TrustRadius
Mozy is an online data backup service which allows users to back up their hard drive and, in the event of a computer catastrophe, perform a full restore of all files. The product is now offered by Carbonite since its acquisition from Dell in March 2018.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/7u/UV/E6T7D04INFAH.JPEGMozy Pro - Simple and effective backups for the SMB sectorMozy Pro was our one and only end-user backup client at my previous employer. It was used across the entire organization, including high-level executives all the way to the C-level. We used IT to backup users' critical files, although we did not use it to perform full backups of machines. It primary was used to backup profile data, such as My Documents, My Pictures, Favorites, Desktop, Downloads, etc. Mozy Pro does an excellent job of this. It is also very easy to administer from the web portal. It makes adding new users, restoring backups or downloading them very easy, for both admins and end-users. We were also very impressed with how easy it was to update policies and push those to users. It worked very well, and we rarely had to engage support for anything.,Simple administrative web interface - It's easy to provision users, look at data usage stats, disable users, and update policies to control what folders users are allowed to backup, and what options they can access Easy client installation - Installing and updating clients was very simple. The client would notify the user when a new update was approved by the site admins, and they typically went very smoothly. Good performance - Backups went fairly fast, and were generally invisible to the user, other than the icon updating on files to indicate whether the current version of a file was backed up or not.,Somewhat expensive for storage received - We observed that Mozy didn't offer a great deal of storage per user by default, whereas unlimited storage was available from other vendors at a reasonable price No data deduplication - It would be nice to see data deduplication, especially since the amount of storage available was somewhat limited. Slightly dated feel - The Mozy Pro interface was a bit dated when we used it, at least compared to competing backup solutions,8,Cheap and effective backups - We prevented employees from losing lots of time, and the company losing money, by helping people retain copies of important files even after equipment failures or theft. Requires very little technical knowledge to operate - Once the administrators setup the backup profiles, the users just need to login after the software installed, and Mozy Pro takes care of the rest. When dealing with non-technical people, this is essential. Eventually outgrew it - We eventually outgrew Mozy Pro, and other products became more appealing due to a newer interface, more storage, data deduplication, and strong compression being available with those other solutions,CrashPlanSave yourself time and headaches by using Mozy Pro to back up your files!I use Mozy as a backup service for all my design files on my work computer as well as my personal files on my home computer. The plan I'm on lets me have up to 3 computers connected for backup, so I have my parents' laptop being backed up as well. Business wise, this tool is invaluable. My computer crashed a few years ago completely. To the point where I had to do a factory reset. If it hadn't been for Mozy, I would have lost everything. Fortunately I had Mozy and lost almost nothing. It's also great for transferring computers. You can do a final backup on the old machine and do a full restore on the new machine and everything will be restored in the same way as it was on the old machine, file folder structures included.,Full file backups Automatic backups so I don't have to think about it. You can set it to a specific time of day or number of times you want it to backup throughout the day. Restore is very easy, almost like one click. You can log in to Mozy anytime to view files that have been backed up. Once I forgot to bring home a file I needed for a project I was working on, and I was able to log in and download it from the cloud very easily and quickly. They have a Stash folder feature that I haven't used very often, but it's great and works the same way as a Dropbox folder or Google Drive folder would. It makes the files you save in it available immediately.,I would like to see backups for programs that I have installed on my machine. For instance I use Adobe CS6 and MS Office among other things. Instead of having to reinstall all these programs on my new machine, I would love for Mozy to be able to save the programs somehow and I can restore them as they were on the old machine with the same almost one-click process that I use to restore files. Basically like Time Machine, but for Windows.,10,When my computer crashed in 2013, I had only been in business for 2 years. But if I had lost all those files, that would be have been tens of thousands of dollars worth of work down the drain. So it definitely saved me there. Also saves time when transferring between devices, because I can turn it on and let it restore while I go do other things instead of having to put all my files on a hard drive and then transferring them over manually.,Accounting by Wave, Google Drive, EvernoteMozy - Easy to setup - Easy on the walletWe use Mozy to back up our critical files throughout the day. It is used across the organization.,Automated backup multiple times a day. Versioning of files. Easy administration and setup.,Additional configuration on backup process, for example warning of file deletion. Being able to configure length of version history. Add functionality to make a full disk snapshot.,8,Mozy is very affordable and pricing is very flexible and easy to add more space when needed. This allows us to only pay for what we need. Having our critical files protected is the most important thing. The fact that it doesn't cost much for us to do that is just a bonus.,Carbonite,Google Drive, Google Domains, NetBeansMozy Pro - gets the job done but not recommended for complex networks or networks with large data.I'm currently using Mozy Pro for a few clients of mine to back up data (files, etc.) It addresses the need to have fully automated backups with little to no user intervention.,Backup automation with little to no intervention required by my staff or the client. Easy to set up - I frequently send instructions to end users to set it up themselves. Online support has been up to par.,The pricing structure is dated and not competitive. Somewhat confusing user interface that has caused issues for the typical end user. Slow speeds when backing up.,6,Mozy pro has been a great alternative to using backup tapes but there are other alternatives out there that I would consider before deploying in a business grade network.,CrashPlan, Carbonite and AppAssure,CrashPlan, Amazon Web Services, CarboniteGreat for small business, but needs improvement to play with the big boys.Mozy is being used throughout several clients at my company and has been extremely reliable. The software is as set and forget as is comes. We have even come to prefer restoring files from the Mozy cloud over our local backups due to its easy to use interface and faster overall restore times. Great product for small businesses that can easily grow along with you.,Great easy to use interface Quick backup times (only changes are backed up) Quick and easy restores Strong customer service,The only area that I see which needs improvement is Mozy's backup capabilities. Great for file backups and restores but needs more such as exchange backup support, and other database related products.,7,Better customer service though rarely needed. Increased efficiency when restores are required of specific files,,9
Unspecified
Mozy
17 Ratings
Score 8.1 out of 101
TRScore

Mozy Reviews

Mozy
17 Ratings
Score 8.1 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 17 vetted Mozy reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-7 of 7)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Kurt Ferguson profile photo
April 25, 2017

Review: "Mozy Pro - Simple and effective backups for the SMB sector"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mozy Pro was our one and only end-user backup client at my previous employer. It was used across the entire organization, including high-level executives all the way to the C-level. We used IT to backup users' critical files, although we did not use it to perform full backups of machines. It primary was used to backup profile data, such as My Documents, My Pictures, Favorites, Desktop, Downloads, etc. Mozy Pro does an excellent job of this. It is also very easy to administer from the web portal. It makes adding new users, restoring backups or downloading them very easy, for both admins and end-users. We were also very impressed with how easy it was to update policies and push those to users. It worked very well, and we rarely had to engage support for anything.
  • Simple administrative web interface - It's easy to provision users, look at data usage stats, disable users, and update policies to control what folders users are allowed to backup, and what options they can access
  • Easy client installation - Installing and updating clients was very simple. The client would notify the user when a new update was approved by the site admins, and they typically went very smoothly.
  • Good performance - Backups went fairly fast, and were generally invisible to the user, other than the icon updating on files to indicate whether the current version of a file was backed up or not.
  • Somewhat expensive for storage received - We observed that Mozy didn't offer a great deal of storage per user by default, whereas unlimited storage was available from other vendors at a reasonable price
  • No data deduplication - It would be nice to see data deduplication, especially since the amount of storage available was somewhat limited.
  • Slightly dated feel - The Mozy Pro interface was a bit dated when we used it, at least compared to competing backup solutions
Mozy Pro is a great fit, especially for small businesses that don't want to pursue a very large number of licenses, and don't have many TB of data to backup. The price per user is reasonable, and well within the budget of smaller businesses needing workstation backup solutions. For larger enterprises, there are other products that provide a lot more storage and better performance. We found Code42's product to be better for larger data backup needs.
Read Kurt Ferguson's full review
Ruby Javaid profile photo
February 21, 2017

Review: "Save yourself time and headaches by using Mozy Pro to back up your files!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Mozy as a backup service for all my design files on my work computer as well as my personal files on my home computer. The plan I'm on lets me have up to 3 computers connected for backup, so I have my parents' laptop being backed up as well.
Business wise, this tool is invaluable. My computer crashed a few years ago completely. To the point where I had to do a factory reset. If it hadn't been for Mozy, I would have lost everything. Fortunately I had Mozy and lost almost nothing. It's also great for transferring computers. You can do a final backup on the old machine and do a full restore on the new machine and everything will be restored in the same way as it was on the old machine, file folder structures included.
  • Full file backups
  • Automatic backups so I don't have to think about it. You can set it to a specific time of day or number of times you want it to backup throughout the day.
  • Restore is very easy, almost like one click.
  • You can log in to Mozy anytime to view files that have been backed up. Once I forgot to bring home a file I needed for a project I was working on, and I was able to log in and download it from the cloud very easily and quickly.
  • They have a Stash folder feature that I haven't used very often, but it's great and works the same way as a Dropbox folder or Google Drive folder would. It makes the files you save in it available immediately.
  • I would like to see backups for programs that I have installed on my machine. For instance I use Adobe CS6 and MS Office among other things. Instead of having to reinstall all these programs on my new machine, I would love for Mozy to be able to save the programs somehow and I can restore them as they were on the old machine with the same almost one-click process that I use to restore files. Basically like Time Machine, but for Windows.
Mozy is great if you have lots of big files that are business related that you can't afford to lose. It's also great if you have thousands of personal files like photos that you would be upset at losing. If you can make use of Google Photos/Drive to meet your needs, then that would be a cheaper solution. But for business, this is the way to go.
Read Ruby Javaid's full review
No photo available
March 21, 2017

Review: "Mozy - Easy to setup - Easy on the wallet"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Mozy to back up our critical files throughout the day. It is used across the organization.
  • Automated backup multiple times a day.
  • Versioning of files.
  • Easy administration and setup.
  • Additional configuration on backup process, for example warning of file deletion.
  • Being able to configure length of version history.
  • Add functionality to make a full disk snapshot.
Mozy is great for automated back up of critical files. The only drawback to the backup method is that if a file is deleted accidentally, it will only be in the backup history for a limited time, with no warning that it will be gone soon.
Read this authenticated review
Anthony Shane profile photo
May 09, 2016

Review: "Mozy Pro - gets the job done but not recommended for complex networks or networks with large data."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm currently using Mozy Pro for a few clients of mine to back up data (files, etc.) It addresses the need to have fully automated backups with little to no user intervention.
  • Backup automation with little to no intervention required by my staff or the client.
  • Easy to set up - I frequently send instructions to end users to set it up themselves.
  • Online support has been up to par.
  • The pricing structure is dated and not competitive.
  • Somewhat confusing user interface that has caused issues for the typical end user.
  • Slow speeds when backing up.
I feel that Mozy Pro is great for home users but lacks scalability (pricing) for businesses.
Read Anthony Shane's full review
Joshua Cedeño profile photo
June 27, 2014

Mozy Review: "Great for small business, but needs improvement to play with the big boys."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mozy is being used throughout several clients at my company and has been extremely reliable. The software is as set and forget as is comes. We have even come to prefer restoring files from the Mozy cloud over our local backups due to its easy to use interface and faster overall restore times. Great product for small businesses that can easily grow along with you.
  • Great easy to use interface
  • Quick backup times (only changes are backed up)
  • Quick and easy restores
  • Strong customer service
  • The only area that I see which needs improvement is Mozy's backup capabilities. Great for file backups and restores but needs more such as exchange backup support, and other database related products.
I see Mozy as a great option for home and small business backups where standard files are more in use. If the colleague or client has servers with multiple sql servers or a virtual environment, my recommendation would be to a more complete backup option that allows for local back ups with cloud replication. However, with Mozy's quick and simple file restores, I could recommend it as and added level of file backup for increased business continuity.
Read Joshua Cedeño's full review
No photo available
September 21, 2016

Review: "Mozy- Feature rich but be wary of price plan changes"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Our organization utilizes Mozy for cloud backup and DR. Mozy is simple to install, easy to set up, use and administer. Storage volume is managed at the organizational level so individual machines can store as much as they require. Backups can be scheduled to run in the background with various options to determine performance implications.

When dealing with Mozy enterprise there are two perspectives, user and administrator. For the user Mozy presents the user a nice console that allows them to access backup sets (your files grouped together, like music or pictures), file system, backup history (stats on each backup including number of files added to the set), and restore.

From the administration perspective Mozy integrates with AD making user provisioning and management fairly simple (for example with integrated login users do not need separate passwords).

Restoration is very easy for the end user. It can be done based on backup sets (e.g. restore all photos) or file system. Additionally files can be restored from their latest version or an older version.

  • Performance Settings: Mozy can be configured to run very smoothly in the background with minimal performance degradation. It provides network bandwidth throttling, backup speed, and backing up only when idle option. From my own experience I usually do not notice any performance degradation when Mozy is running. Of course a good network or Internet connection is vital.
  • Restore: file restoration is simple and intuitive. The user can restore logical backup sets (e.g. all photos) or file based (select the folder or file you want restored). Files and folders can be restored with the latest version or earlier version. Rename and overwrite options provide further flexibility.
  • Sync: with Mozy you can sync file across multiple devices including mobile. Access to your corporate files via smart phone is a secure manner is very useful.
  • While overall file restoration is easy to do, obtaining earlier versions is not as user friendly as it could be. You need to enter a date and click search to bring up the latest versions as of the date entered. That’s fine, but what is missing is the ability to see all versions of an individual file. If I am looking for a past file version I want to be able to view the file history as a subset of that file (in other words I should be able to click a + sign and expand to see past versions of the file). Otherwise I am just guessing which dates the file was changed in the past. Sometimes that’s OK, but Mozy needs to build in this enhanced, but necessary feature.
  • A couple of years ago, for non enterprise users, Mozy made radical storage and pricing changes forcing myself and many users off their system, as the price for the same storage was going up significantly. So be careful when using Mozy as past experience has shown they are willing to make major changes regardless of the negative impact on their users.
As described earlier I would warn prospective users of their past behavior in terms of changing plan structures regardless of impact to their customers. But they did provide an expedited method to migrate your data to other backup service providers, and their product is high quality so it balances out somewhat. With that in mind Mozy has positioned itself well for both the individual and the corporate markets, and works well in both environments. Their integration with AD and administrative features do make them attractive as a corporate tool (enterprise version). In the end though, especially for the individual or small business, it may come down to how much data you need backed up. Mozy is definitely not the cheapest option on the market.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 14, 2014

Review: "Mozy makes reliable daily backups tough."

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mozy is being used to back up our subsidiary's servers. When researching for a cloud hosted backup solution Mozy was able to check off the most on our must have list. Mozy was intended to replace the use of a real enterprise backup solution and be a low cost solution for backing up a few servers. For this requirement, they have done well.
  • The Mozy client is simple to install and configure.
  • They have a set it and forget it approach. There isn't much to do once it is installed.
  • It deduplicates the data before sending it to the cloud. Saving time and bandwidth.
  • Mozy keeps a copy of the backups around for 90 days. Which is sufficient for the type of company and servers we are backing up.
  • They do have Microsoft Exchange and SQL add-ins that allow you to backup those databases.
  • They have an onsite mode where you can write to local storage as well.
  • The administrative interface is clunky and hard to use.
  • There are too many micro management configuration options to be set in the administrative interface.
  • We've had many instances of servers failing to back up once in a day. Most of the errors we run into are on Mozy's datacenter side of things.
  • Mozy doesn't notify it's customers when there is work being done in the datacenters. Therefore leading to backups erroring out and multiple support calls.
I would not recommend Mozy to any colleague. We've had unreliable backups with them ever since we've moved over to Mozy. Whenever we've called into support it is always something on the data center side. Mozy would be a good fit for a small business just looking to back up a few small machines.
Read this authenticated review

About Mozy

Mozy is an online data backup service which allows users to back up their hard drive and, in the event of a computer catastrophe, perform a full restore of all files. The product is now offered by Carbonite since its acquisition from Dell in March 2018.
Categories:  Endpoint Backup

Mozy Competitors

Mozy Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No