IBM Cloudant Reviews

101 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 31)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Nicolas Peeters | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 13, 2020

Scaling our data layer without headaches

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cloudant allows us to scale our data layer without worrying about the operations side of things to manage such a big cluster. Cloudant is the main database system for our company. It's business critical for our company and our many customers rely on its performance on a daily basis to perform their activities.
Read Nicolas Peeters's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2020

Cloudant is hands down one of the greatest development decision I've made.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cloudant is being used as the main storage system for all my current projects. Being able to easily retrieve and publish data to Cloudant over a standard and proven protocol has made it much easier to implement storage in any language and system required. Having such easily available storage has sped up the entire development process greatly.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

Win-Win for IBM Cloud

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We were using IBM Cloudant as our cloud storage platform for a project where we were collecting real-time environmental data. Later, we used this raw data for data manipulation and data visualization. The data was collected using a physical custom-made IOT sensor that was connected to IBM Cloud.
The purpose of this product was to aid impact investors to make guided, data backed decisions.
Read this authenticated review
Brandon Stephan | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

IBM Cloudant is great!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Cloudant as an IBM proposed DB solution for dedicated cloud foundry IBM cloud environments. The initial structure is for a weird implementation to use Cloudant, as we are using it as a cache for some middle life data. I know cache is not the right implementation for Cloudant, but it offered database sync between datacenters.
Read Brandon Stephan's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 22, 2020

Great and reliable DBaaS for IoT use cases

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We used IBM Cloudant as a distributed, fully managed JSON database for IoT use cases. API integration was a must, and all the support to Apache CouchDB made a positive difference. Overall support and documentation from IBM Cloudant were satisfactory, as well as pricing. Global availability was generally good, except for China. Availability and SLAs were never a problem and the platform has always been stable.
Read this authenticated review
Victor Pease Solano | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 29, 2019

Best for mobile

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cloudant is the database for all our mobile applications with offline-first architecture, and it's the best option to keep everything synced and secure.

This is the best way to use CouchDB, because Cloudant adds the authorization layer required for a real live app, and also the infinite capacity with the flexibility to grow from $0 to whatever is required according to the amount of users you need to support.

Also, we have now using Cloudant as the main database for data capture apps and the source for all our catalogs in order to free resources from our rdbms system.

Finally, considering CouchDB is part of Bluemix, you will have the chance to grow, adding on more services for your app.
Read Victor Pease Solano's full review
Saket Nalegaonkar | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 09, 2019

IBM Cloud Bound Services Optimize the Solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Currently, it's being used by our E-commerce Team, which spans all our digital solutions. It's currently used along with the Node-Red instance hosted within the IBM environment with multiple such instances supporting multiple Cloudant databases for all the database and storage-related facilities. IBM Cloudant helps manage it and is a very easy to adapt format helping with quick deployments.
Read Saket Nalegaonkar's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 12, 2019

A Solid and Performace prune DB

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Cloudant as an IBM proposed DB solution for dedicated cloud foundry IBM cloud environments. The initial structure is for a weird implementation to use Cloudant, as we are using it as a cache for some middle life data. I know cache is not a right implementation for Cloudant, but it offered a database sync between datacenters.
Read this authenticated review
Naresh Jasotani | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2019

IBM Cloudant DB - Scalability and Performance re-defined

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

IBM Cloudant DB is currently being used at 2 of our customers' places. The implementation is more confined to a couple of departments / function areas of the organization, but surely they are looking to adopt it on a bigger scale. The DB hosts not only their custom-built vendor onboarding applications, but also supports a portion of their intranet portal to manage a lot of employee related non-HR information like events, knowledge bases, quizzes application etc. They are looking to migrate data and applications from other databases to IBM Cloudant DB.
Read Naresh Jasotani's full review
Deepak Kaul | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2019

Cloudant Rocks!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are a cloud based solution provider and our products are deployed on the IBM cloud and we used IBM Cloudant as a database (persistent) storage. We use it across the board to store anything that needs persistent storage, from text to images and document attachments as well.
Read Deepak Kaul's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2019

Cloudant Review

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have been using Cloudant as part of a CEAN stack for various different prototypes that we build for different clients, we mainly use Cloudant because it is hosted in the cloud and has a free tier for when we are only experimenting.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2019

Feels like floating on a Cloud

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cloudant DB is utilized in our organization in cooperation with IBM IOT platform to monitor supply chain for our disaster relief solution. Cloudant is also used to collect user reports and is used as a data dump for Watson learning to use for improving and also used for analytics.
Read this authenticated review
Wes Wilson | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 09, 2016

Cloudant is a great choice for DBaaS for mobile apps on multiple platforms and devices...

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Cloudant as our online cloud database solution for our mobile health app. Our solution had to work cross platform with Android and iOS and allow syncing to local databases for offline use. Cloudant allowed for easy integration into our stack with very little setup. By not having to worry about converting between database architectures we were able to focus our development time on building features into our app.
Read Wes Wilson's full review
Romualdo Gobbo | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 12, 2016

Flexible data transportation HUB without structure constraints

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cloudant NoSQL DB based on JSON is the foundation of our SaaS software solutions proposed in SaaS when the aim is document centric. Our last implementation was the Tracking & Tracing service offered in SaaS via IBM Bluemix, where all actors authorized can post their JSON docs in a very easy way without the constraint of one specific schema, and can retrieve or update the documents with RESTFul APIs that trace the "status" of each document.

Cloudant's flexibility helps in adding the data "views" even after the document creation, and this opens a new way to design documents, freeing them from relational constraints.

The replication function allows you to have in real time the same copy of docs updated in other Cloudant databases - even geographically distributed. Some interesting embedded features such as the Geo Query, based on the standard Geo-JSON specification, open the way to the development of location awareness solutions without the hassles to manage the geometry of the geo-map searching.
Read Romualdo Gobbo's full review
Don Burks | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2016

I traded self-hosted for Cloudant

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cloudant started off as our database backup system, replicating from our production servers to the Cloudant service. We were configured to fail over to them in the event of a local database outage. Cloudant's uptime and search features were so impressive, we switched over to using them as our primary backbone, with replication now going to a different set of servers. Cloudant delivered a high level of service, and we were able to grow as a result.
Read Don Burks's full review
Bryan Redeagle | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 29, 2016

If it fits your need, you'll never have problems or complaints.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We currently use Cloudant to store call detail records for our faxing platform. The platform itself stores these records, but the API is not easy to query. So we take every single record and store them in Cloudant. This includes not only the basic sender and receiver information, but also per minute costs for each fax. This allows us to easily present incoming and outgoing faxes to our users via our client portal. It's also great for the billing department in that they can quickly query the recordings for profit and cost analysis.
Read Bryan Redeagle's full review
Miguel Angel Merino Vega | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 04, 2016

Cloudant, great for ACRA

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We decided to use Cloudant to implement an error handling database using ACRA on our Android Applications. First we tested it with a new application; after our first experience we decided to use it across all developments.

We needed a repository suited for ACRA to alert on any crashes our applications could experience. We looked for information and Cloudant's name appeared.
Read Miguel Angel Merino Vega's full review
Jesús Aponte | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 04, 2016

Cloundant Just Works! The best for us: The API.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use cloudant as trustable path for a project associated with the Internet of Things. We control assets via a sensor and collect information about the gps position, their visibility and the time it has being registered. We save that in a local CouchDB database and use cloudant to replicate that information in a secure way.
Read Jesús Aponte's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Performance (7)
8.1
Availability (7)
8.2
Concurrency (7)
8.0
Security (7)
8.0
Scalability (7)
7.4
Data model flexibility (7)
7.5
Deployment model flexibility (7)
7.5

About IBM Cloudant

IBM Cloudant is a distributed database that is optimized for handling heavy workloads that are typical of large, fast-growing web and mobile apps. Available as an SLA-backed, fully managed IBM Cloud service, Cloudant elastically scales throughput and storage independently. Cloudant is also available as a downloadable on-premises installation, and its API and powerful replication protocol are compatible with an open source ecosystem that includes CouchDB, PouchDB and libraries for the most popular web and mobile development stacks.

IBM Cloudant Features

NoSQL Databases Features

Has featurePerformance
Has featureAvailability
Has featureConcurrency
Has featureSecurity
Has featureScalability
Has featureData model flexibility
Has featureDeployment model flexibility

IBM Cloudant Video

IBM Cloudant Competitors

IBM Cloudant Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

IBM Cloudant Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese/Brazil, Spanish, Chinese Simplified, Chinese Traditional