Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) Reviews

98 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-16 of 16)

Marc Shaffer | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 19, 2019

RHEL, the best server solution we can find.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is the most reliable OS out there. We replaced all our Windows systems with RHEL and have few crashes or tech issues. It runs all of our servers now and we are very happy. We deployed it corp wide and it was an easy setup. It has cut my tech support requirements by at least half due to its reliability.
  • Runs our high use servers flawlessly
  • It is easy to repair
  • It grows stronger every day
  • It's very adaptable and functional
  • My techs love it for its speed and reliability
  • More documentation
  • More programs that run on it
  • Better GUI for desktop users
All servers work great. It is reliable, fast and secure. But it's not as intuitive as it could be for desktop use, a better GUI would help this. So far, we have not found an application that this will not work for.
Read Marc Shaffer's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 24, 2019

Red Hat Linux: for when you just want it to work and keep on working!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use RHEL 7 across our whole organization. It's a rock-solid, well-supported operating system that is our OS of choice when it comes to Linux. It's used by multiple departments to address multiple problems, from security to database to logging. It's very easy to maintain and support, and it's also very secure.
  • Secure. It's secure by default, and you can harden it even further.
  • Supported. Support from Red Hat is excellent.
  • AWS licensing model isn't great, that needs some work.
  • Updating needs some work to get set up properly.
If you're running Linux in the enterprise, Red Hat should be your first choice. It's well-supported and third-party products for Linux will be designed to work with Red Hat. They may behave differently and less stably under other Linux operating systems—McAfee, I'm looking at you here! If the question is "Will x work with this flavor of Linux?", with Red Hat, the answer is always a Yes.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 16, 2019

Simple. Stable. Secure. Red Hat Enterprise Linux

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) has been selected as the operating system of choice for our business critical development servers. With its reputation for stability, Red Hat Enterprise Linux was the obvious choice to support our business critical applications. Coupled with professional technical support and services, RHEL has been both reliable and stable in our deployment.
  • Stability. RHEL is well recognized for its stability while maintaining good support for necessary security patches.
  • Support. Unlike many free Linux distributions, Red Hat Enterprise Linux is run like a true first-class enterprise offering, with professional support.
  • Latest Features. By nature of it offering such strong stability, RHEL is often slow to offer newer packages, favoring stability over newness.
  • Price. All of the stability and support comes at a cost, and it can't compete when you don't need the added support.
As I've discussed previously, Red Hat Enterprise Linux is really well suited to environments where one requires near absolute stability. RHEL's reputation for extensive uptime is well deserved, and if you're hosting an enterprise application on a RHEL server, it's unlikely that the operating system will be a source of instability.

You should avoid RHEL if you're looking for a Linux development environment, as you'll not be satisfied with the speed of package updating, nor the daily user interface.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

The most stable Linux Distro

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All our machines and servers are established as RHEL. It is being extensively used by our company as an alternative to CENTOS (which is basically an unsupported version of the same) mainly because of the stability that it provides and the amazing customer service that Red Hat has to offer its customers.
  • Stability
  • Cleaner Software updates
  • Robust
  • The license is expensive
The amazing thing about Red Hat Enterprise Linux, as I keep on telling everyone I meet, is the stability it provides. I haven't restarted my Red Hat server in the last 18 months, and I am not planning to do so anytime soon, unless met with a power outage.
If you are a company running a service 24/7, I haven't seen any linux distro more stable than Red Hat.
Read this authenticated review
Chris Saenz | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

A Rock-Solid Operating System

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
RHEL is one of the primary operating systems that we implement at our organization. It's a major Linux distribution that is supported by Red Hat for enterprise customers. We use it when an application requires Linux or our users prefer RHEL to host their application. When users prefer RHEL, it is typically the first or only Linux distribution that is compatible.
  • Stable OS.
  • Release security patches quickly.
  • Compatible with many third-party applications.
  • Support has been hit or miss
RHEL is a rock-solid server for some essential network services, such as NFS, DNS, SMTP, Apache, Tomcat, etc., in addition to running third-party applications. It may not as well suited for things like DHCP because of the lack of active directory integration. Also, if users are used to NTFS permissions backed by a domain, then running as a file share may not be as beneficial as running a Windows CIFS server.
Read Chris Saenz's full review
Holman Cárdenas, M.Eng, TOGAF®, ITIL® | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 26, 2019

Redhat Enterprise Linux - Reliable, secure and with outstanding support!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Red Hat Enterprise Linux is used across the whole organization for our servers, mainly for the mission-critical environments running Oracle DB. It provides an efficient, secure and stable platform we are happy with.
  • Quick turnaround time on security releases.
  • Reliable OS providing a strong environnement.
  • Excellent support through the RHEL site.
  • Complex upgrade policies between major versions.
  • Hardware compatibility.
  • Cost.
This should be your first choice if you are thinking about using Linux mission-critical servers and/or Oracle databases. Price could be a con if you are a small or budget-restricted company starting operations (in that case I would recommend you CentOS because it is free and in case you don't mind searching in the community when you'd need support).
Read Holman Cárdenas, M.Eng, TOGAF®, ITIL®'s full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

RHEL is worth using

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
It's been used by my organization and we support the product which is robust and secure. It's easy to understand and helpful in troubleshooting issues with different trees assigned for each function.
  • It is very secure where root access is the only option to make any major changes, and profiles and roles have been defined to assign user-level access to different directories.
  • During troubleshooting it's easy to fix one since each feature has its own directory to look for and it's easy to point to the issue.
  • Vulnerabilities are fixed with easy patch creation which fixed the issue quickly and without affecting the other working features.
  • Graphical representation has to be more user-friendly.
  • Layman should be able to understand the directory and work on the feature enablement and disablement in Linux.
It's suited for data center and voice that needs to be very secure and robust. If basic user level changes are required, then Linux fails since it's not very user-friendly for the layman.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 01, 2019

Worlds most reliable and secure Operating System - RHEL

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) is being used in our organization on a huge basis. From the deployment of servers to application management, all is done on RHEL. Thanks to its amazing and unbeatable features which help us in efficiently and effectively managing the assets. Because these servers are usually managed by the backend teams and the team which is running the show, the OS is majorly used by backend teams and not by everyone.

For the business problems, when an application performs well and with its maximum output, all the tasks are done in a well-oiled manner which in turn helps everyone to achieve great heights. Because of RHEL's fast and rock-solid performance, everything works perfectly and stays on the top of its game.
  • RHEL is Secure: Because everything on this OS depends on permissions, no Virus or malicious code can penetrate from one file to another. In RHEL everything works and can work with permissions. If some task is not having particular permissions to be performed, it can never be performed until and until the file is having appropriate permissions for it. Henceforth, even if any thing successfully penetrates in your system, it can never spread to other systems in network because everything locks the file out as it is not having appropriate permissions to be executed which make the system safe and secure.
  • RHEL is Fast: Most of the processes in RHEL remain on sleep and activates only when required unlike other OS. At one point in time, only 2-3 processes are active which are being used and rest all the systems remains sleeping and activates only when system or the user calls them. This eventually help the system to dedicate its 100% of processing power to the active processes which in turn increases efficiency of the system making is fast.
  • RHEL is Open Source: You can find the full code for this OS online and make any tweaks to the code as per your or your organizations needs. You are never forced to use the features that come out of the box and you always have the option to make any changes making this OS a very flexible one. The only catch in this advantage is that you can never sell the modified version of the OS but you can always use it for your and the organizational use.
  • RHEL's GUI: The Graphical User Interface (GUI) of this OS is particular old fashioned or you can say it depicts legacy view. This might be good for the old users but many users nowadays prefer new and animated graphics with advanced movements graphics. RHEL lacks a bit in this field as the GUI has hardly been modified since a very long time.
  • RHEL's Open Source Technical Support: RHEL does not provide free technical support if you are struck anywhere. You will have to buy the OS and technical support so as to avail the same. This is a tricky part since doing a lot of stuff in Linux requires in-depth technical knowledge which everyone is not aware of. So you can always search the questions online but many times you'll end up on Red Hat's official page which has the question but unfortunately you cannot view because you are not a subscribed user. Some sort of free support shall also be provided with the OS.
RHEL is well suited for deploying servers and applications. If you're happy working on a terminal and do not want much of graphical user interface, then RHEL is your cup of tea. It is highly reliable and makes you super happy performance-wise. You can easily set it up running and start deploying your servers and application on this OS and not worrying much about security since the OS itself is very secure.

If you're not fond of working on a black screen and need some sort of animations and cool icons to move around, then I would suggest RHEL is not your cup of tea since it lacks a lot in those aspects. However, the unbeatable performance of the OS is a major advantage which everyone shall consider while using computers.
Read this authenticated review
Ravinder Gupta | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 01, 2019

Great OS for ERP Solutions

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Red Hat Enterprise Linux on our physical database servers and virtual application servers. Our infrastructure supports an ERP solution. We had a couple of choices based on what the ERP supports, and we decided to use Red Hat Enterprise Linux to host our database, applications, and backup infrastructure. Red Hat Enterprise Linux is quite affordable and very well suited for enterprise solutions. Plenty of online resources are available if you ever run into issues.
  • Support for multiple shell environments. It supports most of the popular shell environments and lets you create shell scripts for your backend tasks.
  • It comes with nice out of the box features for OS level performance monitoring and troubleshooting.
  • RHEL has a great support forum. If you ever need technical help, the forum is extremely useful.
  • While some of the other Linux distributions like OpenSuse have greatly improved user experience and GUI, I think RHEL mostly prefers terminal over GUI.
RHEL is very well suited for enterprise solutions. It works great both on physical and virtual infrastructure. It definitely requires users to have a good level of shell programming knowledge, especially if you are going to administer the OS.
Read Ravinder Gupta's full review
Roger Mialkowski | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 31, 2019

A solid alternative to enterprise server operating systems.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
RHEL is used by organization for critical services such as NTP (network time protocol) to provide time to Microsoft Active Directory servers, video cameras, network equipment, and other appliances. We also use it to provide SAMBA and NFS-based file services to other servers. The 10 year life cycle that RHEL offers helps us maintain those services without having to worry about other operating systems' going out of support or forcing upgrades.
  • RHEL sets the standard for enterprise Linux computing. Its source code is freely available for review and customization. It has been a rock-solid performer in our organization.
  • Being a commercial offering, the support contracts have always provided us with solutions when we faced any issues.
  • RHEL's compatibility with our commodity server grade hardware has kept our investment costs low.
  • We were hoping to deploy Red Hat Certificate Services but even after professional consulting with Red Hat, we weren't able to integrate it into our Microsoft environment due to the inability of performing workstation auto-enrollment.
  • The license renewal/support costs appear to rival those of other operating system providers which makes you wonder about the added value you are expecting.
  • Hardware compatibility can be a little restrictive if you are using lesser known non-mainstream specialized products.
If you are an organization that isn't locked into the environment of other operating system makers, then RHEL should be your very next stop. Administration is getting advanced as time goes by which makes that comparable to the point and click that most admins are crutched by. Scripting has always been the go-to method of administering Linux systems and even Microsoft is starting to really get it in gear with their PowerShell features.
Read Roger Mialkowski's full review
Carlos Daniel Casañas Bertolo ஃ | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 28, 2018

Stability and several tools to rock your DC

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For many clients, Red Hat has improved the mission-critical environments running Oracle and Informix databases, and in web environments too.
  • There are several tools which Red Hat provides as add-ons such as ReaR (Relax and Recover) which can be used for disaster recovery.
  • You can always scale the hard disk as much as you want, add NFS, CIFS disks and still, the enterprise solution would run seamlessly.
  • Red Hat Linux has given us five nines (99.999%) uptime for years.
  • The upgrade policies between the major versions, like from RHEL 5 to RHEL 6, should be much easier.
  • Really Stable Linux OS.
  • Good for Oracle and SAP Environments.
  • The customer service is good and all problems were solved.
Read Carlos Daniel Casañas Bertolo ஃ's full review
Ryan Payne | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2018

Red Hat Enterprise Linux for enterprise applications

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Red Hat Enterprise Linux is the operating system of choice on which many of our major enterprise applications are running. It provides an efficient stable platform for major technology systems across the enterprise.
  • Stable and efficient OS
  • Addresses critical vulnerabilities quickly
  • Familiar command structure for technical resources
  • Task scheduling ease of use
  • Shared mounting protocol support
  • Third party services support
Very suitable for running large scale applications in a datacenter environment. Smaller applications or distributed systems are better suited for Windows or other Linux offerings. The manageability and scalability benefits do not outweigh the cost for these types of deployments.
Read Ryan Payne's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2018

RHEL - still one of the best!!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
RHEL provides the flexibility and stability required for the implementation of a company-wide application used in the processing of data retrieved from several databases hosted in Oracle. By using RHEL we were able to implement a custom solution, built upon PostgreSQL and RedHat's Jboss, which allowed the automated conversion of the Oracle data into one usable by other applications. RHEL allowed us to implement:
1. An extremely stable system which can best be described as "power on and leave alone"
2. Custom scripts for monitoring both the OS and application
  • Very well thought out package manager, that not only installs the software you want but also the prerequisites when necessary.
  • Excellent support through the RHEL site and the overall community
  • Straightforward installation with easy to follow menus and guides
  • Licensing is thoroughly explained and with full instructions on how to apply for new and renewed licenses
  • While the command line installation runs well, the desktop GUI tends to be resource intensive at times
  • The GUI based install menu does not scale well at times resulting in some menu options spilling offscreen
  • By default a menu based network manager should be included, from my experience particularly with the minimal install, this was not the case resulting in me editing the configuration file directly. Additionally, network tools should also be installed by default.
As an OS, RHEL can be implemented as a user OS and Server OS. the features and customization make its uses almost limitless. two areas in which the OS shine would be:
1. Automated systems in which a minimal OS is required and user intervention is limited
2. Hosting of sensitive information either as a file or web server. The extensive security features and customization allow admins to tweak the OS as needed, allowing unprecedented control.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 16, 2018

RedHat Linux- a very good alternative for Server Development

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, RHEL is deployed on a legacy blade server (Dell Poweredge 1950) for testing Redmine project management system to track research projects, as well as to test the defectiveness of Redmine in replacing our current production ticketing system.

In Addition to Redmine, we also use Cockpit on RHEL (in our test/development), which functions as a makeshift NOC
  • Stability
  • Admin workflows
  • Will boot on hardware that other systems may not boot on (especially on legacy systems)
  • Upgrading
  • RPM is getting old
  • I'd like to see RHEL move away from rpms, and use a faster system such as apt
In our current configuration, Red Hat works well as legacy-centric OS: not running virtualization, but offering bare-metal testing of services and software. For example, being able to run a legacy version of Red Hat can give you access to tool-chains (compilers, assemblers, etc) that are not available today (because as tech moved on, they became broken), and having that ability works well. Also- our server is a single-core, dual processor unit, with 8GB/1GB stick RAM, and 500 GB HD (all low-end specs, now), and Red Hat (v19) booted with no problems, and even booted back up on its HD as a rescue environment.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 11, 2018

Red Hat Enterprise Linux - A great supported Linux flavor

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Red Hat Enterprise Linux over the years as our go to Linux operating system. It allowed us to do all of our systems needs. Paying for the Enterprise level of Linux is also nice as you have support if you need it, unlike other open source solutions.
  • Support
  • Years of iterations.
  • Great Linux Operating system
  • Cost
Red Hat Enterprise Linux is best suited for companies that are using Linux on a daily basis but also need support when issues come up. If you are bootstrapping a startup there are many free open source alternatives out there that do the same as Red Hat Enterprise Linux without the cost.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2018

Redhat Enterprise Linux - Reliable with exceptional support

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The first name that comes to mind when any of us in the Tech industry think of about servers (except for Windows lovers) is Red Hat Enterprise Linux.
RHEL is used across the whole organization for our servers and we are more than happy with Red Hat products and their services.
  • Exceptional Support
  • Quick turnaround time on security releases
  • Reliable product
  • It's not bleeding edge in terms of updates/patches (but if it jeopardizes reliability we are better off one step behind)
  • Seen some severe issues with certain updates in the recent past
If you're thinking Linux servers, this should be your top choice. Unless you choose to go open source and pick CentOS (my personal favorite, Linux power users or lovers will know the bare differences). If you are a small company just starting out I'd recommend CentOS based on sheer cost (free).
Read this authenticated review

About Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL)

Red Hat Enterprise Linux is a Linux distribution mainly used in commercial data centers.


Categories:  Operating Systems

Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No