TrustRadius
Nagios provides monitoring of all mission-critical infrastructure components. Multiple APIs and community-build add-ons enable integration and monitoring with in-house and third-party applications for optimized scaling.https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/Yy/Hj/CZI5ENI9SM1A.PNGPowerful Monitoring toolWe use Nagios along with several hundred custom checks to monitor our environment and customer environments. We have been running Nagios Open source for 15 years, I have been directly involved in managing it for 5 years. It addresses our need for Systems monitoring and works alongside many other tools in our Open source Ecosystem,Endpoint Monitoring Raising Issues Network Monitoring,Steep Learning curve Highly customizable to a fault,10,Faster response times to issue Better fine grained metrics Lowe cost then previous tools,ConnectWise Automate (formerly LabTech), SolarWinds N-central and WhatsUp Gold,Elasticsearch, Apache KafkaNagios: DIY Full Stack MonitoringWe use Nagios to monitor our servers to make sure they are online and healthy. We use it in addition to third-party monitoring services so we have redundancy in monitoring. Nagios tells us if the host is up or not and if any of its services are struggling. The ability to monitor services is nice because it gives us an early warning and we can fix problems before they become critical. We are using Nagios to monitor basic services like web servers and databases.,It can monitor just about anything because of its extensive plugin directory. It's free, so it is a great solution if you are on a limited budget. It can be customized any way you'd like, so you have complete control over the delivery and presentation of notifications.,It's built by engineers for engineers so setting it up and configuring it is relatively complicated. It could really use a simplified configuration approach, or a GUI to set it up instead of editing config files. I'd like to see the option to have service notification settings inherited from the host setting notifications. They have to be set up separately but they are often the same, so it would be nice to have less redundancy.,8,Positive: Nagios has saved us money. Positive: Nagios has given us early warning of systems in trouble and we were able to fix them before it got worse. Negative: The amount of time spent configuring it was more than I'd like. We take a "set it and forget it" approach to Nagios, so when it needs tuning we have to familiarize ourselves with the configuration.Efficiency and robustness in the monitoring of network assets.We use Nagios to monitor applications and computing resource conditions, alerting us when there are any unusual events. We also use it for generating data and network maps that we monitor.,Monitor applications and computing resources. Alert admins or administration groups by email. Generate diverse statistics and monitored network maps.,Easier installation of Nagios. There was a situation I experienced in which I monitored servers from some clients where I could not access them when they were behind a firewall doing NAT. I had to solve by applying a parameter in the commands.cfg file. Problems with Network Configuration.,10,Nagios is the best answer for network asset failures. Troubleshooting as soon as detected. Allows better management of work orders for IT assets.,,Zabbix, PRTG Network Monitor, WhatsUp GoldDo you Nagios your infrastructure?We use Nagios all over the organization. We have several departments and each one uses an instance of Nagios to monitor their applications and infrastructure. The most important department that uses Nagios is our Networks Operations Center team. They are monitoring all our infrastructure 24/7 and configuring alerts to notify users about the status of their applications.,Monitoring infrastructure status Alerts about infrastructure status Reporting about services and checks,You need experience to configure checks. Would like to see a cloud solution.,9,Positive impact: get alerts on any issue we have. Positive impact: make a decision quickly if an issue comes up.,,New RelicNagios - Open Source Network MonitoringNagios is being used to monitor and report on the utilization of some of our network hardware. It's primary use is restricted to our IT department, with a couple of additional users. We use it to monitor switch status, and mated with MRTG Nagios gives us bandwidth detail on a per port basis.,Up/Down Alerting. Monitoring of supported applications (SQL, Exchange, etc). Upon an alert, Nagios' ability to fire off scripts allows us to either fix problems automatically or gather data about an issue as soon as it happens.,Support for third party applications and hardware relies heavily on open source community driven plugins. Deploying new platforms to Nagios can be a bit of a job because of this, often plugins are unpolished, undocumented or outright broken. You have to be willing to spend some time tweaking to make this worth while. The Nagios UI is not the best. Even with the new update, it's still quite evident that it's an updated version of an old system. While it's hard to re-arrange a tool like this, there comes a time when a UI overhaul is just what you have to do. Nagios was quite obviously built to focus on alerting and event management. Attempting to use it also as a data collection tool can be frustrating and require a lot of plugins.,8,I know when I've got an outage before the phone rings. We often have dispatched techs and are working to resolve our issues long before our customers notice. Nagios allows us to plan for future bottlenecks, there is very little reason to ever be surprised by a utilization issue. Nagios has cost us heavily in man hours to get running and comfortable. However cost on back of man hours is better than live environment outages any day.,Zabbix and Spiceworks,Icinga,7,2,Up/Down Alerting Resource Management Uptime calculation Resource Utilization predictions,By following strings of alerts as a failure happens we can easily identify the location of an outage and in moments get an idea of services effected.,We're really hoping to see Nagios catch up to some of our competitors in reporting and data collection.,6,No,Price Product Features Product Usability Product Reputation,With all the monitoring systems we evaluated, I don't think I spent enough time focused on importing data and customizing alerts. Instead of loading a couple of machines and doing some simple testing, I would have loaded our whole environment and attempted to use the solution in a real world scenario for a month. There have been a lot of customization related questions that came out after installation that could have been answered in the evaluation period.,Monitoring a supported platform is extremely easy to set up. Setting up email alerting works exactly as it should. Finding possible solutions in the community plugins is easy, however sometimes the configuration isn't so well documented.,Configuration in Nagios relies heavily on text files. Graphing data is not supported out of the box, it requires additional plugins that can be complex to integrate.,4Nagios in the beginning use stages in Higher EducationWe are currently in the beginning stages of use with Nagios. We have it set up to monitor several hosts. It is being used to monitor only specific devices at this time. The goal for us is to use it to monitor devices that we deem critical to day to day operations.,It can tell when a device is online or not. It can tell whether a particular service is accessible or not. It can notify when a device or service is no longer available. The Birdseye View is a nice overview of devices.,The web user interface could be better. The home dashboard needs to have more information. The home dashboard should give more insight into what is down and why. It would be nice if it had an agent to put on servers to monitor more things. However, I am not sure that is the real purpose of Nagios. Just a suggestion of a feature I would like to see perhaps in the future.,8,We are using a free version at this time. So, ROI is not relevant to us. From what we see we do like the product. Metrics that show things such as free disk space are useful.,,Power Admin PA Server Monitor, Barracuda Load Balancer, Barracuda NG FirewallNagios Core : A viable alternative....if you have the timeAs an alternative to a paid solution, Nagios Core was implemented as a monitoring tool for several servers. The solution if successful would have been rolled out to all servers in the organization providing a solid monitoring appliance at no cost.,Extreme customization through add-ons provided by a wide community of users. Simple yet effective interface. Provides essential information to the administrator in an easily readable format. Best part, the Core version is free and fully functional. Runs on Linux and is fairly light. The configuration of the application can easily be backed up for DR purposes. In most cases a simple compressed folder wold suffice. Allows agent\agentless monitoring.,Takes some work to get running. Installation documentation while complete was not always clear necessitating a trip to various help forums. Unless the XL version is used. Installation of add-ons in Nagios Core can be difficult as most depend on creator supplied documentation. At times provided instructions made assumptions which resulted in a lot of time in extra research to get them installed. Built in reports are simplistic. No realtime graphing unless an add-on is installed. Lack of a proper installation file\script. Install of the application is done mainly via CLI and by running supplied commands. This may turn away some users.,7,Nagios Core is free and runs on Linux. This allowed us to leverage older existing hardware, essentially deploying a monitoring solution at no cost. Due to the complexity of the initial configuration, a lot of time needs to be devoted to the product. This may result in employee resources being removed from more vital tasks.,Zabbix and WhatsUp Gold,LibreOfficeNagios - You get what you don't pay forNagios was used as an open source system health monitoring tool by the IT security department. The tool allows you to receive alerts when system health is not at an acceptable level. It addresses the need for dedicated system administrators manually checking and validating system health on a daily basis.,Network Monitoring - Nagios monitors the network for problems caused by overloaded data links or network connections, as well as monitoring routers, switches. Server Monitoring - Agent and agentless monitoring solutions available with a multitude of plugins. Application Monitoring - Detect application, service or process problems.,Interface - The interface can be pretty confusing at times and could use a bit of work. Support - Easier to find help in community forums rather than calling for support since it is an open-source tool.,3,I think having it was a waste of time. It was implemented by a person prior to my arrival and was set up halfway. It took more time for me to learn the product than it was actually viewed or used.Nagios keeps us on our toesWe have been using Nagios since the beginning of our business. Nagios has been an important necessity to monitor our servers as well as server services. We currently monitor over 1000+ instances of Nagios for our servers in our internal IT department as well as clients' private servers to ensure they remain stable and ensure uptime.,Monitor server uptime via ping options Monitor server services such as HTTP, load, and server resources Alert us to any issues a server might have so we can look into them right away,Minimal support as there is mostly just a user-based support community instead of the typical customer support option If someone was new at setting it up, it's a time-consuming configuration in order to get the return/results you are looking for Some security concerns since it is open source and any hackers can access the code to find vulnerabilities,10,Upcharge for monitoring services. Cost savings since we are monitoring all services at once. We have less need for data center staff checking on servers as Nagios will alert us to issues that can be remedied before a server is locked up.,,Microsoft Exchange, cPanel, CentOSThe Best Infrastructure Monitoring ToolWe use Nagios to monitor our servers, printers, and network devices. It is an excellent tool for getting a quick eye on your network and deciding if anything needs action preemptively. It has alerts you can configure that also keeps you immediately aware of items that need action NOW. I use this software every day and many times throughout the day.,The software alerts me when servers are running low on disk space. Nagios keeps me aware when a server is being heavily utilized with CPU/RAM. This software even lets us know when printers are low on toner.,It would be nice to create alerts from the web interface. You need to have some background knowledge of Linux to use this software. The initial configuration is a little tricky.,9,This software keeps my hosts running! It allows me to take action before there is a critical event or downtime. I am able to predict when items are going to become an issue.,,Microsoft Exchange, JIRA Service Desk, Graylog, SolarWinds Kiwi Syslog ServerNagios Empowered MonitoringAs Nagios was the first monitoring system available for users about 15 years ago, I decided to implement the monitoring solution for a few dozen servers in the organization. However over time, the server-count had increased to 500+ while service-counts increased to 5000+. Nagios continued to remain stable for years on a simple dual-core(2Gb machine). Its ability to proactively detect issues in the system keeps our engineers informed hours (or days) ahead of a pending disaster. As Nagios employes both Pull & Push Monitoring, implementing the plugins behind a firewall was never a hassle. Customizations were simple as any engineer with basic computer language knowledge can create plugins within minutes. I specifically choose bash, java & php as that's more familiar to me, while others chose Python,Perl or C#. I have configured Nagios with the following technologies for better user experience. MySQL (Storage & Retrieval) using the NDOUtil NRDP (For push alerting when your servers are not accessible due to firewall rules)Pnp4Nagios (for basic RRD graphing - I have tweaked the RRD settings to allow granular data over months of storage) Grafana (for easy aggregated graphing, dashboards, heat-maps, alerts, user ),Ability to monitor the Application Logic - Regardless of the language the application was written, a simple plugin script can be quickly constructed to measure the key matrix of a running application (memory, heap, cpu%, db-conns, limits, delays in functions). Open Source and the largest community of developers. There's a plugin for everything, including surveillance equipment, cameras, big-data analysis, AWS & Microsoft services. Over 10,000 plugins are available. The Nagios data can be stored and plotted to any serial graphing system. We chose Grafana as it supports query graphing & dashboards.,Configuring and deploying the various open source plugins can be troublesome at first. It takes a bit of patience to connect all the various components (Nagios, NDOUtils, MySQL, NRDP, Pnp4Nagios, Batch-Processing, Grafana). Most configurations are done through the command & configuration files. Although it has exceptional tuning, there is a moderate learning curve. The Nagios UI might need better CSS styling as it still has the year 2005 look and feel. Although there are several mediocre UIs available, the heart of Nagios lies in monitoring.,10,The only running cost for Nagios was the server hosting which was under 20$/month (for a few dozen servers/ hundreds of services). As our system had grown to 5000+ services, the charges were under 100$/month. The software and all components were open-source. As the Nagios community is large, getting help was just a few hours away. Due to the complexity involved with initial installation and configurations, an experienced Linux engineer is required during the initial stages.,,Consul, Zabbix, OpenNMS, OP5 MonitorThree Cheers for Nagios!!!Nagios is being used primarily by the IT department but the management team makes use of its reporting features. With its robust monitoring and ease of use to set up our company has been happy with the product. Having the amount of information at our fingertips has made our jobs easier and given us the peace of mind that our systems are being monitored properly.,Monitoring of services is one of the biggest benefits for our company. Being able to respond in a timely fashion keeps business smooth. Hardware and device monitoring are easy to set up with proper parameters. Notification to key staff to be able to respond quickly makes issues go away faster.,There could be a better tutorial for setup but the overall system is very easy. More options for notification would be great. There could be a few more customization reporting functions.,10,Nagios has saved time by allowing our IT staff to focus on other projects. Just knowing that systems are being properly monitored allows them to keep other tasks on track. Downtime is lessened by proper timely notifications of system issues or down states.,SolarWinds Log & Event Manager and Splunk Cloud,VMware Horizon View, Barracuda Backup, Cisco ASA,7,3,Network Monitoring Notification of issues Review of systems to create better efficiency,Tracking issues over time to see trends in problems Allow management to be able to see how IT is keeping business continuity running Lateral notification of system outages or issues to non-IT personnel,Predicting systems to be refreshed earlier by examining past issues Keeping up to date on systems for patching, updates ect Aiding in risk analysis by examining past events,10Nagios OverviewI recommend Nagios for whole servers, routers, switches on organizations, and application too. Nagios will send emails. Nagios will show information on equipment or applications with trouble. Nagios is very powerful.,Nagios has a big community, maybe each day you have a new programmed plugin or a plugin for new hardware or software. This is perfect because they work with Nagios XI and Nagios Core (paid and free version). You can use the free version (that is limited version), but if you want to go to the paid version (Nagios XI) with more features, you don't need to migrate all the information. [You] only [have to] update and integrate. Nagios is not married to a big enterprise of software or hardware, this is marvelous. Nagios can monitor all platforms and major applications.,Best monitoring since [the] cell phone. Today it's functional but ugly. Best platform for sending to an app (like WhatsApp) telegram messages.,10,Positive impact: You have control over your business, not backward, how? You have alarms on your systems and apps, then the alarms show the problems, not operators or other people in the enterprise. Positive impact: The price is for the number of hosts, not per host.,Oracle Linux, Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL), Oracle VM VirtualBox, MySQLGreat for smaller and medium orgs. If larger, configure it right. Don't over-customize.Nagios agent comes standard on our servers for our enterprise. It's used for component monitoring out of the box and can have other checks added for custom apps, calls, etc. Every department's server has Nagios running in one form or another.,Open Source Easy to set up, build checks It's been around for a while, so integrations to more modern monitoring systems have a Nagios plug-in.,If it gets too customized, upgrading becomes very difficult. They've addressed this in recent years with Nagios Core and add-ons, but legacy still has this problem.,7,Good because it's standard for our org so everything that's spun up has some kind of monitoring in place Bad because it was poorly configured, so alerts will fire. If the host is down, all alerts fire off because none of the checks will work. Area for improvement.,AppDynamics and Splunk EnterpriseNagios - a soul of NW teamWe use Nagios in our Organization for network monitoring. It addresses the network status from Google to ISP, each LAN, and some servers.,Nagios network monitoring tool help us to know the status of the Internet service. We can easily identify from where the Internet service stop. Nagios reduces the effort of NW team here in our organization. The NW team first task is checking Nagios. Is the whole NW is working? which one is fail? By checking Nagios the NW team can easily manage the failing LAN. In our organization there are some server. We can easily their status by using Nagios.,Nagios to be the first network monitoring tool it needs additional improvements, like the speed of connection.,10,No negative impact on Nagios.,Nagios, the only monitoring you almost always need!We currently use Nagios in our operations department to monitor the health of our internal tooling and customer facing products.,Connectivity checks in nagios are simple and impactful. Having a ping check on every host should be step one in any Nagios deployment. The plugin network for Nagios is huge, and very extensible. Chances are someone has already wrote and shared a plugin that does exactly what you need. But if not, you can write your own. With features like remote plugin executor (NRPE) you can do remote checks (pull style) instead of push. Having the option to do both is great.,The Nagios web interface is not the prettiest, and stays fairly stagnant behind more modern approaches to displaying information. The ability to add service comments is a nice feature but the fact you must often manually delete them is annoying. It'd be great if comments were wiped when a status changed (critical -> healthy).,9,Nagios being rooted in the open source community has been great for our company investment. The cost of entry is lower and the ability to contribute is open to all. Just look at the price for something like New Relic which can be (as of today) $10-$20 per t2.micro server on AWS and you quickly see the benefit of leveraging tools like Nagios to fit your budget. The community behind Nagios is large and this creates a wealth of support available to small companies who otherwise would not have it. Support contracts with enterprise offerings are very expensive, but with Nagios you can find tons of support online with ease.,Belgium Telco company Nagios AdviceWe use Nagios in our provisioning department to have all vitals and parameters on the radar. Nagios is really useful and powerful for both kinds of servers Windows and/or Linux. It's simple to use and configure. In the past, I implemented Nagios to a media company to monitor network backbone and equipment. It was the best monitoring tool used in this media company. If you need a powerful monitoring with a minimal cost and great scalability, there is just one choice - NAGIOS.,Scalability Dashboarding Robustness Simplicity Cost Usability,Doesn't support some proprietary equipment in the telecommunication industry,10,With Nagios you reduce investments attributed to monitoring without loss of quality.,Skyline DataminerNagios - first in flexibilityNagios benefits the whole organization but is configured and operated by our IT systems administrators only. We find the configuration of Nagios to be relatively difficult to understand (steeper learning curve) but once you know it you know how it works well. Most of our Nagios installations involve flat-file configuration which is the out of box experience with Nagios. We have one installation of Nagios XI and while that is more user friendly, we simply chose not to make all installations an XI installation for license reasons. Nagios handles the majority of our monitoring and we use a third party service for alerting (though the alerts originate from Nagios, or a different monitoring source). Specifically, we use Nagios for the following types of alerts: 1) Scripted custom checks 2) system cpu, memory, and disk space 3) Dell OMSA checks (hardware) 4) database monitoring 5) esxi monitoring. Admittedly this is just scratching the surface for Nagios uses. I hope to integrate more SNMP monitors for hardware devices including UPS and our firewalls.,Nagios has never crashed, so it is rock solid stable. Standardization in the plugins makes it easy to rely on them. The web interface is simple enough anyone can work in it. So, sharing the monitored results are relatively easy too. Really, when compared to most other monitoring solutions, Nagios feels less flashy, and does less for you. It's strengths are in its configuration flexibility and that its rock solid daemon.,Nagios could use core improvements in HA, though, Nagios itself recommends monitoring itself with just another Nagios installation, which has worked fine for us. Given its stability, and this work-around, a minor need. Nagios could also use improvements, feature wise, to the web gui. There is a lot in Nagios XI which I felt were almost excluded intentionally from the core project. Given the core functionality, a minor need. We have moved admin facing alerts to appear as though they originate from a different service to make interacting with alerts more practical.,10,Nagios has had a great ROI, as we have only invested a medium amount of time into learning the solution and it has given us essentially free monitoring since. We did take some time to write some assisting code... which can be argued to have diminished ROI. But, that code is now permanently with us and should last many versions of Nagios and its host OS.,,PRTG Network Monitor, New Relic APM, Sumo LogicWhy, why the hell I chose NagiosWe are using Nagios to monitor systems and services upon which we receive regular emails with statistics to measure KPI. Furthermore, we have already established a ground rule to have everything monitored, including the test systems and test services as well. Luckily, during the test period, we could identify bottlenecks and patch sooner rather than later using statistics and notifications from Nagios.,Regular checks - never miss a lost service Statistics report - crucial to measure KPI Notifications - get instant calls about incidents to prevent issues,Add users/services: it is sometimes difficult to add new users and services, but that is only because we haven't purchased a GUI to edit these. Difficult to connect to: since it is difficult to add new users, there is no interface and we have to opt for a third-party GUI No GUI: we have to opt for a third-party GUI to have a better visualization,5,Services are stable and monitored. We do not have to check systems occasionally if there is a problem. It's easy to deploy so does not take lots of time to configure it initially.,System Center Operations Manager,System Center Operations ManagerNagios helps you to know your infrastructure health in real timeNagios is widely used to control the state of checks over the whole infrastructure in headquarters or remote offices. We wanted a product that could be widely used not only in IT but in other teams too like the R&D teams. We were searching for a free tool to harmonize the checks and to have an approach based on service dependencies.,Nagios Map integration to have a visual state of WAN checks. Checks based on groups that allows inheritance for each new infrastructure component added. Simplicity of use and the web interface and installation. Stability of product for years.,After a certain number of hosts, Nagios tends to reach its limits in term of performance. Unlike concurrent tools, Nagios needs to install an agent on each server you monitor, which complexes the way to get vthe first results or the way you maintain agent versions. Compared to concurrent tools, configuration can be tricky when you are new to the tool.,8,Affordable tool available for free to cover infrastructure supervision scope Dynamic alerting to become proactive for user support, before incident management process is fed Scalable tools that helps to progressively have a service dependencies approach,PRTG Network Monitor and Centreon,MS SharePoint, SolarWinds Web Help Desk, Microsoft ExchangeNagios it is what's for lunchWe use nagios for monitoring all of our systems, which is over 2000 servers and devices. Nagios scales well for us and we have automated the deployment with Chef. We routinely customize nagios by building our own plugins.,Scales well Simple to install Easy to customize,Integrations with metric stores such as InfluxDB Golang integration Update the web interface Build out web API Kubernetes integration,7,It works We get alerts Few false alarms,ZabbixNagios (Check_MK) ReviewWe are currently using Nagios (specifically the Check_MK plugin) to monitor approximately 200 hosts and over 4000 services. In addition to host/services we are also monitoring and alerting on application logs for our app support team. We are using the Business Intelligence feature to do cluster monitoring and sending alerts to PagerDuty for SMS, email, and phone notifications.,Simple. I can have a server setup within minutes that will provide 99% of all the functionality I need. Not a lot of monitoring systems can make this claim. Extensible. I have yet to encounter needed functionality that couldn't be added by means of plugins, scripts, etc. Stable. I have never had a Nagios server crash on me nor have I ever lost data due to bugs/instabilities in the software. I am more confidant in my Nagios install than I am in the underlying server/OS.,Scalability. It hasn't been an issue for us due to the small number of hosts we are monitoring but once you get into thousands+ hosts, Nagios tends to have difficulty scaling. Configuration. Configuration can be difficult once you go off the beaten path, especially if you aren't proficient with scripting. Agent management. Having an agent definitely simplifies some things but it adds more complexity to the overall management process.,10,Deploying Nagios has saved us potentially thousands of dollars per year on monitoring.,Puppet Data Center Automation, Splunk EnterpriseNagios personal experience for the enterprise worldI'm an end user of Nagios and we use to check the performance of CPU RAM disk space of our business servers. It's very useful for that.,Free Space CPU used RAM available and used,History reports of the software Performance recommendations based of threads,7,The free version is not cheap, the users have to know how to manage and maintain Nagios. SCONE has Microsoft license cost and requires know-how too.,System Center Operations Manager, Turbonomic (formerly VMTurbo) and Veeam ONE,Turbonomic (formerly VMTurbo), Nagios, System Center Operations ManagerNagios--You can't beat the price!We currently use Nagios to monitor more than a 1000 server operating systems. We currently monitor basic operating system components, such as disk space, CPU and memory utilization and network availability, but we have also spread our monitoring to Kerberos replication, Active Directory and Novell NDS driver monitoring by building our own scripts and adding plugins provided through the Nagios website.,Free to start. Large open source community. Well established with over 15 years in the industry.,Open source...that's both good and bad, you have to test every new plugin you find to make sure it'll work with your environment. You have to pay for the updated Nagios XI which has a friendlier user interface. It is potentially very easy to break if you don't know what you're doing.,10,With the only investment being your time to install and configure, the ROI is pretty positive. The product has a large community to help you fix any issues you have, which is also free. There are also a ton of free plug ins and add-ons to expand Nagios' capabilities...nothing more but positive ROI.,,OpenNMS, Foglight, Tripwire EnterpriseMy Nagios experience.Nagios is used by our IT department to monitor servers and services across the agency. We currently monitor 100 virtual machines and 60 domain controllers. The types of services and components we monitor are drive space, memory usage, CPU usage, up time, RDP services and others. The main business problem this solved for us was drive space monitoring as before this our help desk staff would manually check server space and update a spreadsheet. When I was hired I saw this as a time saving and real time solution as I had used Nagios in a previous job and knew some of the benefits. This server monitoring has saved our IT team time and headaches by knowing where a problem is at a glance.,Server monitoring. Service monitoring. Drive Usage.,Application monitoring, which may be fixed by just using the enterprise version or by spending some more time implementing Nagios fully. Database monitoring, which may be fixed by just using the enterprise version or by spending some more time implementing Nagios fully. Ease of implementation, of course this is an issue with the free version and not being extremely familiar with Linux. I don't think this will be an issue with more knowledge of Linux or with the enterprise version.,10,As we are currently using the free community supported version all ROI is positive. Our only investment has been time and virtual resources for the server which are limited. So far we have been really pleased with our ROI.,,Turbonomic (formerly VMTurbo), HP IT Operations Management, Spiceworks
Windows, Linux, Mac
Nagios
124 Ratings
Score 7.7 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Nagios Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Nagios
124 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.7 out of 101

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 124 vetted Nagios reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 32)

Do you use this product? Write a Review
Steven Peterson profile photo
July 25, 2019

Powerful Monitoring tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nagios along with several hundred custom checks to monitor our environment and customer environments. We have been running Nagios Open source for 15 years, I have been directly involved in managing it for 5 years. It addresses our need for Systems monitoring and works alongside many other tools in our Open source Ecosystem
  • Endpoint Monitoring
  • Raising Issues
  • Network Monitoring
  • Steep Learning curve
  • Highly customizable to a fault
It is well suited for use with skilled system administrators who know what they need to monitor and what they need for alerts.
It is not well suited if you just want general monitoring with out a good grasp of why they are monitoring.
Read Steven Peterson's full review
John Reeve profile photo
March 14, 2019

Nagios: DIY Full Stack Monitoring

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nagios to monitor our servers to make sure they are online and healthy. We use it in addition to third-party monitoring services so we have redundancy in monitoring. Nagios tells us if the host is up or not and if any of its services are struggling. The ability to monitor services is nice because it gives us an early warning and we can fix problems before they become critical. We are using Nagios to monitor basic services like web servers and databases.
  • It can monitor just about anything because of its extensive plugin directory.
  • It's free, so it is a great solution if you are on a limited budget.
  • It can be customized any way you'd like, so you have complete control over the delivery and presentation of notifications.
  • It's built by engineers for engineers so setting it up and configuring it is relatively complicated. It could really use a simplified configuration approach, or a GUI to set it up instead of editing config files.
  • I'd like to see the option to have service notification settings inherited from the host setting notifications. They have to be set up separately but they are often the same, so it would be nice to have less redundancy.
Nagios is great for engineers, sys admins, and do it yourself types. If any of my colleagues are of this type of field I'll recommend Nagios. If you are not familiar with the Linux command line, I would sway you away from Nagios and recommend a third party web-based monitoring service instead.
Read John Reeve's full review
Ricardo Melo profile photo
March 14, 2019

Efficiency and robustness in the monitoring of network assets.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nagios to monitor applications and computing resource conditions, alerting us when there are any unusual events. We also use it for generating data and network maps that we monitor.
  • Monitor applications and computing resources.
  • Alert admins or administration groups by email.
  • Generate diverse statistics and monitored network maps.
  • Easier installation of Nagios.
  • There was a situation I experienced in which I monitored servers from some clients where I could not access them when they were behind a firewall doing NAT. I had to solve by applying a parameter in the commands.cfg file.
  • Problems with Network Configuration.
Nagios is essential in a scenario where it is necessary to solve problems with monitored computational resources as soon as they are detected. It's also suited to manage SLA of network links and monitor to generate data about the use of these computational resources. I do not see an environment where it would not be appropriate to use the tool.
Read Ricardo Melo's full review
Nicolas Pla profile photo
March 01, 2019

Do you Nagios your infrastructure?

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nagios all over the organization. We have several departments and each one uses an instance of Nagios to monitor their applications and infrastructure. The most important department that uses Nagios is our Networks Operations Center team. They are monitoring all our infrastructure 24/7 and configuring alerts to notify users about the status of their applications.
  • Monitoring infrastructure status
  • Alerts about infrastructure status
  • Reporting about services and checks
  • You need experience to configure checks.
  • Would like to see a cloud solution.
I don't know if there is a less appropriate scenario. If you have an infrastructure and need to monitor it, Nagios is the best option. Not only can you monitor, but Nagios also alerts users and allows you to take actions depending on the alert. It helps a lot with automatization and is a tool you must have in your infrastructure.
Read Nicolas Pla's full review
No photo available
March 15, 2019

Nagios - Open Source Network Monitoring

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nagios is being used to monitor and report on the utilization of some of our network hardware. It's primary use is restricted to our IT department, with a couple of additional users. We use it to monitor switch status, and mated with MRTG Nagios gives us bandwidth detail on a per port basis.
  • Up/Down Alerting.
  • Monitoring of supported applications (SQL, Exchange, etc).
  • Upon an alert, Nagios' ability to fire off scripts allows us to either fix problems automatically or gather data about an issue as soon as it happens.
  • Support for third party applications and hardware relies heavily on open source community driven plugins. Deploying new platforms to Nagios can be a bit of a job because of this, often plugins are unpolished, undocumented or outright broken. You have to be willing to spend some time tweaking to make this worth while.
  • The Nagios UI is not the best. Even with the new update, it's still quite evident that it's an updated version of an old system. While it's hard to re-arrange a tool like this, there comes a time when a UI overhaul is just what you have to do.
  • Nagios was quite obviously built to focus on alerting and event management. Attempting to use it also as a data collection tool can be frustrating and require a lot of plugins.
Nagios is primarily an open source technology. It's very well suited for environments that either work on a restricted budget and require a solution that can be customized heavily to fit. I would not recommend it to anyone with a limited time frame, tech skills, or someone looking for a canned monitoring or data collecting solution.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 06, 2019

Nagios in the beginning use stages in Higher Education

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently in the beginning stages of use with Nagios. We have it set up to monitor several hosts. It is being used to monitor only specific devices at this time. The goal for us is to use it to monitor devices that we deem critical to day to day operations.
  • It can tell when a device is online or not.
  • It can tell whether a particular service is accessible or not.
  • It can notify when a device or service is no longer available.
  • The Birdseye View is a nice overview of devices.
  • The web user interface could be better.
  • The home dashboard needs to have more information.
  • The home dashboard should give more insight into what is down and why.
  • It would be nice if it had an agent to put on servers to monitor more things.
  • However, I am not sure that is the real purpose of Nagios. Just a suggestion of a feature I would like to see perhaps in the future.
It is really good at telling what services and devices are up and which are down.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 21, 2019

Nagios Core : A viable alternative....if you have the time

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As an alternative to a paid solution, Nagios Core was implemented as a monitoring tool for several servers. The solution if successful would have been rolled out to all servers in the organization providing a solid monitoring appliance at no cost.
  • Extreme customization through add-ons provided by a wide community of users.
  • Simple yet effective interface. Provides essential information to the administrator in an easily readable format.
  • Best part, the Core version is free and fully functional.
  • Runs on Linux and is fairly light.
  • The configuration of the application can easily be backed up for DR purposes. In most cases a simple compressed folder wold suffice.
  • Allows agent\agentless monitoring.
  • Takes some work to get running. Installation documentation while complete was not always clear necessitating a trip to various help forums. Unless the XL version is used.
  • Installation of add-ons in Nagios Core can be difficult as most depend on creator supplied documentation. At times provided instructions made assumptions which resulted in a lot of time in extra research to get them installed.
  • Built in reports are simplistic.
  • No realtime graphing unless an add-on is installed.
  • Lack of a proper installation file\script. Install of the application is done mainly via CLI and by running supplied commands. This may turn away some users.
Nagios Core would best be suited for a small organization with about 50-100 computers. With the free version, the ability to deploy on a Linux box allows the business to benefit from a free, fully functional and heavily customization tool that can, if done right, hold its own against paid options.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 13, 2019

Nagios - You get what you don't pay for

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nagios was used as an open source system health monitoring tool by the IT security department. The tool allows you to receive alerts when system health is not at an acceptable level. It addresses the need for dedicated system administrators manually checking and validating system health on a daily basis.
  • Network Monitoring - Nagios monitors the network for problems caused by overloaded data links or network connections, as well as monitoring routers, switches.
  • Server Monitoring - Agent and agentless monitoring solutions available with a multitude of plugins.
  • Application Monitoring - Detect application, service or process problems.
  • Interface - The interface can be pretty confusing at times and could use a bit of work.
  • Support - Easier to find help in community forums rather than calling for support since it is an open-source tool.
Best suited in small environments as there is a lot of manual configuration and tuning needed. Large organizations will have a tough time configuring rules when there are hundreds of devices.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 13, 2019

Nagios keeps us on our toes

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Nagios since the beginning of our business. Nagios has been an important necessity to monitor our servers as well as server services. We currently monitor over 1000+ instances of Nagios for our servers in our internal IT department as well as clients' private servers to ensure they remain stable and ensure uptime.
  • Monitor server uptime via ping options
  • Monitor server services such as HTTP, load, and server resources
  • Alert us to any issues a server might have so we can look into them right away
  • Minimal support as there is mostly just a user-based support community instead of the typical customer support option
  • If someone was new at setting it up, it's a time-consuming configuration in order to get the return/results you are looking for
  • Some security concerns since it is open source and any hackers can access the code to find vulnerabilities
Nagios is well suited for everyone whether there is 1 server or 100+. It's a way of keeping your server secure and up. The alternative is just keeping the terminal open 24/7 but that won't tell you everything at once. You would need to look for different issues which Nagios assists with.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 27, 2018

The Best Infrastructure Monitoring Tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nagios to monitor our servers, printers, and network devices. It is an excellent tool for getting a quick eye on your network and deciding if anything needs action preemptively. It has alerts you can configure that also keeps you immediately aware of items that need action NOW. I use this software every day and many times throughout the day.
  • The software alerts me when servers are running low on disk space.
  • Nagios keeps me aware when a server is being heavily utilized with CPU/RAM.
  • This software even lets us know when printers are low on toner.
  • It would be nice to create alerts from the web interface.
  • You need to have some background knowledge of Linux to use this software.
  • The initial configuration is a little tricky.
If you have a lot of servers and network devices to keep an eye on Nagios is an excellent product. It gives you both a quick overview of the network as well as alerts you when action is needed. As long as you are comfortable with Linux I highly recommend you implement Nagios as your infrastructure monitoring tool.
Read this authenticated review
Shawn Brito profile photo
August 08, 2018

Nagios Empowered Monitoring

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As Nagios was the first monitoring system available for users about 15 years ago, I decided to implement the monitoring solution for a few dozen servers in the organization. However over time, the server-count had increased to 500+ while service-counts increased to 5000+. Nagios continued to remain stable for years on a simple dual-core(2Gb machine). Its ability to proactively detect issues in the system keeps our engineers informed hours (or days) ahead of a pending disaster.

As Nagios employes both Pull & Push Monitoring, implementing the plugins behind a firewall was never a hassle. Customizations were simple as any engineer with basic computer language knowledge can create plugins within minutes. I specifically choose bash, java & php as that's more familiar to me, while others chose Python,Perl or C#.

I have configured Nagios with the following technologies for better user experience.
  • MySQL (Storage & Retrieval) using the NDOUtil
  • NRDP (For push alerting when your servers are not accessible due to firewall rules)
  • Pnp4Nagios (for basic RRD graphing - I have tweaked the RRD settings to allow granular data over months of storage)
  • Grafana (for easy aggregated graphing, dashboards, heat-maps, alerts, user )
  • Ability to monitor the Application Logic - Regardless of the language the application was written, a simple plugin script can be quickly constructed to measure the key matrix of a running application (memory, heap, cpu%, db-conns, limits, delays in functions).
  • Open Source and the largest community of developers. There's a plugin for everything, including surveillance equipment, cameras, big-data analysis, AWS & Microsoft services. Over 10,000 plugins are available.
  • The Nagios data can be stored and plotted to any serial graphing system. We chose Grafana as it supports query graphing & dashboards.
  • Configuring and deploying the various open source plugins can be troublesome at first. It takes a bit of patience to connect all the various components (Nagios, NDOUtils, MySQL, NRDP, Pnp4Nagios, Batch-Processing, Grafana).
  • Most configurations are done through the command & configuration files. Although it has exceptional tuning, there is a moderate learning curve.
  • The Nagios UI might need better CSS styling as it still has the year 2005 look and feel. Although there are several mediocre UIs available, the heart of Nagios lies in monitoring.
Nagios monitoring is well suited for any mission critical application that requires per/second (or minute) monitoring. This would probably include even a shuttle launch. As Nagios was built around Linux, most (85%) plugins are Linux based, therefore its more suitable for a Linux environment.

As Nagios (and dependent components) requires complex configurations & compilations, an experienced Linux engineer would be needed to install all relevant components.

Any company that has hundreds (or thousands) of servers & services to monitor would require a stable monitoring solution like Nagios. I have seen Nagios used in extremely mediocre ways, but the core power lies when its fully configured with all remaining open-source components (i.e. MySQL, Grafana, NRDP etc). Nagios in the hands of an experienced Linux engineer can transform the organizations monitoring by taking preventative measures before a disaster strikes.

Read Shawn Brito's full review
Eric Krueger profile photo
March 02, 2018

Three Cheers for Nagios!!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nagios is being used primarily by the IT department but the management team makes use of its reporting features. With its robust monitoring and ease of use to set up our company has been happy with the product. Having the amount of information at our fingertips has made our jobs easier and given us the peace of mind that our systems are being monitored properly.
  • Monitoring of services is one of the biggest benefits for our company. Being able to respond in a timely fashion keeps business smooth.
  • Hardware and device monitoring are easy to set up with proper parameters.
  • Notification to key staff to be able to respond quickly makes issues go away faster.
  • There could be a better tutorial for setup but the overall system is very easy.
  • More options for notification would be great.
  • There could be a few more customization reporting functions.
This tool is very appropriate for IT staff to have the information they need at their fingertips. Notifications are timely and response time to issues has been cut down immensely. If you are looking for Nagios to be the one network monitoring tool for your department then you are in the right place. Nagios will allow your staff to focus on problem resolution and create efficiency by putting more information at their disposal.
Read Eric Krueger's full review
Dario Leon profile photo
August 07, 2018

Nagios Overview

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
I recommend Nagios for whole servers, routers, switches on organizations, and application too. Nagios will send emails. Nagios will show information on equipment or applications with trouble. Nagios is very powerful.
  • Nagios has a big community, maybe each day you have a new programmed plugin or a plugin for new hardware or software. This is perfect because they work with Nagios XI and Nagios Core (paid and free version).
  • You can use the free version (that is limited version), but if you want to go to the paid version (Nagios XI) with more features, you don't need to migrate all the information. [You] only [have to] update and integrate.
  • Nagios is not married to a big enterprise of software or hardware, this is marvelous. Nagios can monitor all platforms and major applications.
  • Best monitoring since [the] cell phone. Today it's functional but ugly.
  • Best platform for sending to an app (like WhatsApp) telegram messages.
  • The best scenarios: Big or medium companies with own [their] datacenters. For example 20 or more servers, routers, switches.
  • The worst scenarios: Servers in the cloud (they can use other solutions) or less than 5 servers in the company.
Read Dario Leon's full review
No photo available
April 11, 2018

Great for smaller and medium orgs. If larger, configure it right. Don't over-customize.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nagios agent comes standard on our servers for our enterprise. It's used for component monitoring out of the box and can have other checks added for custom apps, calls, etc. Every department's server has Nagios running in one form or another.
  • Open Source
  • Easy to set up, build checks
  • It's been around for a while, so integrations to more modern monitoring systems have a Nagios plug-in.
  • If it gets too customized, upgrading becomes very difficult. They've addressed this in recent years with Nagios Core and add-ons, but legacy still has this problem.
Great for basic, up/down component monitoring. Also good for canary checks, file directory monitoring, etc. It's a good Boolean monitoring tool, but once it fires off an alert, obtaining more data is problematic. It's nice, but it can be noisy if not implemented in an enterprise-wide, scalable, and manageable way.
Read this authenticated review
zelalem gedefie profile photo
January 31, 2018

Nagios - a soul of NW team

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nagios in our Organization for network monitoring. It addresses the network status from Google to ISP, each LAN, and some servers.
  • Nagios network monitoring tool help us to know the status of the Internet service. We can easily identify from where the Internet service stop.
  • Nagios reduces the effort of NW team here in our organization. The NW team first task is checking Nagios. Is the whole NW is working? which one is fail? By checking Nagios the NW team can easily manage the failing LAN.
  • In our organization there are some server. We can easily their status by using Nagios.
  • Nagios to be the first network monitoring tool it needs additional improvements, like the speed of connection.
Nagios is the most significant and well suited network tool for all organizations.
Read zelalem gedefie's full review
David Mathis II profile photo
September 13, 2017

Nagios, the only monitoring you almost always need!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Nagios in our operations department to monitor the health of our internal tooling and customer facing products.
  • Connectivity checks in nagios are simple and impactful. Having a ping check on every host should be step one in any Nagios deployment.
  • The plugin network for Nagios is huge, and very extensible. Chances are someone has already wrote and shared a plugin that does exactly what you need. But if not, you can write your own.
  • With features like remote plugin executor (NRPE) you can do remote checks (pull style) instead of push. Having the option to do both is great.
  • The Nagios web interface is not the prettiest, and stays fairly stagnant behind more modern approaches to displaying information.
  • The ability to add service comments is a nice feature but the fact you must often manually delete them is annoying. It'd be great if comments were wiped when a status changed (critical -> healthy).
Anytime you are monitoring metal, I think of Nagios almost first. It's so easy to add the basic (ping, disk, CPU, etc.) health checks that you can be up and running quite fast. When you have more specific application metrics that you want to look into, it may be more difficult to get Nagios working. For example, you don't want to know if an application is up or down, but rather how its overall health is.
Read David Mathis II's full review
Labeye Michael profile photo
September 05, 2017

Belgium Telco company Nagios Advice

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nagios in our provisioning department to have all vitals and parameters on the radar. Nagios is really useful and powerful for both kinds of servers Windows and/or Linux. It's simple to use and configure. In the past, I implemented Nagios to a media company to monitor network backbone and equipment. It was the best monitoring tool used in this media company. If you need a powerful monitoring with a minimal cost and great scalability, there is just one choice - NAGIOS.
  • Scalability
  • Dashboarding
  • Robustness
  • Simplicity
  • Cost
  • Usability
  • Doesn't support some proprietary equipment in the telecommunication industry
Useful for networks and server solutions.
Less usefully when using some proprietary equipment without SNMP MIB
Read Labeye Michael's full review
No photo available
October 02, 2017

Nagios - first in flexibility

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nagios benefits the whole organization but is configured and operated by our IT systems administrators only. We find the configuration of Nagios to be relatively difficult to understand (steeper learning curve) but once you know it you know how it works well. Most of our Nagios installations involve flat-file configuration which is the out of box experience with Nagios. We have one installation of Nagios XI and while that is more user friendly, we simply chose not to make all installations an XI installation for license reasons.

Nagios handles the majority of our monitoring and we use a third party service for alerting (though the alerts originate from Nagios, or a different monitoring source). Specifically, we use Nagios for the following types of alerts: 1) Scripted custom checks 2) system cpu, memory, and disk space 3) Dell OMSA checks (hardware) 4) database monitoring 5) esxi monitoring. Admittedly this is just scratching the surface for Nagios uses. I hope to integrate more SNMP monitors for hardware devices including UPS and our firewalls.
  • Nagios has never crashed, so it is rock solid stable.
  • Standardization in the plugins makes it easy to rely on them.
  • The web interface is simple enough anyone can work in it. So, sharing the monitored results are relatively easy too.
  • Really, when compared to most other monitoring solutions, Nagios feels less flashy, and does less for you. It's strengths are in its configuration flexibility and that its rock solid daemon.
  • Nagios could use core improvements in HA, though, Nagios itself recommends monitoring itself with just another Nagios installation, which has worked fine for us. Given its stability, and this work-around, a minor need.
  • Nagios could also use improvements, feature wise, to the web gui. There is a lot in Nagios XI which I felt were almost excluded intentionally from the core project. Given the core functionality, a minor need. We have moved admin facing alerts to appear as though they originate from a different service to make interacting with alerts more practical.
Nagios is simply a very configurable and rock solid monitoring engine. For these reasons I would recommend it to any IT professional in any medium to large organization where creating custom checks and programming ones custom needs into the configuration is practical. I would be more hesitant to recommend it as a first monitoring solution for a small business which is usually accompanied by a less experienced and/or more time constrained admin.
Read this authenticated review
Igor Bujaroski profile photo
July 24, 2017

Why, why the hell I chose Nagios

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Nagios to monitor systems and services upon which we receive regular emails with statistics to measure KPI. Furthermore, we have already established a ground rule to have everything monitored, including the test systems and test services as well. Luckily, during the test period, we could identify bottlenecks and patch sooner rather than later using statistics and notifications from Nagios.
  • Regular checks - never miss a lost service
  • Statistics report - crucial to measure KPI
  • Notifications - get instant calls about incidents to prevent issues
  • Add users/services: it is sometimes difficult to add new users and services, but that is only because we haven't purchased a GUI to edit these.
  • Difficult to connect to: since it is difficult to add new users, there is no interface and we have to opt for a third-party GUI
  • No GUI: we have to opt for a third-party GUI to have a better visualization
Nagios is quite competitive compared to other monitoring tools. It is cheaper the Microsoft's version for which you have to purchase a whole range of products just to be eligible. Nagios is very easy to deploy and has no limits in terms of licensing. This makes it desirable a lot.
Read Igor Bujaroski's full review
Ludovic Huon profile photo
June 05, 2017

Nagios helps you to know your infrastructure health in real time

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nagios is widely used to control the state of checks over the whole infrastructure in headquarters or remote offices. We wanted a product that could be widely used not only in IT but in other teams too like the R&D teams. We were searching for a free tool to harmonize the checks and to have an approach based on service dependencies.
  • Nagios Map integration to have a visual state of WAN checks.
  • Checks based on groups that allows inheritance for each new infrastructure component added.
  • Simplicity of use and the web interface and installation.
  • Stability of product for years.
  • After a certain number of hosts, Nagios tends to reach its limits in term of performance.
  • Unlike concurrent tools, Nagios needs to install an agent on each server you monitor, which complexes the way to get vthe first results or the way you maintain agent versions.
  • Compared to concurrent tools, configuration can be tricky when you are new to the tool.
For small to mid sized companies, Nagios applies well in particular if you search a free tool for covering hundreds of servers and thousands of controls. Its stability helps you to focus more on controls than on the tool upgrades themselves or bugs. With each check you can associate the script’s execution to control the state of AD groups for example. You could choose other tools if you are looking for an agentless tool with (sometimes) less complexity to create checks at the beginning, but with a reverse side - an economic model where you pay for the number of nodes you want to monitor and an annual maintenance if you want to benefit from future updates.
Read Ludovic Huon's full review
Randall Svancara profile photo
August 02, 2017

Nagios it is what's for lunch

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use nagios for monitoring all of our systems, which is over 2000 servers and devices. Nagios scales well for us and we have automated the deployment with Chef. We routinely customize nagios by building our own plugins.
  • Scales well
  • Simple to install
  • Easy to customize
  • Integrations with metric stores such as InfluxDB
  • Golang integration
  • Update the web interface
  • Build out web API
  • Kubernetes integration
Physical data centers provide the best environment. Would like to see more cloud native solutions.
Read Randall Svancara's full review
Andrew Kener profile photo
April 06, 2017

Nagios (Check_MK) Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Nagios (specifically the Check_MK plugin) to monitor approximately 200 hosts and over 4000 services. In addition to host/services we are also monitoring and alerting on application logs for our app support team. We are using the Business Intelligence feature to do cluster monitoring and sending alerts to PagerDuty for SMS, email, and phone notifications.
  • Simple. I can have a server setup within minutes that will provide 99% of all the functionality I need. Not a lot of monitoring systems can make this claim.
  • Extensible. I have yet to encounter needed functionality that couldn't be added by means of plugins, scripts, etc.
  • Stable. I have never had a Nagios server crash on me nor have I ever lost data due to bugs/instabilities in the software. I am more confidant in my Nagios install than I am in the underlying server/OS.
  • Scalability. It hasn't been an issue for us due to the small number of hosts we are monitoring but once you get into thousands+ hosts, Nagios tends to have difficulty scaling.
  • Configuration. Configuration can be difficult once you go off the beaten path, especially if you aren't proficient with scripting.
  • Agent management. Having an agent definitely simplifies some things but it adds more complexity to the overall management process.
Nagios is well-suited for smaller ( < 10,000 hosts) environments where a low-cost solution is desired. Either a support package or motivated admin is really needed to get the most value from it. It would definitely be my first recommendation for monitoring.
Read Andrew Kener's full review
Ariel Dupar profile photo
June 20, 2017

Nagios personal experience for the enterprise world

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm an end user of Nagios and we use to check the performance of CPU RAM disk space of our business servers. It's very useful for that.
  • Free Space
  • CPU used
  • RAM available and used
  • History reports of the software
  • Performance recommendations based of threads
It competes with Microsoft SCOM for checking hardware performance. Reports aren't easy to deploy.
Read Ariel Dupar's full review
Derrick Barnsdale profile photo
April 29, 2016

Nagios--You can't beat the price!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Nagios to monitor more than a 1000 server operating systems. We currently monitor basic operating system components, such as disk space, CPU and memory utilization and network availability, but we have also spread our monitoring to Kerberos replication, Active Directory and Novell NDS driver monitoring by building our own scripts and adding plugins provided through the Nagios website.
  • Free to start.
  • Large open source community.
  • Well established with over 15 years in the industry.
  • Open source...that's both good and bad, you have to test every new plugin you find to make sure it'll work with your environment.
  • You have to pay for the updated Nagios XI which has a friendlier user interface.
  • It is potentially very easy to break if you don't know what you're doing.
For a start up or a company that is low on capital, downloading and configuring the free version of Nagios can be a god send. If you want pretty reports and a very nice, friendly user interface, Nagios probably isn't for you. Nagios installation and configuration, both on the server and client side does require some skill and might be a bit too advanced for novice administrators.
Read Derrick Barnsdale's full review
Nick Hill profile photo
April 27, 2016

My Nagios experience.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nagios is used by our IT department to monitor servers and services across the agency. We currently monitor 100 virtual machines and 60 domain controllers. The types of services and components we monitor are drive space, memory usage, CPU usage, up time, RDP services and others. The main business problem this solved for us was drive space monitoring as before this our help desk staff would manually check server space and update a spreadsheet. When I was hired I saw this as a time saving and real time solution as I had used Nagios in a previous job and knew some of the benefits. This server monitoring has saved our IT team time and headaches by knowing where a problem is at a glance.
  • Server monitoring.
  • Service monitoring.
  • Drive Usage.
  • Application monitoring, which may be fixed by just using the enterprise version or by spending some more time implementing Nagios fully.
  • Database monitoring, which may be fixed by just using the enterprise version or by spending some more time implementing Nagios fully.
  • Ease of implementation, of course this is an issue with the free version and not being extremely familiar with Linux. I don't think this will be an issue with more knowledge of Linux or with the enterprise version.
It is a perfect free solution for any organization on a limited budget like our organization. It is a great way to do the basic monitoring of servers and services. It can also monitor other devices but we have yet to implement that aspect. I am sure there are some scenarios that a more enterprise grade monitoring would be more appropriate but I have yet to have that be a part of the jobs I have been in but I am sure they exist.
Read Nick Hill's full review

About Nagios

Nagios provides monitoring of all mission-critical infrastructure components including applications, services, operating systems, network protocols, systems metrics, and network infrastructure. Multiple APIs provide for simple integration with in-house and third-party applications. Thousands of community-developed add-ons extend monitoring and native alerting functionality. Third-party add-ons are available for monitoring in-house applications, services, and systems.

The vendor says Nagios is the industry standard In IT Infrastructure Monitoring. The vendor says the powerful Nagios Core 4 monitoring engine provides a high level of performance, and that its high-efficiency worker processes allow for scalability and monitoring effectiveness. It is designed to provide a central view of a company's entire IT operations network and business processes. Multi-user access to web interface allows stakeholders to view relevant infrastructure status. User-specific views ensures clients only see the infrastructure components they’re authorized for.

Nagios Features

Has featureAdvanced Graphs & Visualizations
Has featurePerformance & Capacity Planning Graphs
Has featureConfiguration Wizards
Has featureAdvanced Infrastructure Management
Has featureConfiguration Snapshot Archive
Has featureAdvanced User Management
Has featureService-Level Agreement (SLA) Reports
Has featureExtendable Architecture

Nagios Integrations

Sematext SPM, among others

Nagios Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Nagios Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

Nagios Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, Italian, Russian, German, French, Japanese, Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese, Korean, Portuguese, Polish