TrustRadius
Sendgrid headquartered in Boulder, Colorado offers transactional email software.SendGrid - Not for everyone.SendGrid was being used to send emails to users who signed up for newsletters. It was being used by the organization as a whole.,SendGrid sends emails on time. Has email send reporting. Lets you customize your emails.,Analytics,1,Users unsubscribed, but open rate was improving. ROI was decent. Users were reached and the read reporting was alright.,Constant Contact, MailChimp and ActiveCampaign,AdWords, Google Analytics, Google Data StudioIf you have used (and loved) Sendgrid's Marketing platform, Transactional is a wonderful addition.Sendgrid is our core platform for marketing/transaction emails. We send a limited (flash sale) daily offer to our customer base as well as transactional order receipts, event emails, and a weekly newsletter. Our marketing department has access to Sendgrid, but the number of people in our organization who access aside from our developers is low (3 people). We are a medium sized business with only 25 employees.,Top of the list has to be deliverability. As a company with a large client base, it is paramount to ensure that these types of emails are delivered timely and accurately. Pricing for transactional is surprisingly competitive. Sendgrid leads in scalable cloud infrastructure which means that when we grow they grow with us. This eliminates the 'time-costly' need to go out and shop other options.,Custom builder suite for email templates lacks a few capabilities that other marketing products provide.,9,Increased deliverability of things like tracking numbers and invoices is key to subtly strengthening trust between us and our clients. This is invaluable. It helps us operate on a similar level as larger companies and that is something our customers expect.,Adobe Premiere Pro, Adobe Illustrator CC, Adobe PhotoshopSendGrid ensures our customers get the email notifications they want quickly and reliablyWe use SendGrid Transactional Email across several products in our organization. It's used to send billing invoices, payment receipts, and notifications of various events our customers want to know about as they happen.,SendGrid has an exceptional deliverability record. We never worry about emails making it to our customers' inboxes.,It can be difficult to best configure SendGrid, especially when setting up dedicated IP addresses and the various DNS entries needed for reliable email delivery. Settings and instructions can be spread throughout multiple pages of the SendGrid web application.,10,We send several hundred thousand emails a month, and most of these are notifications our customers pay to have in their inbox as important events happen. The ROI is clear.,Mandrill and SparkPostSendGrid - What's great & What isn'tAs a business that primarily operates through its website, we used SendGrid's transaction email service quite heavily to communicate with our users. We used the SendGrid API for event triggered emails ranging from verification emails to more sophisticated email dispatches based on user activity. As far as how it helped us resolve business problems - it's a relatively cheap service and effectively allowed us to adopt the API that adapted to our needs at the time. It's also easy to use in terms of development and definition of email dispatches.,It's cost effective. API is easy to use. Pay-as-you-go model helps project usage costs.,Actually viewing previous emails dispatched. SendGrid does not have this feature - although it provides numbers on emails dispatched within 3 days for the cheapest plan. The service asks you to pay more (although a minimal amount) to have visibility on email activity upto 30 days in the past. The API doesn't allow an export of a report of email activity over a period of time. It can be quite frustrating at times to be limited in this way. Their customer support isn't the best. Certainly some room for improvement there.,5,As it was cheaper than the transactional service we previously used, it saved costs. The API was relatively easy to work with so it helped us ship the service and test it quickly. We still use the transactional email service, even though we recognize its limits as it meets our immediate needs.,Mandrill,MailChimp, HubSpot CRM, JIRA Software2 thumbs up for SendgridSendgrid is used to send our most important transactional emails (orders confirmations and invoices).,deliverability whitelisting excellent customer support detailed logs,needs mutliple webooks for sub accounts interface could be a little faster,10,more sales are completed because of email deliverabilty professional look on emails with whitelabeling ease of use with API keeps implementation costs lower,Mailgun and Mailjet,ShieldSquare Bot Prevention Solution, CloudFlare
Unspecified
SendGrid Transactional Email
20 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

SendGrid Transactional Email Reviews

SendGrid Transactional Email
20 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 20 vetted SendGrid Transactional Email reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-8 of 8)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Jennifer Lott profile photo
July 29, 2018

SendGrid Transactional Email Review: "SendGrid - Not for everyone."

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SendGrid was being used to send emails to users who signed up for newsletters. It was being used by the organization as a whole.
  • SendGrid sends emails on time.
  • Has email send reporting.
  • Lets you customize your emails.
  • Analytics
Sending multiple emails to different lists - there was no way to really tell which email was being opened by which group.
Read Jennifer Lott's full review
Patrick Meyer profile photo
July 27, 2018

SendGrid Transactional Email Review: "If you have used (and loved) Sendgrid's Marketing platform, Transactional is a wonderful addition."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sendgrid is our core platform for marketing/transaction emails. We send a limited (flash sale) daily offer to our customer base as well as transactional order receipts, event emails, and a weekly newsletter. Our marketing department has access to Sendgrid, but the number of people in our organization who access aside from our developers is low (3 people). We are a medium sized business with only 25 employees.
  • Top of the list has to be deliverability. As a company with a large client base, it is paramount to ensure that these types of emails are delivered timely and accurately.
  • Pricing for transactional is surprisingly competitive.
  • Sendgrid leads in scalable cloud infrastructure which means that when we grow they grow with us. This eliminates the 'time-costly' need to go out and shop other options.
  • Custom builder suite for email templates lacks a few capabilities that other marketing products provide.
We've been proponents/users of their marketing email platform for many years. The ease of use that we get from the marketing side is mirrored on the transactional side. This is something that other companies don't pay much attention to and they should!
Read Patrick Meyer's full review
Dan Grossman profile photo
July 23, 2018

SendGrid Transactional Email Review: "SendGrid ensures our customers get the email notifications they want quickly and reliably"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SendGrid Transactional Email across several products in our organization. It's used to send billing invoices, payment receipts, and notifications of various events our customers want to know about as they happen.
  • SendGrid has an exceptional deliverability record. We never worry about emails making it to our customers' inboxes.
  • It can be difficult to best configure SendGrid, especially when setting up dedicated IP addresses and the various DNS entries needed for reliable email delivery. Settings and instructions can be spread throughout multiple pages of the SendGrid web application.
SendGrid would be my top recommendation for any company that needs to send transactional email. It's easy to integrate, with simple and well-documented APIs, and can handle whatever volume you need from day one.
Read Dan Grossman's full review
No photo available
October 19, 2018

SendGrid Transactional Email Review: "SendGrid - What's great & What isn't"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a business that primarily operates through its website, we used SendGrid's transaction email service quite heavily to communicate with our users. We used the SendGrid API for event triggered emails ranging from verification emails to more sophisticated email dispatches based on user activity.

As far as how it helped us resolve business problems - it's a relatively cheap service and effectively allowed us to adopt the API that adapted to our needs at the time. It's also easy to use in terms of development and definition of email dispatches.
  • It's cost effective.
  • API is easy to use.
  • Pay-as-you-go model helps project usage costs.
  • Actually viewing previous emails dispatched. SendGrid does not have this feature - although it provides numbers on emails dispatched within 3 days for the cheapest plan.
  • The service asks you to pay more (although a minimal amount) to have visibility on email activity upto 30 days in the past.
  • The API doesn't allow an export of a report of email activity over a period of time. It can be quite frustrating at times to be limited in this way.
  • Their customer support isn't the best. Certainly some room for improvement there.
If you do not mind the lack of some historic data for your website and need something that is cost effective, then SendGrid is right for you. Keeping in mind how cheap this service really is, the pros outweigh the cons up to a certain limit.

However if having historic data, better reporting and visibility on content of past emails is important to you, then go for something else (albeit a tad more expensive). That's the compromise that you'll have to decide on.
Read this authenticated review
Dave Stack profile photo
March 28, 2018

SendGrid Transactional Email Review: "2 thumbs up for Sendgrid"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sendgrid is used to send our most important transactional emails (orders confirmations and invoices).
  • deliverability
  • whitelisting
  • excellent customer support
  • detailed logs
  • needs mutliple webooks for sub accounts
  • interface could be a little faster
Great for important emails that need to get through.
Read Dave Stack's full review
Luke Abbott profile photo
September 06, 2017

SendGrid Transactional Email Review: "Email delivery that I don't have to think about"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[I'm] Using SendGrid to send transactional email, as well as updates and newsletters, for several websites that I control. Not using any of the advanced features of SendGrid, really, beyond their whitelisting, DNS-based security, and such. For the most part, it just works, and I don't have to think about it, which is wonderful. (I spent many years wrestling with mailman and the like; when I first switched to a dedicated SMTP server it was a revelation!)
  • Deliverability seems good. Never had any issues here.
  • Whitelabeling works well, making it appear that emails are being sent directly from the domain (no evidence of SendGrid anywhere except maybe if you dig into the email source).
  • Admin interface is clean and easy to use.
  • Prices used to be a little more flexible, starting at $1 and going up according to usage – and that included whitelisting and all that good stuff. Now they start at $10 a month although that does give you up to 40,000 emails a month. They also have a free plan (< 100 emails / day) but I'm not sure if it includes whitelisting.
  • Had some issues with the SendGrid API years ago. They probably fixed it, but I've since just used the SMTP endpoint with no issues.
I think it's great for transactional email, messages from your app, etc... anything sent from your server, *except* maybe newsletters and mass emails. For that, I'd rather use a MailChimp or whatnot. (Although to be honest I *am* using it for one client's WordPress website along with MailPoet, which ends up costing a fair amount less than MailChimp for her list size.)
Read Luke Abbott's full review
Jesse Spears profile photo
August 31, 2017

SendGrid Transactional Email Review: "Use SendGrid if you want transactional email to look good"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Stadio uses SendGrid Transactional Email not only for its automated sales and customer support outreach, but also for its core product. Stadio clients are provided hardware and software to design and implement a captive Wi-Fi login portal at a brick-n-mortar business where customers input personal data, then see mobile marketing for Wi-Fi access. As soon as the customer receives Wi-Fi access, Stadio uses SendGrid transactional email to automate a personalized email to the customer, curated by the Stadio client.
  • SendGrid's template editor is very easy to use with drag-n-drop functionality and great organization among template groups.
  • SendGrid customer support is top-notch. We also had onboarding training that was invaluable.
  • SendGrid subuser management and co-worker/"teammate" functionality is incredible for our own business.
  • SendGrid's template builder could still use some additional features that other email marketing services provide.
  • SendGrid should make the "tracking global unsubscribe" formattable so that it doesn't just align to the left.
  • SendGrid sometimes glitches and logs us out in-session.
SendGrid is the ideal partner for all transactional email needs. They basically provide the functionality of marketing email programs, but for transactional -- something competitors fail to do.
Read Jesse Spears's full review
Jim Rubenstein profile photo
March 07, 2017

SendGrid Transactional Email Review: "Sendgrid offers superior deliverability and a robust API - an engineer's playground."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sendgrid to deliver transaction emails to our users based on events they perform on our web properties.

The engineering department and other email performance stakeholders are the only teams that use Sendgrid. The APIs are feature-rich and allow us a lot of flexibility in sending well designed e-mails with lots of customization features.

Sendgrid's deliverability and logging is exceptional. Reaching the inbox is the most important factor we consider when choosing an e-mail vendor, and Sendgrid does not disappoint in that respect.
  • Robust API for sending large volumes of customized e-mails quickly and simply.
  • Expansive Web Interface for viewing reporting, managing e-mail domains, configurations, message templates, and more.
  • Friendly and knowledgable support staff available when the documentation is not enough.
  • Many SDKs available in different languages
  • Very affordable, with a free tier for testing features before committing.
  • Extensive white-labeling and e-mail authorization best practice features available to maximize deliverability.
  • No real-time chat support available.
  • Documentation can be convoluted in some cases, making it challenging to understand what the REST API is expecting and what the engineer should expect as a response.
  • E-mail based response times typically ~24 hours. Faster responses may be available for higher pay tiers.
Sendgrid's transactional services are a great solution so long as you have the technical resources to integrate into your systems. This is the case for most any transactional e-mail system.

Sendgrid has the added benefit of having API's available to manage configurations on the account, making it a great choice to build on top of for a product like a WordPress plugin or some other product where you want to add e-mail features without requiring your user to be technically savvy and perform a lot of DNS and other configuration changes.

If your goal is just to send email newsletters to an e-mail list, SendGrid is a vastly overpowered tool for that job. They do offer Marketing Email tools, but they seem like they play second fiddle to the transactional e-mail business. I'm sure the deliverability of their Marketing Email offering is excellent, just like their Transactional service, however the interface is built more for an engineer than it is an Email Marketer.
Read Jim Rubenstein's full review

SendGrid Transactional Email Scorecard Summary

About SendGrid Transactional Email

Sendgrid headquartered in Boulder, Colorado offers transactional email software.
Categories:  Transactional Email

SendGrid Transactional Email Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No