TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/GX/PT/BVRZI5O50A6N.jpegVery developed cost-saving product!We use AWS Lambda to host our serverless lambda functions. It allows us to execute segments of our computational code that don't require actual virtual machines hosted on compute engines. This allows us to achieve very low costs for simple pieces of code that can be run quickly a large number of times.,Short computational code - For those that need scalability without maintaining servers, AWS lambda basically achieves all of this as one service. Scalability - For most lambda services, you are charged by run amount, as long as run-time remains low. Non-hosted websites/serverless code - Services like Netlify implement similar lambda functionality that is completely free. There may be services hosted on Amazon that achieve the same.,UI could use some improvement - Like the rest of the Amazon Web Services UI, much of the interface is complex and hard to understand at the beginning. Hard to troubleshoot/debug - Lambda, in itself, is set up in an environment that makes it difficult to troubleshoot in the product. The use of staging production code is absolutely necessary. The pricing is a bit more expensive when compared to other services that provide lambda function execution services.,8,Positive - Only paying for when code is run, unlike virtual machines where you pay always regardless of processing power usage. Positive - Scalability and accommodating larger amounts of demand is much cheaper. Instead of scaling up virtual machines and increasing the prices you pay for that, you are just increasing the number of times your lambda function is run. Negative - Debugging/troubleshooting, and developing for lambda functions take a bit more time to get used to, and migrating code from virtual machines and normal processes to Lambda functions can take a bit of time.,,Google Hire, Google Kubernetes Engine, Google Mobile-Friendly TestDon't balk at the cost - start with a serverless solution that scalesAWS Lambdas are the true workhorses powering our ETL (Extract, Transform, and Load), Data Warehouse, and Business Intelligence solution. We integrate with dozens of registration platforms and third-party services, loading fully normalized customer data into RDS and Redshift, enabling machine learning, forecasting, CRM, marketing automation, business intelligence, and performance monitoring.,It scales endlessly. We chose AWS's serverless architecture specifically for its ability to start small and scale as needed. Its always available. AWS's geographic redundancy and serverless architecture mean there's no server downtime. Ever.,From a PM's perspective, there's a learning curve. We've had to either hire out experience engineers, or absorb the not-insignificant orientation of not-yet-initiated engineers. But I suppose the same is true of anything.,8,Positive: Our tech stack is positioned to scale endlessly, which is imperative to what we're trying to accomplish Negative: It's more expensive than building application services from scratch on rented servers,Amazon CloudWatch, Amazon Relational Database Service, Amazon RedshiftThe future of Software is Serverless.At Newstex, we use AWS Lambda for a large portion of our AWS workload. We are slowly transitioning all of our services over to Lambda from our previous EC2 servers. Currently we use Lambda to run feed processing, categorization, and normalization of blog posts. We are also using it to monitor our CloudWatch Logs for anomalies and alert our on-call staff to potential issues. We trigger Lambda from CloudWatch events (scheduled) as well as DynamoDB streams and SQS Queues.,Easy to deploy Easy to integrate with DynamoDB SQS Support makes it easier to monitor and integrate Easy to scale Pay for what you use, not idle time Focus on your business logic,Some errors are hard to track Hard to plan for costs Maximum of 5 minutes of execution time per invoke,10,Less focus on servers, more on code Saves money when not in use No more planning reserved instances No more worries about OS upgrades or patchesThe Serverless StandardThe engineering and data science teams at my organization use AWS Lambda to rapidly deliver features that are easy to maintain. We use Lambda with the Serverless framework, API Gateway, and DynamoDB to build managed micro-services that are easy to scale. We use Lambda with AWS Step Functions and S3 to build background jobs.,AWS Lambda is fully-managed. It is easy to build and manage functions and related resources with the Serverless framework. AWS Lambda integrates well with other AWS products. It is easy to use S3, SNS or DynamoDB events to invoke functions. For some use-cases, AWS Lambda is very inexpensive. Sub-second metering is great. Lambda is great for infrequently-used or bursty services.,Managing development, staging, and production environments with Lambda is an open question. Some organizations use separate AWS accounts for different environments, but that is not feasible for teams that use ephemeral, per-feature or per-team development environments. AWS Lambda integrates well with other AWS products, and it is natural to build distributed systems from them. It can be difficult to test features that use Lambda functions end-to-end. LocalStack and moto can help. Lambda functions have very limited access to disk space. Container cold-starts can be problematic and difficult to foresee.,10,AWS Lambda has allowed our data science team to rapidly deliver RESTful APIs for machine learning features without engineering support AWS Lambda and API Gateway allow our developers to rapidly develop background jobs and services without configuring and maintaining infrastructure, application servers, reverse proxies, etc. Lambda integrates well with other AWS products; we don't have to implement as much "glue" code.,Amazon Simple Queue Service (SQS), Amazon SageMaker, Amazon Simple Notification Service (SNS)An excellent choice for cloud based, serverless functionsAWS Lambda is a great way to perform operations in the cloud without requiring a server. We have used Lambda in our engineering team to help automate AWS related tasks and do so in a way that does not require running an AWS instance. This helped us because sometimes Lambda is one of the most efficient ways to solve a problem that involves the AWS infrastructure.,One of the best serverless cloud based functions out there Deep integration with Amazon Web Services Support for a variety of programming languages,Deployment of Lambda functions could be a bit more intuitive Amazon could provide more examples of Lambda functions to help get started A Lambda based workflow can be more complex to debug because of all the different functions that may be called as a result of your workflow,8,AWS has sped up the time to implement some functionality since we could create a Lambda function to do the work quickly Lambda has reduced costs for cases which would normally require a standalone server Lambda has improved resiliency of some backend functions because we don't have to worry about normal redundancy of standalone servers,Microsoft Azure,Slack, GitHub, Microsoft Azure
Unspecified
AWS Lambda
138 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

AWS Lambda Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
AWS Lambda
138 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2018
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 138 vetted AWS Lambda reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-13 of 13)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Fedor Paretsky profile photo
January 24, 2019

AWS Lambda Review: "Very developed cost-saving product!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use AWS Lambda to host our serverless lambda functions. It allows us to execute segments of our computational code that don't require actual virtual machines hosted on compute engines. This allows us to achieve very low costs for simple pieces of code that can be run quickly a large number of times.
  • Short computational code - For those that need scalability without maintaining servers, AWS lambda basically achieves all of this as one service.
  • Scalability - For most lambda services, you are charged by run amount, as long as run-time remains low.
  • Non-hosted websites/serverless code - Services like Netlify implement similar lambda functionality that is completely free. There may be services hosted on Amazon that achieve the same.
  • UI could use some improvement - Like the rest of the Amazon Web Services UI, much of the interface is complex and hard to understand at the beginning.
  • Hard to troubleshoot/debug - Lambda, in itself, is set up in an environment that makes it difficult to troubleshoot in the product. The use of staging production code is absolutely necessary.
  • The pricing is a bit more expensive when compared to other services that provide lambda function execution services.
AWS Lambda and Lambda functions, in general, are an amazing tool to run segments of code that don't need to be run actively. This allows us to save lots of money running code and only paying for it when it is actually run. Every company undoubtedly has code that can be run in this way for cost-saving. For companies that focus on computation, optimization, and other services, Lambda may not be the best, since it is unlikely that this code is executed quickly in "bursts".
Read Fedor Paretsky's full review
Kyle Reichelt profile photo
November 20, 2018

AWS Lambda Review: "Don't balk at the cost - start with a serverless solution that scales"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AWS Lambdas are the true workhorses powering our ETL (Extract, Transform, and Load), Data Warehouse, and Business Intelligence solution. We integrate with dozens of registration platforms and third-party services, loading fully normalized customer data into RDS and Redshift, enabling machine learning, forecasting, CRM, marketing automation, business intelligence, and performance monitoring.
  • It scales endlessly. We chose AWS's serverless architecture specifically for its ability to start small and scale as needed.
  • Its always available. AWS's geographic redundancy and serverless architecture mean there's no server downtime. Ever.
  • From a PM's perspective, there's a learning curve. We've had to either hire out experience engineers, or absorb the not-insignificant orientation of not-yet-initiated engineers. But I suppose the same is true of anything.
Well suited if:
  • Your organization is fairly well established (see: runway)
  • You're married to AWS Infrastructure
  • You hate servers
Not well suited if:
  • You aren't utilizing AWS's manages services
  • Your organization is still in the boot-strapped stage (trying to run as lean as possible)
Read Kyle Reichelt's full review
Chris Moyer profile photo
September 07, 2018

AWS Lambda Review: "The future of Software is Serverless."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Newstex, we use AWS Lambda for a large portion of our AWS workload. We are slowly transitioning all of our services over to Lambda from our previous EC2 servers. Currently we use Lambda to run feed processing, categorization, and normalization of blog posts. We are also using it to monitor our CloudWatch Logs for anomalies and alert our on-call staff to potential issues. We trigger Lambda from CloudWatch events (scheduled) as well as DynamoDB streams and SQS Queues.
  • Easy to deploy
  • Easy to integrate with DynamoDB
  • SQS Support makes it easier to monitor and integrate
  • Easy to scale
  • Pay for what you use, not idle time
  • Focus on your business logic
  • Some errors are hard to track
  • Hard to plan for costs
  • Maximum of 5 minutes of execution time per invoke
Web requests are perfectly suited for Lambda, as are any events that can happen quickly. As Lambda supports more languages, such as Go and Node.JS, it becomes easy to ignore things like frameworks and just focus on a single function. Keep in mind that Lambda functions do not run constantly in the background, and only run when requested, so they are ideal for spikey workloads on-demand.
Read Chris Moyer's full review
No photo available
February 09, 2019

AWS Lambda Review: "The Serverless Standard"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The engineering and data science teams at my organization use AWS Lambda to rapidly deliver features that are easy to maintain. We use Lambda with the Serverless framework, API Gateway, and DynamoDB to build managed micro-services that are easy to scale. We use Lambda with AWS Step Functions and S3 to build background jobs.
  • AWS Lambda is fully-managed. It is easy to build and manage functions and related resources with the Serverless framework.
  • AWS Lambda integrates well with other AWS products. It is easy to use S3, SNS or DynamoDB events to invoke functions.
  • For some use-cases, AWS Lambda is very inexpensive. Sub-second metering is great. Lambda is great for infrequently-used or bursty services.
  • Managing development, staging, and production environments with Lambda is an open question. Some organizations use separate AWS accounts for different environments, but that is not feasible for teams that use ephemeral, per-feature or per-team development environments.
  • AWS Lambda integrates well with other AWS products, and it is natural to build distributed systems from them. It can be difficult to test features that use Lambda functions end-to-end. LocalStack and moto can help.
  • Lambda functions have very limited access to disk space.
  • Container cold-starts can be problematic and difficult to foresee.
AWS Lambda is excellent for small organizations that want to focus on shipping features rather than maintaining infrastructure. Developers can iterate very rapidly using AWS Lambda, API Gateway, and the Serverless framework. AWS Lambda is not appropriate for some load patterns; services with uniformly high loads will be expensive to run on Lambda.
Read this authenticated review
Kevin Van Heusen profile photo
April 19, 2018

AWS Lambda Review: "An excellent choice for cloud based, serverless functions"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AWS Lambda is a great way to perform operations in the cloud without requiring a server. We have used Lambda in our engineering team to help automate AWS related tasks and do so in a way that does not require running an AWS instance. This helped us because sometimes Lambda is one of the most efficient ways to solve a problem that involves the AWS infrastructure.
  • One of the best serverless cloud based functions out there
  • Deep integration with Amazon Web Services
  • Support for a variety of programming languages
  • Deployment of Lambda functions could be a bit more intuitive
  • Amazon could provide more examples of Lambda functions to help get started
  • A Lambda based workflow can be more complex to debug because of all the different functions that may be called as a result of your workflow
Lambda is great when you have specific bite-sized functionality that you can split into multiple discrete functions. It is not well suited for large functions that do quite a bit. Sometimes you are able to split those tasks down into separate Lambda functions that effectively get chained together. For the cases where you can't, it's better to go with a standard backend.
Read Kevin Van Heusen's full review
Andrew Raines profile photo
April 19, 2018

AWS Lambda Review: "Scalable, low cost computing"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently employ Lambda to do a number of event-driven tasks without our backend infrastructure. This ranges from API services to on-the-fly image manipulation. The reason for utilising Lambda in this fashion comes from a few distinct advantages: ease of integration with other AWS services (i.e. we can trigger it extremely easily), cost and scalability. A number of our services have either very low workloads, and thus it would be wasteful to run services 24/7, or very unpredictable demands - both of which Lambda help us with massively.
  • Pay for only what you use. Because Lambda is billed by the 100ms of execution time, you can run low volume services extremely cheaply.
  • Scalability. Lambda will spin up as many concurrent executions on demand as required to fulfil the triggers (up until a soft limit at least). This means for unpredictable workloads we get reliable execution with minimal costs.
  • Ease of integration with other AWS services - Lambda can be plugged into just about everything and anything within the AWS ecosystem and also can be trigger via APIs from external systems making it very easy to integrate with.
  • Language support is OK, but could be improved. In particular it would be nice to see native support for PHP, given its prevalence, and possibly Ruby.
  • It would be great if there was a way of doing scheduling with a better granularity than 1 minute. For example, if you want to poll something every 15 seconds, it is not straight forward to do this using Lambda and the associated triggers as things stand.
Excellent for pretty much anything which is event driven. If you can consider a way of architecting your system to be micro-service oriented and event-driven then Lambda is a great fit.

On the other hand, if you need something where you are doing polling operations, particularly if its more frequent than once a minute, then there are probably better solutions for you.
Read Andrew Raines's full review
No photo available
June 21, 2018

Review: "AWS Lambda a great way to handle quick process inexpensively."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using AWS Lambda to process data for a U.S. Government client's website. There are a number of short term processing items that are required to be performed every day and the cost of running these processes cannot be too high. AWS Lambda fits this bill perfectly. The website delivers the data to the AWS Lambda functions and the data gets processed and then passed back to tthe website via AWS S3.
  • AWS Lambda is great for inexpensive, sometimes free, short term processing.
  • AWS Lambda integrates very well with AWS S3 Storage.
  • Since it is possible to store log files on S3, it is possible to easily process AWS website log information.
  • I think the biggest problem with AWS Lambda are the small number of languages that it currently supports. This number is, however, getting bigger.
  • AWS Lambda would be a bit better if it were possible to have your function run a little longer, however, since it real purpose is to supply fast functions to all who need some short processing, this if too big of a con.
  • It is possible to have the charging kick in on AWS Lambda just because your website or functions get popular or someone is trying to attack you. It would be good if a cap could easily be placed on the chargers so you couldn't go over a set limit.
AWS Lambda is great for fast processing of data that can be placed on Amazon S3 storage. As long as the processing of the function is not longer than what AWS says a Lambda should run for and you do not do much processing, it is great. The cost can also be very good as long as you keep the price in the free area.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 29, 2018

Review: "AWS Lambda's On-Demand Scripts are Excellent and Easy!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use AWS Lambda to trigger scripts in response to events in other Amazon Web Services we use. Because AWS Lambda is useful for on-demand processing, we do not have to provision a server to idle in anticipation of the events that trigger its scripts.
  • AWS Lambda is great at responding to triggers from events within the AWS ecosystem. This is important and useful if you use other AWS products.
  • AWS Lambda uses the same policies/permissions system used for users, which makes it easy to limit the scope of the script.
  • AWS Lambda allows you to create scripts in a variety of programming languages, often eliminating the need to learn a new programming language.
  • The version of node.js available on AWS Lambda wasn't up to date, requiring our organization to research older language conventions. It was later updated.
  • There were few official examples of how to interact with S3 from AWS Lambda. We resorted to examples/tutorials found elsewhere online.
The decision to use AWS Lambda is easiest if you've already committed to the AWS ecosystem of products. But AWS Lambda is also useful as a standalone product if you require any on-demand processing that only charges you when it is running. AWS Lambda is less appropriate if you need scripts with a persistent state.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 08, 2018

AWS Lambda Review: "Simple server-less services!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've used AWS Lambda to deploy several "serverless services". The ability to quickly deploy functions, with no architecture, across several languages, with interoperability between other AWS components (such as S3), at an extremely low cost is really cool. We use Lambda to automate simple processes as well as to run code in languages that aren't supported by our main stack.
  • Very reasonable prices with billing down to the 100ms
  • Super easy to deploy functions and set up triggers from other AWS services
  • Plenty of examples and code snippets (from Amazon and around the web)
  • Vendor lock-in: While a basic function or microservice might be platform independent, when you start to use AWS APIs and interact with other AWS services, your microservice now relies on the AWS ecosystem
  • A bit intimidating at first, however there are a lot of resources. Amazon could offer more templates and examples though
When to use:
Easily deploys functions/microservices without a server. Deploy code in several different languages (For instance: Your main app is Node.js but you want to launch a Python microservice? Simple!). Automate small tasks between different AWS services.

When not to use:

When you don't really have a microservice and you actually need a server! Or when you're not going to rely on other AWS services to make up for the lack of a server.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 01, 2018

User Review: "AWS Lambda is like no other!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Lambda functions as a way to implement serverless code without having to manage an underlying infrastructure. Lambdas are a great way to allow devs to very quickly get things out the door when the main task doesn't rely on any specific hardware or software and just needs to do something to a stream of data. Lambdas and kinesis streams go hand in hand and are very powerful tools when implemented correctly.
  • parsing data
  • log processing and forwarding
  • monitoring the contents of an S3 bucket and performing an action when the contents changes
  • more languages supported
  • cleaner interface
  • better list of example code
Eeveryone should be using Lambda functions for situations where code needs to be executed in response to something happening. Lambdas can be used in situations where you have lots of persistent data but in my opinion, they work better in ephemeral environments. Counting things with Lambdas is hard too, so you should probably avoid that.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 20, 2018

AWS Lambda Review: "Lambdas for the win"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Clients transactional system was built using Lambda, consisting of 3 API's and a front facing Node.js application.
High latency transaction speeds were achieved and the autoscaling meant spikey traffic is dealt with.
  • Autoscaling
  • High latency
  • Pay only for execution time
  • Increase the time they 'stay warm' - if they go through periods where the system isn't used, the lambda need a few seconds to start up again
Its good for short bursts of code execution. If I was looking for long code execution times I would consider falling back to EC2. Easy to use and integrate with API Gateway and making RESTful calls becomes a breeze.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 28, 2018

Review: "AWS Lambda - immense power in a little box"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use it for running Alexa skills. These are created using Node.js and I found using AWS Lambda functions to be relatively easy to pick up and use! I’ve utilized a handful of Lambda functions and plan on using more in the future.
  • Documentation is plentiful
  • Setup steps are very helpful
  • Debugging process is great
  • I’d like to see higher versions of Node.js supported natively.
Alexa skills essentially require AWS Lambda and the process is pretty easy to get going.
Read this authenticated review
Vishwesh S profile photo
December 19, 2017

AWS Lambda Review: "Lambda info"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AWS Lamda is used for running code, it is used within our team only and not used within whole origination level. Since the organization, does not require to invest money in specialist software like Jenkins. Also, it reduces our team to eliminate a need for Pre-production environment as other environments can be used as Production like env's and code can be tested in other environments. In future, probably, my team may not need specialist Deploy Engineer.
  • No need for specialist deployment engineer
  • It do not require any additional cost for server to debugging a code
  • Time-saving activity
  • We are not fully aware of its use but if it has functionality likewise we have in Unix like operating system where we can schedule deployment then it will be very good.
  • As of now, no one is trained in using any of AWS functionality fully in our team, it requires special skills to use LAMBDA.
  • It also requires setting up of node.js environment, which most of us found difficult.
Its IT future and certainly it will reduce the number of Deployment engineer posts. So, it will be gone cost-saving activity. It will be less appropriate when org system are legacy systems.
Read Vishwesh S's full review

AWS Lambda Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Ease of building user interfaces (4)
7.8
Scalability (13)
9.5
Platform management overhead (11)
8.0
Workflow engine capability (9)
8.3
Platform access control (11)
8.7
Services-enabled integration (13)
9.3
Development environment creation (10)
8.2
Development environment replication (9)
8.4
Issue monitoring and notification (12)
8.1
Issue recovery (10)
7.9
Upgrades and platform fixes (8)
8.9

About AWS Lambda

AWS Lambda Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No