TrustRadius
Avamar from EMC is a data center backup and data deduplication solution.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/aI/R0/XR85968C59OQ.pngAvamar on my mindAvamar is being used like a cross-cutting service by the whole company to ensure the backup of important and critical information. Every department who owns a service or server and needs a backup uses our Avamar delivering services. Avamar addresses problems, especially from users, such as users who delete files or folders. Also sometimes we need to use Avamar to restore information from several servers.,Avamar uses two cache files to speed the backup process which works very well. Avamar is an object-oriented backup tool and has a very good granularity. Works fine with virtual servers and VDSL.,Avamar agent upgrade is tedious. Avamar needs to work to create something like RedHat Satellite to upgrade all the agents with one unique process.,8,Avamar is not the core of our business but it is important in that it gives us security in disaster recovery. Avamar has had a poor ROI. It has cost more [than it has returned].,Data Protector (formerly HP Data Protector),OpenText ECM, VMware vCenter Server, Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL)Avamar backup solutionAvamar is our companies backup solution. We use it to backup all servers in the environment as well as Exchange mail and file servers. A good backup solution is necessary in order to resolve issues that range from accidentally deleted files to crypto viruses which have corrupted an entire operating system.,Creation of retention policies which can be applied to multiple backup sets. This eases administration as you can apply the retention policy across the board. Creation of data sets which can then be added to backup policies. Ability to easily manage backups and restores.,The system is a little complicated at first, getting to know the terminology is important as it will help to make you an efficient administrator of Avamar. RTO can be slow depending on what system you are using in the background and how much data you are moving.,7,Avamar, as any backup solution that is properly implemented would, has saved our organization countless hours of work by being able to recover files accidentally deleted or moved. It has also helped us recover from crytpo locker situations by being able to restore over infected systems. The only negative is the relative slowness of recovery for exchange databases. When we had on-prem exchange and were required to complete a legal hold it would take days to recover and save the databases for the legal hold process. Now we're in O365 and it takes minutes using Microsoft Native legal hold process.,Enterprise Level Backup SolutionWe use Avamar as our data center backup platform. We have been using Avamar for the past 5 years and have had great success. Our environment is completely virtual and we use the backup solution to not only backup the data within a server using the backup agents but we also use Avamar to backup the VMs.,Avamar's deduplication technology is extremely efficient. Each backup of a server is considered a full backup but only changed bits for data are copied. The backup process is almost as easy as set it and forget it. Once the policy and schedules are created Avamar works and works without issues. It is very rare we have any failed backups. Avamar offers a wide range of backup agents and a very customizable backup configuration,Initial purchase cost is on the high end. After initial support package has expired the cost to renew is extremely high. Media export option is lacking on features and then using exported media for restore is a cumbersome process.,7,Much less time spent managing backups (Configuration and tape changes). Successful backups. 99+% of all our backups are successful,Symantec Backup Exec,Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager), Ipswitch MOVEit, Microsoft SQL ServerAvamar reviewAvamar is used to support the entire organization's backup strategy. It supports our need to have a reliable backup solution that is scalable and can be managed by various members of our IT staff. It allows our team to effectively manage the backup environment while not relying on the vendor to do day to day activities.,It is scalable It is effective at managing storage volumes Very easy to use.,Less complex setup Integration with VMware needs some attention,8,Hard to measure a ROI on a backup solution Has allowed us to support the close to realtime effort to restore from backups Allows us to store at another location to support our DR strategyAvamar - Expensive but it does what it says it does... almost.Avamar was purchased as an enterprise wide solution. It was used around the world at all of our locations, and would back up all of our data to our centralized data center. From there data would replicate to our disaster recovery site.,Avamar's deduplication and compression rate of data in transit and on disk was impressive. Once everything was going I was able to backup my entire enterprise in a 12 hour window. Prior to that backups that were only getting one site were taking 5 days. Avamar is the only product that I have found that can backup data that is replicated by Microsoft DFSR.,Cost. Avamar is too expensive. The tape out feature is garbage. It's repackaged Legato Networker and while I never worked with Legato Networker before, I can say it didn't take much for it stop working with Avamar.,7,Avamar shrank my backup window from 5 days to 12 hours.,BackupExec, Symantec NetBackup Appliance and Veeam ONE
Unspecified
Avamar
25 Ratings
Score 7.1 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Avamar Reviews

Avamar
25 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.1 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2018
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 25 vetted Avamar reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-11 of 11)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Juan Ignacio Carriches Alvarez profile photo
January 29, 2019

User Review: "Avamar on my mind"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Avamar is being used like a cross-cutting service by the whole company to ensure the backup of important and critical information. Every department who owns a service or server and needs a backup uses our Avamar delivering services.
Avamar addresses problems, especially from users, such as users who delete files or folders. Also sometimes we need to use Avamar to restore information from several servers.
  • Avamar uses two cache files to speed the backup process which works very well.
  • Avamar is an object-oriented backup tool and has a very good granularity.
  • Works fine with virtual servers and VDSL.
  • Avamar agent upgrade is tedious. Avamar needs to work to create something like RedHat Satellite to upgrade all the agents with one unique process.
Avamar is an object-oriented backup but works better with medium/big sized objects than small sized objects.
Avamar does not have the Hot Backup functionality, this is why Avamar works better with big/medium sized document repository and does not work well for ECM environments.
Read Juan Ignacio Carriches Alvarez's full review
No photo available
December 10, 2018

User Review: "Avamar backup solution"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Avamar is our companies backup solution. We use it to backup all servers in the environment as well as Exchange mail and file servers. A good backup solution is necessary in order to resolve issues that range from accidentally deleted files to crypto viruses which have corrupted an entire operating system.
  • Creation of retention policies which can be applied to multiple backup sets. This eases administration as you can apply the retention policy across the board.
  • Creation of data sets which can then be added to backup policies.
  • Ability to easily manage backups and restores.
  • The system is a little complicated at first, getting to know the terminology is important as it will help to make you an efficient administrator of Avamar.
  • RTO can be slow depending on what system you are using in the background and how much data you are moving.
Compared to other backup systems it is very comparable. It is a standard backup solution so shares commonality with many other solutions such as Backup Exec, Veeam, etc. The nice part is that if you have EMC storage then integration works very well as it is an EMC product. Most of the time organizations are going to stick with the backup solution they have rather than make a radical change.
Read this authenticated review
Brian Munn profile photo
November 20, 2017

Avamar Review: "Enterprise Level Backup Solution"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Avamar as our data center backup platform. We have been using Avamar for the past 5 years and have had great success. Our environment is completely virtual and we use the backup solution to not only backup the data within a server using the backup agents but we also use Avamar to backup the VMs.
  • Avamar's deduplication technology is extremely efficient. Each backup of a server is considered a full backup but only changed bits for data are copied.
  • The backup process is almost as easy as set it and forget it. Once the policy and schedules are created Avamar works and works without issues. It is very rare we have any failed backups.
  • Avamar offers a wide range of backup agents and a very customizable backup configuration
  • Initial purchase cost is on the high end.
  • After initial support package has expired the cost to renew is extremely high.
  • Media export option is lacking on features and then using exported media for restore is a cumbersome process.
Size of company or data center. Avamar is well suited for larger data centers with lots of data and companies are are willing to purchase the replication grids.

For smaller companies Avamar is cost prohibitive. Avamar is designed for large companies and lots of data.
Read Brian Munn's full review
No photo available
April 19, 2017

"Avamar review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Avamar is used to support the entire organization's backup strategy. It supports our need to have a reliable backup solution that is scalable and can be managed by various members of our IT staff. It allows our team to effectively manage the backup environment while not relying on the vendor to do day to day activities.
  • It is scalable
  • It is effective at managing storage volumes
  • Very easy to use.
  • Less complex setup
  • Integration with VMware needs some attention
It's well suited for an environment that that is larger in scale and provides the ability for engineers to easily create backup schedules. It may not be suited for smaller organizations that may not have much to backup or benefit from an enterprise class level backup solutions.
Read this authenticated review
Jarod Cummings profile photo
April 08, 2016

Review: "Avamar - Expensive but it does what it says it does... almost."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Avamar was purchased as an enterprise wide solution. It was used around the world at all of our locations, and would back up all of our data to our centralized data center. From there data would replicate to our disaster recovery site.
  • Avamar's deduplication and compression rate of data in transit and on disk was impressive. Once everything was going I was able to backup my entire enterprise in a 12 hour window. Prior to that backups that were only getting one site were taking 5 days.
  • Avamar is the only product that I have found that can backup data that is replicated by Microsoft DFSR.
  • Cost. Avamar is too expensive.
  • The tape out feature is garbage. It's repackaged Legato Networker and while I never worked with Legato Networker before, I can say it didn't take much for it stop working with Avamar.
Avamar does what it says it does. If you have the budget it's worth the purchase. It falls very short on tape archival, however.
Read Jarod Cummings's full review
Rodney Barnhardt profile photo
October 12, 2015

Review: "Avamar Backup and Recovery Ensures Your Data is Protected"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At the time of its purchase, Avamar was used to replace a variety of products. This was a mix of BackupExec, NetBackup, PureDisk, and vRanger. The idea was to be able to monitor and manage all enterprise backups with a single tool and from a single console. Currently, Avamar backs up the production servers and network attached storage in our primary data center. This includes not only physical servers, but the entire virtual environment as well. The Avamar agent is also installed on the physical servers located at our remote plants. This allows the backup to perform deduplication on the remote server and only send the needed data back to the grid. The greatly reduces network traffic over the WAN. In addition, the NDMP accelerator nodes were purchased two years after the initial purchase. This was to enable us to backup the new network attached storage where our primary file shares were going to be migrated.
  • Avamar performs data deduplication on the remote host. This greatly reduces the amount of traffic that each backup requires. This even applies to the virtual environment through change block tracking. Backup times are reduced from hours to minutes.
  • The management interface makes it easy to configure and maintain data retention periods. Many times certain data must be kept for an extended period of time. There is a specific menu for managing retention periods.
  • The system is able to recover itself from a hard failure with virtually no loss of backups. There is a checkpoint taken each day that provides a recovery point in the event of a catastrophic failure. Since this is a node based system, the loss of more than one node could require a recovery be performed.
  • While another grid must be purchased, the replication utility allows all backups to be replicated to another grid at a remote location. This ensures the resilience of the backups in the event there is the loss of the primary data center.
  • The upgrade process is rather complicated. It needs to be performed by EMC support, and there are a lot of diagnostics and test that must be performed ahead of scheduling the upgrade. Some additional modules such as the NDMP accelerator must be upgraded as part of a separate process.
  • Interoperability with other EMC products is not always seamless or immediate. An upgrade may require another EMC product be upgraded before there full interoperability returns.
  • Maintenance renewals can be a headache if different modules were purchased at different times. You need to make sure your new purchases are aligned with the renewals of your existing hardware. This is referred to as "co-terming".
The integration to Exchange can be rather difficult. When a new version is released, this process is complicated from the fact that there are several agents that have to be installed to work with Exchange. This is particularly true if you want the ability to perform a GLR restore. All agents must be installed, which requires a reboot, then then new agents installed and configured.
Read Rodney Barnhardt's full review
Tim Knarr profile photo
October 09, 2015

User Review: "Avamar, Tape Robot Terminator!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Avamar is our primary backup system, backing up over 40 servers, including those over the WAN. We partner with another organization for our offsite push and we are their offsite location. Avamar would allow us to get up and running to quickly deploy our systems in another area of the country quickly is a natural disaster. We also use it for one off restores on file issues. The bare metal restore works well and quick in an all out server corruption.
  • Data deduplication is the best feature. The amount of data backed up to space used has been impressive.
  • Ease of backing up whole VMs with vCenter integration makes a bare metal restore really easy.
  • Because of the deduplication, the backup times are really quick and don't heavily impact the servers. Also makes it really light over the WAN.
  • The client interface has constant JAVA issues and can be slow and chunky. We have often had issues with current versions of JAVA breaking it so it will not even run.
  • The backup clients are split out for function. Although this makes them light, it also makes it cumbersome to upgrade clients. The naming scheme can also be confusing for the clients.
For a small business, it is cost prohibitive. For anyone who needs to back up over the WAN or has a large number of servers, it is a great solution. This is especially so if your server OSs are consistent across your organization. The dedup level and speed increases so much when your server level is equal across the board. The quality of our hardware has been really good as well. Over the five years of use, we have not dropped a drive or had a hardware failure.
Read Tim Knarr's full review
Kevin Belonzi profile photo
December 28, 2015

Review: "Avamar is key when raising the bar for Data Protection."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Avamar is being used across the entire organization as one of our two sources of Backup/Restore protection of our Virtual Environment. It addresses any issues we may have with VMs that go down and need to be restored by using their image level backup process we have in place within the Avamar software suite.
  • Backs up and restores quite easily. This is a huge benefit for our team members that come in green to the software as it is easy to use.
  • It is versatile in [the ways in] which you can expand and improve performance by adding proxy servers to help with the load of backups within different departments within the company.
  • Installation is a breeze! This also helps when a need for expansion or proxy servers occur, it's a simple template that can be deployed within VCenter to have it up and running in no time at all.
  • Interaction with the VMware software products. We've noticed quite a few glitches with failed backups where when they fail they leave snapshots out there with files that are locked by the proxy server still having the disks attached to it from certain VMs which causes the need to manually disconnect those disks and then perform a consolidation on the VM that failed. This can prove to be a great inconvenience as the machine will continue to fail until the problem is rectified.
Avamar is well suited for larger environments that use a virtual infrastructure such as VMware. However, I would not recommend Avamar to outfits that are not using virtual software.
Read Kevin Belonzi's full review
Rhapsody Budiono profile photo
October 09, 2015

User Review: "Avamar Backup"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Avamar as a backup. The only problem we see is that sometimes the backup is slow. The support; however, is really helpful and responsive. We had a lot of issues fixed by the support team.
  • Accurate Backup
  • Best Support Team
  • Never Broke Down
  • Slow Performance
  • Better UI
Read Rhapsody Budiono's full review
No photo available
July 14, 2016

"EMC Avamar Backup appliance review."

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use one Avamar appliance to back up servers and then replicate to another Avamar appliance.
  • Avamar is very reliable when it comes to backing up servers. I rarely have a backup fail, where as with Backup Exec, we had backups fail every night.
  • Avamar is also very reliable when it comes to restoring data. I have never had a restore fail.
  • Avamar backs up and restores data very quickly.
  • User interface is terrible and it takes a while to figure out where to find what you need.
  • If something goes wrong you just get an error code instead of any kind of explanation of error.
  • Most issues have to be solved by EMC support, so you always have to keep a support contract on Avamar.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 23, 2016

Review: "Ding Dong the Tapes are dead - Avamar backups just work!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Avamar for both image level and file level backups for VMs, most of which were Windows 2008 servers. We were able to set retention policies that satisfied SOX requirements for financially relevant servers. General file server backups were also taken and restored on a regular basis as requested by end users.
  • File level recovery is quick and easy. No more searching for sets of tapes to restore incremental backups.
  • Backup speed is excellent due to de-duplication.
  • The user interface is fairly intuitive and is easy to train junior level technicians on basic functions.
  • End user perception of data integrity is improved and confidence is high.
  • Avamar is scaleable but expansion is expensive.
  • Storage management could be improved regarding checking real-time available space. Nodes seemed to always be out of sync.
  • Corrupt snapshots were sometimes a problem. Not always, but at least once a quarter.
There are still some finance departments that require archives on physical media. What choices are available and what are the methods to export to a chosen media? How would one go about restoring data from this media?
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Universal recovery (9)
7.0
Live recovery (11)
8.8
Recovery verification (9)
8.0
Business application protection (10)
8.4
Multiple backup destinations (10)
7.4
Incremental backup identification (10)
8.5
Backup to the cloud (5)
7.0
Deduplication and file compression (11)
8.9
Snapshots (7)
8.7
Flexible deployment (2)
8.0
Management dashboard (3)
7.4
Platform support (3)
8.5
Retention options (3)
9.3
Encryption (3)
8.2

About Avamar

Avamar from EMC is a data center backup and data deduplication solution.

Avamar Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No