TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/4A/65/7WPPAWOQS372.pngvSphere offers a lot of features at a high cost of entryvSphere (6.0) is used by our entire org. The VMs that run on it cover not only production, but also test/dev op environments. vSphere helped us lower our total physical server count as well as allowing us the ability to run more server instances in our environment that we could not have achieved with physical servers filling up all of our rack space.,Well supported with at least one new update each year. Features are robust compared with competitors. Easy to setup and migrate virtual environments. Good overview of server work loads and resources. High redundancy of compute and storage for high availability.,Cost can be very high compared with competition. Random bugs that do crop up on occasion (but no show-stoppers).,7,Lowering costs on purchasing physical servers (Positive). Increased licensing costs along with M&S (negative). Much quicker spin ups of servers virtually (positive).,Hyper-V,Mimecast Secure Email Gateway, Unitrends Recovery Series Backup Appliance, Citrix NetScaler Access GatewayvSphere is great for test labs!I use vSphere to connect to my VM host that contains a number of virtual machines for our test environment. vSphere allows me to quickly attach to my VM host to create virtual machines that I run ransomware simulations against. I have a number of servers and workstations and I can edit, delete or reconfigure those VMs quickly. In addition to providing access to my virtual machines in the test environment, I can also use vSphere to gain important information about my host including resource availability, data stores, and network configuration.,When a VM loses network connectivity and a connection be accessed through other online remote desktop control applications, you can access it from the local network through vSphere. Easily create and modify virtual machines. Provides a robust interface to monitor host resources.,Would be nice if events could generate alerts that would be emailed to a administrator,10,vSphere has enabled me to save a significant amount of money in my lab. I'm able to configure one host and provision multiple virtual machines on it eliminating the need for a number of physical machines. vSphere saves a lot of time with the ability to revert VMs to a previous image.,,Slack, RingCentral, ConnectWise Control (formerly ScreenConnect)Best Virtual Hosting Software availableWe use vSphere across our entire organization. We no longer run any physical servers. vSphere has reduced our physical server count from over 200 down to 6 vSphere host servers. Having a shared server infrastructure along with shared storage makes using vSphere easy and provides great options for backup and DR.,Having a single pane of glass that allows you to manage all your vSphere virtual machines is a great time saver. vSphere Provides virtual machine system performance either by realtime or by day, week, month, year. Being able to take a virtual machine snapshot is a great feature that can be used as a quick backup solution when performing vm maintenance.,While having the ability to take virtual machine snapshots is great it would be nice to have a single spot to see any virtual machine with a current snapshot. Resource pools and VM reservations can become tricky to understand and configure. I think VMware needs to work on simplifying this feature. The latest version of vSphere are now primarily managed by a web interface. This is great but does not offer the same level of ease of usability that the previous console versions did. All the features and functions are there but it is not as smooth and reliable as the console version.,10,Reducing the number of physical machines is a great ROI along with power and cooling savings in the data center. Not needing to have dedicated staff to manage servers and hardware refresh cycles allows our staff to be used in other areas. The ability to setup new vm server in a matter of minutes versus days is a huge ROI.,Hyper-V and XenServerVSphere is key to Virtual environment successVSphere is obviously the tool we use to manage all of our virtual machines in our VMWare environment. It really gives us a full dashboard of the health of our entire infrastructure.,Manages the health of our servers. Gives us the interface to make all necessary changes to our servers. The console view makes it so easy to quickly see what’s going on with the server.,Now that we have upgraded to the latest version, things work great!,10,Testing and deploying is SO much easier than before we had VSphere! I’m sure we would have had to expand our data center if we didn’t have VSphere,Hyper-V,Infor VISUALVSphere is a great package for piece of mind for server backup and restorationWe use VMWare vSphere at my business now for the last few years now and have implemented across the whole company now and all our servers because it makes our servers hardware independent and if we ever have a problem, we can restore our servers from a VM backup quickly and easily without any reconfiguration. When we have a hardware failure, we simply move the server VM to a different vSphere host effortlessly. Also when a server is running low on resources, we simply allocate more resources to that server on the fly and its back up to speed and running nicely again! So easy and convenient to setup and maintain as well and VMWare is always releasing updates with new features and functionality and stands behind their products 100%.,Makes your server hardware independent, so you no longer need to worry about hardware failure and where to find specific replacement parts. Reallocation of server resources quickly and on the fly, so if your server is slowing down, you can beef it up with a few clicks of the mouse. Server recovery, when there is a problem, you can restore a backed up entire virtual server to the recovered host or a new host quickly and easily.,Pricing, VMWare does have several free options available for people that want to handle a lot of the management themselves, but if you want to get the top of the line fully managed version of vSphere, it can be quite pricey. Working with server hardware makers to make it clear which server hardware is compatible with vSphere, sometimes it can be hard to figure out if a server box is compatible with vSphere.,9,Having vSphere helped my business quickly recover from a ransomware attack which would have crippled us for weeks if we were not virtualized. I think the ROI on something like that is immeasurable. vSphere has allowed my company to purchase bigger server hardware to host 3 or 4 virtual servers, which was at a cost much lower than buying 3 or 4 server hardware boxes, saving us thousands each time we need to upgrade hardware.,XenServer and Microsoft Application Server,Microsoft Exchange, Microsoft Dynamics NAV, Microsoft Office 2016
Unspecified
vSphere
112 Ratings
Score 9.3 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

vSphere Reviews<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>

vSphere
112 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.3 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 112 vetted vSphere reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 34)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Hans Huang profile photo
November 05, 2018

Review: "vSphere offers a lot of features at a high cost of entry"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
vSphere (6.0) is used by our entire org. The VMs that run on it cover not only production, but also test/dev op environments. vSphere helped us lower our total physical server count as well as allowing us the ability to run more server instances in our environment that we could not have achieved with physical servers filling up all of our rack space.
  • Well supported with at least one new update each year.
  • Features are robust compared with competitors.
  • Easy to setup and migrate virtual environments.
  • Good overview of server work loads and resources.
  • High redundancy of compute and storage for high availability.
  • Cost can be very high compared with competition.
  • Random bugs that do crop up on occasion (but no show-stoppers).
Good for an on-premise environment where you need control over your hardware and workloads. vSphere is suited for businesses of all sizes that require high-density workloads and want to minimize physical footprint if they can afford the cost of entry (licenses needed). Beware not to over-buy licensing needs for what is needed but when purchasing licensing, also be aware of what will be needed in 18-24 months in the future to size correctly.
Read Hans Huang's full review
Chris Hartwig profile photo
November 12, 2018

User Review: "vSphere is great for test labs!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use vSphere to connect to my VM host that contains a number of virtual machines for our test environment. vSphere allows me to quickly attach to my VM host to create virtual machines that I run ransomware simulations against. I have a number of servers and workstations and I can edit, delete or reconfigure those VMs quickly. In addition to providing access to my virtual machines in the test environment, I can also use vSphere to gain important information about my host including resource availability, data stores, and network configuration.
  • When a VM loses network connectivity and a connection be accessed through other online remote desktop control applications, you can access it from the local network through vSphere.
  • Easily create and modify virtual machines.
  • Provides a robust interface to monitor host resources.
  • Would be nice if events could generate alerts that would be emailed to a administrator
It's great for test labs and creating honey pots or any scenario were you will be running tests and reverting back to a base image regularly.
Read Chris Hartwig's full review
Brian Munn profile photo
October 26, 2018

vSphere Review: "Best Virtual Hosting Software available"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use vSphere across our entire organization. We no longer run any physical servers. vSphere has reduced our physical server count from over 200 down to 6 vSphere host servers. Having a shared server infrastructure along with shared storage makes using vSphere easy and provides great options for backup and DR.
  • Having a single pane of glass that allows you to manage all your vSphere virtual machines is a great time saver.
  • vSphere Provides virtual machine system performance either by realtime or by day, week, month, year.
  • Being able to take a virtual machine snapshot is a great feature that can be used as a quick backup solution when performing vm maintenance.
  • While having the ability to take virtual machine snapshots is great it would be nice to have a single spot to see any virtual machine with a current snapshot.
  • Resource pools and VM reservations can become tricky to understand and configure. I think VMware needs to work on simplifying this feature.
  • The latest version of vSphere are now primarily managed by a web interface. This is great but does not offer the same level of ease of usability that the previous console versions did. All the features and functions are there but it is not as smooth and reliable as the console version.
vSphere is great for anyone that needs multiple servers and does not want to purchase a physical machine for each server. Licensing costs can be an issue depending on vSphere version and needs. If this is the case there are other virtual hosting environment options.
Read Brian Munn's full review
Jon Shurtliff profile photo
November 05, 2018

Review: "VSphere is key to Virtual environment success"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VSphere is obviously the tool we use to manage all of our virtual machines in our VMWare environment.
It really gives us a full dashboard of the health of our entire infrastructure.
  • Manages the health of our servers.
  • Gives us the interface to make all necessary changes to our servers.
  • The console view makes it so easy to quickly see what’s going on with the server.
  • Now that we have upgraded to the latest version, things work great!
If you have over 5-10 VM’s, Vshere is a must!
Read Jon Shurtliff's full review
No photo available
October 25, 2018

Review: "VSphere is a great package for piece of mind for server backup and restoration"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VMWare vSphere at my business now for the last few years now and have implemented across the whole company now and all our servers because it makes our servers hardware independent and if we ever have a problem, we can restore our servers from a VM backup quickly and easily without any reconfiguration. When we have a hardware failure, we simply move the server VM to a different vSphere host effortlessly. Also when a server is running low on resources, we simply allocate more resources to that server on the fly and its back up to speed and running nicely again! So easy and convenient to setup and maintain as well and VMWare is always releasing updates with new features and functionality and stands behind their products 100%.
  • Makes your server hardware independent, so you no longer need to worry about hardware failure and where to find specific replacement parts.
  • Reallocation of server resources quickly and on the fly, so if your server is slowing down, you can beef it up with a few clicks of the mouse.
  • Server recovery, when there is a problem, you can restore a backed up entire virtual server to the recovered host or a new host quickly and easily.
  • Pricing, VMWare does have several free options available for people that want to handle a lot of the management themselves, but if you want to get the top of the line fully managed version of vSphere, it can be quite pricey.
  • Working with server hardware makers to make it clear which server hardware is compatible with vSphere, sometimes it can be hard to figure out if a server box is compatible with vSphere.
vSphere is great to quick server restoration, if you want to make server with flexible resources you can quickly adjust up or down quickly, and takes the worry out of hardware failure. vSphere might not be the right solution if you are on a tight budget and don't have a lot of experience managing virtual machines though.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 05, 2018

Review: "VMware vSphere - Is a mutliple server management must-have"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to run all our VM's/Servers for the Organization. It helps us to better manage the company and allow us to easily spin up new servers when they are needed by the org.
  • It allows for high availability if you have it setup with redundancy.
  • Can segregate VM's to different VLAN's, providing separation of duties.
  • Easily manage all servers from one UI Web/(Older Verisons)Client.
  • Some parts are not intuitive and take research or training to figure out.
  • Classes to take exams to get certified in vSphere can be expensive.
  • ESXi upgrades can be a pain if you are doing them yourself.
It is good to have even if you have 1 server/VM to run. I would recommend probably seeking a free Hypervisor if you are only running one VM (Ex. Hyper-V). VMware products can be a little pricey but having a Virtual environment is worth every penny with multiple VM's in my opinion.
Read this authenticated review
Eric Lambert profile photo
April 09, 2018

User Review: "vSphere for virtualization needs"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used across the whole organization. In fact, we virtualized almost all our environment. It's cost-effective and the deployment is faster and more convenient.
  • Possibility to move load from servers using the vmotion across a VMWare Cluster
  • Possible to increase ressources live, for example add more RAM ou CPUs
  • Provisionning of new servers is really fast and easy
  • Licences of more advanced versions with more features are expensive
Well suited when there's a lot of physical servers that need to be replaced. You can consolidate multiple physical servers onto 1 or 2 using VMWare.
Read Eric Lambert's full review
Luca Campanelli profile photo
February 05, 2018

vSphere Review: "One of the best virtualization software"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my organization vSphere is used to autonomously manage multiple virtual machines and servers dedicated to individual users without having to create new machines to [properly] y dispose of them after a short time. Sometimes virtual machines are used even just to create parallel environments to test certain developments and only for a limited period of time.
  • Immediate machine clone management
  • Fast resize of resources
  • Instant snapshot and restore
  • Requires an environment to install the infrastructure
  • Requires a minimum of experience in virtual machines
  • Requires continuous monitoring of the resources used to optimize the server as much as possible
  • If you constantly need to test products on different machines
  • If you are a developer and you need to test software under certain conditions
  • If you want to save money to avoid buying new hardware continuously with the consequent possibility of having to dispose of old hardware it's definitely one of the best virtualization software
Read Luca Campanelli's full review
Derek Aldridge profile photo
February 02, 2018

Review: "It's hard to go wrong with VMware vSphere. See what you've been missing!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization originally purchased vSphere to begin consolidating servers. We're a smaller organization with around a dozen virtual servers. Our IT department is small, being able to manage all of our servers from a single interface has been more powerful than we could have imagined. Also, our backup and disaster recovery strategy has been greatly simplified. Servers can be moved on the fly, upgrading the underlying server hardware is also a breeze, as all the virtualized servers are built on a standardized virtualized hardware.
  • Snapshots - Upgrading an underlying OS and software is so much easier now with snapshots, if something goes wrong, rolling back to a snapshot is a breeze, and will put you back to a point before the process started.
  • Remote management is much easier, everything can be found under one interface, reducing the need to use third party tools.
  • Highly available - workloads can be seamlessly moved without an interruption of service. Server hardware can be upgraded and replaced with little to no downtime.
  • Templates - Provisioning a new server can be done in minutes with a few clicks.
  • Web interface - There is no longer an installable desktop client for management. While the web interface works fine, there is definitely room for improvement, when the interface is entirely moved away from flash and over to HTML5 that will be a huge step forward.
  • Pricing - The pricing makes it harder to justify for a small business when Microsoft is giving away virtualization.
You really can't go wrong with choosing vShere, as long as it fits in your budget I see no reason to choose a competitor. If uptime and ease of management are important to you (hint: it definitely should be), and you haven't virtualized your servers, you definitely should look at vSphere. Once you have vSphere in place you'll wonder why you didn't do it sooner.
Read Derek Aldridge's full review
Eligio Morgado Habas profile photo
April 16, 2018

vSphere Review: "Great tool for virtual server environment"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We decided to use vSphere on my client to virtualize all the company's servers (approximately 100 users)

With this we get to dispense with all physical servers.
  • Ease of implementation of virtual servers
  • Simple maintenance of servers, scalability of resources, etc.
  • Reliability and robustness
  • We haven't found any functionality missing. It fulfills its function perfectly
In our case, we virtualized four physical servers on the same physical server with vSphere.

With this we saved a Windows Server license, since previously we had a virtual server with Hyper-V.

For a situation like the one described, vSphere performs perfectly.
Read Eligio Morgado Habas's full review
John Predmore profile photo
March 01, 2018

Review: "vSphere-The hypervisor that sets the standard others are judged by"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use vSphere exclusively as our hypervisor in our datacenters. We use it for server as well as desktop virtualization. vSphere has allowed us to be extremely flexible with regards to server infrastructure. I can't imagine ever managing an environment without it!
  • vSphere has a very robust feature set. HA, DRS and distributed switching are all capabilities that increase uptime and flexibility.
  • vSphere has a very broad partner ecosystem. This permits users a much greater selection of solutions beyond what VMware offers.
  • Reliability. For me I can reduce it to just that one word.
  • The primary improvement I'd like to see in vSphere is its pricing. I feel it is a bit high compared to the market. But I do believe it is the market leader.
  • I'd like to see the Enterprise edition brought back. We used it before it was removed and I felt it was a very good small enterprise set of features.
I believe vSphere is still the go to hypervisor on the market. I know there are others that have come a long way from when they were introduced, but they still have a ways to go. I believe that in all but the smallest IT environments virtualization makes sense for servers, and vSphere is where you should start.
Read John Predmore's full review
No photo available
April 26, 2018

"vSphere 6.5 Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
vSphere is used across our whole organization by the IT department. vSphere allows us to run multiple virtual servers on one single physical server, which makes server management very easy. The ability to take snapshots of virtual machines and roll back at any given time when faced with a problem is simply amazing.
  • Taking Snapshots of VMs and roll back to the previous state when faced with a problem.
  • Template creation - Once you have that perfect template you can easily create new VMs. Very useful feature.
  • VMotion - Being able to perform live migrations of a virtual machine from one physical server to another, without any downtime.
  • vSphere crushes the competition in all aspects, the only negative thing is the license price. Very expensive.
vSphere is simply the best solution to manage VMs. It has the most features and is the most reliable. If your company is currently looking at virtualization solutions go ahead and recommend them VMWare. Microsoft Hyper-V might be much cheaper, but they do not have all the bells and whistles VMWare has. VMWare is always the one innovating with new features, while Microsoft just copies them. VMotion alone is worth its price tag, made our company save tons of money and time.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 23, 2018

User Review: "vSphere Beast!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
vSphere is used throughout my company, we use the solutions in-house and many of our clients use vSphere too.
Some of the deployment are on vSphere and hosted in a VDI environment where clients are running A to Z of everyday stuff on Hosted VDI. It's proving to be really cost effective and availability through private cloud makes it 100 % reachable from anywhere anytime.
  • Cloud-based deployment makes it easier to access your desktop from anywhere on any device
  • Less hardware cost (end users running thin clients and using hosted VDI's )
  • Better management, security, and provisioning of the machine is simple and easy
  • Pricing for home users (users running building labs, 60 days evaluation period - not enough imho)
  • Vmotion | tools | configuration issues
  • Lack of information (Knowledge base)
Small to Midsize companies looking to reduce hardware cost (best solution to deploy VDI hosted environment for users) Best solution for remote users (No connectivity issues, availability to services such as File Sharing - Documents - Network Resources are always available) reduce cost of expertise networking (no vpn deployment need to use any network resources etc)
cloud deployment with 100% uptime makes it easy for users and administrators
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 16, 2018

vSphere Review: "Virtual life"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
vSphere is being used primarily by the system administrators in the information technology department to manage all virtual workstations, virtual servers and the resources assigned to them. Allows for ease of management of all of our servers in our infrastructure. Also provides a failover system for maintaining a high level of uptime in the event of a host going down.
  • VMware vCenter Server, which manages vSphere environments. Can be used to monitor virtual machine environment - hosts and VMs.
  • VMware vSphere Client, which is used to install and manage virtual machines. Great way to centrally manage all servers and workstations.
  • VMware VMFS, the file system component from VMware.
  • Pricing. It can get costly with the licensing depending on the size of your environment.
  • Better compatibility. Some applications do not run as well on a virtual machine as they do on a physical box.
  • Learning curve for staff to be able to be fully functional and troubleshoot in vsphere environment.
Great for creating many smaller servers and only having to purchase hardware for the host server. This provides better utilization of the hardware resources and allows for a means of adding servers rather quickly without having to purchase hardware every time you add a server. It is also great for fault tolerance/high availability as you can vmotion servers from host to host or storage to storage without any downtime, it also automatically vmotions VMs off a host if it is deprecated.
Read this authenticated review
Daniel Hereford profile photo
October 27, 2017

User Review: "vSphere - Virtually the Best"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
vSphere is our primary hypervisor being used across our whole company and all data centers to serve all our critical workloads. vSphere enables us to maximize the use of server resources through virtualization and enables cloud behaviors like data center migrations, high availability, resource management, and monitoring. vSphere is simply the most robust hypervisor solution in the marketplace today. The ecosystem created by both VMware and 3rd parties enables IT departments to serve critical workloads 100% to customers and associates. I cannot imagine our data center without vSphere.
  • High Availability - The ability to have virtual machines move seamlessly from one host to another either in reaction to hardware failure or proactively for maintenance enables us to serve workloads 100% of the time while still performing all needed maintenance.
  • Reliability - Downtime in vSphere is almost unheard of. We haven't had a purple screen occur in over a year, and the last few times it happened it was in response to a change we made or a driver conflict caused by human error.
  • Resource scheduling - The ability to allocate resources to highly critical workloads and have those reservations follow the workload within the data center enables IT to deliver promised performance no matter where the workload is in the cloud.
  • Software Defined Data Center - If you want to do a software define data center (networking, storage, etc.) VMware has a great vision and ecosystem.
  • The Web client is annoying - Ever since they deprecated the C# client, the web client has been a pain to use. The newest HTML5 client seems to finally be addressing this concern, but I still want the fat client back. Nothing was more reliable.
  • SDN should be included in pricing - VMware could lead the world into a software-defined network revolution, but for now, it costs so much, that only the most mature IT environments and larger companies can afford to pay to play that game.
I only give it a 9 because I could be compelled to try Microsoft HyperV at this point in some situations. Less suited for very small environments (single hosts or very small environments where HyperV may be more cost-effective).
Read Daniel Hereford's full review
Sam Bryant profile photo
December 12, 2017

vSphere Review: "Ugly but Useful"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is being used by our information technology department to manage all of our servers that are hosted offsite with a server hosting service. We also use it to manage virtual PCs for outside users to access our internal network. With vSphere, we are able to manage these servers as a unit instead of remoting into individual servers one at a time.
  • It does a great job at snapshots and backups.
  • Allows for greater remote function.
  • Has a robust management software that allows for many customization and options.
  • The user interface has a great deal of detail which is nice but can be overwhelming.
  • Not very user-friendly or intuitive menus.
  • Hard to manage several versions of virtual servers without running into errors.
Great for organizing a lot of servers in an organization that has many of them. Also great for an organization that hosts all of their servers offsite. Great as well for any organization that is looking for a solution for remote users. Virtual PCs in VSphere is a great solution for this.
Read Sam Bryant's full review
Bill Holmberg profile photo
October 24, 2017

vSphere Review: "My Favorite Virtual Tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
vSphere is used only by IT departments, to include testing and Dev Ops as well. The reason is that is strictly for the use of managing VMWare virtualized servers and environments, and is a fantastic tool for this purpose. It can allow one to quickly create a test environment by cloning the production one, with no impact on the production environment at all. But its main use is in the day to day management of the servers. When used with vMotion and DRS, your environment will seamlessly move servers between physical hosts when there is contention for resources, or failures of networking or hardware.
  • "Sandboxing"- or, creating a copy of a production server for testing, is a strong feature for businesses that are in development, or wish to test a new or upgraded application with current live data, or reflecting the current production environment.
  • Cloning a server for fast provisioning, such as when rolling out multiple terminal or Citrix servers, etc. Right click, select, and wait a few minutes and you are ready to go!
  • I can't say enough about how easy vSphere makes managing servers that are virtualized, from simple to complex. The plugins available for the major SAN vendors alone make it indispensable.
  • The Dashboard- The health of any environment is paramount to any IT department- and by extension, any company. IT administrators can see at a glance exactly what needs attention and it's priority.
  • Adding storage is still complex, with Linux mount points instead of simply browsing to an IP address or range of addresses, particularly in iSCSI environments.
  • Networking can be a headache as well, also due to engineering shorthand and terms instead of more human, commonly used by techs. Again, browsing the network instead of declaring it would be a great addition.
Any VMWare environment with vCenter Server needs this, but I doubt Hyper-V environments would, since Microsoft builds their own proprietary tools and management suite for Hyper-V. I particularly recommend it for small businesses trying to get rid of physical server sprawl and failure points, as spreading your servers virtually over at least 2 or more hosts can give your business unparalleled uptime.
Read Bill Holmberg's full review
Joe Bayramyan profile photo
September 12, 2017

User Review: "vSphere 5.x-6.x"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have two vSphere servers across two sites. Our hosts contains high-availability systems (exchange, active directory, SQL, Windows and Linux operating systems). vSphere allows us to maintain high availability and redundancy with the Esxi hosts without impacting the guest servers. The HA and DRS feature ensure that any hardware failure causes little or no disruption to the guest servers.
  • High availability
  • Load balance through all the clustered servers using DRS
  • Update Esxi servers using update manager
  • Bring back Vsphere client for version 6.5
It works great for any business. Less hardware to buy and manage
Read Joe Bayramyan's full review
Vakul Bhatt profile photo
August 16, 2017

User Review: "vSphere in Trend"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are cloud service provider, vSphere is being used in the backend for virtualization.
  • Resource Management
  • Advance management of Virtual Machines easily
  • Virtualization of Storage, x86 machines, and network vSphere is quite advanced
  • I have only used vSphere so can't compare it with other products from my point of view it is a great product
It is an amazing product for server virtualization; also provides high availability with simple and easy to use techniques like HA and FT.
Read Vakul Bhatt's full review
No photo available
December 13, 2017

"vSphere the measure by which Virtualization is Rated!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As the single source hypervisor and on-premises virtualization platform, vSphere provides increased uptime and system availability across all lines-of-business. We have chosen VMware vSphere as our virtualization platform to ensure stability and supportability of our business services.
  • VMware scales CPU sharing to a point that it is no longer a sizing constraint for virtualized infrastructure.
  • The ability to ensure system availability and performance through DRS and HA capabilities has given us a starting point of 4-9s of uptime before we add application or operating systems capabilities.
  • The ability to scale vSphere hypervisors to host even multiples of very large database instances, provides improved scale-ability in our datacenters.
  • The key missing component, which should not be terribly difficult to do, would be to assign cost values by component and object within vSphere that could then be tracked and associated based upon key values defined by component.
vSphere is well suited to provide highly consolidated virtualized environments that can provide agility and scalability for the enterprise.
Read this authenticated review
Roberta Jones profile photo
March 27, 2017

Review: "Virtualize your environment with vSphere"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently only use vSphere in the IT department to virtualize our servers. Since we've added vSphere to our environment we've been able to consolidate 3-5 servers at a time and virtualize them onto one server. This has helped us cut our hardware expenses dramatically. We've also increased our productivity because we're able to use vCenter Operations Manager to manage the servers from a central location. The IT department is also more efficient and has less downtime because we can migrate a virtual server from one physical host to another without having to take the whole network down. Our users do not like to experience downtime so this feature comes in handy when we are experiencing trouble with a physical server and need to move its data so we can work on it. Also, we experience less downtime because vSphere has the ability to switch over to another server if we experience a complete lost. The IT department loves this feature because it's automatic and will notify us of the problem.
  • One issue we've encountered several times in the IT department is slow network speeds that are caused by overloaded servers. We would have to manually move data from one server to another to fix the problem or manually shift the priority of applications on the server. Transferring the data would take hours and cause the network to slow down even more and sometimes applications would stop working if we didn't notice that an application was hoarding all the resources on a server. When a server is virtualized, you don't have to worry about these issues at all because if a virtual machine becomes overloaded then it will automatically transfer data and resources to whatever application the IT department sets up as a priority.
  • vSphere's backup and restore feature is also very useful. It automatically ensures that data isn't being duplicated when making a backup and it also allows us to create libraries to store the data in. We have our libraries set up by department so if something happens with one library, it won't affect our entire organization. The data is also backed up directly to our storage system so we don't have to use the cloud storage that is available. We aren't ready to store our data in the cloud yet because we don't think that security is strong enough. We currently store our backups offsite and our vSphere software is setup to remotely connect to our backup site when restores are necessary.
  • vSphere's restore option is a feature that we use often in the IT department We always have users calling the help desk saying that they accidentally deleted a file and need it restored back to their computer. vSphere's file restore allows us to restore a single file rather than restoring an entire library. We just ask the user for the name and location of the file, find it in the backup log, and restore it back to its proper location. vSphere makes every task easy to complete by using wizards to guide you through most tasks.
  • vSphere is very expensive. If a company chooses to virtualize their environment they will need to consider their annual budget and how much it will cost to maintain a virtual environment. Besides having to pay for the initial license, organizations also need to keep up with annual maintenance contracts for each license they purchase. You don't want to go without a maintenance contract because if you need assistance with your virtual environment, you won't be able to get it without a maintenance agreement.
  • Besides the pricing, I can't think of anything else that vSphere needs improvement in.
vSphere's restore function also works great for restoring exchange mailboxes. You can restore a single user's mailbox if necessary without having to restore the entire Exchange database. If there are errors with any backups or restores, vSphere will automatically generate a report listing the errors or problems that occurred while a job was running. vSphere also creates checkpoints when backing up data, so if there are any issues with the physical machine then it can go back to a checkpoint it created without corrupting all of the data that is backed up.
Read Roberta Jones's full review
Ian Neveu profile photo
March 17, 2017

User Review: "Vsphere, tenured use over a long epoch"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VSPHERE is used company wide from support to cloud services. It is an integral part of our business that provides the ability to deploy systems quickly via pre developed templates that can be modified or configured as you see fit. Our support staff uses the software to recreate customer issues with installed test infrastructures. Time sync is an issue sometimes, but you merely need to have your own source and you're good to go. I recommend ensuring your staff is familiar with this product. I have used it now at half the companies I have worked for.
  • Multiple system management.
  • Easy user management.
  • Friendly user interface.
  • Provides a level of automation.
  • Can easily increase system resources.
  • Better time sync functionality.
  • More verbose template options.
  • Ability to add in external application integration.
Very good for cloud or support related functions, with the ability to use templates being a largely used tool across departments allowing easier understanding of the environments being supported.
Read Ian Neveu's full review
Ben Mund profile photo
March 16, 2017

User Review: "vSphere - A simple and solid product."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our school uses vSphere as our main hypervisor. We have used it for the last few years to great success. It is well supported, and the pricing structure is very reasonable in the education sector. It has allowed us to run multiple Virtual Machines on significantly less hardware, have high availability on critical systems, and gives us the ability to spin up new machines in minutes if needed.
  • vSphere does a great job of organizing the vast information you have access to. Viewing Hosts, VMs and storage is a simple process.
  • Setting up VM templates is fairly painless, and has saved me hours of work building up new servers.
  • Setting up High Availability has become a seamless component of our recovery strategy, and vSphere does a great job of making it simple.
  • Virtual networking is comprehensive, but not intuitive. I think the process could be simplified and made more user-friendly.
vSphere would probably be useful in almost any IT environment, except for maybe the particularly large or small. Most places can make good use of vSphere, it all comes down to your needs. It just adds so much to the table: Management, Deployment, Resource Optimization, etc. Unless you are running particularly Azure-Based environment, vSphere should be good for your virtual machine needs.
Read Ben Mund's full review
No photo available
April 28, 2017

Review: "vSphere is an Excellent Virtualization Platform"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used company-wide. We run about 95% virtualized. All on vSphere.
  • Runs Windows and Linux VMs.
  • Stable under heavy load.
  • Handles mixed workload well.
  • The Flash web client is horrible.
  • It can be expensive, especially for features like virtualized networking.
As a virtualization solution, it is easy to use, and mostly just works. Competing solutions have come a long way, and are probably as good or almost as good, but we put in vSphere when they were definitely best of breed.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 04, 2017

"vSphere Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
vSphere is being used by our company to manage our multiple virtual servers that run our organization. We use it to manage individual servers, to delegate server resources, to keep a running backup via snapshot of each of our machines, and run routine maintenance on all of our companies servers.
  • Keeps all of your servers in one location.
  • Easily manage individual servers.
  • Easily replace a snapshot if something goes wrong with the server.
  • Would like to be able to control multiple Hosts.
  • The ability to fullscreen a console session.
  • Simpler upgrade option between versions.
I believe vSphere is great for an environment where multiple servers are needed. If you at least have a mail server, and an active directory server, then a virtual controller would be a big asset and can be a lot more cost effective. If you are a small business that doesn't require much server support, than this may not be the product to look at.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Virtual machine automated provisioning (28)
9.4
Management console (31)
8.8
Live virtual machine backup (28)
9.1
Live virtual machine migration (30)
9.8
Hypervisor-level security (28)
8.7

About vSphere

Categories:  Server Virtualization

vSphere Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No