TrustRadius
Forcepoint, a good solution in Web SecurityAlthough I am not part of the original team that implemented the Websense/Forcepoint system I have made large scale changes to improve upon its efficiency and resolve performance issues due to incorrectly deployed parts of the system. My overall experience has been good. Forcepoint has come a long way with their product and the features being made available over the next couple of versions are exciting and needed. The Forcepoint team has been very good to work with and they have shown remarkable improvement in customer service and technical support. Forcepoint is being used as our Web Security and DLP solution and that is across the whole organization.,It is a very complete solution that addresses a wide range of different security issues and it does it well. Forcepoint's Technical Support is on the ball. They have improved greatly over the last 3 years. The level of professionalism from Forcepoint really completes the picture.,I do have some issues with Forcepoint but they do listen to their customers. Many of our issues have been addressed.,8,It has a tremendous impact on the whole kill chain approach to security. It exists, when configured correctly, in all aspects of the kill chain.,Cisco Cloud Web Security and McAfee Web Content Filtering,McAfee Enterprise Security Manager, LastlineForce the Point to be SecureWe are currently using Forcepoint as our URL filtering solution. This takes a lot of the research out of whether a site should be accessed or not especially with the real-time filter enabled. Most our access out to the internet is blocked before we are even aware that there is an issue with the site. and can just be rendered a non-issue.,Easy access to which categories would be blocked or allowed. Real-time blocking of hazardous sites. Expandable.,Remote filtering is not as advanced as we would like. Support time is not as quick as needed in most cases. Upgrades of appliances and software is not as easy as other solutions. HTTPS inspection needs to hand a valid cert and doesnt work correctly with all vendors.,8,Over cost to configure the units is more labor-intensive than it should be so the initial setup raises the ROI but tapers of over the first few years. Its ability to update in real time saves a ton of time researching and saves a full time employee doing all that research.,Blue Coat and Check Point,Check Point Security Management, Cisco ASA, McAfee Email GatewayWebsense makes sense!Websense is used in implementing endpoint DLP, as a content gateway, a web filter, a URL filter and also e-mail security. It provides real-time scanning of websites and caching both of which are really important features to us at our organization. Overall [it's] easy to navigate (user-friendly) and has a UI with a few issues here and there, but still we are happy with the product.,Real-time scanning Caching capabilities Easy to implement changes with good and clean UI,Sometimes needs rebooting of appliances as throughput reduces Support improvement needed Navigating to appliances could be better,7,DLP has been our major reason for Websense and it has delivered well Appliance failure/reboot required has caused some downtime,Windows Server, Red Hat Enterprise Virtualization for DesktopsBest in class Web and Data protection with WebsenseWe currently use Websense to protect our web and data security channels. We have a number of Websense proxies deployed world wide protecting users in both large and small offices. Using Websense allowed us to add security to our internet bound traffic while securing our IP and keeping our bandwidth costs down from users browsing non-work related sites.,Content Filtering Real Time security Caching DLP,A more centralized UI, different components have different UIs to log into Better integration with third party products, they used to support SQUID but they no longer do,9,Websense is an expensive solution Initial setup takes a lot of time and man hours,,Blue Coat Web & Cloud Security, Cisco Cloud Web Security, Cisco Sourcefire SNORTWebsense does the job well!We are using Websense mostly for it's Malware and Spyware filtering. We do little URL filtering but the filters that have put in place have been very effective. We use Websense through out the entire enterprise of our company this includes UK and Asia. It has cut down on the time spent by PC technicians have to remove Spyware, malware and adware on our users PC. This has also cut down on time spent on reloading pc that were infected as well.,It does a great job at stopping users from going to "infected" sites and sites that are undesirable. It has a great range of flexibility and features. We have used it to lock down a server "production" computer that need only a limited amount of access to internet sites. It allows us to also filter by user/group/domain and even IP address or range. Implementation was a little rough but once the product is up and running it is very stable.,Websense could do some improvement in the Support group. Long wait times and long times for follow-up. Working with the support center and the sales engineers has been a little rough. We ran into problems where the support group did not understand how the sales engineer set up our design. It would be also helpful if that you could sort in the knowledge base on just your current version you are running.,8,The biggest impact that Websense has resolved for us was our PC technician times on having to deal with computers with Malware and Spyware on them. It allowed us to have control over our "production" computers so that users where not surfing internet or installing stuff on these computers.,iBoss,Symantec,blue coat,Zscaler,8,Setup was very easy Creating groups and access was easy Setup of filters and custom for our groups.,The only real problem we have had is working with sites that are blocked with no reason why it was blocked. Working with the "Testlog Server" could be set up easier.,9
Unspecified
Forcepoint Data Loss Protection
18 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
TRScore

Forcepoint DLP Reviews

Forcepoint DLP
18 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 18 vetted Forcepoint DLP reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-13 of 13)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
David Stanfield profile photo
September 25, 2017

Forcepoint DLP Review: "Forcepoint, a good solution in Web Security"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Although I am not part of the original team that implemented the Websense/Forcepoint system I have made large scale changes to improve upon its efficiency and resolve performance issues due to incorrectly deployed parts of the system. My overall experience has been good. Forcepoint has come a long way with their product and the features being made available over the next couple of versions are exciting and needed. The Forcepoint team has been very good to work with and they have shown remarkable improvement in customer service and technical support.
Forcepoint is being used as our Web Security and DLP solution and that is across the whole organization.
  • It is a very complete solution that addresses a wide range of different security issues and it does it well.
  • Forcepoint's Technical Support is on the ball. They have improved greatly over the last 3 years.
  • The level of professionalism from Forcepoint really completes the picture.
  • I do have some issues with Forcepoint but they do listen to their customers. Many of our issues have been addressed.
For a complete Web Security solution this is a good choice. For a simple solution look elsewhere.
Read David Stanfield's full review
No photo available
October 19, 2017

Forcepoint DLP Review: "Force the Point to be Secure"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Forcepoint as our URL filtering solution. This takes a lot of the research out of whether a site should be accessed or not especially with the real-time filter enabled. Most our access out to the internet is blocked before we are even aware that there is an issue with the site. and can just be rendered a non-issue.

  • Easy access to which categories would be blocked or allowed.
  • Real-time blocking of hazardous sites.
  • Expandable.
  • Remote filtering is not as advanced as we would like.
  • Support time is not as quick as needed in most cases.
  • Upgrades of appliances and software is not as easy as other solutions.
  • HTTPS inspection needs to hand a valid cert and doesnt work correctly with all vendors.
Overall usage and configuration of Forcepoint is pretty straight forward. There a few things harder then others to get working correctly, but once configured correctly things work great.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 14, 2017

Forcepoint DLP Review: "Websense makes sense!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Websense is used in implementing endpoint DLP, as a content gateway, a web filter, a URL filter and also e-mail security. It provides real-time scanning of websites and caching both of which are really important features to us at our organization. Overall [it's] easy to navigate (user-friendly) and has a UI with a few issues here and there, but still we are happy with the product.
  • Real-time scanning
  • Caching capabilities
  • Easy to implement changes with good and clean UI
  • Sometimes needs rebooting of appliances as throughput reduces
  • Support improvement needed
  • Navigating to appliances could be better
Websense requires some work but is good with the DLP appliances. The content gateway needs some improvement and the endpoint agent has affected performance in some cases. All in all, it does the job but not without a good investment of work and time!
Read this authenticated review
Alan Matson, CCNA:S, MCP profile photo
October 20, 2016

Forcepoint DLP Review: "Best in class Web and Data protection with Websense"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Websense to protect our web and data security channels. We have a number of Websense proxies deployed world wide protecting users in both large and small offices. Using Websense allowed us to add security to our internet bound traffic while securing our IP and keeping our bandwidth costs down from users browsing non-work related sites.
  • Content Filtering
  • Real Time security
  • Caching
  • DLP
  • A more centralized UI, different components have different UIs to log into
  • Better integration with third party products, they used to support SQUID but they no longer do
I have tried many proxy solutions from BlueCoat, to TMG/ISA, to Cisco WSA and nothing has compared to the ease of use of Websense and the flexibility. Sure there are always things missing but overall Websense has the best I have found.
Read Alan Matson, CCNA:S, MCP's full review
Bill Rieger profile photo
June 13, 2014

Forcepoint DLP Review: "Websense does the job well!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Websense mostly for it's Malware and Spyware filtering. We do little URL filtering but the filters that have put in place have been very effective. We use Websense through out the entire enterprise of our company this includes UK and Asia. It has cut down on the time spent by PC technicians have to remove Spyware, malware and adware on our users PC. This has also cut down on time spent on reloading pc that were infected as well.
  • It does a great job at stopping users from going to "infected" sites and sites that are undesirable.
  • It has a great range of flexibility and features. We have used it to lock down a server "production" computer that need only a limited amount of access to internet sites. It allows us to also filter by user/group/domain and even IP address or range.
  • Implementation was a little rough but once the product is up and running it is very stable.
  • Websense could do some improvement in the Support group. Long wait times and long times for follow-up.
  • Working with the support center and the sales engineers has been a little rough. We ran into problems where the support group did not understand how the sales engineer set up our design.
  • It would be also helpful if that you could sort in the knowledge base on just your current version you are running.
During the setup and design make sure that they have other companies using the same model and design that you are using. We ran into a big disconnect on this issue due to our configuration and working with Websense Support.
Read Bill Rieger's full review
Bruno Lafreniere profile photo
June 03, 2014

Forcepoint DLP Review: "Websense Great Tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hi, I'm Bruno Lafrenier, Senior IT Datacom Specialist at the IRB. Websense was used to monitor and control some access to the Internet. It was used across the entire organization.
  • The integration with the firewall was amazing
  • The report for senior management was awesome
  • The possibility to filter malicious sites was usefull
  • Finding a solution to better support the https blocking and security
  • Better integration with the firewall
  • Faster GUI
What is the ease of deployment in the environment? Do you require an installment or change to the setting of each client in your organization? How does it work with the signature?
Read Bruno Lafreniere's full review
Shivam Agarwal profile photo
June 06, 2014

Forcepoint DLP Review: "Fancy Tool of Security with Less Stability"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
a) It's being used for web security and monitoring and filtering the traffic. Also Websense is used as web caching and proxy server.
b) It's being used globally.
c) Managing the Security policies
  • Web Security Policies are detailed and we can control the traffic till application layer level. Software is good.
  • Their database for websites is good.
  • The management (Triton Server) is good as central management for all appliances placed globally.
  • Their Hardware is not good.
  • Support needs improvement.
If you have cost issues don't buy as it's costly. You might get away with some cheaper products in same field. If you have money then go ahead but make sure about the support. Use premium support and keep the sales guy's phone number handy.
Read Shivam Agarwal's full review
No photo available
February 01, 2016

Forcepoint DLP Review: "Websense DSS"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Websense Data Security Suite was used to monitor users to detect transmission of company confidential documents. The DSS solution was fairly successful in this effort and helped us to detect many violations of our corporate policies. The cautions for this product are scalability and reliability. The DSS product seems to have issues scaling above 8000 to 10000 nodes.
  • Keyword matching is very good.
  • Large list of applications that can be monitored.
  • Reporting is very user friendly.
  • We had issues scaling the management environment to over 10,000 nodes.
  • We had many false positives with the fingerprinting technology.
  • The agent can be a large drag on endpoints.
The product seems to be more suited to mid size and small businesses than to large enterprises.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 04, 2015

Forcepoint DLP: "Websense review"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Two Websense appliances are installed onsite and at our co-location to filter Citrix users and onsite users. We leverage the hybrid filtering service for the users in our satellite offices worldwide. We had plans to filter protocols, however, policies were never implemented for this use so we still only monitor their use.
  • Hybrid service works well and the reporting is fairly good for hybrid.
  • Easy to navigate interface.
  • It does not filter Citrix users well. We are still working around a user authentication issue on the Citrix boxes. This has not been resolved since we installed the appliances. I've contacted support several times and have received conflicting responses. No one has been able to resolve the issue.
Support has significantly improved. If you had asked me a year ago, if I would recommend Websense, I would have said no. We have experienced some issues with our Citrix environment but other than that it has some great features that we are using and others that we have yet to implement.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 26, 2015

Forcepoint DLP Review: "Used to be a good product. Has gone down hill..."

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Websense is deployed corporately to provide content filtering and inspection of end user web traffic. The business had asked IT for more visibility into what users are doing on the internet and to block categories of site deemed inappropriate.
  • Easy to generate reports on user activity.
  • Can run on appliances or server hardware.
  • Up to date web site categorization.
  • Support is a joke at the moment. Support staff have told us they are unsure whether they will lose their jobs so they are not performing 100%.
  • Has been difficult to get WCCP integration working with Nexus switches (approximately 9 months in and still have issues).
  • SQL configuration is difficult and often has issues.
Traditional filtering seems to work okay. The web content gateway is not very easy to use and work with.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 13, 2014

Forcepoint DLP: "Honest Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Websense for Internet traffic filtering, email spam filtering, and DLP. It is used in all offices of our company; from the headquarters in Chicago to a remote office in Hong Kong. It blocks spam and compromised and unproductive websites for our users. If we don't want sensitive data to leave the company, we can also fingerprint data to be used by the DLP endpoint.
  • Websense is an all-inclusive product that handles email, web, and DLP in one interface.
  • Websense has a lot of different options to implement their solutions from software to onsite appliance to the cloud.
  • I think the support is lacking at times or takes a long time to get a return call from a tech; I've been on hold for 5hrs at one time.
  • It would be nice if they explained in more detail the different filtering options they provide either online or by a sales person. Our rep wasn't very knowledgeable and steered us to a 3rd party vendor to help explain the software.
  • It would be nice if there was an all in one appliance that handled email and web.
  • I was hoping there was an endpoint client that doesn't filter web traffic when it's on a public network.
Is there a failover solution in case the software\appliance fails? What private data gets sent to the cloud for the remote solution filtering? What data gets filtered? We're having issues with https filtering if we don't buy the appliance. What protocols can the software\appliance block? Does it have layer 7 blocking?
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 03, 2014

Forcepoint DLP Review: "Websense Data Security just works."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Websense Data Security Suite is used by our customers who want to protect large amounts of intellectual property and other proprietary information. We have seen it implemented in single departments who have specific business needs and across entire organizations who are using it to protect everything from intellectual property to electronic healthcare records to credit card data.
  • Multiple channels for enforcement of policies (web, e-mail, copy/paste, saving to USB, etc.)
  • Simple and easy to understand policy definitions
  • Built in policies and definitions make it easy to design and publish policies applicable to any industry or type of data
  • The GUI can be a little messy to navigate as advanced configuration items are not always categorized in the sections you'd expect them to be.
  • Major upgrades can be a long and arduous process but thankfully come few and far in between compared to other security products.
  • Error messages in the GUI are sometimes less than helpful or not verbose enough to diagnose problems without opening the command line.
For customers who are expecting absolute protection of their data, Websense Data Security is not suitable. However, no DLP solution on the market is completely unbreakable or cannot be circumvented. Customers should be made aware that no security product is perfect and that dedicated individuals are going to find a way around any security measures you put in place. Key questions to ask during selection are:

  • What types of data are you looking to protect? PHI, PII, cardholder data, proprietary, intellectual property, or a combination?
  • Who currently handles these data types?
  • What types of methods do they use for accessing and managing them?
  • What level of security do you expect to get out of the product?
Customers who are realistic about the fact that a DLP solution is meant to prevent most unauthorized movement of data and will not prevent all are perfect candidates for Websense Data Security Suite.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 06, 2014

Forcepoint DLP Review: "Websense just makes sense."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Websense was implemented to protect the organization from external and internal internet abuse. It successfully cut down on desktop issues, prevented pop-ups and prevented internal issues of internet abuse. In the end it it gave the CEO and IT relief as the cost of the product more than paid for itself in reduced support of desktops. We used it across the whole organization as an internet proxy.

We test drove other products but they just did not compare in terms of reporting, ease of use and out of the box categories.
  • We implemented time based internet use. At lunch hour non work related websites were free to use and other parts of the day employees had 1/2 hour to freely surf. Setting this up on Websense was a breeze and helped reduce initial complaints from end users during implementation.
  • An added bonus of Websense was the ad/pop-up blocking. Not only did this save on bandwidth, but it also in the end drastically reduced the number of desktop issues we had from malware related internet surfing. Rebuilding or troubleshooting desktops ended up being a thing of the past.
  • Maintenance of Websense was particularly easy. The pre-canned categories as well as the daily updates to the lists were accurate and rarely did we have to manually add websites to an allow list. This made administration of Websense straightforward and easy. In the end it just ran and ran with very minimal maintenance on our end.
  • Initial install can be confusing. After I implemented it 3 or 4 times it was fairly straight forward.
  • Having a planning tool for how many users and what size of server would be a plus. When we implemented it was kind of a best guess based on 3 different setups.
  • Would be nice if they implemented a feature where if a user came to a page that was blocked (and they felt like it should be open) that they could click on a link which would generate an email or put into a report for administrators to review.
I personally think that every organization should have a form of Websense. The initial cost and on going support is easily paid for and it makes it easier on IT administrators and the organization more secure in the end. To me Websense is a no-brainer and I now run a web filter at home because of it.
Read this authenticated review

About Forcepoint DLP

Categories:  Data Loss Prevention

Forcepoint DLP Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No