Trend Micro Cloud App Security Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
17 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-11 of 11)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 12, 2021
William Watkins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Trend Micro Cloud App Security is currently being used across my entire organization to protect all of our account types (Student, Faculty, Staff, Departmental and Vendor). We needed a solution for email security but this tool turned out to be a plus with monitoring and protecting SharePoint/OneDrive and Teams. Overall, Trend Micro Cloud App Security has addressed the need to increase our security posture.
  • Very easy to setup, integrate and use/administer.
  • Tech support has always been on point.
  • Product works as expected to monitor and quarantine as needed malicious content.
  • The layered approach and functionality, catches items that 365 security misses.
  • Wish I could customize the notification emails more, like including html code to personalize and highlight messages that my end users see when an item is flagged.
  • Wish there was a word or phrase component to block/flag emails as I can with files, links, senders and domains.
  • Automation of the BEC list would be a plus...such as pulling in an OU or security group so that I do not have to do manually perform this task.
  • We have multiple TrendMicro products. Thus it would be nice to have one dash board to "see" or login at least for ApexOne, CAS, etc.
The product works great when I have to quarantine a mass email attack. Seems students are always susceptible to email base attacks, we are no different, but when one occurs on a mass email basis I can very easy and quickly block/quarantine those emails either by sender, domain, or URL or all three if need be. We have played with the data loss component but it is hard to do anything but "monitor" because there are way too many false positives. Such as with SSNs and bank routing numbers, but I figure any solution provider would experience the same problem. However, even with monitor and notification only, it is useful to make our users aware they are potentially sending personal information.
Trend Micro Cloud App Security has never provided me bad service nor been unable to resolve an issue. Their support has also been timely in resolving any issue well within a reasonable time frame.
Read William Watkins's full review
June 07, 2021
Michael Perez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All organization, protects all cloud applications for students and staff. When we launched it, the software was immediately beneficial and showed us end results quickly. Our environment was secured and our end-users felt more at ease and comfortable using all our cloud services. It was very easy to deploy and there was no learning curve or program interruption. We love the product because it does what it promised and what it is meant to do.
  • Protects all cloud services
  • Easy to deploy
  • Reports are clear
  • Improve portal control
  • Immediate remedies
  • Override actions
Cloud App Security blocks all incoming bad emails and drive files without interacting with the portal or having to worry about anything coming through. It demonstrates its ability to work in scenarios where overhead is limited. It could have some improvements in the way where more options are given in the config to make bypass rules or exclusions.
Product support is always available and very knowledgeable on the product. Support will assist in all the initial configuration and will get you up and running in a few steps. They are also always available for any additional support and assistance. As soon as a call is placed assistance is given.
Read Michael Perez's full review
April 30, 2021
Alex Tebbe | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Trend Micro for our entire company. We use it for the office 365 spam filter and also the anti malware and antivirus for each PC. We push it out to each PC in our company and we also use it to help with all of our Microsoft 365 applicaitons.
  • It is a set it and forget it product, little work on my end
  • The price is very competitive
  • Product uses very little resources
  • Can give better reports
  • can make it easier to drill down into threats
Trend cloud apps security does a very good job with their spam filter. We can set whitelist, view quarantined emails easily and also set policies if we wanted to. We only filter inbound not outbound but it has that capability as well.
Every time we have opened a ticket which is not often they have fixed the solution very quickly and effectively.
Read Alex Tebbe's full review
May 17, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We are using Trend Micro Cloud App Security across our entire organization to help protect against potential threats in our hosted workloads that may not pass through our email security gateway or reside directly on an endpoint where they can be detected by our other antivirus and endpoint protection software.
  • Protects critical workloads like Microsoft 365 and Dropbox.
  • Centralized dashboard for monitoring and management.
  • Can detect pre-existing threats in end-user workloads such as Exchange Online mailboxes.
  • Spam removal is enabled by default for Exchange Online protection policies. This can cause confusion when Cloud App Security is used in conjunction with the spam protection functionality provided by Trend Micro Hosted Email Security.
Trend Micro CAS is especially useful for protecting hosted workloads such as SharePoint Online when you have a medium-to-large organization with a lot of unknowns, including both employees and external guest users who have the potential to (knowingly or not) upload threats and put the rest of your organization and data at risk.
We have not yet needed to engage Trend Micro support for this particular product.
Read this authenticated review
May 15, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Trend Micro Cloud App Security is being used by our financial and R&D divisions. Used as a second line of defense for Office 365 the potential for malware has been greatly reduced. Thanks to reporting we can see what O365 let though the cracks and provide detailed analysis to management.
  • Easy integration
  • Data loss prevention for SharePoint and One drive are simple to implement
  • The management console is easy to navigate and intuitive for non experienced users
  • False positives can be high depending on filters created
For publicly traded companies that want to show an extra effort is being placed on guarding share holder interests and reducing the foot print available to todays phishing and ransomware attackers; Trend Micro Cloud App Security is a viable tool. Also, companies that deal with US Defense contracts can show that a level of data loss prevention is in place.
I would not say they are above and beyond the average support given by most vendors.
Read this authenticated review
May 12, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Trend Micro Cloud App Security for our entire organization to help give us visibility and protection for our Exchange Online, Microsoft Teams, Sharepoint, and OneDrive environments. Prior to Trend Micro Cloud App Security, we relied on an email gateway, but Cloud App Security helps us protect our email and the other environments.
  • Ease of Deployment
  • Expanded visibility and protection into Cloud Applications
  • Ease of administration
  • Ability to search logs across all types of logs at one time instead of each type individually.
  • Expanded reporting options
  • Syslog capability directly from Cloud App Security
Cloud App Security is well suited for any organization whether large or small that utilize Cloud Apps like Exchange Online, Microsoft Teams, One Drive, Sharepoint, Dropbox, Google Drive, Gmail, Box, or Salesforce. If organization is not utilizing these cloud apps, then Trend Micro Cloud App Security will likely not be beneficial.
We have worked with support on implementation and post-implementation and have always received good, responsive advise.
Read this authenticated review
May 08, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Trend Micro products on and off for 5 years - they get better with each release. They do seem to be motivated to grow as a company and help businesses.

Management is easy and captures everything, and set up is easy too.

Trend Micro support is very good.
  • Set and forget
  • Well priced
  • Useful features
  • Reports are limited
  • Some info is a bit vague
  • Limited remote features
Trend Cloud App Security does a very good job with their spam filter. We can set whitelist, view quarantined emails easily and also set policies if we wanted to. We only filter inbound not outbound, but it has that capability as well. A scenario where Trend Micro Smart Protection Suite did well was when a virus was found in the system and blocked from further spreading in the network due to Trend Micro.
I love how helpful the support from Trend Micro is. They never fail to help us resolve our problems quickly and painlessly. There was never a long wait to have an issue fixed or answered. Everyone was helpful and knew what they were doing. I appreciate their hard work and patience.

Read this authenticated review
April 08, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Trend Micro Cloud App Security has become the front-line end-point protection solution for our entire organization; installed on every end-point as well as every server within our nearly 500+ end-point organization. Trend Micro Cloud App Security was instituted as a replacement for a Norton product that had become obsolete. Originally utilized by only a small subset of employees, Trend Micro Cloud App Security eventually became the go-to product based on its departmental success.
  • Endpoint protection.
  • Internet traffic monitoring.
  • Cloud-based management.
  • Threat detection.
  • AI threat aversion.
  • Offline threat databases.
Trend Micro Cloud App Security provides a very thorough solution for the small-business end-users who are looking for a cost-effective solution that incorporates end-point management into a cloud product that can be easily administered by the administrative staff. It goes further than most by allowing continues monitoring and support while end-users are working remotely. The product is a sufficient solution for the small-businesses and non-profits who are looking for a cost-effective approach without breaking the bank. While there is minimal AI for threat aversion, many of those type of features Trend offers in other product lines, which are also outside of many of the budgets of organizations our size.
Trend Micro Cloud App Security’s support has been highly competent and thorough when we have needed their assistance. Their support has been quickly dispatched, both through telephone and Email, while answer our questions and providing the “inside baseball” answers we have wanted when discussing the why and how of certain issues. When it came to implementation, their support sat through us as we deployed agents and took us on an adventure few implementations have.
Read this authenticated review
March 17, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Like many other business, email security is very critical for our business too. Protecting it from phishing, ransomware and business email compromise is an important step. Trend Micro Cloud App Security does this at a great speed without affecting the performance and user experience. We use it across the entire organization.
  • Protects the organization from ransomware and business email compromise.
  • Integrates well with Office 365 without compromising on performance and security.
  • Easy to manage.
  • Nothing I can think of. It is working well and addressing the security needs.
We primarily use it for entire Office 365 platform where it works best. We have not tried using it for other SaaS applications.
Trend Micro team goes the extra mile to make it successful for their customers.
Read this authenticated review
January 16, 2021
Chris Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use [Trend Micro Cloud App Security] to support & protect our endpoints both in the office and remotely, all totaling about 30 users. It enables us to monitor and alert of any problem issues in real-time and provide the user as well as me, the admin, of any problems via email and a web-based dashboard.
  • Provides a great summarized view of all user end-points via a web-based portal
  • Provides a simple but strong policy format for users and computers
  • Fairly light agent installed on end-points
  • Their web-support is not very clear, even though phone support is fine
  • Remote endpoints that don't have a strong or constant internet connection frequently report as offline - kind of annoying
  • Their settings don't seem to be mapped out very clearly, so there is a lot of hunting to find the right one to change
I think [Trend Micro Cloud App Security] works well for a small to mid-size business. Probably not needed for a very small company though due to cost.
Read Chris Johnson's full review
January 08, 2021
Ryan Janzen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are utilizing Trend Micro Cloud App Security for our Microsoft 365 spam and email security. It replaced an outdated spam filter. It has great in-depth spam protection features as well as the high-profile user learning. We have had multiple instances where Trend Micro Cloud App Security was able to detect and quarantine spam and notify me as well--a very comforting feature in a very uncertain time.
  • Great alerting system
  • Blocks suspicious links from emails before they reach the end-user
  • Pre-execution machine learning
  • The dashboard could be a little easier to navigate through
If a colleague was looking to replace their current antivirus solution I would strongly recommend Trend Micro Cloud App Security as they have a whole suite of options available for on-premises and cloud environments. Trend Micro Cloud App Security is the perfect out-of-the-box solution for the Microsoft Office 365 environment.
Read Ryan Janzen's full review

What is Trend Micro Cloud App Security?

The Trend Micro Cloud App Security application secures Microsoft Office 365 and other cloud storage applications.
Categories:  Application Security

Trend Micro Cloud App Security Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Trend Micro Cloud App Security?

The Trend Micro Cloud App Security application secures Microsoft Office 365 and other cloud storage applications.

What is Trend Micro Cloud App Security's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 8.5.

Who uses Trend Micro Cloud App Security?

The most common users of Trend Micro Cloud App Security are from Mid-size Companies and the Construction industry.