AWS Lambda Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
229 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 35)

Benjamin Plotkin | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 17, 2019

Going Serverless Without Being Rudderless: AWS Lambda

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our university department is responsible for several web applications on campus that support student success, including providing online services for students directly, as well as supporting workflows and activities of other departments and divisions. As we move more and more of our applications into the AWS cloud, we have found Lambda to be a great way to simplify some of our web services and "housekeeping" processes; the fact that we're only charged for Lambda function calls, and not for the infrastructure which supports Lambda, helps us save on hosting costs, as well!
Read Benjamin Plotkin's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2019

AWS Lambda Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Monitoring Usecase:
In the organization, we have got a need to increase the monitoring and availability of the systems, because of which we have created several scripts that run on a server for every 15 mins to extract data from one system and store it in a database. It was working fine when we have a few scripts and less number of CRON jobs. We have a complex environment, we interact with multiple systems most of the time and there are several logs that are captured in different systems, so our number of scripts increased, eventually jobs increased to run. We started to see a bottleneck on the server, so we started to think Cloud alternative and analyzed about the usage of AWS Lambda functions.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2020

AWS Lambda rocks

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Lambda to manage workloads integrated with our API Gateway.
Read this authenticated review
Jesse Bickel, MS - PMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 23, 2019

Any language, fast and simple

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

AWS Lambda is used primarily by about 20% of our staff and only in our development department. We use AWS Lambda for developing and managing our application over the cloud platform. We internally provide cloud-related solutions to our dev groups and develop web apps and services on cloud for them. So whenever we have to provide any computation related work for that particular app than I use AWS Lambda because it is easy to use and scalable and also costs less than any previous solution we have reviewed.
Read Jesse Bickel, MS - PMP's full review
Jacob Biguvu | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 22, 2019

AWS Lambda for DBA maintenance

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

AWS Lambda is an event-driven, serverless computing platform and a compute service that runs code in response to events and automatically manages the computing resources required by the code. AWS Lambda is being used by our team and across the whole organization. It's being used as part of our DR solution to run the code at scheduled times.
Read Jacob Biguvu's full review
Richard Rout | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 12, 2019

AWS Lambda - Cloud functions with infinite scalability

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use AWS Lambda to host our micro-services that don't need to worry about too much infrastructure. Lambdas are great at running pieces of code that don't necessarily have to belong in the main infrastructure. We have a few different lambdas that each have single responsibilities, such as creating and uploading files to S3, and running complex calculations.
Read Richard Rout's full review
Stephen Groat | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 12, 2019

AWS Lambda: Best in Class for Serverless

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Serverless platforms are the future, and AWS is leading the way with AWS Lambda. Lambda completely integrates into the AWS ecosystem, with IAM, the AWS SDK, and all other features, allowing for infinitely scalable applications to be rapidly developed that require little to no maintenance. Limiting maintenance through the use of serverless application allows organizations to grow more effectively.
Read Stephen Groat's full review
Winston Mendes | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 29, 2019

The most efficient way to create Serverless Applications.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

AWS Lambda is used by the programming department and allows to coordinate applications, without a server, in a very fast, simple, and economic way. It is perfect for scalable projects, where small functions are executed and it is not necessary to have a complete layer behind the application or the website. It also helps with continuous integration, since you can add functions independently and it is easy to automate functions. AWS Lambda integrates very well with Cloudwatch, which allows us to monitor at all times the records that return functions.
Read Winston Mendes's full review
quang vu | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 07, 2019

Excellent Serverless provided by AWS

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are building a system for log and data processing in AWS Lambda, S3, DynamoDB and Redshift. Data is collected and uploaded to S3 and a Lambda will be invoked to do the main processing function. It extracts and analyzes data, then puts metadata into DynamoDB and main data into Redshift. With Lambda, we are able to spin up thousands of the instances to process input S3 objects in a very short time and then remove them when finished, all with the same pattern and high performance. It saves on our development cost as implementing and deploying AWS Lambda is quite simple compared with EC2 or other services.
Read quang vu's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 16, 2019

AWS Lambda - The Unseen, Low-Cost Workhorse of the Cloud

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use AWS Lambda (in conjunction with SAM) to produce a decentralized notification and delivery system for 3rd Party integrations to our SaaS product.

This allows us to keep throughput for messages in our app low, and scaling is nearly automatic and instantaneous. We needed a way for our app and data to be presented to a multitude of 3rd party applications and services and didn't want to make all these points of contact happen inside our main app. Therefore we chose a queue-based approach where our main app delivers messages to a queue and the Lambdas pick those messages up and process them until the queue is empty or more Lambdas are needed.

Lambdas have proven to be very cost-effective and prevents us from needing to incur uptime for other servers.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 13, 2019

AWS Lambda Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

AWS Lambda is currently being used to respond to events generated within our AWS infrastructure (instances terminated/created) to perform specific actions. Because AWS Lambda is not constantly running, and only in response to events, we're able to save money by only paying for the amount of CPU resources needed when functions are run.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 20, 2019

AWS Lambda, a best in class serverless workload

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use AWS Lambda as a microservice platform where we off-load a large number of our common services to the serverless cloud. We have had workloads that have run for years on the platform without issues, and it has allowed us to focus on other areas of developing versus just maintaining code and servers.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 17, 2019

Most popular for a reason

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

My team uses AWS Lambda as a deployment target for our serverless applications. We develop them using the Serverless framework (using NodeJS) and deploy them to our company's AWS account. As a result, we don't deal with Lambda very much directly, since it's abstracted away through Serverless. But since it's so integrated into the AWS ecosystem our company uses, it is very practical and enables us to run our applications in a stateless was and not need to worry about scaling.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 13, 2019

Using AWS Lambda for Data ETL

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

AWS Lambda is mostly being used to run our hourly/daily cron jobs. It is used across the entire organization. It helped us move data between external and internal data sources to the appropriate destinations.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 25, 2019

Serverless data communication

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

AWS Lambda is being used by my organization to manage machine to machine communication via serverless code. It addresses the problem of sending data between services on Amazon Web Services and it does the job quite well. The lambda handler allows me to set invocations at certain durations and also allows me to pass data back and forth in an automated manner.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 23, 2019

Most reliable serverless architecture implementation

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are already using other AWS services like EC2, RDS, S3, etc. and they are super reliable and easy to maintain. We use AWS Lambda to host our serverless function which is responsible for authentication. We have also started moving our microservices from EC2 to Lambda.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 14, 2019

Functions as a service

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use AWS Lambda to efficiently auto scale our NodeJS-based infrastructure without the overhead of needing to manage virtual machines or worry about capacity planning. Additionally, we don’t need to manage security patches for the OS because there is no OS to worry about!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 12, 2019

Best Cloud Platform

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

A scalable tool used to configure applications which can be used from outside the organization's environments. The servers are managed on their own by AWS, which is one less task to be taken care of. Can be easily integrated with other back-end APIs like Node.js or Python. Highly scalable, load balancers are configured automatically.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 05, 2019

It is amazing. A great alternative to traditional architectures.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I used AWS Lambda to interact with the API Gateway and DynamoDB. It was used to retrieve and push data into the database. As a part of the project, it helped us a lot making the task quicker, simpler and more convenient.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 12, 2019

AWS Lambda can be game changer

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

AWS Lambda is being used by my organization in various projects. In my project, we have more than 10 AWS Lambda services and for each, they are being run on several stages. We are using AWS Lambda for general authentication mechanism integrated with API Gateway. We have an event-driven design and the lambda I have written is consuming and processing events. Those events are also coming from AWS SQS, SNS, and S3. Since AWS Lambda is very easy to configure, it makes you only focus on what you need to do.

It is also very easy to integrate it with other AWS services, like consuming AWS SQS or SNS messages, and you can write your own API in minutes while integrating your Lambda with AWS API gateway.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 24, 2019

Something best for startup project

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use AWS Lambda and other AWS services for a couple of projects. "Vacation Tracker" project uses the most AWS services. We also use AWS Lambda for Slack Bot, API and notifications. In DynamoDB for DB, we use SNS, SQS, and other AWS services. We saved a lot of time writing the API with AWS Lambda not needing BackEnd programmers. All programmers are Full Stack.
It's an easy way to create API for mockup of the product. It's cheap for a startup product. And, with Claudia JS you can create APIs very fast. With the Claudia Bot Builder, you can create a bot for Slack, Facebook, Viber, and more.
Read this authenticated review
Fedor Paretsky | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2019

Very developed cost-saving product!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use AWS Lambda to host our serverless lambda functions. It allows us to execute segments of our computational code that don't require actual virtual machines hosted on compute engines. This allows us to achieve very low costs for simple pieces of code that can be run quickly a large number of times.
Read Fedor Paretsky's full review
Kyle Reichelt | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2018

Don't balk at the cost - start with a serverless solution that scales

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

AWS Lambdas are the true workhorses powering our ETL (Extract, Transform, and Load), Data Warehouse, and Business Intelligence solution. We integrate with dozens of registration platforms and third-party services, loading fully normalized customer data into RDS and Redshift, enabling machine learning, forecasting, CRM, marketing automation, business intelligence, and performance monitoring.
Read Kyle Reichelt's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 09, 2019

The Serverless Standard

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The engineering and data science teams at my organization use AWS Lambda to rapidly deliver features that are easy to maintain. We use Lambda with the Serverless framework, API Gateway, and DynamoDB to build managed micro-services that are easy to scale. We use Lambda with AWS Step Functions and S3 to build background jobs.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Ease of building user interfaces (17)
8.1
Scalability (35)
9.2
Platform management overhead (33)
8.4
Workflow engine capability (27)
8.4
Platform access control (32)
8.5
Services-enabled integration (34)
8.8
Development environment creation (29)
7.7
Development environment replication (28)
7.5
Issue monitoring and notification (31)
8.1
Issue recovery (27)
8.0
Upgrades and platform fixes (27)
8.2

About AWS Lambda

AWS Lambda is a serverless computing platform that lets developers run code without provisioning or managing servers. With Lambda, users can run code for virtually any type of app or backend service—all with zero administration. It takes care of requirements to run and scale code with high availability. Users pay only for the compute time they consume—there is no charge when their code is not running.

Developers uploading to Lambda don’t have to deal with their code’s environment. It’s a “serverless” service which lets outside code or events invoke functions. Lambda doesn’t store data, but it allows access to other services which do. Users can set up their code to automatically trigger from other AWS services or call it directly from any web or mobile app.

AWS Lambda Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No