Amazon Redshift Reviews

147 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 31)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
December 30, 2020
Bojan Sovilj | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Cloudwalker offers analytic services for the gambling industry. The gambling industry has vast amounts of data that are high speed and variability. Our services from Redshift help gambling companies have better control of their bookmaking product, have a complete view of customers betting history, helps with detecting problematic accounts, etc.
  • Redshift has concurrency scaling helps serve more customers queries
  • Redshift has automatic table compression having less disc space consumed comparing to other data warehouse solutions
  • With ra3 new node types we can separate storage and compute
  • Having automatic vacuum delete helps having conzisent performance in cases where data variability in dwh production zone is present
  • Consistent service improvements from AWS: temporary tables, null handling in joins, single row inserts, materialized views
  • Frequent changes of management console look and feel
  • Automatic vacuum sort doesn't work for several billion rows tables
  • Disc IOPS performance monitoring excluded
Redshift is great data warehouse solution if you have several billion rows tables. More than 200 very important improvements were added in several years' time. With new Redshift instance types solution has separation of storage and compute and magnitude better query response times. Don't use Redshift if you have less than several billion rows tables.
Several service improvements saved us literally!
Read Bojan Sovilj's full review
December 30, 2020
Duncan Hernandez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon Redshift is being used by our whole organization. It is our primary tool for our data warehouse. We decided to switch to a cloud database because our in house servers just weren't able to keep up with our need for fast data delivery. We can adjust the speed up to where we need it to be and it has been very useful.
  • Aggregation
  • Extracting data
  • postgres Based
  • Could be faster
  • Limited sql workbenches
  • Expensive when speeding up the processing
Redshift is best suited for our data storage and designing our fact and dimension tables. We keep our non-structured data there that can be accessed at any time as well as our relational database. I'd say that if you don't have a need for a relational databasae, then Redshift probably isn't going to be a viable product.
Read Duncan Hernandez's full review
December 29, 2020
Paulo Henrique Orind | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have decided to purchase Amazon Redshift since we started the project of building a new "data lake," so the first step was to decide which tool would be more appropriate to use as a data warehouse. Since we have everything on the cloud, we choose Amazon Redshift to connect our current tools on AWS and integrate the data.
  • Data integration is very simple to perform
  • The tool provides some advice that is very useful
  • Their support is always complete and easygoing
  • Their documentation could be even better
If you are looking for something easy to implement that will give you a nice performance, I would suggest Amazon Redshift. I'm using it in AWS environment, so I don't know if in another cloud environment the performance and all the features would be nice as well. It's also important to check if the price fits to you too.
Read Paulo Henrique Orind's full review
January 19, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Amazon Redshift for our insights platform in our R&D space. Our team creates reports and dashboards on tools for business use. Amazon Redshift provides greater supply chain visibility, increased information on product movement, and high efficiency at a much faster rate.
  • Robust as compared to traditional database/data warehouse
  • Offers significant query speeds
  • Low cost of ownership
  • Provides MPP only for AWS-supported storages
  • Prerequisites for configuring tables are not easy
  • Not great for use with web apps
Amazon Redshift performs extremely well for reporting/analytics data and is way ahead of other competitors. The biggest challenge is migrating data from on-premises databases to Amazon Redshift. The initial hurdle is a major one.
Read this authenticated review
January 15, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used within a few departments. It is used to solve certain legacy problems that have not yet been ported over to other more suitable approaches.
  • Large scale SQL
  • Standard SQL
  • Handline full text queries
  • Sampling
  • Bonafide indexes
  • Provide query interface that can store queries and run long-running queries, then notify the user
It's appropriate for ad hoc queries on semiorganized data.
Read this authenticated review
December 30, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon Redshift is being used by some departments of our company to bring solution to data warehouse. Our data center was not large and scalable enough to have big scale data warehouse. So we take Amazon Redshift as one of the data warehouses we use to help us in data transformation.
  • It is very powerful, can hold anything you have.
  • It is scalable. Small or big, it can help you.
  • It is very fast. Can spin up cluster in minutes.
  • As data warehouse, it does not support fast I/O.
  • Learning can take more than expected.
  • You are not managing your data 100%.
If you do not require a fast I/O rate. And frankly you should not expect that from data warehouse. And if you do not mind that your data is on cloud and only on AWS, and if you want a scalable and fast implementation of data lake, then you should consider Amazon Redshift.
Read this authenticated review
February 26, 2020
Jay Padhya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are performing a POC (proof of concept) across multiple cloud vendors, and we have evaluated GCP, Azure, and Amazon. We plan to go on-site cloud from on-premises, and we will evaluate all databases across all cloud providers. We are making the current database over Amazon Redshift, if it can help us do the exact same job as we have on-premises SQL Server. The on-prem option is good for replication and security, and we are evaluating how good it can be on ML application support.
  • Robust
  • Great UI
  • Price
  • Implementation in non AWS server
Except for the price, Amazon Redshift is a great tool and has the fastest performance across all the data warehouses we have seen. It's easy to connect with Talend, which makes it a better option to use. I like the UI better than most of the other DW. Overall it's a great DW tool.
Good look; good UI
High price
Read Jay Padhya's full review
February 25, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My team is handling all the marking activities for all different product verticles for our company. We get a lot of streaming data that we focus on marketing. We also store this data carry out annual audits and aggregations to analyze our marketing progress. Amazon Redshift helped us with this, and it was a breeze enabling it in our environment as we were already on AWS.
  • Replication is excellent, we did not have to worry about reliability.
  • Their auto-scaling feature came to our rescue when it came to cost management.
  • It became expensive over time as the data increased over time.
  • It could not separate users from using the same infrastructure.
  • The initial costs were very low, and it was super easy for us to spin up databases. Also, setting up multiple instances were easily managed with just a click of a button.
  • The costs increased gradually, and it became more expensive than planned. The query analyzer was not up to the mark and needed constant support from the AWS support team. Gladly they were willing to help and had a good experience with them.
The support was great and helped us in a timely fashion. We did use a lot of online forums as well, but the official documentation was an ongoing one, and it did take more time for us to look through it. We would have probably chosen a competitor product had it not been for the great support
Read this authenticated review
October 10, 2019
Arthur Zubarev | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon Redshift is a PostgreSQL based solution was seen as a drop-in replacement for several Postgres based databases (or schemas in Postgres parlance).
The eventual product: a Bill Inmon principles-based Data Warehouse served as a point or source of a single truth. It aided in decision making, historical outlooks and forecasting across various organizational verticals - the Finance, Marketing, and Medical Research. It was also possible to deliver data extracts to 3rd parties or visualize data on demand.
  • Data retrieval experience really gets improved.
  • In terms of database management, it is really a no management at all in AWS. There is no even an OS to take care or worry about.
  • Auto or on-demand scaling is nice.
  • Integrates quite well with other products within the AWS ecosystem.
  • The number of connections is too small, I think at around 50 are allowed in parallel. With some ETL and apps connecting all the time, this brings an undesired possibility to some users or tools being unable to connect.
  • Needs some tuning.
  • The logging part is almost nonexistent.
  • Can be quite costly in the long run as opposed to just RDS or on-prem/dedicated solutions.
If the number of connections is expected to be low, but the amounts of data are large or projected to grow it is a good solutions especially if there is previous exposure to PostgreSQL. Speaking of Postgres, Redshift is based on several versions old releases of PostgreSQL so the developers would not be able to take advantage of some of the newer SQL language features. The queries need some fine-tuning still, indexing is not provided, but playing with sorting keys becomes necessary. Lastly, there is no notion of the Primary Key in Redshift so the business must be prepared to explain why duplication occurred (must be vigilant for).
Redshift support is seamless. The system is MPP (distributed), so it is highly available, always backed up by AWS and you can also have read-only replicas (at a cost) which help overcome the number of connections issue.
Although, AWS looks like is not going to upgrade its storage engine to the newer version of Postgres which is a big pity.
Read Arthur Zubarev's full review
November 30, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon Redshift was our enterprise data warehouse as a backend to our BI solutions.
  • Fixed cost.
  • Tunable table design.
  • Need to provision warehouse for highest capacity.
  • No real separation between computing and storage (even when considering Spectrum).
  • All users share the same infrastructure resulting in frequent 100% utilization error messages.
  • A leader node can become a bottleneck for too many concurrent aggregate queries.
Redshift is appropriate when the number of concurrent users are low and pointed queries are the focus. It is not appropriate when a large number of concurrent users is to be supported,
We had premium AWS support so can't speak about support for those who don't sign up for it.
Read this authenticated review
September 27, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Redshift is our data warehouse used by our organization. It takes data from different sources and put them together in Redshift for our Analytics team to diagnose.
  • Since it's part of AWS it is fairly quick and easy to set up.
  • You can add nodes fairly quick to expand the data needs.
  • Performance from the analytics reports accessing Redshift is really good.
  • Better database management when looking up table metadata or sizes of tables.
  • Need a better query analyzer.
  • Finding errors during a data load can be a little daunting at times.
It's very cost-effective from other databases we were using for our data warehouse. It was really easy to set up and it used our ETL tools to migrate data from different data sources. We added functionality add aggregate the data set for our Analytics team to analyze.
A lot of times when we have issues in Redshift, we have to google issues that may have come up in the past. We have not contacted AWS directly for any issues.
Read this authenticated review
July 09, 2019
Akshaya Bhardwaj | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon RedShift is used in all departments and accounts. This tool is newly integrated into the system so as to work with the data on the cloud. There are various projects which are moving from SQL servers to ARS because of its capacity of working and managing the data in the cloud.
  • We can connect with multiple servers and can fetch the data easily from one server to other.
  • It supports the syntax of the bots of the SQL servers, MS SQL and Oracle SQl. This makes it pretty handy to use.
  • Here we use views instead of tables, so we can clearly see the flow of data.
  • It works very slow in the cloud environment.
  • No statistical inbuilt functions are available within the tool.
  • Its user interface is not very attractive.
  • Often it goes into deadlock state, which kills the running jobs.
Amazon Redshift is well suited for fetching data from multiple different sources and servers, and it is very easy to learn how to use this tool. It is less appropriate for situations where you may need to process only limited rows, as this takes a large amount of time since you cannot create multiple tables in it.
Read Akshaya Bhardwaj's full review
June 17, 2019
Vibhakar Prasad | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
1)ETL(Talend) data from source applications (Salesforce, Jira, OpenAir, NetSuite, Sharepoint, Active Directory, Office 365, etc.) to S3 bucket and from S3 bucket push data to Redshift (sync time is 10 minutes intervals. Data is available almost real-time only lagging 10 minutes).
2) All Department use it—Engineering, Sales, and Marketing.
3) As I said data is almost in real-time, so it is very useful for taking real-time decisions for upper management. We also reduced Salesforce licenses, because most of the users only used it to see reports. Now they are happy to used Redshift.
  • We reduced the number of Salesforce licenses— Engineering, Sales and Marketing guys are happy to query data from Redshift.
  • Very fast to provide a huge data set with complicated measure.
  • Some of the calculations failed in Salesforce. Redshift returns with the same calculations very fast.
  • Very easy to maintain, no need to worry about hardware failure.
  • We are not able to modify column size.
I recommend all to use Redshift, It is easy to use and maintain. We have reduced the number of Salesforce licenses due to real-time data we have in Redshift. People are happy to use Redshift.
Read Vibhakar Prasad's full review
June 08, 2019
Jacob Biguvu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Capital One has many LOBs (line of businesses). I have supported IAM and Commercial LOB. They are using Redshift as a data warehouse solution. Oracle is not a Data Warehouse solution but was being used when the application was on on-premises. When they wanted to migrate all data to the Cloud, they chose Redshift as a solution to move the data from Oracle. Oracle is not a data warehouse solution. Redshift has been found as a good solution because of its unique features such as its MPP architecture, columnar architecture, and storage capacity.
  • User-experience. The user wants something quick to view the output, rather than spending too much time
  • preparing a code prior to seeing the output. Redshift provides SQL type queries. This makes any user happy and comfortable.
  • Architecture is very straightforward and simple to understand, such as MPP architecture, Encryption, and Columnar database design. We can easily address issues and help others to understand.
  • Scalability. We can scale-up and scale-down based on our workloads.
  • Performance tuning and database optimization can be done using the system tables and advisors. These solutions are similar to the solution available for Oracle SQL Server. It makes it easy to do the optimization for queries and databases.
  • The concurrency and scale up based on it could be improved. It would be good if it scale-up and scale-down the memory/CPU capacity automatically based on workload.
  • Often we experience slow on queries and dashboards. Self-tuning option in WLM does help.
  • Optimizing the areas such as Vacuum and reorganize the column data (sorting over time) automatically.
Amazon Redshift is good for when you need a Data Warehouse solution or a user-experience such as SQL kind queries. It is also good if you have limited budget constraints. It's not suggested when someone has DML queries such as INSERT, UPDATE, DELETE.
Read Jacob Biguvu's full review
February 01, 2019
Brendan McKenna | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon RedShift is used primarily by our in house data analytics and psychometric department. When we process the results of physician board certification exams we have a workflow which integrates the newly processed scoring data into RedShift which is used for analytical purposes. The data is denormalized and stored in a fashion which makes it overall more optimal for querying purposes. This data serves as the basis for final scoring calculations for a given exam. The data analytics department is then able to run their statistical analysis against the housed sets of data to ultimately determine the final test scores. We also house an "item bank" of exam questions from past exams which are used as the basis for future exams. Scoring is correlated to the item bank to help determine which questions performed well and which ones exam takers had difficulty with. RedShift is a great tool for our IT department because it helps share the responsibility of having to secure such sensitive data. Amazon is a company which we feel very confident with and RedShift has proven to be extremely robust and fast. It is nice to be able to so easily perform backups of data and rest more assured that it is in a safe form and not something which our own IT department has to manage along with all of our internally hosted transactional databases.
  • Extremely fast querying allowing for concurrent analysis.
  • PostgreSQL syntax which allows for developers with a SQL background to easily begin working with the data.
  • Multiple output formats including JSON.
  • Safe, easy, and reliable backups.
  • SQL syntax support is not 100% which can lead to frustrating situations when developing a query.
  • No support for database keys.
  • No stored procedure support.
Very well suited for aggregating/denormalizing data when you need a reporting environment. Can provide extremely fast querying for analytical purposes. Very nice to not have to have in house responsibility for sensitive data.

Not appropriate for a transactional system (though this is not what it is built for obviously). Must keep in mind the data you are syncing up to the cloud and scrub if necessary before. Something to always be mindful of of course.
Read Brendan McKenna's full review
June 25, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AWS Redshift is the cloud-based data warehouse where we store our application level datasets and is used further for insights from the stored dataset. It improves the decision support for our business based on data analytics on a large set of real-time datasets which force the business processes to the next level. It provides good performance with high availability for essential data analysis and valuable intelligence.
  • Easy query and fast execution
  • High performance and availability
  • Support of large datasets
  • Scalable solution
  • Database optimization
  • Time consuming process for schema design and modification
  • Integration is little bit difficult
Amazon Redshift is the data warehouse under the umbrella of AWS services, so if your application is functioning under the AWS, Redshift is the best solution for this. For large amounts of data, the application is the best fit for real-time insight from the data and added decision capability for growing businesses. If your application is outside of AWS it might add more time in data management.
Read this authenticated review
June 15, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Redshift is being used by engineering for our data warehouse or data lake, if you will. It's part of our ETL pipeline, where the data is used to form dashboards and analytical queries across all of our initially segregated data. So it is kind of a source of truth linking data across the company. These dashboards are accessible across other departments in the organization. The data is consumed by everyone, not just engineers.
  • It's fast for data analytics across multiple columns.
  • Essentially, it's good for big datasets.
  • By using RedShift you're kind of married to using AWS's other services, e.g. Redash.
  • You need your data in the cloud.
  • No separate storage and computing.
  • No structured data types.
  • Doesn't scale easily.
Use Redshift for data warehouses, especially if your data is already in the cloud (AWS). It's great for large datasets, and fast too, even if your dataset is column heavy. It's less so for when you have a bunch of rows. All in all, it's a good starting point for any aspiring data warehouse, but there are other promising solutions too. E.g. Snowflake.
Read this authenticated review
June 13, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon Redshift is being used as our primary analytic data-warehouse. This allows our data and analytic team to build report and query data without going directly to our production database. It is a central data repository from external data sources as well, data we import from 3rd parties and segment.
  • Complex queries
  • Aggregation
  • Fully managed service
  • Works very well with most BI/reporting solutions
  • Stored procedures
  • Job scheduling
  • A easier way (perhaps a GUI) to manage users permission
Amazon Redshift is great for analytics, reporting, and complex queries for statistical modeling and machine learning. Its ability to run parallel queries in a simple SQL environment makes the transition from traditional DB very easy. Very good for loading/reading/writing large datasets. I would not recommend RedShift for an environment that requires single row reads/updates, which it is not optimized for.
Read this authenticated review
May 14, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as our data warehouse for reporting purposes.

My company used it solely for reducing the performance overhead of running long SQL queries. The seamless implementation of Redshift allowed us to get the data ready to go for our customers to run the reports they need. It is currently used by a few customers, but we are trying to get each of our customers to use this rather than using the traditional OLTP database.
  • Easy to work with
  • Seamless implementation with matillion
  • Massive data reads and inserts
  • I didn't like the security aspect of this where it asks us to create views for each customer.
  • It does not support row-level controls.
  • Some SQL queries are faster on native SQL than here. But it could be the data conversions that is causing it.
[It's] very good for reports and dashboards and is easy to use and fast performance makes it a good choice. It excels in columnar architecture and aggregates. If you have many clients as we do, you need to have separate schemas for each of them. That is a good way but also there is too much clutter spread all over. That is the only drawback I see, end users can see data in the schema, there are no individual permissions allotted.
Read this authenticated review
October 12, 2018
Gavin Hackeling | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Amazon Redshift and Redshift Spectrum for our data warehouse. Our production transactional datastores are continuously replicated to Redshift and transformed into fact tables. Redshift is maintained by the data team, but it is used by analysts on most teams, including business intelligence, product, and customer support. Redshift is our source of truth; it provides information about business processes that the team needs to make decisions.
  • Redshift is fully managed. Small teams do not have the resources to maintain a cluster. CloudWatch metrics are provided out-of-the-box, and it is easy to configure alarms.
  • Redshift's console allows you to easily inspect and manage queries, and manage the performance of the cluster.
  • Redshift is ubiquitous; many products (e.g., ETL services) integrate with it out-of-the-box.
  • Writing .csvs to S3 and querying them through Redshift Spectrum is convenient.
  • We've experienced some problems with hanging queries on Redshift Spectrum/external tables. We've had to roll back to and old version of Redshift while we wait for AWS to provide a patch.
  • Redshift's dialect is most similar to that of PostgreSQL 8. It lacks many modern features and data types.
  • Constraints are not enforced. We must rely on other means to verify the integrity of transformed tables.
Redshift is ideal for small teams. It is fully managed. CloudWatch metrics are provided out-of-the-box, and it integrates well with other AWS products, such as DMS. The Redshift console is among the better AWS consoles. Redshift offers adequate performance. Spectrum offers a convenient way to access our data lake, but we have encountered issues with recent versions.
Read Gavin Hackeling's full review
November 25, 2018
Kyle Reichelt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Redshift is currently being used to house normalized client data pulled from various third-party endpoints. It houses the data that is both being accessed directly by our business intelligence and CRM platform, as well as made available via our own API gateways. It was chosen for its ability to support a "big data" environment with high availability.
  • If you need draw insights from immense amounts (see: petabytes) of transactional (repetitive) data in near real time--think machine learning and business intelligence--and you're already in the AWS ecosystem, then it's your only real option. It performs very well.
  • Highly configurable, intelligent compression of repetitive columns reduces your memory footprint, lending to extremely high performance.
  • As with most things in the AWS ecosystem, it scales seamlessly and endlessly.
  • There is no support for data de-duplication; meaning this has to be either accounted for upstream, or you'll have to build your own services to de-dupe your data.
  • It's strength is housing data, not necessarily data insertions. While it has an SQL-like interface, it shouldn't be approached the same as a typical relational database.
  • Permissions can be a pain... dovetailing on my previous "con" , in some instances it's easier to drop/rebuild a table than try to navigate incremental updates/insertions, but retaining user-permissions is a pain-point.
It is well suited for:
  • Petabytes of data requiring near real-time analysis
  • Massive Data Insertions
  • Massive Data Reads
It isn't well suited for:
  • Web apps
  • Smaller transactional inserts
  • Smaller reads
You wouldn't drive an 18-wheeler to the corner store to pick up a bag of chips. Your specific need will determine whether or not Redshift is suited for the job.
Read Kyle Reichelt's full review
February 06, 2018
Tamás Imre | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Amazon Redshift as our data warehouse. We store our most used datasets on Redshift. Some of the data transformations are also made on Redshift but we try to avoid to do the heavy transformation there. Our dashboarding tool sits on top of Redshift and runs queries on every dashboard load. Analysts are using Redshift all day as the main source of data. Data savvy engineers and product managers have read access.
  • It is easy to use. SQL is one of the easiest languages to learn.
  • Fast. Especially if you use an SSD cluster.
  • Scalable. If you need more space for your data or want faster results you can add more nodes.
  • It is PostgreSQL. I miss some commands and procedural features.
  • It is perfect for analytics purposes, but not fast enough for web apps.
  • Too expensive for ETL processing.
Redshift is a great data warehouse. It can serve the analyst team and most BI tools perfectly. Easy to learn and use. If you are using AWS then Amazon Redshift is a self-evident choice. You can use Redshift for ETL but It can be too expensive. It is not appropriate to serve as an in-production DB.
Read Tamás Imre's full review
February 01, 2018
Yogen Sanghani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Amazon Redshift is being used by several of our clients for analysis of large datasets. In most cases, it is used at a department level, in conjunction with other on-prem and in the cloud data solutions, including data warehouses and relational databases.
  • Very fast, parallelized data loading from S3
  • Full ANSI SQL support
  • Highly scalable
  • Columnar storage
  • Does not scale automatically. Need to be scaled up/down manually by adding/removing nodes
  • Does not have support for row level access control
  • Charged based on provisioned capacity - not based on usage
Redshift is well suited as an alternative to on-prem data warehouses. AWS Data Migration Services can be used to migrate data from various relational databases into Redshift.
Read Yogen Sanghani's full review
September 13, 2017
Michael Romm | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon Redshift is being used by many business units within our company. It is our new data warehousing platform.
  • Redshift seems to be as fast processing a large dataset as it is with a small one. It seems, when the dataset size is significantly increased (10x, 100x, 1000x, etc.), DML queries are often executed within the same amount of time.
  • Redshift has a powerful graphical admin tool to monitor the ongoing queries in real time and historically.
  • Easily expandable capacity. Automatic snapshots that eliminate the need for managing backups. Simple database maintenance strategies with the VACUUM and ANALYZE commands.
  • Abundance of detailed documentation and tutorials.
  • It could benefit from adding data integrity and programming tools common to other database management systems.
  • Amazon Redshift is based on PostgreSQL 8.0.2. That version of PostgreSQL was released in December 2006. While PostgreSQL was much improved since then, the new features were not implemented in Redshift. Many basic features are missing from it.
  • Primary keys can be declared but not enforced. Referential integrity (foreign keys) can be declared but not enforced. UNIQUE and CHECK constraints are not supported and cannot be declared.
  • IDENTITY can be declared on a column, and Redshift will put unique values into it. However: IDENTITY values in the newly inserted rows won’t be incremental or sequential. To implement a sequential number, you need to write your own custom code.
  • There are no stored procedures in Redshift. We are writing SQL script files, and then parsing and running them one statement at a time from a Python program. This also enabled us to implement execution-time error logging.
  • In SQL scripts, to check for the row count of affected rows, a complicated join query against some system tables or views has to be executed.
  • Data Control Language (DCL) does not exist. No statements like IF, WHILE, DO, RAISERROR, etc.
  • On performance of views… Views do not “pass-through” a query parameter which is a potential problem for performance.
  • When selecting against a view with the WHERE clause outside of the view, the inner query of the view will be executed first without consideration for the WHERE clause, and only then the WHERE clause will be applied.
  • Certain clauses of SQL work many times faster than other clauses. So be careful and test your statements for performance earlier rather than later, especially if working with a large data set.
  • There was a situation when DELETE FROM JOIN was unacceptably slow. Replacing JOIN with the USING clause made DELETE instantaneous.
Redshift is a viable platform to house a large or very large data warehouse designed for performance and scalability. It is especially well-suited in the cases where your source data is already stored inside of the AWS services infrastructure.
Read Michael Romm's full review
October 12, 2017
Vinaybabu Raghunandha Naidu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Redshift is one of the most scalable yet simple data warehousing tools. It is not only used within the engineering team but widely used by the business team too. One of the major use cases are to power the dashboards and reports which are in looker. It helped to migrate from the traditional email reports to dynamic dashboards and reports which can be shared to various end users and businesses. It helped in faster data retrieval and can scale well with ease.
  • Scalability with less downtime.
  • Performance optimization without affecting the business i.e zero downtime during optimization
  • Powerful yet simple to use. Very easy to optimize and improve performance during the regular read/write operations
  • No need of DBA to operate and maintain Redshift as it is a completely managed data warehousing tool
  • Good customer support and will respond in very quick time with clear information and documentation
  • Well documented commands
  • Can propose better optimization techniques based on the business use case.
  • Can provide option to set the upper bound on number of connections to cluster
  • Can improve on optimized writes/updates
Well suited for faster data retrieval and powering OLTP need and perfectly suited for generating dynamic dashboards and reports.
Not suited for massive data storage and analytics. Can-not handle unstructured data.
Read Vinaybabu Raghunandha Naidu's full review

What is Amazon Redshift?

Amazon Redshift is a hosted data warehouse solution, from Amazon Web Services.
Categories:  Data Warehouse

Amazon Redshift Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Current Generation$0.25 - $13.04per hour
Previous Generation$0.25 - $4.08per hour
Redshift Spectrum$5.00per terabyte of data scanned
Redshift Managed Storage$0.24per GB per month

Amazon Redshift Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No