TrustRadius
SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor, from Austin-based SolarWinds, is a network monitoring option.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Qn/7Y/GFXR292JE2EE.PNG2 Decades for network motioning experience.When I started at my current company the previous engineers had used Nagios but never trained anyone on their specialized configurations or how to duplicate their work. Since Nagios no one on the team that was left had experience with Nagios. I brought in SolarWinds NPM to quickly bring a handle on basic networking monitoring which was not being done. Management bought into my plan and we've migrated all monitoring to SolarWinds products as a core single pane of glass.,Easy templates can be made to train everyone on adding and managing nodes. Reporting Reporting Reporting Constant upgrades to features to keep up with the changing times.,Better email controls. Right now we can do everything to control different groups getting emails but it could be easier. NTA needs to be part of NPM they should not be separate products. Filtering/searching options on syslogs and alerts.,10,This new feature NetPath really replaces what we used to do with some of Cisco's EMM line. While this is just a very graphic traceroute it has proven to be very helpful in discovering performance issues with multi-homed BGP datacenters.,The views into the Cisco ASA and F5 load balancers have helped us increase our ability to respond to issues as they are occurring not hours later when we have complaints filtering in.,Noise vs happiness is how I look at the difference of Solarwinds with some of the other products. Yes you have to configure and tweak but the community always has some great suggestions and next level ideas on custom alerts and monitors for those alerts. 13 years ago no one was monitoring BGP change of state just up/down but I wrote a poller that did this and all of the sudden we were able to address largely impacting issues before our customers started to report them.,Reporting and forecasting helping us find the path to supporting growing areas before bottlenecks happen Transparency with all of our internal groups for what is really happening on the network. Templates and standards to ensure consistency on the network.,NPM is a valuable tool for Network MonitoringOur organization uses SolarWinds to gain visibility into the performance of the Network and to alert us to problems an outages. This helps us be proactive in identifying issues within the network and quickly address them. NPM offers high visibility into our network with a user-friendly interface. The product offers a high level of customizability allowing us to hone the monitoring and alerting to meet our needs. Getting the product up and running is pretty straightforward. The learning curve comes in when honing your monitoring. Support is responsive and reliable. The Thwack community also offers helps for deployment and management questions. The interface offers loads of charts and graphs allowing you to show how your network and key interfaces are performing. This is especially helpful when you are presenting to senior level management and team member who may not fully understand Networking.,Easy to Navigate Interface - The user interface is laid out very clearly and it is intuitive to navigate. Highly Customizable Alerts - You have the ability to fine-tune alerts to meet your needs. Detailed Graphs and Reports - NPM does a great job of translating raw analytical data in to easy to read graphs and reports. Ability to Monitor a Wide Range of Devices - There are built in MIBs for a wide range of device vendors and you have the Ability to configure more.,Creation of Custom Charts and Reports - Charts and graphs can take a little time to tweak to get the data that's relevant to you. Creating custom reports also isn't intuitive however the SolarWinds support is great at assisting you when needed. Licensing Model - You definitely need a good knowledge of what you're trying to see. Licensing is based on the number of elements being monitored (devices and interfaces). This can get costly so you want to have a good understanding of what areas you wish to target if Cost is an issue in your organization. No Real Integration with SD WAN Tools - Solarwinds NPM allows you to link with SD WAN APIs but due to API limitations, you only get surface level info. I would like to see them partner with some popular SD WAN vendors. Network Atlas - this is the software you use to upload maps into the system. Currently, its a standalone piece of software on the server. I would like to see this integrated into the online console.,10,We have not used NetPath Yet.,The Health monitoring has helped us be proactive in replacing gear that is failing before it causes an outage for our users. The temperature alerts also allow us to identify and address environmental issues before they have a negative impact on the network equipment. The performance piece has helped us in our long-term planning.,We have built a lot of custom alerts and reports based on the information required by our stakeholders. The alerts allow us to be proactive in identifying and addressing issues.,Save us money on underutilized internet circuits - We were able to scale our internet pipes down at various locations based on the information we gathered. Help Us Make Our Case to replace Aging Equipment - Some organizations have an "if it isn't broke, don't fix it." mindset. The Health reports gave the detailed data we needed to show upper management where investments needed to be made. Targeted Dashboard - We have been able to build trust with our applications teams by providing them a view for network performance as it relates to their applications and servers.,SolarWinds NPM Customer ReviewIt's being used across our whole organization. It allows us to use one pane of glass to see both Network and Server issues across our organization. This is important to allow our NOC to watch many systems/interdependencies without watching multiple systems. It also allows us to keep recent configurations of our network gear, for survivability.,It pulls SNMP data well, in particular it allows us to capture port level information with a decent amount of historical data. This is true for user ports or trunk ports. It does a good job of keeping an up-to-date stable of configurations. This is invaluable for recovery operations. Syslog collector is also very useful to again correlate performance data against what errors the box itself is processing.,I would like to see the robustness of the database and pollers improved. It seems like we often need to do system upkeep or the application seems to grind along very slowly. I would also like to see an improved method for auto-provisioning of server monitoring tools. I would also like to be able to update maps/drawings directly from the web interface without having to use a separate Windows client.,6,We haven't used NetPath. We purchased NPM a very long time ago, before NetPath was implemented/integrated. Because of that we have never understood how NetPath can help us, nor had the impetus to do so.,We very much benefit from these tools to help us identify if a particular device or link is being overworked or underutilized. NPM does a fairly good job looking at our Cisco and Juniper infrastructure. However, we also have Palo Alto Firewalls and I have seen NPM fail to report accurate CPU utilization for this platform. I would love to see strength added to strength to improve PA reporting.,To my knowledge we have created one complex alert function, and that is to report when a particular links' utilization drops to 0. This link never goes "down" at the physical interface, but our Carrier may have an outage downstream that cause this particular link to "drop". By creating this report which measures utilization we are still able to track and report on connectivity issues in a complex environment.,SolarWinds has definitely helped us find a platform for all of our reporting. Not just network, but also servers and other infrastructure. This is very valuable to our NOC which watches all of the infrastructure. The modular architecture with multiple polling engines, allows us to keep pollers in different locations and also to offer services to the entire university system and not just a single campus.,WhatsUp Gold and NagiosSolarWinds Proves Time and TimeSolarwinds NPM is current being used in my organization's network throughout. As for access to the platform it is restricted to the IT team at the moment but are working to get real-time statistics to display on our SharePoint portal for all organization users to see the real-time health of our network and services. NPM has solved a couple of problems that were important to identifying root causes for network or network related issues. This was accomplished by utilizing the built-in features of NPM such as device polling (SNMP/PING) which gives us a status of the health of a device or the reachability to it, and NetPath has helped in cases where we have had ISPs failover and increase latency or increase the amount of network hops to a configured resource.,Easy to navigate UI while still providing powerful monitoring features. Wide range of features to monitor just about any network/service. Configurable (eye candy) reporting for upper management. alerting features are very good for just about of any type of alerting you need,With many services moving to the cloud monitoring can be a challenge depending on your cloud deployments. Pricey but much less work to do than open source / free tools. If not configured to its full potential or to your organization's needs it can appear to be useless for it's price. Alarms in a device can only be acknowledged individually and not on a incident affected basis. For newer devices/platforms you have to customize pollers as the built-in pollers may report incorrect data.,10,NetPath has helped our organization in a way that now we can tell when either of our two ISPs have network issues, had a major failure, or if an upstream tier provider maybe the root cause. A really neat feature in NetPath is that it breaks down the entire path to include owners/contact information of the devices in the path in the Internet on a hop to hop basis.,This is critical in any monitoring solution. You have to be confident that the data you are seeing is indeed the operating condition/s of your network device/service. This also help with capacity planning where you can easily identify weak points in the network that suffer from providing an insufficient amount of the resources that the network requires which leads to hardware/software upgrades or appropriate reconfigurations.,Another important feature for a good monitoring tool is when you cannot be alerted when devices fall outside of a predetermined threshold. SolarWinds provide sufficient alerting whether you are actively in the UI or elsewhere from the office. Also provides automatic escalations by including other people in the alerts when a threshold is not met as far as user interaction (SLA).,We have visibility into our network and services like this organization has not had before with our Cisco IOS/Nexus devices. We have a more than capable compute platform that easily handled the SolarWinds NPM installation with no additional hardware purchases. The amount of labor hours spent configuring NPM is significantly less that other tools I have used which is a huge plus.Entry-level tool; starting to show its age (not in a good way)We are currently using SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor (NPM) to provide enterprise-wide monitoring across a physical campus location in Irvine, Satellite WAN locations (MPLS) and Meraki managed sites. We also utilize NPM in conjunction with Netflow and Voice Network Quality Manager (VNQM) to get a complete picture of our entire Enterprise infrastructure. It address the strong need for a stable and quick network for our Enterprise Services (Proprietary applications created to service Glidewell needs).,Summarized network statistics in easy to use out-of-the-box graphs Quick and very pretty presentation-quality graph via "PerfStack". A quick-fire comparison graph solution provided only with SolarWinds products. Most tools are pre-scripted and work well in most environments. Easier for entry-level positions to learn. No learning to script needed to start.,Since it summarizes most of the details, it lacks any real-time functionality. If a user complains of network slowness, you'll have to use either a separate tool to drill down in real time after the fact and hope it replicates or if the network issues are quick and intermittent, it will be missed by SW unless you have super aggressive and almost unrealistic polling times (sub-minute) for the SolarWinds platform, particularly the polling engine Frequent crashes related to the Orion Platform. Some features are released without optimization or cause severe platform issues and ultimately end up being disabled until patched later. Updates tend to be on the slow side when it comes to APIs for new technology. Examples: Meraki, Nexus OS(SD-WAN), etc.,5,NetPath is expensive, but, improved TraceRoute with visualizations. It is only really useful in very specific situations where you know EXACTLY where to look and just need a tool to watch the routes for an extended period. It doesn't feed back to the larger platform as a whole, requires a deployment of a "sensor" and costs licensing to utilize. We've used to try and troubleshoot issues with users in Costa Rica complaining about slowness with accessing some applications we run from AWS ECS (web-based platform). We did not find any new information outside of what we already knew from NPM tool.,We have not. Most of these issues are blatant enough that they have noticeable issues the exact moment they hit. Most of the "insight" is useless statistical data that only really network engineers who are infatuated with numbers care about. We have only really used NPM for hard up/down situations and only provided analysis when coupled with NetFlow data.,The canned alerts are pretty awesome. They get the job done. The canned alert actions are also awesome, no scripting required. We do have some difficulty in understanding the naming conventions of the statistics that SolarWinds gathers. A lot of times, it requires a lot of Googling and even then we don't fully understand what a metric is trying to say or there are a few similarly named metrics with different numbers, it can be difficult to figure out which is the right one (even for our much more seasoned analysts and engineers),It has saved us hundreds of thousands of dollars by avoiding production outage by simply providing an overview of our network and narrowing the extent of issues. To be fair though, this value add can be provided by simply having any network solution. It just happened to be we chose SW NPM.,LiveAction, SevOne, ScienceLogic and WhatsUp Gold,Providing enterprise-wide metrics for aggregate network utilization Single-pane of glass, ease of use. Low ceiling for entry; does not require engineer level knowledge to use. It's cheap, gets the basic job done, but, lacks in new features or new device type support,Price Existing Relationship with the Vendor,5
Windows, Windows® Server 2016; SQL Server 2016 SQL Server 2016 SP1 SQL Server 2017 (including installations on Linux)
SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor
205 Ratings
Score 8.6 out of 101
TRScore

SolarWinds NPM Reviews

SolarWinds NPM
205 Ratings
Score 8.6 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 205 vetted SolarWinds NPM reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 68)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
September 28, 2018

SolarWinds NPM Review: "2 Decades for network motioning experience."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
When I started at my current company the previous engineers had used Nagios but never trained anyone on their specialized configurations or how to duplicate their work. Since Nagios no one on the team that was left had experience with Nagios. I brought in SolarWinds NPM to quickly bring a handle on basic networking monitoring which was not being done. Management bought into my plan and we've migrated all monitoring to SolarWinds products as a core single pane of glass.
  • Easy templates can be made to train everyone on adding and managing nodes.
  • Reporting Reporting Reporting
  • Constant upgrades to features to keep up with the changing times.
  • Better email controls. Right now we can do everything to control different groups getting emails but it could be easier.
  • NTA needs to be part of NPM they should not be separate products.
  • Filtering/searching options on syslogs and alerts.
If you have less then 30 network devices that do not need to be 24x7 then SolarWinds is not for you. If you have multiple sites and 24x7 revenue tied to up time of these locations then SolarWinds is the best place to start for keeping your eye on your world.
Read Roger Oliver's full review
September 21, 2018

SolarWinds NPM Review: "NPM is a valuable tool for Network Monitoring"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses SolarWinds to gain visibility into the performance of the Network and to alert us to problems an outages. This helps us be proactive in identifying issues within the network and quickly address them. NPM offers high visibility into our network with a user-friendly interface. The product offers a high level of customizability allowing us to hone the monitoring and alerting to meet our needs. Getting the product up and running is pretty straightforward. The learning curve comes in when honing your monitoring. Support is responsive and reliable. The Thwack community also offers helps for deployment and management questions. The interface offers loads of charts and graphs allowing you to show how your network and key interfaces are performing. This is especially helpful when you are presenting to senior level management and team member who may not fully understand Networking.
  • Easy to Navigate Interface - The user interface is laid out very clearly and it is intuitive to navigate.
  • Highly Customizable Alerts - You have the ability to fine-tune alerts to meet your needs.
  • Detailed Graphs and Reports - NPM does a great job of translating raw analytical data in to easy to read graphs and reports.
  • Ability to Monitor a Wide Range of Devices - There are built in MIBs for a wide range of device vendors and you have the Ability to configure more.
  • Creation of Custom Charts and Reports - Charts and graphs can take a little time to tweak to get the data that's relevant to you. Creating custom reports also isn't intuitive however the SolarWinds support is great at assisting you when needed.
  • Licensing Model - You definitely need a good knowledge of what you're trying to see. Licensing is based on the number of elements being monitored (devices and interfaces). This can get costly so you want to have a good understanding of what areas you wish to target if Cost is an issue in your organization.
  • No Real Integration with SD WAN Tools - Solarwinds NPM allows you to link with SD WAN APIs but due to API limitations, you only get surface level info. I would like to see them partner with some popular SD WAN vendors.
  • Network Atlas - this is the software you use to upload maps into the system. Currently, its a standalone piece of software on the server. I would like to see this integrated into the online console.
SolarWinds NPM has been really great with helping us diagnose the causes of network slowness, interface saturation and alerting to outages. It provides a centralized location to analyze the performance of the network and related devices, alerts allowed us to respond to outages quickly and reduce downtime for users. The product delves deep into the network allowing you to spot and resolve minor issues before they become user impacting. The modular approach they use as far as additional products work really well and the components mesh together really well. The data it provides comes in handy for identifying trends and long-term planning.
Read Deirra J. Footman's full review
September 11, 2018

"SolarWinds NPM Customer Review"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used across our whole organization. It allows us to use one pane of glass to see both Network and Server issues across our organization. This is important to allow our NOC to watch many systems/interdependencies without watching multiple systems. It also allows us to keep recent configurations of our network gear, for survivability.
  • It pulls SNMP data well, in particular it allows us to capture port level information with a decent amount of historical data. This is true for user ports or trunk ports.
  • It does a good job of keeping an up-to-date stable of configurations. This is invaluable for recovery operations.
  • Syslog collector is also very useful to again correlate performance data against what errors the box itself is processing.
  • I would like to see the robustness of the database and pollers improved. It seems like we often need to do system upkeep or the application seems to grind along very slowly.
  • I would also like to see an improved method for auto-provisioning of server monitoring tools.
  • I would also like to be able to update maps/drawings directly from the web interface without having to use a separate Windows client.
It does basic ping and SNMP monitoring fairly well, but again I would very much like to see the robustness of the system improved. We far too often have to call support because the application is running slowly. This is my biggest complaint. Besides this, I see SolarWinds NPM doing very well in a campus environment. I do not believe it is well suited for monitoring cloud applications at this time, though.
Read Collin Lichtenberger's full review
August 28, 2018

SolarWinds NPM Review: "SolarWinds Proves Time and Time"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Solarwinds NPM is current being used in my organization's network throughout. As for access to the platform it is restricted to the IT team at the moment but are working to get real-time statistics to display on our SharePoint portal for all organization users to see the real-time health of our network and services. NPM has solved a couple of problems that were important to identifying root causes for network or network related issues. This was accomplished by utilizing the built-in features of NPM such as device polling (SNMP/PING) which gives us a status of the health of a device or the reachability to it, and NetPath has helped in cases where we have had ISPs failover and increase latency or increase the amount of network hops to a configured resource.
  • Easy to navigate UI while still providing powerful monitoring features.
  • Wide range of features to monitor just about any network/service.
  • Configurable (eye candy) reporting for upper management.
  • alerting features are very good for just about of any type of alerting you need
  • With many services moving to the cloud monitoring can be a challenge depending on your cloud deployments.
  • Pricey but much less work to do than open source / free tools.
  • If not configured to its full potential or to your organization's needs it can appear to be useless for it's price.
  • Alarms in a device can only be acknowledged individually and not on a incident affected basis.
  • For newer devices/platforms you have to customize pollers as the built-in pollers may report incorrect data.
Best suited for networks with platforms that have no type of performance/health statistics gathering built-in. May not be appropriate if you have a full cloud managed platform such as Cisco Meraki which has plenty of performance/heath data in its dashboard already.
Read AJ Gumataotao's full review
August 15, 2018

SolarWinds NPM Review: "Entry-level tool; starting to show its age (not in a good way)"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor (NPM) to provide enterprise-wide monitoring across a physical campus location in Irvine, Satellite WAN locations (MPLS) and Meraki managed sites. We also utilize NPM in conjunction with Netflow and Voice Network Quality Manager (VNQM) to get a complete picture of our entire Enterprise infrastructure.

It address the strong need for a stable and quick network for our Enterprise Services (Proprietary applications created to service Glidewell needs).
  • Summarized network statistics in easy to use out-of-the-box graphs
  • Quick and very pretty presentation-quality graph via "PerfStack". A quick-fire comparison graph solution provided only with SolarWinds products.
  • Most tools are pre-scripted and work well in most environments. Easier for entry-level positions to learn. No learning to script needed to start.
  • Since it summarizes most of the details, it lacks any real-time functionality. If a user complains of network slowness, you'll have to use either a separate tool to drill down in real time after the fact and hope it replicates or if the network issues are quick and intermittent, it will be missed by SW unless you have super aggressive and almost unrealistic polling times (sub-minute) for the SolarWinds platform, particularly the polling engine
  • Frequent crashes related to the Orion Platform.
  • Some features are released without optimization or cause severe platform issues and ultimately end up being disabled until patched later.
  • Updates tend to be on the slow side when it comes to APIs for new technology. Examples: Meraki, Nexus OS(SD-WAN), etc.
Meraki support was released, but, most the important functionality provided from the API did not work. Two patches later it's finally "fixed"

VoIP data only accessible through a separate module, most other networking monitoring providers have it included. Even at that, the separate module is half-baked. Most of the information is not useful and is just an expensive archive of said data.
Read Greg Richards's full review
October 15, 2018

User Review: "SolarWinds NPM for the win"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to check bandwidth constraints and also to troubleshoot outages to trace back to the root cause. Also to check what times of the day the util is the highest to assess new hardware, etc.. This tool is very valuable with the features it has, although licensing can become expensive depending on how you use it.
  • Finding which sites uses the most traffic, what type of traffic and where they are traversing to and from.
  • The GUI interface is relatively intuitive and easy to customize.
  • The integration to the Orion Platform is good, kind of a one-stop shop.
  • The licensing model can become expensive, because they are based on port count.
  • We find the best bang for the buck to put them on the uplink interfaces.
  • Sometime the GUI gets too into the weeds from the default config. You have to modify to see what you want to see. Needs are different for each company.
Great for sites small and large, but if budget is an issue, deploy only on uplink ports. Having a licnese for each port can get expensive if you have lots of switches and users
Read Michael Haberkern's full review
October 12, 2018

SolarWinds NPM Review: "Great product for any company that have an IT infrastructure!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Solarwinds NPM in combination with NTA, NCM, and VNQM gives us an integrated intelligent data correlation for smart M&C. It helps to isolate non-performing links or track traffic shift in medium size network. The alerting and reporting functions are robust. The SDK/API allows us to combine other tools for a complete monitoring solution at the network and application layers.
  • NPM-friendly GUI with robust out of the box SNMP statistics collection.
  • NCM Router Configurations Management.
  • Netflow - long data retention periods.
  • SolarWinds is too dependent on the Microsoft operating system. Patches and updates easily breaks the SolarWinds application. Appliance based model may work better.
  • Upgrades are painful and becomes almost a 24 hour marathon in our large scale installation.
  • Support time for high urgent severity crash is slow. It seems like it's more dependent of when we call in as oppose to what the actual severity level of the ticket opened is.
Solarwinds is great for network monitoring.
Read Tuan Le's full review
October 11, 2018

User Review: "Solarwinds NPM is Great!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Solarwinds NPM within the Information Technology department as a way to identify highly utilized ports and devices, along with tracking down end-user device usage, and the possibility of end-users abusing service such as music streaming, video streaming, social media in general, etc. It has allowed us to troubleshoot, enforce policies, and complete capacity planning for the company.
  • Showing the top-10 talkers is extremely helpful when hunting down bandwidth issues and hogs on the corporate network. This has assisted in resolving connection issues for many locations at once.
  • Interfaces with high percent utilization has been a very large help with a NOC view that I have built, along with identifying devices that may be misbehaving (e.g. completing a backup outside of the schedule), along with end-user network usage.
  • The switch stack view showing errors, discards, and usage also helps in troubleshooting network issues and improving performance via hunting down issues prior to end-users experiencing loss in performance and/or connectivity.
  • Getting to a map involving a device can be a bit cumbersome, as you have to go into the device's page itself to pull up a map. Being able to go into a map section and look up a device would be a great help; just an idea for an improvement.
NPM is great in environments that have a lot of interconnected devices and/or sites. An MPLS network is a great example, as it allows us to view, monitor, troubleshoot, and improve the network and its connectivity between disparate sites. It wouldn't be a great value-add for non-local sites, or very small organizations that have one or two switches and/or routers. It also doesn't work extremely well with Cisco Meraki, as the access provided by Meraki to those devices doesn't allow for network heat maps, or similar.
Read Brett Hallahan's full review
August 30, 2018

SolarWinds NPM Review: "SolarWinds keeps a good eye on your network weather."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it to monitor network connected devices across our whole organization. We use it for alerting and monitoring. It allows us to know the current state of network devices so we can be more proactive than reactive.
  • Easy to use/deploy
  • Supports a wide variety of devices from an SNMP MIB perspective
  • Has some customizable features for each device
  • Integration with AD
  • It's bloated from a software standpoint, the installs are huge.
  • Performance can be sluggish at times.
  • No way to install MIBs yourself at this time, so if they don't support it you have to submit it, wait, and hope they add it.
  • The scales of graphs and reports are usually not great by default; it requires some tweaking.
  • Pricing and sales teams are always changing.
They offer a variety of sizing options that can fit almost everyone's budget. Running everything on one machine for small deployments likely works ok. Anything substantial device count wise will require some decent servers to run the software well. We constantly have to keep an eye on our database sizes. I think for the most part the modular approach they use is good. You can buy only the pieces and parts you want.
Read Ryan Steele's full review
August 09, 2018

Review: "Solarwinds NPM - Single pane network visibility"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize NPM primarily for monitoring cisco switches. However, we also use it heavily to monitor other network devices as a means to first alert us of an outage or an issue. Our support team lives within the NPM dashboards throughout their work day.
  • NPM does a great job of alerting us to outages, latency, connectivity issues etc...
  • NPM provides historical data for monitored devices to the port level.
  • NPM provides our customers (we are an MSP) with real-time network information for their environment.
  • NPM is ideal for installations where systems are monitored on a local LAN. If you are monitoring over a WAN connection a lot of false positives can be generated based on latency and outages unrelated to the monitored environment.
  • The cost to add additional NPM polling engines is high in my opinion. If I could I would have a polling engine local to each LAN but it is cost prohibitive.
  • Upgrades of NPM in our case have presented some challenged, likely due to the age of our installation. Solarwinds tech support has been helpful in recommending an upgrade path forward.
NPM is a good fit for monitoring of devices on a local LAN. If monitoring over WAN you will encounter some challenges.
Read Jon Liedtke's full review
August 07, 2018

SolarWinds NPM Review: "NPM in PNW!!!"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company currently uses SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor to monitor the entire organization's network hardware both physical and virtual. We have multiple regions across the Pacific Northwest. It has been very supportive of all of our processing that ties into third party vendors' SaaS processes and appropriately triages any and all issues within the internal network and external tunnels.
  • Network Mapping. The Network map is an absolute must for any multi regional organization that requires a holistic view of how the networking SLAs are being met.
  • Network Atlas should be a process added to the console instead of having to access it to build the maps on the servers.
Cisco Nexus switches are better suited for NPM than most other tools.
Read Jayson E. Conry's full review
August 03, 2018

Review: "SolarWinds NPM - the backbone of network monitoring"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor is our backbone for monitoring all network infrastructure for our company. We use it for all devices currently deployed in the field, as well as all data center device monitoring. The ability of NPM to monitor large scale environments such as ours, and the integration with other SW products such as NCM and SAM work very well with NPM.
  • NPM polls devices consistently for status
  • NPM gathers statistical data for logging
  • NPM also has reporting and alerting features that aid in logging historical data and diagnosing issues
  • NPM can be a bit hard to tame on resources in a large scaled environment
  • NPM needs some finesse when running large scaled jobs/reports
  • NPM could stand to be more efficient on the back end. It can be a hog.
NPM can be a backbone for monitoring network devices in anywhere from small, to large scaled environments. Keeping historical and statistical data, in conjunction with other SW products such as NCM, SAM, and NTA, you can monitor your network and diagnose issue faster than you'd otherwise be able to. It's helped us keep our systems running.
Read Joshua Smith's full review
October 15, 2018

SolarWinds NPM Review: "Solarwinds within Education"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
NPM is used by the Technology Department to monitor our infrastructure, I need to know in advance if a switch is having hardware or network traffic issues. Our facilities manager also uses it to monitor power outages throughout the district.
  • Real-time monitoring of crucial network areas.
  • Network mapping of our district which extends over a 20-mile radius.
  • Server analysis - the majority of our servers are virtual, this helps us keep up with deploying server resources.
  • I would like to see an option to embed switch configuration within the mapping tools.
Well suited for any organization with extended infrastructure and that lacks staffing.
Read Kenneth Englehart's full review
September 24, 2018

SolarWinds NPM Review: "Monitoring large to small, NPM will not disappoint."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use NPM to monitor our network traffic and to help us trend data and diagnose spikes is traffic and then help track down those sources. It is used mainly in the IT department of our company.
  • Current state of nodes in the organization.
  • Amount of data transferred by certain processes and applications.
  • Availability or up time of devices.
  • For me managing alert status notifications could be a little easier to setup.
The product is used with the operations team and network teams, they give a great stoplight view of the network and systems for the operations team to follow. Also this view helps our network team more quickly pinpoint issues. Getting advanced notifications outside of a switches own alert functions are very helpful and quick. Also the charting is a nice graphical view that can easily get a point across to other executives.
Read Tony Martin's full review
September 07, 2018

SolarWinds NPM Review: "SolarWinds"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to track bandwidth utilization on out various internet connections as well as a preemptive tool for network problems. It is used solely by the IT department.
  • Provides proactive alerts to possible network issues such as switches rebooting and interfaces being over utilized.
  • It provides excellent pre-scheduled reports on network bandwidth utilization allowing us to plan for resource expansion.
  • It serves as a method for us to see out network inventory
  • Creating reports can be a bit tedious.
  • The system is extremely powerful, but the result is a difficulty in finding the correct screen for the various functions.
It works well sending out SNMP alerts such as a switch or servers going offline. It is also good at providing metrics used to do long term resource planning.
Read Terry Eggert's full review
September 18, 2018

SolarWinds NPM Review: "NPM watches our servers and switches so we don't have to"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds NPM to monitor performance statistics and status (up/down) of over 250 servers and hundreds of switch and router interfaces enterprise-wide. Custom alerts are used to notify application or server owners when a system is down or degraded.
  • Adding nodes is easy.
  • Status monitoring is efficient and timely (assuming your polling and alert settings are appropriate).
  • Dashboards are useful and highly customizeable.
  • It's a big animal and takes time and expertise to keep it running smoothly and maintain the monitored nodes. Don't assume some IT tech is going to use this in their spare time.
  • Because it is very complex, there can be a steep learning curve. Get some training from Loop1.
  • The web interface is slow. Probably can't be helped, but it is frustrating at times.
Very useful for monitoring large numbers of nodes, and it has great forecasting ability (this server will run out of disk in x days). It does not have detailed application awareness; you will need additional modules for websites, network flow, application monitoring, and log aggregation. Alarm tuning is almost an art form; you will need to spend time tuning alarms or they will become noise and get ignored.
Read this authenticated review
October 05, 2018

SolarWinds NPM Review: "NPM Keeps Us Informed and Ahead of Compaints"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds NPM is being used to monitor servers and equipment at remote sites. It allows us to react faster to issues at those sites as well as understand why our other systems may being acting strange.
  • Identifies machines with issues.
  • Identifies overloaded machines be it processor, memory, or storage.
  • False positives due to VPN connectivity.
  • Licenses used up based on monitored logical disks does not make sense. We partition several drives to ease other management tasks and have stopped monitoring disks because of this licensing practice.
It is well suited for distributed environments. It is also a god product for IT departments that do not have enough people to support the devices that they manage.

Probably overkill for small firms with only a few devices.
Read this authenticated review
October 05, 2018

SolarWinds NPM Review: "NPM is well worth a look at if you care about your network"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds NPM to monitor and evaluate our network links between different sites and establish if there are any errant applications running across the wire. We have over 70 county offices with 5Mbps links that need all of that bandwidth for business traffic. We used this across our whole organization from the local offices to the remote offices. We are able to tell when someone or something is clogging up the various pipelines and can address it with the end user quickly.
  • Quickly and easily helps us find bandwidth hogs on the remote networks that are using the pipe for personal needs.
  • Giving us a good history of usage in a site or the state office to let us know if we have over allocated or provisioned bandwidth and can possibly reduce payment somewhere.
  • Sometimes the GUI is a little slow to load depending on the amount of data that it is trying to present.
  • We wish that it could detect the available bandwidth available so we don't have to manage each interface individually to set a max speed.
I would think that SolarWinds NPM would be best suited for larger and more complex environments where bandwidth utilization is at a premium. Small shops or networks it would most likely be overkill and not as used.
Read this authenticated review
September 11, 2018

SolarWinds NPM Review: "Yes to SolarWinds!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our IT Operations group uses SolarWinds NPM daily. It helps us identify and mitigate issues such as circuit saturation and high CPU as just a few examples.
  • Proactively alerts our team for hardware issues, failures
  • I am unable to think of anything at this time.
NPM is well suited for organizations such are ours, where we have multiple offices across the country who have no local IT presence to proactively alert us and correct issues before staff are even aware. I cannot think of any scenarios where it is less appropriate.
Read this authenticated review
September 07, 2018

SolarWinds NPM Review: "NPM is a valuable tool that provides a lot of information in a little space."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use NPM for enterprise wide monitoring of network gear, up down status, general health. The network operations center uses the application every hour of every day to watch for outages or trends that could involve other teams. It creates a single place to view important information across the entire network.
  • Provide a single pane of glass to see the health of the network in one place, great for the NOC team and our network team as well as any other group looking for one place to see how things are doing.
  • Entire network is monitored once initial install is configured so there are fewer surprises.
  • Displays information in an easy to read fashion.
  • If you do not setup your dashboards correctly the information can be overwhelming.
  • There is a period of learning to get used to the tool.
SolarWinds NPM is well suited to monitor an entire enterprise network infrastructure from a small infrastructure footprint. It does not take a huge dedication of resources to stand up an NPM environment. Using it in remote locations can be challenging depending on how your network is configured. It is probably best used in medium to large sized environments.
Read this authenticated review
September 10, 2018

SolarWinds NPM Review: "You can never go blind while NPM is deployed in your environment"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by network support, network deployment and customer service desk to monitor the health of the infrastructure resources and for troubleshooting. It has been very useful and it provides the best insight into our network without which we feel blind!
  • We build maps using network atlas and the NPM dashboard is very useful with site maps, with monitoring available at our fingertips
  • NPM is very versatile and is good in SNMP MIB databases, even for unpopular vendors
  • NPM is the base for all other add ons
  • I have no complaints
For identifying user specific issues it is very well suited
Read this authenticated review
September 05, 2018

SolarWinds NPM: "My NPM review in a nutshell"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
NPM is being used by the IT Dept.

We mainly use it for up/down and performance monitoring of our networking gears. This includes all switches, firewalls, critical servers (also being monitored by other software), MPLS connections, etc.
  • Main dashboard
  • Decent support of various vendors
  • Browsing to the target right from the main dashboard.
  • There's no back button on each section when you edit (e.g. Edit under Device info.)
  • Some platforms still not supported for SNMP management.
  • I'd like to see a search button in the main [dashboard].
  • Some text does not align under "Network Top 10" dashboard
  • More suitable for individual performance monitoring
  • Less suitable for a holistic end to end monitoring
Read this authenticated review
September 23, 2016

Review: "SolarWinds NPM - A Must-Have for Network Engineers"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds across our entire campus, our corporate remote offices, and our thousands of retail locations. NPM enhances our troubleshooting capabilities for our helpline, the engineering teams, and helps us scale out and manage our infrastructure easily when NPM is combined with NCM. We currently use NPM for monitoring and managing our routers, switches, servers, access points, UPS, point of sale, and several others. NPM is flexible like that, where if there's something you want monitored but it's not natively supported, it takes little effort to create custom monitors and connection profiles for that equipment in SolarWinds.
  • Monitoring - The monitoring system is extremely flexible. You can create templates that apply to all devices as a default, and at the same time, create custom polling and monitoring for individual devices. If SolarWinds doesn't natively support the polling of information you're looking for, it's as easy as creating a custom poller and applying to the devices you want that information from.
  • Alerting - This is honestly my favorite piece of NPM. The alerting system is so robust and malleable you can do pretty much anything with it. When paired up with NCM, you can even automate configuration changes or initiate the execution of scripts. If you know how to write MS-SQL queries, the alerting system is a must-have because you can literally alert on anything!
  • Reporting - Reporting jobs can be run once, or scheduled. The scheduling has a bit of depth to it so you can customize it suit your reporting requirements quite easily. Just like with the alerting, the reporting system is rather robust. NPM comes with a couple hundred report templates right out of the box. If there are custom reports you want, they're easily created through the web portal. Again, if you know MS-SQL queries, this reporting engine is extremely powerful.
  • My only Con for NPM is the fact that there are so many features and it's so highly customization that it's difficult and overwhelming for new users to learn sometimes. In our implementation, we've heavily modified the default layout to try and make it more intuitive, but it can still be a bit confusing at times.
SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor (NPM) is a great product for medium to large companies, and in my opinion a must-have for their network engineering teams. A company's need for NPM is directly proportional to the number of networked devices they manage. The more networked devices they have, the more the information SolarWinds collects becomes useful. That being said, small businesses may not get much return on investment when purchasing SolarWinds. For smaller companies, they may look toward free or relatively cheap solutions like Cacti, PRTG, or Nagios.
Read Andrew Aegerter's full review
November 16, 2015

SolarWinds NPM Review: "How NPM Helped Us"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor is being used by the IT department to monitor the up and down states of the equipment that we have attached. We have workstations, servers, printers, switches and miscellaneous equipment that we monitor. It also shows us transmission errors within our network which aids in the troubleshooting of our network.
  • We are able to diagnose switch errors by monitoring the receive errors, receive discards, transmit error and the transmit discards.
  • The ability to visually monitor ports through the port details, average response times and packet loss and the network topology on the switches is a great asset.
  • Monitoring ports used in order to better balance the network across all switches.
  • Would like to be able to see complete end to end mapping in the network topology. We are able to get all of the answers but not in one quick dashboard.
  • Would have liked to see more information on the ports detail screen especially on the switches. It showed only the port number for us even though it listed host name, IP, MAC, & VLAN especially the VLAN for quicker troubleshooting.
  • Sometimes the devices would not be found on the first connect.
This is an excellent product for anyone looking for answers and a centralized way of seeing their network. It is a robust application with many components that offer a wide variety of granularity. One feature that we especially liked was the add-on Atlas application and the ability to click on an icon on the map and have it open up SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor which allows us to begin the troubleshooting process, launch a MRC application or an admin share session.
Read Jim Arendt's full review
December 21, 2015

SolarWinds NPM Review: "Great for monitoring disk usage on physical and virtual servers!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company purchased SolarWinds NPM 2 years ago because we needed a product that would monitor and notify us regarding disk usage of Windows OS based servers (physical and virtual) as well as monitor and notify us if any equipment in our datacenter lost connectivity or powered off. SolarWinds NPM has been able handle both tasks very well and has been very reliable. The only cons I would have on SolarWinds NPM is I think it could be a more user friendly for those who are new to using the product on registering types of nodes for different types of equipment and I would like the product to notify me when nodes have been restored out of an alert state (e.g. the device has more disk space available or connectivity has been restored). I will say that SolarWinds support has been great on answering questions and I could use more training on SolarWinds NPM as there might be current ways to solve the cons I mentioned that I am not aware of. Overall the product has suited our needs very well and I’m sure we have barely scratched the surface of what it’s capabilities are.
  • Monitors connectivity of various types of equipment.
  • Monitors disk usage for physical and virtual Windows servers.
  • Can create granular rules for disk usage for alerts.
  • Reliable email notifications on alerts.
  • Large learning curve for first time users.
  • First time users may need help from support to set up.
  • Email notifications of nodes that are no longer in alerted state.
SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor may be one of the few products on the market that can monitor and notify you regarding disk usage for physical and virtual servers. The other products our company looked at could only handle physical servers or virtual servers, but not both types. SolarWinds NPM nodes were more difficult to set up on Windows OS based servers. This may be just a training issue.
Read Derek Jost's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Automated network device discovery (60)
7.3
Network monitoring (67)
9.4
Baseline threshold calculation (62)
8.6
Alerts (67)
8.8
Network capacity planning (54)
8.4
Packet capture analysis (41)
5.3
Network mapping (54)
7.8
Customizable reports (61)
8.0
Wireless infrastructure monitoring (42)
8.2
Hardware health monitoring (60)
9.4

About SolarWinds NPM

SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor (NPM) delivers comprehensive network fault monitoring and performance management that scales and expands with your network monitoring needs. Users can collect and view availability, real-time and historical statistics from routers, switches, firewalls, servers, and any other SNMP-, ICMP-, or WMI-enabled devices directly from a web browser.

SolarWinds users can get a full NPM installation up and running the same day they download. Implementation does not require a team of consultants. NPM provides quick visibility into the health of network devices and servers on the network, ensuring that users have the real-time information they need to keep their network running at peak performance.

Network Performance Monitor helps IT Pros:

  • Quickly detect, diagnose, and resolve network performance issues and avoid downtime
  • Respond to multiple condition checks, correlated events, and device dependencies
  • Automatically calculate capacity exhaustion dates using customizable thresholds based on peak and average usage
  • Streamline network troubleshooting with an easy-to-use Web interface
  • View paths to critical business services hop-by-hop, even into the cloud, with the NetPath™ feature
  • Get deeper visibility into complex network devices with Network Insight™ features for Cisco ASA firewalls, Cisco Nexus switches, and F5 BIG-IP load balancers

SolarWinds NPM Features

Network Performance Monitoring Features
Has featureAutomated network device discovery
Has featureNetwork monitoring
Has featureBaseline threshold calculation
Has featureAlerts
Has featureNetwork capacity planning
Has featurePacket capture analysis
Has featureNetwork mapping
Has featureCustomizable reports
Has featureWireless infrastructure monitoring
Has featureHardware health monitoring
Additional Features
Has featureMulti-vendor device support for any router, switch, firewall, VPN concentrator, wireless access point and other devices that support standard protocols
Has featureIntelligent alerts for correlated events, sustained conditions, and complex combinations of device states
Has featureInsight on hardware health by monitoring, alerting, and reporting on the state of key device sensors
Has featureNetPath for hop-by-hop monitoring of critical business services, on-premises or into the cloud
Has featureNetwork Insight for Cisco ASA firewalls
Has featureNetwork Insight for Cisco Nexus switches
Has featureNetwork Insight for F5 BIG-IP load balancers

SolarWinds NPM Screenshots

SolarWinds NPM Video

Network Performance Monitor overview

SolarWinds NPM Downloadables

SolarWinds NPM Integrations

SolarWinds NPM Competitors

ManageEngine OpManager, WhatsUp Gold, CA Unified Infrastructure Management, Nagios, Micro Focus Network Node Manager i (formerly HP Network Node Manager), Paessler PRTG

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor SL100$2,955Up to 100 elements - License with 1st-year Maintenance
SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor SL250$6,720Up to 250 elements - License with 1st-year Maintenance
SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor SL500$10,445Up to 500 elements - License with 1st-year Maintenance
SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor SL2000$19,345Up to 2000 elements - License with 1st-year Maintenance
SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor SLX$32,525Unlimited elements - Standard Polling Throughput - License with 1st-year Maintenance

SolarWinds NPM Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds NPM Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Windows® Server 2016; SQL Server 2016 SQL Server 2016 SP1 SQL Server 2017 (including installations on Linux)
Mobile Application:No