Amazon Redshift Reviews

145 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 25)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Jay Padhya | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

Amazon Redshift: Fastest but comes at a price

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are performing a POC (proof of concept) across multiple cloud vendors, and we have evaluated GCP, Azure, and Amazon. We plan to go on-site cloud from on-premises, and we will evaluate all databases across all cloud providers. We are making the current database over Amazon Redshift, if it can help us do the exact same job as we have on-premises SQL Server. The on-prem option is good for replication and security, and we are evaluating how good it can be on ML application support.
Read Jay Padhya's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2020

Amazon Redshift is an excellent scalable solution for your data warehouse needs.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

My team is handling all the marking activities for all different product verticles for our company. We get a lot of streaming data that we focus on marketing. We also store this data carry out annual audits and aggregations to analyze our marketing progress. Amazon Redshift helped us with this, and it was a breeze enabling it in our environment as we were already on AWS.
Read this authenticated review
Arthur Zubarev | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 10, 2019

Amazon Redshift Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Amazon Redshift is a PostgreSQL based solution was seen as a drop-in replacement for several Postgres based databases (or schemas in Postgres parlance).
The eventual product: a Bill Inmon principles-based Data Warehouse served as a point or source of a single truth. It aided in decision making, historical outlooks and forecasting across various organizational verticals - the Finance, Marketing, and Medical Research. It was also possible to deliver data extracts to 3rd parties or visualize data on demand.
Read Arthur Zubarev's full review
Akshaya Bhardwaj | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 09, 2019

Amazon RedShift is great if you have multiple data channel sources

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Amazon RedShift is used in all departments and accounts. This tool is newly integrated into the system so as to work with the data on the cloud. There are various projects which are moving from SQL servers to ARS because of its capacity of working and managing the data in the cloud.
Read Akshaya Bhardwaj's full review
Vibhakar Prasad | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 17, 2019

Redshift is awesome!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

1)ETL(Talend) data from source applications (Salesforce, Jira, OpenAir, NetSuite, Sharepoint, Active Directory, Office 365, etc.) to S3 bucket and from S3 bucket push data to Redshift (sync time is 10 minutes intervals. Data is available almost real-time only lagging 10 minutes).
2) All Department use it—Engineering, Sales, and Marketing.
3) As I said data is almost in real-time, so it is very useful for taking real-time decisions for upper management. We also reduced Salesforce licenses, because most of the users only used it to see reports. Now they are happy to used Redshift.
Read Vibhakar Prasad's full review
Jacob Biguvu | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 08, 2019

Amazon Redshift: easy, simple, fast

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Capital One has many LOBs (line of businesses). I have supported IAM and Commercial LOB. They are using Redshift as a data warehouse solution. Oracle is not a Data Warehouse solution but was being used when the application was on on-premises. When they wanted to migrate all data to the Cloud, they chose Redshift as a solution to move the data from Oracle. Oracle is not a data warehouse solution. Redshift has been found as a good solution because of its unique features such as its MPP architecture, columnar architecture, and storage capacity.
Read Jacob Biguvu's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 30, 2019

Redshift Review

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Amazon Redshift was our enterprise data warehouse as a backend to our BI solutions.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 27, 2019

Redshift is way too easy!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Redshift is our data warehouse used by our organization. It takes data from different sources and put them together in Redshift for our Analytics team to diagnose.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 25, 2019

Amazon Redshift: Reliable and powerful cloud-based data warehouse

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

AWS Redshift is the cloud-based data warehouse where we store our application level datasets and is used further for insights from the stored dataset. It improves the decision support for our business based on data analytics on a large set of real-time datasets which force the business processes to the next level. It provides good performance with high availability for essential data analysis and valuable intelligence.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 15, 2019

Start a data warehouse today with Redshift!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Redshift is being used by engineering for our data warehouse or data lake, if you will. It's part of our ETL pipeline, where the data is used to form dashboards and analytical queries across all of our initially segregated data. So it is kind of a source of truth linking data across the company. These dashboards are accessible across other departments in the organization. The data is consumed by everyone, not just engineers.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 13, 2019

Great Analytic Data-Warehouse

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Amazon Redshift is being used as our primary analytic data-warehouse. This allows our data and analytic team to build report and query data without going directly to our production database. It is a central data repository from external data sources as well, data we import from 3rd parties and segment.
Read this authenticated review
Brendan McKenna | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 01, 2019

Amazon RedShift happy user

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Amazon RedShift is used primarily by our in house data analytics and psychometric department. When we process the results of physician board certification exams we have a workflow which integrates the newly processed scoring data into RedShift which is used for analytical purposes. The data is denormalized and stored in a fashion which makes it overall more optimal for querying purposes. This data serves as the basis for final scoring calculations for a given exam. The data analytics department is then able to run their statistical analysis against the housed sets of data to ultimately determine the final test scores. We also house an "item bank" of exam questions from past exams which are used as the basis for future exams. Scoring is correlated to the item bank to help determine which questions performed well and which ones exam takers had difficulty with. RedShift is a great tool for our IT department because it helps share the responsibility of having to secure such sensitive data. Amazon is a company which we feel very confident with and RedShift has proven to be extremely robust and fast. It is nice to be able to so easily perform backups of data and rest more assured that it is in a safe form and not something which our own IT department has to manage along with all of our internally hosted transactional databases.
Read Brendan McKenna's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 14, 2019

smooth implementation and Quicker reports/dashboards

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it as our data warehouse for reporting purposes.

My company used it solely for reducing the performance overhead of running long SQL queries. The seamless implementation of Redshift allowed us to get the data ready to go for our customers to run the reports they need. It is currently used by a few customers, but we are trying to get each of our customers to use this rather than using the traditional OLTP database.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 19, 2018

Amazon Redshift - a new generation of data warehouse platform

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Amazon Redshift is being used as the main data warehouse across the whole organization. It provides essential business performance data and valuable intelligence. Different departments utilize it for a variety of operations, and decision makers rely on the data analytic tools built upon its data for tracking and enhancement, wherever needed.
Read this authenticated review
Gavin Hackeling | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2018

A hands-free data warehouse

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Amazon Redshift and Redshift Spectrum for our data warehouse. Our production transactional datastores are continuously replicated to Redshift and transformed into fact tables. Redshift is maintained by the data team, but it is used by analysts on most teams, including business intelligence, product, and customer support. Redshift is our source of truth; it provides information about business processes that the team needs to make decisions.
Read Gavin Hackeling's full review
Kyle Reichelt | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 25, 2018

Great for "Big Data" -- but not so much otherwise

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Redshift is currently being used to house normalized client data pulled from various third-party endpoints. It houses the data that is both being accessed directly by our business intelligence and CRM platform, as well as made available via our own API gateways. It was chosen for its ability to support a "big data" environment with high availability.
Read Kyle Reichelt's full review
Tamás Imre | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 06, 2018

Amazon Redshift: a fast, scalable and easy to use data warehouse service

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Amazon Redshift as our data warehouse. We store our most used datasets on Redshift. Some of the data transformations are also made on Redshift but we try to avoid to do the heavy transformation there. Our dashboarding tool sits on top of Redshift and runs queries on every dashboard load. Analysts are using Redshift all day as the main source of data. Data savvy engineers and product managers have read access.
Read Tamás Imre's full review
Yogen Sanghani | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 01, 2018

On-prem DW to Redshift

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Amazon Redshift is being used by several of our clients for analysis of large datasets. In most cases, it is used at a department level, in conjunction with other on-prem and in the cloud data solutions, including data warehouses and relational databases.
Read Yogen Sanghani's full review
Vinaybabu Raghunandha Naidu | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2017

Scalable and cost-effective data warehousing tool

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Redshift is one of the most scalable yet simple data warehousing tools. It is not only used within the engineering team but widely used by the business team too. One of the major use cases are to power the dashboards and reports which are in looker. It helped to migrate from the traditional email reports to dynamic dashboards and reports which can be shared to various end users and businesses. It helped in faster data retrieval and can scale well with ease.
Read Vinaybabu Raghunandha Naidu's full review
Seth Goldberg | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 01, 2016

Great data warehouse for the money!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Amazon Redshift is used as the central data warehouse. It's main use is for data analytics and reporting. In addition, it is also used by batch jobs to perform various business functions like email lists of delinquent customers.
Read Seth Goldberg's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 21, 2017

Best Analytics Cloud Data Warehouse Database

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We used the Amazon Redshift for Analytics Data Warehousing. It helped to process our various departments in organization like renewals, sales, marketing & finance department to analyze the data very quickly and performance effective with tableau reporting tool.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 23, 2017

Amazon Redshift is a widely used tool, and a good choice for many organizations.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

My company uses Amazon redshift to store the majority of our website and offline data. We connect Redshift to dashboard/visualization tools that are used by the entire company. Data availability and ad box analysis is very important to my organization, so having a reliable and accessible storage system is vital.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 10, 2016

Redshift review for the analytics environment

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is used as the analytics data SOT (source of truth). All company data, whether from product, marketing, sales, etc., gets synced to Redshift where it can be easily analyzed by analysts. Redshift provides a good tradeoff between the ability to store a lot of data and perform quick and flexible queries on it.
Read this authenticated review

About Amazon Redshift

Amazon Redshift is a hosted data warehouse solution, from Amazon Web Services.
Categories:  Data Warehouse

Amazon Redshift Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No