IBM Cloudant Reviews

104 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 33)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
November 21, 2020
Cesar Martinez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cloudant for replicate data from our Blockchain platform. With Cloudant we can make queries and reports for our managers that want to see how the transactions in blockchain are working. It's very user friendly and it's stable too. Without it we did not have any visibility of the transactions.
  • User Friendly
  • High availability
  • High tolerance
  • Load Balancing
  • Manage blob objects
  • Client APIs
If you want to replicate other databases and make them available for reports or for APIs to query data. Without these solutions, all development will not work. Its a very good product with great customer support from IBM, in many ways help us improve the performance of the queries that our application use
I did not receive these benefits. It's very stable but we have to monitor like any other instances, I think there is no service that can self monitor itself.
  • IB M Blockchain Platform
They work very well together. We do not have any problem of communication or any trouble of that nature, because are in the same network its the best way to work. You can configure that work with other services in other cloud but the latency is not going to be the best approach.
Read Cesar Martinez's full review
November 10, 2020
Jan-Willem Steur | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IBM Cloudant primarily in our Watson IoT Platform, in combination with IBM Cloud Pak and Node-Red to receive and store IoT sensor data. It is used across a significant part of our organization, since we are an IBM Business partner for the entire IBM Maximo software stack. Everywhere IOT or Predictive Maintenance Insights is involved we make use of WIOTP in combination with IBM Cloudand.
  • Watson IoT Platform--ease of use
  • IBM Cloud Pak and Cloud Foundry apps--fast service connection
  • Fast recovery
  • Easy to merge databases
  • API connectivity especially in combination with Node-Red causes too many connectivity errors / token errors.
  • Sometimes it is difficult to store images (BLOB files). We always need to figure out how it was working. A better guidance/instruction on this would be appreciated
When you need fast and easy use of Cloudant, we recommend to use IBM Cloudant as a simple GUI-based data storage tool. IBM Cloudant can do much more and has an impressive backbone. Of cause it isn't comparable with a database like DB2, but is enough for storage of, for instance, IOT data.
The ease of use leads to fast implementation. Even with less knowledge, a consultant is able to have a fast start based on the combination of IBM Cloud Pak and integrated IBM Cloudant services.
IBM Cloud Pak, IBM Watson IoT Platform (WIOTP), Cloud Foundry apps and services (Visual Recognition, Watson Studio, Watson Discovery, Watson Knowledge Studio, Watson Assistant etc.)
Read Jan-Willem Steur's full review
April 13, 2020
Nicolas Peeters | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cloudant allows us to scale our data layer without worrying about the operations side of things to manage such a big cluster. Cloudant is the main database system for our company. It's business critical for our company and our many customers rely on its performance on a daily basis to perform their activities.
  • Scale your data layer without issues.
  • Great support team.
  • Very few operational problems
  • No detailed monitoring (which views are used or not, performance metrics) on top of the basic stuff provided by CouchDB
  • No playground environment to test some very large map/reduce queries (and therefore any changes in the design have to reindex the whole DB).
  • Pricing is quite steep
  • No integrated backup features, as you'd expect from an enterprise product
It is less suited for reporting. Reporting is an issue. This is a general issue with document-based NoSQL systems, but there's no real solution provided by IBM for this (apart from "dump to a SQL database"). It's very well suited for a document-based system and we of course rely very much on the replication capabilities.
Yes, Cloudant operations team manages the underlying systems on our behalf and the support team is very helpful and proactive. They monitoring when the system is reaching some critical metrics. Some operations like automated backups and exports for reporting are still up to our team, though.
  • IBM Cloud Foundry
Well integrated in the IBM Cloud system.
Very happy by the commitment given by the team which has been really good over the last 7 years of usage.
Because it's very intuitive, if you a familiar with the core CouchDB concepts.
In general, Cloudant feels very stable with large volumes of data (specifically with the multi-tenant setup). It allows us to scale our growth in the terms of transactions (summer months in our operation) without too many headaches.

- Pure response time speed is actually something to be improved.
- The performance of the Dashboard (especially with a lot of databases) needs improvement.

There are a few cases where we noticed issues: some replication jobs were not properly triggered (this is a long standing issue that we are dealing with with the support team).
Read Nicolas Peeters's full review
April 08, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cloudant is being used as the main storage system for all my current projects. Being able to easily retrieve and publish data to Cloudant over a standard and proven protocol has made it much easier to implement storage in any language and system required. Having such easily available storage has sped up the entire development process greatly.
  • Support has been great addressing any issues.
  • The documentation is very easy and straight forward to follow.
  • The many storage locations and migration capabilities allow for quick and easy access to data wherever needed.
  • Not supporting temporary views can be limiting at times.
Do you need to provide easy access to data directly to end users?
Do you need remote storage with easy to follow documentation?
Do you already use NoSQL in any other projects?
Is JSON the data you wish to be able to storage and index easily?
Do you need to be able to easily replicate your database stores?
Do you need to share your database with multiple users?
At this time I have only compared Cloudant to my previously (self hosted) deployment of MongoDB. Using Cloudant was the clear and superior choice when deciding between the two. When using Cloudant I've not had to worry about sharding or server down time. When comparing response times and hardware requirements Cloudant has far surpassed MongoDB with speed and storage availability. With the multi-cloud deployment system of Cloudant coupled with the geo balancing allows for content to be quickly available anywhere.
Read this authenticated review
July 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were using IBM Cloudant as our cloud storage platform for a project where we were collecting real-time environmental data. Later, we used this raw data for data manipulation and data visualization. The data was collected using a physical custom-made IOT sensor that was connected to IBM Cloud.
The purpose of this product was to aid impact investors to make guided, data backed decisions.
  • Easy collaboration with IBM Cloud.
  • Data easily downloadable in required format.
  • Easy to use UI.
  • More flexibility in displaying data stored.
  • More ways of visualizing data.
  • Performing data manipulation options.
It is greatly suited when working on IBM Cloud due to its easy connectivity and synchronization.
The scope of our project was never grand enough to to observe the effect of scale. But, with whatever we worked around, it performed seamlessly.
  • IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service
  • IBM Cloud Foundry
  • IBM Cloud Virtual Servers
  • IBM Watson IoT
It was a sigh of relief to see everything sync along so seamlessly, made life easier for us software engineers.
Read this authenticated review
January 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used IBM Cloudant as a distributed, fully managed JSON database for IoT use cases. API integration was a must, and all the support to Apache CouchDB made a positive difference. Overall support and documentation from IBM Cloudant were satisfactory, as well as pricing. Global availability was generally good, except for China. Availability and SLAs were never a problem and the platform has always been stable.
  • API integration and support through CouchDB standards.
  • Managed Services.
  • Global availability, especially in Asia.
  • IBM Cloudant support is generally robust, but in some occasions we had to find solutions by ourselves.
IBM Cloudant is generally a good tool for a NonSQL, document oriented Database as a Service. It is very scalable and reliable, and managed services through IBM seems to be working well. You can consider as almost no lock-in since it is based on CouchDB API structures and you can migrate to any other provider in the future if needed. If you need real Global Availability, like Asia / China you may need to look for alternatives.
Since it is a Database as a Service offer on IBM Cloud, you do not have to worry about basic infrastructure, provisioning and performance metrics. The user interface could improve but it is not a problem. So basically you can expect the promise of lower TCO to come to life in this case. In general no availability issues - so very minimal support cost.
Read this authenticated review
April 07, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm using Cloudant as a persistent backend to a web app that leverages PouchDB. It is easy to query and seamlessly synchronizes the app data to the cloud.
  • Easy to configure and operate through the GUI.
  • Seamless replication to CouchDB (like PouchDB).
  • The multi-tentant option is free for low utilization (HTTP requests and storage).
  • Instant database compaction on multi-tenant.
Cloudant is easy to use and has a high adherence to CouchDB-like databases, which is awesome for those moving into the NoSQL space.
Nice interface, easy to use, easy to interact through API.
It was built to be scalable, so it couldn't get any better on this.
Read this authenticated review
August 29, 2019
Victor Pease Solano | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cloudant is the database for all our mobile applications with offline-first architecture, and it's the best option to keep everything synced and secure.

This is the best way to use CouchDB, because Cloudant adds the authorization layer required for a real live app, and also the infinite capacity with the flexibility to grow from $0 to whatever is required according to the amount of users you need to support.

Also, we have now using Cloudant as the main database for data capture apps and the source for all our catalogs in order to free resources from our rdbms system.

Finally, considering CouchDB is part of Bluemix, you will have the chance to grow, adding on more services for your app.
  • Authentication improved with the API keys
  • Synchronization with https, which means secure and trustable syncs
  • Scale in a transparent way
  • Free start with the $50 allowance makes Cloudant the best way to start
  • It would be nice to have a way to import bulk data
  • There must be a better way to check usage. There are a lot of transactions not shown in the actual report
  • There must be a way to reset a db -- a way to set the actual data as the base and eliminate all deleted docs
Cloudant is best suited for offline first apps, with a library on the client -- you can have a completely synced environment in no time with data isolation per user and everything.

It is not so good for report apps or to handle too much structured data, because the Cloudant query can turn in something tricky, specially if your data model gets complicated.
  • Online training
  • Self-taught
cloudant adds some features to improve security and data query like tokens and cloudant query that really adds a lot of power to these features over the standard CouchDB. also you can integrate your data into a relational schema using ibm dashdb for data analysis. everything is in the right place
Because of the offline-first architecture, most of the transactions are handled on the client, requiring less power on the server. Also, because it's plain http, the overload on the client is almost nothing.

Cost and performance is in balance using Cloudant as a backend compared with other hosted solutions.
Read Victor Pease Solano's full review
November 11, 2019
Brandon Stephan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cloudant as an IBM proposed DB solution for dedicated cloud foundry IBM cloud environments. The initial structure is for a weird implementation to use Cloudant, as we are using it as a cache for some middle life data. I know cache is not the right implementation for Cloudant, but it offered database sync between datacenters.
  • For us, performance and scalability is the key, and Cloudant DB backed by CouchDB is scalable and performant.
  • IBM Cloudant dB is very easy to provision for sandbox, development, QA as well as production.
  • Limited support for popular programming languages such as Python, Perl, and R.
  • No support for SQL.
  • No support for XML.
  • The lack of memory capabilities.
We use it across the board. We are a cloud-based solution provider and our products are deployed on the IBM cloud and we used IBM Cloudant as a database (persistent) storage. We use it across the board to store anything that needs persistent storage, from text to images and document attachments as well.
Features like replication, monitoring, and ease of operation have been the key benefits. Also, the ability to work with JSON natively is also a big plus.
Read Brandon Stephan's full review
September 09, 2019
Saket Nalegaonkar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, it's being used by our E-commerce Team, which spans all our digital solutions. It's currently used along with the Node-Red instance hosted within the IBM environment with multiple such instances supporting multiple Cloudant databases for all the database and storage-related facilities. IBM Cloudant helps manage it and is a very easy to adapt format helping with quick deployments.
  • It is NoSQL
  • It has better performance than Mongo Atlas
  • Queries are easy to use and support for views is also helpful
  • Speed of searching through records can be improved.
  • Some ML to predict enhancement in queries can surely help IBM and clients mutually target optimal solutions.
  • Views accepting multiple parameters.
It is currently being used by our e-commerce team, which spans all our digital solutions. Used along with the node-red instance hosted within the IBM environment. With multiple such instances supporting multiple Cloudant databases for all storage/database facilities, it is very easy to manage.
Monitoring the execution time and optimizing based on that has surely helped.
Read Saket Nalegaonkar's full review
August 12, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cloudant as an IBM proposed DB solution for dedicated cloud foundry IBM cloud environments. The initial structure is for a weird implementation to use Cloudant, as we are using it as a cache for some middle life data. I know cache is not a right implementation for Cloudant, but it offered a database sync between datacenters.
  • Cross datacenters sync
  • Quick sync performance and data transfer
  • Some pretty high add/update response time
  • We had some issues with concurrent data saving/reading
  • Due to CouchDB implementation the purge of some database field requires a copy of the desired fields to a new database
  • Could find an easier way to assign access permission
As a incremental database I think the best use case is to store a sequential path of data events - like transactions storage.
We achieved a time saving milestone due to the automation of the maintenance. Due the company policy we implemented an external application for that but Rest API gave us the ability to do that. The support is being reduced to minimal as this app is taking care of routine tasks daily.
Read this authenticated review
February 14, 2019
Naresh Jasotani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Cloudant DB is currently being used at 2 of our customers' places. The implementation is more confined to a couple of departments / function areas of the organization, but surely they are looking to adopt it on a bigger scale. The DB hosts not only their custom-built vendor onboarding applications, but also supports a portion of their intranet portal to manage a lot of employee related non-HR information like events, knowledge bases, quizzes application etc. They are looking to migrate data and applications from other databases to IBM Cloudant DB.
  • For us, performance and scalability is the key, and Cloudant DB backed by CouchDB is scalable and performant.
  • IBM Cloudant dB is very easy to provision for sandbox, development, QA as well as production.
  • Support for Java for CouchDB app server analytics enables a greater control for over developers.
  • Schema free oriented very easy to program and build applications on it.
  • We love it!!
  • Lacks in-memory capabilities
  • Limited support for programming languages like Python, R, Perl
  • No XML support
  • No SQL support :(
Applications where concurrency and durability are more important as compared to in-memory functionalities, IBM Cloudant DB is recommended. For us, the key question is to have Java and C# programming support on the database, for building applications, however if Python, Perl or R support is required, then IBM Cloudant DB may not be an intelligent choice.
Read Naresh Jasotani's full review
February 22, 2019
Shiv Shivakumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used as a noSQL database across the organization for big data analytics and is used amongst other things for text analytics as it permits unlimited index fields.
  • Coudant allows unlimited secondary index fields when compared to others that have certain limitations.
  • Cloudant also has the ability to do bi-directional sync for replication and synchronization.
  • Cloudant can run on bare metal and virtual machines.
  • Cloudant can also be deployed in multi-user or private cloud environments.
  • very easy to program and build apps
  • Sometimes, there are no slower response times [than] when trying to pull records - I mean that slowness is in terms of milli-seconds :-)
  • I wish it has in memory computing capability
  • XML is still not supported by this product
Cloudant is best suited for highly scalable environments as it comes with data base as a service. It has more flexibility than some of the other noSQL databases and the response time to pull data is much faster than others. It is easy to stage and get started for both test and production environment. It also has graph data base capability.
THis data base is meant for those that require a highly scalable data base without losing speed.
Read Shiv Shivakumar's full review
February 14, 2019
Deepak Kaul | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a cloud based solution provider and our products are deployed on the IBM cloud and we used IBM Cloudant as a database (persistent) storage. We use it across the board to store anything that needs persistent storage, from text to images and document attachments as well.
  • Strong query interface, IBM Cloudant provides a very robust and flexible query interface allowing us to write simple as well as complex queries.
  • Performance, for the most part we have been happy with the performance of the Cloudant database
  • Simple and straight forward. Ability to roll out the instances quickly and with a simple interface has been important for us.
  • The shared instances of Cloudant can have better isolation mechanisms. We have had instances where the performance of our instance was negatively impacted because other instances on the same node were taking more resources.
  • Better conflict resolution. Cloudant should take away some complexity of conflict resolution from the application. Today the application has to manage most of that complexity.
Ideal for unstructured data and where data elements are self-contained for the most part. For relational-type data, Cloudant presents some challenges.
Read Deepak Kaul's full review
February 15, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Cloudant as part of a CEAN stack for various different prototypes that we build for different clients, we mainly use Cloudant because it is hosted in the cloud and has a free tier for when we are only experimenting.
  • Adding and deleting documents in the UI is intuitive
  • The UI is helpful for managing the data
  • It is hosted on the cloud and doesn’t require much set up to get going
  • The @Cloudant/Cloudand npm SDK has very limited functionality when compared to MongoDB, the Cloudant queries that can be made with JSON is good however, but it is not obvious from the start that you can do this.
The key for us is to see examples of this database being used at scale to show that it is a proven technology and also examples of where a NoSQL DB is best used
Read this authenticated review
February 14, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cloudant DB is utilized in our organization in cooperation with IBM IOT platform to monitor supply chain for our disaster relief solution. Cloudant is also used to collect user reports and is used as a data dump for Watson learning to use for improving and also used for analytics.
  • It’s fast to setup and go
  • Good support for NodeJS
  • Integrates super easy with microservices
  • Documentation
  • Support for SQL
IBM is suited for development POCs as it's extremely easy to get it up and running. Less suited to handle sequential data such as login info and such
Read this authenticated review
September 09, 2016
Wes Wilson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cloudant as our online cloud database solution for our mobile health app. Our solution had to work cross platform with Android and iOS and allow syncing to local databases for offline use. Cloudant allowed for easy integration into our stack with very little setup. By not having to worry about converting between database architectures we were able to focus our development time on building features into our app.
  • Easy Setup
  • Simple API's
  • Great Documentation
  • Open Standards / Works with CouchDB and mobile PouchDB
  • Built in live listeners to watch for data changes would be a nice addition
If you are using MEAN stack and require a 3rd party cloud database it really is up there with firebase. Firebase has a couple extra features attached to its non-sql DB, and if you need those particular features then that might be a best choice. But if you don't, cloudant is far more open and most scripts and tools that work with CloudDB will work with cloudant. Firebase is far more proprietary which gives it a steeper learning curve also. Another thing to consider is how many different types of software will interact with your DB. If you are just building a web app and only one application needs the data then arguably the pros and cons against any hosted solution like Amazon Dynamo, Modulus (MongoDB), or Firebase is going to be minimal and subjective. But if you are using lots of different technologies and many different devices there is a major advantage to going with a less proprietary solution. You get all the compatibility of CouchDB but the reliability of having IBM behind your DBaaS.
The service scales incredibly well. As you would expect from CloudDB and IBM combination. The only reason I wouldn't score it a 10 is the fact that document trees can get nested and nested very quickly if you are attempting to do very complex datasets. Which makes your code that much more complex to deal. Its very possible we could find a solution to this problem with better database planning to begin with, but one of the reasons we chose a service over a self-hosted solution was so we could set it up quick and forget about it. So we weren't going to dedicate a team to architecture optimization.
Read Wes Wilson's full review
August 12, 2016
Romualdo Gobbo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Cloudant NoSQL DB based on JSON is the foundation of our SaaS software solutions proposed in SaaS when the aim is document centric. Our last implementation was the Tracking & Tracing service offered in SaaS via IBM Bluemix, where all actors authorized can post their JSON docs in a very easy way without the constraint of one specific schema, and can retrieve or update the documents with RESTFul APIs that trace the "status" of each document.

Cloudant's flexibility helps in adding the data "views" even after the document creation, and this opens a new way to design documents, freeing them from relational constraints.

The replication function allows you to have in real time the same copy of docs updated in other Cloudant databases - even geographically distributed. Some interesting embedded features such as the Geo Query, based on the standard Geo-JSON specification, open the way to the development of location awareness solutions without the hassles to manage the geometry of the geo-map searching.
  • Managing different documents in JSON format: every well formed structure of JSON docs are stored without a previous data schema support.
  • Queu reviews: are the power map-reduce functions applying after the documents ingestion.
  • Replication: powerful and easy DevOps function to save, copy or back up the data from one Cloudant DB to another in synchronizing way even between different sites geographically distributed.
  • The automatic creation of Data Warehouse relational DB DashDB for Analytics from NoSQL is one of the [most] invaluable features ever found. The SDP-Schema Discovery Process is really unleashing the power of JSON schema-less into structured relational DB ready for all analytic tools without any programming intervention.
  • The API GEO call based on GeoJSON structure, is one of the features that has been much more awaited in the "location awareness" application now implicit in quite all applications from marketing to logistics. The GEO API is built by the query options making the geo search application integration more easy than ever.
  • To have a sort of LUW - Logical Unit Work when many documents are involved into a single update process. The changing of one document is related to its status information but it must be synchronized with all the other documents involved in the process.
Cloudant is perfect when you have to manage fixed documents, but with different content and an articulated data hierarchy. Furthermore it maintains many document structures in one instance of the DB. Cloudant should be used when the document has a "lazy" life cycle (better if it is only based on its workflow status information) and it is not comparable to an OLTP system where the data is constantly being updated.
As a DB-as-a-Service, Cloudant has freed us from this kind of problem. Using the IBM Bluemix dashboard you can control how many transaction are executed in milliseconds and this is for now our rating of scalability between 200-24 milliseconds for one http POST (insert document), well under the project rate that was defined by an order of magnitude.
Read Romualdo Gobbo's full review
July 20, 2016
Don Burks | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cloudant started off as our database backup system, replicating from our production servers to the Cloudant service. We were configured to fail over to them in the event of a local database outage. Cloudant's uptime and search features were so impressive, we switched over to using them as our primary backbone, with replication now going to a different set of servers. Cloudant delivered a high level of service, and we were able to grow as a result.
  • Outstanding query interface
  • Full text searching!
  • Remarkable uptime and support
  • I would love to able to have more performance advice on my database.
I always advocate for choosing to store data in a manner that represents how you are going to be querying it. If you need well-indexed, performant queries, then Cloudant is an outstanding backend DbAAS that will support your business needs. Cloudant also takes care of stale view indices and other common maintenance tasks for you.
We went from a small MVP database of just over 24MB of data to over 2GB in a matter of days when customers started putting data into our service. Cloudant didn't even blink. I'm sure we could have scaled another 10 times over and there wouldn't have even been a flutter of latency in our query times.
Read Don Burks's full review
August 11, 2016
Justin Saul | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cloudant as our primary data store for a marketplace solution.
  • Cloudant is flexible and fast. From basic document storage, to aggregate data requests, to creating graph data models, Cloudant was flexible enough to handle it.
  • Cloudant events every record change enabling an easy way to event everything.
  • The Cloudant support team is fantastic.
  • At the time, filtered replication is sub-optimal for large data sets. This will improve over time.
  • The divide (cost & performance) from tenant to dedicated is a bit wide for startups.
Cloudant is fairly robust. If you have changing data structures, loose data structures, logging, event storage, or need mobile syncing, Cloudant is a great fit. If you have very relational data that needs constant ad-hoc analysis, I would stick with traditional setups.
We migrated from the tenant to dedicated cluster as we grew. Today, the cluster performs so well we have yet scale out again. When we do, I have little doubt it will be easy and efficient.
Read Justin Saul's full review
August 03, 2016
Carlos Eduardo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cloudant with ACRA to track errors from our different mobile apps. Through Cloudant our company was able to optimize our workflow and make our apps better.
  • Cloudant is cloud. Through Cloudant our company was able to connect all of our services into a single database in a very easy and faster way. This made our maintenance and analysis about our services much easier.
  • Cloudant is elastic. This is very important in business today. We spend only what we really need and have used. Nothing more.
  • Cloudant is very easy. Our company was able to connect Cloudant with all of our services and apps very easily. In a few weeks Cloudant was completely integrated to our services.
  • Our company team is completely integrated with Cloudant. The service is great and any new feature will be welcome.
Cloudant is perfect for XaaS companies. The fit was just perfect for a company like ours, and we have improved our job since then.
The Cloudant's scalability is very powerful. Every time that we needed an extra resource to improve our data process, we got it. Cloudant's scalability responded very quickly and never allowed our data process get slower or stop for any reason.
Read Carlos Eduardo's full review
August 01, 2016
Kris Bandurski | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's our primary store for user-generated and transactional data.
  • Scalability.
  • Fast ingest rates.
  • Fault tolerance.
  • Great for building data pipelines (_changes streams).
  • I'd like to have an option of specifying a view (or multiple views) for the _changes stream that will be used to process the documents returned alongside changes (with include_docs=true)
  • Database-specific monitoring dashboards would be great.
  • Ability to tweak job priorities (on dedicated clusters).
Great when the primary objective is reliable and quick data storage. Not ideal for applications that require running complex, relational queries.
We had our cluster scaled out for a promotion that involved a huge increase in write requests. The important thing there is that by scaling out, i.e., having additional nodes spun up, we increased the cluster's processing power and ingest capacity without any downtime.
Quick response times, knowledgable and helpful support staff.
Overall, the tool is very pleasant and easy to work with, monitoring could be a bit more detailed, but I'm sure the Cloudant team will get there!
Read Kris Bandurski's full review
July 29, 2016
Bryan Redeagle | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Cloudant to store call detail records for our faxing platform. The platform itself stores these records, but the API is not easy to query. So we take every single record and store them in Cloudant. This includes not only the basic sender and receiver information, but also per minute costs for each fax. This allows us to easily present incoming and outgoing faxes to our users via our client portal. It's also great for the billing department in that they can quickly query the recordings for profit and cost analysis.
  • It stores a very large amount of information very efficiently. Granted, we're just storing call detail records, but we're storing 200K records in 50MB.
  • Querying isn't as fancy as SQL-based databases. But if you know what you need and can get it in a view, it is very fast. I'm querying both date and phone number without any issues.
  • The UI for managing your databases is top notch. We can build views and searches, and query those with issues. This lets us refine and perfect our JS functions and queries very easily.
  • Search Queries. They work when they work, but some of the documentation is a tad confusing and the bookmark system of pagination is not great.
It's great for storing large datasets where you need to access records directly or can sort them into easily parseable lists. It's not good for complex queries. Don't think of it as a complete replacement for SQL. It fits certain needs, and SQL-like expression is not that.
I'm storing 200K records, and a query takes millimseconds. I've never had timeout issues in our Client portal where we pull the information. I haven't taken benchmarks, but perceptually I've noticed no slowness. I've thought about future scaling, but With no slowness already I'm wondering if I'll even see any.
Simple. It has yet to fail me. I've had almost no experience with support staff due to it's reliability.
It's mostly just a straight forward API to a data store. I knock one off for the full text search thing, but I don't need it much anyways. Also, the dashboard UI they give is pretty nice to use. It provides syntax-highlighting for writing views and queries are easy to test. I wish other DBs had a UI like this.
Read Bryan Redeagle's full review
January 13, 2016
Peter Ivie | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cloudant to store the data that can't be easily recreated.
  • I like that I can group multiple data objects into a single request to reduce the cost.
I haven't tried it at scale, but it was extremely easy to get started and works very well for what I am using it for. The low end price point can't be beat. Really, it's physically impossible without them paying me to use the site... now there is an idea! Thanks Cloudant
I have not yet had occasion to put the scalability to the test. However, perceived scalability was one of the reasons I chose Cloudant. I want to be able to expand when the time comes without having to put a lot of time and effort into it. Cloudant fits into that zone nicely.
Read Peter Ivie's full review
January 04, 2016
Denis Voloshko | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cloudant as storage for events data and logs for further analysis.
  • Scales well.
  • Full access via http is great!
  • I personally like replication to vanilla CouchDB to use it locally from time to time.
  • Downloading data from Cloudant is a pain. Feplication via http is slow.
  • I would add the ability to use external functions for Cloudant, as it's implemented in CouchDB.
Cloudant is good for storage for unstructured data and documents. I use it as alternative storage of raw events data (in addition to Localytics etc).
Cloudant just works, I don't need IT guys to look specifically after Cloundant.
Read Denis Voloshko's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Performance (9)
8.1
Availability (9)
8.2
Concurrency (9)
7.8
Security (9)
8.0
Scalability (9)
7.4
Data model flexibility (9)
7.3
Deployment model flexibility (9)
7.8

What is IBM Cloudant?

IBM Cloudant is a distributed database that is optimized for handling heavy workloads that are typical of large, fast-growing web and mobile apps. Available as an SLA-backed, fully managed IBM Cloud service, Cloudant elastically scales throughput and storage independently. Cloudant is also available as a downloadable on-premises installation, and its API and powerful replication protocol are compatible with an open source ecosystem that includes CouchDB, PouchDB and libraries for the most popular web and mobile development stacks.

IBM Cloudant Features

NoSQL Databases Features

Has featurePerformance
Has featureAvailability
Has featureConcurrency
Has featureSecurity
Has featureScalability
Has featureData model flexibility
Has featureDeployment model flexibility

IBM Cloudant Video

IBM Cloudant Competitors

IBM Cloudant Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

IBM Cloudant Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese/Brazil, Spanish, Chinese Simplified, Chinese Traditional