TrustRadius
Nagios is an infrastructure and network monitoring offering.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Yy/Hj/CZI5ENI9SM1A.PNGNagios Empowered MonitoringAs Nagios was the first monitoring system available for users about 15 years ago, I decided to implement the monitoring solution for a few dozen servers in the organization. However over time, the server-count had increased to 500+ while service-counts increased to 5000+. Nagios continued to remain stable for years on a simple dual-core(2Gb machine). Its ability to proactively detect issues in the system keeps our engineers informed hours (or days) ahead of a pending disaster. As Nagios employes both Pull & Push Monitoring, implementing the plugins behind a firewall was never a hassle. Customizations were simple as any engineer with basic computer language knowledge can create plugins within minutes. I specifically choose bash, java & php as that's more familiar to me, while others chose Python,Perl or C#. I have configured Nagios with the following technologies for better user experience. MySQL (Storage & Retrieval) using the NDOUtil NRDP (For push alerting when your servers are not accessible due to firewall rules)Pnp4Nagios (for basic RRD graphing - I have tweaked the RRD settings to allow granular data over months of storage) Grafana (for easy aggregated graphing, dashboards, heat-maps, alerts, user ),Ability to monitor the Application Logic - Regardless of the language the application was written, a simple plugin script can be quickly constructed to measure the key matrix of a running application (memory, heap, cpu%, db-conns, limits, delays in functions). Open Source and the largest community of developers. There's a plugin for everything, including surveillance equipment, cameras, big-data analysis, AWS & Microsoft services. Over 10,000 plugins are available. The Nagios data can be stored and plotted to any serial graphing system. We chose Grafana as it supports query graphing & dashboards.,Configuring and deploying the various open source plugins can be troublesome at first. It takes a bit of patience to connect all the various components (Nagios, NDOUtils, MySQL, NRDP, Pnp4Nagios, Batch-Processing, Grafana). Most configurations are done through the command & configuration files. Although it has exceptional tuning, there is a moderate learning curve. The Nagios UI might need better CSS styling as it still has the year 2005 look and feel. Although there are several mediocre UIs available, the heart of Nagios lies in monitoring.,10,The only running cost for Nagios was the server hosting which was under 20$/month (for a few dozen servers/ hundreds of services). As our system had grown to 5000+ services, the charges were under 100$/month. The software and all components were open-source. As the Nagios community is large, getting help was just a few hours away. Due to the complexity involved with initial installation and configurations, an experienced Linux engineer is required during the initial stages.,,Consul, Zabbix, OpenNMS, OP5 MonitorNagios OverviewI recommend Nagios for whole servers, routers, switches on organizations, and application too. Nagios will send emails. Nagios will show information on equipment or applications with trouble. Nagios is very powerful.,Nagios has a big community, maybe each day you have a new programmed plugin or a plugin for new hardware or software. This is perfect because they work with Nagios XI and Nagios Core (paid and free version). You can use the free version (that is limited version), but if you want to go to the paid version (Nagios XI) with more features, you don't need to migrate all the information. [You] only [have to] update and integrate. Nagios is not married to a big enterprise of software or hardware, this is marvelous. Nagios can monitor all platforms and major applications.,Best monitoring since [the] cell phone. Today it's functional but ugly. Best platform for sending to an app (like WhatsApp) telegram messages.,10,Positive impact: You have control over your business, not backward, how? You have alarms on your systems and apps, then the alarms show the problems, not operators or other people in the enterprise. Positive impact: The price is for the number of hosts, not per host.,Oracle Linux, Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL), Oracle VM VirtualBox, MySQLThe Best Infrastructure Monitoring ToolWe use Nagios to monitor our servers, printers, and network devices. It is an excellent tool for getting a quick eye on your network and deciding if anything needs action preemptively. It has alerts you can configure that also keeps you immediately aware of items that need action NOW. I use this software every day and many times throughout the day.,The software alerts me when servers are running low on disk space. Nagios keeps me aware when a server is being heavily utilized with CPU/RAM. This software even lets us know when printers are low on toner.,It would be nice to create alerts from the web interface. You need to have some background knowledge of Linux to use this software. The initial configuration is a little tricky.,9,This software keeps my hosts running! It allows me to take action before there is a critical event or downtime. I am able to predict when items are going to become an issue.,,Microsoft Exchange, JIRA Service Desk, Graylog, SolarWinds Kiwi Syslog ServerThree Cheers for Nagios!!!Nagios is being used primarily by the IT department but the management team makes use of its reporting features. With its robust monitoring and ease of use to set up our company has been happy with the product. Having the amount of information at our fingertips has made our jobs easier and given us the peace of mind that our systems are being monitored properly.,Monitoring of services is one of the biggest benefits for our company. Being able to respond in a timely fashion keeps business smooth. Hardware and device monitoring are easy to set up with proper parameters. Notification to key staff to be able to respond quickly makes issues go away faster.,There could be a better tutorial for setup but the overall system is very easy. More options for notification would be great. There could be a few more customization reporting functions.,10,Nagios has saved time by allowing our IT staff to focus on other projects. Just knowing that systems are being properly monitored allows them to keep other tasks on track. Downtime is lessened by proper timely notifications of system issues or down states.,SolarWinds Log & Event Manager and Splunk Cloud,VMware Horizon View, Barracuda Backup, Cisco ASA,7,3,Network Monitoring Notification of issues Review of systems to create better efficiency,Tracking issues over time to see trends in problems Allow management to be able to see how IT is keeping business continuity running Lateral notification of system outages or issues to non-IT personnel,Predicting systems to be refreshed earlier by examining past issues Keeping up to date on systems for patching, updates ect Aiding in risk analysis by examining past events,10Nagios - a soul of NW teamWe use Nagios in our Organization for network monitoring. It addresses the network status from Google to ISP, each LAN, and some servers.,Nagios network monitoring tool help us to know the status of the Internet service. We can easily identify from where the Internet service stop. Nagios reduces the effort of NW team here in our organization. The NW team first task is checking Nagios. Is the whole NW is working? which one is fail? By checking Nagios the NW team can easily manage the failing LAN. In our organization there are some server. We can easily their status by using Nagios.,Nagios to be the first network monitoring tool it needs additional improvements, like the speed of connection.,10,No negative impact on Nagios.,
Windows, Linux, Mac
Nagios
102 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Nagios Reviews<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>

Nagios
102 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 102 vetted Nagios reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 25)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Shawn Brito profile photo
August 08, 2018

User Review: "Nagios Empowered Monitoring"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As Nagios was the first monitoring system available for users about 15 years ago, I decided to implement the monitoring solution for a few dozen servers in the organization. However over time, the server-count had increased to 500+ while service-counts increased to 5000+. Nagios continued to remain stable for years on a simple dual-core(2Gb machine). Its ability to proactively detect issues in the system keeps our engineers informed hours (or days) ahead of a pending disaster.

As Nagios employes both Pull & Push Monitoring, implementing the plugins behind a firewall was never a hassle. Customizations were simple as any engineer with basic computer language knowledge can create plugins within minutes. I specifically choose bash, java & php as that's more familiar to me, while others chose Python,Perl or C#.

I have configured Nagios with the following technologies for better user experience.
  • MySQL (Storage & Retrieval) using the NDOUtil
  • NRDP (For push alerting when your servers are not accessible due to firewall rules)
  • Pnp4Nagios (for basic RRD graphing - I have tweaked the RRD settings to allow granular data over months of storage)
  • Grafana (for easy aggregated graphing, dashboards, heat-maps, alerts, user )
  • Ability to monitor the Application Logic - Regardless of the language the application was written, a simple plugin script can be quickly constructed to measure the key matrix of a running application (memory, heap, cpu%, db-conns, limits, delays in functions).
  • Open Source and the largest community of developers. There's a plugin for everything, including surveillance equipment, cameras, big-data analysis, AWS & Microsoft services. Over 10,000 plugins are available.
  • The Nagios data can be stored and plotted to any serial graphing system. We chose Grafana as it supports query graphing & dashboards.
  • Configuring and deploying the various open source plugins can be troublesome at first. It takes a bit of patience to connect all the various components (Nagios, NDOUtils, MySQL, NRDP, Pnp4Nagios, Batch-Processing, Grafana).
  • Most configurations are done through the command & configuration files. Although it has exceptional tuning, there is a moderate learning curve.
  • The Nagios UI might need better CSS styling as it still has the year 2005 look and feel. Although there are several mediocre UIs available, the heart of Nagios lies in monitoring.
Nagios monitoring is well suited for any mission critical application that requires per/second (or minute) monitoring. This would probably include even a shuttle launch. As Nagios was built around Linux, most (85%) plugins are Linux based, therefore its more suitable for a Linux environment.

As Nagios (and dependent components) requires complex configurations & compilations, an experienced Linux engineer would be needed to install all relevant components.

Any company that has hundreds (or thousands) of servers & services to monitor would require a stable monitoring solution like Nagios. I have seen Nagios used in extremely mediocre ways, but the core power lies when its fully configured with all remaining open-source components (i.e. MySQL, Grafana, NRDP etc). Nagios in the hands of an experienced Linux engineer can transform the organizations monitoring by taking preventative measures before a disaster strikes.

Read Shawn Brito's full review
Dario Leon profile photo
August 07, 2018

User Review: "Nagios Overview"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
I recommend Nagios for whole servers, routers, switches on organizations, and application too. Nagios will send emails. Nagios will show information on equipment or applications with trouble. Nagios is very powerful.
  • Nagios has a big community, maybe each day you have a new programmed plugin or a plugin for new hardware or software. This is perfect because they work with Nagios XI and Nagios Core (paid and free version).
  • You can use the free version (that is limited version), but if you want to go to the paid version (Nagios XI) with more features, you don't need to migrate all the information. [You] only [have to] update and integrate.
  • Nagios is not married to a big enterprise of software or hardware, this is marvelous. Nagios can monitor all platforms and major applications.
  • Best monitoring since [the] cell phone. Today it's functional but ugly.
  • Best platform for sending to an app (like WhatsApp) telegram messages.
  • The best scenarios: Big or medium companies with own [their] datacenters. For example 20 or more servers, routers, switches.
  • The worst scenarios: Servers in the cloud (they can use other solutions) or less than 5 servers in the company.
Read Dario Leon's full review
No photo available
September 27, 2018

Nagios Review: "The Best Infrastructure Monitoring Tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nagios to monitor our servers, printers, and network devices. It is an excellent tool for getting a quick eye on your network and deciding if anything needs action preemptively. It has alerts you can configure that also keeps you immediately aware of items that need action NOW. I use this software every day and many times throughout the day.
  • The software alerts me when servers are running low on disk space.
  • Nagios keeps me aware when a server is being heavily utilized with CPU/RAM.
  • This software even lets us know when printers are low on toner.
  • It would be nice to create alerts from the web interface.
  • You need to have some background knowledge of Linux to use this software.
  • The initial configuration is a little tricky.
If you have a lot of servers and network devices to keep an eye on Nagios is an excellent product. It gives you both a quick overview of the network as well as alerts you when action is needed. As long as you are comfortable with Linux I highly recommend you implement Nagios as your infrastructure monitoring tool.
Read this authenticated review
Eric Krueger profile photo
March 02, 2018

User Review: "Three Cheers for Nagios!!!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nagios is being used primarily by the IT department but the management team makes use of its reporting features. With its robust monitoring and ease of use to set up our company has been happy with the product. Having the amount of information at our fingertips has made our jobs easier and given us the peace of mind that our systems are being monitored properly.
  • Monitoring of services is one of the biggest benefits for our company. Being able to respond in a timely fashion keeps business smooth.
  • Hardware and device monitoring are easy to set up with proper parameters.
  • Notification to key staff to be able to respond quickly makes issues go away faster.
  • There could be a better tutorial for setup but the overall system is very easy.
  • More options for notification would be great.
  • There could be a few more customization reporting functions.
This tool is very appropriate for IT staff to have the information they need at their fingertips. Notifications are timely and response time to issues has been cut down immensely. If you are looking for Nagios to be the one network monitoring tool for your department then you are in the right place. Nagios will allow your staff to focus on problem resolution and create efficiency by putting more information at their disposal.
Read Eric Krueger's full review
zelalem gedefie profile photo
January 31, 2018

User Review: "Nagios - a soul of NW team"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nagios in our Organization for network monitoring. It addresses the network status from Google to ISP, each LAN, and some servers.
  • Nagios network monitoring tool help us to know the status of the Internet service. We can easily identify from where the Internet service stop.
  • Nagios reduces the effort of NW team here in our organization. The NW team first task is checking Nagios. Is the whole NW is working? which one is fail? By checking Nagios the NW team can easily manage the failing LAN.
  • In our organization there are some server. We can easily their status by using Nagios.
  • Nagios to be the first network monitoring tool it needs additional improvements, like the speed of connection.
Nagios is the most significant and well suited network tool for all organizations.
Read zelalem gedefie's full review
No photo available
April 11, 2018

Nagios Review: "Great for smaller and medium orgs. If larger, configure it right. Don't over-customize."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nagios agent comes standard on our servers for our enterprise. It's used for component monitoring out of the box and can have other checks added for custom apps, calls, etc. Every department's server has Nagios running in one form or another.
  • Open Source
  • Easy to set up, build checks
  • It's been around for a while, so integrations to more modern monitoring systems have a Nagios plug-in.
  • If it gets too customized, upgrading becomes very difficult. They've addressed this in recent years with Nagios Core and add-ons, but legacy still has this problem.
Great for basic, up/down component monitoring. Also good for canary checks, file directory monitoring, etc. It's a good Boolean monitoring tool, but once it fires off an alert, obtaining more data is problematic. It's nice, but it can be noisy if not implemented in an enterprise-wide, scalable, and manageable way.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 14, 2017

Review: "Nagios Core : A viable alternative....if you have the time"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As an alternative to a paid solution, Nagios Core was implemented as a monitoring tool for several servers. The solution if successful would have been rolled out to all servers in the organization providing a solid monitoring appliance at no cost.
  • Extreme customization through add-ons provided by a wide community of users.
  • Simple yet effective interface. Provides essential information to the administrator in an easily readable format.
  • Best part, the Core version is free and fully functional.
  • Runs on Linux and is fairly light.
  • The configuration of the application can easily be backed up for DR purposes. In most cases a simple compressed folder wold suffice.
  • Allows agent\agentless monitoring.
  • Takes some work to get running. Installation documentation while complete was not always clear necessitating a trip to various help forums. Unless the XL version is used.
  • Installation of add-ons in Nagios Core can be difficult as most depend on creator supplied documentation. At times provided instructions made assumptions which resulted in a lot of time in extra research to get them installed.
  • Built in reports are simplistic.
  • No realtime graphing unless an add-on is installed.
  • Lack of a proper installation file\script. Install of the application is done mainly via CLI and by running supplied commands. This may turn away some users.
Nagios Core would best be suited for a small organization with about 50-100 computers. With the free version, the ability to deploy on a Linux box allows the business to benefit from a free, fully functional and heavily customization tool that can, if done right, hold its own against paid options.
Read this authenticated review
David Mathis II profile photo
September 13, 2017

Review: "Nagios, the only monitoring you almost always need!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Nagios in our operations department to monitor the health of our internal tooling and customer facing products.
  • Connectivity checks in nagios are simple and impactful. Having a ping check on every host should be step one in any Nagios deployment.
  • The plugin network for Nagios is huge, and very extensible. Chances are someone has already wrote and shared a plugin that does exactly what you need. But if not, you can write your own.
  • With features like remote plugin executor (NRPE) you can do remote checks (pull style) instead of push. Having the option to do both is great.
  • The Nagios web interface is not the prettiest, and stays fairly stagnant behind more modern approaches to displaying information.
  • The ability to add service comments is a nice feature but the fact you must often manually delete them is annoying. It'd be great if comments were wiped when a status changed (critical -> healthy).
Anytime you are monitoring metal, I think of Nagios almost first. It's so easy to add the basic (ping, disk, CPU, etc.) health checks that you can be up and running quite fast. When you have more specific application metrics that you want to look into, it may be more difficult to get Nagios working. For example, you don't want to know if an application is up or down, but rather how its overall health is.
Read David Mathis II's full review
Igor Bujaroski profile photo
July 24, 2017

User Review: "Why, why the hell I chose Nagios"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Nagios to monitor systems and services upon which we receive regular emails with statistics to measure KPI. Furthermore, we have already established a ground rule to have everything monitored, including the test systems and test services as well. Luckily, during the test period, we could identify bottlenecks and patch sooner rather than later using statistics and notifications from Nagios.
  • Regular checks - never miss a lost service
  • Statistics report - crucial to measure KPI
  • Notifications - get instant calls about incidents to prevent issues
  • Add users/services: it is sometimes difficult to add new users and services, but that is only because we haven't purchased a GUI to edit these.
  • Difficult to connect to: since it is difficult to add new users, there is no interface and we have to opt for a third-party GUI
  • No GUI: we have to opt for a third-party GUI to have a better visualization
Nagios is quite competitive compared to other monitoring tools. It is cheaper the Microsoft's version for which you have to purchase a whole range of products just to be eligible. Nagios is very easy to deploy and has no limits in terms of licensing. This makes it desirable a lot.
Read Igor Bujaroski's full review
Labeye Michael profile photo
September 05, 2017

User Review: "Belgium Telco company Nagios Advice"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nagios in our provisioning department to have all vitals and parameters on the radar. Nagios is really useful and powerful for both kinds of servers Windows and/or Linux. It's simple to use and configure. In the past, I implemented Nagios to a media company to monitor network backbone and equipment. It was the best monitoring tool used in this media company. If you need a powerful monitoring with a minimal cost and great scalability, there is just one choice - NAGIOS.
  • Scalability
  • Dashboarding
  • Robustness
  • Simplicity
  • Cost
  • Usability
  • Doesn't support some proprietary equipment in the telecommunication industry
Useful for networks and server solutions.
Less usefully when using some proprietary equipment without SNMP MIB
Read Labeye Michael's full review
Randall Svancara profile photo
August 02, 2017

User Review: "Nagios it is what's for lunch"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use nagios for monitoring all of our systems, which is over 2000 servers and devices. Nagios scales well for us and we have automated the deployment with Chef. We routinely customize nagios by building our own plugins.
  • Scales well
  • Simple to install
  • Easy to customize
  • Integrations with metric stores such as InfluxDB
  • Golang integration
  • Update the web interface
  • Build out web API
  • Kubernetes integration
Physical data centers provide the best environment. Would like to see more cloud native solutions.
Read Randall Svancara's full review
Ariel Dupar profile photo
June 20, 2017

Review: "Nagios personal experience for the enterprise world"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm an end user of Nagios and we use to check the performance of CPU RAM disk space of our business servers. It's very useful for that.
  • Free Space
  • CPU used
  • RAM available and used
  • History reports of the software
  • Performance recommendations based of threads
It competes with Microsoft SCOM for checking hardware performance. Reports aren't easy to deploy.
Read Ariel Dupar's full review
No photo available
October 02, 2017

User Review: "Nagios - first in flexibility"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nagios benefits the whole organization but is configured and operated by our IT systems administrators only. We find the configuration of Nagios to be relatively difficult to understand (steeper learning curve) but once you know it you know how it works well. Most of our Nagios installations involve flat-file configuration which is the out of box experience with Nagios. We have one installation of Nagios XI and while that is more user friendly, we simply chose not to make all installations an XI installation for license reasons.

Nagios handles the majority of our monitoring and we use a third party service for alerting (though the alerts originate from Nagios, or a different monitoring source). Specifically, we use Nagios for the following types of alerts: 1) Scripted custom checks 2) system cpu, memory, and disk space 3) Dell OMSA checks (hardware) 4) database monitoring 5) esxi monitoring. Admittedly this is just scratching the surface for Nagios uses. I hope to integrate more SNMP monitors for hardware devices including UPS and our firewalls.
  • Nagios has never crashed, so it is rock solid stable.
  • Standardization in the plugins makes it easy to rely on them.
  • The web interface is simple enough anyone can work in it. So, sharing the monitored results are relatively easy too.
  • Really, when compared to most other monitoring solutions, Nagios feels less flashy, and does less for you. It's strengths are in its configuration flexibility and that its rock solid daemon.
  • Nagios could use core improvements in HA, though, Nagios itself recommends monitoring itself with just another Nagios installation, which has worked fine for us. Given its stability, and this work-around, a minor need.
  • Nagios could also use improvements, feature wise, to the web gui. There is a lot in Nagios XI which I felt were almost excluded intentionally from the core project. Given the core functionality, a minor need. We have moved admin facing alerts to appear as though they originate from a different service to make interacting with alerts more practical.
Nagios is simply a very configurable and rock solid monitoring engine. For these reasons I would recommend it to any IT professional in any medium to large organization where creating custom checks and programming ones custom needs into the configuration is practical. I would be more hesitant to recommend it as a first monitoring solution for a small business which is usually accompanied by a less experienced and/or more time constrained admin.
Read this authenticated review
Ludovic Huon profile photo
June 05, 2017

Review: "Nagios helps you to know your infrastructure health in real time"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nagios is widely used to control the state of checks over the whole infrastructure in headquarters or remote offices. We wanted a product that could be widely used not only in IT but in other teams too like the R&D teams. We were searching for a free tool to harmonize the checks and to have an approach based on service dependencies.
  • Nagios Map integration to have a visual state of WAN checks.
  • Checks based on groups that allows inheritance for each new infrastructure component added.
  • Simplicity of use and the web interface and installation.
  • Stability of product for years.
  • After a certain number of hosts, Nagios tends to reach its limits in term of performance.
  • Unlike concurrent tools, Nagios needs to install an agent on each server you monitor, which complexes the way to get vthe first results or the way you maintain agent versions.
  • Compared to concurrent tools, configuration can be tricky when you are new to the tool.
For small to mid sized companies, Nagios applies well in particular if you search a free tool for covering hundreds of servers and thousands of controls. Its stability helps you to focus more on controls than on the tool upgrades themselves or bugs. With each check you can associate the script’s execution to control the state of AD groups for example. You could choose other tools if you are looking for an agentless tool with (sometimes) less complexity to create checks at the beginning, but with a reverse side - an economic model where you pay for the number of nodes you want to monitor and an annual maintenance if you want to benefit from future updates.
Read Ludovic Huon's full review
Andrew Kener profile photo
April 06, 2017

"Nagios (Check_MK) Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Nagios (specifically the Check_MK plugin) to monitor approximately 200 hosts and over 4000 services. In addition to host/services we are also monitoring and alerting on application logs for our app support team. We are using the Business Intelligence feature to do cluster monitoring and sending alerts to PagerDuty for SMS, email, and phone notifications.
  • Simple. I can have a server setup within minutes that will provide 99% of all the functionality I need. Not a lot of monitoring systems can make this claim.
  • Extensible. I have yet to encounter needed functionality that couldn't be added by means of plugins, scripts, etc.
  • Stable. I have never had a Nagios server crash on me nor have I ever lost data due to bugs/instabilities in the software. I am more confidant in my Nagios install than I am in the underlying server/OS.
  • Scalability. It hasn't been an issue for us due to the small number of hosts we are monitoring but once you get into thousands+ hosts, Nagios tends to have difficulty scaling.
  • Configuration. Configuration can be difficult once you go off the beaten path, especially if you aren't proficient with scripting.
  • Agent management. Having an agent definitely simplifies some things but it adds more complexity to the overall management process.
Nagios is well-suited for smaller ( < 10,000 hosts) environments where a low-cost solution is desired. Either a support package or motivated admin is really needed to get the most value from it. It would definitely be my first recommendation for monitoring.
Read Andrew Kener's full review
No photo available
April 04, 2017

Review: "Nagios - Open Source Network Monitoring"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nagios is being used to monitor and report on the utilization of some of our network hardware. It's primary use is restricted to our IT department, with a couple of additional users. We use it to monitor switch status, and mated with MRTG Nagios gives us bandwidth detail on a per port basis.
  • Up/Down Alerting.
  • Monitoring of supported applications (SQL, Exchange, etc).
  • Upon an alert, Nagios' ability to fire off scripts allows us to either fix problems automatically or gather data about an issue as soon as it happens.
  • Support for third party applications and hardware relies heavily on open source community driven plugins. Deploying new platforms to Nagios can be a bit of a job because of this, often plugins are unpolished, undocumented or outright broken. You have to be willing to spend some time tweaking to make this worth while.
  • The Nagios UI is not the best. Even with the new update, it's still quite evident that it's an updated version of an old system. While it's hard to re-arrange a tool like this, there comes a time when a UI overhaul is just what you have to do.
  • Nagios was quite obviously built to focus on alerting and event management. Attempting to use it also as a data collection tool can be frustrating and require a lot of plugins.
Nagios is primarily an open source technology. It's very well suited for environments that either work on a restricted budget and require a solution that can be customized heavily to fit. I would not recommend it to anyone with a limited time frame, tech skills, or someone looking for a canned monitoring or data collecting solution.
Read this authenticated review
Derrick Barnsdale profile photo
April 29, 2016

User Review: "Nagios--You can't beat the price!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Nagios to monitor more than a 1000 server operating systems. We currently monitor basic operating system components, such as disk space, CPU and memory utilization and network availability, but we have also spread our monitoring to Kerberos replication, Active Directory and Novell NDS driver monitoring by building our own scripts and adding plugins provided through the Nagios website.
  • Free to start.
  • Large open source community.
  • Well established with over 15 years in the industry.
  • Open source...that's both good and bad, you have to test every new plugin you find to make sure it'll work with your environment.
  • You have to pay for the updated Nagios XI which has a friendlier user interface.
  • It is potentially very easy to break if you don't know what you're doing.
For a start up or a company that is low on capital, downloading and configuring the free version of Nagios can be a god send. If you want pretty reports and a very nice, friendly user interface, Nagios probably isn't for you. Nagios installation and configuration, both on the server and client side does require some skill and might be a bit too advanced for novice administrators.
Read Derrick Barnsdale's full review
Nick Hill profile photo
April 27, 2016

User Review: "My Nagios experience."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nagios is used by our IT department to monitor servers and services across the agency. We currently monitor 100 virtual machines and 60 domain controllers. The types of services and components we monitor are drive space, memory usage, CPU usage, up time, RDP services and others. The main business problem this solved for us was drive space monitoring as before this our help desk staff would manually check server space and update a spreadsheet. When I was hired I saw this as a time saving and real time solution as I had used Nagios in a previous job and knew some of the benefits. This server monitoring has saved our IT team time and headaches by knowing where a problem is at a glance.
  • Server monitoring.
  • Service monitoring.
  • Drive Usage.
  • Application monitoring, which may be fixed by just using the enterprise version or by spending some more time implementing Nagios fully.
  • Database monitoring, which may be fixed by just using the enterprise version or by spending some more time implementing Nagios fully.
  • Ease of implementation, of course this is an issue with the free version and not being extremely familiar with Linux. I don't think this will be an issue with more knowledge of Linux or with the enterprise version.
It is a perfect free solution for any organization on a limited budget like our organization. It is a great way to do the basic monitoring of servers and services. It can also monitor other devices but we have yet to implement that aspect. I am sure there are some scenarios that a more enterprise grade monitoring would be more appropriate but I have yet to have that be a part of the jobs I have been in but I am sure they exist.
Read Nick Hill's full review
Alan-Michael Barnes profile photo
June 10, 2016

"Nagios review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nagios is used by the Operations Department in order to monitor our infrastructure and some application healthchecks.
  • There isn't a huge learning curve for someone who is new to the organization to jump in and start creating health checks and auditing the old ones.
  • It provides information clearly and organizes it for the NOC or whoever may be looking at it to have a good idea of where to start their troubleshooting.
  • At time Nagios isn't the quickest to clear alerts and some odd issues can stop it from clearing alerts that I've seen in the past, such as a new host type being added to the configuration without a valid host being spun up before hand. I've only seen it at one previous company.
It is great for monitoring our infrastructure and some applications. I haven't attempted anything outside of this.
Read Alan-Michael Barnes's full review
Martin Melin profile photo
December 07, 2015

Review: "90s era Nagios is still hard to beat for self-hosted monitoring"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nagios is part of our monitoring stack and monitors each server and service in use. All backend engineers use Nagios, when on pager duty and when setting up new services and services.
  • Nagios is the gold standard for compatibility; there is a community provided plugin for monitoring almost anything.
  • Plugins are easy to write in almost any language - most engineers can put together a Nagios plugin in a short time if they can write a program that runs on a *nix server.
  • Check schedules and notifications are flexible, although complex to configure.
  • The web interface is complicated and hard to understand for new users.
  • The configuration syntax is brittle and breaks in unexpected ways.
  • It's very easy to get too many notifications from Nagios. This isn't really a problem due to Nagios itself, because with enough configuration you can stop it from doing this. But too many notifications very quickly leads to Nagios exhaustion in your team, which leads to people ignoring Nagios.
If you are not a UNIX/Linux shop, don't try to get Nagios into your environment. There are ways of running monitoring agents on Windows hosts but it is needlessly complicated. If you are a UNIX/Linux shop and need to monitor custom things or things that need to be protected behind a firewall, Nagios is a good choice. However, first consider if you can use one of the more modern SaaS monitoring solutions. You'll lose some flexibility but gain in ease of use and team energy spent maintaining Nagios.
Read Martin Melin's full review
Randall Ulmer profile photo
December 15, 2015

User Review: "Nagios - Easy and Dependable"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently we are not using Nagios, but we did for about 8 years, and I loved working with the software. We monitored servers, Netapps, switches, power, temperature, site up-time, application monitoring, revenue graph alerts, and we were just starting to use the integrated graphing. The only departments that used Nagios were Systems, NOC, and our developers.
  • Readability: Monitoring screen is very easy to read and there are several other views that are very helpful as well.
  • Easy of setup for new devices
  • Reporting: Reports are accurate and easy to update using group settings
  • Training is simple. Technicians are up and running in about 15 minutes.
  • A GUI would be nice
  • Being able to turn off monitoring a device for a period of time (removing the device from the screen)
  • Database driven configurations
Good for any typical monitoring application
Read Randall Ulmer's full review
No photo available
September 13, 2016

"Nagios Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nagios to fill the gaps if our other monitoring tools can't provide those capabilities. It is used across different business units. It addresses monitoring of custom elements by writing scripts and is quite flexible.
  • It is easy to find many Nagios perl scripts on their user communities.
  • The application's user interface (UI) is quite simple and easy to use.
  • The application is light weight and doesn't cause too much stress on the server it runs.
  • The application is open-soured, so it is freely available.
  • The monitoring configuration is quite manual in Nagios.
  • There is a bit of a learning curve in writing Nagios perl scripts.
  • The application is not quite scalable.
Nagios is well suited for smaller environments or if there is no budget to buy expensive monitoring applications. It is not suitable for large scale deployments as a lot of functions are quite manual and time consuming.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 31, 2016

Review: "Nagios - the gold standard in systems monitoring"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nagios is the industry standard for IT systems monitoring. I use it to keep an eye on all my critical systems. Pretty much every aspect of a system can be monitored with Nagios, from a simple up/down check, to available disk space, to service status, to hardware status. It allows me to identify problems before they become user-impacting.
  • Cost - you can pay for support and an easier interface, or you can get all the monitoring you need for free.
  • Extensibility - you can pick from the vast array of checks available, or roll your own custom checks.
  • Customizability - you can pick different interfaces, add in historical graphing, configure maintenance windows, and much more.
  • Learning curve - can be steep, especially for those not familiar with Linux.
  • Messy configurations - it is easy to get your configuration files into a mess without careful management.
  • Breakability - it is easy to break your configuration accidentally, and can be difficult to figure out what you did wrong.
Nagios is perfect for companies that don't have a budget for IT monitoring, but still expect systems to be up 24x7. However, if you don't have anyone on staff who has used Linux, you might have a hard time getting it up and running. It also makes a great companion to more in depth monitoring solutions.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 02, 2016

User Review: "Nagios - Oldie but goodie"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Nagios for over 10 years. It has been a great tool to monitor and react to emergencies and is flexible and easy to implement. Nagios allows us to connect to each of our servers and connect to all the services, ports, metrics, etc., for each server we have.
  • Trusted
  • Easy to implement
  • Many plugins already written
  • Archaic
  • Dated UI
  • Quirky
Nagios is great if you're just learning about monitoring and want something that has been used for years. I have installed it in almost every company that I have worked for and it has been a great portal to the health and well being of our systems. At this point it is archaic software and there are better ways to implement monitoring (Sensu, Zabbix, Datadog, etc).
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 13, 2016

"Ny Nagios review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Nagios in the past and its a great product. I would use it again to monitor my PROD/Dev/QA. We would use it to monitor our storage, Linux, Windows and at the time Citrix XenServer environment.
  • You can build your own modules.
  • Extremely flexible and configurable.
  • Configuration can be a pain.
  • Needs to be more examples of how to set up host groups and how to set up any computer/server to be tied to a host group.
Read this authenticated review

About Nagios

Nagios provides monitoring of all mission-critical infrastructure components including applications, services, operating systems, network protocols, systems metrics, and network infrastructure. Multiple APIs provide for simple integration with in-house and third-party applications. Thousands of community-developed add-ons extend monitoring and native alerting functionality. Third-party add-ons are available for monitoring in-house applications, services, and systems. 

The vendor says Nagios is the industry standard In IT Infrastructure Monitoring. The vendor says the powerful Nagios Core 4 monitoring engine provides a high level of performance, and that its high-efficiency worker processes allow for scalability and monitoring effectiveness. It is designed to provide a central view of a company's entire IT operations network and business processes. Multi-user access to web interface allows stakeholders to view relevant infrastructure status. User-specific views ensures clients only see the infrastructure components they’re authorized for. 

Nagios Features

Has featureAdvanced Graphs & Visualizations
Has featurePerformance & Capacity Planning Graphs
Has featureConfiguration Wizards
Has featureAdvanced Infrastructure Management
Has featureConfiguration Snapshot Archive
Has featureAdvanced User Management
Has featureService-Level Agreement (SLA) Reports
Has featureExtendable Architecture

Nagios Integrations

Sematext SPM, among others

Nagios Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Nagios Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

Nagios Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, Italian, Russian, German, French, Japanese, Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese, Korean, Portuguese, Polish