Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Qualys TruRisk Platform

Qualys TruRisk Platform
Formerly Qualys Cloud Platform / Qualysguard

Overview

What is Qualys TruRisk Platform?

Qualys TruRisk Platform (formerly Qualys Cloud Platform, or Qualysguard), from San Francisco-based Qualys, is network security and vulnerability management software featuring app scanning and security, network device mapping and detection, vulnerability prioritization schedule and remediation, and other features to provide…

Read more
Recent Reviews

TrustRadius Insights

Qualys Cloud Platform provides users with a wide range of options to scan and manage vulnerability levels in applications and websites, …
Continue reading

Qualys Review

8 out of 10
January 24, 2023
Incentivized
Qualys is used to scan periodically the environment in order to check if there are some packages (Linux) or Applications (Windows) …
Continue reading

Qualys strikes again

8 out of 10
January 20, 2023
Incentivized
Qualys Cloud Platform (specifically the Global AssetView module) enabled us to manage, view, and control all devices and endpoints in our …
Continue reading

Beware of Qualys

3 out of 10
September 12, 2020
Incentivized
We currently use Qualys for threat detection and penetration testing on several of our SaaS solutions. We also install the cloud agent on …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 12 features
  • IT Asset Realization (9)
    8.8
    88%
  • Web Scanning (8)
    8.8
    88%
  • Vulnerability Classification (7)
    8.7
    87%
  • Threat Recognition (7)
    8.3
    83%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Qualys TruRisk Platform?

Qualys TruRisk Platform (formerly Qualys Cloud Platform, or Qualysguard), from San Francisco-based Qualys, is network security and vulnerability management software featuring app scanning and security, network device mapping and detection, vulnerability prioritization schedule and remediation, and…

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

117 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is Microsoft Defender for Endpoint?

Microsoft Defender for Endpoint (formerly Microsoft Defender ATP) is a holistic, cloud delivered endpoint security solution that includes risk-based vulnerability management and assessment, attack surface reduction, behavioral based and cloud-powered next generation protection, endpoint detection…

What is CrowdStrike Falcon?

CrowdStrike offers the Falcon Endpoint Protection suite, an antivirus and endpoint protection system emphasizing threat detection, machine learning malware detection, and signature free updating. Additionally the available Falcon Spotlight module delivers vulnerability assessment with no…

Return to navigation

Features

Threat Intelligence

Features for categories that leverage threat intelligence in network security

8.7
Avg 8.0

Vulnerability Management Tools

Tools that focus on locating, identifying, and prioritizing vulnerabilities in a network that need to be patched.

8.5
Avg 8.1
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Qualys TruRisk Platform?

Qualys TruRisk Platform (formerly Qualys Cloud Platform, or Qualysguard), from San Francisco-based Qualys, is network security and vulnerability management software featuring app scanning and security, network device mapping and detection, vulnerability prioritization schedule and remediation, and other features to provide vulnerability management and network attack surface reduction.

Qualys TruRisk Platform Video

Qualys Cloud Platform

Qualys TruRisk Platform Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Qualys TruRisk Platform (formerly Qualys Cloud Platform, or Qualysguard), from San Francisco-based Qualys, is network security and vulnerability management software featuring app scanning and security, network device mapping and detection, vulnerability prioritization schedule and remediation, and other features to provide vulnerability management and network attack surface reduction.

Reviewers rate Automated Alerts and Reporting highest, with a score of 9.

The most common users of Qualys TruRisk Platform are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(85)

Community Insights

TrustRadius Insights are summaries of user sentiment data from TrustRadius reviews and, when necessary, 3rd-party data sources. Have feedback on this content? Let us know!

Qualys Cloud Platform provides users with a wide range of options to scan and manage vulnerability levels in applications and websites, offering detailed visibility into IT services. Users have successfully utilized the Qualys API and Python to schedule scans of their networks, focusing on critical and high vulnerabilities. This proactive approach has resulted in a reduction in attacks and compromises across the enterprise. Additionally, the integration capabilities of Qualys Cloud Platform have proven valuable for users consolidating multiple tools, providing a unified dashboard for better visibility and management of their IT infrastructure and risks.

One key use case of Qualys Cloud Platform is policy compliance. Users have praised Qualys Policy Compliance for its ability to create policies, establish controls, and manage compliance across the organization. The user-friendly UI and unified dashboard aid decision-making for C-level executives. Furthermore, Qualys Cloud Platform has been used to continuously assess workloads in multi-cloud environments and ensure they align with security policies.

Vulnerability detection and prioritization are also critical use cases for Qualys Cloud Platform. It is relied upon by users for network security monitoring, web application monitoring, asset discovery, threat protection, and compliance monitoring. With a comprehensive view of network security and critical applications, users can determine the need for patching and effectively secure their IT infrastructure. The software's effectiveness extends to monitoring and managing diverse assets such as servers, switches, Windows, UNIX systems, NAS appliances, and web URLs.

Another benefit of Qualys Cloud Platform is its automation capabilities for scanning and reporting tasks. This automation saves time while providing real-time awareness of security levels, vulnerability detection, and prioritized remediation needs. Users appreciate the user-friendly interface, organized asset management features, integration with Splunk, centralized logging for investigation purposes, as well as patching status monitoring. Overall, Qualys Cloud Platform equips organizations with the necessary tools to protect their IT infrastructure—such as data, applications, endpoints—and achieve compliance while streamlining security processes.

Informative Reports: Many users have praised the informative reports generated by Qualys Cloud Platform. Several reviewers have mentioned that the platform provides detailed and comprehensive reports, allowing them to easily identify security vulnerabilities in their systems. This feature has been highly appreciated by a significant number of customers.

Accurate Vulnerability Identification: The platform's capabilities in accurately identifying security vulnerabilities have been lauded by numerous users. Reviewers have highlighted that Qualys Cloud Platform effectively scans and detects potential weaknesses in their systems, providing them with reliable information to address these issues promptly. This aspect has received positive feedback from a substantial portion of customers.

User-friendly Interface: A considerable number of reviewers have commended the user-friendly interface of Qualys Cloud Platform. Users appreciate how easy it is to navigate through the platform and access different features without any technical difficulties. This intuitive design has made it convenient for many customers to use and maximize the benefits of the platform.

Complicated Program: Some users have found the program to be complicated and challenging to navigate, requiring intuition to execute tasks effectively. This complexity can make it difficult for new users to quickly understand all of its functions.

Messy Interface: Users have mentioned that the interface is cluttered and lacks clear organization, making it hard to find the options they need. The disorganized layout can lead to frustration and inefficiency in navigating the program.

Lack of Customer Support: Several users expressed dissatisfaction with Qualysguard's customer support, citing slow response times and missed SLAs. Prompt and efficient support is crucial for users when encountering issues or seeking assistance, but some felt let down by their experiences with Qualysguard's support team.

Users recommend using Qualys for security purposes, such as security validation and vulnerability assessment. They have found that Qualys does a solid job of detecting network vulnerabilities and reporting on them. Some users specifically recommend deploying agents on all endpoints and doing authenticated scans with Qualys to improve the accuracy of the results.

Users advise exploring product trials carefully to understand where Qualys might fall short of expectations. While many users find Qualys to be a valuable tool for security improvement and business analysis, they also note that it has a learning curve and can be difficult to set up initially.

Users mention that Qualys is more expensive compared to other products on the market but still worth the investment. They recommend integrating Qualys into the workflow of security scanning and highlight its functionalities and inbuilt features as reasons to choose it. Some users also suggest improving customer support for Qualys as an area of enhancement.

Overall, users strongly recommend Qualys as a reliable tool for security assessment, especially for enterprise organizations where vulnerabilities can have serious consequences for the business.

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 25)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Qualys Cloud Platform to perform automated Web App Scans on internally developed platforms. Once set, and with the scheduled scans features, there's no more heavy lifting: just wait for the notifications either via mail or the ticketing system, download the report in pdf format, and escalate/assign to the right stakeholders.
  • Scheduled scans.
  • Detailed reports with graphs.
  • Notify when there's a [potential] vulnerability
  • Modernize the Web GUI.
Qualys Cloud Platform makes the dark corners of your webapp visible. What's visible can be made secure.
This allows you to focus on the important: your security and compliance posture.
With the automated scheduled scanning, reporting, and notifying you pretty much don't have any heavy lifting to do.
It also offers native integrations with the major Cloud Providers.
January 24, 2023

Qualys Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Qualys is used to scan periodically the environment in order to check if there are some packages (Linux) or Applications (Windows) outdated, generating reports to the Service Owners to let them know what's the current situation regarding their environment to schedule
  • OS inventory
  • Updated Database
  • Vulnerability Addressed
  • Reports should be improved
  • Knowledge Base (forums)
  • documentation
In our company basically we use Qualys to scan periodically environment in order to check if there are some packages (Linux) or Applications (Windows) outdated, generating reports to the Service Owners helping them to addressing the findings scheduling to apply patches. So the tool's functionality fulfills the purpose expected from us.
Henry Coronel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
The performance that we have had with this program has been great since it has been the only program that has offered us a long list of options to scan as well as manage the level of vulnerability in all the applications and websites where our system runs, thanks With the help of Qualys Cloud Platform you can see in detail all the IT services that I use the most.
  • One of the main features that I like about this program is the multiple options and powerful functions that I have at my fingertips to strengthen the security of my system.
  • Qualys Cloud Platform is a great program that gives the opportunity to all its users to keep track of each of the processes on the web, complying with the mandatory policies and manipulating the least risky applications.
  • Thanks to the support of this program, all my commercial projects on the web are entirely safe; Qualys Cloud Platform will take care of avoiding each of the threats on the web.
  • This program is really complicated, the multiple functions that are presented to us are not very clear and in some cases, it is a matter of intuition to execute a function, it is not very informative.
  • The interface of this program can be a real problem; for our taste, this program looks a bit messy, and the interface does not help or guide you to find the options you need.
It is essential for a company that works largely on the web to maintain stable security and visualize the vulnerability of its state and of the web applications that are regularly put to the test; Qualys Cloud Platforms is the perfect program that will help you with these aspects, as well As long as it's priced right for its features, it's always a pleasure to recommend and showcase the great features of the Qualys Cloud Platform.
January 20, 2023

Qualys strikes again

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Qualys Cloud Platform (specifically the Global AssetView module) enabled us to manage, view, and control all devices and endpoints in our organizations and sort them in various ways, push scripts selectively based on group, and generally keep things organized in a way that helped our whole team understand where everything was, and what state it was in, and address concerns immediately if need be.
  • Sorting
  • Tags
  • Patching
  • UI
  • Response Time
  • Inaccurate Updating
It's a pretty good overall tool. Honestly, it becomes a scale issue. If you have less than 100 devices altogether, this is not the tool for you. There are so many ways to sort devices and keep track of important tags, but below a certain level it is entirely overkill.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Qualys Cloud Platform to help us to identify vulnerabilities, monitor for threats, and respond to security incidents.
The automation of the scanning and reporting, saves us a lot of time and makes it possible to be aware of the security level of both our internal and external systems and to detect vulnerabilities and prioritize the remediation of them.
  • automated web application scanning
  • automated reporting
  • cloud asset management
  • remediation guidance
  • 2fa options are too limited right now
  • adding domains and networks needs a better and easier way
  • discovery and scanning setup could be better integrated
  • not all modules integrate well with eachother
with some training it is easy to scan your networks and find assets on your networks.
also unmanaged assets are found and the automated remediation guidance helps to quickly solve or at least remediate the vulnerability.

because the training is really needed to understand the services, it is not easy to let a colleague also use it when you're not available
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We used the platform as a part of the Patch Management tool for us and our customer environments. It was good and effective tool, to work on the patching activities, with ease of access, smooth functioning. When compared to other tools this was a bit cost effective and also was worth the purchase.
  • Ease of use
  • Simplified UI
  • Simple operations
  • Have more integrations for Patching Support
  • Better customer support
  • Support for Zero Day Vulnerability patching
Qualys Cloud Platform was used by us in terms of patch deployment for internal and external customers. We used it as to provide Patch management services. Qualys Cloud Platform was integral part of our whole Patch Management as service which was part of the larger officering and completed the whole security aspect.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Qualys cloud platform to monitor our network security, monitor public and privately hosted web applications, and also for asset discovery, threat protection and compliance monitoring. It is a comprehensive security platform that gives us a global single pane of glass view into the security of our network and critical applications.
  • web application scanning
  • threat protection
  • policy compliance
  • File integrity monitoring
  • Asset discovery
  • Threat protection
  • Certificate inventory
  • PCI compliance
Qualys cloud is well suited as a global solution for monitoring the security of your network. It is well suited for vulnerability scanning, policy compliance, asset discovery and threat protection as well as cloud inventory and application security scanning (for both public web apps and in-house applications). The best feature and also the one that provides us the most value is the VMDR (vulnerability management, detection and response). This is a crucial part of our overall security function. Scenarios where we find it less appropriate are in patch management.
Varun Khare | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Integration was one of our key challenges as we were going through a consolidation of many tools. Bringing everything together and getting visibility in one Qualys dashboard has helped us. To secure our IT infrastructure and manage all risks related to our assets in one place is very easy now. Now we can see everything related to asset on dashboard and take action quickly.
  • Infrastructure Security
  • Network Security
  • Cloud Security
  • Asset Management
  • Patch Management
  • Application Security
  • Ghost/Shadow Asset Scanning
As a member of an Endpoint security team, I worked on finding a variety and quantity of Endpoints on the network and Qualys VMDR helped us a lot to find those and do security and compliance risk. It continuously protects all your endpoints from suspicious activity and attacks from prevention to detection to response.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
Qualys Cloud Platform provides our organization with the tools needed to protect our organization, from end-to-end. It bolsters our security stance in a multi-faceted approach, including our IT infrastructure, our data and applications in the cloud, our endpoints, and compliance all over the world. The best feature of Qualys would be it's automated threat protection which gives us alerts & warnings in realtime, leading to actionable insights that keep our business secure.
  • Real time threat protection, with alerts & remediation
  • Total visibility into the security of our organization via a single-pane
  • Easily scalable for additional infrastructure, end users, and policy updates
  • Customer support tends to be slower, often leading to the tail end of guaranteed SLA's
  • Major downside is that QCP charges you for each scanner, leading to high cost
  • False positives can end up wasting more time, rather than saving it
Qualys Cloud Platform is well suited for organizations that need additional tools to secure and bolster their security from end to end. The automated, real-time threat protection is very quick to notify an admin of potential vulnerabilities and risks, as well as recommending quick fixes to resolve/close the gap before an incident occurs. QCP excels at portraying all of these in a single pane of glass, and find that the Qualys reports are more detailed than competitor product lines. One of our big issues with QCP is that you do have to pay for each scanner, which can quickly add up to large costs. For this reason, I would rate Qualys at a ~7 due to great features and functionality, but overall value could be better for a large organization. I would also say that QCP may make more sense for smaller organizations due to this pricing model.
Rahul Deshmukh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Qualys Policy Compliance helps an organization to create policy, establish controls, write user-defined controls and manage the entire compliance of the organization. It also has an easy-to-use UI and creates a unified dashboard that helps C-level executives with decision-making based on the security posture of the organization. Based on the reports and dashboard, it's easy to take corrective action.
  • Controls Management.
  • Unified dashboard for security posture.
  • Organization security policy effectiveness.
  • Ease of configuration.
  • Some of the tasks to select sensors can be automated.
  • Controls customisation can be improved.
  • Technology support can be improved.
If you have a large IT landscape of different operating systems and want a common assessment tool for vulnerabilities, and compliance and also have your own policies, you can create your own customized Compliance management view. Create your own customized controls apart from NIST, and CIS controls. Have a parallel scanner to improve scanning performance and reduce the timeline.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
** To use Qualys Cloud to continuously assess the workloads in the multi-cloud environment and make sure they are in line with our security policies
** Application Security and Policy Compliance
** Reduce risk and increase their levels of compliance in a cost-effective manner
**Detect and prioritise vulnerabilities and misconfigurations across the IT estate, as well as supporting automated patching and remediation activities
  • Vulnerability management
  • Patch management
  • Reporting and alerting mechanism
  • Addressing false positives
  • JIRA Integration
  • UI interface could be cumbersome for first time users
Some of the major drivers behind why companies deploy Qualys Cloud --Compliance obligations, Policy enforcement validation and policy violations, Continuous monitoring and incident response, Detect and prioritize vulnerabilities and mis-configurations across the IT estate, as well as supporting automated patching and remediation activities continuous monitoring, event triage and threat hunting. Security should be a top business priority in every industry and a lack of funding is no excuse
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
In my previous organisation (capgemini), I had implemented and used qualys for vulnerability scanning and management. It is very user friendly tool and it has very organised way to manage the scanning asset and option profile as well as reporting service and remediation steps. Can be easily integrated with splunk to get the logs at centralised location to investigate and monitor the status of patching.
  • Patch management
  • Scanning the assets
  • Maintaining option profile
  • Reporting service
  • Reporting service should be available in excel or csv mode
  • Panel for vulnerabilities by category in dashboard
  • Integrated with splunk to monitor the status of missing patch
As per my past experience with qualys vm tool, we implemented for scanning the assets in cloud as well as on-prem. Also we had used for web application scanning. Integrated with splunk for centralised monitoring and reporting purpose for missing patch on assets, patched assets status, not scanned assets, etc.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use the Qualys Cloud Platform for three main strands in our information security. Firstly it gives us excellent visibility of internal and external vulnerabilities across our technology estate. This allows us to identify any potential gaps in software patching, and determine whether any vulnerable end-of-life software is installed on any of our physical or virtual devices. Secondly, we use Qualys for scheduling, analysing and managing PCI scans, a requirement of our PCI DSS certification as a Level 1 service provider. Finally, and more and more crucially as we migrate an increasing number of workloads into the cloud, we use the Qualys CloudView product to report on any potential insecure configuration issues across our AWS & Azure estates. Using a single vendor for these three key pieces of functionality enables us to better manage costs, and leverage our existing customer success relationship. Qualys are excellent both at reactive customer support for security incidents or technical queries, and proactively reaching out to us to make sure we're both making the best use of the functionality included in our existing contract and working with us to see if there's anything they can do to help with our emerging and ongoing security challenges and requirements.
  • Internal & external vulnerability management
  • Visibility of cloud security configuration issues
  • Completion of PCI ASV requirements
  • Cheaper entry-level offerings for startups and SMEs
  • Static, dynamic and third-party software security scans
  • Redesign user interface to be more intuitive and responsive, with a consistent user experience across all components of the platform
Qualys really excels in internal/external vulnerability reporting (across physical, on-premise virtual and cloud-based devices), PCI scanning and cloud configuration security. Their products are full-featured, reliable and relatively easy to use, for the most part. Technical support and account management functions work well together to deliver a successful customer experience.
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We used it for pre-release scans of our products each month. It was used by the Information Security team who would help the Development teams to ensure that products are bug-free before they get released to our customers.
  • Scan configurations were quick and easy.
  • Offers wide range of settings for more targeted scans
  • Informative reports
  • Navigation is pretty complex and involves a lot of pages to click through
  • Redundantly scans pages in vain with little to no modification in the alphanumeric query parameter values
  • Scan duration and coverage
It does have its pros but they are outweighed by the cons. There are better scanners out there. WAS gets stuck at scanning a single page for such a long time that it barely covers any part of the application before reaching the 24-hour limit and concluding testing. It could be also because of the nature of our application, but I would expect dynamic scanners to be a bit smarter than this.
September 12, 2020

Beware of Qualys

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We currently use Qualys for threat detection and penetration testing on several of our SaaS solutions. We also install the cloud agent on every workstation. Only the IT and IS departments have access to the admin console. The business problem that it addresses is vulnerability scanning and increases the hardening of our critical systems.
  • Penetration Testing
  • Threat detection
  • Vulnerability scanning
  • Difficult to use
  • Poor support
  • Hard to control threats on workstations
It is well suited if you only need a tool that is going to be used for threat detection and penetration testing for your internal systems. It would be less appropriate if you are looking for a strong threat management system for end-user workstations. I would suggest looking elsewhere for that.
March 04, 2020

Happy Qualys user.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are using Qualys to monitor all our infrastructure residing in both AWS and Azure infrastructure. We also monitor web URLs. This is used by both IT and operations. We periodically run the scans and get the reports and make sure all the systems are in line with our security policies. As a result of this we are able to correct any violation almost immediately especially around the new resources that are continuously created.
  • Ease of use.
  • Continuous and comprehensive monitoring.
  • Good reporting and alerting mechanism.
  • Seemless JIRA Integration.
  • Automated intelligence to identify and report common issues for a company.
Qualys really covers most of the operational security needs of my team and support for multiple clouds is making it easy for us to go with any cloud. We are able to see the value immediately and correct any potential violations right away. However we are also looking for a system that can proactively identify common mistakes whenever new resources are spun up that can violate our security policies rather flag it later.
January 15, 2020

Delivers as intended!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We installed Qualys Policy and Compliance approx. 1 year ago in order to help automate our assets security configuration profile and be alerted when something deviates. This helps keep our yearly attestations in check with minimal manual research. This aids in not only compliance but greatly increases our security posture by alerting when an IT administrator or client support staff install something outside normal approved software.
  • Reporting - Qualys PC does a fantastic job in this arena. Reports are easy to customize and decipher.
  • Very nice and easy to read dashboard.
  • It's unfortunate that Policy and Compliance is an add-on to their Vulnerability scanning platform.
  • The GUI could be a little less complicated.
For regulatory companies that must adhere to certain guidelines, PC provides a quick and relatively easy way to identify when an asset is out of compliance making audits a worry-free event.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Qualys is our main vulnerability management solution, it is responsible for scanning 200+ assets.
  • Really good and up to date vulnerability database
  • Good reporting capabilities
  • PCI ready
  • Price tag
  • Have the license based on live IPs, not on entire subnets, so then you pay for the exactly amount of servers you have.
Qualys is a great vulnerability management solution that can scale from small companies to large companies.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Qualys as the main vulnerability scanner. It is used to scan the on-premise devices such as servers, switches, etc.
We have several scanners deployed in different locations in order to cover all sites, and scheduled scans that run on a periodic basis.
Qualys helps us to prioritize the mitigation, it includes not only OS patches, but also 3rd party software.
  • Cloud-based management.
  • Detailed info about the findings: reason, effect, risk, mitigations, etc.
  • Clear UI.
  • Additional modules can be added to the same management interface.(single point of management).
  • Notices some findings which were not clear why they appear(suspected false positive).
  • Working with Qualys support(for example due to the previous point) wasn't the best experience. the response was very slow.
  • Qualys limit the daily API requests. In case you need more, it will cost.
Installation: Qualys is a cloud-based service (cloud management), in case you require an offline solution, Qualys is not the solution for you.
You can scan all types of devices: servers, endpoints, network equipment, FW, and much more, including Cloud workloads (they have a dedicated appliance for IaaS).
For endpoints, it's better to use their Agent in order to avoid running the scans over the network. this has an additional cost.
For Compliance needs, Qualys is good enough.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It is being used both across the whole organization, as well as at the department level. It is the platform used. It is used mainly for vulnerability scanning endpoints on the network, and then remediating those vulnerabilities. It is also used by some do do reporting and tracking of vulnerabilities. Internally, we mainly use it to scan individual computers, and well as groups of computers within a certain department. With regards to the vulnerabilities, we can determine if patching is needed on the endpoints.

It addresses the business problem of helping to secure networks from intrusions and vulnerabilities. It helps IT see what computers on the network has vulnerabilities, and offers them an opportunity to remediate those vulnerabilities.
  • It really does well at vulnerability scanning, which it is well known for. It's accuracy at finding vulnerabilities is top notch, more so than a lot of other vulnerability tools out there. In an organization/company you want this kind of accuracy at finding vulnerabilities in your network/endpoints
  • It is very good at managing endpoints on a consistent basis, meaning you can add endpoints to Qualys and have the platform scan/track/protect for vulnerabilities on an ongoing basis, without user intervention
  • It does really well at separating out and identifying what levels of criticality each vulnerability should fall into. This way, an organization/company can attack the more critical vulnerabilities first
  • Can be slow at times, namely when scanning endpoints. Scans can take a while, and results may not be immediately known
  • For IT personnel that have never used Qualys before, it can take some time to learn the platform, and how to actually use it. Some sort of training or consulting documentation on the product would be beneficial, as it's a more complicated platform
  • Automatic password resets for user/admin login to the platform can be frustrating, as this can happen occasionally, without user/admin awareness
  • False positives can also be detected, sometimes at a high rate. Need to lessen that as much as possible
It is well suited for environments that are looking for a solution that is top notch for vulnerability scanning, and is the most accurate at doing so. It would also fit environments that have a lot of endpoints to scan or like to have scanning done on an automatic basis.

It is less appropriate in environments that want to use a platform right away, without getting training in how to use it, or reading documentation on the product.
January 21, 2019

I love Qualys PC

Larry Sullivan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
I am a Qualys Consultant, so we use Qualys Policy Compliance (PC) as a tool for clients and assist in the purchase and install of Qualys products. For the money I find Qualys to be the most sensible investment a small to medium-sized company can make.
  • Attestation is so easy with Qualys. I find this one feature makes the investment worth the cost
  • Ease of use. Within an hour of first installing, a person can be running compliance tests without a hitch.
  • Great training materials and support. I have never had to take more than twenty minutes to solve a problem either through support or the forums.
  • You must learn the terminology which can cause problems but is a minor thing.
If you or a client are a retailer, PCI is a breeze. The tracking, ticketing, and attestation are all so simple it makes life very pleasant.
Alex Waitkus, CISSP-ISSAP, OSCP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We used the Qualys API and python to create rolling scheduled scans of every 2 weeks for every network for our organization. We first focused on critical and high vulnerabilities with direction to remediate or remove the system within 30 days. We saw a drastic reduction in number of attacks and compromises for systems across the enterprise.
  • API Task scheduling and configuration
  • Threat database updates through authenticated scanning of Windows and Unix operating systems
  • Reporting capabilities
  • The API query can only support limited number of connections in a time period without calling support to request more, I would suggest removing that limitation.
Qualysguard is well suited for all IT vulnerability scanning. Because of its noise (which is configurable) it is not recommended for ICS environments without customization.
Alan Matson, CCNA:S, MCP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We used Qualysguard to automate testing of our environment for vulnerabilities. We used several groups to run the testing some with longer and more extensive tests. Mostly this was done in two phases, once before a resource was deployed for use and then several times after over duration to ensure any vulnerabilities were caught.
  • User setup for multiple groups
  • Ease of automation, set it and forget it
  • Reporting features were a huge plus
  • Took time to learn the UI
  • Could be cumbersome for first time users
  • Not much online documentation that was useful
Of many of the other vulnerability testing suites I used, this offered the most robust features and, once you learned the UI, was a go-to tool. The reporting was very nice for not only us technical but for reports for management as well that were easy to understand and prioritize fixes.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized

At my current organization, Qualysguard is primarily used for discovery of assets and verification of secure configuration/patching by our security team. Our team is also assessing Qualysguard WAS to build into our secure development practices.

At my previous organization, we provided self-service capability for our engineers designing/building our products to perform their own infrastructure scans to identify security configuration flaws as early in the build process as possible. We also used Qualysguard for discovery of assets and verification of secure configuration/patching.

In both organizations, Qualysguard has added a ton of value.

  • Discovery of assets on a network.
  • Identifying infrastructure security configuration flaws for a number of different OS types.
  • Easy UI to navigate.
  • Easier way for VM scan custom profile management. A way to determine if there are duplicate scan profiles created to reduce redundancy with multiple administrators.
  • This may have been addressed, but my previous organization had a lot of difficulties integrating Qualysguard with RSAM.
  • Add trending over time capabilities to dashboard.
I've seen Qualysguard work really well for discovery, however you need to have good knowledge of your organization's network topology to ensure Qualys is able to access. In some cases you may end up requiring multiple appliances due to capacity or access contraints. Qualysguard is also very good for verifying patching, server hardening configurations, and other compliance requirements.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
As an enterprise wide vulnerability management solution, Qualys Private Cloud Platform has given us a very keen insight into our security posture both internally and externally. Like most global enterprises, our landscape is very diverse and the ease with which Qualys Private Cloud Platform embraced that landscape has made this a valuable tool indeed. From Windows to UNIX to NAS appliances, we have been able to bring everything into view.
  • The first benefit is actually in the vendor. Qualys provides free instructor-led training.
  • Ease of use in a diverse environment.
  • The Qualys Private Cloud Platform has a complete suite of reporting capabilities so you can use your data quickly.
  • The way that devices are catalogued can be tough in a DHCP environment.
I believe that Qualys Private Cloud Platform is highly scalable and could be appropriate for a small business to a global enterprise. The key question, how safe to do you want to be?
Return to navigation