vSphere Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
155 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 51)

Chris Saenz | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

vSphere is simply best-in-class

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
vSphere is our primary hypervisor being used at our organization. We run a wide variety of technologies and workloads on vSphere-backed VMs; including large Oracle databases, VDI, Active Directory, OpenShift clusters, student information systems, finance systems, and more. vSphere has saved our organization spending money on bare-metal hardware. It has also allowed us to be much more flexible and efficient with our hardware resources.
  • vMotion and svMotion are seamless and efficient.
  • Storage, Compute, and Memory thin provision.
  • Snapshots are extremely helpful in times where a quick point in time recovery is needed.
  • Licensing is expensive.
  • Datastore management can have a high administrative cost.
  • Web interface can be a bit slower than their client used to be.
Without vCenter (VMware management software), vSphere is suited for small businesses that have disparate storage and networking. vSphere is an enterprise-class hypervisor that can run a diverse variety of workloads. Technically, it is best-in-class for all functions and features, and can be implemented on a variety of workloads (database, VDI, etc.). According to white-papers, third-party tests, and my experience, virtual technologies add only negligible performance differences versus bare-metal systems.
Read Chris Saenz's full review
Sean Zef | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 20, 2020

Great, but a little pricey

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, we're using vSphere across our small organization. It allows us to maintain many machines with ease. Instead of creating and managing physical servers, we can spin up test environments quickly.
  • Easy VM management, including storage and CPUs.
  • Fault tolerance is great.
  • Some alerts fail to fire.
  • Trouble with Linux support in terms of a standalone client.
vSphere is great for creating and managing lots of VMs quickly. It may not be the best for a smaller company due to cost, but the management and features mostly make up the difference.
Read Sean Zef's full review
Alessandro Spada | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2019

vSphere is the best!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've been using vSphere since 2013. We started small with a few VMs and now we have about 200+ including desktop and servers. We like vSphere because it is a very solid product that just works. We like how they keep updating the user interface to make all options available with just a few clicks.
We started by using the free option but we outgrew it very quickly. There are other companies out there but I don't think any other can do what VMWare is doing!
  • Easy to deploy VM
  • Fast modification of virtual hardware
  • Easy interface
  • Console options
  • Easy way to deploy virtual switches
  • Easy to add storage and browse data
  • User interface is great but could use help with the HTML5 client (buggy)
  • Would like a mobile app that allowed you to do minor tasks or monitoring
  • Cost
This product is great for larger to medium bussiness. We are a somewhat large school district and we tried to go with the free version or Hyper-V, but they just didn't cut it for us. If you are a small school or bussiness this may be too expensive or overkill.
Read Alessandro Spada's full review
Alessio Andriolo | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 26, 2019

One of the best virtualisation systems.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use vSphere for our Client & Server infrastructure in a cluster of 7 Hosts. We host mostly Windows Servers and Clients. The Cluster is working very stable. Creating a server only takes a few minutes. You can manage all settings like CPU or RAM in just a few clicks. Very easy to use.
  • Fast VM deployment.
  • Support a lot of OS.
  • Strong support.
  • Very stable hypervisor.
  • Many small bugs that can steal a lot of time.
  • The HTML 5 console is not fully working. You will miss some features like Ova deployment.
  • Migration is not that easy.
You can use it perfectly for every virtualization scenario. There is no point you can't use it. In the beginning, just plan your environment well.
Read Alessio Andriolo's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2020

A whole server cluster in the palm of your hand

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VMware vSphere is currently being used by the IT and Change Management departments to address test and preproduction virtual machines and perform UAT (User Acceptance Tests) and Regression Tests on every release we perform and authorize. The advantages are several: we have a continuous, fallback-capable pool of servers replicating our internal infrastructure for each project, which we can keep fresh via snapshots between releases, all of this without actually impacting the production infrastructure.
  • Virtualization
  • Accessibility
  • Further compatibility
  • Easier scalability
vSphere excels at handling ESX/ESXi hypervisors. The advantages are several: having a continuous, fallback-capable pool of servers for testing purposes, including imaging, cloning and training; a reliable IaaS platform for mission critical business processes that can be handled even via mobile device (we have taken and restored snapshots of entire server farms via vSphere from our mobile phones in occasions when we're in field work); and an easy to understand and operate frontend for the VMs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

The best on-premises virtualization platform

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use vSphere to manage all our internal VMS. All our departments utilize at least one server for their work, and VMware is our chosen application. It helps consolidate our physical hardware, which used to be around 20-30 servers into only five as our hosts. It also holds VMS on our DMZ.
  • Network segregation.
  • Fast deployment of VMS.
  • Better support for ageing hardware
  • Interface can be a little slow.
If you're looking for a convenient way of test and delete, then this is for you! You can quickly build an isolated network like a DMZ and test away without harming your production kit. Backing up VMs is ideal, too, as you can redeploy the entire system in a few minutes. The only thing I could think of as to why you wouldn't want this would be cost, or if you're looking to place your infrastructure in the cloud.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 24, 2019

VSphere: simply the best.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vpshere is used to manage our entire fleet of in-house servers and will soon be used to manage our storage servers as well. Every department in my organization will have its servers managed by it and VSphere allows us to easily manage our in-house virtualized inventory from a single pane of glass.
  • Great suite of tools
  • Easy centralized management
  • Still needs Flash for a few things.
  • Menu structure not really intuitive.
It's great for managing a large Enterprise-grade fleet of in-house servers, especially across multiple sites—it really shines there. It's less suited to managing a small fleet—you may find that you don't need all the features and can get by with Microsoft Hyper-V or another cheaper alternative.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 07, 2019

Enterprise-level workload virtualization

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use vSphere as our primary hypervisor. It supports all of our virtual servers, as well as handles our high availability and disaster recovery. It helps us get the most out of our hardware.
  • It allows us to get the most density out of our hardware.
  • It provides high availability/disaster recovery feature.
  • Allows for automation in provisioning new resources.
  • Expensive to get all the functionality.
vSphere is targetted at enterprises with solid IT budgets and large work loads. Its a harder sell for small shops that might be better off going with cloud providers.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 16, 2019

VMware vSphere is useful for virtualized environments

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VMware to manage servers in a virtual environment. It is used by the IT department and has helped reduce the amount of hardware needed in the server room. As of now, we only use it at the headquarters but looking to virtualize environments at other locations in the future.
  • Monitors all servers in a virtualized environment and makes it easy to see what's going on when there are issues.
  • It provides a web client that's easily accessible. This makes accessing the network easier when you are outside of it.
  • It allows you to set up multiple virtual networks with multiple different parameters.
  • They could offer up more helpful links and training.
  • Overall, it does pretty well for its capabilities.
If you have multiple servers this would be a good fit. You can get rid of all the old hardware and start putting them in a virtualized environment. If you only have a couple, this may not be worth it. You would need to weigh out your options. It works well for us.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2019

vSphere Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have few different environments--managed hosting, internal cloud, VDI, lab. Our developers are using vSphere with cloudstack for the automation and testing out product.
  • 7 without flash is really helpful
  • vSphere without PSC is helpful
  • Desktop client to connect the vSphere
vSphere is well suited for our internal cloud. Since we are moving to AWS and decided not to migrate to VMware on AWS, I think in another 2 years we will be out of VMware.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2019

VMware vSphere Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
To manage and monitor a vast portfolio of virtualized applications. We use the product extensively and pay close attention to the current and future feature set that will be made available.
  • Manage virtualized servers.
  • Monitor virtualized servers.
  • More documentation on seldom used features
  • Enhanced support experience.
It's a great product to manage a large virtualized environment.
Read this authenticated review
Jewemars Christian Riano | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 13, 2019

vSphere for your Business Atmosphere

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently vSphere is being used as the main technology in the bank in terms of virtualization. The company is mostly digitizing and making everything virtualized. It is a technology that benefits our current infrastructure with such centralization of the virtual platform. Used primarily as a management tool to organize the current infrastructure of the company.
  • Centralization
  • Virtualization
  • Management Platform
  • Ease of use
  • Functionality
  • UI Design
The technology is well suited for enterprise firms, that handle a lot of servers and services, this can help in maintaining governance, concentration, and centralization of virtual machines. It is well suited also for making your infrastructure more scalable and flexible with this technology. The mishaps of this technology are in terms of administration, because it requires technical skills to manage this complex technology.
Read Jewemars Christian Riano's full review
Akos Krommer, CISA, ACDA | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 02, 2019

One of the best virtualization technologies for your organization

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
vSphere is heavily used by my organization, it especially helped to increase the density of the virtualized servers. It also helps to achieve great performance improvements and improve the operation of the whole organization and what we do every day, as it enables us to manage and provision the huge quantity of servers and other resources we have.
  • Very cost effective, big savings in terms of equipment maintenance.
  • Great stability
  • Very easy and simple system management.
  • Easy portability and migration of services.
  • Brilliant availability
  • It can be quite expensive if it comes to extensive usage of the tool, so it can be not a good solution for smaller businesses.
  • The configuration can be quite complex and not always too easy to understand the logic behind it.
  • The user guide is not very useful for new users, it would require more explanation.
A good example of the scenarios where vSphere is well suited is when the customer requires strong encryption, especially after the changes in the EU for security. This, added in NSX, combined with the ability to have encrypted VMotion as well, has been great. It is also great if you need to run tens of hosts in the cluster and don't want any degradation in performance.
Read Akos Krommer, CISA, ACDA's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 24, 2019

Excellent Virtualization Solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
vSphere is the best experience in virtualization so far. The interface is straightforward and informative. The web client is useful when I'm not near my main system for responding to emergencies while not at work. Scheduling tasks and alarms, as well as spinning up new instances and snapshots are straight forward.
  • vSphere is dependable.
  • It will run a large variety of workloads, and operating systems without issue.
  • Administrative tasks are simple to find and configure.
  • The recurring costs of licensing.
  • The user interface is sometimes slow.
  • Initial setup can be difficult
They have are a proven leader in the virtualization world with all the features you can ever need. It can be scaled to pretty much any size. The cost can be high, so may not be suitable for small companies.
Read this authenticated review
Hans Huang | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 05, 2018

vSphere offers a lot of features at a high cost of entry

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
vSphere (6.0) is used by our entire org. The VMs that run on it cover not only production, but also test/dev op environments. vSphere helped us lower our total physical server count as well as allowing us the ability to run more server instances in our environment that we could not have achieved with physical servers filling up all of our rack space.
  • Well supported with at least one new update each year.
  • Features are robust compared with competitors.
  • Easy to setup and migrate virtual environments.
  • Good overview of server work loads and resources.
  • High redundancy of compute and storage for high availability.
  • Cost can be very high compared with competition.
  • Random bugs that do crop up on occasion (but no show-stoppers).
Good for an on-premise environment where you need control over your hardware and workloads. vSphere is suited for businesses of all sizes that require high-density workloads and want to minimize physical footprint if they can afford the cost of entry (licenses needed). Beware not to over-buy licensing needs for what is needed but when purchasing licensing, also be aware of what will be needed in 18-24 months in the future to size correctly.
Read Hans Huang's full review
Michael Haberkern | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2019

vSphere is the best hypervisor

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
vSphere is being used for our entire City as a hypervisor. We currently have deployed 3 clusters and over 15 hosts on 6.5 configurations.
  • It is the best hypervisor in my opinion.
  • V-motion is the best hypervisor migration tool. Better than the Hyper-V live migration tool.
  • Very intuitive.
  • Its licensing model can be pricey.
  • vSphere got rid of its client based administration tool and has gone fully web UI based since 6.0 and that has made many people mad.
  • Tool packages for hardware can sometimes be a pain.
vSphere remains the top-rated and most popular hypervisor. Its continued ease of use and redundancy are top-notch and are hard to beat.
Read Michael Haberkern's full review
Chris Hartwig | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 12, 2018

vSphere is great for test labs!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use vSphere to connect to my VM host that contains a number of virtual machines for our test environment. vSphere allows me to quickly attach to my VM host to create virtual machines that I run ransomware simulations against. I have a number of servers and workstations and I can edit, delete or reconfigure those VMs quickly. In addition to providing access to my virtual machines in the test environment, I can also use vSphere to gain important information about my host including resource availability, data stores, and network configuration.
  • When a VM loses network connectivity and a connection be accessed through other online remote desktop control applications, you can access it from the local network through vSphere.
  • Easily create and modify virtual machines.
  • Provides a robust interface to monitor host resources.
  • Would be nice if events could generate alerts that would be emailed to a administrator
It's great for test labs and creating honey pots or any scenario were you will be running tests and reverting back to a base image regularly.
Read Chris Hartwig's full review
Brian Munn | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 26, 2018

Best Virtual Hosting Software available

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use vSphere across our entire organization. We no longer run any physical servers. vSphere has reduced our physical server count from over 200 down to 6 vSphere host servers. Having a shared server infrastructure along with shared storage makes using vSphere easy and provides great options for backup and DR.
  • Having a single pane of glass that allows you to manage all your vSphere virtual machines is a great time saver.
  • vSphere Provides virtual machine system performance either by realtime or by day, week, month, year.
  • Being able to take a virtual machine snapshot is a great feature that can be used as a quick backup solution when performing vm maintenance.
  • While having the ability to take virtual machine snapshots is great it would be nice to have a single spot to see any virtual machine with a current snapshot.
  • Resource pools and VM reservations can become tricky to understand and configure. I think VMware needs to work on simplifying this feature.
  • The latest version of vSphere are now primarily managed by a web interface. This is great but does not offer the same level of ease of usability that the previous console versions did. All the features and functions are there but it is not as smooth and reliable as the console version.
vSphere is great for anyone that needs multiple servers and does not want to purchase a physical machine for each server. Licensing costs can be an issue depending on vSphere version and needs. If this is the case there are other virtual hosting environment options.
Read Brian Munn's full review
Jon Shurtliff | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 05, 2018

VSphere is key to Virtual environment success

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VSphere is obviously the tool we use to manage all of our virtual machines in our VMWare environment.
It really gives us a full dashboard of the health of our entire infrastructure.
  • Manages the health of our servers.
  • Gives us the interface to make all necessary changes to our servers.
  • The console view makes it so easy to quickly see what’s going on with the server.
  • Now that we have upgraded to the latest version, things work great!
If you have over 5-10 VM’s, Vshere is a must!
Read Jon Shurtliff's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 25, 2018

VSphere is a great package for piece of mind for server backup and restoration

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VMWare vSphere at my business now for the last few years now and have implemented across the whole company now and all our servers because it makes our servers hardware independent and if we ever have a problem, we can restore our servers from a VM backup quickly and easily without any reconfiguration. When we have a hardware failure, we simply move the server VM to a different vSphere host effortlessly. Also when a server is running low on resources, we simply allocate more resources to that server on the fly and its back up to speed and running nicely again! So easy and convenient to setup and maintain as well and VMWare is always releasing updates with new features and functionality and stands behind their products 100%.
  • Makes your server hardware independent, so you no longer need to worry about hardware failure and where to find specific replacement parts.
  • Reallocation of server resources quickly and on the fly, so if your server is slowing down, you can beef it up with a few clicks of the mouse.
  • Server recovery, when there is a problem, you can restore a backed up entire virtual server to the recovered host or a new host quickly and easily.
  • Pricing, VMWare does have several free options available for people that want to handle a lot of the management themselves, but if you want to get the top of the line fully managed version of vSphere, it can be quite pricey.
  • Working with server hardware makers to make it clear which server hardware is compatible with vSphere, sometimes it can be hard to figure out if a server box is compatible with vSphere.
vSphere is great to quick server restoration, if you want to make server with flexible resources you can quickly adjust up or down quickly, and takes the worry out of hardware failure. vSphere might not be the right solution if you are on a tight budget and don't have a lot of experience managing virtual machines though.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 05, 2018

VMware vSphere - Is a mutliple server management must-have

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to run all our VM's/Servers for the Organization. It helps us to better manage the company and allow us to easily spin up new servers when they are needed by the org.
  • It allows for high availability if you have it setup with redundancy.
  • Can segregate VM's to different VLAN's, providing separation of duties.
  • Easily manage all servers from one UI Web/(Older Verisons)Client.
  • Some parts are not intuitive and take research or training to figure out.
  • Classes to take exams to get certified in vSphere can be expensive.
  • ESXi upgrades can be a pain if you are doing them yourself.
It is good to have even if you have 1 server/VM to run. I would recommend probably seeking a free Hypervisor if you are only running one VM (Ex. Hyper-V). VMware products can be a little pricey but having a Virtual environment is worth every penny with multiple VM's in my opinion.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 16, 2019

vSphere is enterprise class

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
vSphere is the primary virtualization technology that we use to maximize our server hardware investment. We are almost 100% virtual and only have a handful of physical machines, which greatly reduces our hardware refresh cycle.
  • vSphere is a trusted hypervisor and VMware keeps patches coming and introduces new features as well.
  • VMware is a leader in hypervisor technology.
  • Nothing comes to mind for vSphere to improve.
Where ever multiple servers are needed, vSphere is the go-to source for virtualization because of its reliability, support, and rich option choices.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 22, 2018

vSphere gets the job done.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to virtualize our servers and applications. We are about 60% virtualized hoping for about 75% and only leave the things that actually need its very own hardware to run correctly. We use it in IT to provide services to the other departments and the university as a whole.
  • Vmotion.
  • Easy of use.
  • UI is terrible.
  • Fully featured HTML client.
Generally, if you are still virtualizing servers and not using containers for your needs, this product will work well. We still have legacy applications that need traditional OS's to run correctly. With our environment, we will never move to containers as we are largely stable from a development lifecycle. Vmware does a good job migrating servers between host and back for easy maintenance.
Read this authenticated review
Eric Lambert | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 09, 2018

vSphere for virtualization needs

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used across the whole organization. In fact, we virtualized almost all our environment. It's cost-effective and the deployment is faster and more convenient.
  • Possibility to move load from servers using the vmotion across a VMWare Cluster
  • Possible to increase ressources live, for example add more RAM ou CPUs
  • Provisionning of new servers is really fast and easy
  • Licences of more advanced versions with more features are expensive
Well suited when there's a lot of physical servers that need to be replaced. You can consolidate multiple physical servers onto 1 or 2 using VMWare.
Read Eric Lambert's full review
Eligio Morgado Habas | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 16, 2018

Great tool for virtual server environment

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We decided to use vSphere on my client to virtualize all the company's servers (approximately 100 users)

With this we get to dispense with all physical servers.
  • Ease of implementation of virtual servers
  • Simple maintenance of servers, scalability of resources, etc.
  • Reliability and robustness
  • We haven't found any functionality missing. It fulfills its function perfectly
In our case, we virtualized four physical servers on the same physical server with vSphere.

With this we saved a Windows Server license, since previously we had a virtual server with Hyper-V.

For a situation like the one described, vSphere performs perfectly.
Read Eligio Morgado Habas's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Virtual machine automated provisioning (44)
9.0
Management console (48)
8.8
Live virtual machine backup (45)
8.9
Live virtual machine migration (46)
9.4
Hypervisor-level security (43)
9.0

About vSphere

Categories:  Server Virtualization

vSphere Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No