IBM Cloudant

IBM Cloudant

Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 9.1 out of 100
Top Rated
IBM Cloudant

Overview

Recent Reviews

Great experience with Cloudant

10 out of 10
April 29, 2021
To deploy an application with continuous delivery using NodeJS and Cloudant in IBM cloud. The entire organization of almost 1000 people …
Continue reading

Win-Win for IBM Cloud

9 out of 10
April 18, 2021
We were using IBM Cloudant as our cloud storage platform for a project where we were collecting real-time environmental data. Later, we …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2022

Popular Features

View all 7 features

Security (18)

9.1
91%

Availability (18)

9.1
91%

Performance (18)

8.7
87%

Concurrency (18)

8.6
86%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of IBM Cloudant, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Standard

$1

Cloud
per month per GB of storage above the included 20 GB

Standard

$75

Cloud
per month 100 reads/second ; 50 writes/second ; 5 global queries/second

Lite

Free

Cloud
20 reads/second ; 10 writes/second ; 5 global queries / second ; 1 GB of storage capacity

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://cloudant.com/product/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Features Scorecard

NoSQL Databases

8.9
89%

Product Details

What is IBM Cloudant?

IBM Cloudant is a distributed database that is optimized for handling heavy workloads that are typical of large, fast-growing web and mobile apps. Available as an SLA-backed, fully managed IBM Cloud service, Cloudant elastically scales throughput and storage independently. Cloudant is also available as a downloadable on-premises installation, and its API and powerful replication protocol are compatible with an open source ecosystem that includes CouchDB, PouchDB and libraries for the most popular web and mobile development stacks.

IBM Cloudant Features

NoSQL Databases Features

  • Supported: Performance
  • Supported: Availability
  • Supported: Concurrency
  • Supported: Security
  • Supported: Scalability
  • Supported: Data model flexibility
  • Supported: Deployment model flexibility

IBM Cloudant Video

IBM Cloudant is a distributed database that is optimized for handling heavy workloads that are typical of large, fast-growing web and mobile apps. Available as an SLA-backed, fully managed IBM Cloud service, Cloudant elastically scales throughput and storage independently. Clo...
 Show More

IBM Cloudant Competitors

IBM Cloudant Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo
Supported LanguagesEnglish, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese/Brazil, Spanish, Chinese Simplified, Chinese Traditional

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is IBM Cloudant?

Cloudant is an open source non-relational, distributed database service that requires zero-configuration. It's based on the Apache-backed CouchDB project and the creator of the open source BigCouch project. Cloudant's service provides integrated data management, search, and analytics engine designed for web applications. Cloudant scales your database on the CouchDB framework and provides hosting, administrative tools, analytics and commercial support for CouchDB and BigCouch. Cloudant is often considered part of a new generation of 'NoSQL' databases that don't require fixed table schemas and is challenging the dominance of traditional relational databases (including the popular MySQL).

What is IBM Cloudant's best feature?

Reviewers rate Scalability and Deployment model flexibility highest, with a score of 9.6.

Who uses IBM Cloudant?

The most common users of IBM Cloudant are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Computer Software industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 42)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Michael Adler | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Cloudant like I use Couchdb. Each user has a database and I like the ease of use with authentication as well as falling back on Couchdb defaults if wanting to do so. I deal with real-time wait data and use pouchdb to handle my front end.
  • Ease of use coming from Couchdb - views, indexes, auth, revisions
  • Uptime has been excellent
  • Replication with ease
  • Better branding - People not used to using IBM services don’t know that Cloudant [was] built around Couchdb.
  • Documentation can be done a bit more organized (some are very old) and do share more of [the] fallback features that Couchdb supplies and what is offered too. I have to sometimes look deep to find out things like fallback auth to use Couchdb auth users for example. Simple stuff.
  • I honestly over time have really no other issues and they aren’t anything extensive since I know Couchdb well.
  • I [have] been happy so far.
I work in Erlang stack so Couchdb and Rabbitmq are my go-to tech stack. In this area, I highly recommend [it], it is easy.
Familiar area so it saves time of course!
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used the IBM Cloudant in two scenarios: One, for a simple place to persist text to be displayed in a chatbot that played nicely with the rest of our IBM Cloud stack, particularly with IBM Cloud Functions; and the other, a database with a simple enough query language for non-engineers to learn — which should also work nicely with IBM Cloud Functions and have a built-in, easy to use GUI
  • Integration with Cloud Functions
  • Included GUI for non-engineers
  • Fixed, throughput/expected use-based pricing
  • Better documentation
  • Expensive pricing for very small projects
  • Better tabular views
Our organization found Cloudant most suitable if One, a fixed pricing structure would make the most sense, for example in a situation where the project Cloudant is being used in makes its revenue in procurement or fixed retainer — thus the predictability of costs is paramount; Two, where you need to frequently edit the data and/or share access to the query engine to non-engineers — this is where the GUI shines.
Not having to manually manage sharding, clusters, and other database maintenance operations significantly reduced the manpower requirement for projects that employ Cloudant. It is among a class of databases where it "just works." Predicting costs is also much easier since it is fixed and billed in throughput in terms of requests per second, thus subsequently reducing the time it takes to create costings and [prices] for our own products and services using Cloudant.
September 22, 2021

IBM Cloudant review

Jagmeet singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our department uses IBM Cloudant as a distributed NoSQL database solution for web-based applications. IBM Cloudant allows rapid writes of unstructured JSON data received on a second-by-second basis also it is NoSQL so it is not required to take care of [the] schema of the table application. It also allows effective use of map-reduce to aggregate results out of collections defined within IBM Cloudant databases, allowing for millions of records to be aggregated and used effectively for analytics and reporting.
  • IBM Cloudant allows rapid writes of unstructured JSON data received on a second-by-second basis.
  • It also allows effective use of map-reduce to aggregate results out of collections defined within IBM Cloudant databases, allowing for millions of records to be aggregated and used effectively for analytics and reporting.
  • Simple and straight forward to use and embed into the application.
  • Limited support/documentation for programming languages such as Python, Perl, and R.
  • Time to index large databases needs to be improved.
IBM Cloudant is useful when some applications require [a] powerful NoSQL database where performance analytics is the key to business. It will be less appropriate where storage sizes of [an] application [are] huge as pricing on storage sizes as database size increases exponentially.
We are very impressed with [IBM] Cloudant's flexibility as it allows effective use of map-reduce to aggregate results out of collections defined within IBM Cloudant databases, allowing for millions of records to be aggregated and used effectively for analytics and reporting.
John Luton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have primarily used [IBM] Cloudant to facilitate academic and non-profit research.
  • It’s a very powerful tool!
  • I never worry about the security and safety of data.
  • Data is easily retrieved for analysis.
  • No suggestions for improvement
[IBM Cloudant is] perfect for data storage and peace of mind for security and safety.
I haven’t really benefited from this since our numbers are still relatively small.
Ramindu Deshapriya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses IBM Cloudant as a distributed NoSQL database solution for implementation on client applications in the Internet of Things space. IBM Cloudant allows rapid writes of unstructured JSON data received from IoT devices on a second-by-second basis. It also allows effective use of map-reduce to aggregate results out of collections defined by within IBM Cloudant databases, allowing for millions of records to be aggregated and used effectively for analytics and reporting.
  • Rapid writes
  • Map reduce
  • High storage capacity
  • High availability
  • Time to index large databases needs to be improved
  • Could use more structure in terms of separating entities within a database
  • Better pricing on storage sizes as database size increases exponentially
IBM Cloudant is the best implementation of CouchDB, or any NoSQL database that you could use if you are looking for a database that can handle extremely rapid writes to a database without having to worry about transactional integrity. IBM Cloudant also abstracts out CouchDB's replication/multi-node requirements and ensures high availability on its own. It also allows map-reduce based indexing which will allow massive databases to be aggregated and queried very quickly. It should not be used in cases where you require structured data which is organized according to a schema, or if you want to maintain ACID database properties.
We have achieved a great deal of savings on building out scaling capability through using IBM Cloudant. Scaling CouchDB databases can be very effort-intensive and expensive to manage in the long run due to various issues and unknown bugs. IBM Cloudant takes care of the scaling and operational aspect of managing a CouchDB database through their provided service. We have seen this to be a huge cost benefit for our teams.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IBM Cloudant for the hospital mobile health application. We also use IBM Cloudant as our primary database backup system and I can say everything has been working well. The IBM Cloudant uptime and search features are what make it best as our database backup system. IBM Cloudant delivers high-level service.
  • Perfect query interface
  • Great uptime
  • The support team is amazing
  • Great documentation
  • Easy setup
  • Less IBM Cloudant database management features
  • The analytic reports seems off to me
  • Downloading data from IBM Cloudant [I feel] can sometimes be a painful process.
A good scenario where IBM Cloudant is irresistible is when you are an international company and have web and mobile-based applications - accessing data will be easy thanks to the global availability of IBM Cloudant. It will be easy to connect to the closest data center.
Another scenario is where you have mobile and web-based apps and/or want to have a data backup system - IBM Cloudant works perfectly well.
By being fully managed, as the lead IT team I can relax and focus on other things because I do not have to worry about scaling, maintenance, operations. Even in case of problems, I can get notified - we haven't experienced problems yet.
Jerry Ebherson Sanchez Aguado | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Cloudant is used to have a central repository of clients' databases to which information generated in different branches that have local Couchdb deployments arrivals. In this way, we manage to have the data synchronized in all of them through continuous replication.
  • The response time for bi-directional syncs with the Couchdb engine is excellent.
  • The statistics provided by Cloudant allow us to make decisions about the implementation of new features or improvements over existing ones in future versions of our software, allowing us to continuously optimize processes.
  • Improvement in the documentation of some client libraries, such as the Cloudant library for Java.
The deployment for bidirectional replications in the database through Cloudant is the scenario that we have used the most and with which we are very satisfied.
Considerable time savings have been achieved, and that time and the human resources that manage it have been turned to the attention of new services within the business line, which has resulted in an increase in our profits.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
To deploy an application with continuous delivery using NodeJS and Cloudant in IBM cloud. The entire organization of almost 1000 people has used these services to develop and deploy the services. This is a great platform to create continuous delivery mode applications. Cloudant is a very important database in the IBM Cloud to make connections for all applications in the cloud. Great experience with the Cloudant database.
  • Continuous delivery process
  • Development easy
  • Deployment easy
  • Testing also done
  • It is an automated process
  • No issues
It is the best service to create web applications in a continuous delivery model.
There is less chance of downtime for applications when we develop and manage an application with continuous delivery mode.
Nicolas Peeters | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cloudant allows us to scale our data layer without worrying about the operations side of things to manage such a big cluster. Cloudant is the main database system for our company. It's business critical for our company and our many customers rely on its performance on a daily basis to perform their activities.
  • Scale your data layer without issues.
  • Great support team.
  • Very few operational problems
  • No detailed monitoring (which views are used or not, performance metrics) on top of the basic stuff provided by CouchDB
  • No playground environment to test some very large map/reduce queries (and therefore any changes in the design have to reindex the whole DB).
  • Pricing is quite steep
  • No integrated backup features, as you'd expect from an enterprise product
It is less suited for reporting. Reporting is an issue. This is a general issue with document-based NoSQL systems, but there's no real solution provided by IBM for this (apart from "dump to a SQL database"). It's very well suited for a document-based system and we of course rely very much on the replication capabilities.
Yes, Cloudant operations team manages the underlying systems on our behalf and the support team is very helpful and proactive. They monitoring when the system is reaching some critical metrics. Some operations like automated backups and exports for reporting are still up to our team, though.
Very happy by the commitment given by the team which has been really good over the last 7 years of usage.
  • Online training
Because it's very intuitive, if you a familiar with the core CouchDB concepts.
In general, Cloudant feels very stable with large volumes of data (specifically with the multi-tenant setup). It allows us to scale our growth in the terms of transactions (summer months in our operation) without too many headaches.

- Pure response time speed is actually something to be improved.
- The performance of the Dashboard (especially with a lot of databases) needs improvement.

There are a few cases where we noticed issues: some replication jobs were not properly triggered (this is a long standing issue that we are dealing with with the support team).
April 18, 2021

Win-Win for IBM Cloud

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were using IBM Cloudant as our cloud storage platform for a project where we were collecting real-time environmental data. Later, we used this raw data for data manipulation and data visualization. The data was collected using a physical custom-made IOT sensor that was connected to IBM Cloud. The purpose of this product was to aid impact investors to make guided, data backed decisions.
  • Easy collaboration with IBM Cloud.
  • Data easily downloadable in required format.
  • Easy to use UI.
  • More flexibility in displaying data stored.
  • More ways of visualizing data.
  • Performing data manipulation options.
It is greatly suited when working on IBM Cloud due to its easy connectivity and synchronization.
The scope of our project was never grand enough to to observe the effect of scale. But, with whatever we worked around, it performed seamlessly.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cloudant to store production data used in analytics/machine learning models. We run an agricultural management platform to help farmers improve efficiency and reduce risk.
  • Easily accessible via the IBM Cloud dashboard.
  • Ease of integration with IoT and analytics products.
  • Decent interface
  • Poor backup and recovery tools.
  • Not easy to sort data.
Ease of integration with IBM Cloud services. Poor data management capability.
We have saved time with ease of integration. Need to explore more pros and cons in a production environment.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cloudant for replicate data from our Blockchain platform. With Cloudant we can make queries and reports for our managers that want to see how the transactions in blockchain are working. It's very user friendly and it's stable too. Without it we did not have any visibility of the transactions.
  • User Friendly
  • High availability
  • High tolerance
  • Load Balancing
  • Manage blob objects
  • Client APIs
If you want to replicate other databases and make them available for reports or for APIs to query data. Without these solutions, all development will not work. Its a very good product with great customer support from IBM, in many ways help us improve the performance of the queries that our application use
I did not receive these benefits. It's very stable but we have to monitor like any other instances, I think there is no service that can self monitor itself.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IBM Cloudant primarily in our Watson IoT Platform, in combination with IBM Cloud Pak and Node-Red to receive and store IoT sensor data. It is used across a significant part of our organization, since we are an IBM Business partner for the entire IBM Maximo software stack. Everywhere IOT or Predictive Maintenance Insights is involved we make use of WIOTP in combination with IBM Cloudand.
  • Watson IoT Platform--ease of use
  • IBM Cloud Pak and Cloud Foundry apps--fast service connection
  • Fast recovery
  • Easy to merge databases
  • API connectivity especially in combination with Node-Red causes too many connectivity errors / token errors.
  • Sometimes it is difficult to store images (BLOB files). We always need to figure out how it was working. A better guidance/instruction on this would be appreciated
When you need fast and easy use of Cloudant, we recommend to use IBM Cloudant as a simple GUI-based data storage tool. IBM Cloudant can do much more and has an impressive backbone. Of cause it isn't comparable with a database like DB2, but is enough for storage of, for instance, IOT data.
The ease of use leads to fast implementation. Even with less knowledge, a consultant is able to have a fast start based on the combination of IBM Cloud Pak and integrated IBM Cloudant services.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cloudant is being used as the main storage system for all my current projects. Being able to easily retrieve and publish data to Cloudant over a standard and proven protocol has made it much easier to implement storage in any language and system required. Having such easily available storage has sped up the entire development process greatly.
  • Support has been great addressing any issues.
  • The documentation is very easy and straight forward to follow.
  • The many storage locations and migration capabilities allow for quick and easy access to data wherever needed.
  • Not supporting temporary views can be limiting at times.
Do you need to provide easy access to data directly to end users?
Do you need remote storage with easy to follow documentation?
Do you already use NoSQL in any other projects?
Is JSON the data you wish to be able to storage and index easily?
Do you need to be able to easily replicate your database stores?
Do you need to share your database with multiple users?
At this time I have only compared Cloudant to my previously (self hosted) deployment of MongoDB. Using Cloudant was the clear and superior choice when deciding between the two. When using Cloudant I've not had to worry about sharding or server down time. When comparing response times and hardware requirements Cloudant has far surpassed MongoDB with speed and storage availability. With the multi-cloud deployment system of Cloudant coupled with the geo balancing allows for content to be quickly available anywhere.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm using Cloudant as a persistent backend to a web app that leverages PouchDB. It is easy to query and seamlessly synchronizes the app data to the cloud.
  • Easy to configure and operate through the GUI.
  • Seamless replication to CouchDB (like PouchDB).
  • The multi-tentant option is free for low utilization (HTTP requests and storage).
  • Instant database compaction on multi-tenant.
Cloudant is easy to use and has a high adherence to CouchDB-like databases, which is awesome for those moving into the NoSQL space.
Nice interface, easy to use, easy to interact through API.
It was built to be scalable, so it couldn't get any better on this.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used IBM Cloudant as a distributed, fully managed JSON database for IoT use cases. API integration was a must, and all the support to Apache CouchDB made a positive difference. Overall support and documentation from IBM Cloudant were satisfactory, as well as pricing. Global availability was generally good, except for China. Availability and SLAs were never a problem and the platform has always been stable.
  • API integration and support through CouchDB standards.
  • Managed Services.
  • Global availability, especially in Asia.
  • IBM Cloudant support is generally robust, but in some occasions we had to find solutions by ourselves.
IBM Cloudant is generally a good tool for a NonSQL, document oriented Database as a Service. It is very scalable and reliable, and managed services through IBM seems to be working well. You can consider as almost no lock-in since it is based on CouchDB API structures and you can migrate to any other provider in the future if needed. If you need real Global Availability, like Asia / China you may need to look for alternatives.
Since it is a Database as a Service offer on IBM Cloud, you do not have to worry about basic infrastructure, provisioning and performance metrics. The user interface could improve but it is not a problem. So basically you can expect the promise of lower TCO to come to life in this case. In general no availability issues - so very minimal support cost.
November 11, 2019

IBM Cloudant is great!

Brandon Stephan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cloudant as an IBM proposed DB solution for dedicated cloud foundry IBM cloud environments. The initial structure is for a weird implementation to use Cloudant, as we are using it as a cache for some middle life data. I know cache is not the right implementation for Cloudant, but it offered database sync between datacenters.
  • For us, performance and scalability is the key, and Cloudant DB backed by CouchDB is scalable and performant.
  • IBM Cloudant dB is very easy to provision for sandbox, development, QA as well as production.
  • Limited support for popular programming languages such as Python, Perl, and R.
  • No support for SQL.
  • No support for XML.
  • The lack of memory capabilities.
We use it across the board. We are a cloud-based solution provider and our products are deployed on the IBM cloud and we used IBM Cloudant as a database (persistent) storage. We use it across the board to store anything that needs persistent storage, from text to images and document attachments as well.
Features like replication, monitoring, and ease of operation have been the key benefits. Also, the ability to work with JSON natively is also a big plus.
Saket Nalegaonkar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, it's being used by our E-commerce Team, which spans all our digital solutions. It's currently used along with the Node-Red instance hosted within the IBM environment with multiple such instances supporting multiple Cloudant databases for all the database and storage-related facilities. IBM Cloudant helps manage it and is a very easy to adapt format helping with quick deployments.
  • It is NoSQL
  • It has better performance than Mongo Atlas
  • Queries are easy to use and support for views is also helpful
  • Speed of searching through records can be improved.
  • Some ML to predict enhancement in queries can surely help IBM and clients mutually target optimal solutions.
  • Views accepting multiple parameters.
It is currently being used by our e-commerce team, which spans all our digital solutions. Used along with the node-red instance hosted within the IBM environment. With multiple such instances supporting multiple Cloudant databases for all storage/database facilities, it is very easy to manage.
Monitoring the execution time and optimizing based on that has surely helped.
August 29, 2019

Best for mobile

Victor Pease Solano | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cloudant is the database for all our mobile applications with offline-first architecture, and it's the best option to keep everything synced and secure.

This is the best way to use CouchDB, because Cloudant adds the authorization layer required for a real live app, and also the infinite capacity with the flexibility to grow from $0 to whatever is required according to the amount of users you need to support.

Also, we have now using Cloudant as the main database for data capture apps and the source for all our catalogs in order to free resources from our rdbms system.

Finally, considering CouchDB is part of Bluemix, you will have the chance to grow, adding on more services for your app.
  • Authentication improved with the API keys
  • Synchronization with https, which means secure and trustable syncs
  • Scale in a transparent way
  • Free start with the $50 allowance makes Cloudant the best way to start
  • It would be nice to have a way to import bulk data
  • There must be a better way to check usage. There are a lot of transactions not shown in the actual report
  • There must be a way to reset a db -- a way to set the actual data as the base and eliminate all deleted docs
Cloudant is best suited for offline first apps, with a library on the client -- you can have a completely synced environment in no time with data isolation per user and everything.

It is not so good for report apps or to handle too much structured data, because the Cloudant query can turn in something tricky, specially if your data model gets complicated.
  • Online training
  • Self-taught
cloudant adds some features to improve security and data query like tokens and cloudant query that really adds a lot of power to these features over the standard CouchDB. also you can integrate your data into a relational schema using ibm dashdb for data analysis. everything is in the right place
Because of the offline-first architecture, most of the transactions are handled on the client, requiring less power on the server. Also, because it's plain http, the overload on the client is almost nothing.

Cost and performance is in balance using Cloudant as a backend compared with other hosted solutions.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cloudant as an IBM proposed DB solution for dedicated cloud foundry IBM cloud environments. The initial structure is for a weird implementation to use Cloudant, as we are using it as a cache for some middle life data. I know cache is not a right implementation for Cloudant, but it offered a database sync between datacenters.
  • Cross datacenters sync
  • Quick sync performance and data transfer
  • Some pretty high add/update response time
  • We had some issues with concurrent data saving/reading
  • Due to CouchDB implementation the purge of some database field requires a copy of the desired fields to a new database
  • Could find an easier way to assign access permission
As a incremental database I think the best use case is to store a sequential path of data events - like transactions storage.
We achieved a time saving milestone due to the automation of the maintenance. Due the company policy we implemented an external application for that but Rest API gave us the ability to do that. The support is being reduced to minimal as this app is taking care of routine tasks daily.
February 22, 2019

IBM Cloudant Experience

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used as a noSQL database across the organization for big data analytics and is used amongst other things for text analytics as it permits unlimited index fields.
  • Coudant allows unlimited secondary index fields when compared to others that have certain limitations.
  • Cloudant also has the ability to do bi-directional sync for replication and synchronization.
  • Cloudant can run on bare metal and virtual machines.
  • Cloudant can also be deployed in multi-user or private cloud environments.
  • very easy to program and build apps
  • Sometimes, there are no slower response times [than] when trying to pull records - I mean that slowness is in terms of milli-seconds :-)
  • I wish it has in memory computing capability
  • XML is still not supported by this product
Cloudant is best suited for highly scalable environments as it comes with data base as a service. It has more flexibility than some of the other noSQL databases and the response time to pull data is much faster than others. It is easy to stage and get started for both test and production environment. It also has graph data base capability.
THis data base is meant for those that require a highly scalable data base without losing speed.
February 15, 2019

Cloudant Review

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Cloudant as part of a CEAN stack for various different prototypes that we build for different clients, we mainly use Cloudant because it is hosted in the cloud and has a free tier for when we are only experimenting.
  • Adding and deleting documents in the UI is intuitive
  • The UI is helpful for managing the data
  • It is hosted on the cloud and doesn’t require much set up to get going
  • The @Cloudant/Cloudand npm SDK has very limited functionality when compared to MongoDB, the Cloudant queries that can be made with JSON is good however, but it is not obvious from the start that you can do this.
The key for us is to see examples of this database being used at scale to show that it is a proven technology and also examples of where a NoSQL DB is best used
February 14, 2019

Cloudant Rocks!

Deepak Kaul | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a cloud based solution provider and our products are deployed on the IBM cloud and we used IBM Cloudant as a database (persistent) storage. We use it across the board to store anything that needs persistent storage, from text to images and document attachments as well.
  • Strong query interface, IBM Cloudant provides a very robust and flexible query interface allowing us to write simple as well as complex queries.
  • Performance, for the most part we have been happy with the performance of the Cloudant database
  • Simple and straight forward. Ability to roll out the instances quickly and with a simple interface has been important for us.
  • The shared instances of Cloudant can have better isolation mechanisms. We have had instances where the performance of our instance was negatively impacted because other instances on the same node were taking more resources.
  • Better conflict resolution. Cloudant should take away some complexity of conflict resolution from the application. Today the application has to manage most of that complexity.
Ideal for unstructured data and where data elements are self-contained for the most part. For relational-type data, Cloudant presents some challenges.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cloudant DB is utilized in our organization in cooperation with IBM IOT platform to monitor supply chain for our disaster relief solution. Cloudant is also used to collect user reports and is used as a data dump for Watson learning to use for improving and also used for analytics.
  • It’s fast to setup and go
  • Good support for NodeJS
  • Integrates super easy with microservices
  • Documentation
  • Support for SQL
IBM is suited for development POCs as it's extremely easy to get it up and running. Less suited to handle sequential data such as login info and such
Naresh Jasotani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Cloudant DB is currently being used at 2 of our customers' places. The implementation is more confined to a couple of departments / function areas of the organization, but surely they are looking to adopt it on a bigger scale. The DB hosts not only their custom-built vendor onboarding applications, but also supports a portion of their intranet portal to manage a lot of employee related non-HR information like events, knowledge bases, quizzes application etc. They are looking to migrate data and applications from other databases to IBM Cloudant DB.
  • For us, performance and scalability is the key, and Cloudant DB backed by CouchDB is scalable and performant.
  • IBM Cloudant dB is very easy to provision for sandbox, development, QA as well as production.
  • Support for Java for CouchDB app server analytics enables a greater control for over developers.
  • Schema free oriented very easy to program and build applications on it.
  • We love it!!
  • Lacks in-memory capabilities
  • Limited support for programming languages like Python, R, Perl
  • No XML support
  • No SQL support :(
Applications where concurrency and durability are more important as compared to in-memory functionalities, IBM Cloudant DB is recommended. For us, the key question is to have Java and C# programming support on the database, for building applications, however if Python, Perl or R support is required, then IBM Cloudant DB may not be an intelligent choice.