Vim Reviews

17 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-8 of 8)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 26, 2020

Lighting fast editor with a steep learning curve

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Notepad++
Notepad++, while being a great editor, is very easy to get familiar with. However, being a serious developer, having the most efficient tool is much more important than having an easy tool. Vim’s speed is very much faster than that of notepad++. Moreover, the amount of plugins for Vim is much more comprehensive.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2020

VIM is the ultimate text editor!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I prefer Vim simply because it's as simple as apps like Notepad, Notepad++, or gedit, but as feature rich as Microsoft Visual Studio. The startup time is quick, the response time is quick, it never freezes. Vim always "just works." Vim can be downloaded in a few seconds (if it's not already installed on your device) and it works the same everywhere.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2019

The only text editor you'll ever need!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I think it comes down to usability (and frankly, just preference). There's an old adage that Emacs is a good Operating System with a poor Text Editor!

Jokes aside, when looking at different text editors, such as Emacs or Nano, Vim is the one that is usually always preferred because of how simple it is to learn. The learning curve of Vim compared to other text editors just makes it such a natural choice.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 12, 2019

Worth the learning curve

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I spent some time learning emacs at one point and found it to have a much larger surface area of required knowledge before being productive. They are similar in that the interface is somewhat "hidden" behind keybindings and commands, but Vim's modal model makes more sense to me and was easier to get started with.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 23, 2019

Vim - Thinking With Text

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

It is hard to compare Vim to many other packages in the developer's stack of tools. It mainly does one thing, edit text, and does it better than anything else. For instance, you can't really compare it to Visual Studio Code because VS actually has a Vim plug-in so you can edit your source files using all the power of Vim, but still be working in a more robust development environment. Sublime Text is another pure text editor but it seems like the strengths of Sublime Text and Vim compliment more than compete. I would say Emacs is Vim's oldest and bitterest rival. They both have dedicated camps that have been going for decades. Emacs has it's own esoteric commands and operations but I don't know it well enough to compare with Vim. It seems you are either a Vim person or an Emacs person and Vim just resonated with me more so I pursed it instead.
Read this authenticated review
Jake Tolbert | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 14, 2019

Despite the big learning curve, Vim is the best text editor.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Notepad++
  • GNU Emacs
Vim's keybindings are a lot more complex than Notepad++. With that, comes a whole bunch of capability that Notepad++ just can't match. Emacs is comparable, in terms of capabilities--because Vim is built into so many unix systems, I chose to learn it instead of Emacs. Knowing both probably isn't a bad idea, but there's enough to learn in either camp to keep you busy.
Read Jake Tolbert's full review
Greg Garnhart | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 21, 2019

Vim: Good for quick edits, not great for other things.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Vim is a text editor that strives for simplicity. It does that well, but when you need something at the next level, take a look at the above two. Visual Studio Code is a fantastic, free code editor that makes most of my workflow easy.
Read Greg Garnhart's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 12, 2019

Vim Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I use Vim for specific use cases and others for their own purposes but all of them are being used at my work every day. Vim has its pros like it's free/open source, has a mouse free interface, is lightweight and fast, and once learned is hard to forget.
Read this authenticated review

About Vim

Vim is an open source configurable text editor.
Categories:  Text Editors

Vim Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No