TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/LC/Hr/XX05IFGMJZOJ.PNGIt does a lot, but it can take a long time to do itWe use Crystal Reports to generate reports in the form of PDFs and also online reports of usage of our products, along with generating invoices, quotes, packing lists, and other terms and conditions agreements with our sales and support of our order fulfillment processing. We use this product across a range of multiple sites and products.,Detailed invoices calculating shipping, installation and delivery A central point for developers to generate templates for end users Flexible range of output,The way you design templates is kind of hodge podge Unpredictable output from time to time A bit confusing for non-technical people, requires a lot of trial and error,6,,5,5,Contentful, OneLogin, Zywave HRconnection,No,Product Features Product Usability Prior Experience with the Product Existing Relationship with the Vendor,There really didn't seem to be many competitive alternatives. However, if we did it again, I would think that at this time the landscape is different and what people expect in terms of custom reports has changed as business owners are now of a younger generation and many of the solutions made using Crystal can be replaced with cheaper alternatives.Crystal Reports is not for casual users, but provides an excellent tool for professional report design.We use Crystal throughout our organization. Our ERP system serves up Crystal Reports for both analytical and operational reporting. We store our Crystal Reports in an SAP Business Objects repository which is called via Open Document. Users generally aren't savvy enough to generate their own Crystal Reports content, but consume it on a daily basis.,Crystal is very good at presenting the data exactly how you want it. There is a robust set of options for formatting and presentation. It can connect to a wide variety of data sources. We primarily use SQL sources. As a DBA, I generally prefer to have Crystal access views rather than people writing direct queries, but the option is there to do both. There are lots of options for data manipulation once the data set is in Crystal. For example, if you pull some raw data out of a sales table, there are a great many ways to calculate, manipulate, and transform the data into whatever you need.,The learning curve in creating content in Crystal Reports can be steep. This is not a tool that I feel should be wielded by casual users. Crystal isn't great anymore for ad-hoc reporting. At one point in my career, I used Crystal for ad-hoc reporting, but with the advent of web-based and visual reporting tools that can be wielded by the general user population, I wouldn't even think of going to Crystal for one-off type reports. Crystal Reports doesn't have its own scheduling component. So you'll need to either code up or buy a separate solution for report distribution.,8,SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform,9,2,2,,We will continue to use Crystal Reports to provide our operations team information about what is going on throughout the manufacturing process "right now". As our manufacturing processes change, the data that the plants want to see change. As users get used to having useful reports built for them, they will learn what they like and don't like and will want more complex reporting as time progresses. Crystal Reports is a tool that can support that need.,Being able to create well defined/formatted reporting for use by the operations team so they can get the information needed to run our ordering, manufacturing, and shipping processes. Generate reports that are scheduled to go out on a weekly/monthly basis to support decision making for the management team and for assisting in creating of end-of-period financial reporting. The sales team often need to have quick access to information while they are out on calls with clients. We use the SAP BusinessObjects Mobile app to allow them to have quick access to their sales data without having to be logged into our primary reporting system,By placing our Crystal Reports in our Business Objects repository, we have more visibility of the types of data that our users consume. For example we can see which reports are used frequently, so that when performance issues arise, we know which sets of data to concentrate on first.,No,Product Features Product Reputation Prior Experience with the Product Existing Relationship with the Vendor,There are so many reporting systems out there now that provide users the ability to not only create ad-hoc reports, but also fairly robust visualizations. If I were to look at another reporting tool now, I would definitely take the time to see what products are out there now versus when we bought Crystal.,Implemented in-house,No,Change management was a minor issue with the implementation,When we switched from calling the reports directly from the ERP system to calling the from within a Business Objects repository, there was a bit of a learning curve making that work the way we wanted.,9,Once you have the report designed, executing/refreshing the data and exporting to a popular format is very easy. Formatting (text field alignment, numeric formatting, etc) used to be more difficult in Crystal, however newer versions allow for things like horizontal and vertical alignment of fields "faster",At first, learning to create variables/formulae is difficult. Learning the relationships between what data is at the database layer versus what is available to Crystal's head space, versus what data shows on the report can be a bit of a learning curve.,Yes,8Crystal Reports, still best at what it doesI am a one man shop and I use Crystal Reports to manage many areas of my business. I have reports that:Track activity for new prospective customersAnalyze sales quantities and revenue over timeHighlight errors in data entryGenerate invoicesTrack receivablesProvide historical analysis of products used for blog articlesAutomate follow-up for newsletter subscribers,Crystal allows you to connect to virtually any type of data that is available. Crystal Reports has a rich ecosystem of third party products that extend its capabilities. My site lists dozens of tools that provide viewing, scheduling and managing reports, along with formula UFLs that can let your report interact with your operating system and other applications and services. Crystal, especially the more recent versions, let you create virtually any desired layout with the ability to locate objects anywhere and move them based on conditions in the data. Crystal uses the classic "recurring bands" structure for page layout. I find this efficient and very flexible for generating different types of reports. Crystal doesn't require that you set up a meta data layer before creating reports. It gives you direct access to your tables and fields. The interface in Crystal Reports, while sophisticated, is still primarily designed for end users rather than a programmers.,Many of us would like to see the RPT Format stored in something open (like XML) rather than in a closed and proprietary format. It would be great for users, but probably not a realistic business decision. The charting engine is functional but has been left behind by some of the visualization tools out there. Of course, these visualization tools often can't create classic reports Page layout doesn't include the ability to add a structured table object. Tables have to be created with lines and boxes.,10,,10,1,GoldMineCrystal Reports is the futureCrystal Reports is being used by our organization primarily for medical billing statements. It is being used by the whole organization. Crystal Reports generates print files faster than any other program we have tried. It also has a great deal of functionality with regards to formatting and conditional output.,Crystal Reports is very easy for any user to use. It compiles data very quickly.,It would be helpful if Crystal Reports could output text flowing up instead of down.,10,FoxPro,9,9,Microsoft Visual Studio Team System, Adobe Acrobat DC,It has had a positive impact on our ROI, because we purchased the software over 10 years ago, and are still able to use it. There have not been any additional purchases that needed to be made to allow the product to be used.,3,1,Better utilization of mail merge and creation of medical bills with charge lines. More extensive on-the-fly variable mapping.,Our organization creates a large number of utility bills for several companies. Crystal allows us to map various data fields to a data table. The process of creating medical bills is handled the same way. Our company merges data from a table into the crystal template. We also create graphs and have conditional messages,It has allowed our company to migrate from using Microsoft Visual Foxpro reports to crystal. This has allowed our organization to save hours of processing time per day by streamlining our processing. We also use crystal to imposition postcards. This way, we can put more than one layout on a physical sheetSimple and practical in its general useI work with educational institutions across the country and Crystal Reports is a tool that enables me to deliver relevant information to my partners as well as important financial data through simple visualization charts and reports, facilitating the decision-making process of managers and directors. For me, Crystal Reports is important because it is an easy tool to create reports to monitor indicators of each department in companies.,It enables the creation of reports through a simplified and useful visual interface. During the creation of the reports you can already have a view of what is being set up. Ease of reporting, with the possibility of using data of various types of connections to the most varied types of databases. It supports large amount of data, processing them efficiently and quickly. Its formulas can be easily created, with a language based on SQL its use is very simple. It has a good help menu with many examples to use its formulas, which is very useful in several moments of its use and also facilitates its learning.,The use for graphing sometimes is not simple, since the data type often needs to be very standardized to be accepted in the use of graphics. Information on solving more complex problems is more difficult to find among the community of users who use the program. The lack of local training can make it difficult to learn advanced items, even though their use is simplified in general.,8,Microsoft Access and TIBCO Jaspersoft,6,7
Windows, Linux
SAP Crystal
380 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
TRScore

SAP Crystal Reviews

SAP Crystal
380 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 377 vetted SAP Crystal reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 114)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
July 17, 2018

SAP Crystal Review: "It does a lot, but it can take a long time to do it"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Crystal Reports to generate reports in the form of PDFs and also online reports of usage of our products, along with generating invoices, quotes, packing lists, and other terms and conditions agreements with our sales and support of our order fulfillment processing. We use this product across a range of multiple sites and products.
  • Detailed invoices calculating shipping, installation and delivery
  • A central point for developers to generate templates for end users
  • Flexible range of output
  • The way you design templates is kind of hodge podge
  • Unpredictable output from time to time
  • A bit confusing for non-technical people, requires a lot of trial and error
SAP Crystal Reports is well suited for a long term ROI when you can afford to implement a lot of time on the back end setting up criteria for reporting to benefit over the long term, meaning the next 12-36 months. It can take considerable time to implement on the back end so I wouldn't suggest this for small agile teams or products.
Read Darian Rawson's full review
July 17, 2018

SAP Crystal Review: "Crystal Reports is not for casual users, but provides an excellent tool for professional report design."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Crystal throughout our organization. Our ERP system serves up Crystal Reports for both analytical and operational reporting. We store our Crystal Reports in an SAP Business Objects repository which is called via Open Document. Users generally aren't savvy enough to generate their own Crystal Reports content, but consume it on a daily basis.
  • Crystal is very good at presenting the data exactly how you want it. There is a robust set of options for formatting and presentation.
  • It can connect to a wide variety of data sources. We primarily use SQL sources. As a DBA, I generally prefer to have Crystal access views rather than people writing direct queries, but the option is there to do both.
  • There are lots of options for data manipulation once the data set is in Crystal. For example, if you pull some raw data out of a sales table, there are a great many ways to calculate, manipulate, and transform the data into whatever you need.
  • The learning curve in creating content in Crystal Reports can be steep. This is not a tool that I feel should be wielded by casual users.
  • Crystal isn't great anymore for ad-hoc reporting. At one point in my career, I used Crystal for ad-hoc reporting, but with the advent of web-based and visual reporting tools that can be wielded by the general user population, I wouldn't even think of going to Crystal for one-off type reports.
  • Crystal Reports doesn't have its own scheduling component. So you'll need to either code up or buy a separate solution for report distribution.
Crystal is great for generating reports intended to be routinely delivered for operational or analytical purposes. I prefer to avoid Crystal for ad-hoc and one-off report scenarios. Also, if I need a simple report, I'd generally steer users towards a visualization type reporting system...but for well formatted, professional reports, Crystal is still one of the best options.
Read Greg Goss's full review
June 22, 2018

SAP Crystal Review: "Crystal Reports, still best at what it does"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am a one man shop and I use Crystal Reports to manage many areas of my business.
I have reports that:
  • Track activity for new prospective customers
  • Analyze sales quantities and revenue over time
  • Highlight errors in data entry
  • Generate invoices
  • Track receivables
  • Provide historical analysis of products used for blog articles
  • Automate follow-up for newsletter subscribers
  • Crystal allows you to connect to virtually any type of data that is available.
  • Crystal Reports has a rich ecosystem of third party products that extend its capabilities. My site lists dozens of tools that provide viewing, scheduling and managing reports, along with formula UFLs that can let your report interact with your operating system and other applications and services.
  • Crystal, especially the more recent versions, let you create virtually any desired layout with the ability to locate objects anywhere and move them based on conditions in the data.
  • Crystal uses the classic "recurring bands" structure for page layout. I find this efficient and very flexible for generating different types of reports.
  • Crystal doesn't require that you set up a meta data layer before creating reports. It gives you direct access to your tables and fields.
  • The interface in Crystal Reports, while sophisticated, is still primarily designed for end users rather than a programmers.
  • Many of us would like to see the RPT Format stored in something open (like XML) rather than in a closed and proprietary format. It would be great for users, but probably not a realistic business decision.
  • The charting engine is functional but has been left behind by some of the visualization tools out there. Of course, these visualization tools often can't create classic reports
  • Page layout doesn't include the ability to add a structured table object. Tables have to be created with lines and boxes.
Having done little else for the past 20 years I may not be the most impartial judge. But I have found that Crystal is well suited to almost any type of report including simple listings, classic summary reports, pro forma financial statements, multi-section narrative reports and reports designed to simply dump the results of a query into a spreadsheet.
Read Ken Hamady's full review
July 17, 2018

SAP Crystal Review: "Crystal Reports is the future"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Crystal Reports is being used by our organization primarily for medical billing statements. It is being used by the whole organization. Crystal Reports generates print files faster than any other program we have tried. It also has a great deal of functionality with regards to formatting and conditional output.
  • Crystal Reports is very easy for any user to use.
  • It compiles data very quickly.
  • It would be helpful if Crystal Reports could output text flowing up instead of down.
Crystal Reports is well suited because it can output iteration lines. It can output any number of lines, and can even flow to other pages. We also use it to change the font size on longer lines of data. This is important when you have a limited space to work with.
Read Brian Arsenault's full review
June 26, 2018

SAP Crystal Review: "Simple and practical in its general use"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I work with educational institutions across the country and Crystal Reports is a tool that enables me to deliver relevant information to my partners as well as important financial data through simple visualization charts and reports, facilitating the decision-making process of managers and directors. For me, Crystal Reports is important because it is an easy tool to create reports to monitor indicators of each department in companies.
  • It enables the creation of reports through a simplified and useful visual interface. During the creation of the reports you can already have a view of what is being set up.
  • Ease of reporting, with the possibility of using data of various types of connections to the most varied types of databases.
  • It supports large amount of data, processing them efficiently and quickly.
  • Its formulas can be easily created, with a language based on SQL its use is very simple.
  • It has a good help menu with many examples to use its formulas, which is very useful in several moments of its use and also facilitates its learning.
  • The use for graphing sometimes is not simple, since the data type often needs to be very standardized to be accepted in the use of graphics.
  • Information on solving more complex problems is more difficult to find among the community of users who use the program.
  • The lack of local training can make it difficult to learn advanced items, even though their use is simplified in general.
Their use may be best suited for financial data presentation as well as data listings. Its more advanced usage is dependent on SQL understanding, so people without this affinity may have their experience impaired.
Read Fabio da Silva's full review
March 30, 2018

SAP Crystal Review: "Good reporting for reasonable price"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Crystal Reports are used as a common business intelligence tool, to create various charts and dashboards across all departments and provides great visualized data for analytical staff. Different data sources supported by SAP Crystal reports allows implementation regardless of information systems used in a company, that makes life easier for BI tools development teams.
  • Ability to build a lof of informational reports, which being finished once, could be executed and refreshed with just a single click
  • Integration with lots of third-party products. We are using it in conjunction with Microsoft Office
  • Does not requires a deep knowledge of the system to start developing simple reports
  • Customer support could be better
  • Complex reports require a lot of time to find the cause of errors because error messages are not very informative
  • Creation of complex reports is not very straightforward and could be tricky
Works best for finance department reports, as their software is using relational databases and data warehouses, which allows developers to create and modify reports quickly. Also works good for real-time analytics, but requires deep tuning of database queries to avoid performance impact.

Does not work so good for manufacturing reporting as it requires big data engineers to be engaged, which requires more time to develop reports
Read Andrey Perepelitsyn's full review
January 29, 2018

SAP Crystal Review: "Crystal Reports and Sage"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Crystal Reports (CR) is used with two of the software products we use. One is a construction management software and the other is accounting. We use CR to customize certain reports and to create forms within these products.
  • Crystal Reports pulls from existing data sets to minimize the redundancy of data entry.
  • With Crystal Reports we can customize forms and create templates to be used over again across different departments.
  • Creating custom reports helps us with analyzing expenses and work flows as well as the budget expenditures.
  • Crystal Reports is a powerful tool, therefore requires advance skills of how to use the software properly.
  • With its versatility, it is difficult to learn how to use as it applies specifically to our products. For example, we use CR on 2 different products (accounting and construction management). Training for report writing in the product does not transfer over to use within the other.
We have no choice in using the product because it is part of the software we use.
Read Stephen Donaghy's full review
January 28, 2018

SAP Crystal Review: "Simple yet Robust BI reporting tool!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Basically the SAP Crystal Reports license was provided by the client side as far as my project was concerned. So the bank (client) uses Crystal Reports, across all its units, for its reporting needs. Although they use other reporting tools as well in some cases.

SAP Crystal Reports helped us in delivering highly formatted, quality reports that were based on an operational (transaction) database.
  • Supports a variety of data sources. One could even use and Excel spreadsheet as a database!
  • Provides the option for writing custom SQL command for fetching report data. This is one of the most powerful features as you can tune your SQL, make enhancements to the report or do any other changes to the SQL, when there's a need, without having to modify the actual data tables or database elements.
  • Its ease of use.
  • Adding sub reports makes the reports run very slow. It basically affects the performance of the reports. This should be improved.
  • An option for version control can be provided as part of the suite.
  • Not used by many companies. When you compare the job openings for other reporting tools such as Cognos, SSRS, SAP Webi, Tableau etc., with this tool, there are less openings for SAP Crystal Reports. They should focus on marketing the product to many companies so that the people with technical skills in Crystal do not migrate to other skills.
  • Better exporting results for reports using Excel outputs.
Well Suited for:
  • Reports using operational data.
  • Reports that require high formatting needs.
Read Charanya Rajagopalan's full review
June 26, 2018

SAP Crystal Review: "Loved by Users and Consultants -- Neglected by SAP"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I develop software utilities for Crystal Reports. I also teach undergraduate and graduate business intelligence courses where Crystal Reports is used as one of the main software tools.
  • The Crystal Reports Runtime (SDK) is very powerful.
  • Crystal Reports itself is very powerful, so the combination of powerful reports + powerful SDK is very compelling.
  • The ability to use dynamic expressions to control almost any aspect of report behavior and layout. For example, control visibility, formatting, sizing, and placement of any object or section using dynamic expressions.
  • Dynamic expressions are not limited to a single statement. Can use variables, and control structures. In other words, full programming language (Basic-like) to control report layout and content.
  • Beyond hundreds of built-in functions, you can build or purchase 3rd-party User Function Libraries (UFLs) that can extend the power of the tool in useful and creative ways.
  • Critical Mass and Network Effects: millions of licenses sold, report libraries integrated into 3rd-party software packages, tech support forums, consultants, training materials ...
  • Deployment options: can use as agile solution with direct connectivity to practically any data source or move into Enterprise-level deployments using data and security layers.
  • The tension between Enterprise-level solutions and Agile-level solutions for BI within SAP seem to cause feature stagnation. Not much has been enhanced in the last several years even though many opportunities for obvious improvements exist.
  • Because of feature stagnation, momentum is shifting to alternative BI tools such as SSRS, Power BI, Tableau, etc.
  • SAP seems to like hiding useful tech support information behind a fence. Folks without support contracts can't access KBA Numbers or SAP Note IDs even though they are useful for situations such as understanding recent bug fixes.
Excellent choice for most common (and even uncommon) reporting scenarios. Best combination of functionality and Total Cost of Ownership when combined with inexpensive 3rd-party tools.
Read this authenticated review
January 31, 2018

"SAP Crystal Reports Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
A highly featured tool which is used by various people in our organization. With SAP Crystal Reports you can design and deliver meaningful business reports based on data from virtually any source. It saves time delivering interactive and graphical reports which are easy to read and analyze data. Crystal also allows developers to script their custom own sql-based query in the database editor. It is extensive in summary functions, running totals, and a rich formula programming language.
  • Reports can also be easily delivered through the Crystal Reports Server or BusinessObjects.
  • It is a WSIWYG design tool, allowing you to see what you are doing as you do it. You can customize the design with your own ideas and need.
  • Flexible Windows and Web application features support development.
  • Crystal can also handle very large volumes of data very well as its processing engines are optimized to do so.
  • Rules applied to the selection and manipulation of data can have unexpected results, leading to manual troubleshooting of report design and database queries.
  • Working with lines and boxes is not as flexible as, say, Microsoft Word.
  • New Users needs training to use it effectively.
  • A more intuitive interface for linking databases and database tables would be helpful for those that are new to databases and report writing.
SAP Crystal Reports is well suited in many ways like generating reports and analyzing data so that we can use for our benefit. Using it, I like how easy it is to develop a report to meet your needs with its WYSIWYG style. If you're good at HTML you can also use WYSIWYG source code feature. Users create reports to obtain data based upon what is entered into their database.
Read this authenticated review
January 24, 2018

SAP Crystal Review: "Report generation for businesses of all sizes"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Crystal was being used across the entire company in order to pull reports for things like system usage, product enrollment, user loyalty, lead sources and annual revenue by product. It is a powerful tool for businesses of all sizes because it allows you to consolidate all of your data and pull reports for basically any metric you can think of. It was used primarily by our IT group to gauge system usage, but once our sales team became aware that we had implemented Crystal reports, they were anxious to have reports pulled to help with various lead gen activities as well.
  • SAP Crystal has the ability to look across multiple data sets and pull together intuitive reports based on designated criteria.
  • Once the report attributes are assigned within the system, it is easy for users to create custom reports and save them for the future.
  • It makes analyzing large amounts of data easy by clearly organizing everything according to custom labels you have applied within the database.
  • I found that, while this was extremely easy for me to use since I have a technical background, it was difficult explaining the process to non-technical users. More in-depth training material might be helpful.
  • This is not about the usage of the product itself, but in regards to pricing- it seemed the packages were all or nothing, and It would have been nice to pay per individual user license.
  • I would love to see a better way to access Crystal reports on the go. This would be especially helpful when traveling to client and partner meetings.
SAP Crystal is amazing if you have some IT background and understand how to import the data and configure report attributes. If you are a non-technical user, you will most likely need to hire or contract out to have someone manage this internally - even if just for the onboarding period.
Read this authenticated review
January 15, 2018

SAP Crystal Review: "High Performance, Cost Effective, Plethora of Functions, Ease of Use"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Crystal Training Source teaches, consults, and develops Crystal Server and Crystal Reports for various companies throughout the U.S. and Canada. We help potential/current users learn all of the functions and /or features within SAP Crystal Server to greatly improve data traffic and sharing within their organisation.

It addresses the issues experienced by inferior products not being able to share, distribute, and run needed reports (high volume) on a daily basis.
  • You can easily navigate within the Central Management Console to access a plethora of very powerful functions i.e. (Security, Users, Groups, Scheduling, Distribution, Delivery Formats, Business Views, Triggers, etc.)
  • In my previous experience outside of SAP a lot of products are very difficult to learn and apply. SAP Crystal Server is laid out in a very intuitive way and it makes learning and application fluid.
  • End users can easily access the end user portal and view, schedule, run, and distribute reports with the click of a mouse. This allows data to flow much more efficiently throughout the organization.
  • SAP Crystal Server allows a seamless connection to your organizations production data which allows for a smooth transition from basic reporting to publication in a few short steps.
  • I would like to see graph features to be improved. SAP has made leaps and bounds over the years and I know they will get there.
  • I would like to see SAP products bundled for a more turn key solution.
Data Management
Read Justin Lee's full review
January 08, 2018

Review: "SAP Crystal: Flexibility, Customization, and Ease of Use"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Crystal was being used mainly by one department within my organization, that being the Online Brand Protection Department. It's a fantastic tool for report generation and data aggregation in that it is fully customizable and allows for various users and vendors to access the system to both feed and retrieve information. We needed something that would give us flexibility and also allow multiple users to access the data at the same time.
  • Customized reports are great because they not only allow you to tailor the data and results to you needs but also allow the flexibility of changing reporting structures if needs change.
  • Multiple user access and permissions are essential to control who has visibility to what data as well as providing a common hub for everyone to collaborate and communicate about the data.
  • Relatively inexpensive compared to other products out there. This really goes hand in hand with their customer support because you feel like you're getting a much more expensive product for the quality of the program as a whole.
  • Although the reporting structure is highly customizable, it is essential to have a developer who is well versed in coding the reports for you in SAP Crystal Server. This isn't so much a problem with SAP Crystal because in order to get customizable reports, you really need to know how to work the system which is very flexible.
  • Data security needs to be tweaked within each report for different audiences and so if you need different vendors or deliverables to have different security settings, then you need to set this up within each report that you generate.
  • From what I hear about how the licensing model is set up, there is a bit of layering confusion. Apparently, once your business licenses the software, you must then create different licenses for various users and vendors. I could see this getting confusing especially with different add-ons and multiple users.
SAP Crystal is most well suited for companies with large amounts of data feeds and vendors that supply information as well as those companies that need to congregate this data into flexible and changing reports. Possibly the less appropriate scenario to use SAP Crystal is in a smaller company that does not or cannot employ a dedicated developer who can assist with the reporting and reporting structures.
Read Joseph R. Sweeney's full review
December 12, 2017

SAP Crystal Review: "Analysing SAP CR."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Crystal Report always helped me to create the best report of daily work, track data, create best graph representation etc. Connecting it with databases make it more helpful to get data, represent it, analyze it easily as a graphical representation. One can create customized design report using it. If you're an expert in it, you can use its abundant feature also.
  • Rich in features and support system is also good.
  • Support various databases and sources like Oracle, MS SQL server, Excel etc.
  • Sharing report with SAP Crystal is easy with good security
  • More complex reports are time intensive.
  • New user finds a lot of difficulties in creating reports.
  • Sharing a report in an organisation is very important, and only a single person can edit in one time. Mailing the report is not a good idea, there should be a option of using cloud-based sharing.
If one wants to analyze its data deeply and manipulate it in a variety of different ways, this is the best tool to use.
1) Reports look clean and professional.
2) Integration with databases helps a lot.
3) The customized template as a user wants, easy to create and make an attractive look.
4) Visualisation of data in different ways - graphical or in simple words.
Read Sumit Jain's full review
January 17, 2018

SAP Crystal Review: "Crystal Reports is your friend!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Most departments use Crystal Reports in one way or another. Crystal Reports enables custom reports to be able to be pulled from the database, making formatting and custom calculations fairly easy. Our demands on complex reports are hefty, and Crystal Reports allows us to meet pretty much all of these complicated demands from departments across the organization.
  • Custom calculations and filtering - it can be complicated to program, depending on how your input tables are linked, etc., but pretty much anything is possible.
  • Design - Most of our reports are fairly simple, but you can get pretty complex with the display of reports, with spacing, page breaks, color, etc.
  • Coding - The formulas use a SQL-based language, which is fairly easy to navigate. There is also a UI that enables users to create formulas without direct language of code, but familiarity definitely helps.
  • The newer version (XI) stalls when it processes multiple "gift summary" fields from Raiser's Edge. I'm not sure if this problem exists when connecting to any other software, but we had to re-code a number of our reports so that these "gift summary" fields were used in sub-reports, then fed back to the main report. Once we did that, the report ran instantly and didn't stall.
  • The UI is not very user-friendly for non-coders. I think it's fine, but there is a pretty steep learning curve for new users.
  • There are very few opportunities for training on Crystal Reports at an advanced level. If you want to learn more about the program, and you already have an intermediate level of experience with it, you'll basically just have to teach yourself.
Our databases have certain "canned reports" that are useful, but we use Crystal Reports for MANY things that our databases don't automatically produce. Our reports can have custom calculations and fields, a nice layout, and quick processing time. The main drawback is the steep learning curve required, even to just refresh a pre-existing report with new data.
Read Alicia Barevich, bCRE, bCEE's full review
January 15, 2018

SAP Crystal Review: "SAP CR: A narrow but positive opinion"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Crystal Reports internally to aggregate large amounts of data into a few important outputs. The analysis we get from CR is hugely important to the service we provide to our clients. Without CR, we would be spending 10x or 20x the time getting crude data from Excel. CR helps make us efficient.
  • Customizable form appearance
  • Allows you to write complex functions
  • Reads multiple data sources
  • Can't use a "lookup table" - have to join/link data sources
  • Sometimes will misread the data type from a source table
  • Not compatible with .xlsx format

Overall, CR helps us do things that we can't do in Excel. It adds a visual/design element to data analysis, and allows us to sort/screen/drill down/analyze data with great efficiency.

If the cons I mention are critical, CR will not be able to overcome them. You have to find a workaround or use something else.

Read Stephen Swanick's full review
January 15, 2018

SAP Crystal Review: "Crystal Reports - give it a go!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We recently changed from an older accounting system to an ERP system to help us streamline our business processes and operations. We use Crystal Reports to customize the reports we need in the new system. We have been able to manipulate the reporting process to give us the information we need and to exclude any items which do not add value to the particular report. Furthermore, we have been able to enhance the aesthetic appearance of our outbound documents with our company logo and a visually appealing format.
  • I like the fact that I can do a lot of cosmetic changes to the reports without having to have in-depth developer training.
  • Crystal Reports connects to a wide range of data sources, including OLE DB, which makes it widely usable.
  • Crystal Reports also integrates with a wide range of technologies such as Java, therefore it makes it easy for developers to write code in a language they are use to.
  • In order to obtain features such as mobile access or scheduled notifications, one would have to upgrade to Crystal Reports Server, which increases its cost.
  • In order to take advantage of the advanced features of Crystal Reports, a developer is needed, thus further increasing the cost.
It is definitely well suited to our situation, as we need to customize the format of a large number of standard reports.
Read Gugu Sibanda, CPA,CGA's full review
January 15, 2018

SAP Crystal Review: "Crystal Reports presents data in a crystal-clear way!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Crystal Reports is used by the IT Director and System Administrator to create and present customized reports to Managers, End users, and customers. We utilize Prophet 21 software for managing our wholesale distribution (and counter sales) business, and Crystal Reports allows us to modify customer forms and internal reports as needed to present information concisely and correctly!
  • Allows us to generate custom formulas to present complex data in an accurate format.
  • Provides a comprehensive means to modify font types, sizes, and formats to present to internal and external customers.
  • Allows us to present data from multiple SQL database tables and views, and allows us to customize formulas if data is not stored in the SQL database.
  • Formatting of fields and text boxes allows consistency among sections.
  • Would like even more flexibility in exporting reports to Excel, although I understand Microsoft has some control over this.
  • Still difficult sometimes to line up boxes/fields vertically across multiple report sections.
  • Drawing lines sometimes present issues when spanning multiple sections.
Perfect when using SQL Server databases, or when integrating SQL databases and MS Access databases in the same report. I also recommend Crystal Reports for generating forms for clients and end users, as the use of parameters and data-specific conditional formatting (show/hide fields, etcetera) allows us to design one 'report' for multiple uses!
Read John Suit's full review
January 10, 2018

SAP Crystal Review: "Crystal is it for pixel perfect, not so much for exports."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Crystal Reports is used for management level reports, forms replication such as state insurance forms, and for check printing. It solves reporting issues across the departments served, especially when pixel perfect results is required. [It's] Not so hot on exporting data, more on this later I'm sure.
  • Pixel perfect output. We're capable of replicating complicated forms, writing checks using MICR font, etc. If it has to look good, it's Crystal Reports.
  • The formula editor is very powerful. Some more expensive solutions, including those from SAP, don't offer the power that Crystal Reports offers out of the box.
  • Portability of format. For the first 10 years or so of Crystal Reports, you had to be on the same version of Crystal Reports as your target audience. This has since been corrected and now you don't have to wrestle with having a client on an old version while you are on a newer version.
  • Exporting is a big problem. Going to Excel is a common request, but the default of making it look like Crystal Reports isn't what the clients want, and the "data only" format is limited as to what it can do. Overlapping fields cause exports to fail badly.
  • The Crystal viewer (which I'll include as part of Crystal here) has flaws, such as growing fields longer than their length in Native Crystal.
  • Subtotalling and running totals still don't support everything I need to do, so we fall back to manually adding a variable, incrementing it, printing it, and clearing it, all manually. They both work fine for standard numeric fields, but not so well for formula results.
It is appropriate for any output that needs a great deal of formatting. Its grouping and totaling are good, and the graphics are better than average; actually, great in this price range. Its main failure is exporting data. Even with a simple export, you have to be careful laying out the data, and if you select Excel, it can be amazingly slow to export.
Read Matthew Randolph's full review
January 09, 2018

SAP Crystal Review: "Great for highly formatted reporting, but not the most fun to work with"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We build Crystal Reports that are used in a third party software to extract data via the GUI from our SQL database. The reports themselves are being managed by one department (me) but are accessed by the whole business. We use Crystal Reports to generate client forms.
  • Easy formatting, drag and drop.
  • Relatively similar GUI to Word, very developed GUI.
  • Well-documented, easy to Google.
  • Not intuitive - steep learning curve.
  • Need to be able to have a sub-report within a sub-report. This is a major missing piece.
  • Need to be able to copy sub-reports and paste.
  • Less appropriate for serious programmers who don't need the GUI.
  • Great for highly formatted reports
  • Bad for analyzing lots of data
Read Molly Lippsett's full review
January 09, 2018

SAP Crystal Review: "A great reporting product."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used and designed SAP Crystal Reports for some different companies. I have tried and used others report products too, but I think that this software is really good. With Crystal Reports I have created a lot of reports for different departments, (financial, IT, direction, sales), you need to study just a little bit before starting to use the product and to be completely autonomous, but in not too much time you can get excellent results.
  • Grouping sections are really useful.
  • The grid in the designer report is perfect.
  • You can modify the report directly on the preview tab.
  • I had some problems with the display incorporating reports on web pages.
  • Graphs can be more attractive.
  • Renew a little the designer mode.
I do not think there is a specific scenario in which to use or not use SAP Crystal Reports. Obviously a company that needs to have detailed reports and financial can use them in full. It is not optimized for the analytical side, tables and matrices; purely statistical reports are quite difficult to handle with SAP Crystal Reports.
Read Luca Campanelli's full review
January 08, 2018

SAP Crystal Review: "Crystal Reports - A solid performer for data analysis"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a healthcare organization, analytics is extremely important as well as data mining. Our electronic medical records and practice management solutions were lacking so we used Crystal Reports to fill the gaps. Crystal Reports is only used by me for design, but several of our staff use the report runner feature to just update parameters and run the reports. We are able to dig deep into practice performance by creating our own reports that pull in a much larger scale of data than what is allowed by our medical records system. We also can create detailed exports for patient mailings based on specific criteria requirements such as certain diagnosis codes in conjunction with billing procedure codes.
  • Crystal Reports is extremely flexible. You can connect to pretty much any type of database as well as multiple databases at one time as long as there is a field to join the two sets of data.
  • The layout is easy to use and extremely versatile. You can insert tables, grouping, color changed headings and background. There is a multitude of charts, graphs, and tables that can be inserted to make reports more visually appealing.
  • Data can be displayed in many different ways using formulas, charts, colors, images, etc.
  • While the layout is easy to use, it should be improved to work with touchscreens. Some of the fields are small and with many laptops, tablets and touch-enabled PCs in the workplace today, it would be nice to not need a mouse.
  • Exporting is a bit bulky. There should be some options for quick exports to common types like pdf, xls, etc. I would frequently export to xls, so a saved preference that allows me to click that button and auto-export would save time when creating multiple exports.
  • Sharing can be bulky as well. I typically download reports and email. An integration with Google Drive, OneDrive, DropBox, etc would be helpful.
If you want to dig deep into your data and manipulate it in a variety of different ways, Crystal Reports is the tool to use. From basic reports to detailed data extracts, it is a comprehensive utility that allows for significant utilization.
Read Christina Onolaja's full review
January 08, 2018

SAP Crystal: "Crystal Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Crystal Reports is used in my organisation as a reporting tool mainly in the operational team across different markets. It is usually used for external reporting and invoicing. SAP Crystal Reports is used for the good degree of customisation and elegance in the finished report product. For invoicing, it helps us to have professional external reporting.
  • Invoicing report
  • External reporting for client members
  • Reports that don't need a great degree of changes
  • Making changes in SAP Crystal Reports is hard
  • Friendly connections wizard
SAP Crystal Reports is well suited for canned reporting and for us is less appropriate for exploring type of reporting.
Read Ercole Lugari's full review
January 08, 2018

SAP Crystal Review: "Deploy and be amazed"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Crystal Server is used company wide to distribute data to internal and external users. It allows the organization to automate its reporting and distribution processes, elevating the stress these process put on internal staff and allowing the company to be much more efficient in delivering on both external and internal demands for information.
  • Allows scheduled distribution of reports. This allows our team to capture data and deliver it when it is desired by the team without forcing an internal staff member to have to manually gather the data and distribute it on time.
  • Flexibility in destinations. Crystal server allows us several convenient options for delivering our reports and data. This means we have no wasted time by internal staff emailing or sending data to clients or other internal staff, allowing them to focus on more demanding tasks.
  • Our biggest complaint is that if a report has to be modified, our experience is that the entire schedule has to be redone for these changes to effectively be delivered to our end users.
If you're looking for a tool to take your reporting to the next level, this is it! [It's well suited for] eliminating all of your work once development of the report is done. This tool works 24/7/365 to deliver the details you need to both internal and external staff.
Read Jeff Hieber's full review
December 19, 2017

Review: "SAP Crystal Reports - Best in formatting, sharing BI reports"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use SAP Crystal reports for my BI Reporting tool. My organization is hugely data dependent. I needed a tool to support the reports and accurate data. In SAP Crystal Reports, I found a good product to use for my BI team. The support is very good, being a product from SAP. I enjoyed using it.
  • The support of SAP is hands down one of the best.
  • The easy report handling feature is good.
  • Being a SAP product, chances of getting an error is significantly lower.
  • It needs great expertise to properly operate this product.
  • Too many updates are not good for an average user.
  • There are many features that are too confusing.
When your organization is huge and you need efficient reports with very well defined formats, and you do have an expert dedicated employee for handling this huge product. But, if you don't have enough resources, you will struggle operating it. Although SAP support is excellent, one needs an expert in all the functionalities.
Read Himanshu Singh's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (73)
7.9
Customizable dashboards (62)
7.6
Report Formatting Templates (76)
7.9
Drill-down analysis (81)
8.1
Formatting capabilities (92)
8.3
Integration with R or other statistical packages (37)
6.5
Report sharing and collaboration (77)
7.7
Publish to Web (57)
7.7
Publish to PDF (90)
8.4
Report Versioning (60)
7.8
Report Delivery Scheduling (61)
8.0
Delivery to Remote Servers (15)
7.9
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (52)
7.6
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (47)
7.5
Predictive Analytics (43)
7.7
Multi-User Support (named login) (50)
7.5
Role-Based Security Model (50)
7.4
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (49)
7.4
Single Sign-On (SSO) (13)
7.0
Responsive Design for Web Access (34)
7.3
Dedicated iOS Application (23)
7.2
Dedicated Android Application (20)
7.2
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (30)
7.2
REST API (8)
7.4
Javascript API (9)
6.7
iFrames (8)
7.0
Java API (9)
7.4
Themeable User Interface (UI) (11)
6.7
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (9)
7.1

About SAP Crystal

SAP Crystal (SAP Crystal Reports, SAP Crystal Server) is designed to help users create powerful, richly formatted, dynamic reports from virtually any data source – delivered in dozens of formats, in up to 24 languages. According to the vendor, SAP Crystal Reports is a robust production reporting tool, that turns almost any data source into interactive, actionable information that can be accessed offline or online, from applications, portals and mobile devices. SAP Crystal Server enables self-service access to reports, dashboards, and data exploration within a secure infrastructure.

Categories:  Business Intelligence

SAP Crystal Features

BI Platform Features
Does not have featureAdministration via Windows App
Does not have featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Does not have featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Has featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Does not have featureETL Capability
Does not have featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Does not have featureCloudera Hadoop
Does not have featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Does not have featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Does not have featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Does not have featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Has featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Does not have featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Does not have featurePredictive Analytics
Does not have featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Does not have featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Does not have featureiFrames
Has featureJava API
Has featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Has featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)
Additional Features
Has featurePowerful options to deliver key insights and a clearer picture of the business to decision makers
Has featureBroader connectivity to diverse data sources to provide real-time operational reports that empower employees to make day-to-day business decisions
Has featureFlexible, customizable report design to give customers and partners the information they need in the reporting format of their choice

SAP Crystal Screenshots

SAP Crystal Videos (4)

SAP Crystal Downloadables

SAP Crystal Integrations

SAP Crystal Reports for Visual Studio, SAP Crystal Reports for Eclipse

SAP Crystal Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
SAP Crystal Reports$495per user
SAP Crystal Server NUL$869per user
SAP Crystal Server CAL$8,744per seat

SAP Crystal Reports Viewer is available for free. It allows static data to be viewed within an SAP Crystal Reports file.

SAP Crystal Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

SAP Crystal Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Japanese, Spanish, Simplified Chinese, Italian, Dutch, Russian, Korean, Traditional Chinese, Portuguese, Swedish, Polish, Danish, Norwegian, Finnish, Thai, Czech, Hungarian, Slovakian, Turkish, Romanian, Slovenian