TrustRadius
SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor, from Austin-based SolarWinds, is a network monitoring option.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Qn/7Y/GFXR292JE2EE.PNGSolarwidns NPMWe use SolarWinds NPM internally to monitor uptime and latency between our network segments. We are able to easily isolate and find errors in individual switch ports as well as be alerted in real time of any latency issues above thresholds. We also use NetPath at our customer sites to provide real time tracking of network hops to various endpoints, which allows for better troubleshooting and isolation of routing or other network issues.,Response time threshold and alerting Network tracing over public connections Individual switch port error and discard reporting,NetPath alerts can be improved for changing conditions. The "Unknown" state alerts aren't very useful Better categories of internal resources to isolate and track specific segments,8,We use NetPath to create probes across the country to measure response times to our data centers. This allows us to keep an eye on geographic latency and alert us to potential issues. We also use NetPath at individual client sites to troubleshoot latency or connectivity issues. These two allow us to create an extensive network map and track the network responsiveness of our connections.,We use Network Insights to keep track of our core switches and firewalls. This allows us to track resource utilization to ensure that we are not oversubscribed and to avoid issues in the future.,We haven't done much with custom alerts. The built in alerts have worked well for us, and we get the most use out of increased latency or loss of ping alerts. We also use at lot of the default NetPath alerts for connectivity issues such as loss of connectivity or reduced performance of the link.,NetPath has allowed us to be proactive with regional network issues to avoid large numbers of client issues at once. Default alerts have allowed us to know when a network link has dropped or gone below a service threshold. Insights has allowed us to track switch resources to ensure that we are growing our equipment properly.The All Seeing Eye - Another Fantasic SolarWinds Product (NPM)Previously we used Nagios XI to monitor our network. We were constrained by the basic and sometimes crude measurements and graphing of Nagios, and on top of this we were only able to actually monitor a selection of network equipment across our estate and the metrics were basic at that. After purchasing NPM, we're now able to obtain a wide variety of metrics out of the box with very little configuration needed. The level of customization of the checks built-in is second to none, and it's made a huge difference for the IT department and visibility of the estate.,The out of the box features and alerting makes getting NPM up and running incredibly easy. The number of widgets available and customization to view aspects of network devices. The ability to create a wide variety of NOC dashboard and views to suit the user base. The dashboard can be rotated on a timer, giving fantastic visibility.,One element we would like to see is a full stack view integration, which includes network devices within NPM. Currently, the stack view will only provide server, host and application stacks only. We have UniFi wireless access points across our organization and at the time of writing this, support for them within Network Performance Monitor is currently not native and we have had to raise a feature request to get the MIBS included as a result, we cannot see the same metrics you would, for example, if you had Cisco APs,9,Our infrastructure environment is currently a hybrid (AWS/Azure and On-Prem) and we have found NetPath to be extremely beneficial. We had no visibility of the paths between our cloud and on-premise environments with our previous monitoring system. Now we can see the latency and paths between our networks, applications, and instances, which in turn has allowed us to re-design some aspects to provide a better user experience for our users.,We currently deploy multiple Cisco ASA and Cisco Nexus switches across our estate. Network Insights allows us to manage our VPC's and VDC's with extreme ease. Having all of the components under a single pane of glass has made managing these devices more manageable. We used to endure frequent VPN tunnel drops without being able to pinpoint the cause. We can now view all of the VPN tunnels and also alert when a tunnel is torn down and we can even monitor user VPN sessions now.,The alerting aspect of NPM is absolutely fantastic. Daunting at first but once you have got your head around the triggers conditions it becomes very easy to deploy a vast variety of alerts detailing all aspects of your network equipment from hardware through to connectivity issues. We now have multiple NOC screens deployed, which focus purely on our network equipment. The triggers feature the ability for multiple escalation actions, too. This is great, as we use this for our out of hours alerting.,The initial cost of SolarWinds NPM is steep, and we had to take an SLX unlimited license model due to the size of our estate. However, the ROI in terms of improvement in what we can now see has been second to none. The renewal cost is also a fraction of the up front cost, which certainly takes the sting out of the front costs. Impact wise, our IT department spends much less time digging around on the actual equipment. They can now view nearly every aspect of the equipment in one place.,Nagios, PRTG Network Monitor and Site24x7Solarwinds is good monitoring tool to view network.The NPM module is used by the Entire IT department to monitor the entire company. We have over 60 location across 12 states. With NPM we can detect problems across the circuit so we can quickly troubleshoot and repair. Alerts are set up that help isolate the problems and give a clearer picture of the network at all times.,Quick view of system health through NOC board on a monitor in IT bullpen area. Easy to set up unique alerts that can be applied across the whole company. There are over 100 standard alerts - we have modified 8 to meet our company needs. Easy to set up and manage nodes in the network. Product upgrades have greatly improved over the years. Use to have to upgrade incrementally in a particular order or the upgrade would crash. Now it is more streamlined and user-friendly. The system is stable when set up. Don't have issues when running for months at a time.,Hard to find some answers with the SolarWinds thwack (users group). When I have experienced issues after an upgrade it was easier and more timely to just create a ticket and resolve rather than drill down into the support community to find answers. Some answers were for similar results but the wrong version fix would not help with current version causing frustration and time wasted. The system is typically stable. Only after an upgrade do some new additions cause problems. The number one issue I have experienced is after an upgrade of the modules I have had to open unique company alerts and re-select them to run or they will cause errors. It is annoying but a predictable problem.,8,The majority of the system on-premise with MPLS link to each site. We use both NPM and LiveNX to monitor all net paths.,We do not use this in our environment.,We have been able to remove a lot of the canned alerts in our network by modifying existing alerts or creating new from scratch. This has made our alerting system very helpful. With just 8 company-centric alerts we have removed a lot of the duplicate alerting emails that we have had with some of the generic alerts provided with each new upgrade.,By identifying problems quickly we have had a tremendous up-time of the network. The system is stable and easy to update as we grow. Less time spent on modifying the monitoring tools means more time on core functions like customer setup and assistance.,SolarWinds is our recipe for successWe are using SolarWinds as a SNMP monitoring tool for all of our switches, routers, UPSs and other misc devices. It is the primary monitoring tool of our networking team and is utilized remote technicians as well to be informed through the alerting engine. SolarWinds has been instrumental in proactively addressing network and power issues prior to end users calling us. This level of support has enabled us to minimize downtime saving our company a significant amount of money.,I think the shining example that sets SolarWinds apart from the rest is the approach it takes with SNMP. I have served in the Managed Service field and monitored devices for over twelve years and SolarWinds SNMP monitoring design is bar-none the best I have used. I appreciate how different aspects of NPM flow togeher. An example of this is when you monitor a wireless controller and how it will automatically populate all of your access points along with statistics into the system. Using this feature along with the Network Traffic Analyzer has been a powerful troubleshooting tool. The user community is a large part of the success of NPM. SolarWinds provides a forum that allows others to share their successes and discoveries with others. It is both friendly and professional and has been a major help to me.,I'm not a big fan of the licensing model which can quickly become bloated as your consider adding additional modules. It would make sense to me to cover device counts in your maintenance contract and then simple pay a straight fee for your modules. Getting assistance for setting up monitoring templates is primary found through the user community (especially for unique devices). I would love to see a section in thwack that has a more organized approach to monitoring scripts that are organized by device (perhaps even company). Make all functions required for monitoring templates available through the web GUI. Having to configure use the Universal Device Poller for configuring SNMP templates is a nuisance.,9,We really havn't found an opportunity yet to utilize this feature as we believe it is intended. I can see where it might be useful in scenarios where there might be a network device that was installed any not documented properly (not on our network :) ). I love the idea of NetPath and I'm sure there will come a time when it will be of use to out team.,Network Insights is a time-saver. When we need a quick answer regarding a stat on an end device we can flip to the insight screen in NPM as opposed to having to logon directly on a switch or router. It summarizes the right kind of information which is also customizable to our preferences.,I love the freedom that NPM provides with defining alerts! The granularity of alert configurations within SolarWinds has been a major asset for our network team. We have been able to finely tune alerts so that we receive what we need to see without having to be bombarded with unnecessary chatter. Receiving pertinent alarms is crucial to avoiding unnecessary distractions during the day and getting much needed sleep at night.,First and most importantly, we maintain networks in food manufacturing environments. Downtime means loss of product and is always incredibly costly to our company. Providing proactive support for our systems has helped keep our downtime costs low. Reporting has given us an opportunity to communicate network statistics to our company executives. This focus aides targeting areas of our network that need investment as well as areas that do not. Granularity in monitoring and alerting has been helpful in assisting other departments within the organization such as maintenance, laboratory and administrative. It has allowed us to consolidate monitoring solutions into one tool as opposed to various implementations through-out.,Kaseya Network Monitor,10,3Solarwinds Gave me my Life Back!!We started off just using SolarWinds for managing our IP addresses years ago, but over the years we have grown using more than 5 unique modules from the product. We currently use the core NPM, NCM, IPAM, SAM, NTA, and SRM. these products have effectively helped our organization become proactive on handling predictive failures of hardware and helped us improve scaling on our storage and improve performance on a lot of our applications.,IPAM - helps effective provide history of IP addresses in your organization for audit purposes as well as alerting due to IP address conflicts. NCM- effectively being able to configure multiple network devices from a single management point has become a valuable asset SAM - Application and Hardware Monitoring is so granular that customization amongst various hardware and software's have been made easy using SAM. Examples: monitoring UPS Battery Life span and Remaining Battery load for multiple UPS across a WAN gives you insight of your backup power situation that can be addressed before it becomes a problem.,I feel a little more granularity in user permissions for all modules would be an improvement. Give one user a certain right that another user should not have. Right now for the majority, its user or admin...with nothing in between for most modules. Customizable views per user, not globally.,10,Unfortunately I do not use the NetPath portion as much as my colleague, but he has found it to be an invaluable tool for audit and investigation of performance issues and vulnerabilities.,We have used insights to help with hardware health ranging from voltage irregularities into networking equipment which could affect the hardware from voltage spikes and drops. Cooling monitoring on hardware devices can monitor RPM speed of the cooling fans, and alert when certain fan speeds do not met your set baseline of the devices.,predefined alerts are great and give our organization fast response time to issues that arise with hardware or software. The ability to use complex alerts has helped us navigate the alert message to specific people based on the escalation level of the severity of the incident.,From a technical standpoint, preemptive warnings from monitoring have helped us avoid many outages which would have required after hours work and expenses to resolve problems when they happened.
Windows, Windows® Server 2016; SQL Server 2016 SQL Server 2016 SP1 SQL Server 2017 (including installations on Linux)
SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor
297 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

SolarWinds NPM Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
SolarWinds NPM
297 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 297 vetted SolarWinds NPM reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 119)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Chris Short profile photo
February 08, 2019

SolarWinds NPM Review: "Solarwidns NPM"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds NPM internally to monitor uptime and latency between our network segments. We are able to easily isolate and find errors in individual switch ports as well as be alerted in real time of any latency issues above thresholds.

We also use NetPath at our customer sites to provide real time tracking of network hops to various endpoints, which allows for better troubleshooting and isolation of routing or other network issues.
  • Response time threshold and alerting
  • Network tracing over public connections
  • Individual switch port error and discard reporting
  • NetPath alerts can be improved for changing conditions. The "Unknown" state alerts aren't very useful
  • Better categories of internal resources to isolate and track specific segments
Network Performance Monitor is well suited for internal environments where network response time matters. This would include SAN and clustered resources, complex multilayer switching environments and sites with multi-location routing (e.g. we have switches that are 800 miles apart where we need to ensure certain ms response times for our DR objectives).
Read Chris Short's full review
Rob Bates profile photo
January 17, 2019

SolarWinds NPM Review: "The All Seeing Eye - Another Fantasic SolarWinds Product (NPM)"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Previously we used Nagios XI to monitor our network. We were constrained by the basic and sometimes crude measurements and graphing of Nagios, and on top of this we were only able to actually monitor a selection of network equipment across our estate and the metrics were basic at that. After purchasing NPM, we're now able to obtain a wide variety of metrics out of the box with very little configuration needed. The level of customization of the checks built-in is second to none, and it's made a huge difference for the IT department and visibility of the estate.
  • The out of the box features and alerting makes getting NPM up and running incredibly easy.
  • The number of widgets available and customization to view aspects of network devices.
  • The ability to create a wide variety of NOC dashboard and views to suit the user base. The dashboard can be rotated on a timer, giving fantastic visibility.
  • One element we would like to see is a full stack view integration, which includes network devices within NPM. Currently, the stack view will only provide server, host and application stacks only.
  • We have UniFi wireless access points across our organization and at the time of writing this, support for them within Network Performance Monitor is currently not native and we have had to raise a feature request to get the MIBS included as a result, we cannot see the same metrics you would, for example, if you had Cisco APs
NPM is a fantastic addition to any engineer's toolset, albeit pricey, though it is well worth the cost if you have the budget. For my organization, we're global and have users across the globe in different offices. SolarWinds NPM allows us to see exactly what all of the switch ports are doing and also allows us to pinpoint errors across the network, including bandwidth utilization. In all honesty, it is difficult to highlight any scenario where the tool would not be helpful.
Read Rob Bates's full review
stephen schleeper profile photo
January 11, 2019

SolarWinds NPM Review: "Solarwinds is good monitoring tool to view network."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The NPM module is used by the Entire IT department to monitor the entire company. We have over 60 location across 12 states. With NPM we can detect problems across the circuit so we can quickly troubleshoot and repair. Alerts are set up that help isolate the problems and give a clearer picture of the network at all times.
  • Quick view of system health through NOC board on a monitor in IT bullpen area.
  • Easy to set up unique alerts that can be applied across the whole company. There are over 100 standard alerts - we have modified 8 to meet our company needs.
  • Easy to set up and manage nodes in the network.
  • Product upgrades have greatly improved over the years. Use to have to upgrade incrementally in a particular order or the upgrade would crash. Now it is more streamlined and user-friendly.
  • The system is stable when set up. Don't have issues when running for months at a time.
  • Hard to find some answers with the SolarWinds thwack (users group). When I have experienced issues after an upgrade it was easier and more timely to just create a ticket and resolve rather than drill down into the support community to find answers. Some answers were for similar results but the wrong version fix would not help with current version causing frustration and time wasted.
  • The system is typically stable. Only after an upgrade do some new additions cause problems. The number one issue I have experienced is after an upgrade of the modules I have had to open unique company alerts and re-select them to run or they will cause errors. It is annoying but a predictable problem.
SolarWinds is a great monitoring tool but has no ability to monitor itself unless in a cluster. We use a single VM and when it has problems we just stop getting alerts. We have found that having 2 monitoring systems is best so they can alert you of each other when they have problems.
Read stephen schleeper's full review
Aaron Oberman profile photo
December 07, 2018

SolarWinds NPM Review: "SolarWinds is our recipe for success"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using SolarWinds as a SNMP monitoring tool for all of our switches, routers, UPSs and other misc devices. It is the primary monitoring tool of our networking team and is utilized remote technicians as well to be informed through the alerting engine. SolarWinds has been instrumental in proactively addressing network and power issues prior to end users calling us. This level of support has enabled us to minimize downtime saving our company a significant amount of money.
  • I think the shining example that sets SolarWinds apart from the rest is the approach it takes with SNMP. I have served in the Managed Service field and monitored devices for over twelve years and SolarWinds SNMP monitoring design is bar-none the best I have used.
  • I appreciate how different aspects of NPM flow togeher. An example of this is when you monitor a wireless controller and how it will automatically populate all of your access points along with statistics into the system. Using this feature along with the Network Traffic Analyzer has been a powerful troubleshooting tool.
  • The user community is a large part of the success of NPM. SolarWinds provides a forum that allows others to share their successes and discoveries with others. It is both friendly and professional and has been a major help to me.
  • I'm not a big fan of the licensing model which can quickly become bloated as your consider adding additional modules. It would make sense to me to cover device counts in your maintenance contract and then simple pay a straight fee for your modules.
  • Getting assistance for setting up monitoring templates is primary found through the user community (especially for unique devices). I would love to see a section in thwack that has a more organized approach to monitoring scripts that are organized by device (perhaps even company).
  • Make all functions required for monitoring templates available through the web GUI. Having to configure use the Universal Device Poller for configuring SNMP templates is a nuisance.
SolarWinds is specifically suited for network device and SNMP monitoring. While there are other solutions out there that do well for monitoring Windows, SolarWinds is the king of SNMP. It is the best all around monitoring solution that I am aware of. We use SolarWinds for a primarily Cisco network and the ease of adding devices and utilizing out-of-box features was crucial when we first began using the product.
Read Aaron Oberman's full review
Mark Lambert profile photo
November 09, 2018

SolarWinds NPM Review: "Solarwinds Gave me my Life Back!!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started off just using SolarWinds for managing our IP addresses years ago, but over the years we have grown using more than 5 unique modules from the product. We currently use the core NPM, NCM, IPAM, SAM, NTA, and SRM. these products have effectively helped our organization become proactive on handling predictive failures of hardware and helped us improve scaling on our storage and improve performance on a lot of our applications.
  • IPAM - helps effective provide history of IP addresses in your organization for audit purposes as well as alerting due to IP address conflicts.
  • NCM- effectively being able to configure multiple network devices from a single management point has become a valuable asset
  • SAM - Application and Hardware Monitoring is so granular that customization amongst various hardware and software's have been made easy using SAM. Examples: monitoring UPS Battery Life span and Remaining Battery load for multiple UPS across a WAN gives you insight of your backup power situation that can be addressed before it becomes a problem.
  • I feel a little more granularity in user permissions for all modules would be an improvement. Give one user a certain right that another user should not have. Right now for the majority, its user or admin...with nothing in between for most modules.
  • Customizable views per user, not globally.
Larger enterprise environments with multiple locations is a well suited environment. It provides a central point of monitoring and configuring globally across the organization.

May not be as suitable for smaller organizations as the smaller module subscriptions may still be more expensive than an organization would need for several modules.
Read Mark Lambert's full review
Dwain Erhart profile photo
November 07, 2018

Review: "How we use SolarWinds NPM, and some of the features you will find helpful"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Orion Summary page for all senior admins - we get alerts if things are coming down, if servers are running low on disk space, if memory is over utilized. Many different uses. I like the additions of NetPath services. I have also used reports and the network Atlas to create visual representations for our active links. Diving into a node is helpful to establish response time issues, trends and even capacity forecasts. I use this on servers, SANs, switches, Wireless controllers, and alert monitoring services.
  • NetPath services are a godsend when you are trying to explain to ISPs, etc. about where traffic is congested or stopping. Sometimes seeing is believing for them.
  • The other BIG deal is anticipating disk capacity - when volumes get to full, servers crash. With NPM, we can and create set thresholds for warning us before we run into issues, and then we can add storage, memory, and CPU, (especially on our Virtual environment.)
  • Alerts are great - instead of hearing from our users that a server is offline, we are aware of it right away.
  • It would be nice to be able to set up SNMP3 for some of our systems in an easier fashion. But it is not a show stopper.
  • Sometimes the support refers us to the Knowledge base and Thwack. Not a huge deal, but I only end up putting in a ticket when I have spent a great deal of time searching for a solution.
If you have a decent sized server farm, you will want to monitor it. If you spend time arguing with ISPs about whether they are at fault, you need NetPath to clarify. If you are a very small business, you may get by without it, but it can really save your team time and effort when you deal with multiple servers. We don't monitor EVERY node on our network - just the high level points - all servers, all network egress/ingress points, keeping ahead of storage space issues, and getting an email if something is happening you would otherwise be unable to check on a regular basis.
Read Dwain Erhart's full review
Michael Gonzales profile photo
November 07, 2018

SolarWinds NPM Review: "The good, the bad, and greatness!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds NPM is only being used in our Information Technology department. It helps us address preventative maintenance on our network infrastructure and keep downtimes to a minimum. It is also great at analyzing and monitoring the communication between network devices to see where issues may have risen. Being able to embed maps of our school sites also gives us a visual of our network topology.
  • The event log in NPM is quite detailed in explaining what take place and at what time. It also allows you to click on the event so you are able to see the exact node which has been affected.
  • NPM also does a great job in constructing visual charts from the SQL database. Once these charts have been created you are able to search for a particular date and time to see what took place on the network, such as how much traffic was sent and received, and utilization of the interfaces being monitored.
  • The dashboard gives a nice overview of what's happening on the network. It is also customizable which allows you to remove and/or add any information that you want to see right away.
  • One of my main issues with SolarWinds NPM is the fact that it only supports Microsoft's SQL Database. Since there are open source alternatives, this adds to the overall cost of ownership.
  • I feel that the amount of server resources it requires is quite taxing. This can be a make a break for smaller organizations who have limited resources.
  • The GUI is needing a major overhaul as it's becoming a bit dated to look at and could use an update.
I believe NPM is well suited in scenarios where the business has dozens of network equipment and/or servers to monitor. Since it is able to monitor virtually anything, from servers, to network equipment, virtual machines, and wireless devices it is best suited in and environment that supports several different types of devices and within an organization who needs these services up and running at all times.
Read Michael Gonzales's full review
Emanuel Maldonado profile photo
November 02, 2018

User Review: "Saving time with SolarWinds NPM"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently our IT department uses NPM to monitor the campus wired and wireless infrastructure, servers, security cameras, environmental monitors, and VoIP. Our department is small and the advanced alerting helps us to identify problems quickly.
  • The web interface is completely customizable. Each member of the IT team uses a view that suits them. The sysadmins use a view that focuses on VMware while my view focuses on network switches and traffic.
  • The alerting on NPM is excellent and easy to configure. We even created an alert for a device that is supposed to remain disconnected from the network. The possibilities are endless.
  • We have created device pollers combined with custom metering for each Smart UPS on campus. When a building suffers a power outage this poller allows us to inform management how much time is left before the building loses VoIP and WiFi services.
  • NPM can work in conjunction with their Network Engineer toolset. But only a few of the tools are available to use this way. If the integration was completed then SolarWinds would have a real winner.
It all comes down to making the best use of our time. Typically users would rather use your time than their own. For example, in the case of poor database performance a DB administrator will most likely blame the network. They would like you to use your time to provide evidence to the contrary. This will allow them to use their time for something other than troubleshooting their server or database. Once the innocence of the network is proven then and only then will the DB administrator look elsewhere for a solution. In the meantime clients suffer longer and more time is lost. Solarwinds NPM saves time. If the network is performing as it should it only takes a moment to verify and share the information. If there is a network issue NPM will have already sent an alert long before the DB admin makes the call. What more could you want?
Read Emanuel Maldonado's full review
Aaron Coody profile photo
February 09, 2019

SolarWinds NPM Review: "NPM good for Small IT Departments"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds NPM to monitor all of our company's devices from routers to servers. We like to know when we have issues, and this gives us a heads up when we do have problems. That way we can already be working to resolve our issues before the first complaint from one of our branches.
  • The alerts are on point. You can set up any type of alert you might need.
  • I like the mapping tool, although if you use the automap feature make sure you have all your information correct.
  • it's very easy to use and navigate.
  • I would love for it to have a "NetBrain" kinda of functionality to build network Visio drawings.
If you need monitoring of hardware environments for uptime and net flow to see where your traffic is going, this product does a good job. if you are using it for network diagraming, not so much. With that said, NPM always meets or exceeds what we need as a small IT department.
Read Aaron Coody's full review
Toivo Sari profile photo
February 05, 2019

SolarWinds NPM Review: "SolarWinds blows away the competition."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds NPM is used across the entire organization to help identify problem areas which previously we had difficulty detecting. NPM provides the data we need to improve network performance for all of our departments. Our employees depend on our network to be there for them, and NPM helps us to deliver.
  • The ability to add custom alerts.
  • The ability to change up the dashboard with Orion integration.
  • The speed of agent reporting.
  • Server performance. The product seems to use a lot of resources.
I believe it is well suited for any business network environment.
Read Toivo Sari's full review
Roger Oliver profile photo
September 28, 2018

SolarWinds NPM Review: "2 Decades for network motioning experience."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
When I started at my current company the previous engineers had used Nagios but never trained anyone on their specialized configurations or how to duplicate their work. Since Nagios no one on the team that was left had experience with Nagios. I brought in SolarWinds NPM to quickly bring a handle on basic networking monitoring which was not being done. Management bought into my plan and we've migrated all monitoring to SolarWinds products as a core single pane of glass.
  • Easy templates can be made to train everyone on adding and managing nodes.
  • Reporting Reporting Reporting
  • Constant upgrades to features to keep up with the changing times.
  • Better email controls. Right now we can do everything to control different groups getting emails but it could be easier.
  • NTA needs to be part of NPM they should not be separate products.
  • Filtering/searching options on syslogs and alerts.
If you have less then 30 network devices that do not need to be 24x7 then SolarWinds is not for you. If you have multiple sites and 24x7 revenue tied to up time of these locations then SolarWinds is the best place to start for keeping your eye on your world.
Read Roger Oliver's full review
Deirra J. Footman profile photo
September 21, 2018

SolarWinds NPM Review: "NPM is a valuable tool for Network Monitoring"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses SolarWinds to gain visibility into the performance of the Network and to alert us to problems an outages. This helps us be proactive in identifying issues within the network and quickly address them. NPM offers high visibility into our network with a user-friendly interface. The product offers a high level of customizability allowing us to hone the monitoring and alerting to meet our needs. Getting the product up and running is pretty straightforward. The learning curve comes in when honing your monitoring. Support is responsive and reliable. The Thwack community also offers helps for deployment and management questions. The interface offers loads of charts and graphs allowing you to show how your network and key interfaces are performing. This is especially helpful when you are presenting to senior level management and team member who may not fully understand Networking.
  • Easy to Navigate Interface - The user interface is laid out very clearly and it is intuitive to navigate.
  • Highly Customizable Alerts - You have the ability to fine-tune alerts to meet your needs.
  • Detailed Graphs and Reports - NPM does a great job of translating raw analytical data in to easy to read graphs and reports.
  • Ability to Monitor a Wide Range of Devices - There are built in MIBs for a wide range of device vendors and you have the Ability to configure more.
  • Creation of Custom Charts and Reports - Charts and graphs can take a little time to tweak to get the data that's relevant to you. Creating custom reports also isn't intuitive however the SolarWinds support is great at assisting you when needed.
  • Licensing Model - You definitely need a good knowledge of what you're trying to see. Licensing is based on the number of elements being monitored (devices and interfaces). This can get costly so you want to have a good understanding of what areas you wish to target if Cost is an issue in your organization.
  • No Real Integration with SD WAN Tools - Solarwinds NPM allows you to link with SD WAN APIs but due to API limitations, you only get surface level info. I would like to see them partner with some popular SD WAN vendors.
  • Network Atlas - this is the software you use to upload maps into the system. Currently, its a standalone piece of software on the server. I would like to see this integrated into the online console.
SolarWinds NPM has been really great with helping us diagnose the causes of network slowness, interface saturation and alerting to outages. It provides a centralized location to analyze the performance of the network and related devices, alerts allowed us to respond to outages quickly and reduce downtime for users. The product delves deep into the network allowing you to spot and resolve minor issues before they become user impacting. The modular approach they use as far as additional products work really well and the components mesh together really well. The data it provides comes in handy for identifying trends and long-term planning.
Read Deirra J. Footman's full review
Inamur rahman profile photo
January 10, 2019

User Review: "SolarWinds NPM is the best"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM is a great tool and I have been using this tool for the past 5 years in my project.

It is easy for me to monitor 14,500 sites on a single pane of glass and also observe the trend of MPLS traffic.

It was easy for me to pull the network bandwidth utilization reports and preset it to my director and other people in the leadership team, that was a huge plus.

  • Pulling network utilization reports was piece of cake.
  • Monitoring all the sites on a single pane of glass is just Awesome!
  • I was able to pinpoint any lag or slowness issues on the network with the help of NPM tool.
  • Last I heard, SolarWinds NPM does not support MS Azure platform. It would be a huge plus if they can come up with some plan for this limitation.
  • Technical support process can be improved and can be more efficient.
  • Our new platform where we are using AUBA SDN does not support SNMP. It would be great to see if the NPM tool can fix that with ARUBA and the other vendors in our market.

NPM is well suited for small organizations as well as large enterprises and integration is very easy.

I don't know where it is not suited but I would definitely not use it on MS Azure cloud as it is not supported.

Read Inamur rahman's full review
Michael Hava profile photo
January 08, 2019

SolarWinds NPM Review: "Want to gain insight into your network and really know what is going on?"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across the entire organization and it identifies traffic bottlenecks and also helps us identify overloaded access points. That is just a couple of examples.
  • The wireless summary review is really awesome you get a lot of data, how many people are on each access point how many bytes are being transferred etc.
  • The network top 10 summary view is also great you get the top 10 wireless clients by traffic, top 10 interfaces by traffic, top 10 node’s by current response time and much more.
  • Another great future is interfaces with high percent utilization where problems are identified early.
  • The ability to work on a mobile phone and still manage everything with an adaptive website would be great.
  • The mobile admin app starts at $695 it should be included for free.
  • Alert text messages get sent with a different number each time and It would be better if it was the same number.
The network performance monitor overall gives such a complete picture and helps you keep an eye on everything so it is well-suited for everything. I have not encountered any scenarios where it fell short.
Read Michael Hava's full review
Collin Lichtenberger profile photo
September 11, 2018

"SolarWinds NPM Customer Review"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used across our whole organization. It allows us to use one pane of glass to see both Network and Server issues across our organization. This is important to allow our NOC to watch many systems/interdependencies without watching multiple systems. It also allows us to keep recent configurations of our network gear, for survivability.
  • It pulls SNMP data well, in particular it allows us to capture port level information with a decent amount of historical data. This is true for user ports or trunk ports.
  • It does a good job of keeping an up-to-date stable of configurations. This is invaluable for recovery operations.
  • Syslog collector is also very useful to again correlate performance data against what errors the box itself is processing.
  • I would like to see the robustness of the database and pollers improved. It seems like we often need to do system upkeep or the application seems to grind along very slowly.
  • I would also like to see an improved method for auto-provisioning of server monitoring tools.
  • I would also like to be able to update maps/drawings directly from the web interface without having to use a separate Windows client.
It does basic ping and SNMP monitoring fairly well, but again I would very much like to see the robustness of the system improved. We far too often have to call support because the application is running slowly. This is my biggest complaint. Besides this, I see SolarWinds NPM doing very well in a campus environment. I do not believe it is well suited for monitoring cloud applications at this time, though.
Read Collin Lichtenberger's full review
AJ Gumataotao profile photo
August 28, 2018

SolarWinds NPM Review: "SolarWinds Proves Time and Time"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Solarwinds NPM is current being used in my organization's network throughout. As for access to the platform it is restricted to the IT team at the moment but are working to get real-time statistics to display on our SharePoint portal for all organization users to see the real-time health of our network and services. NPM has solved a couple of problems that were important to identifying root causes for network or network related issues. This was accomplished by utilizing the built-in features of NPM such as device polling (SNMP/PING) which gives us a status of the health of a device or the reachability to it, and NetPath has helped in cases where we have had ISPs failover and increase latency or increase the amount of network hops to a configured resource.
  • Easy to navigate UI while still providing powerful monitoring features.
  • Wide range of features to monitor just about any network/service.
  • Configurable (eye candy) reporting for upper management.
  • alerting features are very good for just about of any type of alerting you need
  • With many services moving to the cloud monitoring can be a challenge depending on your cloud deployments.
  • Pricey but much less work to do than open source / free tools.
  • If not configured to its full potential or to your organization's needs it can appear to be useless for it's price.
  • Alarms in a device can only be acknowledged individually and not on a incident affected basis.
  • For newer devices/platforms you have to customize pollers as the built-in pollers may report incorrect data.
Best suited for networks with platforms that have no type of performance/health statistics gathering built-in. May not be appropriate if you have a full cloud managed platform such as Cisco Meraki which has plenty of performance/heath data in its dashboard already.
Read AJ Gumataotao's full review
Michael Gombosi profile photo
December 19, 2018

SolarWinds NPM Review: "Solarwinds; An all-in-one Powerhouse"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds is used by several groups within our IT division. My group, Network Services, manages it. It gives us the ability to get ahead of network issues, such as congestion, connectivity issues, or actual hardware failure.
  • The main reason we use Solarwinds is so we can keep an eye on our entire network. The Network Summary page gives us a convenient view of our entire network and any issues that might be occurring.
  • Another huge reason we use Solarwinds is to see if there's any network congestion. This allows us to jump on situations where network speeds at remote offices are being impacted. For this we use the Router Utilization page.
  • And finally, Solarwinds has a very in-depth reporting as system. We can use the historical data that NPM captures to look for trends and consistent trouble areas.
  • This isn't so much a negativity, but Solarwinds is a very complex system, so expect to be learning a lot.
  • Solarwinds can get very expensive depending on how many nodes you want to support or how many modules you want to use.
  • If you are planning to upgrade -- read the articles carefully. You can call customer support any time, but you cannot schedule a dedicated tech.
Solarwinds is well suited for large companies. I think it's simply too expensive for small businesses.
Read Michael Gombosi's full review
Cody McNeill profile photo
December 01, 2018

SolarWinds NPM Review: "SolarWinds tells us before the users do!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At my company, we have many terminals. I use NPM to ensure that there are no network issues, as network speeds are vital to ensure our virtual desktop users on the WAN are able to do their job. We have a lot of alerts that warn us when network performance is becoming an issue. We used to have to wait for the users to tell us there was a problem, but now we know before the call and can already be working on solving it!
  • A great way to map your whole network to be able to pinpoint the device causing the problem.
  • Tracking hardware errors has never been easier, we get alerted the second a redundant power supply fails and can replace it right away!
  • Watching storage trends to be able to plan for how much more storage we will need for the next 5 years is amazingly simple.
  • With so many features, it can be hard to use them all to their fullest potential, although the training videos help.
  • Built-in event log will log every time an interface changes speed, so auto interfaces will sometimes cause bulky logs.
Great for places that don't have a network map and do not know their network. I always suggest it when going to a business that does not have a dedicated network person, or had one suddenly leave with all their network knowledge. It really helps being able to see it from a top-down view. The automatic poll of all the devices also really helps find everything on your network.
Read Cody McNeill's full review
Justin Czachor profile photo
December 01, 2018

SolarWinds NPM Review: "NPM just works"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have over 40 buildings and we use NPM to monitor traffic between our locations and determine if there are issues at our different sites. We also use it to generate reports for use with determining need and future and past traffic stats. This helps to determine if we need to increase throughput to different sites or if there is an anomaly that needs to be looked at.
  • The interface is really well-designed. It's pretty intuitive and easy to work with.
  • I like the map editor. It works well in creating maps and having an overall view of your sites.
  • I like the customization of the pages where you can change the layouts.
  • I don't like building reports. It seems bulky to find what I'm looking for when browsing for different objects.
  • I found it impossible to create a custom SNMP check. It may be due to my lack of knowledge, but it was difficult and SolarWinds was no help.
It's a great 'drop it in, set it up, and forget about it' type of network monitor. It doesn't require a ton of upkeep, maintenance, or daily work. It just does not require the type of attention that some other network monitors require. The email updates work well. If you just need something that works and doesn't need a ton of work, this is for you.
Read Justin Czachor's full review
Jeffrey Rapini profile photo
December 01, 2018

Review: "SolarWinds NPM best bang for your buck!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor (NPM) globally to manage and monitor our critical business applications and infrastructure devices. NPM provides a clear, easy to understand dashboard that is easy to drill down to more detailed data. NPM was very simple to set up and has been pretty simple to manage, and the solution scales perfectly to our size.
  • NPM provides detailed information like availability, health, performance monitoring, and bandwidth analysis.
  • NPM is a very useful tool for performing network discovery.
  • NPM's reporting capabilities offers pretty good granularity.
  • Speed of the application
  • Ease of grouping business application infrastructure together
  • End to end business application performance monitoring
SolarWinds NPM is great for any organization that wants to monitor and manage their IT infrastructure. Creating dashboards is fairly easy and it is very easy to get professional results. Reporting features are pretty robust and it's easy to create simple reports. I think if you have a need for very granular monitoring that might be a weakness of NPM.
Read Jeffrey Rapini's full review
Dale Witt profile photo
November 25, 2018

SolarWinds NPM: "SolarWinds Network Monitor Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used SolarWinds for the purposes of monitoring our networking infrastructure. It allowed us to keep track of our servers and switches within our domain. It was primarily used to help keep track of network performance and utilization as well as notifications of outages.
  • Allows for monitoring of network traffic and utilization.
  • Customized alerts and notifications.
  • Allows you to inventory all devices on the network.
  • It can be difficult to set up initially.
  • Better initial documentation and on boarding would be very useful.
It provides as much or as little information as you need to the right people once the tools have been installed and configured. Once configured correctly the alerts are very useful in keeping the network up and healthy.
Read Dale Witt's full review
Mike Nostrom profile photo
November 06, 2018

Review: "SolarWinds NPM - One stop shop for complete network monitoring"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
NPM is used to monitor the health and performance of our entire networking environment. It helps us to detect and resolve network performance issues and outages to minimize end-user down time throughout our entire organization.
  • Helps us to monitor our infrastructure in an easy to view customizable console
  • PERFSTACK! This feature is extremely critical to troubleshooting problems
  • Plays nice with others - Nexus, ASA & F5
  • Filtering/searching options on syslogs and alerts.
  • Licensing Model - You need a good knowledge of what you're trying to see. Licensing is based on the number of elements being monitored (devices and interfaces). It can get costly so you want to have a good understanding of what areas you wish to target if Cost is an issue in your organization.
  • Speed. It can be slow when there are lots of devices monitored.
SolarWinds NPM is the eyes and ears of our network. It gives us global visibility into everything on our network and its status. Without it, we would be blind to issues and be reactive instead of proactive when things happen. We use it to check bandwidth constraints and also to troubleshoot outages to trace back to the root cause. We also use Cisco Prime for our networking environment because it does a few things better than NPM.
Read Mike Nostrom's full review
Keith Gulledge profile photo
November 06, 2018

User Review: "SolarWinds NPM is the bomb!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use NPM for monitoring the up/down status of all of our Cisco switches/router (350 devices). We use it to monitor the bandwidth usage of all of the critical ports (server ports, uplinks, Internet links...). We also use it to monitor stack ports for stack switches. We get email notifications on all up/down statuses.
  • Great for reporting (email notification) up/down status of network devices.
  • Great to see status of stack ports in case 1 switch in a stack is down.
  • It is critical to see bandwidth usage and NPM does it well.
  • Not really anything. It does what we need.
NPM makes my team proactive instead of reactive. We have 30 locations that we monitor and could not live without NPM.
Read Keith Gulledge's full review
Armando Alvarado profile photo
February 12, 2019

SolarWinds NPM Review: "SolarWinds Does it with Style"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for our school district. It is used by our IT department. It helps us find issues with switches and any server connectivity issues, from bandwidth to other issues causing slowness.
  • The up and down feature is great. Sometimes we missed the things it points out.
  • CPU usage information on the virtual systems we use is critical.
  • We like the network discovery feature, it does an awesome job.
  • Storage resource helps a lot.
  • Netflow Traffic Analyzer could really use an upgrade, such as including the ability to do Layer 3 flows not just Layer 2.
  • Better job in the update department
  • IP address manager takes too long to discover. I use a standalone IP address manager and it works better than the one in the suite.
Read Armando Alvarado's full review
Shawn Winters profile photo
October 19, 2018

SolarWinds NPM Review: "Solarwinds - the eyes and ears of our IT"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds NPM is the eyes and ears of our network. It gives us global visibility in to everything on our network and it's status. Without it, we would be blind to issues and be reactive instead of proactive when things happen.
  • SNMP polling. It has a tremendous database of almost any device you can think of available.
  • Wireless monitoring. It can pull all our meraki and Aruba info in to the same panel as all our other switch gear.
  • Space Monitoring. It keeps tabs on all the space available across all our devices.
  • Speed. It can be slow when there are lots of devices monitored.
  • Cloud aware. It does have ties to the cloud, but lacks a lot in this space.
  • Database. It would be nice if it ran on something other then SQL server. It can get costly given the SQL requirement.
I've used it for almost 8 years at 3 different companies. I find it suitable for any distributed infrastructure that's connected with Layer 3 Networking. It's less suited to monitor things across the public internet.
Read Shawn Winters's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Automated network device discovery (107)
8.0
Network monitoring (117)
9.1
Baseline threshold calculation (106)
8.4
Alerts (116)
8.7
Network capacity planning (97)
8.2
Packet capture analysis (70)
6.1
Network mapping (96)
8.1
Customizable reports (108)
7.6
Wireless infrastructure monitoring (75)
7.3
Hardware health monitoring (107)
8.8

About SolarWinds NPM

SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor (NPM) delivers comprehensive network fault monitoring and performance management that scales and expands with your network monitoring needs. Users can collect and view availability, real-time and historical statistics from routers, switches, firewalls, servers, and any other SNMP-, ICMP-, or WMI-enabled devices directly from a web browser.

SolarWinds users can get a full NPM installation up and running the same day they download. Implementation does not require a team of consultants. NPM provides quick visibility into the health of network devices and servers on the network, ensuring that users have the real-time information they need to keep their network running at peak performance.

Network Performance Monitor helps IT Pros:

  • Quickly detect, diagnose, and resolve network performance issues and avoid downtime
  • Respond to multiple condition checks, correlated events, and device dependencies
  • Automatically calculate capacity exhaustion dates using customizable thresholds based on peak and average usage
  • Streamline network troubleshooting with an easy-to-use Web interface
  • View paths to critical business services hop-by-hop, even into the cloud, with the NetPath™ feature
  • Get deeper visibility into complex network devices with Network Insight™ features for Cisco ASA firewalls, Cisco Nexus switches, and F5 BIG-IP load balancers

SolarWinds NPM Features

Network Performance Monitoring Features
Has featureAutomated network device discovery
Has featureNetwork monitoring
Has featureBaseline threshold calculation
Has featureAlerts
Has featureNetwork capacity planning
Has featurePacket capture analysis
Has featureNetwork mapping
Has featureCustomizable reports
Has featureWireless infrastructure monitoring
Has featureHardware health monitoring
Additional Features
Has featureMulti-vendor device support for any router, switch, firewall, VPN concentrator, wireless access point and other devices that support standard protocols
Has featureIntelligent alerts for correlated events, sustained conditions, and complex combinations of device states
Has featureInsight on hardware health by monitoring, alerting, and reporting on the state of key device sensors
Has featureNetPath for hop-by-hop monitoring of critical business services, on-premises or into the cloud
Has featureNetwork Insight for Cisco ASA firewalls
Has featureNetwork Insight for Cisco Nexus switches
Has featureNetwork Insight for F5 BIG-IP load balancers

SolarWinds NPM Screenshots

SolarWinds NPM Video

Network Performance Monitor overview

SolarWinds NPM Downloadables

SolarWinds NPM Integrations

SolarWinds NPM Competitors

ManageEngine OpManager, WhatsUp Gold, CA Unified Infrastructure Management, Nagios, Micro Focus Network Node Manager i (formerly HP Network Node Manager), Paessler PRTG

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?Optional

SolarWinds NPM Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds NPM Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Windows® Server 2016; SQL Server 2016 SQL Server 2016 SP1 SQL Server 2017 (including installations on Linux)
Mobile Application:No