Oracle Linux Reviews

34 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-9 of 9)

Holman Cárdenas, M.Eng, TOGAF®, ITIL® | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 17, 2019

Robust Linux operating system

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

In my previous experiences, I have worked with Oracle Linux (starting with the Oracle Unbreakable Linux version) across different kinds of organizations (port and logistics, then government). It was used for Oracle Database servers because of the Oracle-oriented optimizations and pre-tuning.
Read Holman Cárdenas, M.Eng, TOGAF®, ITIL®'s full review
Jose de la Cruz Malena | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

My Oracle Linux Experience

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We started to move all Linux distros (Ubuntu, CentOS) and some Windows services to Oracle Linux, because of the need of an Oracle supported and advanced, secure, and scalable Linux. The IT department is the one that uses most of Oracle Linux on a daily basis. Our HelpDesk, VoIP, GitLab, RedMine and monitoring tools are running on several Oracle Linux installations. All the websites we publish are on Oracle Linux+Apache+PHP, and the ones on ASP are planned to be moved as well because it has proved to be faster. We plan to move to the cloud and to Autonomous Linux in the next year.
Read Jose de la Cruz Malena's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 01, 2019

Solid stable Linux distribution!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Oracle Linux as our primary Linux distribution deployed for our customers, but also for testing purposes on multiple test and UAT environments. Currently it is used mainly by our department. We aim to provide commercial technical support for customers for our products, and thanks to the Oracle Linux Support program which covers Oracle Linux, we are getting assistance if needed.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 01, 2019

Best overall choice

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Oracle Linux is the OS that our monitoring platform lives on. The stability that it provides makes it a great choice for any production environment. The ability to provide a scalable, secure, supported environment has been welcomed by many.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 29, 2018

Working with ORACLE LINUX 7

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is the platform that helps us support other platforms and tools throughout the organization. It provides stability and security, allowing us to provide a secure and reliable platform.
Read this authenticated review
Bert Scalzo | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 08, 2018

Oracle Linux an Oracle DBA Must Have OS Choice

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I work across many different types of organizations. In some cases, Oracle Linux is being used for all database servers across the entire organization. In some cases, it is being selectively rolled out to replace legacy Unix systems. Plus in a few isolated cases, I've helped to replace Windows database servers with Oracle Linux. The common theme across all these different types of organizations is that they want the best Linux for running Oracle, which is pre-tuned and optimized as well as well supported by the database vendor. Oracle Linux wins hands down on these points.
Read Bert Scalzo's full review
Bruce Emmerling | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 08, 2018

A powerful and robust Linux operating system for Oracle users.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Oracle Linux is a powerful OS providing both workstation and server functionalities for small businesses and organizations. The OS is fairly stable, has robust features, and can utilize many of the available software applications for Linux. It was used as a mainstream operating system for remote laptops. It was fairly inexpensive to implement and fairly simple to run.
Read Bruce Emmerling's full review
Carlos Daniel Casañas Bertolo ஃ | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 16, 2018

Solid But Boring.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It's relatively simple for use by all the IT department. It is pretty easy to get things done with it, but it’s not that exciting to use at all. Very useful user controls that can make it practical and helpful for getting your work done. It's useful for the professional work setting, for sure.
Read Carlos Daniel Casañas Bertolo ஃ's full review

Oracle Linux Scorecard Summary

About Oracle Linux

Oracle Linux is a free distribution of the Linux open-source operating system. It is based on the Red Hat Linux source code. To learn more, visit https://www.oracle.com/linux/

Categories:  Operating Systems

Oracle Linux Competitors

Amazon, IBM, Microsoft

Oracle Linux Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No