IBM Cloudant Reviews

100 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 30)

Nicolas Peeters | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 13, 2020

Scaling our data layer without headaches

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cloudant allows us to scale our data layer without worrying about the operations side of things to manage such a big cluster. Cloudant is the main database system for our company. It's business critical for our company and our many customers rely on its performance on a daily basis to perform their activities.
  • Scale your data layer without issues.
  • Great support team.
  • Very few operational problems
  • No detailed monitoring (which views are used or not, performance metrics) on top of the basic stuff provided by CouchDB
  • No playground environment to test some very large map/reduce queries (and therefore any changes in the design have to reindex the whole DB).
  • Pricing is quite steep
  • No integrated backup features, as you'd expect from an enterprise product
It is less suited for reporting. Reporting is an issue. This is a general issue with document-based NoSQL systems, but there's no real solution provided by IBM for this (apart from "dump to a SQL database"). It's very well suited for a document-based system and we of course rely very much on the replication capabilities.
Read Nicolas Peeters's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2020

Cloudant is hands down one of the greatest development decision I've made.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cloudant is being used as the main storage system for all my current projects. Being able to easily retrieve and publish data to Cloudant over a standard and proven protocol has made it much easier to implement storage in any language and system required. Having such easily available storage has sped up the entire development process greatly.
  • Support has been great addressing any issues.
  • The documentation is very easy and straight forward to follow.
  • The many storage locations and migration capabilities allow for quick and easy access to data wherever needed.
  • Not supporting temporary views can be limiting at times.
Do you need to provide easy access to data directly to end users?
Do you need remote storage with easy to follow documentation?
Do you already use NoSQL in any other projects?
Is JSON the data you wish to be able to storage and index easily?
Do you need to be able to easily replicate your database stores?
Do you need to share your database with multiple users?
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 22, 2020

Great and reliable DBaaS for IoT use cases

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used IBM Cloudant as a distributed, fully managed JSON database for IoT use cases. API integration was a must, and all the support to Apache CouchDB made a positive difference. Overall support and documentation from IBM Cloudant were satisfactory, as well as pricing. Global availability was generally good, except for China. Availability and SLAs were never a problem and the platform has always been stable.
  • API integration and support through CouchDB standards.
  • Managed Services.
  • Global availability, especially in Asia.
  • IBM Cloudant support is generally robust, but in some occasions we had to find solutions by ourselves.
IBM Cloudant is generally a good tool for a NonSQL, document oriented Database as a Service. It is very scalable and reliable, and managed services through IBM seems to be working well. You can consider as almost no lock-in since it is based on CouchDB API structures and you can migrate to any other provider in the future if needed. If you need real Global Availability, like Asia / China you may need to look for alternatives.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 07, 2020

NoSQL and Cloudant are a great match, specially for starters.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm using Cloudant as a persistent backend to a web app that leverages PouchDB. It is easy to query and seamlessly synchronizes the app data to the cloud.
  • Easy to configure and operate through the GUI.
  • Seamless replication to CouchDB (like PouchDB).
  • The multi-tentant option is free for low utilization (HTTP requests and storage).
  • Instant database compaction on multi-tenant.
Cloudant is easy to use and has a high adherence to CouchDB-like databases, which is awesome for those moving into the NoSQL space.
Read this authenticated review
Victor Pease Solano | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 29, 2019

Best for mobile

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cloudant is the database for all our mobile applications with offline-first architecture, and it's the best option to keep everything synced and secure.

This is the best way to use CouchDB, because Cloudant adds the authorization layer required for a real live app, and also the infinite capacity with the flexibility to grow from $0 to whatever is required according to the amount of users you need to support.

Also, we have now using Cloudant as the main database for data capture apps and the source for all our catalogs in order to free resources from our rdbms system.

Finally, considering CouchDB is part of Bluemix, you will have the chance to grow, adding on more services for your app.
  • Authentication improved with the API keys
  • Synchronization with https, which means secure and trustable syncs
  • Scale in a transparent way
  • Free start with the $50 allowance makes Cloudant the best way to start
  • It would be nice to have a way to import bulk data
  • There must be a better way to check usage. There are a lot of transactions not shown in the actual report
  • There must be a way to reset a db -- a way to set the actual data as the base and eliminate all deleted docs
Cloudant is best suited for offline first apps, with a library on the client -- you can have a completely synced environment in no time with data isolation per user and everything.

It is not so good for report apps or to handle too much structured data, because the Cloudant query can turn in something tricky, specially if your data model gets complicated.
Read Victor Pease Solano's full review
Brandon Stephan | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

IBM Cloudant is great!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cloudant as an IBM proposed DB solution for dedicated cloud foundry IBM cloud environments. The initial structure is for a weird implementation to use Cloudant, as we are using it as a cache for some middle life data. I know cache is not the right implementation for Cloudant, but it offered database sync between datacenters.
  • For us, performance and scalability is the key, and Cloudant DB backed by CouchDB is scalable and performant.
  • IBM Cloudant dB is very easy to provision for sandbox, development, QA as well as production.
  • Limited support for popular programming languages such as Python, Perl, and R.
  • No support for SQL.
  • No support for XML.
  • The lack of memory capabilities.
We use it across the board. We are a cloud-based solution provider and our products are deployed on the IBM cloud and we used IBM Cloudant as a database (persistent) storage. We use it across the board to store anything that needs persistent storage, from text to images and document attachments as well.
Read Brandon Stephan's full review
Saket Nalegaonkar | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 09, 2019

IBM Cloud Bound Services Optimize the Solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, it's being used by our E-commerce Team, which spans all our digital solutions. It's currently used along with the Node-Red instance hosted within the IBM environment with multiple such instances supporting multiple Cloudant databases for all the database and storage-related facilities. IBM Cloudant helps manage it and is a very easy to adapt format helping with quick deployments.
  • It is NoSQL
  • It has better performance than Mongo Atlas
  • Queries are easy to use and support for views is also helpful
  • Speed of searching through records can be improved.
  • Some ML to predict enhancement in queries can surely help IBM and clients mutually target optimal solutions.
  • Views accepting multiple parameters.
It is currently being used by our e-commerce team, which spans all our digital solutions. Used along with the node-red instance hosted within the IBM environment. With multiple such instances supporting multiple Cloudant databases for all storage/database facilities, it is very easy to manage.
Read Saket Nalegaonkar's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 12, 2019

A Solid and Performace prune DB

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cloudant as an IBM proposed DB solution for dedicated cloud foundry IBM cloud environments. The initial structure is for a weird implementation to use Cloudant, as we are using it as a cache for some middle life data. I know cache is not a right implementation for Cloudant, but it offered a database sync between datacenters.
  • Cross datacenters sync
  • Quick sync performance and data transfer
  • Some pretty high add/update response time
  • We had some issues with concurrent data saving/reading
  • Due to CouchDB implementation the purge of some database field requires a copy of the desired fields to a new database
  • Could find an easier way to assign access permission
As a incremental database I think the best use case is to store a sequential path of data events - like transactions storage.
Read this authenticated review
Naresh Jasotani | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2019

IBM Cloudant DB - Scalability and Performance re-defined

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Cloudant DB is currently being used at 2 of our customers' places. The implementation is more confined to a couple of departments / function areas of the organization, but surely they are looking to adopt it on a bigger scale. The DB hosts not only their custom-built vendor onboarding applications, but also supports a portion of their intranet portal to manage a lot of employee related non-HR information like events, knowledge bases, quizzes application etc. They are looking to migrate data and applications from other databases to IBM Cloudant DB.
  • For us, performance and scalability is the key, and Cloudant DB backed by CouchDB is scalable and performant.
  • IBM Cloudant dB is very easy to provision for sandbox, development, QA as well as production.
  • Support for Java for CouchDB app server analytics enables a greater control for over developers.
  • Schema free oriented very easy to program and build applications on it.
  • We love it!!
  • Lacks in-memory capabilities
  • Limited support for programming languages like Python, R, Perl
  • No XML support
  • No SQL support :(
Applications where concurrency and durability are more important as compared to in-memory functionalities, IBM Cloudant DB is recommended. For us, the key question is to have Java and C# programming support on the database, for building applications, however if Python, Perl or R support is required, then IBM Cloudant DB may not be an intelligent choice.
Read Naresh Jasotani's full review
Shiv Shivakumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2019

IBM Cloudant Experience

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used as a noSQL database across the organization for big data analytics and is used amongst other things for text analytics as it permits unlimited index fields.
  • Coudant allows unlimited secondary index fields when compared to others that have certain limitations.
  • Cloudant also has the ability to do bi-directional sync for replication and synchronization.
  • Cloudant can run on bare metal and virtual machines.
  • Cloudant can also be deployed in multi-user or private cloud environments.
  • very easy to program and build apps
  • Sometimes, there are no slower response times [than] when trying to pull records - I mean that slowness is in terms of milli-seconds :-)
  • I wish it has in memory computing capability
  • XML is still not supported by this product
Cloudant is best suited for highly scalable environments as it comes with data base as a service. It has more flexibility than some of the other noSQL databases and the response time to pull data is much faster than others. It is easy to stage and get started for both test and production environment. It also has graph data base capability.
Read Shiv Shivakumar's full review
Deepak Kaul | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2019

Cloudant Rocks!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a cloud based solution provider and our products are deployed on the IBM cloud and we used IBM Cloudant as a database (persistent) storage. We use it across the board to store anything that needs persistent storage, from text to images and document attachments as well.
  • Strong query interface, IBM Cloudant provides a very robust and flexible query interface allowing us to write simple as well as complex queries.
  • Performance, for the most part we have been happy with the performance of the Cloudant database
  • Simple and straight forward. Ability to roll out the instances quickly and with a simple interface has been important for us.
  • The shared instances of Cloudant can have better isolation mechanisms. We have had instances where the performance of our instance was negatively impacted because other instances on the same node were taking more resources.
  • Better conflict resolution. Cloudant should take away some complexity of conflict resolution from the application. Today the application has to manage most of that complexity.
Ideal for unstructured data and where data elements are self-contained for the most part. For relational-type data, Cloudant presents some challenges.
Read Deepak Kaul's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2019

Cloudant Review

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Cloudant as part of a CEAN stack for various different prototypes that we build for different clients, we mainly use Cloudant because it is hosted in the cloud and has a free tier for when we are only experimenting.
  • Adding and deleting documents in the UI is intuitive
  • The UI is helpful for managing the data
  • It is hosted on the cloud and doesn’t require much set up to get going
  • The @Cloudant/Cloudand npm SDK has very limited functionality when compared to MongoDB, the Cloudant queries that can be made with JSON is good however, but it is not obvious from the start that you can do this.
The key for us is to see examples of this database being used at scale to show that it is a proven technology and also examples of where a NoSQL DB is best used
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2019

Feels like floating on a Cloud

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cloudant DB is utilized in our organization in cooperation with IBM IOT platform to monitor supply chain for our disaster relief solution. Cloudant is also used to collect user reports and is used as a data dump for Watson learning to use for improving and also used for analytics.
  • It’s fast to setup and go
  • Good support for NodeJS
  • Integrates super easy with microservices
  • Documentation
  • Support for SQL
IBM is suited for development POCs as it's extremely easy to get it up and running. Less suited to handle sequential data such as login info and such
Read this authenticated review
Wes Wilson | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 09, 2016

Cloudant is a great choice for DBaaS for mobile apps on multiple platforms and devices...

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cloudant as our online cloud database solution for our mobile health app. Our solution had to work cross platform with Android and iOS and allow syncing to local databases for offline use. Cloudant allowed for easy integration into our stack with very little setup. By not having to worry about converting between database architectures we were able to focus our development time on building features into our app.
  • Easy Setup
  • Simple API's
  • Great Documentation
  • Open Standards / Works with CouchDB and mobile PouchDB
  • Built in live listeners to watch for data changes would be a nice addition
If you are using MEAN stack and require a 3rd party cloud database it really is up there with firebase. Firebase has a couple extra features attached to its non-sql DB, and if you need those particular features then that might be a best choice. But if you don't, cloudant is far more open and most scripts and tools that work with CloudDB will work with cloudant. Firebase is far more proprietary which gives it a steeper learning curve also. Another thing to consider is how many different types of software will interact with your DB. If you are just building a web app and only one application needs the data then arguably the pros and cons against any hosted solution like Amazon Dynamo, Modulus (MongoDB), or Firebase is going to be minimal and subjective. But if you are using lots of different technologies and many different devices there is a major advantage to going with a less proprietary solution. You get all the compatibility of CouchDB but the reliability of having IBM behind your DBaaS.
Read Wes Wilson's full review
Romualdo Gobbo | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 12, 2016

Flexible data transportation HUB without structure constraints

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Cloudant NoSQL DB based on JSON is the foundation of our SaaS software solutions proposed in SaaS when the aim is document centric. Our last implementation was the Tracking & Tracing service offered in SaaS via IBM Bluemix, where all actors authorized can post their JSON docs in a very easy way without the constraint of one specific schema, and can retrieve or update the documents with RESTFul APIs that trace the "status" of each document.

Cloudant's flexibility helps in adding the data "views" even after the document creation, and this opens a new way to design documents, freeing them from relational constraints.

The replication function allows you to have in real time the same copy of docs updated in other Cloudant databases - even geographically distributed. Some interesting embedded features such as the Geo Query, based on the standard Geo-JSON specification, open the way to the development of location awareness solutions without the hassles to manage the geometry of the geo-map searching.
  • Managing different documents in JSON format: every well formed structure of JSON docs are stored without a previous data schema support.
  • Queu reviews: are the power map-reduce functions applying after the documents ingestion.
  • Replication: powerful and easy DevOps function to save, copy or back up the data from one Cloudant DB to another in synchronizing way even between different sites geographically distributed.
  • The automatic creation of Data Warehouse relational DB DashDB for Analytics from NoSQL is one of the [most] invaluable features ever found. The SDP-Schema Discovery Process is really unleashing the power of JSON schema-less into structured relational DB ready for all analytic tools without any programming intervention.
  • The API GEO call based on GeoJSON structure, is one of the features that has been much more awaited in the "location awareness" application now implicit in quite all applications from marketing to logistics. The GEO API is built by the query options making the geo search application integration more easy than ever.
  • To have a sort of LUW - Logical Unit Work when many documents are involved into a single update process. The changing of one document is related to its status information but it must be synchronized with all the other documents involved in the process.
Cloudant is perfect when you have to manage fixed documents, but with different content and an articulated data hierarchy. Furthermore it maintains many document structures in one instance of the DB. Cloudant should be used when the document has a "lazy" life cycle (better if it is only based on its workflow status information) and it is not comparable to an OLTP system where the data is constantly being updated.
Read Romualdo Gobbo's full review
Don Burks | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2016

I traded self-hosted for Cloudant

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cloudant started off as our database backup system, replicating from our production servers to the Cloudant service. We were configured to fail over to them in the event of a local database outage. Cloudant's uptime and search features were so impressive, we switched over to using them as our primary backbone, with replication now going to a different set of servers. Cloudant delivered a high level of service, and we were able to grow as a result.
  • Outstanding query interface
  • Full text searching!
  • Remarkable uptime and support
  • I would love to able to have more performance advice on my database.
I always advocate for choosing to store data in a manner that represents how you are going to be querying it. If you need well-indexed, performant queries, then Cloudant is an outstanding backend DbAAS that will support your business needs. Cloudant also takes care of stale view indices and other common maintenance tasks for you.
Read Don Burks's full review
Justin Saul | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 11, 2016

Cloudant - Build more. Sleep more.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cloudant as our primary data store for a marketplace solution.
  • Cloudant is flexible and fast. From basic document storage, to aggregate data requests, to creating graph data models, Cloudant was flexible enough to handle it.
  • Cloudant events every record change enabling an easy way to event everything.
  • The Cloudant support team is fantastic.
  • At the time, filtered replication is sub-optimal for large data sets. This will improve over time.
  • The divide (cost & performance) from tenant to dedicated is a bit wide for startups.
Cloudant is fairly robust. If you have changing data structures, loose data structures, logging, event storage, or need mobile syncing, Cloudant is a great fit. If you have very relational data that needs constant ad-hoc analysis, I would stick with traditional setups.
Read Justin Saul's full review
Carlos Eduardo | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 03, 2016

Cloudant: the best choice for my company

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cloudant with ACRA to track errors from our different mobile apps. Through Cloudant our company was able to optimize our workflow and make our apps better.
  • Cloudant is cloud. Through Cloudant our company was able to connect all of our services into a single database in a very easy and faster way. This made our maintenance and analysis about our services much easier.
  • Cloudant is elastic. This is very important in business today. We spend only what we really need and have used. Nothing more.
  • Cloudant is very easy. Our company was able to connect Cloudant with all of our services and apps very easily. In a few weeks Cloudant was completely integrated to our services.
  • Our company team is completely integrated with Cloudant. The service is great and any new feature will be welcome.
Cloudant is perfect for XaaS companies. The fit was just perfect for a company like ours, and we have improved our job since then.
Read Carlos Eduardo's full review
Kris Bandurski | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 01, 2016

Short and sweet

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's our primary store for user-generated and transactional data.
  • Scalability.
  • Fast ingest rates.
  • Fault tolerance.
  • Great for building data pipelines (_changes streams).
  • I'd like to have an option of specifying a view (or multiple views) for the _changes stream that will be used to process the documents returned alongside changes (with include_docs=true)
  • Database-specific monitoring dashboards would be great.
  • Ability to tweak job priorities (on dedicated clusters).
Great when the primary objective is reliable and quick data storage. Not ideal for applications that require running complex, relational queries.
Read Kris Bandurski's full review
Bryan Redeagle | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 29, 2016

If it fits your need, you'll never have problems or complaints.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Cloudant to store call detail records for our faxing platform. The platform itself stores these records, but the API is not easy to query. So we take every single record and store them in Cloudant. This includes not only the basic sender and receiver information, but also per minute costs for each fax. This allows us to easily present incoming and outgoing faxes to our users via our client portal. It's also great for the billing department in that they can quickly query the recordings for profit and cost analysis.
  • It stores a very large amount of information very efficiently. Granted, we're just storing call detail records, but we're storing 200K records in 50MB.
  • Querying isn't as fancy as SQL-based databases. But if you know what you need and can get it in a view, it is very fast. I'm querying both date and phone number without any issues.
  • The UI for managing your databases is top notch. We can build views and searches, and query those with issues. This lets us refine and perfect our JS functions and queries very easily.
  • Search Queries. They work when they work, but some of the documentation is a tad confusing and the bookmark system of pagination is not great.
It's great for storing large datasets where you need to access records directly or can sort them into easily parseable lists. It's not good for complex queries. Don't think of it as a complete replacement for SQL. It fits certain needs, and SQL-like expression is not that.
Read Bryan Redeagle's full review
Peter Ivie | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 13, 2016

The best prices and easy from start to scale

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cloudant to store the data that can't be easily recreated.
  • I like that I can group multiple data objects into a single request to reduce the cost.
I haven't tried it at scale, but it was extremely easy to get started and works very well for what I am using it for. The low end price point can't be beat. Really, it's physically impossible without them paying me to use the site... now there is an idea! Thanks Cloudant
Read Peter Ivie's full review
Denis Voloshko | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 04, 2016

6 months of Cloudant. So far so good ;)

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cloudant as storage for events data and logs for further analysis.
  • Scales well.
  • Full access via http is great!
  • I personally like replication to vanilla CouchDB to use it locally from time to time.
  • Downloading data from Cloudant is a pain. Feplication via http is slow.
  • I would add the ability to use external functions for Cloudant, as it's implemented in CouchDB.
Cloudant is good for storage for unstructured data and documents. I use it as alternative storage of raw events data (in addition to Localytics etc).
Read Denis Voloshko's full review
Miguel Angel Merino Vega | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 04, 2016

Cloudant, great for ACRA

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We decided to use Cloudant to implement an error handling database using ACRA on our Android Applications. First we tested it with a new application; after our first experience we decided to use it across all developments.

We needed a repository suited for ACRA to alert on any crashes our applications could experience. We looked for information and Cloudant's name appeared.
  • Fair cost and possibility to stay on free usage program.
  • High availability. Our databases never ever experienced falls.
  • Fair documentation access. We could find tutorials across the web.
  • The learning curve could be a little tough if used for first time.
  • UI could be redundant and unintuitive in some cases (at least about 1 year ago).
  • Little integration with other tools
Scenarios for the best use of Cloudant in our opinion are:
* Error handling logs.
* Spacial log database.
* Audit logs.
* Chats and social databases.
If you need a cloud repository for anything, Cloudant will be there for you. You could ease the burden of your main database and use Cloudant for these use cases.
Read Miguel Angel Merino Vega's full review
Jesús Aponte | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 04, 2016

Cloundant Just Works! The best for us: The API.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use cloudant as trustable path for a project associated with the Internet of Things. We control assets via a sensor and collect information about the gps position, their visibility and the time it has being registered. We save that in a local CouchDB database and use cloudant to replicate that information in a secure way.
  • Documentation. You really do well in that.
  • Reliability. We think IBM cloudant makes us feel secure with our data, we manage sensible information that we don't want to be open to the world.
  • Time. Everything can be done quickly. No too many configuration steps. The Cloudant API just works
  • Lack of a local version. We have to use alternatives as CouchDB or pouchdb.
  • The integration with other nosql databases should be easier.
  • Official wrappers for languages like python. That would be very useful.
I think that cloudant is appropriate everywhere you need to handle big quantities of data, and the confidentiality of that data is really important, and you need to keep the data organized with respect to several intricate variables. It would not be appropriate for small projects, or perhaps for projects were internet connectivity is an issue.
Read Jesús Aponte's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 30, 2018

IBM Cloudant, Great Managed NoSQL at Significant Cost

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization had a need to store a moderate amount data for an insurance client. Our data storage solution needed to be flexible enough to support our BI solution as well as any in-house web apps the client might develop to their claims department. It also needed to be limited in the additional DBA overhead required to operate it. That is why my organization chose IBM Cloudant because it was able to meet the BI need, the needs of the web stack developers, and the DBA were kept happy too.
  • We had a small data mart project that required the storage of some rather highly connected data that also had a relatively small footprint. This made IBM Cloudant an obvious choice because we could store the data in a data structure that met our project need al while using a platform that our web development team understood and was comfortable with.
  • We had a bunch of geospatial data that we needed for analysis. Having GeoJSON being natively supported by Cloudant made it an easy choice.
  • Cloudant was cloud-based and didn't require a DBA support it, this allowed the project to move ahead without pushback from the infrastructure team.
  • It was only after we went with the cloud-based solution that IBM rolled out an on-premise version.
  • We found that a 3rd-party ODBC driver was required for a few applications that needed to pull data out of Cloudant.
  • The sales process was difficult because the salesperson we used was not as versed on Cloudant as I had hoped.
The solution to store claims information worked for us, but the enterprise NoSQL market has expanded so much that we might not [have] used Cloudant had an alternative been available. Make sure you ask about ACID compliance and about what the difference between NoSQL and SQL databases are to that the IT managers understand why they are buying and how that differs from data solutions they've bought in the past.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Performance (6)
8.1
Availability (6)
8.2
Concurrency (6)
8.0
Security (6)
8.1
Scalability (6)
7.5
Data model flexibility (6)
7.7
Deployment model flexibility (6)
7.5

About IBM Cloudant

IBM Cloudant is a distributed database that is optimized for handling heavy workloads that are typical of large, fast-growing web and mobile apps. Available as an SLA-backed, fully managed IBM Cloud service, Cloudant elastically scales throughput and storage independently. Cloudant is also available as a downloadable on-premises installation, and its API and powerful replication protocol are compatible with an open source ecosystem that includes CouchDB, PouchDB and libraries for the most popular web and mobile development stacks.

IBM Cloudant Features

NoSQL Databases Features
Has featurePerformance
Has featureAvailability
Has featureConcurrency
Has featureSecurity
Has featureScalability
Has featureData model flexibility
Has featureDeployment model flexibility

IBM Cloudant Video

IBM Cloudant Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

IBM Cloudant Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese/Brazil, Spanish, Chinese Simplified, Chinese Traditional