Toad Database Developer Tools

Toad Database Developer Tools

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 9.2 out of 100
Toad Database Developer Tools

Overview

Recent Reviews

Ram's Toad Review

9 out of 10
November 10, 2019
Toad for Oracle is used to connect to our Database. It is used to do query, write PL/SQL, execute and fine-tune our database queries for …
Continue reading

Toad keeps me productive

8 out of 10
October 02, 2019
This application is being used almost exclusively by our technical team. It provides a helpful environment for creating, testing and …
Continue reading

Oracle DB Toad is aight

8 out of 10
September 14, 2019
It solves our integration projects and database queries, and the need for transactions to set up standards for our customers.
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Popular Features

View all 9 features
  • Database status reporting (29)
    9.5
    95%
  • Schema maintenance (29)
    9.0
    90%
  • Performance optimization tools (30)
    9.0
    90%
  • User management (30)
    9.0
    90%

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Toad Database Developer Tools, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Toad Edge For MySQL

$229

On Premise
per year

Toad Edge For Postgres

$229

On Premise
per year

Toad for SQL - Pro Edition

$437

On Premise
per year

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.quest.com/products/#%20

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $229 per year

Features Scorecard

Database Development

8.5
85%

Database Administration

9.1
91%

Product Details

What is Toad Database Developer Tools?

Toad by Quest is a database management toolset that database developers, administrators and data analysts use to simplify workflows, create high quality code free from defects, automate frequent or repetitive processes, and minimize risks. Editions include Toad for Oracle, which automates administration tasks and helps proactively manage databases while embracing performance optimization and risk mitigation. Similar editions exist for IBM DB2, SQL Server, SAP, or MySQL and Postgres environments (Toad Edge).

Toad can be used to manage critical systems and data environments. By enabling a proactive approach to database management, Toad allows teams to focus on more strategic initiatives and move the business forward in today’s data-driven economy.

The Toad DevOps Toolkit aims to make it easy to integrate Oracle database change management into an automated DevOps CI/CD workflow — without compromising quality, performance or reliability. For data privacy, Toad for Oracle - Sensitive Data Protection helps minimize the risk of non-compliance by protecting sensitive data across all Oracle databases.

Ultimately Toad database developer tools help to reduce the impact of inefficient code on productivity, future development cycles, performance and availability.

Toad Database Developer Tools Videos

Getting started With Toad for Oracle - in-depth tutorial
Introduction to Toad for Oracle for Developers - in-depth tutorial

Toad Database Developer Tools Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise
Operating SystemsWindows
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Toad by Quest is a database management toolset that database developers, administrators and data analysts use to simplify workflows, create code free from defects, automate frequent or repetitive processes, and minimize risks. Editions include Toad for Oracle, which automates administration tasks and helps proactively manage databases while embracing performance optimization and risk mitigation. Similar editions exist for IBM DB2, SQL Server, SAP, or MySQL and Postgres environments (Toad Edge).

Toad Database Developer Tools starts at $229.

Reviewers rate Database status reporting highest, with a score of 9.5.

The most common users of Toad Database Developer Tools are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Reviews and Ratings

 (123)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 34)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toad is not a free product. Therefore, where I work, only the "real" Oracle developers get a license, while the rest can use the free SQL Developer. Which is a great product that can do anything you want or need. The fact that the Oracle developers get to use Toad does not mean that the company I work for has money to spare... it means it has some real added value where the company is willing to pay for. Toad is a real powertool that is used by Oracle developers as well as DBA's.
  • Tools, tools, tools... for a developer this is a dream product. You feel as if you're in a airplane cockpit where the whole database is at your full control.
  • Quick links or shortcuts are particularly handy, write down a table name and shortcut directly to the definition. Same goes for packages and stored procedures.
  • If you know your way around, development goes really fast. One reason for this is the endless ways in which you can add screens and windows.
  • The power and control it gives is at the same time kind of a negative thing. There's too many options available, even when you don't need them. For simple database operations it's sometimes easier to just use SQL Developer since navigation is way more intuitive and easy.
  • Related with the above: there is a steep learning curve. However, since this is the main tool for any Oracle developer, this is not that much of a problem.
  • If I remember well, Toad used to be free, some 20 years ago. Or at least had a free version. It would be nice to have a free version. The dedicated Oracle developers and DBA's won't use the free version, but all the rest of us developers might use it instead of SQL Developer. It would make communications between everybody somewhat easier.
Well suited for development of stored procedures, packages, running scripts, and each and every DBA operation. Not very well suited for quick and simple querying. Toad seems to be overkill for simple things. Also, it's not very well suited for non-Oracle developers, who might be scared of by the endless amounts of options, tools and windows that Toad offers.
Christee Carter Selway | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toad for Oracle is being used by DBAs, application developers, and system analysts. It aids in issue troubleshooting, data validation, data comparison across systems, and easy application development testing.
  • Easy connections to databases
  • Easy to use UI
  • Robust Debug Tools
  • Great Explain Plan breakdowns
  • Excellent Customer Support and Training
  • Too many versions and options
  • Licensing too confusing across various versions and upgrades
Toad for Oracle is an excellent resource for everyone from experienced DBAs to entry level analysts. Its just easy to use and a great tool to support application development work, testing, and database management. It is great for SQL server also, although less commonly used for that.
Jatel Desai | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toad for Oracle is being used by my team to manage our databases. Working with medical data, we use Toad to manage the data we store, which involved packages, sequences, procedures, and schemas. Toad makes it easy to manage schemas in different instances and make modifications quickly. It addresses many business problems like this.
  • Giving scripts for table modification commands.
  • Easy access of different instances and schemas.
  • Capabilities to monitor running packages.
  • Speed as to which changes can be made.
  • Efficiency of the tool.
  • The user interface could be better.
Toad for Oracle is a great tool to use for teams who are managing a lot of data. We have 4 instances in which there are around a hundred schemas, each with tables and packages of their own. Toad for Oracle makes it easy to mange these tables in the databases and make the required changes as necessary.
I give the overall support for Toad for Oracle a 10/10. This is because whenever there has been an issue with this software, our team has got an immediate response. The same can not be said for similar software. The most recent example of this is when we needed to renew our licenses. Some employees were unable to log in to code with the given license key. Support was able to resolve the issue quickly.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toad was used comparably to Oracle SQL Developer. It's a good graphical interface to Oracle RDBMS and provides a bridge for non-native SQL developers and analysts. It's primarily used by the business analysts and database administrators. The demo version is feature-rich and provides limited support to database hardware monitoring.
  • Easy to install interface to Oracle RDBMS.
  • Ability to export data to many different spreadsheet software formats.
  • Converts common query language to standard ANSI SQL.
  • Toad is high-cost.
  • Not all tools are easy to navigate nor understand.
  • Error handling isn't as accurate as it should be.
  • Accessing Oracle RDBMS
  • Exporting database data into spreadsheet format
  • Cross-database implementations (connecting different database software, i.e. bridging Microsoft SQL server to Oracle RDBMS)
  • Real-time database session monitoring
  • Visibility into database metadata without requiring explicit knowledge of data dictionary
  • Easy to install on common workstation operating systems
  • Access to RDBMS procedural code outside of non-graphical interfaces (i.e. ability to call dbms_datapump)
Support costs extra. Online documentation is not well written and in-tool help is not useful. Support incidents are not quickly resolved (time zone issues). It is often difficult to determine if performance issues are due to the database or Toad. When Toad freezes, a complete recycle of the running workstation is required, which is very problematic.
November 10, 2019

Ram's Toad Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toad for Oracle is used to connect to our Database. It is used to do query, write PL/SQL, execute and fine-tune our database queries for better performance and optimization.
  • Database query execution
  • Connection to various database
  • Multiple DB connections
  • DB query optimization
  • DB query auto formation
  • Improve explain plan
Toad is very popular and widely used across organizations and teams. It is useful to connect to the individual database schema or if you have multiple database schemas. It can be useful when you need to connect to your development, test and production database simultaneously. The user interface is very friendly and easy to use for the newbie to advance database programmer.
The reason for rating it highly is because it's very popular, probably number 1 in the market. It also has a very large user community and has excellent support and there are several user forums in case you have any questions. Oracle Toad also has an excellent & user-friendly user interface which is very useful.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toad is currently used by our DBA team and some of the development teams. It is primarily used for SQL building, SQL tuning exercises. We are also using it in DB design tasks. DBAs primary use it in their day to day operation. It is only used by oracle DBA team now. They use this to pull session information also.
  • SQL Formatting
  • Running multiple SQLs as multithreading operation
  • Data extract exports
  • Better syntax error information
  • Auto tracing options
Toad is well suited with Oracle as it provides a mechanism to run multiple sqls at the same time against a single database. Performance and memory management of the tool is particularly good. The way it provides the explain plan generation is really handy when a developer needs to analyze their sqls in lower environment. It is also handy for DBA team for their daily operational tasks.
I would like to support this tool, because of its features particularly used by DBAs for user management, SQL tuning, schema management, db change management. It's multithread sql execution is a nice feature to run multiple sqls against a database and compare the data easily. It can be more changed for dev teams.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toad for Oracle is used to interact with data in our Oracle Utilities Suite databases. It is also used by our DBAs to support those databases. We perform DML and DDL functions with the tool. It allows us to run more than 1 query at a time against the same database, unlike other products.
  • It is user-friendly for the most part.
  • It has all of the features you expect from a tool like it.
  • It allows you to run more than one query against the same database at the same time.
  • The date/time settings in Toad are kind of difficult to figure out. I have to use an ALTER SESSION command to format the dates so I can actually query date/time fields.
  • It seems to be updated too often. I get notifications very frequently about new versions being available.
  • The export function is difficult to use.
Toad for Oracle is well suited for anyone who knows how to write SQL well. It has all the features you want although they're sometimes difficult to find. Toad is less well-suited for people brand new to writing SQL. SQL Developer is a little more user-friendly in my opinion. If the UI were better designed, it would be easily better than SQL Developer.
It's a good tool. It does exactly what you expect it to do and has all the same features which other competitors offer. It's not prohibitively expensive for an IT organization either from what I understand. Otherwise, we would just select 1 tool over another and use that exclusively. Overall, you get what is promised.
October 02, 2019

Toad keeps me productive

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This application is being used almost exclusively by our technical team. It provides a helpful environment for creating, testing and running SQL scripts. I really appreciate the library feature that allows me to save and catalog scripts for future use.
  • I appreciate the library feature that enables me to label and store previously created statements. These are saved off to a network share for future use.
  • I also really like the describe function that lists all fields in a table. This helps as I build new queries.
  • I wish I was better at using the tuning function. I have seen others use it and am very impressed with the graphical depiction of query costing.
  • I don't have any unmet needs from this tool. I mostly need more time to be able to get in and take advantage of its existing features.
I mostly use this application to build SQL Queries. Its library and tuning aspects are very helpful.
I have not had any issues that required me to contact support.
September 14, 2019

Oracle DB Toad is aight

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It solves our integration projects and database queries, and the need for transactions to set up standards for our customers.
  • Sql database queries.
  • A developer database tool.
  • Integration support.
  • License support that is manageable.
  • Previous version support.
  • Better installer and push support.
It's used for our database support users, for Oracle DB, and to solve standards for queries and other things that SQL Developer doesn't have.
There's hardly any licensing or support for previous versions, and hardly any support for managing and automatically pushing installer or version control.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Toad for Oracle to monitor the various Oracle databases and their connections between each other. We also utilize the editor part to run SQL queries on our databases and to modify entries via script as needed. It allows us to see a visual layout of what entries we're working with instead of using command prompt / SQL plus.
  • Allows for modifying table data
  • Performs powerful, complex commands by clicking a single button
  • Offers tools for running complex scripts on tables and exporting for reports
  • There is a steep learning curve to use the software
  • Slightly expensive
  • Can cause significant damage to your databases if you are untrained
If you have very large, complex databases, then Toad for Oracle is the software you need for monitoring and manipulating the data. However, if you have only one or two small databases with very little data, you might be better off saving the money and using a free SQL script compiler instead.
Ravinder Gupta | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My client organization is a big enterprise with thousands of Oracle Database instances. We bought unlimited organization level license of Toad for Oracle. This was done because almost everyone who works directly with Oracle Database used Toad, be it DBAs, developers, or testers. We have been extremely happy with the choice. I personally work on Toad for Oracle as a database administrator and developer. It gives you tons of features and makes working with Oracle Database super convenient.
  • Schema Level Administration: Toad for Oracle allows you to create and maintain schema objects conveniently. It's GUI interface is the best in this class of software. It's easy to learn and get used to.
  • Performance Monitoring: You can monitor database performance and long running transactions using Toad for Oracle interface. For most of the performance issues reported, i prefer using Toad for Oracle over Oracle's native tools like SQLPLUS or OEM.
  • Data Modelling: You can develop data models for your database design and generate scripts to create the objects in the database instance.
  • I like the ease with which Toad for Oracle lets you use features like SQL Loader, Export/Import, etc.
  • It sometimes hangs up if you are working on multiple Toad instances in parallel.
  • If you are running some few thousands statements through Toad, it's better you do it directly through SQL Plus interface. It takes way longer if you do it through the Toad for Oracle interface.
  • Toad for Oracle should consider including some graphs and histogram charts for performance monitoring . This will be especially useful for non-technical users like project managers.
Toad for Oracle is very well suited for all Oracle implementations, be it single instance or RAC. It is best suited for use of Oracle DBA, Developer and Database Engineers.

I don't recommend Toad for Oracle for Project Managers or Solution Architects. This can be a pricier choice for these people. They can do fine with free options like SQL Developer.
Dhruba Jyoti Nag | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toad for Oracle is used by all developers across my organizations. It is stable IDE for database developers and few DBAs in our organization can think of doing development in Oracle database without having Toad installed. It is mainly used by solution developers who design queries and test their performance using the explain plan module.
  • The UI of Toad has not changed much from the earlier versions and thus developers can focus on what they do instead of having to pay attention to the many redundant features which seem to come up every year.
  • Designing a query in toad is a breeze. It also helps while taking data dumps.
  • Performance analysis module of toad is also very robust providing graphic analysis of queries.
  • Toad is very reliable.
  • The full enterprise features come at a cost. Dell should think about how this wonderful solution can be made more viable for small companies.
  • Toad is not a very big player for non-RDMS DB clients.
  • All newer linguistics are not recognized by Toad.
For a person who has newly been introduced to an RDMS database, Toad reduces the learning curve a lot by providing a very user-friendly UI on top of an Oracle database. The explain plan feature of Toad also helps a lot when it comes to optimizing queries. For someone who is not comfortable logging in to a box and taking data dumps, they can easily do so with the Toad user interface.
Rajat Wadhwani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toad for Oracle is used to manage databases in our organization. Huge data generated in the oil and gas industry needs to be managed to make business decisions and managing such huge data needs an application which is able to handle such data. SQL builder helps to build queries which are used to extract data out of oracle databases. It is used across the organization so that everyone has the same data rather than having local databases in their system.
  • Manages huge volume of data and provides a platform to run queries. Not very expensive.
  • The SQL builder really helps those who are new to SQL. Very well integrated with other applications.
  • Very intuitive and user-friendly with lot of features and functionalities.
  • A Python platform to write scripts which can be used to extract and manage data would be really helpful.
  • Needs to be linked to more applications to import data such as SharePoint.
  • Reduced cost is like icing on the cake.
While managing data one of the tasks is to work on a particular filtered data. In that case "views" play an important role. One can play with the the data on a particular dataset without disturbing the original data. Also it is very important to make sure everyone uses the same data in such a large organization which is updated to avoid any discrepancies.
November 06, 2018

The tool for Oracle

Akshay Malhotra | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toad is the best tool for SQL development, you can have thousands of tables and the indexation and current searches work fantastic, if I had to describe it in one word it should be fast.
  • Import/Export function where we are able to export the data in any of the format like .csv, xlsx, .txt etc., according to the number of rows required.
  • Database diagram - Easily able to generate the database diagram which will shows the relationship between objects.
  • Toad automation scripts and formatting SQL scripts for developer.
  • Transform function and cleansing the data.
  • License Key is costly since we have to pay rather than open-ended tool.
  • Some of the SQL commands are still not recognized by Toad like (NOSQL), PIVOT etc.
  • Reporting will not be exact since this is not owned by database production. An example of that is SSRS reports run by Microsoft.
What I think is the best in this software is that it has a complete environment to work within the data base, you don't have to work with other tools. This is the form you have to work in, there you can see from a field of a table to the database relation, which is really complete. Backing up the databases is pretty easy, and you can restore it also in a few clicks.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I mainly use Toad to access our Oracle database. The Oracle database is hosting all of the legacy data. Not many people in the organization use it. The main purpose of using Toad was to export legacy data.
  • The interface offers a lot of customization options.
  • Connecting time to the server was on par with other database software.
  • Exporting wizard is easy to use.
  • Query run time were extraordinarily long. Though It could be caused by lack of support on the legacy database.
  • User interface is too busy, difficult to navigate and sometimes confusing
  • Common function NOLOCK is not recognized
Toad is well suited for advanced users like DBA. I was an analyst so I had a more difficult time using it. I would imagine DBA would use it with no problems because of its high level of customization.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a non-profit healthcare system consisting of hospitals and clinics, we run an electronic health record system to capture patient data and clinical workflow logs and store them into an enterprise data warehouse (EDW). The EDW is being used as a data source to pursue for clinical research and data driven quality improvement and clinical workflow optimization. Toad has been used as a database tool for our EDW team, by data developers who create data marts and ETL processes, and data analysts who extract KPIs from clinical data in the EDW.
  • Toad is a de-facto standard tool for data developers and analysts. Generally speaking it provides almost every function needed to manage data in EDW with great performance and stability.
  • The nature of clinical data is big-sized: one table may have billions of rows. Toad provides critical functions to manage SQLs, e.g. Top SQL that can monitor and manage SQLs using CPU power and network bandwidth, so that EDW administrator can optimize ETL operations in the best efficiency.
  • Many of our data analysts are not computer science backgrounded (having clinical / nursing background). Toad provides great auditing tools such as Tuning Lab or SQL Scanner, so that data analysts can train themselves with guidance of the tool.
  • It is an expensive tool, compared to SQL Developer or Orange. It is worth its price, but for developers or analysts who need basic functions, other tools are good enough.
  • It is a heavy tool. It consumes a lot of resources especially when it runs in laptop. If hardware is not good enough and runs big query on top of that, Toad sometimes crashes.
  • Look and feel of ER diagram should be improved. We had need of printing it out and put on the wall and it wasn't so beautiful.
Toad is basically a tool for everything about database management. We have two groups of people; one as data developers who create and manage data marts in our EDW, the other as data analysts who perform analysis using data in the EDW. Toad is perfect for data developers, but a luxury for data analysts.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toad for oracle is easy to use for the new users who are working on databases. It is used by some of science and technology teams at our workplace. We mostly use it to store JSON data a lot.
  • Filtering result set records quickly
  • Great graphical user interface.
  • Easy to use.
  • Visual treat for writing queries.
  • Can improve while connecting to schemas. It's quite slow some times.
For beginners instead of using sqlplus editor toad helps a lot write / execute queries.
June 20, 2018

Toad for Oracle

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our department uses Toad to interact with our databases and to write SQL scripts. It is used across the entire IT department. Toad provides many ways for us to interact directly with our database.
  • Ability to Interact with multiple database connections from the same interface.
  • A multitude of tools to run scripts and explore the database.
  • A useful output interface that displays query results.
  • Syntax validation could use some work. It appears this was addressed in an update but the new version has not been pushed out yet.
  • Toad uses an enormous amount of RAM, memory efficiency could be improved.
  • Toad does not format well to smaller screen sizes, such as a laptop.
Toad is well suited as a robust tool to interact with an organization's databases. It has many options available that should fit most use cases. Running scripts, writing quick queries, creating tables, and exploring schemas are all great use cases. It is less suited for machines that have low-end performance specs and laptop screens.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by our ERP department which supports the PeopleSoft software for HCM, Finance, and Supply chain. I don't know of other groups within BJC that are using it. We use it to run queries that are too large too run in PeopleSoft and take too much time to generate results in PeopleSoft.
  • Toad runs queries much faster than the PeopleSoft system can
  • Toad does not lock up my system while it is running a query and I am still able to do other things
  • I have not encountered anything that I feel needed to be improved; it has worked well for me when needed
It is well suited for queries that will pull back a large amount of data. We use it a lot for payroll data when users want a whole year's worth of information on our 32,000+ employees
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Within my team we use Toad to view data in Oracle tables and easily slice and dice it for analysis purposes. I am not a technical person that has the ability to write complex SQL to view the data within tables so I have to rely heavily on the schema browser with Toad to view the data. This allows me to quickly filter on data in specific tables to get the information with ease.
  • Great interface to filter on data in tables with ease using the UI
  • The options for exporting a table subset of data to an excel or text file is great. There are a lot of options to choose from with the date fields and how to handle number of records, null values, conversion of field types to others and ability to update the where clause for pulling the data
  • The sql generator interface is great for a non-technical person to drag and drop tables, fields, and where clauses and run queries
  • Possible improvement of the schema browser capabilities. I know that this is not the primary use of this software but if there were a few more features with the schema browser we could use this for a lot more data analysis versus having to go to Tableau or Hyperion reporting.
  • The process of adding tnsnames to the oracle file through Toad could be a little more user friendly.
  • Have a way to protect your PASSWORD file within TOAD. This file has a tendency to get overwritten or removed frequently making you loose all your saved connections within TOAD.
Our team has started to go directly to the data with Toad versus using a reporting tool like Hyperion or Tableau. This allows us to cut out the reporting aspect and go directly to the data. This review is tailored to a non technical group of people. With a little bit of training the tool is extremely useful for anyone trying to slice and dice data quickly.
Andrew Kuhn | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Toad for Oracle across the whole organization. I have been on multiple teams throughout that utilize this tool as their primary database interaction tools. Our database administrators utilize this tool to view/manage process, table changes, analysis and some small data copies. Our analyst teams across the whole organization utilize Toad to perform their day to day job. Our analyst teams need to be able to dive deep into the data in our database tables to build out specs needed to develop new business functionality or reporting. The interface within Toad allows for users that don't have a technical background to be able to analyze the data within our tables to determine what new tables or requirements we need to implement. Our analytic teams do not always have in depth knowledge of SQL, which makes it difficult for them to dive deep into the data without a user interface that is very user friendly. This allows our analysts to focus on analyzing the data and not have to spend time figuring out how to write sql statements to get to the data.
  • Easy interaction with data
  • Interactive tools to build out SQL for individuals that are not as comfortable with SQL
  • Can allow business administration teams to quickly make changes to database and monitor process that are running on the database
  • The tool does have a tendency to freeze up when multiple windows or browsers are open
  • When looking at data it would be nice to be able to right click on a row/column and say filter on that individual column and value
  • More tools to interact with XML Clobs within a table
Toad is very useful to individuals that are not as technically advanced in database interactions given the strong UI interfaces. This is the group that has used this tool over the last few years. There are a lot of other tools also within Toad that allow for much more technical users to interact with the database through the process monitors and other features.
Tom Blades | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toad for Oracle is being used in our department here at Experian for querying the database and troubleshooting issues with the Oracle application which are reported to us.

Toad is a crucial tool for our department as we have limited front-end access, and therefore we have a controlled platform to query tables/packages where differing levels of rights and access is granted for HR/Finance respectively.
  • Quick querying of data and debugging of issues which is particularly made easier with the stored procedures function and has a very friendly user-interface.
  • The use of a stored TNSnames file for accessing the different environments makes it very simple to connect to different databases.
  • Creating and editing packages is very simple and allows you to toggle different views of the package which is very handy when they are of such a large size.
  • Version control on stored procedures - currently not something which is available
  • To allow scheduled reporting remotely without the need to be physically logged into the software
Toad is well suited to our data-centric organization as we have segregation of duties for HR/Finance and we have restricted access to particular tables. Rights given to perform write functions to DEV and Read-Only for UAT/PROD makes this a very secure tool for our business to prevent data corruption.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toad for Oracle is widely used across our application developers and analysts. Our main focus is understanding data structures, information within those structures, troubleshooting data quality issues and development of local processes and integration packages.
  • Toad works particularly well for analyzing data structures and the information enclosed within them. When users are having difficulties, Toad makes it easy to review what data resides in the tables and are there unexpected values within fields.
  • When we are experiencing performance issues, Toad shows us currently indexes on a table, and makes it easy to add additional indexes if required.
  • We utilize Oracles packages/procedures and functions. Toad provides an easy way to create and maintain those objects
  • When working with Oracle packages, and there are errors in your code, Toad could use better tools to track down and help correct the issue
  • Toad does not have an option for versioning control of database objects.
We use an off the shelf ERP solution; Toad is a perfect tool for analyzing data structures, data within those structures, and development of local changes to business processes. It is perfect for a deeper understanding of baseline code, and how the data is stored and manipulated.
Robb Glietz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by one department. We have different sources which feed data into our Oracle database at a Co-location. Toad for Oracle makes it easy to access the database and work with the tables and schema. When having to either add tables or build out a new database for new data, Toad for Oracle make it a breeze to get those tasks done in no time with minimal effort.
  • One key feature I use all the time is the stored procedure Toad makes it easy not just to create them but also to debug them which speeds up the process to get them down with minimal downtime.
  • The other key feature I just love is the query builder since we have a lot of tables it makes it easy to build a query using data from the different tables by just using the table name.
  • Toad for Oracle makes it easy to connect to different databases via the GUI.
  • I would like to see them build in version control for stored procedures, right now I have to cut and paste the procedure before making changes to it in case something happens in my coding.
In my mind there is no other way to work with Oracle except to use Toad for Oracle, it makes everything you do with Oracle Databases so much easier. The GUI is very easy to use and things are arranged in a way that makes sense. If you do a lot of stored procedure then it is a must-have for it makes creating, troubleshooting and deploying so easy.
Miguel Angel Merino Vega | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Many platforms [designed] to manage a database are intended to simplify the management of databases. Although generally in large companies their DBA is responsible for supporting these issues, many companies still look positively on using these tools to control their operations’ databases. And not only in positions such as a DBA, but in positions where software development database management tools are mostly welcomed for the simplicity, ease of use and speed they offer in their work.

Of these existing tools for Oracle SQL - we find Toad as the most versatile among them in terms of simplicity, ease and speed alternative.

  • It is simple to use. If you are migrating languages ​​you'll find many similarities with respect to SQL Server Development Studio or MySQL Workbench.
  • Its performance is good. You will not be [waiting] long before you run a query or [have to] get used to long waits.
  • The learning curve is almost direct.
  • If you already use Oracle SQL Developer, you could expect some delays or a learning curve in finding all the options.
  • You need to get a license.
  • It can be somewhat heavy compared to tools among other areas.
If you need to rely on a tool [to build a database], Toad is recommended. Oracle SQL Developer is better for when you go to live [a]long with Oracle. According procurement policies software, Toad may not be the most advisable option because you must purchase a license.