VPC

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it to develop products in our R&D department.
  • Easy to build
  • Reliable
  • Price
  • Deleting and updating
I think it is suitable when we need to have some private servers that need to integrate with each other without the need to be exposed to the external world; servers that need to access data residing in databases that need to be secured; application servers where web servers are required to process some logic.
Support was good but I think it might need some improvements as timing was not excellent. I was expecting a quicker and more comprehensive response when I asked to complete the configuration I was trying to accomplish.
Read Feras Diab, PMP's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 16, 2019

VPC is cost effective and versatile, just be prepared to brush up on IBM IAM assignments.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IBM Cloud VPC to implement data collection and to be the backend for a couple web apps. This helps our company because it provides an efficient and cost effective solution to meeting our company needs for speed, cost, and reliability. IBM Cloud VPC is versatile enough that it meets needs across several different use cases.
  • Reliable
  • Cost effective
  • Setup of specific user rights and roles could have been bucketed better instead of having to assign rights in multiple areas.
  • More straightforward access to assigning static IP and SSL to specific VPC.
It has met all the needs I have wanted from it so far outside of the fumbling through initial rights and user role setup so I could complete initial setup.
They have been fairly responsive to support requests and have even fixed a couple of bugs the team I work on has brought up.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Service-level Agreement (SLA) uptime (11)
8.0
Dynamic scaling (10)
7.6
Elastic load balancing (10)
7.4
Pre-configured templates (9)
6.9
Monitoring tools (10)
7.3
Pre-defined machine images (10)
6.8
Operating system support (11)
7.6
Security controls (10)
7.9

About IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPC)

IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) is presented by the vendor as the user's own protected space in the IBM Cloud. IBM Cloud VPC is designed to provide the advanced security of private cloud, with the agility and ease of public cloud. Define and control virtual networks in logically isolated segments of the IBM public cloud. Use VPCs to isolate and provision network segments on the IBM Cloud where users can deploy and manage compute, storage and networking cloud resources. Connect VPCs to on-premises resources to expand available capacity during peak usage times. IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud offers agile scalability for business growth, high availability for customer satisfaction, security for workloads, and lower TCO allowing users to focus on business innovations.

IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) Video

Virtual Private Cloud, or VPC, allows the user of a cloud environment to define Virtual Private Networks, manipulate them, control them, tear them down, recreate them, and deploy workloads into those definitions.

IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) Competitors

Azure Virtual Network, Amazon Virtual Private Cloud, Google Virtual Private Cloud

IBM Cloud Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No