TrustRadius
Cloudant is an open source non-relational, distributed database service that requires zero-configuration. It's based on the Apache-backed CouchDB project and the creator of the open source BigCouch project. Cloudant's service provides integrated data management, search, and analytics engine designed for web applications. Cloudant scales your database on the CouchDB framework and provides hosting, administrative tools, analytics and commercial support for CouchDB and BigCouch. Cloudant is often considered part of a new generation of 'NoSQL' databases that don't require fixed table schemas and is challenging the dominance of traditional relational databases (including the popular MySQL).https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/5H/l9/OGC6RXS5HMT6.PNGIBM Cloudant, Great Managed NoSQL at Significant CostMy organization had a need to store a moderate amount data for an insurance client. Our data storage solution needed to be flexible enough to support our BI solution as well as any in-house web apps the client might develop to their claims department. It also needed to be limited in the additional DBA overhead required to operate it. That is why my organization chose IBM Cloudant because it was able to meet the BI need, the needs of the web stack developers, and the DBA were kept happy too.,We had a small data mart project that required the storage of some rather highly connected data that also had a relatively small footprint. This made IBM Cloudant an obvious choice because we could store the data in a data structure that met our project need al while using a platform that our web development team understood and was comfortable with. We had a bunch of geospatial data that we needed for analysis. Having GeoJSON being natively supported by Cloudant made it an easy choice. Cloudant was cloud-based and didn't require a DBA support it, this allowed the project to move ahead without pushback from the infrastructure team.,It was only after we went with the cloud-based solution that IBM rolled out an on-premise version. We found that a 3rd-party ODBC driver was required for a few applications that needed to pull data out of Cloudant. The sales process was difficult because the salesperson we used was not as versed on Cloudant as I had hoped.,6,The simple fact that we could spin up a Cloudant instance quickly in the cloud without the need to procure hardware and software allowed the project to start sooner than what is typical. Being fully-managed the IT department was able to keep staffing levels the same and not have to send a bunch of people off to training.,Cloudant allowed us to implement a project faster due to it being fully managed and basically a plug-and-play type data store. Being fully managed meant that we spent a fair bit of time on the phone yelling at IBM Support because they didn't know jack about how to solve the issues we ran into/ Overall Cloudant worked for us because the project timeline and budget allowed for more money to be spent on services rather than hardware (OpEx vs CapEx).,MongoDB and Microsoft SQL Server,No,Product Features Prior Experience with the Product Vendor Reputation Existing Relationship with the Vendor,The one thing we would change is by having more technologies to evaluate. The NoSQL market is flush right now with options, but during the build-up to our project, Cloudant seemed to be the one solution that management could be comfortable with.Cloudant is a great choice for DBaaS for mobile apps on multiple platforms and devices...We use Cloudant as our online cloud database solution for our mobile health app. Our solution had to work cross platform with Android and iOS and allow syncing to local databases for offline use. Cloudant allowed for easy integration into our stack with very little setup. By not having to worry about converting between database architectures we were able to focus our development time on building features into our app.,Easy Setup Simple API's Great Documentation Open Standards / Works with CouchDB and mobile PouchDB,Built in live listeners to watch for data changes would be a nice addition,10,Our mobile app runs on a wide variety of devices, many only supporting SQL databases to limited capacity, and some are under-powered for their use in offline storage modes. It was very important our app be usable offline but still have the most current medical information available to update when connection was re-established. The types of queries being conducted on older and under powered devices lead a NoSQL solution in our stack as a positive choice to enhance the user experience. Ultimately the ability to sync without converting data structures between 4 completely different technologies has been the greatest benefit of using Cloudant for our NoSQL solution,9,We have saved a tremendous amount of time. Cloudant works out of the box with practically no setup to create your first database. The time it would take me to just spool up a AWS server is the amount of time it takes to start putting data into your DB. I would spend hours more installing node/git/couch on a linux AWS server, configuring ports and routing tables, not to mention time updating and maintaining the server (both from an O/S security standpoint and from database management perspective). IBM Cloudant really just made it simple to check off DBaaS off our production todo list.,Firebase and Amazon DynamoDB,Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service), IBM Bluemix, OpenShift, GitHub, NetBeans, Amazon DynamoDB, Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2), GoDaddy, FatCow, Google Analytics, Kissmetrics, Mixpanel, HeapFlexible data transportation HUB without structure constraintsCloudant NoSQL DB based on JSON is the foundation of our SaaS software solutions proposed in SaaS when the aim is document centric. Our last implementation was the Tracking & Tracing service offered in SaaS via IBM Bluemix, where all actors authorized can post their JSON docs in a very easy way without the constraint of one specific schema, and can retrieve or update the documents with RESTFul APIs that trace the "status" of each document. Cloudant's flexibility helps in adding the data "views" even after the document creation, and this opens a new way to design documents, freeing them from relational constraints. The replication function allows you to have in real time the same copy of docs updated in other Cloudant databases - even geographically distributed. Some interesting embedded features such as the Geo Query, based on the standard Geo-JSON specification, open the way to the development of location awareness solutions without the hassles to manage the geometry of the geo-map searching.,Managing different documents in JSON format: every well formed structure of JSON docs are stored without a previous data schema support. Queu reviews: are the power map-reduce functions applying after the documents ingestion. Replication: powerful and easy DevOps function to save, copy or back up the data from one Cloudant DB to another in synchronizing way even between different sites geographically distributed. The automatic creation of Data Warehouse relational DB DashDB for Analytics from NoSQL is one of the [most] invaluable features ever found. The SDP-Schema Discovery Process is really unleashing the power of JSON schema-less into structured relational DB ready for all analytic tools without any programming intervention. The API GEO call based on GeoJSON structure, is one of the features that has been much more awaited in the "location awareness" application now implicit in quite all applications from marketing to logistics. The GEO API is built by the query options making the geo search application integration more easy than ever.,To have a sort of LUW - Logical Unit Work when many documents are involved into a single update process. The changing of one document is related to its status information but it must be synchronized with all the other documents involved in the process.,10,Using a traditional application based on a relational DB schema would have been impossible due to the agnostic nature of our application where all stakeholders can insert documents with own data inside without any support by DB Administrators. We have defined a specific tag "Custom Fields" where data can be accepted with content and different structures (JSON formatted of course) controlled by the Cloudant engine itself. The schema-less nature of Cloudant was the winning choice against other traditional solutions where any new data structure has to be pre-defined.,10,We have achieved huge time savings! The only action we do is verify that the system is up and running in normal fashion, because we no longer have to perform all the tasks covered by the "as-a-service" formula.,CouchDB, Couchbase Server and MongoDB,IBM dashDB, MySQL, Microsoft SQL Server, PostgreSQLI traded self-hosted for CloudantCloudant started off as our database backup system, replicating from our production servers to the Cloudant service. We were configured to fail over to them in the event of a local database outage. Cloudant's uptime and search features were so impressive, we switched over to using them as our primary backbone, with replication now going to a different set of servers. Cloudant delivered a high level of service, and we were able to grow as a result.,Outstanding query interface Full text searching! Remarkable uptime and support,I would love to able to have more performance advice on my database.,10,When we were spec'ing out the product that we needed to build, we realized that we were going to have free-form document-oriented data coming in. We were dealing with invoices, and that meant that an arbitrary set of fields and values was going to occur on each and every document. Cloudant's CouchDB backbone made storing, editing, and reading that data easy.,10,Absolutely. Prior to starting with Cloudant, I was spending at least 1-2 hours per week on the DevOps requirements and responsibilities of maintaining my existing self-hosted CouchDB solution. Switching to Cloudant meant that my administration time went from two hours to about five minutes per week double-checking that replication was happening. And it always was. I checked in because it was the responsible thing to do, not because I had any worries about Cloudant's capabilities or service.,In this scenario, the beauty of Cloudant’s utilization of CouchDB’s HTTP API is apparent. Your mobile app can use your Cloudant instance as its backend data source, completely removing the need to have a separate backend to serve up user and product data to the individual clients. This can save on development and deployment time, developer cost, and allow you a flexibility to iterate the mobile client without having to invest infrastructure and devops costs into heavy iteration of your API service. Cloudant provides clean, secure, and fast access to your company’s data.,irisCouch and mlab,Bluehost, Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service), PostgreSQLCloudant - Build more. Sleep more.We use Cloudant as our primary data store for a marketplace solution.,Cloudant is flexible and fast. From basic document storage, to aggregate data requests, to creating graph data models, Cloudant was flexible enough to handle it. Cloudant events every record change enabling an easy way to event everything. The Cloudant support team is fantastic.,At the time, filtered replication is sub-optimal for large data sets. This will improve over time. The divide (cost & performance) from tenant to dedicated is a bit wide for startups.,9,We switched to one data source per service, therefore, a lot of the relational data with ad-hoc queries went away. The NoSQL solution allowed us to be more flexible in the way we handled our data. Thus, we were able to go to market faster and iterate quicker than what we would normally achieve in a traditional database. Additionally, Cloudant enabled us to not worry about scaling.,10,Cloudant allows me to sleep at night. I never worry about maintenance, operations, scaling, etc. I can easily see and be notified of potential problems -- though we never had one. On the rare occasion there was a service interruption, Cloudant was on top of it before I could notify them. There is very little time required by my team to think about database operations, which gives us more time to build revenue making features.,Couchbase Server, CouchDB, MongoDB, PostgreSQL and OrientDB,PostgreSQL, Redis, Elasticsearch
Linux
IBM Cloudant
49 Ratings
Score 6.5 out of 101
TRScore

IBM Cloudant Reviews

IBM Cloudant
49 Ratings
Score 6.5 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 49 vetted IBM Cloudant reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-22 of 22)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
March 30, 2018

Review: "IBM Cloudant, Great Managed NoSQL at Significant Cost"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization had a need to store a moderate amount data for an insurance client. Our data storage solution needed to be flexible enough to support our BI solution as well as any in-house web apps the client might develop to their claims department. It also needed to be limited in the additional DBA overhead required to operate it. That is why my organization chose IBM Cloudant because it was able to meet the BI need, the needs of the web stack developers, and the DBA were kept happy too.
  • We had a small data mart project that required the storage of some rather highly connected data that also had a relatively small footprint. This made IBM Cloudant an obvious choice because we could store the data in a data structure that met our project need al while using a platform that our web development team understood and was comfortable with.
  • We had a bunch of geospatial data that we needed for analysis. Having GeoJSON being natively supported by Cloudant made it an easy choice.
  • Cloudant was cloud-based and didn't require a DBA support it, this allowed the project to move ahead without pushback from the infrastructure team.
  • It was only after we went with the cloud-based solution that IBM rolled out an on-premise version.
  • We found that a 3rd-party ODBC driver was required for a few applications that needed to pull data out of Cloudant.
  • The sales process was difficult because the salesperson we used was not as versed on Cloudant as I had hoped.
The solution to store claims information worked for us, but the enterprise NoSQL market has expanded so much that we might not [have] used Cloudant had an alternative been available. Make sure you ask about ACID compliance and about what the difference between NoSQL and SQL databases are to that the IT managers understand why they are buying and how that differs from data solutions they've bought in the past.
Read this authenticated review
September 09, 2016

IBM Cloudant Review: "Cloudant is a great choice for DBaaS for mobile apps on multiple platforms and devices..."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cloudant as our online cloud database solution for our mobile health app. Our solution had to work cross platform with Android and iOS and allow syncing to local databases for offline use. Cloudant allowed for easy integration into our stack with very little setup. By not having to worry about converting between database architectures we were able to focus our development time on building features into our app.
  • Easy Setup
  • Simple API's
  • Great Documentation
  • Open Standards / Works with CouchDB and mobile PouchDB
  • Built in live listeners to watch for data changes would be a nice addition
If you are using MEAN stack and require a 3rd party cloud database it really is up there with firebase. Firebase has a couple extra features attached to its non-sql DB, and if you need those particular features then that might be a best choice. But if you don't, cloudant is far more open and most scripts and tools that work with CloudDB will work with cloudant. Firebase is far more proprietary which gives it a steeper learning curve also. Another thing to consider is how many different types of software will interact with your DB. If you are just building a web app and only one application needs the data then arguably the pros and cons against any hosted solution like Amazon Dynamo, Modulus (MongoDB), or Firebase is going to be minimal and subjective. But if you are using lots of different technologies and many different devices there is a major advantage to going with a less proprietary solution. You get all the compatibility of CouchDB but the reliability of having IBM behind your DBaaS.
Read Wes Wilson's full review
August 12, 2016

IBM Cloudant Review: "Flexible data transportation HUB without structure constraints"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Cloudant NoSQL DB based on JSON is the foundation of our SaaS software solutions proposed in SaaS when the aim is document centric. Our last implementation was the Tracking & Tracing service offered in SaaS via IBM Bluemix, where all actors authorized can post their JSON docs in a very easy way without the constraint of one specific schema, and can retrieve or update the documents with RESTFul APIs that trace the "status" of each document.

Cloudant's flexibility helps in adding the data "views" even after the document creation, and this opens a new way to design documents, freeing them from relational constraints.

The replication function allows you to have in real time the same copy of docs updated in other Cloudant databases - even geographically distributed. Some interesting embedded features such as the Geo Query, based on the standard Geo-JSON specification, open the way to the development of location awareness solutions without the hassles to manage the geometry of the geo-map searching.
  • Managing different documents in JSON format: every well formed structure of JSON docs are stored without a previous data schema support.
  • Queu reviews: are the power map-reduce functions applying after the documents ingestion.
  • Replication: powerful and easy DevOps function to save, copy or back up the data from one Cloudant DB to another in synchronizing way even between different sites geographically distributed.
  • The automatic creation of Data Warehouse relational DB DashDB for Analytics from NoSQL is one of the [most] invaluable features ever found. The SDP-Schema Discovery Process is really unleashing the power of JSON schema-less into structured relational DB ready for all analytic tools without any programming intervention.
  • The API GEO call based on GeoJSON structure, is one of the features that has been much more awaited in the "location awareness" application now implicit in quite all applications from marketing to logistics. The GEO API is built by the query options making the geo search application integration more easy than ever.
  • To have a sort of LUW - Logical Unit Work when many documents are involved into a single update process. The changing of one document is related to its status information but it must be synchronized with all the other documents involved in the process.
Cloudant is perfect when you have to manage fixed documents, but with different content and an articulated data hierarchy. Furthermore it maintains many document structures in one instance of the DB. Cloudant should be used when the document has a "lazy" life cycle (better if it is only based on its workflow status information) and it is not comparable to an OLTP system where the data is constantly being updated.
Read Romualdo Gobbo's full review
July 20, 2016

IBM Cloudant Review: "I traded self-hosted for Cloudant"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cloudant started off as our database backup system, replicating from our production servers to the Cloudant service. We were configured to fail over to them in the event of a local database outage. Cloudant's uptime and search features were so impressive, we switched over to using them as our primary backbone, with replication now going to a different set of servers. Cloudant delivered a high level of service, and we were able to grow as a result.
  • Outstanding query interface
  • Full text searching!
  • Remarkable uptime and support
  • I would love to able to have more performance advice on my database.
I always advocate for choosing to store data in a manner that represents how you are going to be querying it. If you need well-indexed, performant queries, then Cloudant is an outstanding backend DbAAS that will support your business needs. Cloudant also takes care of stale view indices and other common maintenance tasks for you.
Read Don Burks's full review
August 11, 2016

IBM Cloudant Review: "Cloudant - Build more. Sleep more."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cloudant as our primary data store for a marketplace solution.
  • Cloudant is flexible and fast. From basic document storage, to aggregate data requests, to creating graph data models, Cloudant was flexible enough to handle it.
  • Cloudant events every record change enabling an easy way to event everything.
  • The Cloudant support team is fantastic.
  • At the time, filtered replication is sub-optimal for large data sets. This will improve over time.
  • The divide (cost & performance) from tenant to dedicated is a bit wide for startups.
Cloudant is fairly robust. If you have changing data structures, loose data structures, logging, event storage, or need mobile syncing, Cloudant is a great fit. If you have very relational data that needs constant ad-hoc analysis, I would stick with traditional setups.
Read Justin Saul's full review
August 03, 2016

IBM Cloudant Review: "Cloudant: the best choice for my company"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cloudant with ACRA to track errors from our different mobile apps. Through Cloudant our company was able to optimize our workflow and make our apps better.
  • Cloudant is cloud. Through Cloudant our company was able to connect all of our services into a single database in a very easy and faster way. This made our maintenance and analysis about our services much easier.
  • Cloudant is elastic. This is very important in business today. We spend only what we really need and have used. Nothing more.
  • Cloudant is very easy. Our company was able to connect Cloudant with all of our services and apps very easily. In a few weeks Cloudant was completely integrated to our services.
  • Our company team is completely integrated with Cloudant. The service is great and any new feature will be welcome.
Cloudant is perfect for XaaS companies. The fit was just perfect for a company like ours, and we have improved our job since then.
Read Carlos Eduardo's full review
August 01, 2016

IBM Cloudant Review: "Short and sweet"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's our primary store for user-generated and transactional data.
  • Scalability.
  • Fast ingest rates.
  • Fault tolerance.
  • Great for building data pipelines (_changes streams).
  • I'd like to have an option of specifying a view (or multiple views) for the _changes stream that will be used to process the documents returned alongside changes (with include_docs=true)
  • Database-specific monitoring dashboards would be great.
  • Ability to tweak job priorities (on dedicated clusters).
Great when the primary objective is reliable and quick data storage. Not ideal for applications that require running complex, relational queries.
Read Kris Bandurski's full review
July 29, 2016

IBM Cloudant Review: "If it fits your need, you'll never have problems or complaints."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Cloudant to store call detail records for our faxing platform. The platform itself stores these records, but the API is not easy to query. So we take every single record and store them in Cloudant. This includes not only the basic sender and receiver information, but also per minute costs for each fax. This allows us to easily present incoming and outgoing faxes to our users via our client portal. It's also great for the billing department in that they can quickly query the recordings for profit and cost analysis.
  • It stores a very large amount of information very efficiently. Granted, we're just storing call detail records, but we're storing 200K records in 50MB.
  • Querying isn't as fancy as SQL-based databases. But if you know what you need and can get it in a view, it is very fast. I'm querying both date and phone number without any issues.
  • The UI for managing your databases is top notch. We can build views and searches, and query those with issues. This lets us refine and perfect our JS functions and queries very easily.
  • Search Queries. They work when they work, but some of the documentation is a tad confusing and the bookmark system of pagination is not great.
It's great for storing large datasets where you need to access records directly or can sort them into easily parseable lists. It's not good for complex queries. Don't think of it as a complete replacement for SQL. It fits certain needs, and SQL-like expression is not that.
Read Bryan Redeagle's full review
March 22, 2016

IBM Cloudant Review: "Best for mobile"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cloudant is the database for all our mobile applications with offline-first architecture, and it's the best option to keep everything synced and secure.

This is the best way to use CouchDB, because Cloudant adds the authorization layer required for a real live app, and also the infinite capacity with the flexibility to grow from $0 to whatever is required according to the amount of users you need to support.

Finally, considering CouchDB is part of Bluemix, you will have the chance to grow, adding on more services for your app.
  • Authentication improved with the API keys
  • Synchronization with https, which means secure and trustable syncs
  • Scale in a transparent way
  • Free start with the $50 allowance makes Cloudant the best way to start
  • It would be nice to have a way to import bulk data
  • There must be a better way to check usage. There are a lot of transactions not shown in the actual report
  • There must be a way to reset a db -- a way to set the actual data as the base and eliminate all deleted docs
Cloudant is best suited for offline first apps, with a library on the client -- you can have a completely synced environment in no time with data isolation per user and everything.

It is not so good for report apps or to handle too much structured data, because the Cloudant query can turn in something tricky, specially if your data model gets complicated.
Read Victor Pease Solano's full review
January 13, 2016

IBM Cloudant Review: "The best prices and easy from start to scale"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cloudant to store the data that can't be easily recreated.
  • I like that I can group multiple data objects into a single request to reduce the cost.
I haven't tried it at scale, but it was extremely easy to get started and works very well for what I am using it for. The low end price point can't be beat. Really, it's physically impossible without them paying me to use the site... now there is an idea! Thanks Cloudant
Read Peter Ivie's full review
January 04, 2016

IBM Cloudant Review: "6 months of Cloudant. So far so good ;)"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cloudant as storage for events data and logs for further analysis.
  • Scales well.
  • Full access via http is great!
  • I personally like replication to vanilla CouchDB to use it locally from time to time.
  • Downloading data from Cloudant is a pain. Feplication via http is slow.
  • I would add the ability to use external functions for Cloudant, as it's implemented in CouchDB.
Cloudant is good for storage for unstructured data and documents. I use it as alternative storage of raw events data (in addition to Localytics etc).
Read Denis Voloshko's full review
January 04, 2016

IBM Cloudant Review: "Scaling our data layer without headaches"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cloudant allows us to scale our data layer without worrying about the operations side of things to manage such a big cluster. Cloudant is the main database system for our company. It's totally business critical for our company and our many customers rely on its performance on a daily basis to perform their work.
  • Scale your data layer without issues.
  • Great support team.
  • Great documentation.
  • The Dashboard application is really slow and very hard to use to do any hard work.
  • No playground environment to test some very large map/reduce queries (and therefore any changes in the design have to reindex the whole DB).
  • Besides being slow, the Dashboard is actually less usable.
It is less suited for reporting. Reporting is an issue. This is a general issue with document-based NoSQL systems. This is also why Cloudant proposes to use DashDB. It's very well suited for a document-based system and we of course rely very much on the replication capabilities.
Read Nicolas Peeters's full review
January 04, 2016

IBM Cloudant Review: "Cloudant, great for ACRA"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We decided to use Cloudant to implement an error handling database using ACRA on our Android Applications. First we tested it with a new application; after our first experience we decided to use it across all developments.

We needed a repository suited for ACRA to alert on any crashes our applications could experience. We looked for information and Cloudant's name appeared.
  • Fair cost and possibility to stay on free usage program.
  • High availability. Our databases never ever experienced falls.
  • Fair documentation access. We could find tutorials across the web.
  • The learning curve could be a little tough if used for first time.
  • UI could be redundant and unintuitive in some cases (at least about 1 year ago).
  • Little integration with other tools
Scenarios for the best use of Cloudant in our opinion are:
* Error handling logs.
* Spacial log database.
* Audit logs.
* Chats and social databases.
If you need a cloud repository for anything, Cloudant will be there for you. You could ease the burden of your main database and use Cloudant for these use cases.
Read Miguel Angel Merino Vega's full review
January 04, 2016

IBM Cloudant Review: "Cloundant Just Works! The best for us: The API."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use cloudant as trustable path for a project associated with the Internet of Things. We control assets via a sensor and collect information about the gps position, their visibility and the time it has being registered. We save that in a local CouchDB database and use cloudant to replicate that information in a secure way.
  • Documentation. You really do well in that.
  • Reliability. We think IBM cloudant makes us feel secure with our data, we manage sensible information that we don't want to be open to the world.
  • Time. Everything can be done quickly. No too many configuration steps. The Cloudant API just works
  • Lack of a local version. We have to use alternatives as CouchDB or pouchdb.
  • The integration with other nosql databases should be easier.
  • Official wrappers for languages like python. That would be very useful.
I think that cloudant is appropriate everywhere you need to handle big quantities of data, and the confidentiality of that data is really important, and you need to keep the data organized with respect to several intricate variables. It would not be appropriate for small projects, or perhaps for projects were internet connectivity is an issue.
Read Jesús Aponte's full review
December 28, 2015

User Review: "IBM Cloudant Experience"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used as a noSQL database across the organization for big data analytics and is used amongst other things for text analytics as it permits unlimited index fields.
  • Coudant allows unlimited secondary index fields when compared to others that have certain limitations.
  • Cloudant also has the ability to do bi-directional sync for replication and synchronization.
  • Cloudant can run on bare metal and virtual machines.
  • Cloudant can also be deployed in multi-user or private cloud environments.
  • Sometimes, there are no slower response times [than] when trying to pull records - I mean that slowness is in terms of milli-seconds :-)
Cloudant is best suited for highly scalable environments as it comes with data base as a service. It has more flexibility than some of the other noSQL databases and the response time to pull data is much faster than others.
Read Shiv Shivakumar's full review
July 19, 2016

IBM Cloudant Review: "Cloudant - help you manage your cloud"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were developing an IOT solution to reduce the power consumption in housing communities, for which IBM Bluemix was helping us a lot to achieve it. I was the major developer and architect for the team. Since the project was confined within our department we were using it only within our department.

Our main business objective was to perform data analysis on the data obtained - we had to store the IoT related information in the database and do fast processing on the data so we had to go with NoSQL database and indeed Cloudant was readily available - already integrated with Bluemix and much easier option was it stores the data as JSON which was much more convenient to our use case.
  • Easy integration
  • Better performance
  • High availability
  • Very limited functionality
  • Not much cloudant database management tools available
The cloudant sync option was very helpful during migration process for smaller data, but if you have large amounts of data, then import options are not that great or the documentation for importing was not that helpful.
Read this authenticated review
December 16, 2015

IBM Cloudant Review: "Cloudant is hands down one of the greatest development decision I've made."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cloudant is being used as the main storage system for all my current projects. Being able to easily retrieve and publish data to Cloudant over a standard and proven protocol has made it much easier to implement storage in any language and system required. Having such easily available storage has sped up the entire development process greatly.
  • Support has been great addressing any issues.
  • The documentation is very easy and straight forward to follow.
  • The many storage locations and migration capabilities allow for quick and easy access to data wherever needed.
  • Not supporting temporary views can be limiting at times.
Do you need to provide easy access to data directly to end users?
Do you need remote storage with easy to follow documentation?
Do you already use NoSQL in any other projects?
Is JSON the data you wish to be able to storage and index easily?
Do you need to be able to easily replicate your database stores?
Do you need to share your database with multiple users?
Read this authenticated review
January 04, 2016

IBM Cloudant Review: "Looking for a product to build your search engine ? Welcome to Cloudant."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cloudant as a base for our search engine! We have a search engine for arabic quotes and proverbs that is extracted from social media, we daily add around 20K records to our Cloudant database. We currently have around 9 million records. Basically we depend on Apache Lucene which is implemented with the database to serve as our search engine.
  • The indexing is fast.
  • Our data is safe there, we rarely have problems accessing or requesting the data.
  • One great thing is that we can address different boolean functions in our queries.
  • The ability to talk to the database through web services is great.
  • The analytic reports about the use of the database needs improvements.
  • A year or 6 months reports for the post/get hits will be great add.
For my case and my experience with Cloudant, it's well suited for search engines. If you have the data you can build a search solution above it in no time.
Read this authenticated review
January 04, 2016

IBM Cloudant Review: "Cloudant is a must have tool for mobile developers"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

I am the founder of my 1 person startup, which develops a mobile application for virtual Stock Trading. The mobile app originally stored all user data (their portfolio, watchlist, account balance etc.) on the device itself. There were several scenarios where users ended up losing their app's data, for example hardware upgrades, OS upgrades on the same device, factory reset of the device. Also, because data was stored locally on the mobile device, users were tied down to using only one device.


The problems Cloudant solves for this app:


1. Persisting user's across physical device upgrades, OS upgrades on the same device, factory reset of the device, uninstall-reinstall of the application.


2. Synchronizing data between multiple devices for the same user giving them a true cloud experience which was lacking before.


As of now, I only have one product and it uses Cloudant. However I am extremely pleased with my experience with Cloudant and plan to use Cloudant for my future products as well.

  • Wide array of client-side libraries (Android, iPhone, Java PHP, JavaScript to name a few) provided by Cloudant make development easier and streamlined.
  • It is not JUST a DB - Ability to write JavaScript code on the Cloudant server makes it function as a web service provider along with a DB.
  • Cloudant is a true DBaaS provider. It is as close to one-click setup as it can be, and deployments take almost no time.
  • Cloudant provides bidirectional data replication
  • REST APIs
  • Per-document read privileges would be nice
  • Content Push - It would be good to see an in-built feature where a pool of clients can be linked to one or more documents so every time a document changes, the pool of clients linked to that document are notified of changes.
  • Provide a few templates for creating Filters on the DB.
Cloudant is well suited for scenarios in multiple cases:
1. Developers don't want to learn about setting up a database etc., and would rather focus on writing code to use the database.
2. An organization does not have dedicated resources to set up and maintain a database.
3. Writing micro-web services - in such a case, an organization can use Cloudant both as a DB and as a web server instead of setting up and maintaining two separate servers.
4. If an organization supports multiple client platforms, Cloudant is the way to go because it provides multiple client libraries as well as a REST API.
Read this authenticated review
January 04, 2016

IBM Cloudant: "Cloudant DBaaS review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cloudant is being used widely in our company across several projects while some of our classified data is still stored on our self-managed servers. DBaaS does save lots of work on deployment and maintenance, moreover, since most of our projects are hosted with Softlayer, where Cloudant hosts with as well, the network latency between our servers and Cloudant doesn't have significant impacts. In addition, NoSQL introduces a new way to make the query and big data storage easier with the understandable API context, programmers who are not familiar with database operations can still figure out the logic at the data processing part.
  • DBaaS means there is no need to deploy your own servers, which saves you the initial investment on hardwares.
  • Cloudant uses JSON as storage data format, which is commonly supported by all languages. As a result, no cost on data conversion.
  • Owing to the relationship between Cloudant and IBM, they can always get the best support and discounts for customers. For example, choosing Cloudant single tenant plan with hosting at Softlayer, there will be some discounts for you.
  • The single tenant plan seems to be expensive for some SMEs - data size may not reach the half of its minimum storage size, however, multi-tenant makes them feel unsafe for their business information.
  • The query language is not friendly for developers who are just moved from the SQL (MySQL, MSSQL...etc). It requires totally different skills.
Projects which with less classified data and less initial budget for production environment are great to use Cloudant multi-tenant service for the first several versions. For those sensitive data, unless purchasing the single-tenant plan, the multi-tenant context cannot ensure you a stable and provide the business level SLA.
Read this authenticated review
December 15, 2015

IBM Cloudant Review: "NoSQL and Cloudant are a great match, specially for starters."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm using Cloudant as a persistent backend to a web app that leverages PouchDB. It is easy to query and seamlessly synchronizes the app data to the cloud.
  • Easy to configure and operate through the GUI.
  • Seamless replication to CouchDB (like PouchDB).
  • The multi-tentant option is free for low utilization (HTTP requests and storage).
  • Instant database compaction on multi-tenant.
Cloudant is easy to use and has a high adherence to CouchDB-like databases, which is awesome for those moving into the NoSQL space.
Read this authenticated review
December 17, 2015

IBM Cloudant Review: "Cloudant can give you headstart"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We moved our SQL server database to Cloudant to allow for quick changes and easy testing. Using Cloudant allows for a super easy clone of the database with a simple one HTTP request. It also allows us to change our data schema without the craft related to SQL based databases. I had to write a small Object-Document-Mapper and didn't have to change the rest of the application. The price of using Cloudant was lower than a hosted SQL server.
  • Easy setup
  • Easy schema changes
  • Easy backup and restore
  • The tools for browsing and changing data
What is the price of using Cloudant?
How easy it is to migrate from SQL Server to Cloudant?
Read this authenticated review

About IBM Cloudant

Cloudant is an open source, non-relational, distributed database service that requires zero-configuration. It's based on the Apache-backed CouchDB project and the creator of the open source BigCouch project. Cloudant's service provides integrated data management, search, and analytics engine designed for web applications. Cloudant scales your database on the CouchDB framework and provides hosting, administrative tools, analytics and commercial support for CouchDB and BigCouch.

Cloudant is often considered part of a new generation of 'NoSQL' databases that don't require fixed table schemas and is challenging the dominance of traditional relational databases (including the popular MySQL).

IBM Cloudant Features

Has featureScalable, Fault-tolerant JSON Data Store
Has featureMulti-Master Replication Across Data Centers
Has featureCloudant Sync for Occasionally Connected Apps
Has featureLucene-Powered Cloudant Search
Has featureRESTful API
Has featureManaged by Big-Data Experts at Cloudant
Has featureData Protection and Security
Has featureMultiple Hosting Options

IBM Cloudant Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

There is never a charge for the first $50 of usage each month. After that, data volume is charged at $1 per GB/month, "heavy" API requests (PUTs, POSTs, DELETEs) are charged at $0.015 per 100 each month, and "light" API requests (GETs, HEADs) are charged at $0.015 per 500 each month. API requests that read or write multiple JSON docs in bulk count as 1 API request.

IBM Cloudant Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

IBM Cloudant Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Linux
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English