SolarWinds NPM Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
455 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 193)

Mike Mozola | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 17, 2020

The best set of tools for your network monitoring needs.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use NPM in addition to other SolarWinds modules to manage all of the devices for the MDOT Intelligent Transportation Systems statewide. It is being used by our staff and other agencies to assist with construction projects, network planning and integration, and reporting to compare against systems utilizing the devices.
  • Ease of identifying network issues
  • Alerting and Notifications
  • Customizable Reporting
  • Cost
  • Hardware Requirements
  • Licensing Renewals
We have found SolarWinds NPM to be a good solution for our clients with mid to large sized networks with the budget to support managing their assets. We have used alternate (open-source) solutions for some of our clients with smaller networks but find there are a lot less features available compared to NPM.
NetPath has been a valuable asset and a good addition to NPM. It has helped save a lot of time to identify connectivity issues visually in a single path which has led to quicker resolution to issues. This has been beneficial for us to identify issues particularly with the ISP's at our remote locations.
Read Mike Mozola's full review
Ted Sadler | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 15, 2020

SolarWinds Network "Magnificent Performance" Monitor

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company provides maintenance and break-fix services for outdoor, carrier-scale transportation technology networks. With SolarWinds, we are able to get in front of issues when devices fail or otherwise invisible network issues occur, before our clients even start to notice the problems. With over 500 outdoor locations statewide and thousands of devices to support, NPM allows us both a birds-eye view of network health and an on-the-ground, detailed perspective into individual devices, subnets, and segments of the network and how they perform.
  • Providing detailed and high-level views of network device and infrastructure performance
  • Providing an intuitive and informative user interface
  • Generating flexible, customizable reports for any combination of devices imaginable
  • Providing highly extensible device metadata categories and custom properties
  • SolarWinds is an expensive platform with steep initial and recurring costs (if maintenance/update services are purchased).
  • The amount of information in the Orion interface can be intimidating if you don't know what specific information you're looking for.
Network Performance Monitor is especially well-suited for:
  • Monitoring the uptime, latency, statistics, and other metrics for individual device performance
  • Reporting on device availability and metadata
  • Identifying problem areas of the network down to specific interfaces
but is less suited for things like:
  • Network/IT device asset management
  • Small-scale business operations
Overall, SolarWinds NPM is an enterprise-grade, state/national scale platform suited very well for analyzing the performance and problem areas of large networks, but is not really meant for the "IT helpdesk" kind of user device asset management that some other platforms also do. Orion has those kinds of features available in other products, however. Also, SolarWinds would not be very appropriate for small, single-building, single-network kinds of operations.
We have not fully utilized NetPath, but given its on-premise monitoring potential, we are excited to implement it for our local network. The large scale of our network and the presence of multicast video traffic on it means that we regularly have network bottlenecks, and being able to use NetPath to identify those bottlenecks before they cause issues would be immensely valuable.
Read Ted Sadler's full review
Matthew A. Osmond | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 03, 2020

A mature, customization monitoring solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds NPM for all server and network device monitoring. We have two instances; one for our corporate environment, and one for our "critical" network segments. NPM is managed by two members of the Enterprise Applications team, with input from a cross-functional monitoring team, which has members from all areas of IT operations (and a representative from InfoSec). NPM is used both for alerting and performance monitoring.
  • Very mature product, with lots of pre-built templates and features.
  • It's very flexible and easy to customize.
  • Fantastic support community (Thwack)
  • Licensing model is simple.
  • Upgrades can be tricky and time-consuming (especially if you have other Orion products installed along with NPM). It seems like SolarWinds is really focusing on improving this.
  • It's Windows-only (which may or may not be an issue for your organization).
  • Some menus don't take advantage of modern screen resolutions (e.g., on a 1080p or higher screen, a particular menu section will be locked at a very small size, wasting a lot of real estate).
I have run SolarWinds NPM at two organizations, and it worked very well in both cases. Both orgs were mid-sized (2,000 - 5,000 users), so I have not run it at significant scale, or at a small business. It does require some care and feeding for optimal performance, but I believe this is true of any monitoring product.
My organization has not yet made much use of NetPath. I would like to make more use of it going forward. I believe this will be useful as some services move to SaaS (we are primarily on-premises). I have found NetPath useful in the past; for example, it helped us find a bad route which caused severe latency downloading updates from a particular vendor.
Read Matthew A. Osmond's full review
Bradley Friars | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 10, 2020

Works great!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds is used at our company for monitoring several different sites for our clients. When we get a notification it sends us an email that will auto-generate a ticket for us to investigate. Therefore, it streamlines our process and notifies our team much faster than constantly checking mailboxes. Drilling down is simple as well and all the metrics are easy to find a quick to understand.
  • Ticket Auto-creation
  • Very detailed without clutter
  • Simple for a new user
  • A local application so that logging in constantly isn't an issue
SolarWinds NPM is great for server and firewall management. We use it for many companies. It makes it simple to know who I need to investigate and who is working perfectly fine. One major thing for NPM is that it would be simpler if all clients could be stacked in the same window so that tab jumping was not needed.
We do not use NetPath within SolarWinds.
Read Bradley Friars's full review
Deirra J. Footman | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2020

NPM is a valuable tool for Network Monitoring

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses SolarWinds to gain visibility into the performance of the Network and to alert us to problems an outages. This helps us be proactive in identifying issues within the network and quickly address them. NPM offers high visibility into our network with a user-friendly interface. The product offers a high level of customizability allowing us to hone the monitoring and alerting to meet our needs. Getting the product up and running is pretty straightforward. The learning curve comes in when honing your monitoring. Support is responsive and reliable. The Thwack community also offers helps for deployment and management questions. The interface offers loads of charts and graphs allowing you to show how your network and key interfaces are performing. This is especially helpful when you are presenting to senior-level management and team member who may not fully understand Networking.
  • Easy to Navigate Interface - The user interface is laid out very clearly and it is intuitive to navigate.
  • Highly Customizable Alerts - You have the ability to fine-tune alerts to meet your needs.
  • Detailed Graphs and Reports - NPM does a great job of translating raw analytical data in to easy to read graphs and reports.
  • Ability to Monitor a Wide Range of Devices - There are built in MIBs for a wide range of device vendors and you have the Ability to configure more.
  • Creation of Custom Charts and Reports - Charts and graphs can take a little time to tweak to get the data that's relevant to you. Creating custom reports also isn't intuitive however the SolarWinds support is great at assisting you when needed.
  • Licensing Model - You definitely need a good knowledge of what you're trying to see. Licensing is based on the number of elements being monitored (devices and interfaces). This can get costly so you want to have a good understanding of what areas you wish to target if Cost is an issue in your organization.
  • No Real Integration with SD WAN Tools - Solarwinds NPM allows you to link with SD WAN APIs but due to API limitations, you only get surface level info. I would like to see them partner with some popular SD WAN vendors.
  • Network Atlas - this is the software you use to upload maps into the system. Currently, its a standalone piece of software on the server. I would like to see this integrated into the online console.
SolarWinds NPM has been really great with helping us diagnose the causes of network slowness, interface saturation and alerting to outages. It provides a centralized location to analyze the performance of the network and related devices, alerts allowed us to respond to outages quickly and reduce downtime for users. The product delves deep into the network allowing you to spot and resolve minor issues before they become user impacting. The modular approach they use as far as additional products work really well and the components mesh together really well. The data it provides comes in handy for identifying trends and long-term planning.
We have not used NetPath Yet.
Read Deirra J. Footman's full review
Dwain Erhart | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2020

How we use SolarWinds NPM, and some of the features you will find helpful

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Orion Summary page for all senior admins - we get alerts if things are coming down, if servers are running low on disk space, if memory is over utilized. Many different uses. I like the additions of NetPath services. I have also used reports and the network Atlas to create visual representations for our active links. Diving into a node is helpful to establish response time issues, trends and even capacity forecasts. I use this on servers, SANs, switches, Wireless controllers, and alert monitoring services.
  • NetPath services are a godsend when you are trying to explain to ISPs, etc. about where traffic is congested or stopping. Sometimes seeing is believing for them.
  • The other BIG deal is anticipating disk capacity - when volumes get to full, servers crash. With NPM, we can and create set thresholds for warning us before we run into issues, and then we can add storage, memory, and CPU, (especially on our Virtual environment.)
  • Alerts are great - instead of hearing from our users that a server is offline, we are aware of it right away.
  • It would be nice to be able to set up SNMP3 for some of our systems in an easier fashion. But it is not a show stopper.
  • Sometimes the support refers us to the Knowledge base and Thwack. Not a huge deal, but I only end up putting in a ticket when I have spent a great deal of time searching for a solution.
If you have a decent sized server farm, you will want to monitor it. If you spend time arguing with ISPs about whether they are at fault, you need NetPath to clarify. If you are a very small business, you may get by without it, but it can really save your team time and effort when you deal with multiple servers. We don't monitor EVERY node on our network - just the high level points - all servers, all network egress/ingress points, keeping ahead of storage space issues, and getting an email if something is happening you would otherwise be unable to check on a regular basis.
We do use this feature. However, we do not use it as an "always on" feature - rather, when we need to know something, it is VERY helpful. We do run a consistent NetPath service when we have recurring issues - this helps us determine issues with some of our cloud services.
Read Dwain Erhart's full review
Lasha Jojua | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 06, 2020

Good tool for network performance monitoring

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implemented SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor about 2 years ago. The tool provides a good view of the network, managed by our company. It's used by the IT ops department, It helps to discover network bottlenecks in real-time. In case of failure, detailed info can be provided for the relevant team. With all this they are able to reduce MTTR.
  • Traffic measurement
  • Device hardware performance info
  • Smart alerts
  • 3rd-party integrations
  • Detailed info and visibility of routing protocols
  • A bit complicated
SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor delivers everything that needs to be discovered before or during downtime. Alert integration with chatops software delivers comfortable environment for Ops team. 3rd-party integrations are available as well. Dashboards can be customized for different teams (network admin/monitoring). This is also a complicated tool that needs months for non-network admins to be able to understand and use it.
We are having integration with a lot of vendors, from different geolocations. After every downtime, we need to contact vendors, share findings, and start troubleshooting. In many cases, we discover that there is a possible network issue (this was the top answer from almost every vendor during 2018). One by one we covered all critical endpoints with netpath and now have a clear picture about network health. Checks can be done every minute, but I suggest to do it every 5 minutes. In the case of a 1-minute check, there will be data loss, because sometimes it takes more than 1 minute to complete the check.
Read Lasha Jojua's full review
Alessandro Piras | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2020

An irreplaceable tool for complex networks

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a network architect consultant, I manage the monitoring and SLAs of the CRIF group's network--a network of over 1000 multi-vendor nodes. SolarWinds Orion NPM allows me to monitor all network devices with proactive managed alarms. It also allows me to analyze traffic in case of network issues thanks to the Live performance feature. Configuration of a new device to monitor is very simple, and it's very easy to create custom detailed reports to help the management have a global view of the network and traffic status.
  • Simple discovery of multiple nodes to monitor
  • A lot of graphical snippets to represent data
  • Customization of dashboard
  • Missing the ability to create a partition to give separate customizable environments to different groups
  • Traps triggered alerts can be done only on the TrapTools, not in the web interface
  • Custom maps can be done only on the Atlas tool, not in the web interface
SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor is well suited in a multi-vendor network with at least 50 network devices and is less appropriate in an environment where network traffic is not very critical.
This feature is not applicable to our network environment. The feature is not configured.
Read Alessandro Piras's full review
Jennifer Aguilar | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2020

SolarWinds NPM: It's never too late to make the right decision for your network.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am responsible for the network, security, performance and overall data network for my organization. I have used NPM to achieve several objectives, along with overall daily performance monitoring. When I first implemented it 7 years ago, we had multiple encrypted tunnels running over T1's which degraded the performance for the end-users. I used SolarWinds NPM to draw a baseline (in red), which eventually went away with a better-configured piece of hardware.

SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor points our discrepancies; I feel like NPM is my left hand at work. it has definitely paid for itself many times over. It allows you to take baselines and look at performance in real-time and historically. I find hardware that is going to fail before it fails due to the statistics. The saying, you get what you pay for? You get more with NPM! I will say, you get out of the tool what you put into it! I have a standard for every device so it is very easy to see anomalies on the NOC!
  • Every network has a notorious piece of equipment that runs outside of normal thresholds! You can set up individual thresholds for alert notification. It is very important to find the right balance of notifications from your monitoring tools. You can tweak NPM or run with the defaults. I run the defaults until hardware indicates that it needs individual configuration.
  • You can add nodes individually or in bulk. You can have NPM discover your network!
  • NPM can set up a wireless heat map - you need to input a floor plan - massage the map with Network Atlas; before you know it you will have a live heat map of your wireless network!
  • I love the top XX options to view in the NOC - I have the top 100 network events, the top 100 interfaces showing in the NOC. You can detail the NOC pages to show just about anything you are collecting in NPM. Unbelievable information when looking for anomalies!
  • NPM is being driven by the user group THWACK! I love the fact that they just added Network Insight for the Palo Alto Firewalls: site-to-site VPNs: discovery, status, bandwidth, failures reason, and protocols. GlobalProtect VPNs: username, public IP, virtual IP, and status
  • I can't complain or really say that SolarWinds Network Performance monitor has any particular flaw to report! I am pleased how Solarwinds used the THWACK community to add additional features to the product.
  • I would like to be able to reclassify the Unknown nodes - the LINUX flavored servers running my virtual Avaya phone network are not classified at all. I did name and manage all the nodes. All nodes are properly identified, I just don't like that group called Unknown .. .but am glad it is there to catch unidentified objects!
  • Demo NPM from Solarwinds Web site. You will not be disappointed!
Network Performance Monitor is well suited for any environment, no matter what size! You need to put a little effort forth to install the product and to manage all your nodes. Once you have the product installed, you can run reports, pull up graphs. The network administrator no longer has to get frustrated pleading that "IT IS NOT THE NETWORK!" Print out a report with visuals to see the problem is not the network. Use NPM to work the OSI model when troubleshooting!
The only place that Network Performance Monitor is not appropriate is in an environment when you do not have permission to monitor!!!
We don't use NetPath at this time. We have a really refined/defined operation that does not go outside! I could have used NetPath when troubleshooting my remote 7 or 8 years ago! We have not benefited from the capabilities of NetPath yet; I do plan on better leveraging this tool in the very near future.
Read Jennifer Aguilar's full review
Jon Liedtke | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2020

Solarwinds NPM - Single pane network visibility

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize NPM primarily for monitoring cisco switches. However, we also use it heavily to monitor other network devices as a means to first alert us of an outage or an issue. Our support team lives within the NPM dashboards throughout their work day.
  • NPM does a great job of alerting us to outages, latency, connectivity issues etc...
  • NPM provides historical data for monitored devices to the port level.
  • NPM provides our customers (we are an MSP) with real-time network information for their environment.
  • NPM is ideal for installations where systems are monitored on a local LAN. If you are monitoring over a WAN connection a lot of false positives can be generated based on latency and outages unrelated to the monitored environment.
  • The cost to add additional NPM polling engines is high in my opinion. If I could I would have a polling engine local to each LAN but it is cost prohibitive.
  • Upgrades of NPM in our case have presented some challenged, likely due to the age of our installation. Solarwinds tech support has been helpful in recommending an upgrade path forward.
NPM is a good fit for monitoring of devices on a local LAN. If monitoring over WAN you will encounter some challenges.
Read Jon Liedtke's full review
Brian Anderson | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

SolarWinds NPM - "Nice, Practical, Modular"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a consultant SolarWinds NPM allows me to recommend and implement a quick, industry standard solution for my customers that adds value immediately. With an ever increasing number of add-on modules it is scalable to meet the needs of a variety of businesses/organizations.
  • Ease of configuration. SolarWinds NPM is easily configured initially with discovery auto-populating the majority of equipment.
  • Ease of management/use. SolarWinds NPM is easily understood by those with less training, allowing them to gain visibility in to and troubleshoot problems that would otherwise require additional assistance.
  • Pricing. While there are alternate solutions to SolarWinds NPM, this offering sits in a well-priced space easily adding more value than the sticker price. With the module-based approach the product offering often scales well with company size as well.
  • Ease of modification. It is sometimes difficult to understand how to properly modify the details of individual components. This comes with the territory given the constraints of SNMP, etc. but I feel that SolarWinds could streamline the end-user experience.
  • Dials. For some things dials are a good indication for system status but I've never liked them for network monitoring as they take up a lot of real estate where a simple color-coded number would suffice in most cases.
SolarWinds NPM shines when properly applied to Enterprise scenarios but I actually see more value-for-money in the smaller space where dedicated network personnel aren't always part of the budget. NPM enables these smaller entities to outsource key aspects of network configuration to dedicated consultants and hire fewer staff overall.
Read Brian Anderson's full review
Joshua Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2020

SolarWinds NPM - the backbone of network monitoring

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor is our backbone for monitoring all network infrastructure for our company. We use it for all devices currently deployed in the field, as well as all data center device monitoring. The ability of NPM to monitor large scale environments such as ours, and the integration with other SW products such as NCM and SAM work very well with NPM.
  • NPM polls devices consistently for status
  • NPM gathers statistical data for logging
  • NPM also has reporting and alerting features that aid in logging historical data and diagnosing issues
  • NPM can be a bit hard to tame on resources in a large scaled environment
  • NPM needs some finesse when running large scaled jobs/reports
  • NPM could stand to be more efficient on the back end. It can be a hog.
NPM can be a backbone for monitoring network devices in anywhere from small, to large scaled environments. Keeping historical and statistical data, in conjunction with other SW products such as NCM, SAM, and NTA, you can monitor your network and diagnose issue faster than you'd otherwise be able to. It's helped us keep our systems running.
Read Joshua Smith's full review
Esam Alaslmy | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 07, 2020

Great product, and I hope they never stop making better.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We mainly use SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor to have a visibility on the load of our servers and network bandwidth. We use it to monitor all of our network devices and servers across all of our 4 sites. SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor helps us to know if anything goes wrong within the environment. Also, the alerts feature adds a great value for us to handle the problem quickly. For example, when a critical server CPU utilization goes high, we get an immediate alert to check the issue. Another example is that when VPN connection is lost to a remote site, we instantly receive an alert that the remote router is down so we can act fast to get the service back.
  • Pre-stack live monitoring
  • EMA alerts feature
  • History timelines for each sensor
  • Web portal is sometimes slow
  • Reporting is difficult and not intuitive
I would like SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor to be easier and more intuitive to use, especially for reporting and customization. I also would like it if the portal pages are much faster to load.
Read Esam Alaslmy's full review
Brian Tucker | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

SolarWinds- makes going home easy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to monitor network equipment and servers throughout the whole school district. It lets us easily see outages and heavy load issues. And it was recently set up to monitor certain stations used by security personnel to make sure they are up and running.
  • Notification of equipment down before the user usually even notices there is a problem.
  • Insight into processor and memory loads on equipment to allow adjustments before failure.
  • Better tools to clean up database bloat.
In larger environments it is a must. No way you could manually do what SolarWinds does for you.
We use it as a reference point sometimes.
Read Brian Tucker's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 04, 2020

SolarWinds Network Evaluation

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Solarwinds NPM at my currently company is only being evaluated and utilized by a small subset of our whole organization. We are currently deploying and utilizing NPM and NCM as a proof of concept to gain support for an eventual full migration to the remaining aspects of our team.
  • Building service groups based on multiple aspects and technologies allowing for monitoring of a full service as opposed to the individual aspects of it.
  • Ability to pull and organize information with custom snmp pullers means we are able to monitor and report on any event that occurs in our network.
  • The ability to create additional pages and gather custom information to create simple and easily accessible locations vast improves our ability to understand and react to network related events.
  • Custom page layout in NPM only allows for vertical columns of information, limiting your ability to display information in the best manner.
  • Universal Device Poller is a separate application that would be much more user friendly if it was incorporated directly into the NPM web interface.
  • High Availability failover solution requires additional licensing from third parties to utilize.
Solarwinds and NPMs graphic solution is rather limited in your ability to display information in the manner you prefer. I feel the graphing and reviewing historical performance graphs to be one of the least developed features of NPM. The network topology maps have recently made large improvements and is a great step forward from the old Atlas Map program.
We are currently not utilizing or evaluating the net path product.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 07, 2020

All the information you need to diagnose your network in one place.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds NPM to monitor our radio and fiber infrastructure. We have a wide range of equipment and have been impressed by the ease with which we have been able to add most of these to the NPM environment. We monitor interface status for connectivity and usage, with alarms being monitored by in-house engineers, who have been able to pick up on changes in trends and escalate as needed.
  • The clarity of the NPM interface is unparalleled in the level of information displayed. This is often a challenge on other monitors when there is such a variety of equipment being monitored.
  • Adding a node to be monitored is generally a stress-free process, with a lot of configuration available, but only the bare minimum being compulsory.
  • The graphing provided for nodes provides us with enough knowledge to prevent noticeable failures in many cases. No need to click too many buttons.
  • I have found the configuration of alerts to be somewhat confusing at times. I like to have as few required fields as possible to start with, and tailor the alert from that.
NPM gives a great overview of the goings-on in a network. The amount of information we want to see is easily found, and when we find we are missing some detail, that is also added with a minimal amount of effort. The mapping options are also great and allow us to see when different areas may be affected by localized power or other issues.
The visual analysis of the NPM interface constantly allows us to detect faults before clients are aware. This is due to the availability of monitoring of things like temperature, CPU usage and interface status in most cases, but our tier one engineers have each developed their own strategy for reading the data available in NPM, providing good outcomes.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 09, 2020

SolarWinds NPM Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds NPM is being used by several teams in our IT department including the networking team and various application support teams. It is used to proactively monitor the network, look for outages, and troubleshoot application performance issues for our end users.
  • Monitors and alerts on network device metrics
  • Adding a device is easy and device templates are accurate
  • The user interface is intuitive and packs information densely on the screen for easy use.
  • Configuring and monitoring at the port level can be confusing. Often level 1 technicians misconfigure what ports actually need to be monitored. More common on larger or more complex devices such as core switches.
  • The top-level menus in NPM (and all of SolarWinds Orion tools) are not always intuitive.
For any size network needing performance monitoring as well as up/down statistics and all types of network performance alerts, SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor is a great tool.

If you need detailed measurements over very short time intervals, SolarWinds NPM is not the tool you need. It is best suited at a macro view over minutes/hours/days.
While the NetPath tool has a lot of great potential. We just have not implemented it. In the test scenarios I have set up, it works quite well. It needs someone to give it attention and maintenance to get the value.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 09, 2020

A highly recommended network management tool.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds NPM to monitor our whole borough (200+ sites). We use it on a daily basis to manage, monitor, and audit our entire network infrastructure. It keeps us one step ahead on most days and helps us with great insight into our network. If you're looking to get more visibility, better alerting, or help with general monitoring, SolarWinds NPM will help you 'see' your network; we highly recommend SolarWinds NPM.
  • Alerting
  • Auditing and Search
  • General Monitoring
  • SNMP Montioring
  • Reporting
  • Less resource hungry
  • Writing reports could be a little simpler
  • Can get on the expensive side
SolarWinds NPM is great for keeping track of all your nodes and making sure they are online. It can help with deeper insight and give you a great inventory for reporting and auditing. We find it helps with both small and larger networks. You can get what you need out of it as it is highly customizable. On the negative, if you're looking for deeper packet inspection or detailed information for more than a few months, then for us we find it very resource hungry and only limit it to 30 days or so.
NetPath can often give you a nice visual traceroute and can help you visually see where there is a bottle kneck. It also offers live insight or historic, which can help you see where your network is going slow and often why. It's simple to set up and doesn't require too much extra config, so it's worth looking into for a quick oversight.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 08, 2020

Review of SolarWinds NPM

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds NPM is used by our IT department to monitor network performance and track outages and network congestion. It is an essential part of our organization's network management system. SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor allows me to see the network as a whole as well as look at specific parts to diagnose issues and troubleshoot outages.
  • Comprehensive alert system
  • Wide range of supported network gear
  • Ability so save and push configuration files
  • Can't turn off events
  • Hard to find accurate help
SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor is ideal for monitoring network performance. I know that seems obvious, but it does exactly what it is designed to do and that is a good thing (and unfortunately somewhat rare). The tools are fairly simple to use. The reports show good data in a useful way.
We use NetPath to monitor our connections outside of our intranet. It provides a very good look into connection speeds and allows us to troubleshoot and prevent network outages.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 04, 2020

SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize SolarWinds NPM to monitor our internal and client networks. It is currently only used by a single department (or business unit) but we supply regular reports to many other teams and clients. It directly addresses the needs of being able to monitor and troubleshoot a diverse range of hardware.
  • Detailed Statistics
  • Reporting
  • Configurability
  • Doing anything in bulk needs major improvement
  • Network mapping displays
  • Be more reactive to customer requests
  • Cover ALL technology vendors, not just a select few
This review is purely aimed at making others realize that SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor is not a simple replacement tool for what you might already be using. It is extremely powerful, extremely configurable but the average likely user--a network or server admin--is ulikely to have the necessary coding and SQL skills needed to utilize that. This is something that SolarWinds haven't really talked about, and in my opinion, is a major flaw and is what makes me only give it a 6/10 rating.
Yes, we utilize NetPath, mostly via our problem management team who need to dig into root causes or major ongoing issues.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 03, 2020

SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor: THE leader in network monitoring

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor is being used primarily by the Network Team to monitor for various alerts directly related to the network infrastructure. There is a limited number of other teams within our organization that use it mainly to monitor bandwidth and CPU utilization. We have a lot of infrastructure. Without NPM we could have extended outages. It allows us to see issues and address them right away.
  • Alerting is easy to set up and customize--without good alerting, why bother?
  • The custom charts can be a real lifesaver at times. Many times I have been asked to essentially prove that a particular network component or circuit was not to blame. Custom charts make it quick and easy to put a graphic together to share.
  • Easily customizable dashboard with widgets galore allows us to see the things we really care about at a glance.
  • I personally find the maps a little cumbersome to work with. Yeah, you can create one pretty quickly, but it's a bit of work to make it look nice.
  • The upgrade process hasn't gone as smoothly as we expected in the past. We haven't upgraded to 2020 yet, so maybe that will go better.
  • I wish I could provide more cons, but it really is a great product. If they can make the maps easier to deal with, and streamline the upgrade process, it will be nearly a perfect product.
Monitoring network infrastructure (routers, switches, LAN/WAN circuits) is where SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor really shines. I frequently use it to pull historical graphs to show other teams where specific network components were either behaving properly or poorly at times of observed issues.

NPM doesn't have a whole lot of drawbacks. I guess you could say that server type devices don't benefit from it as much as network infrastructure.
We have very rarely used NetPath but hope to do so more in the future.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2020

NPM watches our servers and switches so we don't have to

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds NPM to monitor performance statistics and status (up/down) of over 250 servers and hundreds of switch and router interfaces enterprise-wide. Custom alerts are used to notify application or server owners when a system is down or degraded.
  • Adding nodes is easy.
  • Status monitoring is efficient and timely (assuming your polling and alert settings are appropriate).
  • Dashboards are useful and highly customizeable.
  • It's a big animal and takes time and expertise to keep it running smoothly and maintain the monitored nodes. Don't assume some IT tech is going to use this in their spare time.
  • Because it is very complex, there can be a steep learning curve. Get some training from Loop1.
  • The web interface is slow. Probably can't be helped, but it is frustrating at times.
Very useful for monitoring large numbers of nodes, and it has great forecasting ability (this server will run out of disk in x days). It does not have detailed application awareness; you will need additional modules for websites, network flow, application monitoring, and log aggregation. Alarm tuning is almost an art form; you will need to spend time tuning alarms or they will become noise and get ignored.
We have not delved into this feature yet. Looks cool.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2020

SolarWinds NPM is the magic bullet!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor, for us, is used for the monitoring of servers, networking equipment and other devices. The only department that uses it is information technology. SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor helps us manage what's going on in the environment and also keeps an eye for any machines that go offline anytime during the day or night. Before SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor it was all hit and miss as to when we knew devices were in trouble.
  • The software is very in-depth. You will be able to get metrics and data on things you never thought possible.
  • SolarWinds has a vast array of products in its database so we have yet to add anything that wasn't already included.
  • The reporting is wonderful. It is in-depth and allows us to provide documents to business partners when asked.
  • Sometimes there are too many things to look at. It may be hard to find just what you are looking for. I would prefer a more dumbed down interface or even a guided wizard.
  • It may be our implementation but it seems a little sluggish at times.
  • Upgrading it can be a pain since there may be multiple updates needed to get current.
The software is powerful and does what its advertised to do. I think that Solarwinds is a perfect candidate for any administrator with at least 25 devices/servers to manage. One of the best things you can do during the selection process would be to get an estimate for the number of interfaces you will have. These can add up fast since everything can be monitored.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 23, 2020

Network Performance Monitoring for the Admin with no time

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Solarwinds NPM has been a very helpful tool, we use it to monitor devices and network links and the performance and uptime of these and to be honest, without it I wouldn't be able to sleep at night. We utilize this from an IT departmental side as well as feed data to our development team.
  • Traffic monitoring.
  • Link performance.
  • Device uptime.
  • Detailed reporting.
  • Price.
  • More integration options.
  • User friendly interface for juniors.
Site to Site Link Monitoring
Monitoring the link between your branches is vital for your production systems and performance reporting.

Network Device Port Monitoring
Monitoring the ports on your switches for throughput and if they are up or down is very helpful.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 07, 2020

NPM for a medium size business

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds NPM has been very helpful for our org. Previously, we had no visual on our network. We often had to get alerted by users who only sometimes report a problem. We were essentially operating blind. Now that we have NPM we can be proactive. NPM offers alerts for not only when a site is down but when a site is experiencing bandwidth issues.
  • Bandwidth alerts. Lets you be proactive to problems.
  • Alerts that a device has rebooted. This lets you know that it was more than a normal internet outage. There may be power issues.
  • Machine learning. NPM listens to the devices over time and creates baselines automatically.
  • Too many alerts when a site goes down. Need to be able to fine tune better.
NPM is a great tool to get a visual on what is happening on your network. You can stay ahead of a problem and fix it before a user can even submit a ticket with the bandwidth alerts. Adding all of your network devices from firewalls to switches makes it a very handy tool for monitoring these devices.
I have begun to use NetPath. It detected the devices I input into Network Performance Monitor and created a basic map of our network. This helped with a visualization of our network. I can now provide this to anyone in my company. No matter how tech savvy they may or may not be.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Automated network device discovery (170)
8.7
Network monitoring (189)
9.4
Baseline threshold calculation (166)
8.4
Alerts (188)
9.3
Network capacity planning (149)
7.7
Packet capture analysis (104)
7.5
Network mapping (155)
7.7
Customizable reports (173)
8.4
Wireless infrastructure monitoring (121)
7.6
Hardware health monitoring (175)
8.8

About SolarWinds NPM

SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor (NPM) delivers comprehensive network fault monitoring and performance management that scales and expands with a company's network monitoring needs. Users can collect and view availability, real-time and historical statistics from routers, switches, firewalls, servers, and any other SNMP-, ICMP-, or WMI-enabled devices directly from a web browser.

The vendor states that SolarWinds users can get a full NPM installation up and running the same day they download, and that implementation does not require a team of consultants. NPM provides visibility into the health of network devices and servers on the network, ensuring that users have needed real-time information to keep their network running at peak performance.

Network Performance Monitor helps IT Pros:

  • Quickly detect, diagnose, and resolve network performance issues and avoid downtime
  • Respond to multiple condition checks, correlated events, and device dependencies
  • Automatically calculate capacity exhaustion dates using customizable thresholds based on peak and average usage
  • Streamline network troubleshooting with an easy-to-use Web interface
  • View paths to critical business services hop-by-hop, even into the cloud, with the NetPath™ feature
  • Get deeper visibility into complex network devices with Network Insight™ features for Cisco ASA firewalls, Cisco Nexus switches, and F5 BIG-IP load balancers

SolarWinds NPM Features

Network Performance Monitoring Features
Has featureAutomated network device discovery
Has featureNetwork monitoring
Has featureBaseline threshold calculation
Has featureAlerts
Has featureNetwork capacity planning
Has featurePacket capture analysis
Has featureNetwork mapping
Has featureCustomizable reports
Has featureWireless infrastructure monitoring
Has featureHardware health monitoring
Additional Features
Has featureMulti-vendor device support for any router, switch, firewall, VPN concentrator, wireless access point and other devices that support standard protocols
Has featureIntelligent alerts for correlated events, sustained conditions, and complex combinations of device states
Has featureInsight on hardware health by monitoring, alerting, and reporting on the state of key device sensors
Has featureNetPath for hop-by-hop monitoring of critical business services, on-premises or into the cloud
Has featureNetwork Insight for Cisco ASA firewalls
Has featureNetwork Insight for Cisco Nexus switches
Has featureNetwork Insight for F5 BIG-IP load balancers

SolarWinds NPM Screenshots

SolarWinds NPM Video

Network Performance Monitor overview

SolarWinds NPM Downloadables

SolarWinds NPM Integrations

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor, SolarWinds Web Performance Monitor (WPM), SolarWinds IP Address Manager (IPAM), SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA), SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM), SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN), SolarWinds Storage Resource Monitor (SRM), SolarWinds Web Help Desk (WHD), SolarWinds User Device Tracker, SolarWinds VoIP & Network Quality Manager

SolarWinds NPM Competitors

ManageEngine OpManager, Ipswitch WhatsUp Gold, Nagios Core, DX Infrastructure Manager (formerly CA Unified Infrastructure Management), Micro Focus Network Node Manager i (formerly HP Network Node Manager), Paessler PRTG

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

SolarWinds NPM Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds NPM Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Windows® Server 2016; SQL Server 2016 SQL Server 2016 SP1 SQL Server 2017 (including installations on Linux)
Mobile Application:No