AWS Lambda Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
229 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 35)

Benjamin Plotkin | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 17, 2019

Going Serverless Without Being Rudderless: AWS Lambda

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our university department is responsible for several web applications on campus that support student success, including providing online services for students directly, as well as supporting workflows and activities of other departments and divisions. As we move more and more of our applications into the AWS cloud, we have found Lambda to be a great way to simplify some of our web services and "housekeeping" processes; the fact that we're only charged for Lambda function calls, and not for the infrastructure which supports Lambda, helps us save on hosting costs, as well!
  • AWS Lambda is a welcoming platform, supporting several languages, including Java, Go, PowerShell, Node.js, C#, Python, and Ruby. And if you need to deploy a Lambda function in another language, AWS offers a Runtime API for integration.
  • We really appreciate how AWS Lambda is always-on for our functions, with only a brief "cold-start" waiting period the first time a function is called after being dormant.
  • In addition to only generating costs when it's actually being used, AWS Lambda really puts the "serverless" in serverless architecture, offering turnkey scaleability and high availability for our code with zero effort on our part.
  • Putting a significant portion of your codebase into AWS Lambda and taking advantage of the high level of integration with other AWS services comes with the risk of vendor lock-in.
  • While the AWS Lambda environment is "not your problem," it's also not at your disposal to extend or modify, nor does it preserve state between function executions.
  • AWS Lambda functions are subject to strict time limitations, and will be aborted if they exceed five minutes of execution time. This can be a problem for some longer-running tasks that are otherwise well-suited to serverless delivery.
AWS Lambda is a great way to deploy smaller-scale data synchronization jobs and other "housekeeping" routines that don't require preservation of state. We use it to build API gateway tools used by our larger applications (many of which are hosted on AWS EC2 instances) and it's a perfect fit.

If you have complicated workflows that run a long time, or require state to be saved between function calls, AWS Lambda is probably not the right choice for a serverless solution.
Read Benjamin Plotkin's full review
Barry Burd | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 15, 2019

AWS Lambda for Education

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I've used AWS Lambda to create Alexa skills. I write articles about these skills and teach university students to create skills.
  • Rapid deployment of code.
  • Rapid execution of code.
  • Cost-effective use of the cloud.
  • The setup pages for AWS Lambda could be more intuitive.
  • AWS Lambda could have better Java integration.
AWS Lambda is very well suited to the scenario in which I use it; namely, Alexa skills. To respond to an Alexa skill request, it would be inefficient to spin up a server. For applications that run continuously and are not event-driven, AWS Lambda is not well-suited.
Read Barry Burd's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2019

AWS Lambda Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Monitoring Usecase:
In the organization, we have got a need to increase the monitoring and availability of the systems, because of which we have created several scripts that run on a server for every 15 mins to extract data from one system and store it in a database. It was working fine when we have a few scripts and less number of CRON jobs. We have a complex environment, we interact with multiple systems most of the time and there are several logs that are captured in different systems, so our number of scripts increased, eventually jobs increased to run. We started to see a bottleneck on the server, so we started to think Cloud alternative and analyzed about the usage of AWS Lambda functions.
  • Lambda functions are best in our use case because they are serverless and you could schedule AWS Cloud watch events to run periodically.
  • Less expensive.
  • Fast execution.
  • Learning curve, it was a little bit challenging to start with, especially NodeJS runtime functions.
  • Easy alerting mechanism upon failed invocations.
  • Troubleshooting errors. We can write logs inside the function, however, if we have the ability inside the Lambda function where you raise a type of error, it can create an alert automatically, it would be great.
AWS Lambda is well suited for batch scripts, and API development.
Read this authenticated review
Jesse Bickel, MS - PMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 23, 2019

Any language, fast and simple

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AWS Lambda is used primarily by about 20% of our staff and only in our development department. We use AWS Lambda for developing and managing our application over the cloud platform. We internally provide cloud-related solutions to our dev groups and develop web apps and services on cloud for them. So whenever we have to provide any computation related work for that particular app than I use AWS Lambda because it is easy to use and scalable and also costs less than any previous solution we have reviewed.
  • AWS Lambda is a great compute engine that allows you to run and execute your computation code without the need of maintaining servers and the overhead that comes with that.
  • We all can use our favorite programming language to develop the functions.
  • AWS Lambda is the fastest server setup on the market.
  • The relationship with S3 Triggers leaves a lot of room for improvement.
  • The solution community forums leave a lot to be desired.
  • The AWS Lambda UI experience could aid an overhaul. It's not unusable but not a great reflection of how great the service product is.
I know a lot of our developers use this personally to develop Alexa skills. The best use case for us is building simple rest API's with minimal effort and overhead. It is easy to use and scalable. You can also through a lot of load against it very quickly with little to no performance issues that I have seen. Also, it is very well suited in environments where developers have language freedoms.
Read Jesse Bickel, MS - PMP's full review
Jacob Biguvu | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 22, 2019

AWS Lambda for DBA maintenance

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AWS Lambda is an event-driven, serverless computing platform and a compute service that runs code in response to events and automatically manages the computing resources required by the code. AWS Lambda is being used by our team and across the whole organization. It's being used as part of our DR solution to run the code at scheduled times.
  • I have used the AWS Lambda for moving the RDS snapshots from cross-region like East to West and West to East. We used it as part of our DR solution. AWS Lambda is the service provided by AWS, and it makes it easy to manage the AWS resources.
  • I have used AWS Lambda for running a cleanup code against the database at scheduled times. I use Python as the coding language. AWS Lambda is the service provided by AWS, which makes easy to manage the AWS resources.
  • We can use AWS lambda function for serverless architecture.
  • We can use AWS Lambda for managing Micro-service architecture.
  • AWS Lambda has not worked in an efficient way for running long-lived applications, especially on serverless architecture.
  • AWS Lambda provides a zip deployment method, but there is a limit on size, like 500MB.
  • AWS Lambda has a significant issue with "Cold Start." It takes some time for it to handle the first request -- there, we see a real problem.
AWS Lambda is best for short-lived applications/codes. Configure AWS Lambda to act based on the events that are produced on certain services. It works. We used it to move the RDS snapshot from WEST to EAST and EAST to WEST whenever the RDS automatic backups are done. It helps in other scenarios, like when application teams don't have a server or don't have a place to run a job on a regular basis. Then we can leverage this AWS Lambda to run the code against the database. As I mentioned, this is not suited for long-lived applications.
Read Jacob Biguvu's full review
Richard Rout | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 12, 2019

AWS Lambda - Cloud functions with infinite scalability

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use AWS Lambda to host our micro-services that don't need to worry about too much infrastructure. Lambdas are great at running pieces of code that don't necessarily have to belong in the main infrastructure. We have a few different lambdas that each have single responsibilities, such as creating and uploading files to S3, and running complex calculations.
  • Runs "functions" in the cloud. Pretty simple really
  • Always having the latest version available
  • Not having to worry about infrastructure
  • Anything too complex is not a great solution
  • Can take a little while to spin up if inactive for a while
  • Can be easy to misuse or abuse.
Anywhere you have an isolated responsibility of your code, AWS Lambdas are well suited for. If you have something that has to perform an intensive calculation - it makes sense to offload that to something like an AWS Lambda. Or something that needs to send data and integrate with another service, it can be a good place for that interface/job to live.

It can be possible to build a larger architecture using a series of AWS Lambdas, but it could become hard to maintain and be hard to understand very quickly.
Read Richard Rout's full review
Stephen Groat | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 12, 2019

AWS Lambda: Best in Class for Serverless

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Serverless platforms are the future, and AWS is leading the way with AWS Lambda. Lambda completely integrates into the AWS ecosystem, with IAM, the AWS SDK, and all other features, allowing for infinitely scalable applications to be rapidly developed that require little to no maintenance. Limiting maintenance through the use of serverless application allows organizations to grow more effectively.
  • Easy to configure and maintain
  • Infrastructure as Code (IaC) configuration options
  • AWS integrations
  • Can be more expensive once scale gets higher
  • LImited language support
  • Can be more difficult to debug
AWS Lambda is best for new, small applications. With frameworks like serverless.io, the deployment issue is completely negated. Managing large serverless applications becomes easy. With the technology, a significant amount of the scaling and other performance related issues are handled. Programmers are left to deal with RAM and processor issues on a per execution basis.
Read Stephen Groat's full review
Winston Mendes | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 29, 2019

The most efficient way to create Serverless Applications.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AWS Lambda is used by the programming department and allows to coordinate applications, without a server, in a very fast, simple, and economic way. It is perfect for scalable projects, where small functions are executed and it is not necessary to have a complete layer behind the application or the website. It also helps with continuous integration, since you can add functions independently and it is easy to automate functions. AWS Lambda integrates very well with Cloudwatch, which allows us to monitor at all times the records that return functions.
  • It is an excellent tool for continuous integration.
  • It allows for executing code triggered by other services of AWS.
  • Ideal for serverless applications.
  • Cross-platform support.
  • A great tool for scalable projects, which allows us to configure the resources and time necessary to execute a function.
  • It constantly changes from one instance to another, so there is no control over the execution environment.
  • It is not ideal to run functions that take a long time to run. For example, the upload of heavy files, videos, etc.
  • The learning curve is steep. It requires a lot of knowledge to be able to take advantage of it, since you have to know the average time of execution of a function to be able to configure it correctly, besides having the most optimized code possible.
Lambda is ideal for the development of apps and serverless webapps, which are fragmented into small functions independently. It is also very useful for companies that look for an economic solution for their developments, and do not have an estimated number of users. This tool should not be used for very extensive functions, when it is better to divide the code. It's also not ideal for file processing or content loading, only less heavy photos that won't pause the execution of a function while waiting for the file to load.
Read Winston Mendes's full review
quang vu | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 07, 2019

Excellent Serverless provided by AWS

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are building a system for log and data processing in AWS Lambda, S3, DynamoDB and Redshift. Data is collected and uploaded to S3 and a Lambda will be invoked to do the main processing function. It extracts and analyzes data, then puts metadata into DynamoDB and main data into Redshift. With Lambda, we are able to spin up thousands of the instances to process input S3 objects in a very short time and then remove them when finished, all with the same pattern and high performance. It saves on our development cost as implementing and deploying AWS Lambda is quite simple compared with EC2 or other services.
  • Simple implementation and deployment.
  • Quickly scale up and down on demand.
  • High performance and high availability.
  • Well integrated with other AWS services like S3, SQS, IAM, and SNS.
  • Save costs as we only pay for our Lambda function when it is triggered.
  • Have a limit on accessing underline VM.
  • Lack of name and documentation for Lambda function.
  • Not well integrated with VPC, which will face an issue when Lambda function needs to access the resource both inside and outside VPC.
AWS Lambda is suitable when we need to process data on demand and require a large number of instances. AWS Lambda is not too complex, and it will fit well in case we need an authentication function to verify user login information, process input data in S3, retrieve and execute message SQS or triggered on demand by the user. AWS Lambda would not fit if we needed to constantly receive user requests, run background processes or needed to access VM underline.
Read quang vu's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 16, 2019

AWS Lambda - The Unseen, Low-Cost Workhorse of the Cloud

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use AWS Lambda (in conjunction with SAM) to produce a decentralized notification and delivery system for 3rd Party integrations to our SaaS product.

This allows us to keep throughput for messages in our app low, and scaling is nearly automatic and instantaneous. We needed a way for our app and data to be presented to a multitude of 3rd party applications and services and didn't want to make all these points of contact happen inside our main app. Therefore we chose a queue-based approach where our main app delivers messages to a queue and the Lambdas pick those messages up and process them until the queue is empty or more Lambdas are needed.

Lambdas have proven to be very cost-effective and prevents us from needing to incur uptime for other servers.
  • Reliability - Lambdas just work. They do their job and quite well. I've never had any hiccups with them as a unit of hardware.
  • Scalability - This automatic scaling and availability are amazing. It's like having a fleet of servers at the ready but only when needed. And at a fraction of the cost.
  • Price - AWS gives you a generous helping of free invocations every month, and even after that, it's still cheap compared to an always-on solution.
  • The UI and Developer experience is not so great. IF you use an abstraction like Serverless Application Model (SAM), things get pretty easy, but it's still AWS UI/DX you're working with after that (which is to say, not their strength).
  • Documentation is always a mixed bag. Sometimes it's just easier to google your specific problem and see how others have solved it. This can be much faster than trying to find an example that may or may not be there in the documentation (which oftentimes has multiple versions and revisions).
If you're not afraid to get your hands dirty in wiring things up yourselves or you can use AWS' own abstractions like Amplify or SAM, then Lambdas and their surrounding platform pairings (Like SQS, API gateway) are great tools that can help you create a backend or infrastructure for a relatively low cost. If you don't find yourself in that camp, but you know your way around full-stack JavaScript frameworks and tooling, you may be better served with a higher level abstraction like what Zeit Now or Netlify offers.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 13, 2019

AWS Lambda Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AWS Lambda is currently being used to respond to events generated within our AWS infrastructure (instances terminated/created) to perform specific actions. Because AWS Lambda is not constantly running, and only in response to events, we're able to save money by only paying for the amount of CPU resources needed when functions are run.
  • Cost Savings
  • AWS integration
  • Python and Go support
  • Need to rely on 3rd party tools for complex deployments
  • Precompiled Python dependencies sometimes won't work
  • Inability to share test events with other users
AWS Lambda is best used in environments where you need to perform specific actions in response to an event happening. This reduces cost and will only be billed for the CPU time it takes to run the function. For long-running tasks, AWS Lambda is not good because of the timeouts set by the function.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 20, 2019

AWS Lambda, a best in class serverless workload

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use AWS Lambda as a microservice platform where we off-load a large number of our common services to the serverless cloud. We have had workloads that have run for years on the platform without issues, and it has allowed us to focus on other areas of developing versus just maintaining code and servers.
  • Reliable for low workloads.
  • It's an easy entry point for development.
  • Quick speed to market.
  • It would be good to have more distribution about upgrades or changes to the platform.
  • A little more documentation on the nuances of the offered supported languages.
  • A little more portability of some of the code once you've developed it from other cloud platforms.
AWS Lambda is great for atomic micro services and being leveraged as a conduit for other Amazon services. It's great for a quick way to innovate other resources that you already have on the platform. It marries well with the ecosystem and allows for easy deployments and updates to the program based on the tools.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 17, 2019

Most popular for a reason

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My team uses AWS Lambda as a deployment target for our serverless applications. We develop them using the Serverless framework (using NodeJS) and deploy them to our company's AWS account. As a result, we don't deal with Lambda very much directly, since it's abstracted away through Serverless. But since it's so integrated into the AWS ecosystem our company uses, it is very practical and enables us to run our applications in a stateless was and not need to worry about scaling.
  • It automatically scales up your functions when demand is high.
  • It allows developers to focus only on business logic,
  • It is very cost-effective, since you're not paying for idle server time.
  • There is a lot to configure, as is the case with most of AWS's offerings. I wish it were easier to set up API Gateway with Lambda responders.
  • The default logging destination (CloudWatch) leaves much to be desired, and we opted for an external logging tool (Splunk) instead.
  • Cold starts are a persistent problem which can be mitigated with a simple cron job but would ideally be handled by the platform.
For its price, flexibility, and integration with other tools, AWS Lambda is the most popular serverless functions platform for a reason. In my opinion, it's best used as the backing behind some higher abstraction like Serverless or even Netlify Functions, but from what I've seen, it would be a great option even if used directly. In generall, serverless architecture works well for stateless applications, API aggregation, event-driven processes, and where the scale/demand is unpredictable.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 13, 2019

Using AWS Lambda for Data ETL

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AWS Lambda is mostly being used to run our hourly/daily cron jobs. It is used across the entire organization. It helped us move data between external and internal data sources to the appropriate destinations.
  • Easy to set up.
  • Support different programming languages.
  • Events-based trigger.
  • Continuous deployment integration with GitHub.
  • Would like to easily toggle between environments.
  • An interface to map out/organize different functions.
AWS Lambda allows us to develop certain process without setting up a server. I would recommend AWS Lambda for a process that doesn't need to be real-time or needs to be always on.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 25, 2019

Serverless data communication

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AWS Lambda is being used by my organization to manage machine to machine communication via serverless code. It addresses the problem of sending data between services on Amazon Web Services and it does the job quite well. The lambda handler allows me to set invocations at certain durations and also allows me to pass data back and forth in an automated manner.
  • Machine to machine communication.
  • Automatic invocation.
  • Error reporting.
  • Better interface.
  • Deployment methodology.
AWS Lambda is well suited in cases where the entire stack is on AWS. It doesn't make sense to use lambda when you have services with other cloud providers.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 23, 2019

Most reliable serverless architecture implementation

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are already using other AWS services like EC2, RDS, S3, etc. and they are super reliable and easy to maintain. We use AWS Lambda to host our serverless function which is responsible for authentication. We have also started moving our microservices from EC2 to Lambda.
  • No need to maintain architecture.
  • Easier operational management with AWS console.
  • Scaling benefits of FaaS beyond costs. You pay only for what you used.
  • Vendor lock-in, dependency on AWS ecosystem.
  • It's a bit difficult to get started. AWS needs to provide more getting started examples.
  • UI is a bit dull and messy. They should make it cleaner.
Product engineers can innovate rapidly as serverless architecture has alleviated the problems of system engineering. Thus, you spend less time on operational issues and it makes devops life easier.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 14, 2019

Functions as a service

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use AWS Lambda to efficiently auto scale our NodeJS-based infrastructure without the overhead of needing to manage virtual machines or worry about capacity planning. Additionally, we don’t need to manage security patches for the OS because there is no OS to worry about!
  • Auto-scaling.
  • Scale to zero.
  • Quick function startup.
  • Less vendor lock-in.
  • Better integration with community tools like OpenFaaS.
  • Improved cold start times.
AWS Lambda is great for distributed systems in which scaling of independent components is critical and you don’t want to manage the overhead of needing to maintain a fleet of virtual machines.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 12, 2019

Best Cloud Platform

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
A scalable tool used to configure applications which can be used from outside the organization's environments. The servers are managed on their own by AWS, which is one less task to be taken care of. Can be easily integrated with other back-end APIs like Node.js or Python. Highly scalable, load balancers are configured automatically.
  • Scalability - No worries for load balancing.
  • Flexibility- Easy to integrate with Python/ Java/ C#/ Node.js, etc
  • API - APIs are easy to integrate.
  • Microservices - Best option is to be able to use microservices with serverless architecture.
  • UI - The UI part can be groomed for beginners to easily take on the tasks.
  • Debugging - Again it becomes tougher for naive users to onboard and use the tool at its full capacity.
  • Lag- The tool lags on slow networks which can be improved.
Can be used for creating:
  • Alexa skills.
  • Serverless architectures.
  • Ability to create RESTful APIs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 05, 2019

It is amazing. A great alternative to traditional architectures.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used AWS Lambda to interact with the API Gateway and DynamoDB. It was used to retrieve and push data into the database. As a part of the project, it helped us a lot making the task quicker, simpler and more convenient.
  • Cross Language Support
  • Fast and Scalable
  • Always running
  • Initial understanding takes time
Anywhere where you just pay for what you use. AWS Lambda is the best in those areas. As it is fast and scalable it can provide an excellent alternative for server backend making the whole application serverless. You just don't need the server running every time. Just run it when you need it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 12, 2019

AWS Lambda can be game changer

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AWS Lambda is being used by my organization in various projects. In my project, we have more than 10 AWS Lambda services and for each, they are being run on several stages. We are using AWS Lambda for general authentication mechanism integrated with API Gateway. We have an event-driven design and the lambda I have written is consuming and processing events. Those events are also coming from AWS SQS, SNS, and S3. Since AWS Lambda is very easy to configure, it makes you only focus on what you need to do.

It is also very easy to integrate it with other AWS services, like consuming AWS SQS or SNS messages, and you can write your own API in minutes while integrating your Lambda with AWS API gateway.
  • No need to worry about the maintenance of your lambda.
  • It is scalable and you can always change the memory allocation and timeout.
  • Integration with other AWS Services is great!
  • Pricing is reasonable.
  • I think the cold start of AWS Lambda may be improved. The termination period of a lambda is 15 minutes. If the lambda service being called each time for less than 15 minutes there would be no cold start problem at all. The cold start problem could be solved like triggering a dummy request every 15 minutes, but that would cause some cost for the company.
AWS Lambda is great if you have a software design considering microservices with it. You can write an API with AWS Lambda and integrate it with API Gateway or you can integrate AWS Lambda consuming SQS or SNS events. You can even write an authorization lambda in front of your product.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 24, 2019

Something best for startup project

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use AWS Lambda and other AWS services for a couple of projects. "Vacation Tracker" project uses the most AWS services. We also use AWS Lambda for Slack Bot, API and notifications. In DynamoDB for DB, we use SNS, SQS, and other AWS services. We saved a lot of time writing the API with AWS Lambda not needing BackEnd programmers. All programmers are Full Stack.
It's an easy way to create API for mockup of the product. It's cheap for a startup product. And, with Claudia JS you can create APIs very fast. With the Claudia Bot Builder, you can create a bot for Slack, Facebook, Viber, and more.
  • No servers to manage.
  • Pay per use.
  • Do not need to be worried about scaling.
  • Faster development cycles.
  • Logs do not load fast.
  • Max 3GB RAM.
It's good for a startup project because you do not need to spend too much money for the server and DevOps teams. With AWS Lambda, you do not need to worry about server managing, scaling, or managed infrastructure. It's free for 1 million requests per month, fewer developers are needed for the backend part, and it has fast deployment.
Read this authenticated review
Fedor Paretsky | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2019

Very developed cost-saving product!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use AWS Lambda to host our serverless lambda functions. It allows us to execute segments of our computational code that don't require actual virtual machines hosted on compute engines. This allows us to achieve very low costs for simple pieces of code that can be run quickly a large number of times.
  • Short computational code - For those that need scalability without maintaining servers, AWS lambda basically achieves all of this as one service.
  • Scalability - For most lambda services, you are charged by run amount, as long as run-time remains low.
  • Non-hosted websites/serverless code - Services like Netlify implement similar lambda functionality that is completely free. There may be services hosted on Amazon that achieve the same.
  • UI could use some improvement - Like the rest of the Amazon Web Services UI, much of the interface is complex and hard to understand at the beginning.
  • Hard to troubleshoot/debug - Lambda, in itself, is set up in an environment that makes it difficult to troubleshoot in the product. The use of staging production code is absolutely necessary.
  • The pricing is a bit more expensive when compared to other services that provide lambda function execution services.
AWS Lambda and Lambda functions, in general, are an amazing tool to run segments of code that don't need to be run actively. This allows us to save lots of money running code and only paying for it when it is actually run. Every company undoubtedly has code that can be run in this way for cost-saving. For companies that focus on computation, optimization, and other services, Lambda may not be the best, since it is unlikely that this code is executed quickly in "bursts".
Read Fedor Paretsky's full review
Kyle Reichelt | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2018

Don't balk at the cost - start with a serverless solution that scales

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AWS Lambdas are the true workhorses powering our ETL (Extract, Transform, and Load), Data Warehouse, and Business Intelligence solution. We integrate with dozens of registration platforms and third-party services, loading fully normalized customer data into RDS and Redshift, enabling machine learning, forecasting, CRM, marketing automation, business intelligence, and performance monitoring.
  • It scales endlessly. We chose AWS's serverless architecture specifically for its ability to start small and scale as needed.
  • Its always available. AWS's geographic redundancy and serverless architecture mean there's no server downtime. Ever.
  • From a PM's perspective, there's a learning curve. We've had to either hire out experience engineers, or absorb the not-insignificant orientation of not-yet-initiated engineers. But I suppose the same is true of anything.
Well suited if:
  • Your organization is fairly well established (see: runway)
  • You're married to AWS Infrastructure
  • You hate servers
Not well suited if:
  • You aren't utilizing AWS's manages services
  • Your organization is still in the boot-strapped stage (trying to run as lean as possible)
Read Kyle Reichelt's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 09, 2019

The Serverless Standard

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The engineering and data science teams at my organization use AWS Lambda to rapidly deliver features that are easy to maintain. We use Lambda with the Serverless framework, API Gateway, and DynamoDB to build managed micro-services that are easy to scale. We use Lambda with AWS Step Functions and S3 to build background jobs.
  • AWS Lambda is fully-managed. It is easy to build and manage functions and related resources with the Serverless framework.
  • AWS Lambda integrates well with other AWS products. It is easy to use S3, SNS or DynamoDB events to invoke functions.
  • For some use-cases, AWS Lambda is very inexpensive. Sub-second metering is great. Lambda is great for infrequently-used or bursty services.
  • Managing development, staging, and production environments with Lambda is an open question. Some organizations use separate AWS accounts for different environments, but that is not feasible for teams that use ephemeral, per-feature or per-team development environments.
  • AWS Lambda integrates well with other AWS products, and it is natural to build distributed systems from them. It can be difficult to test features that use Lambda functions end-to-end. LocalStack and moto can help.
  • Lambda functions have very limited access to disk space.
  • Container cold-starts can be problematic and difficult to foresee.
AWS Lambda is excellent for small organizations that want to focus on shipping features rather than maintaining infrastructure. Developers can iterate very rapidly using AWS Lambda, API Gateway, and the Serverless framework. AWS Lambda is not appropriate for some load patterns; services with uniformly high loads will be expensive to run on Lambda.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Ease of building user interfaces (17)
8.1
Scalability (35)
9.2
Platform management overhead (33)
8.4
Workflow engine capability (27)
8.4
Platform access control (32)
8.5
Services-enabled integration (34)
8.8
Development environment creation (29)
7.8
Development environment replication (28)
7.5
Issue monitoring and notification (31)
8.0
Issue recovery (27)
8.0
Upgrades and platform fixes (27)
8.2

About AWS Lambda

AWS Lambda is a serverless computing platform that lets developers run code without provisioning or managing servers. With Lambda, users can run code for virtually any type of app or backend service—all with zero administration. It takes care of requirements to run and scale code with high availability. Users pay only for the compute time they consume—there is no charge when their code is not running.

Developers uploading to Lambda don’t have to deal with their code’s environment. It’s a “serverless” service which lets outside code or events invoke functions. Lambda doesn’t store data, but it allows access to other services which do. Users can set up their code to automatically trigger from other AWS services or call it directly from any web or mobile app.

AWS Lambda Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No