SolarWinds NPM Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
510 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 212)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
December 08, 2020
Dwain Erhart | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Orion Summary page for all senior admins - we get alerts if things are coming down, if servers are running low on disk space, if memory is over utilized. Many different uses. I like the additions of NetPath services. I have also used reports and the network Atlas to create visual representations for our active links. Diving into a node is helpful to establish response time issues, trends and even capacity forecasts. I use this on servers, SANs, switches, Wireless controllers, and alert monitoring services.
  • NetPath services are a godsend when you are trying to explain to ISPs, etc. about where traffic is congested or stopping. Sometimes seeing is believing for them.
  • The other BIG deal is anticipating disk capacity - when volumes get to full, servers crash. With NPM, we can and create set thresholds for warning us before we run into issues, and then we can add storage, memory, and CPU, (especially on our Virtual environment.)
  • Alerts are great - instead of hearing from our users that a server is offline, we are aware of it right away.
  • We also like the alerts that le us know when there are upgrades available.
  • It would be nice to be able to set up SNMP3 for some of our systems in an easier fashion. But it is not a show stopper.
  • Sometimes the support refers us to the Knowledge base and Thwack. Not a huge deal, but I only end up putting in a ticket when I have spent a great deal of time searching for a solution.
  • Email alerts sometimes go wonky after an upgrade.
If you have a decent sized server farm, you will want to monitor it. If you spend time arguing with ISPs about whether they are at fault, you need NetPath to clarify. If you are a very small business, you may get by without it, but it can really save your team time and effort when you deal with multiple servers. We don't monitor EVERY node on our network - just the high level points - all servers, all network egress/ingress points, keeping ahead of storage space issues, and getting an email if something is happening you would otherwise be unable to check on a regular basis.
We do use this feature. However, we do not use it as an "always on" feature - rather, when we need to know something, it is VERY helpful. We do run a consistent NetPath service when we have recurring issues - this helps us determine issues with some of our cloud services. We have multiple service providers and the ability to pinpoint where the failure occurs is great. Sending a screen shot usually lets them know that we are aware of exactly where the packet is dropped.
Read Dwain Erhart's full review
September 25, 2020
Matthew Harper | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds NPM to monitor all of our infrastructure including servers, switches, and applications. It allows us to get alerts when anything is going wrong with a critical system so we can proactively address the issue before it impacts the business. It also provides us a detailed view into the health of our systems via reporting and dashboards.
  • Alerting with custom thresholds.
  • Reporting capabilities to easily see historical data.
  • Dashboards to give you a real time view into the health of your systems.
  • Configuring thresholds for your alerts can be a little cumbersome.
  • Getting additional details onto the alerts is not as easy as it could be.
  • You need to have two servers to run SolarWinds NPM, one for the service and a separate one for the database.
SolarWinds NPM works well for us as we are a relatively small shop with a limited number of servers/interfaces to monitor. If you were a larger shop the licensing for SolarWinds would get very expensive because they license it per "node" or item you want to monitor. If you want to monitor hardware and network on a single device, that's 2 nodes.
We have not yet used the NetPath functionality but we have been evaluating it as we look to move to a larger datacenter off site and link our two sites together. We've also been moving more towards a remote workforce model so NetPath is something that may help us there, too.
Read Matthew Harper's full review
December 28, 2020
Srinivas Reddy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds NPM was introduced into my environment recently and exclusively for virtual machines, especially our two data centers located in different states with domains to troubleshoot network slowness, major bottlenecks, the average response time, and latency between the data access between two data centers. Currently, it is implemented in some of the data centers in the network which are critical to day to day life. It addresses the network latency, the response time between the data centers, memory usage, and the bandwidth. Our team generates reports based on data collected from the logs.
  • In the organization, our team basically monitors the data centers response time, the nodes in the cluster environment, and how they are performing from time to time.
  • These are production environments and very critical about data flow across the network and we also collect performance statistics from time to time and the data latency between two data centers and create reports.
  • Our VM wares placed across different data centers located in different states. Network communication is very critical to transfer data in no time. For this, we need a powerful network monitoring tool to pinpoint all the networking issues and troubleshoot various devices connected between the data centers. For achieving this, SolarWinds NPM is critical to give such information.
  • In our organization, we need information such as how much data is transferred/sec, data latency, total transactions time in a given period. Because of such environments and timelines sometimes we have a very extreme volume transferred between clustered nodes in data centers and the total number of logins increases in certain working hours. We need to track it down and generate custom reports to enhance productivity, hence this tool is critical.
  • Sometimes it gives more verbose information if some of the VM cluster's installed SQL server has performance bottlenecks and it is hard to troubleshoot of them.
  • We have issues in terms of data latency especially on SQL installed VM ware across datacenters which are working on dynamics which are hard to point exact hardware or SQL issues with the performance tool.
  • SolarWinds NPM can be improved if networking devices or servers connected more than four datacenters.
SolarWinds NPM is great for devices or servers connected in the same network domain or for two different data centers located in different zones. It is very efficient for reading the performance latencies and the bytes read or write/sec between the datacenters. It is very good at pinpointing data latency in a specific interval of time. It is also very good for analyzing reports for data transmission and performance bottlenecks on very large environments and pinpointing inaccuracies. This can be less effective if a clustered environment is created across networks in different domains or for more than four data centers.
My organization uses Netpath to find how much network traffic enters into the specific node in the clustered environment and how much it reaches to the destination. We have production machines and reporting machines which each cluster to 8 nodes across the data centers. With Netpath, we can pinpoint network traffic at each node and the data latency if it exists in one of the nodes, possible causes, and how to eliminate them. It gives accurate information and possible resolutions in a graphical method which is easy to understand in large environments where a large number of nodes bind in a cluster environment.
Read Srinivas Reddy's full review
September 02, 2020
Brian Rafferty | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds NPM to monitor a relatively small airborne platform to ground network with routers, WAPs, firewalls, encryption devices (TACLANES), and servers. It addresses management of network nodes and mapping of the network. Overall, it is a good tool that is very comprehensive with network management on Layers 2 and 3. The map editor could use some work, especially regarding selection of entities as the selector rectangle can be hard to resize.
  • Effective analysis of nodes
  • Comprehensive dashboard that is easy to tailor
  • Map editor is relatively easy to use
  • The map editor select rectangle needs to be improved on as when you drag it it can get out of control.
  • Need a more intuitive way to configure interfaces between nodes in map editor.
  • Acknowledging and erasing node warnings should be more intuitive.
SolarWinds NPM is well suited for monitoring nodes and mapping them. My only major complaint is that it seems to be too comprehensive for our applications. We have a relatively small network that we are monitoring and the features of NPM are not fully utilized in the application. Also, management of the licenses could be more intuitive.
I've had no problem utilizing these capabilities using Network Sonar Discovery and the Network Mapping tool. I have a limited number of end-users at this point as we are a small team but so far they are satisfied with the problem alerts that are part of the NPM application.
Read Brian Rafferty's full review
December 18, 2020
Kevin Boggs | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor (NPM), NetFlow Traffic Analyzer, and Network Configuration Manager to monitor and manage our global network infrastructure. It is primarily used by network engineers, although we are starting to make some inroads with stats for other department managers. It is proving very useful for them to correctly size their Internet bandwidth needs. Views are made for each site and used by the local teams as needed.
  • Perfstack is a feature we have started using heavily and our resident programmer/script expert is working on a script to pick out a FLOW conversation, get all the switch ports between the two endpoints and generate a perfstack of them. This is looking like it could be very useful for troubleshooting.
  • The modern dashboards have real potential and I like how they auto-refresh each widget independently.
  • SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager and Netflow Traffic Analyzer are great as always. NCM in particular makes my life so much easier.
  • Please work on the Universal Device Poller to get it on the web.
  • Consistent sorting would be really nice. There are places where things are sorted alphabetically and other places where they're sorted by creation date (which makes no sense).
  • Live maps. I like the direction you're going, but it still needs a lot of work just to get it on par with Network Atlas, and I hope you're aiming higher than that because Network Atlas is just not that great.
SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor (NPM) provides us with very good insight to our network. I've done proofs of concept for applications costing upwards of half a million USD, and they were not significantly better. SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor (NPM) is a phenomenal value. Aside from all the troubleshooting work we do with it, historical utilization is used by management for capacity planning. The Universal Device Poller allows us to get information that is not readily exposed. One of the problems we addressed with it was life-cycle management.
We use NetPath in two scenarios.
  1. A few permanent checks between hub sites to keep an eye on WAN health
  2. Temporary monitors as needed for troubleshooting
So far, though, it does not have the features needed to replace Thousand Eyes for WAN/cloud monitoring. Maybe in a few versions.
Read Kevin Boggs's full review
December 10, 2020
Tejas Pachchigar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using SolarWinds for all our networks as well as all client network infrastructures in the organization.

This will help us to provide real-time monitoring and IP flow top talkers instantly in a live scenario.
  • Real-time monitoring
  • Instant up/down of network devices across all networks
  • Top talkers in different ways (IP, application, and others)
  • Auto-discovery is very easy for devices.
  • inbuilt scanner from LAN network to get auto network discovery.
  • This should work with minimal hardware and work with any server OS.
  • This should not depend on latest SQL Version. Clients have to arrange latest licence which is additional cost for client.
  • During installation, the application crashed in many scenarios. This should have rolled back instead of crashed.
  • Please include a device backup option and live monitoring of any change in device configuration.
  • One tool for all network devices--monitor, manage, backup, utilization, and change all in one
This is the best tool I have worked with as a user, as an admin of the tool, as a suggestion to our many clients.
SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor is a user-friendly tool for easy installation and configuration and use in NOC. This is very well suited for MAP configuration and to create multiple MAP.
Yes, of course, this is very beneficial while our MPLS or Internet links are highly utilized at that time we can identify the top talkers in different categories. This is very useful to know which IP, which application, which port, which location is in the top talkers of your organization. You can differentiate NPM futures by multiple categories.
We get instant support for any of our queries. We had several incidents during installation and configuration, and the product crashed multiple times. We got instant support for license change from one server to another server, plus an installation guide, recovery guide. The best feature is this is not taking more time for installation and configuration of the tool.
Read Tejas Pachchigar's full review
December 08, 2020
Jayson E. Conry | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company currently uses SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor to monitor the entire organization's network hardware both physical and virtual. We have multiple regions across the Pacific Northwest. It has been very supportive of all of our processing that ties into third party vendors' SaaS processes and appropriately triages any and all issues within the internal network and external tunnels.
  • Network Mapping. The Network map is an absolute must for any multi regional organization that requires a holistic view of how the networking SLAs are being met.
  • Network Atlas should be a process added to the console instead of having to access it to build the maps on the servers.
Cisco Nexus switches are better suited for NPM than most other tools.
Recently, my org as started using NetPath to help us understand how our users are interacting with our systems and applications. More importantly showing us just what specific services have been impacted based on priority.
Read Jayson E. Conry's full review
November 11, 2020
Sudharsan Punniyakotti | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have recently implemented SolarWinds NPM in TeraGo's data centre where our organization data is kept. Most of our regression testing load goes to this datacentre. We had lots of network and firewall issues before the SolarWinds implementation. After the implementation, our network outage was reduced.
  • It basically visualizes everything about our network
  • Great UI
  • Reporting is good
  • Lacks lot of advanced things
  • Just does very basic functionality
  • Not all devices are supported
Solarwinds Network Performance Monitor is well suited for our organization because we need very basic network monitoring and we have almost had all devices that were covered in their templates. We don't have any problem implementing or using it currently. Also, I think it would be great to grow more features in new releases.
Support is quite great and technicians have good knowledge of products. A consultant helped in implementation making it faster.
Read Sudharsan Punniyakotti's full review
October 09, 2020
Reinier Kleipool | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used to monitor all network components in use at Rabobank with the exception of a few territories.
  • Provides very detailed insight into Node performance and troubles.
  • Features a VERY useful API that is able to drive all of the application.
  • Event and alter management is easy to use.
  • Offers many extra modules that are very well integrated.
  • It does not support hardware inventory for H3C/Comware based devices.
  • It does not really understand aggregate links.
It will work particularly well in a mixed network/server environment. It is very useful for monitoring small to mid-sized networks.

I doubt it will work well in in a 10,000+ node network because dependent alert suppression is not sufficient. In large installations eventually the database will become the bottleneck. Do not use it in a H3C/Comware only environment.
We have experimented with it and see the potential, but are not actually using it in production. But it is very promising.
Usage problems are solved very quickly and they know their product.
When you hit a bug it all falls apart and no solutions are provided in a timely fashion. (Still waiting for several months now on a couple of fixes...)
Read Reinier Kleipool's full review
October 02, 2020
Cody Plassmeyer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use NPM mainly in our IT department. We manage all of our servers and networking equipment with Solarwinds. NPM comes into play because it allows us to poll these devices periodically for information. It is a very helpful tool and has become essential to our business.
  • NPM is a great tool for alerting us when servers have a high CPU or memory utilization.
  • NPM monitors our firewalls to make sure they are not being over utilized.
  • NPM alerts us if any of our equipment happens to go down which is extremely beneficial.
  • When we had Cisco ASAs, NPM was able to gather information on those. We now have Cisco FTDs and wish we could do the same.
SolarWinds NPM is well suited for any network administrator. Having the ability to monitor all your equipment is a huge advantage especially if you happen to have any trouble within your network. You can have alerts emailed directly to you and create dashboards showing you all the information you may possibly want to see. It may take a little time getting everything correctly set up but once you get to that stage, life is much easier.
We have not utilized NetPath in our organization.
I have personally only had to contact SolarWinds supports less than a handful of times but each time I did contact them they were thorough in getting my problem solved in a timely manner.
Read Cody Plassmeyer's full review
September 04, 2020
Justin Benner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor as our main monitoring software suite used throughout our whole company. We have it broken out for various departments for their appropriate uses. By consolidating down to the single monitoring system it has made the overall management and implementation of the tools throughout the company much easier and takes fewer people taking care of the system.
  • Nice single pane of glass view of whole network
  • The ability to tailor each department with their own tools to use
  • Lots of out of the box features that just work
  • Quickly and easily run down issues with lots of different scenarios throughout the network
  • The ability to create custom pollers for unique situations
  • Some of the tools are a little cumbersome to get the hang of
  • The need to learn to use the SWQL language for advanced monitoring and reporting
  • The cost compared to other companies out there
SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor is very versatile for companies large and small with the need for network and systems monitoring. They have created some great tools for all aspects of the IT world from layer 1 on up. The only complaint I have now is that it requires a lot of customization to use for facilities monitoring, environmental, etc.
We have only used NetPath for a few links that we need to know if the path gets altered. I can't give an honest review, since I haven't used it enough.
Read Justin Benner's full review
August 26, 2020
Bradley Friars | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds is used at our company for monitoring several different sites for our clients. When we get a notification it sends us an email that will auto-generate a ticket for us to investigate. Therefore, it streamlines our process and notifies our team much faster than constantly checking mailboxes. Drilling down is simple as well and all the metrics are easy to find a quick to understand.
  • Ticket Auto-creation
  • Very detailed without clutter
  • Simple for a new user
  • A local application so that logging in constantly isn't an issue
SolarWinds NPM is great for server and firewall management. We use it for many companies. It makes it simple to know who I need to investigate and who is working perfectly fine. One major thing for NPM is that it would be simpler if all clients could be stacked in the same window so that tab jumping was not needed.
We do not use NetPath within SolarWinds.
Read Bradley Friars's full review
August 17, 2020
Girisha Uramundala | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using SolarWinds tool to manage our PwC infrastructure. Along with other Orion modules we are using Network Performance Monitor to manage and monitor our 10000+ devices. It helps us manage our infrastructure efficiently without affecting our business requirements.
  • Easy and efficient to monitor network devices.
  • We can deploy large number of devices for monitoring in a short duration.
  • Has very good additional modules like Perfstack and Netpath.
  • Syslog viewer was more useful and easy to use tool. But it has been depreciated in the newer versions and Log viewer has some bugs and cannot be used effectively.
  • Trap viewer was more useful and easy to use tool. But it has been depreciated in the newer versions and Log viewer has some bugs and cannot be used effectively.
  • It would be great if we get a feature to monitor nodes for SNMP availability, currently we cannot monitor this parameter through polling.
One of the best Infrastructure monitoring tools we have ever used. We can include other modules into the same Orion environment reduces our hiccups in planning the server requirements.
Through Network Performance Monitor tool, we can create very fine and effective alerts to the end users about their device or infrastructure status.
Read Girisha Uramundala's full review
September 04, 2020
Paula Terranova | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor to monitor our server and network devices for uptime status, memory, CPU, and disk space utilization. It quickly helps us address down nodes, drive space issues, or other critical performance issues. We can reduce troubleshooting by receiving alerts to react quicker.
  • CPU
  • Memory
  • Drive Space
  • Network Availability
  • MIB
  • Environmental Controls
SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor is well suited for any company size and environment size. It is adaptable to any needs by simply customizing features to meet your requirements.
We are currently not using this in the capacity it should be used but are building it into our needs.
Read Paula Terranova's full review
December 15, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor (NPM) is used only by the IT team for monitoring core infrastructure services. This resolves our problem of proactively monitoring and alerting us for any issues before they happen. SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor (NPM) is highly customizable with their alerts, including automated tasks to resolve issues depending on the alert itself. Also has useful features, such as NetPath.
  • Ease of use
  • Highly customizable
  • Works well
  • Learning curve
  • Confusing UI
  • Expensive
It does the job we were looking for. Adding nodes to monitoring is straightforward, but it can get a bit messy when trying to configure customized alerts since there are a lot of options. Requires some trial and error to get things right, as well all things. Overall a great product!
NetPath is a very useful tool. Also allows creation of another netapath agent at another site so you can see the behaviour from different office locations. This actually came in very handy during implementation of one of our projects, where it assisted in determining the root cause of packet loss and intermittent network activity.
I never had to reach out to their support yet, but during implementation phase, their team was readily available to help out and answered all our questions quickly and accurately. From what I've seen so far, they seem to be on top of things. Implementation was smooth and it the product has also been operating smoothly since.
Read this authenticated review
December 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are supporting SolarWinds Environment for multiple customers. I have worked on other Monitoring tools as well like Zenoss, CA Nimsoft, but the features SolarWinds provides is what makes it different from other Monitoring Solutions. It provides such great features and we have all the control over these, we can customize this to our own needs. If something is not supported out of the box we can use its feature to create our own solution, we don't have to wait for them to release their support like we have to do with other products. For NPM, [a] major part of monitoring is done using SNMP and SolarWinds provides the great MIB database and the thing we can build our own custom pollers is pretty great. Additionally, the Orion Platform on which NPM runs provide such great dashboard, reports and alerts that should meet the requirement for all the organizations.
  • Out of the Monitoring of almost all Network Devices.
  • Build custom pollers to monitor which is not supported out of the box.
  • Further you can alert on these custom metrics and Out of the box metrics.
  • It provides you great dashboards, Reports features.
  • You can integrate it with any MoM layer tools either using its API or sending out traps.
  • Out of the box Integration with Service Now ITSM Tool.
  • Limitation on no of elements we can poll from one poller.
  • Complicated API - There is not much doc around API, and it could be hard for a beginner to work around the automation.
Network devices are the backbone of any organization, so I can say with confidence, to make sure the network is up and functional 24*7, you can deploy SolarWinds which is easy to install and manage. It provides rich sets of metrics and alerts out of the box. The cool thing about this is it is very easy to install and manage.
Netpath is a great utility, we have created several Netpaths for our customers and it works great. We have configured alerts for these paths, so that whenever there is some issue on the path we get an alert and we can go and look for that path on the console, if there is something wrong. If you have the NCM as part of your SolarWinds, it can even correlate if any configuration change has caused the issue.
Read this authenticated review
November 26, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds [Network Performance Monitor (NPM)] takes care of our monitoring needs for the entire network. As a 24x7 environment, monitoring the resources, not only helps us to prevent any downtime but also, helps to identify our needs and planning better for future expansion.
  • Flexible and dynamic monitoring
  • Customizable
  • Easy to Deploy
  • Industry standard
  • Add features such as logging in addition to SNMP
  • Better pricing
[SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor (NPM)] is one of the best solutions for monitoring infrastructure. By using NPM, you can monitor your device and equipment under a single dashboard. Alerts can be customized easily.
NetPath is one of the coolest features of SolarWinds [Network Performance Monitor (NPM)]. By using NetPath, we are able to identify the exact location of the problem in most cases, especially in the hybrid and complex environment that we have.
We didn't need major support from SolarWinds since we have the standards configuration and deployment. When NPM is up and running, working with the tool is easy for all levels of Sysadmins.
Read this authenticated review
August 26, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
There are different verticals (towers) within the organization that are heavily utilizing one or more modules of this product line. My vertical uses it as an MSP where we are selling and supporting these products for 200+ clients scattered in different geographies. Primarily, we are supporting various hosted environments (dedicated accounts as well in some cases depending on the deal type) involving NPM and NCM as the core products. We are in the process of accumulating more such modules and tools to take over complete tooling requirements for our clients. Until now, we have been successful in addressing our customer needs through our centralized tooling but with their growing demand and competitiveness, we have to extend our horizon.
  • The UI is dashing, user-friendly, yet powerful enough to do almost all the administrative tasks with the click of a button.
  • The deployment and configuration is made simple thanks to the step-by-step guiding wizards.
  • Reporting and KPI have the flexibility to run both simple and complex queries to get the intended output.
  • Sonar discovery is an easy and efficient method for on-boarding devices.
  • Dashboards and maps efficiently exhibit the entire topology and metrics.
  • Reporting needs to be improved as there are more misses than hits in obtaining the intended output. CA eHealth reporting was much better and robust in comparison.
  • MIBS certification is one more challenge as every-time we have to request support for the addition of OIDs. The UNDP option is great but needs to be more flexible and robust.
  • Bulk discoveries, especially subnet-based, choke up the entire CPU and memory processing on the virtual infra. The discovery Wizard stalls in between without showing any error message for a considerable amount of time.
  • Having multiple APEs makes administration (Patch, Upgrade, etc.) more difficult and complex. Any change in permissions on Application Folders and AV exclusion takes time in diagnosing and isolating the APE.
  • Rabbit MQ and Cortex services frequently get corrupt, and we are unable to find a permanent fix for that.
In dedicated mode, SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor is an excellent tool but while being used on a shared platform, it lacks flexibility. In complex environments, we need to have handy adapters and plug-ins for integrating it with other toolsets. Third-party integration should be made simpler. Overall, it's a good and powerful tool with less maintenance overhead.
Though it's a great feature that provides a holistic view of the end-to-end connectivity for the Infrastructure. As an MSP, deployment for all shared clients is neither cost-effective nor simple. In some dedicated accounts, we have set up this functionality and we are reaping its benefits. The best part is that it offers historical data that you can view, allowing you to take a look back in
time and see where some type of network anomaly took place.
Read this authenticated review
December 09, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds NPM to monitor our whole borough (200+ sites). We use it on a daily basis to manage, monitor, and audit our entire network infrastructure. It keeps us one step ahead on most days and helps us with great insight into our network. If you're looking to get more visibility, better alerting, or help with general monitoring, SolarWinds NPM will help you 'see' your network; we highly recommend SolarWinds NPM.
  • Alerting
  • Auditing and Search
  • General Monitoring
  • SNMP Montioring
  • Reporting
  • Less resource hungry
  • Writing reports could be a little simpler
  • Can get on the expensive side
SolarWinds NPM is great for keeping track of all your nodes and making sure they are online. It can help with deeper insight and give you a great inventory for reporting and auditing. We find it helps with both small and larger networks. You can get what you need out of it as it is highly customizable. On the negative, if you're looking for deeper packet inspection or detailed information for more than a few months, then for us we find it very resource hungry and only limit it to 30 days or so.
NetPath can often give you a nice visual traceroute and can help you visually see where there is a bottle kneck. It also offers live insight or historic, which can help you see where your network is going slow and often why. It's simple to set up and doesn't require too much extra config, so it's worth looking into for a quick oversight.
Read this authenticated review
September 30, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds to monitor the health of our LAN and WAN and to get early warnings when servers are having trouble. The email alerts have been very reliable. Additionally, I have found that the major components (switch stacks, etc.) are easier to see using NPM. The Syslog feature is also very useful as it is much easier than going to the switch to get the syslogs.
  • Clean and logical layout means you get in and out quickly
  • Easy to set up the status monitoring (SNMP, pings, etc.)
  • Easy to make a graphical presentation of the network
  • It takes a long time to load when I ask for the monitoring UI.
  • It would be nice to have links to tutorial videos within the UI.
  • I wonder if Atlas could be cloud-based so we don't need to host it.
SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor is ideal for a system like ours where we have one firewall and three discrete LANs. We can monitor every switch and port in one LAN and see the interface to the other LANs, without displaying them. So it offers a simpler troubleshooting and monitoring experience for us. If we had one flat network, I'd probably appreciate it just as much, though
Read this authenticated review
September 02, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it strictly for our IT department to address issues before they arise. We are able to monitor multiple locations with different resources in every location. We are notified of issues beforehand so we can minimize any downtime. It's amazing to have everything under a single console and get a snapshot view of the big picture of what's going on.
  • It has amazing alerting that you can customize based on every need.
  • It has detailed dashboards that give a very nice overview of what's going on.
  • The SNMP capabilities are off the charts.
  • User management allows every tech to see what they need to see.
  • Ease of setting up alerts
  • Better map views
  • More hardware information without needing to use the MIB Database
It is well suited for a NOC that has a lot of resources to monitor, for a big overview. You can choose to monitor only critical alerts or even informational alerts all to your liking. It works well with every vendor to get the correct monitoring. It's amazing to monitor multiple locations.

It is very expensive so if you don't have the biggest environment I don't know if it's the best option for you. Also if you have one location with 2 servers you have to determine if it pays to go through the complicated setup.
I have not used NetPath because it is over our budget. It is a very good tool for monitoring actual network traffic. It might be complicated OOB but the payoff is huge. Also, the OOB config that SolarWinds supplies is sufficient to have basic NetPath monitoring. It works well with Cisco, Aruba, etc.
Read this authenticated review
September 02, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by Telstra for offering monitoring solutions to other customers.
  • Modern Dashboards
  • Interface details
  • Node details
  • CPU, MEM & VOL capacity forecast
  • Audit log
  • Errors dashboard
  • API integration with Meraki, Velocloud, Viptella
  • Orion DB tables dedicated to Meraki, Velocloud, Viptella data fields
  • UML flows for NPM
  • Documentation of SD-WAN integration
  • Feature requests are very slow to be implemented.
SolarWinds NPM is well suited for customers having traditional SNMP, ICMP, & WMI communications. SolarWinds NPM is not an SD-WAN monitoring ready product. A growing trend in recent times is for customers to move into SD-WAN solutions. However, SolarWinds is not changing or adapting to new trends in the market, even the pricing of SolarWinds has increased considerably in recent times.
Our customers have not opened up cloud environments to be monitored with hybrid environments. On-premises networks have always been part of the suite. Cloud environments are more tightly coupled to customer business requirements. The use cases and monitoring of on-premises, hybrid, and cloud environments need to be defined much more clearly. The customer benefit due to these use cases need to be articulated and value needs to be demonstrated.
Read this authenticated review
August 19, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor is being used effectively throughout our organization. It's being used across different regions of the world with multiple instances setup. It's able to manage and monitor our entire customer infrastructure proactively.
  • Easy to implement
  • Easy to navigate
  • User friendly
  • Nothing as of now.
This is well suited for a company either with medium or large scale infrastructure monitoring. Also, it's best suited even with multiple regions as well.
We haven't used this feature as of now, but going further we should, because these kinds of features from NPM will help us to monitor the network proactively.
Read this authenticated review
November 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor to monitor all of our infrastructure including servers, switches, and applications. It allows us to get alerts when anything is going wrong with a critical system so we can proactively address the issue before it impacts the business. It also provides us a detailed view into the health of our systems via reporting and dashboards.
  • Alerting with custom thresholds
  • Dashboards to give you a real-time view into the health of your systems
  • Reporting capabilities are well sorted
  • Need a more intuitive way to configure interfaces between nodes in map editor
  • I would also like to see an improved method for auto-provisioning of server monitoring tools
  • Cost
I am very likely to recommend this because it saves the time and trouble of setting up alerts. The alerts can be customized and that makes the value justifiable. It makes my life as an IT professional much more effective. I would use it at any company I work for.
We have experimented with it and see the potential, but are not actually using it in production. But it is very promising.
Because it works.
Read this authenticated review
July 20, 2020
Collin Lichtenberger | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used across our whole organization. It allows us to use one pane of glass to see both Network and Server issues across our organization. This is important to allow our NOC to watch many systems/interdependencies without watching multiple systems. It also allows us to keep recent configurations of our network gear, for survivability.
  • It pulls SNMP data well, in particular it allows us to capture port level information with a decent amount of historical data. This is true for user ports or trunk ports.
  • It does a good job of keeping an up-to-date stable of configurations. This is invaluable for recovery operations.
  • Syslog collector is also very useful to again correlate performance data against what errors the box itself is processing.
  • I would like to see the robustness of the database and pollers improved. It seems like we often need to do system upkeep or the application seems to grind along very slowly.
  • I would also like to see an improved method for auto-provisioning of server monitoring tools.
  • I would also like to be able to update maps/drawings directly from the web interface without having to use a separate Windows client.
It does basic ping and SNMP monitoring fairly well, but again I would very much like to see the robustness of the system improved. We far too often have to call support because the application is running slowly. This is my biggest complaint. Besides this, I see SolarWinds NPM doing very well in a campus environment. I do not believe it is well suited for monitoring cloud applications at this time, though.
We haven't used NetPath. We purchased NPM a very long time ago, before NetPath was implemented/integrated. Because of that we have never understood how NetPath can help us, nor had the impetus to do so.
Read Collin Lichtenberger's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Automated network device discovery (188)
8.4
Network monitoring (208)
9.6
Baseline threshold calculation (182)
8.2
Alerts (207)
9.2
Network capacity planning (164)
7.9
Packet capture analysis (116)
7.3
Network mapping (173)
8.2
Customizable reports (191)
8.2
Wireless infrastructure monitoring (134)
7.9
Hardware health monitoring (193)
8.9

What is SolarWinds NPM?

SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor (NPM) delivers comprehensive network fault monitoring and performance management that scales and expands with a company's network monitoring needs. Users can collect and view availability, real-time and historical statistics from routers, switches, firewalls, servers, and any other SNMP-, ICMP-, or WMI-enabled devices directly from a web browser.

The vendor states that SolarWinds users can get a full NPM installation up and running the same day they download, and that implementation does not require a team of consultants. NPM provides visibility into the health of network devices and servers on the network, ensuring that users have needed real-time information to keep their network running at peak performance.

Network Performance Monitor helps IT Pros:

  • Quickly detect, diagnose, and resolve network performance issues and avoid downtime
  • Respond to multiple condition checks, correlated events, and device dependencies
  • Automatically calculate capacity exhaustion dates using customizable thresholds based on peak and average usage
  • Streamline network troubleshooting with an easy-to-use Web interface
  • View paths to critical business services hop-by-hop, even into the cloud, with the NetPath™ feature
  • Get deeper visibility into complex network devices with Network Insight™ features for Cisco ASA firewalls, Cisco Nexus switches, and F5 BIG-IP load balancers

SolarWinds NPM Features

Network Performance Monitoring Features

Has featureAutomated network device discovery
Has featureNetwork monitoring
Has featureBaseline threshold calculation
Has featureAlerts
Has featureNetwork capacity planning
Has featurePacket capture analysis
Has featureNetwork mapping
Has featureCustomizable reports
Has featureWireless infrastructure monitoring
Has featureHardware health monitoring
Additional Features
Has featureMulti-vendor device support for any router, switch, firewall, VPN concentrator, wireless access point and other devices that support standard protocols
Has featureIntelligent alerts for correlated events, sustained conditions, and complex combinations of device states
Has featureInsight on hardware health by monitoring, alerting, and reporting on the state of key device sensors
Has featureNetPath for hop-by-hop monitoring of critical business services, on-premises or into the cloud
Has featureNetwork Insight for Cisco ASA firewalls
Has featureNetwork Insight for Cisco Nexus switches
Has featureNetwork Insight for F5 BIG-IP load balancers

SolarWinds NPM Screenshots

SolarWinds NPM Video

Network Performance Monitor overview

SolarWinds NPM Downloadables

SolarWinds NPM Integrations

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor, SolarWinds Web Performance Monitor (WPM), SolarWinds IP Address Manager (IPAM), SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA), SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM), SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN), SolarWinds Storage Resource Monitor (SRM), SolarWinds Web Help Desk (WHD), SolarWinds User Device Tracker, SolarWinds VoIP & Network Quality Manager

SolarWinds NPM Competitors

ManageEngine OpManager, Progress WhatsUp Gold (formerly Ipswitch WhatsUp Gold), Nagios Core, DX Infrastructure Manager (formerly CA Unified Infrastructure Management), Micro Focus Network Node Manager i (formerly HP Network Node Manager), Paessler PRTG

SolarWinds NPM Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

SolarWinds NPM Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds NPM Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Windows® Server 2016; SQL Server 2016 SQL Server 2016 SP1 SQL Server 2017 (including installations on Linux)
Mobile Application:No