TrustRadius
Actuate founded and co-leads the Eclipse BIRT open source project. ActuateOne is a unified suite of products for rapidly developing and deploying BIRT-based custom Business Intelligence applications and information applications. Applications built with ActuateOne provide one user experience regardless of task or skill level; are supported by one server for any deployment including cloud and are built with one BIRT design that can access and integrate any data source - including high volume print streams. ActuateOne adds rich data visualizations, including interactivity, dashboards, analytics, and deployment options to web and mobile BIRT applications, helping organizations drive revenue through higher customer satisfaction and improved operational performance. Actuate was acquired by OpenText in January 2015.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/T1/99/I4ZMCK80JPUR.pngIf you have the budget for it it can do great things, if you are a small company run, don't walk away.We are using it to present reports to customers and to our executives for our rich media advertising business. Our entire business uses this as a reporting platform. We had internally developed reporting, that worked well, but was hard to support and extend and expensive to maintain. We also wanted to embed it in another application to include customer facing reporting in the platform they use.,In terms of extensibility this is the best reporting platform we have seen. You can build very sophisticated reports with different data sources, and extend the basic functionality with javscript code Securing the BI system is also a strength and the system can be configured relatively easily. Reports can be available on mobile devices Good Javascript embedding framework does not require the site to be built in java,We have found a ton of bugs in there, our implementation is very complex and we use a lot of features, but we wish there were less bugs. Particularly with parameter display and validation. Actuate has decided not to continue to support the birtondemand platform and it is running on older versions of their main platform. Building out security extensibility is rather complex. They have not had a rest interface until new versions of iHub.,8,Jaspersoft,Pentaho,Microsoft BI,1,Adopted by infrastructure, ad-operations, sales, business, and account support. We are a small company and maintain a small number of accounts on this system. If pricing would be acceptable, we would roll this out to all of our customers.,9,9,8Former System Admin for Scorecard ModuleActuate is being used by selected user groups across the entire organization. It allows us to bring in data from multiple sources and evaluate performance under consolidated locations and measures.,Easy data import Multiple levels of user security,Limited report writing ability unless you implant the iServer applications End users have little or no control over data displays,6,5,We have about 2300 licensed users, but probably less than 1/3 actually log in during a quarter time. Less than 10% would be considered proficient users.,7,3,3,2000Actuate BIRT - open source that's worth a lookActuate's open source BIRT is used as an integrated reporting solution to provide data exporting and visualization of client project portfolios that empowers them with information to aid in better decisions.,The report outputs can vary across different types such as HTML, PDF, and Excel Their open source offering is very sufficient There are great boards and blogs for developers and engineers to expand and use their features. The people from the company that I've worked with are professional and courteous.,The report designer can be unstable at times. The reporting engine tends to have memory leaks with certain types of massive-data reporting. The report graphics don't have the sexiest appeal (e.g. Glossy feel, animated output) Some extensibility is extremely difficult to get to without purchasing a license (e.g. Setting a simple flag so that HTML outputs in compressed mode requires either creating your own emitter or going the paid route),8,There is a myriad of reporting solutions and options tend to change every other year.,8,The design tool is useful for basic reporting, but many reports require some experience in SQL and JavaScript. Java programming, though not a required skill for basic reports, is needed for better reporting and to access the more advanced features (such as debugging).,9,6,6Developer Perspective on ActuateActuate is an embedded part of several of our applications. It helps us deliver information content via reports to end users and it allows the user to customize the reports with many excel like features such as sorting, aggregation, font changes, hide/show, etc.,End user ability to customize Business Intelligence Reporting Tools (BIRT) Actuate Support is usually prompt and helpful. Ability to embed in other applications, has extendable code for authenticating/authorizing users.,Licensing is a bear.,8,,8,Actuate is used in 3-4 product lines. We have about 30 developers company wide that develop reports and perhaps 100 testers and business analysts that use it. Then we resell it with our product which is used by thousands of end users.,10,2,5Acuate 8 before the birth of BIRTActuate was being used with IBM Maximo to generate reports from our CMMS system. The reporting software served as our primary reporting tool and paper work order generation mechanism. Its availability and continuity were crucial to the maintenance and indirect procurement functions.,The software can be tied to Actuate Basic which is much like MS Visual Basic and can provide an almost custom application feel to some reports. Actuate had field movement tools that allowed a user to line rows up and disperse them across a report based off the width. Comparative tools like Crystal did not provide these. The Actuate Server also gave easy access to review who had been running a report or reports via its web interface.,The debug tool that came with the Actuate 8 developer was poorly written in my opinion; compiling a report could be very difficult when a number of functions were being called. There wasn't any reporting that could be run to download Actuate utilization statistics. Analytics had to be done by manually reviewing who had been running reports. At times when the Actuate Server would become overloaded the only solution was to restart it. There wasn't a way to clear up the list of pending report requests.,6,Crystal Reports,4,Actuate was used by the indirect procurement team and the maintenance departments company wide across many facilities. Well over 100 concurrent users at anytime. Actuate was used across vast majority of locations with the ERP solution we had at the time.,7,2,4
Unspecified
OpenText Analytics
18 Ratings
Score 6.7 out of 101
TRScore

OpenText Analytics Reviews

OpenText Analytics
18 Ratings
Score 6.7 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 18 vetted OpenText Analytics reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-9 of 9)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
January 24, 2015

OpenText Analytics Review: "If you have the budget for it it can do great things, if you are a small company run, don't walk away."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it to present reports to customers and to our executives for our rich media advertising business. Our entire business uses this as a reporting platform. We had internally developed reporting, that worked well, but was hard to support and extend and expensive to maintain. We also wanted to embed it in another application to include customer facing reporting in the platform they use.
  • In terms of extensibility this is the best reporting platform we have seen. You can build very sophisticated reports with different data sources, and extend the basic functionality with javscript code
  • Securing the BI system is also a strength and the system can be configured relatively easily.
  • Reports can be available on mobile devices
  • Good Javascript embedding framework does not require the site to be built in java
  • We have found a ton of bugs in there, our implementation is very complex and we use a lot of features, but we wish there were less bugs. Particularly with parameter display and validation.
  • Actuate has decided not to continue to support the birtondemand platform and it is running on older versions of their main platform.
  • Building out security extensibility is rather complex.
  • They have not had a rest interface until new versions of iHub.
If you do not have a large budget and are a large organization, I would steer clear of Actuate. If you are looking to do very complex washboarding, I would not use them. Your developers have to be very skilled to work with this. Plan to bring in consultants if necessary to help your process. Adhoc reporting is weak. If your pricing is user based and you expand, this could be very expensive.
Read Christopher Noyes's full review
March 18, 2015

OpenText Analytics Review: "Former System Admin for Scorecard Module"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Actuate is being used by selected user groups across the entire organization. It allows us to bring in data from multiple sources and evaluate performance under consolidated locations and measures.
  • Easy data import
  • Multiple levels of user security
  • Limited report writing ability unless you implant the iServer applications
  • End users have little or no control over data displays
Scorecard without the Birt360 module is very limited in reporting and data displays. End users who are not computer savvy would have a difficult time using the advanced features.
Read Lynn Kutz's full review
October 13, 2014

OpenText Analytics Review: "Actuate BIRT - open source that's worth a look"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Actuate's open source BIRT is used as an integrated reporting solution to provide data exporting and visualization of client project portfolios that empowers them with information to aid in better decisions.
  • The report outputs can vary across different types such as HTML, PDF, and Excel
  • Their open source offering is very sufficient
  • There are great boards and blogs for developers and engineers to expand and use their features.
  • The people from the company that I've worked with are professional and courteous.
  • The report designer can be unstable at times.
  • The reporting engine tends to have memory leaks with certain types of massive-data reporting.
  • The report graphics don't have the sexiest appeal (e.g. Glossy feel, animated output)
  • Some extensibility is extremely difficult to get to without purchasing a license (e.g. Setting a simple flag so that HTML outputs in compressed mode requires either creating your own emitter or going the paid route)
It depends on extensibility, set-up, access & style. Actuate performs fairly well, but has performance issues because it sits on top of eclipse, which sits on top of Java. Extensibility usually comes at that price. Set-up is fairly straightforward and it can be secured.
Read Bri Gipson's full review
September 19, 2014

OpenText Analytics Review: "Developer Perspective on Actuate"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Actuate is an embedded part of several of our applications. It helps us deliver information content via reports to end users and it allows the user to customize the reports with many excel like features such as sorting, aggregation, font changes, hide/show, etc.
  • End user ability to customize Business Intelligence Reporting Tools (BIRT)
  • Actuate Support is usually prompt and helpful.
  • Ability to embed in other applications, has extendable code for authenticating/authorizing users.
  • Licensing is a bear.
What is the licensing structure? How long does it take to get licenses? Can an OEM reseller of Actuate get one license for the entire development organization?
Read Amy Broome's full review
September 17, 2014

OpenText Analytics Review: "Acuate 8 before the birth of BIRT"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Actuate was being used with IBM Maximo to generate reports from our CMMS system. The reporting software served as our primary reporting tool and paper work order generation mechanism. Its availability and continuity were crucial to the maintenance and indirect procurement functions.
  • The software can be tied to Actuate Basic which is much like MS Visual Basic and can provide an almost custom application feel to some reports.
  • Actuate had field movement tools that allowed a user to line rows up and disperse them across a report based off the width. Comparative tools like Crystal did not provide these.
  • The Actuate Server also gave easy access to review who had been running a report or reports via its web interface.
  • The debug tool that came with the Actuate 8 developer was poorly written in my opinion; compiling a report could be very difficult when a number of functions were being called.
  • There wasn't any reporting that could be run to download Actuate utilization statistics. Analytics had to be done by manually reviewing who had been running reports.
  • At times when the Actuate Server would become overloaded the only solution was to restart it. There wasn't a way to clear up the list of pending report requests.
Be sure to ask about pricing. If I remember correctly the pricing is by processor core, which can get VERY expensive in a large organization with multiple locations. I would say Actuate would be best suited for a medium/large sized organization with 1000-2500 employees with a dedicated team of software developers. If the organization needs someone who can get up and running quickly developing reports and where it is not the primary responsibility then I would recommend an alternative product like Crystal Reports.
Read Todd Bellamy's full review
October 06, 2014

OpenText Analytics: "Actuate Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Actuate is being used to understand extracts from current systems. It is used for IT internally only. This tool is also being used for data extractions.
  • Flexibility of the product
  • Able to make applications do what they need
  • Fairly quick learning scale.
  • Organizing of the pieces could flow better.
What can it do that is better than the rest?
Read Shawn Thomas's full review
November 21, 2013

OpenText Analytics Review: "Actuate Reseller Support"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
  • Actuate has permitted us to create stronger visualizations of data and customer data for our clients so they can make better decisions about the course of their businesses.
  • Birt Analytics integrates with Salesforce.com, Microsoft Dynamics, Xcel in a short period of time and permits stronger massaging of data and integration with better "what if"scenarios.
  • The ROI on this product is remarkable.
  • Employees who visualize the data and other components who have been questioning the direction of management change their focus upon what they can do to improve the company. Managers who are "micro-managers of data" actually begin to visualize where some of the sub-strata they have wasted time is impairing company results.
  • Customer support for their products is excellent. If you need support on site they are there when you need them.
  • Anything that I would consider an area for improvement and have asked about from the company is a area where they are already doing development and refinement and when it is available it comes as a simple upgrade.
What's holding you back?
Read Jeffrey Fischer's full review
September 11, 2014

OpenText Analytics Review: "Actuate gets the job done!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Actuate is the standardized reporting platform for seamless integration of custom schedule and ad hoc reporting into our internally built applications. Reports are made available across the firm in all lines of business and support services allowing access to data from our core repository. There are both dynamic (allowing the passing of parameters) and static reporting available.
  • We integrate page level security allowing a single report to service audiences of 20,000+ consumers but only deliveing the data in the vast data set applicable to the consumer.
  • Publish common components allowing the development staff to deliver consistent look and feel based on the standard firm style guide.
  • Reusable library objects allow for fast deployment of new application reports.
  • Report rendering can take a long time for large reports (250,000+ pages) - we run these in batch over night
  • The deployment of production code from development to test to production enviroments can be complex due to the number of components that must compile
e.Report Designer Professional and the report output is suited to application embedded reports - but we also use the product to publish information for data analysts and finance deeper analysis.
Read this authenticated review
November 26, 2013

OpenText Analytics Review: "Actuate is the best tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The performance of Actuate IServer is tremendous. It can handle a large volume of reports with many concurrent users.
  • We can do anything in Actuate. We can write our own function, procedures, methods in Actuate. Basically we can create our own framework in Actuate. No other reporting tool is proving this functionality.
  • It supports the OLTP system very well. The data can be flowed easily from one report to another report, by using array.
  • Control level formatting is available.
  • Support for more databases, such as other BI tools.
  • There can be more graph types.
If you are a techie and love to face challenges, then Actuate is the choice. You can do anything in Actuate. It has nice security features page level security.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Drill-down analysis (1)
6
Formatting capabilities (1)
3

About OpenText Analytics

Actuate founded and co-leads the Eclipse BIRT open source project. ActuateOne is a unified suite of products for rapidly developing and deploying BIRT-based custom Business Intelligence applications and information applications. Applications built with ActuateOne provide one user experience regardless of task or skill level; are supported by one server for any deployment including cloud and are built with one BIRT design that can access and integrate any data source - including high volume print streams. ActuateOne adds rich data visualizations, including interactivity, dashboards, analytics, and deployment options to web and mobile BIRT applications, helping organizations drive revenue through higher customer satisfaction and improved operational performance.

Actuate was acquired by OpenText in January 2015.

OpenText Analytics Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No