TrustRadius
XenApp from Citrix is software for application virtualization, specifically for deploying needed WIndows apps across a host of devices, providing compatibility and mobile accessibility to a team of users.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/nA/x5/1K06UO3KCQ18.JPEGThe Best of Breed for Remote Application Access On Any Device, AnywhereWe use XenApp to publish all our global applications for remote access from anywhere and any device with an internet connection. It centralizes our data in US and Europe while allowing access from over 40 countries easily and securely with minimal technical support for users. It ensures our users have the latest applications they need and collaboration data is centralized securely while accessing the workflow over the internet. Because of the HDX (formerly ICA) protocol, the required bandwidth is low which is essential for our remote users in satellite locations. When there is a published application update, there is minimal downtime and we can be sure all our users have the latest and same version of published applications on XenApp because the update is done in the data center where XenApp servers are located as opposed to user desktops and laptops.,Excellent for remote satellite users with low bandwidth and high latency connection. Keeps data and applications secure in the data center as users are only getting "screenshots" of the application and mouse/keyboard inputs. Platform agnostic allowing users to access from Apple OSX, iOS, Android devices, Windows, and Linux. Allows increase user density when applications are installed on centralized servers as opposed to on user desktops and laptops.,Can be expensive for medium and small companies since there is additional cost of Windows OS and RDS cal licenses still needed in addition to XenApp. Frequent version updates (every 2-3 months) can make admin/engineer job difficult to keep the environment stable. Upgrade from 6.x to version 7.x is a dramatic change and a challenging task. There are product name changes too that cause confusion in the industry. Citrix tier 1 support is hit or miss, but specific product support such as Netscaler or PVS are great.,9,XenApp has allowed us to continue support of legacy applications and all access of those applications to users across the globe with any device. XenApp can also manage software licenses by restricting number of users, number of concurrent sessions, or combination of both to required specification. While initial investment in XenApp can be costly, continuing support and upgrade are very cost effective and product stability is excellent. While there are competing products from Microsoft and VMware, when it comes to remote application access, XenApp is the best of breed.,VMware Horizon View,VMware Horizon View, HP OpenView, Microsoft System Center Configuration ManagerXenApp - Allowing Users to Be Productive From AnywhereXenApp is being used for users who need to access business applications that are not available off-property or off-network. This allows them to work from home or other locations as if they were in the office. This application is used throughout our business both nationally and internationally and is easily accessible.,XenApp is very easy to access for anyone with an internet connection and web browser. The layout is clear and easily accessible once you are logged in. Opening programs from within XenApp is quick and simple to do.,Instructions for turning off pop-up blockers so that programs can launch would be helpful. Advising that the Citrix Receiver is required in order to open applications within Citrix would be helpful.,10,I only support users of XenApp and would not know what impact this has had on overall business objectives.,Avaya Aura Platform, Skype for Business, Bomgar Remote Support SoftwareWhy you have to select Citrix XenApp for Applications Virtualization an secure accessIn our organization, we use XenApp 6.5 and XenApp 7.5 to give access to our internal users and vendors to use applications. It [provides] secure access. We are saving [by] not implementing a firewall ACL and giving Citrix XenApp access (integrated with several domains).,Simple access to applications, secure access using icons to use the applications. Access to integrated applications with active directory security. Only the Citrix Receiver component is required to access Xenapp,Control and monitoring secure access to our vendors and users. Security is very important to us.,8,We don´t have ROI, it is only security access to our networks, DMZ and applications,VMware Horizon ViewCitrix XenApp works for us.Right now XenApp is being used by our department, but it will soon be rolled out to other departments within the organization. It addresses the problems of working remotely and securely.,Centralize control and reduce application management costs. Deliver Windows and other business apps to workers on any device. Workers are able to use devices they already own (BYOD), which cuts costs of buying new hardware.,Cost - Licensing costs are not cheap. Local printing is not installed by default. It took some time getting printing set up for each individual user. Application compatibility is an issue when Citrix XenApp is updated, we were forced into purchasing not only an update, but also new office software.,7,Positive impact in regards to desktop standardization. Up front costs are a bit high (licensing), but we should see that level out throughout the use of the product.,,JIRA Software, Atlassian ConfluenceWhatsApp; it's XenApp!!!For our configuration, XenApp is available for the entire organization using security group permissions. I allow access by user for our current structure however have implemented and managed XenApp via GPO which works quite well.,Remote accessibility is a huge plus with users on various devices that are supported. i.e. PC's, tablets, smart phones (most makes/versions) Implementation; allowing access without the need to install software on a users device. Once requested permissions are granted and the user can start pretty seamlessly regardless of devices specifications or licensing hiccups. Easily determine users connecting to specific applications to better scale growth; determining upgrade costs and licensing needs. Local resource redirection is easily manageable from both end user and IT management.,Supported version and upgrades. These can become cumbersome for IT management to speck out and plan for multiple users. This delays upgrades which then prevents Citrix Support for outdated versions. (IT knows this across the board all too well) Configuring custom or non mainstream applications can be a strain during implementation.,9,Allowing staff to complete time sensitive work. i.e. Accounting processing payroll, billing. Staff meeting deadlines for client production products. Time installing and configuring software occurrences is externally cut down. Such as personal profile configuration of toolbar's, files, shortcuts, etc. Software licenses reduced.,VMware Horizon View,Citrix ShareFile, Citrix NetScaler Access Gateway,No,Product Features Product Usability Product Reputation Vendor Reputation,My evaluation might change as per my usage of XenApp in my current environment. Not all software works as needed for company structure.
Unspecified
XenApp
41 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

XenApp Reviews<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>

XenApp
41 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 41 vetted XenApp reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-14 of 14)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Keith Kyaw, MBA, ITIL, CCA profile photo
January 30, 2018

XenApp Review: "The Best of Breed for Remote Application Access On Any Device, Anywhere"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use XenApp to publish all our global applications for remote access from anywhere and any device with an internet connection. It centralizes our data in US and Europe while allowing access from over 40 countries easily and securely with minimal technical support for users. It ensures our users have the latest applications they need and collaboration data is centralized securely while accessing the workflow over the internet. Because of the HDX (formerly ICA) protocol, the required bandwidth is low which is essential for our remote users in satellite locations. When there is a published application update, there is minimal downtime and we can be sure all our users have the latest and same version of published applications on XenApp because the update is done in the data center where XenApp servers are located as opposed to user desktops and laptops.
  • Excellent for remote satellite users with low bandwidth and high latency connection.
  • Keeps data and applications secure in the data center as users are only getting "screenshots" of the application and mouse/keyboard inputs.
  • Platform agnostic allowing users to access from Apple OSX, iOS, Android devices, Windows, and Linux.
  • Allows increase user density when applications are installed on centralized servers as opposed to on user desktops and laptops.
  • Can be expensive for medium and small companies since there is additional cost of Windows OS and RDS cal licenses still needed in addition to XenApp.
  • Frequent version updates (every 2-3 months) can make admin/engineer job difficult to keep the environment stable.
  • Upgrade from 6.x to version 7.x is a dramatic change and a challenging task. There are product name changes too that cause confusion in the industry.
  • Citrix tier 1 support is hit or miss, but specific product support such as Netscaler or PVS are great.
Large enterprises with hundreds or thousands of users across many geographical locations are ideal candidate for Citrix XenApp. For medium enterprises, Citrix also offers XenApp in the cloud which is a hybrid cloud model where management servers are in the cloud and the company can host the worker servers locally or in preferred data center setup. Xenapp is also ideal for applications that requires frequent update to users and to ensure all users have access to the same version of the application from anywhere, any device, and any type of network connection.
Read Keith Kyaw, MBA, ITIL, CCA's full review
Michael Wachter profile photo
March 03, 2018

Review: "XenApp - Allowing Users to Be Productive From Anywhere"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
XenApp is being used for users who need to access business applications that are not available off-property or off-network. This allows them to work from home or other locations as if they were in the office. This application is used throughout our business both nationally and internationally and is easily accessible.
  • XenApp is very easy to access for anyone with an internet connection and web browser.
  • The layout is clear and easily accessible once you are logged in.
  • Opening programs from within XenApp is quick and simple to do.
  • Instructions for turning off pop-up blockers so that programs can launch would be helpful.
  • Advising that the Citrix Receiver is required in order to open applications within Citrix would be helpful.
XenApp is best suited for employees who want to access business applications while at home or off the company network that they otherwise would not be able to access. People who work from home or travel a lot would benefit most from using XenApp though anyone could use it.
Read Michael Wachter's full review
Ariel Dupar profile photo
February 06, 2018

Review: "Why you have to select Citrix XenApp for Applications Virtualization an secure access"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our organization, we use XenApp 6.5 and XenApp 7.5 to give access to our internal users and vendors to use applications. It [provides] secure access.

We are saving [by] not implementing a firewall ACL and giving Citrix XenApp access (integrated with several domains).
  • Simple access to applications, secure access using icons to use the applications.
  • Access to integrated applications with active directory security.
  • Only the Citrix Receiver component is required to access Xenapp
  • Control and monitoring secure access to our vendors and users. Security is very important to us.
  • Access from the Internet to an enterprise application (SharePoint/SAP GUI, Web .NET Apps, etc).
  • Access to our DMZ zones to get vendor supports.
Read Ariel Dupar's full review
Eric Mueller, CSM, PMP profile photo
March 23, 2017

User Review: "Citrix XenApp works for us."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Right now XenApp is being used by our department, but it will soon be rolled out to other departments within the organization. It addresses the problems of working remotely and securely.
  • Centralize control and reduce application management costs.
  • Deliver Windows and other business apps to workers on any device.
  • Workers are able to use devices they already own (BYOD), which cuts costs of buying new hardware.
  • Cost - Licensing costs are not cheap.
  • Local printing is not installed by default. It took some time getting printing set up for each individual user.
  • Application compatibility is an issue when Citrix XenApp is updated, we were forced into purchasing not only an update, but also new office software.
XenApp is best suited for an organization with remote users using standard applications. It delivers apps to several devices and provides support for end-users over remote networks.
Read Eric Mueller, CSM, PMP's full review
Daniel J. Lewis profile photo
March 24, 2017

User Review: "WhatsApp; it's XenApp!!!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For our configuration, XenApp is available for the entire organization using security group permissions. I allow access by user for our current structure however have implemented and managed XenApp via GPO which works quite well.
  • Remote accessibility is a huge plus with users on various devices that are supported. i.e. PC's, tablets, smart phones (most makes/versions)
  • Implementation; allowing access without the need to install software on a users device. Once requested permissions are granted and the user can start pretty seamlessly regardless of devices specifications or licensing hiccups.
  • Easily determine users connecting to specific applications to better scale growth; determining upgrade costs and licensing needs.
  • Local resource redirection is easily manageable from both end user and IT management.
  • Supported version and upgrades. These can become cumbersome for IT management to speck out and plan for multiple users. This delays upgrades which then prevents Citrix Support for outdated versions. (IT knows this across the board all too well)
  • Configuring custom or non mainstream applications can be a strain during implementation.
Well suited for an expensive application a handful of staff uses. Also for high staff turn over limiting the multiple installations on workstations and flexibility to utilize multiple in office/remote devices/workstations.

Not well suited for power hungry applications, such as utilizing CPU, Memory, Bandwidth. Adobe products for example work fine however a strong user could see performance issues due to bandwidth and shared resources. This is when local installation is best.
Read Daniel J. Lewis's full review
No photo available
March 29, 2017

Review: "Citrix Xenapp is your one stop shop for application virtualization and offering services to low bandwidth offices."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
XenApp is used by our entire company and is a pivotal part of our IT Infrastructure. We have offices and construction trailers location through out the country and using XenApp allows us to publish the same applications and access to all of them regardless of their location. In addition it gives our home office users easy access to resources from outside the home. A second big factor in using XenApp is the need to only upgrade applications once. If we tried to run these applications locally an upgrade would be a big endeavor but with XenApp it is only needed on the actual XenApp servers and everyone has the latest and greatest. The final business problem it addresses is remote access speed. Companies that use a VPN have to deal with issues of opening large files and having them transfer over Wan links. XenApp deals with that by opening everything locally, in the same location as the files themselves, allow remote users the same speed of access as if they were sitting locally to the files.
  • Xenapp uses a proprietary system (IMA/FMA) to more quickly deliver the screen shots, mouse clicks, etc...being done on the servers back to the users screen. This system is faster than any other app delivery programs protocols and for most users the apps are fairly seamless and run as if they were local as to speed.
  • Xenapp does require some training but overall is not overly technical in nature which helps in quickly ramping up into managing and configuring it.
  • XenApp's one main goal is to publish applications to user desktops. It does that better than any other solution on the market. There are alternate ways of doing this including simply using Microsoft's built in App delivery product but you will encounter more issues and a less than happy user experience if you try to pay less and skip adding XenApp into the mix.
  • Although I recommend Xenapp in all serious VDI/remote application situations, it is expensive and will add a lot of money to any projects budget. Some places will have a hard time justifying using it vs. the built in (free) Microsoft product and this makes the cost an area they could improve on.
  • Previous versions of Xenapp were more admin friendly than the current iteration. One example would be the ability to assign values to each server in your farm such that if you had a server that you wanted less users on it was an easy task. Xenapp now divides the users evenly with little way of doing granular load balancing.
  • Another crucial missing feature of Xenapp is the ability to move users from one server to another without making them log back in. For example, if you have a server that you know is having an issue it would be helpful if we could move users off onto a healthy server without making them logoff/kicking them off.
Xenapp, which is really a part of a combo product also called Xendesktop, is well suited in any situation where you want to just publish specific applications to users vs. whole desktops (VDI). It is also a great solution for users who are remote but need a similar user experience to people who are local to data or applications being offered by a company. It even works fairly well with low bandwidth offices.
Finally Xenapp is also a good solution for a common interface across multiple devices.
Xenapp is not a good solution for any situation that will feature network and internet access
not being available at all times. People who are travelling a lot and rarely sitting in one location will be frustrated by the need to have constant internet access to access their data.
Read this authenticated review
Stephen Karras profile photo
October 18, 2016

Review: "XenApp your go to application delivery product"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
As a senior consultant, engineer, and solutions architect who specializes in virtualization and cloud technologies, I can confidently say, Citrix XenApp is THE number 1 solution on the market for application delivery. Nothing else even comes close. XenApp is currently being used by enterprises across the globe, big and small, for application delivery. The days are gone where an admin had to have access to a physical laptop and desktop to grant users access to applications necessary for the workforce to perform their jobs. With XenApp the workforce simply calls the help desk and is granted access to a new application within minutes.
  • Application delivery - Deliver any application to any user anywhere in the world.
  • Security - Data no longer exists on the users' machines. With XenApp data stays in the datacenter where it can remain safe and secure.
  • Upgrade Flexibility - Upgrade your application in once place.
  • Mobility - Access any application on any device anywhere in the world.
  • Mobility - Though mobility is outstanding, the ease of use could be a bit better.
  • Application layering - Though it has come a long way, application layering still needs some work.
  • Profile management - Citrix UPM needs work.
Anytime an enterprise or small business has a need for flexible, fast, and mobile application delivery on any device, XenApp is a no brainer. With XenApp you can deliver any application, to any user, on any device, anywhere in the world. For business continuity and flexibility, it doesn't get any better than that.
Read Stephen Karras's full review
Derick Stinson profile photo
May 06, 2016

"Xenapp review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We have an application that is a fat client app that needs to be delivered to our clients. Citrix's Xenapp is the perfect delivery method as it provides a secure easy method for those deliverables. It addresses the problems of having to deploy new releases to multiple users by deploying to a set of load balanced servers.

  • Load balancing servers
  • Ease of deployment of applications to end users
  • Centralized application management
  • Better user logging without using Edgesight would be nice
  • Better legacy app support
  • Better application streaming support
Its not appropriate for power users in my organization who use a lot of SQL tools, Visual Studio etc.
Read Derick Stinson's full review
Jordan Berkebile profile photo
September 25, 2015

User Review: "XenApp 6.5"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use XenApp across the whole organization to provide users across the world with access to their important applications, anywhere and anytime. We utilize XenApp, Web Interface, Provisioning, and STA/XML Broker servers to accomplish this. Applications are streamed from the server, and users access these applications through an accessible published web interface site.
  • Provides seamless access to published applications and desktops.
  • Provides security with the use of NetScalers, STA/SML Brokers, and controlling how applications appear and who they are published to.
  • Ease of publishing and configuring applications.
  • Customizability.
  • Citrix error messages are sometimes vague and provide little insight into the cause of a particular problem.
  • EdgeSight server can be hit or miss as far as servers consistently checking in.
  • There are known issues with smart card detection within ICA sessions, causing issues with users accessing published web applications that require smart card for authentication. I have been troubleshooting this with Citrix Techs for months now. XenDesktop 7.6 supposedly offers improvements in smart card detection within ICA sessions.
XenApp is very well suited whenever there is a need to provide published applications or desktops to a group, department, or organization of users. I would definitely recommend it due to its scalability, security, ease of use and deployment, and its ability to provide a seamless desktop and application experience for its users.
Read Jordan Berkebile's full review
No photo available
May 24, 2016

XenApp Review: "Still the king."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
XenApp is used in organization wide to deliver a consistent application experience across multiple platforms. We use XenApp to publish full blown desktop applications to mobile devices and for delivery to physical and virtual desktops (XenDesktop).
  • As previously mentioned, XenApp allows us to provide a consistent user experience no matter what device they are on. This can be their workstation on their desk, their own BYOD laptop regardless of OS, and mobile device.
  • By delivering our XenApp servers with Citrix Provisioning Services, XenApp empowers our IT staff by giving them centralized management and version control of applications "out on the floor".
  • The ICA protocol allows our users to have the best possible experience when they are on the go.
  • NS Insight also gives us visibility into all of the important metrics to troubleshoot and/or optimize policies to fine tune the user experience.
  • From an administrators point of view, XenApp requires that an engineer "know the full stack". There are competitors out there that are trending towards moving the management and infrastructure layers into AaS (As a Service) models.
  • Multi-Site support has recently been addressed with FMA, but previous to the current (bleeding edge version) this was a major pain point that was supported in previous (6.5) versions.
  • Deeper Linux support!
Because of it's versatility, I hesitate to think of XenApp as a niche product. The largest hindrances would revolve around resources; sufficient storage, virtualization, memory last but not least human resources (trained engineers). XenApp as a whole has a tendency to expose shortcomings in an environment that may have gone unnoticed prior to deployment. This can be a shortage of IOPS in the storage array, over subscription of CPU/Memory in the hypervisor or a lack of general Systems Administration skills.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 29, 2016

User Review: "XenApp in Your World"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use XenApp to publish internal applications to end users without having to install 10-24 different applications on each computer. By doing this we have a central location with all of our applications. We can easily maintain and update the applications from one location (our data center). It is used for everyone in our company. It also is great that we can access our applications at home securely.
  • Load balacing
  • Scalability
  • Remote Access
  • Management of Applications and Users
  • XenApp 7 is a lot different than previous versions of XenApp. There is more configuration needed for it to work than before.
  • Easier way to shadow application sessions.
  • Cost is high for the licensing.
XenApp is great for both small organizations and large organizations. If you have a lot of applications you need to access for end users, or your users work from home, or are on the road a lot then XenApp will help get them the access they need. You do not have to worry about installing on multiple computers and keeping those computers updated.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 28, 2015

XenApp Review: "DoD deployment works well."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
XenApp is deployed in a data center supporting Department of Defense clients. It supports multiple clients with a broad use base. The environment consists of developmental (sandbox), production, and test. Some clients are leveraging XenApp exclusively for published desktops and others are hosting workhorse development applications for SQL development. The goal is to allow effective consolidation of resources for multiple customers by leveraging shared resources.
  • Application hosting: Citrix has been doing this for a long time, and they overcome the complaints and issues in the previous release with the return of XenApp in this newest version.
  • Resource monitoring and load balancing.
  • Administration: Application management is greatly improved in XenApp 7.6. Everything is consolidated into a single console and deploying groups of applications to users has continued to improve.
  • More intuitive installation instructions, better documentation.
  • Adding additional Delivery Controllers post initial configuration is a bear. It requires a complex series of steps to add each additional Controller if they are not configured during initial setup.
  • Name changes to known products continues to be a problem for Citrix.
The environment in which we deploy this solution spans multiple operating systems and requires special security requirements. XenApp scales well and overall has a great set of features that no other competition can compete with. They also price well at the corporate level which makes dynamic environments work well as they scale up.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 25, 2015

"XenApp 6.5 Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
XenApp is used to farm out our HIS and EMR systems to all clinical personnel both on site and remotely. Being able to limit the number of installations of our software on a minimum number of XenApp servers allows us the ability to quickly update the software and maintain a consistent user environment for all users.
  • Seamless app deployment - Users are presented with the applications as if they were locally installed onto their desktops.
  • Citrix Universal Printing - Using the Citrix Universal print driver, issues printing at the workstations have decreased by 50%.
  • Citrix Receiver - There is a Citrix receiver for almost all machine types. Physicians connect to their applications using Microsoft, Apple (desktop and mobile) Linux and Android receivers.
  • Citrix Shadow sessions will not work correctly if the user has multiple monitors.
  • Migration between XenApp levels is not a smooth process.
What functionality is needed for the use? Will Xen Desktop (vdi) be needed> Licensing for Citrix is not cheap.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 18, 2015

"Xenapp review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
XenApp is used across our entire organization. Almost every department has users who access at least one application via Citrix XenApp. XenApp allows us to quickly give users access to applications without having to install it on the user's PC. It also allows the users to access their applications from anywhere and from any device.
  • Scales easily
  • Flexible
  • Reliable
  • New versions of Xenapp always bring new and different challenges (bugs) that must be resolved. So upgrading from version to version can be painful (though that could be said of any application).
Some applications do not work well in a multi-user setup. But as long as your application can be run on a server by multiple users simultaneously, it may be a good candidate for XenApp.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Application support (14)
8.6
Device support (14)
9.2
Ease of deployment (13)
7.1
Application packaging (10)
8.1
Security (14)
9.2

About XenApp

XenApp from Citrix is software for application virtualization, specifically for deploying needed WIndows apps across a host of devices, providing compatibility and mobile accessibility to a team of users.

XenApp Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No